BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Albany, Buffalo, Rochester & Syracuse regions

BBB Accredited Business since

Uncle Bob's Self Storage

Additional Locations

Phone: (800) 242-1715 View Additional Phone Numbers 6467 Main St., Williamsville, NY 14221 http://www.unclebobs.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers climate and humidity controlled storage, moving supplies, and vehicle (boat, car, RV, and motorcycle) storage.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Uncle Bob's Self Storage meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Uncle Bob's Self Storage include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Uncle Bob's Self Storage
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 24, 1996 Business started: 01/01/1985 in NY Business started locally: 01/01/1985 Business incorporated: 05/22/1995 in MD
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Josh Kruk, Digital Media Manager Mr. Kenneth F. Myszka, President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Josh Kruk, Digital Media Manager
Business Category

STORAGE UNITS - HOUSEHOLD & COMMERCIAL STORAGE UNITS – PORTABLE BOAT STORAGE MOVING SUPPLIES RECREATIONAL VEHICLES - STORAGE

Alternate Business Names
Sovran Self Storage, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 1180 University Ave.

    Rochester, NY 14607 (585) 461-0910

  • 1270 Jefferson Road

    Rochester, NY 14623 (585) 424-5075

  • 1275 Sheridan Dr.

    Buffalo, NY 14217 (716) 871-1568

  • 1280 Creek St.

    Webster, NY 14580 (585) 787-1240

  • 2585 Brighton Henrietta Town Line Rd

    Rochester, NY 14623 (585) 427-0590

  • 2681 Niagara Falls Blvd

    Amherst, NY 14228 (716) 691-4565

  • 2802 Transit Rd.

    West Seneca, NY 14224 (716) 674-6055

  • 290 Ellicott St.

    Buffalo, NY 14203 (716) 852-1042

  • 300 Langner Rd

    West Seneca, NY 14224 (716) 825-6174

  • 3154 Union Rd.

    Cheektowaga, NY 14227 (716) 686-0941

  • 40 Leo Place

    Cheektowaga, NY 14225 (716) 632-4014

  • 420 Spencer St.

    Syracuse, NY 13208 (315) 422-0191

  • 4445 Lake Ave.

    Blasdell, NY 14219 (716) 822-1500

  • 521 Young St

    Tonawanda, NY 14150 (716) 695-0832

  • 6104 S. Transit Rd.

    Lockport, NY 14094 (716) 625-9240

  • 6467 Main St.

    Williamsville, NY 14221 (716) 633-1850 (800) 242-1715

  • 6523 Basile Rowe

    East Syracuse, NY 13057 (315) 437-3583

  • 7266 Henry Clay Blvd.

    Liverpool, NY 13088 (315) 457-7222

  • 8161 Main St

    Williamsville, NY 14221 (716) 632-7796

  • 8239 Thompson Rd

    Cicero, NY 13039 (315) 699-8996

  • 860 Phillips Rd.

