BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Albany, Buffalo, Rochester & Syracuse regions

BBB Accredited Business since

JHL Supply

Additional Locations

Phone: (315) 592-4794 Fax: (315) 592-4796 28 West First St. South, Fulton, NY 13069 http://www.campingsurvival.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers Specialty Tools & Equipment For HVAC/Gas & Electric Service. Also offers Camp/Outdoor Gear & Sporting Goods. www.campingsurvival.com

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that JHL Supply meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for JHL Supply include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on JHL Supply
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 23, 2000 Business started: 01/01/1956 in NY Business started locally: 01/01/1956 Business incorporated: 10/06/2010 in NY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Thomas J Sciacca, President
Business Category

TOOLS - RENT ELECTRIC HEATING EQUIPMENT - WHOLESALE & MANUFACTURERS AIR CONDITIONING CONTRACTORS & SYSTEMS CAMPING EQUIPMENT FISHING TACKLE DEALERS MOUNTAIN CLIMBING EQUIPMENT SPORTING GOODS - RETAIL TENTS TRAPPING EQUIPMENT & SUPPLIES

Alternate Business Names
HVACTool.Com John H Leavey Mfg. Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 191 West 1st Street North

    Fulton, NY 13069

  • 28 West First St. South

    Fulton, NY 13069

  • P O Box 720

    Fulton, NY 13069

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/20/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased Woodman's Pal Military Pro-284 Premium - Model 284 and The WOODMAN'S PAL Leather Pro-510-2 Sheath from the website camping survival.con (JHL Supply). I ordered on 8-15 it was billed and shipped on the 16 and the Woodman's Pal Military Pro-284 Premium - Model 284 arrived on 8-22. The WOODMAN'S PAL Leather Pro-510-2 still hasn't arrived yet. I have since called, and emailed twice. I finally received a response on 8/28 stating that it was a direct ship from supplier and they haven't gotten an answer yet as to the ship date. But when I purchased the product on their website the product was advertised as "In Stock". I still have not received a response as to the shipment date nor a tracking number for the WOODMAN'S PAL Leather Pro-510-2 that was in my original order.

Desired Settlement: I would like an expedited delivery by any means necessary of the WOODMAN'S PAL Leather Pro-510-2 (even if they have to purchase the product at full retail price themselves from someone who actually can deliver product on time). I would like to also receive a had written note of apology from *** ******* the owner of Campingsurvival.com site /President of JHL Supply with perhaps a discount percentage off a future purchase.

Business Response: Good morning, As we have stated we are currently not able to get this product.  I am sorry for the delay.  This is abnormal as it shows in stock because they always have been.  This is the first time we have had this problem.  The manufacturer is telling us it will be another week or two.  As the customer has not responded to our emails we have not cancelled the item and credited his card.  We have a few options.  Customer can wait.  We can cancel the item and credit his card.  We can cancel the item and credit his card and we can re-charge it when it's ready to ship.  Please let us know which of these you would like to do.  Again sorry for this rare delay and that it happened to you.  Thank you, *** *******, President JHL Supply/CampingSurvival.com

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/6/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hello, recently when you had that sale promising a free exotac fire starter and eGear flash light on every order, I quickly bought something 2 hours later, when my package came I was told you ran out of items and gave me a different flint and a VERY LOW quality flashlight that broke the Same day. Sounds like a bait and switch. The items you sent me was not comparable to the items advertised and I'm  very glad that the deal was a big successes but I like what was promised to me or a comparable item. Also I was talking to one of your employees and as soon as I mentioned bait and switch I stopped receiving emails and I contacted multiple people.

Desired Settlement: I want what was promised to me or a comparable item.

