BBB Accredited Business since

CGI Communications, Inc.

Phone: (800) 398-3029 130 E Main St, Rochester, NY 14604 http://www.cgicompany.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business offers online video promotion/marketing of web advertising for businesses and municipalities.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that CGI Communications, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for CGI Communications, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 16 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

16 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 11
Total Closed Complaints 16

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on CGI Communications, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 27, 2001 Business started: 01/01/1988 in NY Business started locally: 01/01/1988 Business incorporated 05/14/1999 in NY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Robert J. Bartosiewicz, President/CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bob Neufeglise, Client Relations Manager
Business Category

VIDEO PRODUCTION SERVICES ADVERTISING AGENCIES & COUNSELORS MARKETING CONSULTANTS MARKETING PROGRAMS & SERVICES PROMOTIONAL PRODUCTS

Alternate Business Names
eLocalLink, Inc. Next! Ad Agency

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After signing up with this company which stated that the city I reside in was doing a web based video advertising with them , I explained to them several times that this is the only way I will be able to use the video even though they said they had worked with my company many times and I can use it in NON COMPLIANT WAYS. I was fully upfront and kept advising them that is not correct and I have spoke to my parent company to verify this. For 2 months in the process I kept asking why is the city web site not reflecting what they said there are doing for them and I was told that it is taking some time. Low and behold at the very last phase of my production I was told they are not providing this service to my city as of yesterday, I checked with my city and was shown emails stating this was decided MONTHS AGO and clearly CGI decided to not be forthcoming about this. I was told to contact *** ******** the CFO as he is the only one with a checkbook for the company for refunds. After a few tries I got though to him on the phone in Mid MARCH 2015. He stated that if the project was not happening I will get a refund and said it would be 10-12 business days, I offered my name and was told he has it on the phone. After 3 weeks of waiting I called back to see the status and left a voice mail for him, no return call ( obviously caller ID based on his previous statement) and have now left a message every other day for a return phone call and a status update, to no avail. NOW 5 PLUS WEEKS LATER, NO REFUND NO RETURN CALLS, I then called and tried to leave a message for the president ( *** ***** ), was transferred to **** ******** legal counsel is his title ) and left a voice mail a week ago and of course no return phone call yet. TO DATE I HAVE LEFT NUMEROUS message for *** ******** and have yet to get any call back of any status update as to the check I was told was being mailed out 5 weeks ago.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded what I have paid per the conversation with *** ******** the CFO of this " company" and that can be mailed to the address they have on file.

Business Response: We apologize for the inconvenience as this was an administrative oversight on our end and we take full responsibility for this unfortunate incident. *** *****'s refund check in the amount of $3,295.00 was mailed out from our office yesterday, April 23rd via the ****. If by some reason *** ***** does not receive his refund check by the end the month I ask that he please contact me directly to promptly resolve this matter. Again we apologize for this inconvenience.


Respectfully,
*** **********
Director of Client Relations
CGI Communications, Inc.
130 E. Main St.
Rochester, NY 14604
###-###-####
****@cgicommunications.com

5/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: These people don't answer their phones, don't stand behind their contracts, are rude and unprofessional! Our account is less than two weeks past due and they sent us to collections with lies about the balance and problems. We have paid them over $2500 and only owe them $750, with a past due amount of $255. The collection agent that just called indicated that we have a past due balance of $2530! The reason that there is any past due amount is because our credit card number changed and when the account rep called to update the credit card number he indicated that we were not allowed to use the video until the account was paid in full. This contradicts the contract. When this was pointed out to him he became loud, defensive and argumentative. What this company had promised and what they have delivered are at the complete opposite end of the spectrum. The quality of the video is lousy with poor quality images. The editing process had to be lead by my staff because their original cuts had children yawning and picking their noses, showed mostly the back of children's heads, and repeated scenes. From there we were told that this video would be front on center on the chamber web site. This is also not the case. In my opinion CGI has broken every aspect of their contractual agreement. We have paid them over $2500 and all we have received is a poor quality video, which cost us four hours of labor from our marketing team, posted in a poor location of the chamber site, and a lot of inappropriate attitude from aggressive sales and administrative employees. I have complained about there processes every step of the way and have received no resolve. I have contacted the chamber who was in touch with a rep. trying to work on a resolution. I am unsure why they have sent us to collections and feel as though this is just another indicator of the lack of integrity this company has.

Desired Settlement: To come to a resolution I feel that 1) CGI needs to either accept what they have received as payment in full for the 1 yr of advertising on the ******* ******* and the video rights or refund 100% of what we have already paid 2) Stop contacting us 3) Call the collection agency and supply them with accurate information

Business Response: To whom it concerns,

We have contacted the collection agency assigned to this account and removed The ********** **** ********** ****** from collections. We have agreed to write of their remaining balance due and retain their sponsorship on the ********* ***** ********. CGI Communications, Inc and ********** have fulfilled our contractual agreement with *** ********** **** ********** ******. In addition to the completed work and fullfillment of our obligation to this client we have again removed the remaining balance in an effort to resolve this matter.

If there are any further questions, comments or concerns please feel free to contact me directly at the information listed below.


Respectfully,

*** **********
Director Of Client Relations
CGI Communications, Inc.
130 E. Main St.
Rochester, NY 14604
****@cgicommunications.com
###-###-####

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***** **********




5/1/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We signed a contract with ****** **** to have a video put on what she said was a combined website of the **** ** ******** and the **** ** ********* We are located in the **** ** ******** but was advised by ****** that this was to be a representation of both the town and city combined. ****** also wrote this into our contract. However, the **** ** ******** hired Web Essentials for their website and it has no connection with the **** ** ********* We therefore will have no video on the **** ** ********’s website as our contract has stated. We will be on the city’s website, however that is irrelevant and useless to us as we are in the Town. ****** **** specifically used this and emphasized it as a selling point to us. I would never have signed a contract to be on the City’s website alone. Since CGI communications cannot provide the service they stated in the contract I wish to have the $4,995 that I paid them reimbursed to me. I have had numerous conversations and emails back and forth with ****** ****, *** ********, and *** ***** since the end of December trying to get them to reimburse my money. They were just ,mixing words and trying to convince me that they have not broken the contract – but they have. The cost I paid directly to CGI for this video was $4995.00. And the amount of money our company lost in revenue to prepare for, shoot and clean up after the video take was $25,000. Finally, on February 26 I received this email from *** ********: Sorry for the delay, *** asked me to reach out and see if the website and video that have been created can be used as follows I can propose 2 options for your review: 1. Refund $2,500.00 and continue our business relationship with the understanding that if, and when the “Town” of Lockport can or will participate in a/the Video Tour Book, ***** ***** ********* Repair, Inc. will be included at no additional cost for up to the contracted “Town” of Lockport term or 2 years, whichever is shorter. 2. Refund $2,500.00 and send the Finished Video in a “playable dvd” and/or “.mov” file format and discontinue our business relationship. Please let know…Thank you…*** I refused both options as they are no where near enough to compensate us for our loss - due to their "Lie". I wanted both our $4,995 back because there will be no video on the **** ** ********'s website and the video to compensate us for our lost revenue. Again the emails went back and forth and on March 3, *** ******** agreed to refund the $4,995 - but no video. As I reading the other complaints about CGI they seem to be the same - THEY HAVE THE MONEY AND WILL DO ANYTHING NOT TO GIVE IT BACK EVEN THOUGH THEY ARE I THE WRONG. They tried to get me to settle for $2500 - when I would not the upped it to $5000. But because they misrepresented their selves to get us to sign their contract and caused us the additional $25,000 in lost revenue - I want compensated for that too.