    Webster, NY 14580 (585) 265-2930

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (716) 633-1850(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On May 20th at approximately 11:28am, I placed a call to Uncle Bob's Storage and spoke with *** ( who later identifies himself as the manager, after being asked several times for a manager.). I booked the use of the moving truck for 5/31. I had initially asked *** if I was still entitled to the use of the truck because I had already rented my storage space the week prior, and while reading over my contract I noticed the use of the truck came with the storage rental. ***, asked me "what is your storage space number?" I located my receipt and said to him "1469". *** looked me up in their system and then said yes. I asked *** could I use the truck on Saturday 5/24, and he responded it was rented. I then asked him could I use it on the 5/25, he responded it was rented that day. I then said well, due to my being off on Monday 5/26 (the holiday), I said how about that date? *** said we're closed that day, and even if we weren't the truck is loaned out for charity that date. *** then stated the truck is however available on 5/31. I said, good that is my official move date any way, I was just trying to be proactive and move on the weekend I had off. We agreed that I would take the truck on 5/31. *** then told me as a matter of fact it's available all day, and you can have it from 9am to 4pm. He said, all you have to do is show up with your drivers licensce and proof of auto insurance. I said ok. Before we hung up he read the reservation back to me using the wrong date 5/30, and I said no 5/31 and he reponded oh yes I have it, I just read it wrong. Prior to this reservation of the truck, *** has helped me on 3 occassions, the day I rented my space which was 5/10 and I paid $103.58 for the storage rental, and boxes. 5/24 I purchased more boxes $16.27. Both of these transactions *** helped me carry the boxes to my car. *** has also spoken with me over the phone on 3 ocassions. My purpose in pointing out all of this by this time I'm no stranger to *** because he is the only one that has assisted me from day one. I showed up to pick up my truck reservation on 5/31, at 9am as advised. *** says to me, so what are you here for? I said to pick up the truck, he said what is your name ( with a smirk on his face)? I told him, he says well I don't have a truck for you because the name on the reservation is *********. *** says you'll have to go and get a truck from some place else. In that moment I immediately crashed in the emotions department because i'm already stressed with the move, no help, and had been woke over 24 hrs, and had just got off work at 7am. I was absolutely not prepared to hear this news knowing I had to be out of that apartment that day. ***, thought the whole situation was funny as if he was enjoying antagonizing me in the moment. He then disregarded me and began assisting other customers. He also told me that i never reserved the truck with him, I must have called another store, and there was nothing he could do. I scrolled back in my phone to may the date we had the conversation, and I rang the number. I said to ***, do you hear your phone ringing? He said yes (still with that smirk on his face). Eventually I went to the door hollered emotionally for my brother and he then entered to talk to ***. *** continued in his condescending, antagonistic attitude. He would not take responsibility for the mess up on his end. My brother at some point advised *** to call the police because of ***'s attitude towards the whole situation. The cheektowaga Police (3) arrived, and they only made the situation worse. Upon arrival by 2 of the cops the attitude displayed and the non caring disposition they took when it came to me the customer who was visibly emotionally distressed, as well as angry they treated me Just as bad as ***. On Monday June 2, I reached out to their corporate office and was put in contact with a ***** *****. ***** called me with the same disgusting attitude as ***, and asked me what did I want him to do about it. He said another customer called him and said they felt threatened by my behavior. I said to *****, do you really think I care what another causcasion customer called and told him about an emotionally distressed black woman who was made to be the villan when I had did nothing wrong but trusted *** with the Reservation I had made on 5/24? ***** said to me he didn't care, I was getting nothing out of him, and what ever I do I better do it legally and put it in writing. At some poin I ended up hanging up the phone.

Desired Settlement: Due to all of this that transpired on that day 5/31. It took me 3 hours to find another truck. It cost me another $80.00 to rent another storage space. At that point a great percentage of my persoanl belongings was al ready in Uncle Bob's storage for I had been moving all month. What should have taken a total of 3 hrs tops that date took me 10hrs. Emotionally distraught I still am. I never ever could pull myself together emotionally that day. I cried the entire day because I couldn't believe I had been treated so cruely, unjustly, I felt this was a discriminatory act, as well as my civil rights being violated. The company management attitude has proven to not considered my business of any importance to them, and in the 45mins that this entire occurrence went on, ********* never, ever showed her face. I would like the monies I had to spend on another truck, and storage given back to me. They total $130.00. I should also be compensated more for the emotional distress they put me through on that day, and a letter of apology from the company. I do feel that their actions on everyone involved were racially motivated. I feel that because it was ***'s error he should have had the compassion and business sense to be remorseful, and do all he could to calm me as the customer and try very hard to make right what he made wrong. He didn't try at all, however he did antagonize the entire situation with his demeanor, condescending tone, choice of words and visible smirk that was on his face the entire time. I'm not saying that I reacted in the best way, but being the situation as it was it could have been alot worse with the kind of stress I was under that day. Moving is a very stressful time for any one. Being that i'm single, was with limited help and had done all I could to be proactive in scheduling that truck 11 days prior to my move if *** was not able to accommodate me he could have said it initally and I would have moved on 5/20.