Business Response:

Hello,  Thank you for letting us know about this situation.  I (*** *******, President JHL Supply/CampingSurvival) have had a meeting with my assistant manager, **** and both customer service reps **** and ***** were in contact with this customer.  It seems that the last email to ***** was not responded to and I apologize.  She dropped that ball and this is not allowed.  We have talked with her about this and it will not happen again.  This email was about the non-working flashlight which was mentioned only after a series of emails.  As stated in the email, this promo was only good as long as supplies last.  It ended up being the most successful promo we've done as far as the response.   We had a lot of products to give away and we simply ran out.  We didnt have to send anything, but we are the type of people and company that likes to do our best so we sent the flashlight free.  This is a quality flashlight that we've been selling for years.  I personally have the same flashlight on my hiking jacket zipper and its been there for several years and works great.  In talking with my assistant manager, ****, he has one as well and loves it.  We have never had one of these flashlights not work.  Sorry it happened to you.  If you'd like to send it back, we will confirm that it doesn't work and replace it free.

The email was sent out at noon.  They broadcast our pretty quickly and his was sent at about 1:00.  Sorry if you didnt open it until a little later.  The order was placed at 7:13 pm.
Order ID     campingsurvival-******
Date     Fri Jul 12 19:13:14 EDT 2013

By then we were definitely out of these products.  Please note that we have been around since 1956.  I've owned the company for 18 years and take seriously your concerns about bait and switch as this is simply something I and my employees would never do.  We wouldn't still be here if we were the type of people and company that would do that kind of thing.  Again, I am sorry you didnt get the item you hoped for but we still did the right thing by sending a quality product.  I am also sorry if it doesn't work and as I stated earlier, please send it back if you like and we will replace it.

Thank you, *** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/25/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ordered canned meats which were to be shipped with cardboard dividers between cans to avoid damage to cans. Packages arrived with no dividers between cans and as such 80% of the cans were dented or damaged, several to the breaking point (opened). A number of cans have already begun to "bulge" signifying air has entered the cans and the products are deteriorating. The CDC, FDA and USDA all recommend not consuming food from dented cans to avoid illness and or death.

Desired Settlement: 1) As these products are no longer safe for consumption due to not being shipped as advertised, I desire a complete refund for the damaged items only (100 out of 120 were undamaged), including shipping and handling. 2) Camping Survival.com ship as advertised or remove the false advertising.

Business Response: The customer and I (*** *******, President JHL Supply) as well as two of my customer service agents have been communicating about this with this customer and we have not been able to resolve it.  The order was packaged well as all of our orders are.  We have shipped thousands of orders with very few complaints.  This is the first we were not able to resolve.  The customer sent us pictures showing that the majority of the cans had either little to no denting such as would appear on any grocery store shelf.  We offered to credit for any cans that have lost their integrity or have severe denting.  Here is our policy as is clearly stated on our site prior to ordering.  "Note: Before shipping our canned items they are fully inspected to be sure they are free from dents. We Do Not Intentionally Ship Dented Cans. We have begun placing cardboard dividers between all of the cans to ensure that you receive them in good condition. Due to the rough handling during shipping it is nearly impossible for canned food items to arrive at your location without minor denting. Minor denting cannot be avoided and does not affect the self-life of your canned products. We cannot and will not replace any canned items that only have minor denting from shipping. You may be asked to provide photos of the damaged cans to verify the damage."  It is our policy to ship as such and we do.  It is impossible to determine if they were tampered with in transit or at the arrival location.  To go a step further and after threats of legal action I sent this email response to the customer this morning.  "Good morning,  Once again, no amount of bullying will get me to pay you to keep perfectly good product.  If you'd like to ship it back to me at your expense I will make several exceptions to our return policy http://www.campingsurvival.com/shipping.html  and credit you for the returned product.  I will also issue a credit for the cans that are actually damaged and are no longer viable as I've stated several times.".  Nothing short of issuing a full credit thereby allowing the customer to keep the food (which is still fully viable for long term storage as well as current consumption) seems to suffice.  Since 1956 we've worked very hard to take care of our customers and continue to.  However bullying threats and intimidation of lawyers and such doesn't warrant hundreds of dollars of high quality free products. 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Please see consumer pics the consumer provided. The consumer also sent emails that were back and forth but I have not included those as you probably have those. 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

1