Desired Settlement: A refund for the amount we paid CGI plus our lost revenue and the video to put on our website since it will not be on the **** ** ********'s.

Business Response:

Please see the attached PDF file in response to the complaint from ***** ***** **********

Contractual Agreement
http://www.elocallink.com/contracts/display_pnotes.php?econtractID=200350

Respectfully, 

**** ********
General Counsel
CGI Communications, Inc.

PDF Attachment:

On August 12, 2104, ***** ***** ********* (“*****”) entered into a Community Movie Program business-to-business contract with CGI and paid $4,995.00 for a 60 second custom scripted and produced video, a five page website for 24 months, and streaming of the video content on the ***** website and for use on the “Lockport, NY” Project. (Please see attached e-Contract ******.)
At the ***e the contract was entered into, the City of Lockport and the **** ** ******** shared the same website. ***** was not charged any money to be on the Town website (See “additional Info” box of contract.) Some***e after the contract was entered into, the City and **** ** ******** separated their websites and access to stream the Project was allowed only from the City’s website.
The Terms section of the contract reads as follows: “”e-LocalLink offers no guarantees as to the operation of the sites that are linked to/from the Community Video Program. The client hereby waives any and all claims relating to the content, operations and/or ***eliness of such sites.
CGI has offered ***** a full refund of $4,995.00. ***** turned it down and demanded that it be given the video that CGI produced for free. Section 6 of the contract reads, “e-LocalLink expressly reserves all rights in and to any video content it creates.” CGI has offered to transfer the video to ***** upon reasonable payment for the work done by CGI on the video. That was deemed unacceptable by *****, which then demanded $25,000.00 from CGI to pay for the “preparation, shoot and clean up after the video take”.
CGI did not dictate to ***** it’s purported actions in shooting the video and is not legally responsible for its expenses in that regard. ***** has indicated that it lost revenue, paid 5 workers $105/hour each for five days to prepare the shop and grounds for the video shoot, pressure washed their rental fleet machines, and had to move their machines back and forth for the shoot. CGI would respectfully suggest that such expenditures are highly exaggerated if not unreasonable under the circumstances. CGI is not legally obligated to pay for a client washing its machines or paying its workers to shoot a video commercial. CGI is the producer of videos. Whatever a client wants to do in their video with their people and their equipment, is up to the client.
In the interest of compromise, CGI is willing to release the rights to its video upon receipt of $1,000.00.
Thank you for the opportunity to respond.?

12/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Buyer Beware. This company does not refund money in a timely fashion and does not care whether a customer has called numerous times about a refund due. In my case: $500. CGI takes your money quickly enough when you say yes, but it has been several weeks and still no refund after multiple calls, voice mails, emails, etc. You get some bogus excuse about how large the company is and that they have a "lengthy refund policy". If it were not that they are involved in a community video project in my town, I would not use their service now or in the future. From what I can tell, it seems they "float YOUR money" for the interest they can muster and leave the customer paying interest on their own end via their credit card purchase. They should be ashamed of themselves. A reputable company does NOT do business that way!

Desired Settlement: I want my REFUND due, immediately!

Business Response: ***** ****** ********** contract with CGI Communications, Inc. and eLocalLink on November 14th, 2014. Several days later she *** ***** did request to cancel this portion of the program, which was contracted for goods and services valued at $500.00 Typically any cancellation request on our special order business to business contracts accompanies a 30% cancellation fee.  We have informed *** ***** that refunds are issued via check and can take upwards of 30-45 days to be processed. A refund check for ***** ****** ********* will be placed in the mail on Friday December 12th. This is inside of 30 days from the date of the order and her request for cancellation. Additionally CGI Communications and eLocalLink have agreed not to pursue the 30% cancellation fee. Please understand that under no circumstances are we "floating the clients money" in order to collect interest on a $500.00 agreement. We are indeed a large corporation and work with thousand's of businesses and communities across North America and value each client and customer with the up-most regard. We have our refund policies and procedures designed to adequately accommodate each and every request in a timely fashion, no matter what the amount. 

Business Response: Unfortunately there was an unforeseen confusion on the check for ***** ****** ********** and the refund check was not placed in the mail. We've taken immediate action to resolve this issue and returned the $500.00 refund to *** *****'s original credit card. The return transaction has already been completed and she should be receiving notification of the reversal from her credit card company. Our apologies for the inconvenience.

*** **********

Director of Client Relations

CGI Communications Inc. & Next! Ad Agency

130 East Main St. Rochester, NY 14604

###-###-#### extn 425

www.cgicompany.com

www.nextadagency.com

 

Consumer Response: Good morning *******,

Just wanted to confirm that the $500 refund finally showed up on my business credit card this morning.  (Complaint #********)

Thank you for all your help.  I'm sure without the BBB and my Bank's credit card services, I'd still be without the return of my funds.

As a final note, I believe CGI Communications' rating should not be an A-.  I think it should be more like a "B" since their customer service is awful.  They don't return phone calls regarding an issue, they do not verbally disclose possible penalties, and their lengthy and confused refund policy is extremely unprofessional.

Best Wishes to you and yours for a happy holiday *******!

******* *****, ***** ****** **********



11/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A sales representative from the business contacted me, unsolicited, about carrying out customer satisfaction surveys. The sales representative said he learned my name from another businessperson in the community. It turns out the businessperson was already a dissatisfied customer after only a month, and he was concerned about the business' use of his name. The business' electronic contract includes checkboxes to acknowledge contact and credit card information, but not terms. The business only provided a copy of the contract over a week later, at my request. The next day, I cancelled. The business had not yet provided any services. The account manager assigned to me, who had already missed one phone appointment, said he would escalate my request for a refund. However, the sales representative phoned back two days later to tell me the (unacknowledged) terms of the contract entitled the business to a non-refundable deposit greater than the quarterly instalment payment it had immediately taken. The sales representative had never previously said anything about a deposit. About a refund, the sales representative snickered and replied, "That's not gonna happen."

Business Response:

When *** ***** spoke with our Sales Executive **** ****** on October 10th he signed a contractual agreement, which is linked below. Our online contractual agreement is a one page document, which contains the terms of the agreement, along with the originating time it was signed and the IP address from the computer used to sign the agreement. Additionally upon signing the agreement an email with the contractual agreement is immediately sent to the email address added to the contact information, which in this case was (********************).

 

The terms contained in the contract clearly states that this is a special order business to business contract, additionally 30% of the contractual price of $5,295.00 constitutes a non-refundable deposit. *** ****'s down payment of $1,323.75 is actually $264.75 less than the aforementioned non-refundable deposit.

 

Not only had we tried several times to contact *** **** to begin work on his agreement, when we successfully able to speak with him we were met with an aggressive and threatening nature from *** ****. At this point CGI Communications, Inc. and Next! Ad Agency has done nothing wrong.

 

However, with the cooperation of Stephen Graf & Company Next! Ad Agency is generously willing to provide them with 90 days of service. At the conclusion of this 90 day period *** **** may elect to discontinue the program all together and owe nothing. If Stephen Graf & Company elect to continue the program after the 90 day trial they will be responsible for meeting the previously arraigned payment schedule for the remainder of the program. The original deposit of $1,323.75 will remain non-refundable. Next! Ad Agency is more than willing to fulfill our contractual obligation to Stephen Graf & Company.