Consumer Response: ********* is the name  that *** the manager said was on the reservation.  *** made the reservation with me over the phone on 5/20. Somehow my name never made it on the reservation and that is the leg they're standing on with this situation. Instead of saying *** messed up, take responsibility for where he went wrong,  *** antagonized the situation by the display of the smile that never left his face while dealing with me,  it was funny, offered me no resolution and exhibited he didn't care.  They only have one truck for the site. Because of the behavior and attitude that was shown towards me I didn't trust leaving my personal belongings in their possession. The cost of another truck rental and new storage space at a different location I would like for them to reimburse me. The poor display of customer service, satisfaction,  and lack of appreciation for my business is why I moved my things. 

Business Response:

*******,

 

We have reviewed the attached BBB complaint.  Although Uncle Bob’s was not negligent, as an accommodation to Ms. *********, we offer to settle her claim of loss for $130.00.  If this settlement is acceptable to Ms. *********, please so advise.

 

Thank you,

 

***** ******* | Paralegal

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 
How  and when will they refund me the money? Their admitting to what they did is not necessary as long as I'm refunded.  

Regards, 

****** *********




BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: First fact , the flood happened sat. Night into Sunday morning. Another customer reported the flood to corporate before 12 noon Sunday. I called twice Sunday afternoon looking for answers. With no results.So that puts you( uncle bobs) in 'the know' before noon on Sunday. uncle bobs immediately went into 'oh shit' mode and started making calls to their own vendors and insurance people well before you started calling your own customers. You know how I know that is a fact? I went to the facility at 9am and there was ****, store manager and a contractor taking were pictures of the damage on behalf of uncle bobs.I did not get a call until almost 24 hours after corporate knew of the flood and that is because I had already called twice. It took your area manager ******* 48 hours to return my call. That is inexcusable. When I cleared out my storage unit I spoke with two other who we're cleaning out their units that they did not get called by uncles bobs about the situation until Tuesday. Still 48 hours after the event. Second fact, UB told me that on Sunday when the report came into corporate They called the local authorities in EG and had the site shutdown. This is also not true as I have in writing from ****** *****, the town manager that a report never came into either fire or police about 500 frenchtown rd(uncle bobs)Fact 3, you require insurance for rentals on your property, but I was told by **** that it is just a formality and I don't even need it. Just make sure you have a lock on your door and your door you'll be fine. Just get the least expensive and it will save you a bunch of money. Now this is coming from their employee.Did you know that I had the option of putting the unit under my own home owner insurance policy? I didn't. I bet you did, but YOUR employee never explained that to me. I bet she didn't know either. In fact I never found out about that until Friday when ******* FINALLY showed up from corp

Desired Settlement: Damaged items need to be replaced.

Business Response: May 13,2014
Re: Uncle Bob's Self Storage #005, located at 500 Frenchtown Road, East Greenwich, RI 02818
**** ***** / Complaint ID ********
Dear *******:
We are in receipt of the above referenced BBB complaint and respond as follows below. Copies of relevant
documents are attached.
On March 8,2014, ********. ***** entered into a self-service storage rental agreement at the facility
referenced above. The rental agreement expressly states that no bailment is created and personal property is
stored at the customer's sole risk. The rental agreement further states that insurance is the responsibility of
the tenant.
On or around March 30, 2014, East Greenwich and surrounding areas, including our facility, experienced
heavy rains and flooding. The facility was closed and without power for approximately one week due to the
severity of the event. A couple hundred spaces were affected, and we attempted to contact those customers
as expeditiously as possible. Given the emergency situation at the facility, our communication with
customers was timely.
Concurrent with the execution of the rental agreement, Mr. ***** purchased an insurance policy through
************. ***** ******* has settled Mr. *****' claim at the maximum limit of his policy. We,
therefore, consider Mr. *****' claim to be resolved.
Should you require any additional information, please contact the undersigned.
attachments
cc : Store #005
Area Manager
Thank you,
***** *******
Paralegal

Consumer Response: Flood happened on March 30th. I had to do all the contacting to uncles bobs between march 30 and April 2. They did not contact me until April 3. 4 Days to contact me? really?? and then it took a full week to get someone from corporate on site... there should have been someone there the next day. $99 to fly from Rochester/buffalo to providence on SWA.... give me a break Their store level employees do not carry the corporate way of doing business. I was told by the uncle bobs employee that "I do not need insurance, but it is required. nothing ever happens so just get the cheapest and sign here" I was never told I had a choice of insurance companies. I was never told I could find my own if I wanted to. I was told everyone uses this ***** insurance because they're the cheapest but I still don't need it. I didn't know I needed my real estate lawyer to review a storage unit contract for a 2 month rental. Uncle Bob's also had their own vendor at the site Monday March 31 assessing damage to their own property, well before they contacted their customers. Uncle Bob's has been dishonest with information and what they have told their customers. Rhode Island is very small and tight knit. It is very easy to get information from town officials on what is really happening with a business that is out of state but operating in state.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

12/13/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company made no attempt at contacting me prior to auctioning my items stored in their facility.

Desired Settlement: reimbursement for my property.

Business Response: December 4, 2013
Case ID #*******
Customer: *********** ******* ********
We are in receipt of your complaint dated 12/3/ 13. We respond as follows below. Copies of all relevant
documents are enclosed.
On May 1, 20 13, *********** ******** entered into a self-service storage rental agreement at the referenced
facility. The rental agreement expressly states that rent is due on the first of each month and that a lien attaches if
the account is in continuous default for a period of 30 days. We are not a warehouse and no bailment is created.
Mr. ********'s account was in continuous default, and the contents of the storage space were sold at public
auction on August 21, 20 13 for non-payment of rent and other charges pursuant to New York law_
Prior to auction, notices were both mailed to Mr. ******** at the address he provided on his rental agreement and
published in a local newspaper, as required by the Act.
Notices included: Lien Sale Notice dated 7/19/13; Pre-Lien Notice dated 6/21/2013; Late Notice dated 6/11/2013
Total delinquency on the day of auction was $622.00; proceeds at auction were $470.00. The balance (plus a
collection fee) was submitted to IC System.
Should you require additional in formation, please contact the undersigned.
Very truly yours,
****** ** *********
Vice President-Administration

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sales Person over the phone **** told me inaccurate pricing of a unit. Contract included other fees bringing total from $79 + Tax to $88 + Tax. I Jason called in to ask for pricing of a unit on Saturday the 5th of October. **** over the phone gave me inaccurate prices of the unit we reserved over the phone. The unit was supposed to be $79+Tax and it was $88+Tax. I asked if other fees apply besides tax and was told no. **** also told me there was a complimentary truck to use and if we wanted to use the truck there would be fees if we used it over a certain time or mile range and they can supply insurance for the truck if we didn't have adequate insurance for our vehicles. These we the only fees we were told about if we used their truck. After going to the facility and looking at the unit *** presents a contract which is more because of additional insurance fees of $9. I told him I was quoted a price $79 plus tax and was never informed of the insurance fees. He told me he could do nothing and to call customer service. I asked him to call customer service on their phone and he told me no to go use my cell phone. I told him that this problem was a result of misinforming us and we should be able to use the store phone and he again said we could not. So I called on my cell to customer service and spoke with ******. He told me he would have to listen to the tape and call the store back. He did so after about 10-15mins. ****** instructed *** to take off the one time $20 fee. This would have been fine if we needed the unit for one or two months. But we will be using the space for a time frame of 6-9 months. There was no additional option. It was either the $20 off or nothing. ****** didn't even have the courtesy to talk to me over the phone to discuss a second option. So I left the storage facility and called ****** back. He told me he reviewed the conversation and the employee just started the day before so he was new and that was his excuse. ****** tried to say the employee ****, mentioned insurance when he discussed the ability to borrow a complimentary truck if we didn't have a car with insurance. I told him the insurance was for the truck and not the unit. ****** said that john still mentioned the insurance and there was nothing he could authorize. He said he would put in a report of the situation and either **** or **** would call the resolve the issue. ****** gave me the reference number of *******. As of today Saturday the 12th I still have not heard from the company.

Desired Settlement: Four (4) Letters of apology from the CEO/Owner, ******, **** And **** and better customer service training.