 

Contractual Agreement

http://www.elocallink.com/contracts/display_pnotes.php?econtractID=203716

 

 

In Kind Regards,

 

*** **********
Director of Client Relations
CGI Communications Inc. & Next! Ad Agency
130 East Main St.
Rochester, NY 14604
###-###-#### extn 425
www.cgicompany.com
www.nextadagency.com

 

Consumer Response: The business' electronic contract includes checkboxes to acknowledge contact and credit card information, but not terms. The business only provided a copy of the contract over a week later, at my request. The next day, I cancelled. The business had not yet provided any services. The account manager assigned to me, who had already missed one phone appointment, said he would escalate my request for a refund. However, the sales representative phoned back two days later to tell me the (unacknowledged) terms of the contract entitled the business to a non-refundable deposit greater than the quarterly instalment payment it had immediately taken. The sales representative had never previously said anything about a deposit. Although I am understandably upset with the business' sales practices, I never acted aggressively or threateningly. I did not hear from the business again until it responded to my complaint. The experience of the local businessperson whose name the business used, and the other complaints about the business at the BBB, foreshadow problems with the service. The business may not use my name, which it misspelled once in its response, to solicit other businesses. The service will start on January 5, 2015. The consumer protection and other laws of my jurisdiction will apply. This message confirms I elect not continue with the service after 90 days. At the end of 90 days, I will owe nothing. The business and I can discuss other details at my convenience.

11/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We hired CGI to remake a previously made video by this company. The first time we had the first video made, we paid 3,000. and were never able to use it properly on our web site as it would not integrate with normal website systems. So we hired CGI and paid them another 2,500. to basically remake the video adding in new footage which we took with our video camera. (about 4 minutes extra). The total cost for this remake involved being pressured to sign up with CGI's tracking software, cell phone ability and the use of an Avatar. I told ***** ***** we were uncomfortable with the tracking software being integrated with our website and we did not want to go that route. We just wanted the video fixed so we could use it on the website with out the tracking featured and maybe use the avatar feature. Well, the first edit and completion of the video remake was a complete disaster. They did not follow the scripting and deleted the footage that was mine,(already paid for) basically just slopped something together and hoped it would work. We contacted ***** requesting our money refunded and he pressured us in to allowing them to remake the video correctly against our wishes. We told him we would be happy if we could get our money back and just keep the Avatar feature. (which was quoted to us as 500.00 value). We were suppose to get into contact with ***** who is in charge of video production but what happened is we had to go through a business name change and daughters wedding in the summer so we put off producing the new fixed version of the video. We have contacted the company and ***** ***** but The company or *****, has never respond to our letters, emails, or texts. **** ny husband has tried to talk with ***** but was put off and ***** said he would call him back, and never did. They just basically took our money,2,500. and gave us NOTHING! AGAIN! We cannot even use the old video they made at all now because of having to change our company and product name. We feel we have been robbed and treated unfairly. This company should have a better business bureau rating. They are not ethical at all in their business acts.

Desired Settlement: We know there was some time and cost on their part but their staff in my opinion was incompetent and unable to perform the job as requested and agreed. We request to have our money refunded. We have spent a total of 4,500.00 and have absolutely nothing we can salvage or use on our new website. this is a crime.

Business Response:

CGI Communications, Inc.

Corporate Headquarters

The Granite Building

130 East Main Street

Rochester, NY 14604

 

 

 

To whom it concerns,

 

 

I apologize for any delay in filing this response as I wanted to have adequate time to speak with production staff and our Vice President of Sales ***** ***** as both of them worked on this project.

 

Quite honestly I'm having a difficult time of where to start with this as there are numerous false accusations. As with any company we've ever contracted with to produce an online video all of our contractual agreements read that It is the responsibility of the client and/or party hosting the client's website to add the code to the client's website.

 

In March of 2010 we first began work with *** ****** *******. At that time we produced a 4-minute video for them as contracted. The video was approved by *** ****** ****** and the appropriate website coding was provided to EMS for use on their website. Additionally EMS received a DVD copy of the video.

 

In February of 2014 *** Dental contacted ***** ***** and CGI Communications looking for CGI to produce another video. In conjunction with their video contract *** ***** provided them with a few extra features for use on their website. *** was not obligated to use these tracking tools nor were they pressured into purchasing them, again they contacted us.

 

CGI has completely redone their 4-minute video as contracted. *** has accused CGI of “slopping something together”, as you can see our contractual agreement reads that *** ****** would be providing the video footage. The quality of the video we received was from an iPhone and barely usable. Additionally CGI produced, scripted and filmed their 5 question video avatar. All other elements of the contract were provided.

 

With regards to ***'s allegations that they were “robbed and treated unfairly” along with this complaint are nothing more than libel. What *** ****** ******* has failed to indicate in their complaint is that the sole reason they are not able to use the video created by CGI is because when they launched their business, created their business name, emails, and online trade name of ****** ****, *** ****** ****** committed copyright infringement against another company and have been forced to change the aforementioned aspects of their bsuiness.

 

Additionally the contracted amount for their agreement was for $4,000.00 of which *** only paid $2,500. CGI has graciously “written off” their remaining balance of $1,500.00 and chosen not to pursue it. *** has received their video, avatar, click to call and click to text feature along with the ****** ****** website.

 

**** ******' attempt to use the Better Business Bureau in an unethical manner is not only wrong it's deceitful. **** ****** clearly states in her own words “We cannot even use the old video they made at all now because of having to change our company and product name”. CGI Communications nor any business for that matter who provides the agreed upon work should not be held responsible nor should they be accused of robbery, unfair treatment and deemed unethical due to the illegal copyright infringement performed by *** ****** ****** or any opposing party.

 

In closing we request that these allegations be stricken from the record as they contain no merit and are in fact groundless. Should you request to receive copies of production notes or our contractual agreement please advise, we ask that any personal or private information not be made public.

 

 

Respectfully,


*** **********
Director of Client Relations 
CGI Communications Inc. & Next! Ad Agency
130 East Main St.
Rochester, NY 14604
###-###-#### extn ***
www.cgicompany.com
www.nextadagency.com

Our Contractual Agreement 
http://www.elocallink.com/contracts/display_pnotes.php?econtractID=190765 

Business Response:

Again we have difficulty on where to start with these allegations. *** ****** solutions has clearly made several serious errors during the formation of their business. They have been penalized for copy right infringement, forced to re-change their business model and are now attempting to extort CGI Communications for the mistakes they've made. *** ***** will no longer to respond to the “incessant” phone calls and text messages he receives from *** ****** Solutions as it has now become borderline harassment, as *** ***** has previously stated to *** ****** we will not be refunding *** under any circumstances as our product has been delivered. We've stated our position and our product is listed below.

 

CGI Communications, Inc. has spent eight months along with hours upon countless hours of time and labor dealing with *** ****** ********** Dealing with *** became so unrelenting that we again agreed to write off their balance of $1,500.00 We did so in order to be able to part ways. We've provided EMS with services above and beyond the contracted work. Both videos are listed below, along with the avatar, click to text and mobile website coding. If you review the videos it's clearly apparent that they are two different videos. Again we will not be held responsible for their erroneous business decisions. We ask that this company no longer contact us in the future. CGI will not be held hostage with threats of “going on ****” .

 

Any future correspondences and threats from *** ****** ******* will be taken to the highest extent and will be pursued through the court of law. CGI Communications, Inc. will indeed go after the once “forgiven” and originally contracted balance that remains in the amount of $1,500.00. Additionally CGI will also pursue any and all legal fees associated in any further dealings with this matter.

 

Again *** is attempting to extort CGI Communications through the BBB for a refund on work that has clearly been done. All work has been performed and again is listed below.

 

Video #1

**************************************************************************

 

Video #2

**************************************************************************

 

Mobile website code created for client

*************************************

 

Click to text and tracking link

Guide Page Generated February 27, 2014 at 4:46 pm - **************************

 

Avatar Code –

Guide Page Generated April 25, 2014 at 10:52 am - **************************

Again” Guide Page Generated May 21, 2014 at 5:16 pm - **************************

 

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and i need to respond when I get back from vacation after the Thanksgiving day weekend I am temporarily out of town and unable to respond to the last response of CGI me. 

Regards,

***** ******

11/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am a video producer near Seattle, Washington. In early July 2014 I answered a ********** ad from CGI Communications; they were looking for a video shooter. I took two shooting assignments. Both occurred in July 2014. At the time, the CGI rep assured me that 2 month payment was worst case, and that he'd try to push it through in 6 weeks (what a guy!). Well, it's been 9 weeks and I still am out the gas money for 10 hours of driving, and they haven't paid for the shooting either. The total amount CGI has paid me is $0.00. Last week, CGI said they feel bad, and they will rush payment to me. This week, I find out that means they will put a check in the mail to me in 3 weeks. They are in clear default of their own contract, and in no hurry at all to pay me. At this point, I'm thinking I may not be paid at all. After they missed their 2 month pay date, I got worried there was something wrong with the 7 DVDs of raw tape I sent. So I spoke with the two end-users. Both were satisfied with the work I did, and both said CGI was using the tape. Both had already seen an edited version. So I know CGI is using my work, just not paying for it. CGI says one of their missions is to treat freelance shooters well. You tell me. Are they treating me well? This company has treated me with arrogance... and worse.

Desired Settlement: They need to pay my $700 invoice NOW. TODAY. If they pay now, it will be 9 weeks after I performed the work. If they pay in 3 weeks, it will have been over 3 months. That's if they pay at all.

Business Response: ********

Payment has been issued and send to *** ******. As of today *** ****** should be in possession of payment for the services he rendered.


Respectfully,

*** **********
Director of Client Relations
CGI Communications Inc. & Next! Ad Agency
130 East Main St.
Rochester, NY 14604
###-###-#### extn 425
www.cgicompany.com
www.nextadagency.com

3/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife and I were approached October 21, 2013 by *** **** ****** of CGI Communications with an offer to produce a video of our company, ** ** ****** *******, for inclusion in Cowlitz County Washington’s tourism website. At that time *** ****** told us that *** ******, one of Cowlitz County’s Commissioners had referred him to us as a possible customer for this project. He also noted that the county’s website attracted an average of 28,000 visitors per month. Because *** ****** had referred ** ****** to us and that the traffic on the website was significant, we decided to go ahead with the video. At that time we made a payment of $1150 and three cases of wine (retail value $1000) and paid $138 to ship the wine to CGI Communications. The price of the package came to $3295. It was agreed that the remaining balance was $1145. We paid the remaining balance around the end of December. Our video was to be installed as one several of icon buttons residing on the Welcome page around a tourism type photo in the center of the page. In addition, the video was to be installed on two other pages, one called tourism and another called things to do. In addition we were given a link to the video for inclusion on our website and a DVD of the video. The DVD can only be used by playing on a DVD player which is not useful to us. CGI retained the rights to the video and allows our use as a subscription. CGI gave us 2 years of subscription after which a renewal would be required by us. As noted, ** ****** approached us in October 2013 when we made the contract. Around the 3rd or 4th week of January 2014 I received a call from a friend who works for county tourism to discuss a possible promotion she was working on. At that time I told her that we had a video made by CGI for the tourism website. She then told me that CGI was not going to upgrade the website and were told that last November (2013). I told her that *** ****** had referred ** ****** to us and she said “I don’t think so”. She then explained that some businesses that CGI had approached were complaining about the representative and their lack of professionalism. Subsequently, the county told CGI to stop soliciting for the project and that the website would not be changed to add videos or upgrade. I never had any complaints about *** ****** while completing the deal. After getting the news from my friend, I talked to the commissioner, *** ****** and he related the same thing to me that CGI had been told to stop work on the project. In fact, *** ****** told me that CGI had actually approached the county to do this project and the county basically told CGI to go ahead if you want with no agreement to actually update the website. In addition, he told me that he never referred CGI to anyone for inclusion in this project. I have tried calling *** ****** and have sent emails. I have left several messages with *** ****** and he doesn’t return my calls. I have sent emails and get responses but no action. When I first contacted *** ****** by email I was told that there was a misunderstanding and the problem would be fixed in a few days. I double checked with the county and nothing had changed. I emailed back to him and was told that CGI was working on a resolution. Since then I have received some responses to my emails and some not. I was told by email week before last that I would be contacted early last week but heard nothing. I sent ** ****** an email late last week and reminding him that I had not heard from CGI early last week and he told me that a Mr Al Forys had tried several times to call me. But last week I never received a call from anyone from CGI. The last response that I received from ** ****** was that Al Forys was out today (Monday 2-24) but would be back on Tuesday and would call me then. Today is Wednesday and I have not received any communication from CGI.

Desired Settlement: It is stated in my contract that the video will be done as a partnership with the “project”, Cowlitz County and will be displayed on the “project” website. Because CGI did not contact us and stop the production of the video when they were told that the work would not be placed on the website and were not honest with us initially I believe that this constitutes fraud on the part of CGI. I am expecting to get a full refund of the money I have spent. In total we paid CGI $2295 in cash and nearly $1150 in wine and shipping. I would like a complete refund of the $2295 cash and $594 for the wine and shipping. The $594 includes the wholesale price of the wine and shipping charges. In total I want to be reimbursed $2889. As soon as I found out that the county website would not be updated with our video I removed the link to the video from our website and will be happy to return the DVD as well.

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern,


I am pleased to report that we have reached a settlement agreement with our client.  I would like to take a moment to address the circumstances surrounding the issues, which led to the customers complaint. I would first like to point out that CGI Communications, Inc. and eLocalLink have partnered with thousands of Communities, Counties, Chamber's of Commerce, and hundreds of  Regional, State and National Associations throughout North America. Working directly with Mayor's, Governors, City Managers, County Executives and Association Presidents; CGI Communications works in partnership with the US Conference of Mayors, National League of Cities and is a Premier Corporate Member of the National Association of Counties. CGI Communications, Inc. has become a premier endorsed partner of both the U.S. Conference of Mayors and the National League of Cities, as well as a premier corporate member of the National Association of Counties.


Under no circumstances would we ever contact a local business to become involved in any of our Community Video Program's without the express written consent by one of the  aforementioned Mayors, Governors, City Manager, County Executive or Association Presidents.  


As we initially approached our client and eventual sponsor for the Community Video Program, by all means we had a signed contractual agreement in place with the County's Tourism Director, to not only produce the video program but to additionally approach the local businesses as a sponsor for supporting business, tourism, and population growth for the governing program. Due to the issue of the governing signatory reneging on the contractual agreement, we have been presented with this unfortunate situation.