Business Response:

Good morning,

This issue was addressed yesterday with a letter of apology going to the customer (see attached)

Thank you,

***** ******

Vice President, Corporate Communications

October 31,2013
Dear Mr. *******,
I have recently learned of your dissatisfaction with the way your storage inquiry was
handled, Uncle Bob's takes great pride in our customer service and it's always
disturbing to hear when something breaks down, We have investigated the matter and
are providing additional training to the employees involved,
On behalf of my entire team, please accept our apologies for any inconvenience this
incident caused.
Sincerely,
**** ******
Regional Vice President

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

8/21/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 1.) I have been trying to get my monthly fee adjusted....it was supposed to be a 15% discount when you reserved your space via phone. My bill has never been adjusted yet for that! 2.) I have paid monthly and keep getting irrational and unwarranted late fees. Payments have been made and received and still late fees charged! Also checks that have been accepted and cashed that have stated "account paid in full" with month for. Still late fees charged after the fact of receiving the payments in-person and on time! A check was supposedly returned from the business via mail (never received by me) and then 2-3 late fees charged for same month check received by business for. Now payment made for the following month, not received "alledgedly". 3.) No access to online account and or statements not being sent out regularly. 4.) Request to remove daughter not done. She and my son have tried to speak on my behalf when I was extrememly sick or in the hospital and was told they could not, yet she is on as a contact. Please remove her and her info. immediately as my 3rd request! 5.) Request for District Manager, *******, to call and not done. I have requested to meet with her in-person to review all going on...still no response. The one time months ago she contacted me, I was dealing with a death in my family and had a full house of family members and requested call back. I was advised that she noted I couldn't take call and that was end of story. Luckily, it was taken care of by then manager. 6.) Unit has been locked and no access granted and I believe this to be new manager Helen attempting to abscound with my family's personal belongings or has a personal vendetta. 7.) I have tried to speak with ***** and she ends up being loud, rude and uncaring. (Problems not presented to me in the past under old management.)

Desired Settlement: I am requesting the proper billing inquiry w/explanation, billing adjustment w/credits applied, credit months for consistent disservice and billing issues, along with a written apology.

Business Response:

Ms. ******* *******
Re: Uncle Bob's Self Storage #082, located at 6523 Basile Rowe, E. Syracuse, NY 13057
***** ***** / ID # *******
Dear Ms. *******:
We are in receipt of your letter dated July 25, 2013, copy enclosed . We respond as follows below.
Copies of relevant documents are enclosed.
On March 25, 2012, ***** ***** entered into a self-service storage rental agreement at the facility
referenced above. The rent, late, and lien fees are all expressly stated within the rental agreement which
Ms. ***** signed, indicating her asset to the amounts stated, Rent and fees have been applied to the
account in accordance with the rental agreement A copy of the payment history on the account is
enclosed .
We do not mail statements as a matter of course, pursuant to the terms of the rental agreement, which
states that rent is due on the first of the month "without notice". If payment is not received on the
account within 5 days of its due date, we can overlock the space, per the rental agreement. Additionally,
online access to an account can be suspended if the account is past due.
In order to make a modification to the rental agreement, such as removal of an authorized access or
emergency contact person, the enclosed Notification of Change torm must be completed and returned to
the store.
The Area Manager and Store Manager for this location have each made multiple attempts to contact
Ms. ***** to resolve her concerns. Messages were left for Ms. ***** that were never returned.
As an accommodation to Ms. *****, however, we will reduce her rent from $150 per month to $139 per
month, retroactive to January's rent
The current balance due on the account is $762.00. We will accept payment now of$439.00 for rent
and insurance and will waive the late fee of$120 and the lien fee of$ 115. Ms. ***** should make
arrangements directly with the store to pay the account current.
Thank you,
***** ********
Paralegal

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/19/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to uncle bobs twice to make a payment and noone was there. So they charged me an extra 25 dollars on my account.

Desired Settlement: I would like the late fee on my account waived.

Business Response:

July 18,20 13
We are in receipt of your letter dated Jul y 8, 2013, copy enclosed. Please be advised that a credit of $25
has been applied to Ms. ******' account.
If you require anything further, please feel free to contact me.
Thank you,
***** *******
Paralegal

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: items that i had in storage was actuioned off with out making sure that there was proper notifaction. I never received a certified letter from them saying that when this auction was going to take palce, they never sent an email to the email address that they had for me saying that this was going to take palce. I called them the day they were to auction the items off, i was told that i could not pay over the phone, they i ahd to come in to pay. I i stated that i was out of town and could not makeit there but would try to locate someone. i was told i had about 15 minutes. so i called could not find anyone. So i called the cooperate office, they called the location. The manager lied and told them that when i called they had already auctioned my things off. the Manager at the location was very rude and disrespectful and was not honset in her dealings.