Again we would like to state that we have successfully reached a mutually satisfying agreement with our customer, which has been signed by both parties.


In closing CGI Communications, Inc. is a company built on solid relationships with Communities, State, County and National Level Associations, as well as the local  Businesses, that represent these organizations.



*** **********
Director Of Client Relations
CGI Communications Inc. & Next! Ad Agency
130 East Main St.
Rochester, NY 14604
###-###-#### extn ***
www.cgicommunications.com
www.nextadagency.com


6/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was contacted by CGI Communications (ELocal Link) back in January 2012. They sold me on a slideshow advertisement that would show up on the Town of ***********'s website. They scammed me out of $3295. The Town of *********** does not have a contract or do business with CGI Communications and the fraudulently sold me a service that they are not authorized to deliver. They are scam artists who never return phone calls and take the money and run. They have also artfully crafted the fine print in their contract to place the consumer in limbo after scamming them. They illegally accessed the Town's server a few weeks ago and put up a link to my logo so that they could say they "provided the service". The Town of *********** just saw this and is in the process of litigation against CGI for unauthorized access to their site. DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH THIS COMPANY!!! GOOGLE THEM AND YOU'LL SEE WHY.

Desired Settlement: Since they are unauthorized by the Town of ***********, ** to provide advertising on the town's site, I want a full refund.

Business Response: CGI Communications, Inc. and eLocalLink contracted with ***** ***** and Ms. ********** in January of 2012. We contracted with ***** ***** to produce a 30 second photo video that is currently displayed on the ***********, ** website (http://*********************) through the Video TourBook link located at the bottom of the homepage. Additional the video is made available for use on their website as well. 

***** ***** Video Link http://**. 

The video was completed in May of 2012 and the video code was provided to the Salon for placing the video on their website. A DVD copy of the video was also mailed to the customer on 06/18/12. The terms of this agreement were for 12 months from the day the video first appeared on the *********** Video TourBook, which was in November 2012. 

I'm not sure who Ms. ********** spoke with at the town of ***********, but we most certainly have a contract with the town as evidence by the program, which is currently running on their homepage as evidence of the screen shots I've included below. 

Home Page of (http://**)

As you can clearly see Ms. ********** claim's of being “scammed” and that we fraudulently sold her a service illegally accessed the towns website and servers are false, defaming and quite frankly outrageous. Having served local communities and businesses for over 20 years if we operated in the manner Ms. ********** has insinuated we wouldn't be in business.

In closing Ms. ********** and ***** ***** have received their video, sponsorship on the *********** Video TourBook and they will continue to receive this service for the contracted time period. Upon completion of the program ***** *****'s video will be removed and any further hosting for their video on their website will be deactivated.

Please feel free to contact me directly should there be any further questions, comments or concerns.

*** **********
Director Of Client Relations
CGI Communications Inc.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

1. When CGI sold me their service they told me the exposure on the town's website would occur in May 2012. My decision to move forward with the large investment was based on the timing promised to me. We had recently done a complete renovation of our salon and was putting together a marketing strategy to promote the new salon. I told the sales person that I would only move forward with the advertising if they were sure of the May 2012 timetable. I know understand that the fine print in CGI's contract protects them from the fraudulent promises they make in their sales pitch.


2. They are playing up the idea of my using the slide show in other places. I didn't agree to do business with them for that.
I agreed to work with them to get exposure on the Town of ***********'s website starting in May 2012 which they did not provide. I could care less about using the slide show on my website since the quality of the production was awful and very unprofessional. 


3. I have spoken with several Town of *********** officials who have confirmed that they are undergoing litigation with CGI Communications for the falsely promoting an active and current relationship with the Town of ***********. The video content on the Town's page is still up to prove that CGI has recently accessed their page without authorization.


4. Even if they had provided me with the service in a timely manner, the end result of the production and exposure is not what was sold and promised to me. When the sales rep gave me their sales pitch, they showed me some other Town's pages that had the video productions prominently displayed on the Town's home page. The current video is at the tail bottom of the home page and it is not even evident that business slideshows are available. You need a GPS just to find the thing. When you do click on it, an old and out of date video of the Town is running. They slapped my logo on the top of the screen. There are no other businesses on there except for mine. There is nothing that readily indicates to "click here" to view a slideshow and learn more about the business. The only indication that that can be done appears IF you watch the whole video of the Town (which would be excruciating since it is boring and poorly produced). At the end of the Town video is a message to click the logo "on the right" (there is no logo there as my logo is above the video). 
I feel silly even admitting that I fell for this scam.

Regards,

*** **********

Business Response:

Below you will find a link to ***** *****'s Contract with CGI Communications, Inc. & eLocalLink, which states that this is a "business-to-business" contract. This implies that we're dealing with individuals who do business and deal with contracts and agreements on a recurring basis. It also states that the client acknowledges that she did not rely on any statement, promise or representation other than those contained in the contract. Several of Ms. **********'s accusations regarding her decision to move forward are based on timing and allegation's she didn't agree to do business with us for specific aspects of the contract she signed. Again this is a business-to-business contact,. Had her allegations been so pertinent to the agreement; as per her claims, should have been in writing on the contract and if not there in black and white, the contract should not have been signed.

Additionally I would like to add that our video production process is done on a step-by-step approval basis from the client. Originating from the production meeting, scripting, story-boarding, filming, proof and finally the client approves of the content and video prior to it's release. If, as Ms. ********** claims the production of the video was “awful and unprofessional” why would she submit multiple approvals throughout the production process and finally approve the final content? I would also like to add that, as evident in her contractual agreement Ms. ********** requested shared rights to the video. Shared rights to the video provides her the ability to re-distribute and reuse the content, which contradicts her previous allegation that “she didn't agree to do business with us too use the video in other places”.

While not necessary, I would like to address her previous comment that alleging that because the Video TourBook is still live and streaming on the Town of ***********'s website that “CGI and eLocalLink illegally accessed the town's website to place the video program on site with out authorization” is absurd. The Town Of ***********, **'s website is a secure site, which is a Government entity of which it would be a felony to “hack” into their site. We simply provided the town with a line of code, which THEY insert into their website to stream the videos, as evident by the terms of our contract with the Town Of ***********. Said contract is attached as a PDF document.

Please be advised that the attached contract with the Town Of *********** and the contractual agreement with ***** ***** and Ms. ********** are being supplied solely for the purpose of substantiation in this matter and they are not to be released or posted for public view or consumption.

In closing I find Ms. **********'s accusations that CGI Communications Inc. and eLocalLink had “scammed” her to be outrageous and her attempt to use the Better Business Bureau as a means to obtain a refund for services she has received under the terms of her contract, which she agreed too, to be outrageous and unethical.

Respectfully, 


*** **********
Director of Client Relations
CGI Communications, Inc.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Based on his response, it is obvious that Mr. ********** is not aware of the sales tactics that are being used by his sales team when they are cold calling potential clients. If I am guilty of anything it is believing what his staff member promised me while on the phone trying to solicit my business. Perhaps they are on commission and will say and do anything to get the sale.

What I was promised by the sales person when they were pitching me on the phone was internet advertising on the Town of ***********'s website by May 2012. Although Mr. ***********'s contract is skillfully crafted to cover their broken promises. I obviously made the mistake of taking the sales person by their word. I only hope other small business owners like myself will not fall prey to their scheme. And it is a scheme. The quantity of complaints on this BBB site alone is a testament to that fact.

Regards,

*** **********

3/30/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contract Items: -Ad placement was not positioned as agreed upon in the contract. We have asked numerous times for it to be changed. -Features such as Avatar were not provided as stated. -The name of the business is name listed as stated on ad Icons. -My signature is not on the contract. Misrepresented Services: •Obscure video link to our office instead of appearing on the Home Page as presented. -Our video is hard to navigate to in the City’s website requiring numerous steps and is not obvious. This requires 3 to 4 procedures to find our office which additionally did not specify what our office was. -I can't consistently even activate my site •The video link to our office stemming from a “high hit” value of 30,000 hits per month as a promotional item to our business is not as advertised. This is not a reasonable representation of what was offered and is a misrepresentation of product and/or services. -We have never had a patient mention seeing us on the City website. •Businesses have approached us considering the product and have stated that even with advance knowledge had difficulty locating our business on the City website.

Desired Settlement: Refund $5995.00 to *** **** **** & Associates

Business Response:

Due the nature of Dr. ****'s original complaint that was filed I outlined the issues of his complaint and addressed them individually in my response below. Additionally I've attached a scanned copy of the original contract agreement with signature as well as a screen shot of Dr. ****'s website, which contains all 3 videos we created for him as well as the Avatar.

Complaints

  1. Ad placement was not positioned as agreed upon in the contract. We have asked numerous times for it to be changed. There were additional positions that were added to the program causing Dr. ****'s spot to moved over one location. I have taken the corrective action to move his link, logo and video back to to the corner spot on the *********, CA Community Video Program. I also provided Dr. **** with two additional sponsorship locations in the Quality of Life Section and the Real Estate and Relocation section.

 

  1. -Features such as Avatar were not provided as stated. Dr **** is using the avatar on his home ******************. I've also included a screen shot of his home page, which includes both the video and avatar we created for him.

 

     3. The name of the business is name listed as stated on ad Icons. I'm not entirely sure I understand this issue. If there is a change that needs to be made  to the logo we're more than happy to make the necessary change, please be advised though that the logo size in the video program is restricted to 86x86 pixels.

 

 

  1. My signature is not on the contract. I've included a signed copy of the agreement dated September 14, 2011. As you can see signature and payment was received at the point of sale.

 

  1. Misrepresented Services: •Obscure video link to our office instead of appearing on the Home Page as presented. -Our video is hard to navigate to in the City’s website requiring numerous steps and is not obvious. This requires 3 to 4 procedures to find our office which additionally did not specify what our office was. We've worked with over 4,000 communities across North America and all over our video programs are done in the same fashion, via a link from the city's homepage (************************), which connects to our Video TourBook. We do have a project of which the video link or any businesses video is linked to their office directly from the Home Page and therefore we are not able to present the program as such.

 

 

  1. -I can't consistently even activate my site •The video link to our office stemming from a “high hit” value of 30,000 hits per month as a promotional item to our business is not as advertised. Again I'm not entirely sure what Dr. **** is referring to here. We contracted with Dr. **** to provide him with 3 online videos and a 10 question avatar as well as placement on the *********, CA Online Video Program as seen through the ******************* website. All said aspects of our agreement have been provided to Dr. ****.

 

 

 

  1. This is not a reasonable representation of what was offered and is a misrepresentation of product and/or services. Again all aspects of the program have been provided and are currently in use on the customer's website. They are even promoting the video and Avatar on their Facebook page. Again I fail to understand that there was a gross misrepresentation of products and/or services when the customer is actively utilizing these services and promoting them.

 

 

 

  1. We have never had a patient mention seeing us on the City website. This is an arbitrary complaint. Dr. **** Purchased a sponsorship listing on the aforementioned community video project. While we can certainly guarantee the program will receive views and traffic we cannot guarantee individuals willingness to select Dr. ****'s video, link and logo and then contact his office and tell them how they found him.

 

In closing CGI Communication has fulfilled every aspect of our agreement with Dr. Gary **** & Associates and then some and has adequately addressed each issue Dr. **** has expressed to the best of our ability based on the information provided. Therefore we are not in a position to issue a refund to Dr. **** after the work has been completed and is actively in use by the customer. We are more than willing to correct any additional issues with the name of his business on the video icon as long as Dr. **** is able to provide us with the changes he would like. Again I reiterate that the logo icon dose have a size restriction of 86x86 pixels.

Please feel to contact me directly if you have any further questions, comments or concerns.

Respectfully,

*** **********

Director of Client Relations

CGI Communications Inc.

130 East Main St., 1st Floor

Rochester, NY 14604

    

2/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Good morning! On July 22, 2012 I wrote a check for $1295.00 to the addressed company for the services of providing a link on a website. To date they have failed to provide such a service, but instead informed me through a letter (to be attached) that the project had changed. I wish to request a full refund since services were not provided but payment was received. Thank you for your time and assistance with this matter. Sincerely, Kerry Cofield Here is the letter that was emailed to me: Corporate Headquarters 130 East Main Street Rochester, NY 14604 800.398.3029 * Fax 585.427.0075 To: Sign Pro ATTN: ***** ******* Re: *From: *, Client Relations Manager Date: November 15, 2012 Dear *** *******: Kindly be advised that, due to reasons beyond our control, * has discontinued its involvement as a linking partner of the * of which you are a participant. We apologize for the delay in communicating this news to you and for having postponed some of our production work over these past weeks while we attempted to craft a satisfactory arrangement for the county to continue the program. County administrators have been slow to respond to us, having taken nearly six weeks to reply to our last proposal which we conveyed to them in late September. As a valued business client of e*LocalLink, we want to ensure that you receive the utmost in value for all that you've invested in the *. We also want to lend credence to the idea that patience brings sweet rewards. To that end, I will be contacting you within days of your receipt of this letter to personally thank you for your patience and present you with some very valuable tokens of our appreciation. I also want to tell you all about our recent purchase of direct links to the* and explain why we did it and what it means to you. On behalf of the entire company, I want to personally thank you for your patience and understanding. I look forward to speaking with you. Sincerely yours, E*LocalLink, Inc. *Client Relations Manager

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund (and expressed that to them in an email) since the services I paid for were never provided.

Business Response:

I have included a link below to an electronic copy of the agreement page we have with *** ******* and **** ***. Please take note of the additional info portion of the agreement between eLocalLink and **** ***. Our agreement included a link and logo for **** *** on two different programs the* and the *.

There was indeed an issue with the *, however a link and logo for **** *** has been delivered on the *. I’ve included a link below to their website as well as a direct link to the video player featuring the link and logo for **** ***.

CGI Communications and eLocalLink has delivered one of the two programs contracted for. CGI Communications and eLocalLink will offer * and **** *** a 50% refund on the contracted amount of $1,295.00 for a total refund of $647.50 to be delivered within 30 days.

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID*, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Good afternoon.  The agreement was not met, not even 50%.  I am already a member of the*, and as can clearly be seen by going to the link ELocal link provided, our logo appears NOWHERE on the site as they indicated. (please refer to their response with the link attached - our logo/link to our website is absolutely nowhere to be found).   I strongly request a full refund of the money paid in full since none of the services have been provided as contracted.


Regards,

2/14/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I own a veterinary clinic.. The E Local Link/CGI sales woman, ***** *******, came to our business in April of 2012 and told us her business was making the website for the county where our business is located. She told us the plan was to feature one doctor, one dentist, one veterinarian, etc. on the website, and asked us if we were interested in this exciting opportunity. She repeatedly told us we would be the ONLY veterinarian featured on the website, which is the main reason we purchased the spot. Her "hook" to us was to tell us that if we weren't interested in being the only veterinarian on the website, she would just go to the next veterinary clinic on her list and offer them this opportunity. That is why we purchased the spot on the county website through CGI, and the video production they would make for us for posting on the county website. There was no miscommunication; she was very clear that she was offering us the one and only spot for a veterinarian on the website. We figured that the very expensive amount we were paying for this was worth being the only veterinarian on the website, and both my husband and I told her that. She gave us a one page contract, and I read through it and did not see anything untoward. Our video was made and the county website recently went live...and not only were we NOT the only veterinarian on the website, but our 2 main competitors were featured right with us. We were furious at having been lied to by ***** *******, and I called and left a message for the client accounts manager, ********* ********. He called back and left a message that I should "check number 7" on the contract, and we would see that we were never promised to be the only veterinary clinic on the website. I told her that ***** ******* had most certainly promised us that very thing, over and over, and that we were furious she lied to us. He said that *****'s husband was his best friend and so he knew she'd never lie to us. He tried to tell me that there had simply been miscommunication between ***** and us and I told him that there was no miscommunication whatsoever, she was very clear in what she promised us. Then he just told me repeatedly to just check #7 on my contract, in a way that indicated to me that he must say this often to people. When I did check #7 on the contract, I was even angrier, since that sentence is designed to deceive people. It says: "e.LocalLink does not provide live talent, props, or exclusive involvement." First of all, the intent is to make the reader think this entire sentence is about props and people for the video; I believed it referred to the video. Secondly, this sentence is designed to be unclear... even had I figured out that exclusive involvement did not refer to the video, it is still (as I'm sure they intended) worded in such a way that no reasonable person would believe that "exclusive involvement" was negating *****'s sales pitch that we would be the only veterinarian featured on the website. No one would know what exclusive INVOLVEMENT meant, since placement on a website would never be termed "involvement" by any reasonable person. But the fact that they paired it with "live talent" and "props" was clearly designed to deliberately mislead the consumer into thinking this entire sentence referred to the video, especially given the sales woman's repeated promises that we would be the only vet clinic on the website.

Desired Settlement: We would like e.LocalLink/CGI to admit that this is this is ***** *******'s (and perhaps other sales people's) main sales pitch...that she told us we would be the only veterinary clinic on the ******* County website. We would like them to cease and desist from using this deceptive sales pitch paired with #7 on this contract, which is specifically designed to mislead consumers. We would like an apology for having been told one thing when she clearly did not mean to deliver that promise. We would also like e.LocalLink/CGI to reexamine the ethics of their sales staff and whether the company has been acting in good faith when pursuing sales calls like ***** *******'s.

Business Response:

To BBB Complaint Handler:

Date:  2.12.13


Kindly be advised that we are in receipt of ********* ********** ******'s BBB Statement with regard to their experience with our company.

Having served local communities and businesses for over 20 years, we understand the value of a customer who is appreciative of the products and services we provide.  When we receive a complaint or criticism it is our practice to view it as an opportunity to take notice of something that may be askew, and to follow it up with an appraisal and, if warranted, a call to action.  So we are thankful to ***** ******* for having taken the time to contact the BBB and provide the details of her experience. 

First off, I would like to apologize to Ms. ******* for the manner in which our client accounts manager responded to her message.  

Leaving a detailed, argumentative message in answer to a customer's inquiry is not proper procedure.  Making assertions of fact with no direct knowledge in order to call into question a customer's veracity or credibility shows a lack of maturity and understanding.  It also calls into question whether our employee has been properly vetted and trained for his very important position. 

Furthermore, I am troubled by the fact that the manager seems to have handled this type of complaint regarding "exclusivity" to the extent that he refers to #7 of the contract like they are 'old pals'. 

I am General Counsel of CGI and wasn't privy to the language of #7 of the contract.  Granted, I have not reviewed every contract that this company has ever drafted and some are changed to coincide with particular requests, but I've never known this provision to exist.  I agree that the wording of #7 is not consistent and could appear to be misleading or to be a hidden term.  I am going to suggest that it be changed and then will make a new provision within future agreements to the extent that  "there is no exclusivity unless explicitly stated in writing by the parties."

That having been said, even absent provision #7, the contract under its "Terms" (on the bottom of its one page) states that this is a "business-to-business" contract.  This implies that we're dealing with individuals who do business and deal with contracts and agreements on a recurring basis.

It also states that the client acknowledges that she did not rely on any statement, promise or representation other than those contained in the contract. 

As for exclusivity and its definition in this circumstance, I cannot possibly know what our sales representative said to Ms. ******* or whether what she said to her was properly understood by Ms. *******. I don't know what our sales person represented to Ms. *******, but if it was important to the deal it should have been in writing on the contract and if not there in black and white, the contract should not have been signed.

I do know that we sell exclusive New Move-In Lists to the first of any business or professional category who agrees to participate in any given project. In reviewing the contract of ********* ********** ******, and having looked at our records, I do see that they are the exclusive, (one and only) veterinary clinic to receive the monthly mailing list of new movers/residents to *********.  I also note that another veterinary clinic has exclusively the mailing list for *********, and that the third veterinary business has no access to any mailing lists, period.  So there is an exclusive element to this contract. I don't know if it is what was represented or agreed to orally.  I do know it is written on the contract as "new Move in service".

In closing, I would like to again apologize to ***** ******* and the ********* ********** ****** for our inappropriate actions in handling her original complaint and for any misunderstanding caused by our sales presentation or sales contract.  There will be changes made, a new training regimen instituted for all customer service representatives, and mandatory sales meetings to remind our sales people to reduce everything in any agreement properly in writing and to be mindful of their ethical obligations and their importance, not only to our customers and business clients, but to our growing business and long term success.

I do hope the clinic is happy with the video we wrote, video-taped and produced with their help. I sincerely hope they are happy with the 8 question custom Avatar that answers questions from. their clinic Website's Homepage and the New Mover's List. 

As a courtesy and show of thanks for bringing these important matters to our attention, instead of being posted and viewed from the two Chapter Sponsorships agreed to in our original agreement, I have had the ********* ********** ******'s logo and link to their video and Website "Super-Saturated" on all 10 of the video Chapters comprising the ******* County ********* Community Video Program.

Thank you for presenting us the opportunity to respond to Ms. *******'s BBB Complaint. Please feel free to contact me if there are any further questions or if there is anything more I can do to convey our thanks and appreciation to our most valued customer.


**** ********, General Counsel

CGI Communications, Inc.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

I appreciate the manner in which this complaint was answered; I feel that I was truly "heard" by the company.  Thank you for resolving this quickly and fairly.  I now feel that you truly care what your customers think.

Regards,

***** *******

11/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed an agreement with CGI Communications for advertising on a website for a nearby locality. Five days later I signed another agreement to reduce the amount of advertising services. One hundred and four days after the second signing I have not received 1) the refund due for the change OR 2)any advertising services.

Desired Settlement: Total refund

Business Response: A refund check was issued and placed in the mail on 11/16/12. Check No. ***** was issued in the amount of $3,600.00 to ********* **** ************ ***. I would imagine the check has arrived by this time and point. Please feel free to contact me directly if there are any future questions, comments or concerns.


In Kind Regards,
**

11/19/2012 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: CGI Communications promised a commercial video for broadcast/advertising purposes. At no time was it stated that the video produced was not our property. After the community website advertising term was terminated CGI will not send me my video. I spoke to 2 employees of the company who stated that the video was indeed ours to have and that they would email it to me. After numberous phone calls and the run around I still have no video. This issue has been going on for 6 months. I spend over 5000.00 on this video and have nothing to show for it.

Desired Settlement: Please send me my video in broadcast quality format.

Business Response:

CGI Communications, Inc. and eLocalLink is an Internet based advertising company. We create Internet videos and commercials to be displayed online through various community based websites and banner ads. The video purchased by the ******* ********* *** ******** and Ms. ******* was purchased for these particular reasons. I’ve included a link to the electronic version of Ms. *******’s contract. Please refer to the various options in this agreement outlining the specifics of the content created.

Agreement line item #5 - e•LocalLink will provide the client a 'Line of Code', which represents the content. This 'Line of Code' may be embedded into a website to create video streaming which will be hosted by e•LocalLink. This 'Line of Code' has an expiration date (see below). Refer to line item #9.

Agreement line item #6 (2nd sentence) e•LocalLink expressly reserves all rights in and to any video content it creates. The client will not reproduce or redistribute any portion of the content without express written consent from e•LocalLink

Agreement Line item#9 - The client's content will be displayed and linked with the community movie program for a period of 12 months ('EXPIRATION DATE'). The start date for this contract is on day 91 or the date the community movie program is displayed on/with the 'Official' Project's website; whichever is later.

If you review the agreement it’s clear that several other negotiations were included into the agreement such as an additional 12 months of service, a second community based sponsorship on the **** ********** ** program, the option to receive a paid in full discount, and an additional 15 seconds of video, providing her with a 75 second video (in lieu of the typical 60 second video associated with the Gold level program). Nowhere in the agreement is there any mention that CGI Communications or eLocalLink would release the video content to the ******* ********* *** ********.

Lastly we have no phone records or documentation to support any of Ms. *******’s claims that two employees offered her the content. In fact I have documentation from two different individuals from February and October of this year indicating we would not release the content.

At this point in time we’ve done nothing wrong and our contract dating back to January of 2010 has been delivered in full. If Ms. ******* and the ******* ********* *** ******** can produce a written document providing the release of the material we will without question provide her with the content. However in the interim we feel her attempt to leverage the use of the Better Business Bureau against our company as a means to her ends is unprofessional and frankly unethical.

 Contract Page – if you’re unable to click the link you may need to copy and paste the entire link into your browser.

*

 Respectfully,

 

*** **********

******** ** Client Relations

CGI Communications, Inc.

130 East Main St. 1st Floor

Rochester, NY 14604

************** **** ***

**************************

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID , and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I spoke to ****** ******* on 2 occasions; once on 7/13/12 and 8/20/12.  She told me that she would email the video to *** ******** email address ****************.  She further explained that it may have what she called a watermark across it to copywrite it and I told her that *** ****** did not care.  She doesn't intend to reuse the video, she simply wants it as a momento. 

Then I spoke with **** ****** who called soliciting our business by telling me that their company could produce a video to be placed on the ********* Community site to help market our services.  I asked what company he was with and recognized it as the company that we were trying to get our video from.  I told him that we had already used his company and were not happy about the fact that we ended up without our video.  He explained to me that they had never done this project before in our area.  After calling him out and telling him "I know who you are, I know your company is not local, you are in New York".  He finally admitted that they maybe had done our work before.  I said we just want the video and he told me that the video is indeed ours to keep, it was not company policy to keep the videos and that he would personally call ********* and have him call me.  Run around after run around has happened and I am not happy.

Regards,

*

 

 

Business Response: As we've stated previously we have no records or documentation to support any of Ms. * claims that these employees offered her the video content. Additionally I've personally spoken with the aforementioned individuals and both explicitly stated the exact opposite.

Secondly Ms. ******* can be quoted in her initial complaint and resolution requested saying "Please send me my video in broadcast quality format," however in her most recent response she can be quoted again saying "
She doesn't intend to reuse the video, she simply wants it as a memento."  This is obviously a conflict of interest and a discrepancy in her story further supporting our initial stance that she is leveraging the use of the Better Business Bureau against our company as a means to her ends.

Additionally Ms. ******* has been informed on several occasions that if she wishes to obtain the shared rights to the video for her personal use and re-distribution it will be made available to her for purchase price of $500.00. 

I would like to point out that to us this is not an issue of "simply releasing the rights to the video content", if it were that simple I'd just do it and the complaint would be resolved, however concerning the claims, accusations and the attempted use of the Better Business against our company we will not simply "give in" to her unjustified complaint and we will continue to stand by our policies and procedures.

Finally if Ms. ******* wishes to obtain a playable copy of her video on DVD she may send a check payable to CGI Communications, Inc. in the amount of $500.00 to my attention at the address below. Upon receipt of this payment a DVD copy of her video will be placed in the mail within 7-10 business days.

*** **********

******** ** Client Relations

CGI Communications, Inc.

130 East Main St. 1st Floor

Rochester, NY 14604

************** **** ***

**************************


Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I have personally spoken to my former business partner and my manager who state that the video was to be given to us.  My manager says that she spoke with **** ****** who called to try to solicit business from us not knowing that we already did the video he was trying to solicit.  When she brought it to his attention that we had been trying to get a copy of the video he stated "it is not the company policy to keep the video.  Let me call and get this taken care of"  Those were his exact words.   It was your employee ***** ******* that told us to go ahead and file a complaint with the BBB.  I did not want to go that route, but was forced to when we contacted her again and she became rude and belligerent.  I find it interesting that now you are offering us the option of paying you $500 for the video when in past conversations you told us it would be $2500.  Somehow the story continues to change.   Why should I give you an additional $500 dollars when I have already paid $5495 for it.   The broadcast quality format was a suggestion, but honestly if it has a "watermark" or internal code across it I don't care.  I simply want it as a keepsake.  So if you feel more comfortable about relinquishing it with those safeguards in place, then do so.

 

Regards,

*

 

 

10/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/16/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: CGI represented that they were the video provider for the*. A video package produced by CGI was purchased based on this relationship. The video advertising our business was to be prominently displayed on the *website. Upon speaking with the *, I was informed that CGI never reached agreement with the * and it was their understanding that CGI was to return all funds. I have contacted CGI at least 5 times. I have been referred to * I have left numerous messages for him and my calls have not been returned.

Desired Settlement: Currently the videos can only be streamed through CGI's website. I would like a copy of the video (that I purchased) so that I can stream it on my website independent of CGI in lieu of a refund. If this is not possible, I would be satisfied with a full refund in the amount of $3500.

Business Response: A refund check was placed in the mail yesterday to this client. I communicated via email this morning with the * advised him of this and I also emailed him all the video files for his video and a complimentary DVD is being issued and sent to them. Their office is in receipt of the video files and should receive the refund check by Saturday the 11th and the DVD by the end of next week.

Please let me know if there is anything else I can do.

*

Director of Client Relations
CGI Communications, Inc.