Desired Settlement: I would like if not my things back I would love my important papers.

Business Response:

We are in receipt of your letter dated February 6, 20 13. We respond as follows below. Copies of all
relevant documents are enclosed.
On September 26,20 12, ******* ***** entered into a self-service storage rental agreement at the
referenced facility. The rental agreement ex pressly states that rent is due on the first of each month and
that a lien attaches if the account is in continuous defau lt for a period of 30 days.
The account was in continuous default, and the contents of the storage space were sold at public auction
on February 5, 2013 for non-payment of rent and other charges according to NY Lien Law § 182.
Prior to auction, notices were both mailed to the customer and published in a local newspaper.
Additionally, our personnel spoke with Mr. ***** concerning the delinquency of his account on
multiple occasions.
Total delinquency on the day of auction was $372.00; proceeds at auction were $600.00. An auction
overage letter was mailed to Mr. ***** on February 5, 2013.
encl s.
cc: Store #082
Area Manager
Regards,
***** ********  *********

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/21/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dear BBB I ENGAGED IN A RENTAL AGREEMENT WITH UNCLE BOBS SELF STORAGE IN JULY 2009 WHEN I BECAME HOMELESS.I SOUGHT OUT WHAT I THOUGHT WAS THE MOST SECURE STORAGE FOR MY PERSONAL BELONGINGS. ****** ****** (MGR) WHO RESIDES ON THE PREMISES ALWAYS ENSURED ME THAT THEY WOULD NEVER AUCTON MY THINGS OFF IF I GOT BEHIND HOWEVER IF THEY DID IT IS ONLY TWO BROTHERS THAT WOULD BUY MY BIN." I HAD FALLEN BEHIND ON MY MONTHLY PAYMENTS, BUT ALWAYS CAME CURRENT.I ASKED *** ******* IF SHE COULD REDUCE MY $200/MONTHLY PAYMENT TO MARKET PRICE WHICH SHE SAID NO BECAUSE I WAS GRANDFATHERED IN THE CONTRACT. I WAS A CUSTOMER FOR OVER 10 MONTHS WHEN I BECAME DEATHLY ILL DUE TO 10LBS OF UTERINE FIBROIDS I WAS INFORMED BY 3 SPECIALIST THAT I HAD TO HAVE EMERGENCY SURGERY IMMEDIATELY. ALL I COULD DO WAS WORRY AND WITHOUT A BLINK OF A EYE AND NO NOTICE TO ME OVER $20K OF MY PERSONAL BELONGINGS WERE AUCTIONED OFF FOR$25. DOLLARS AND UNCLE BOBS BILLED ME $1K THOUSAND. I AM IN THE MIDST OF FILING A CIVIL COMPLAINT WITH A DEMAND LETTER FOR $20K. I CAN NO LONGER SIT QUIETLY. I SENT A NOTICE TO *** ******(OPERATIONS MGR). I GOT NO APOLOGY JUST A CRAPPY REPLY FROM UNCLE BOBS PARALEGAL, ***** *******. I NEED YOUR HELP. I WILL GET JUSTICE. I PROMISE. I HAD SURGERY AND I AM HEALTHY AND READY TO KEEP WINNING.THANK YOU,****** **

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I AM SEEKING $20,000 IN DAMAGES LOSS AND MENTAL DISTRESS, NEGLIGENCE AND FRAUD FOR REAL PROPERTY.

Business Response: We are in receipt of your letter dated February 2, 2012. Kindly defer to previous correspondence 
exchanged with the customer, enclosed. 

Thank you, 

*********
Paralegal 

cc: Store #722 

Area Manager

July 18, 2011

It has come to my attention that you have left several voice mail messages at the telephone number for 
the facility referenced above beginning in early May 2011 through this morning. These messages are 
repetitive, serve no legitimate purpose, and contain vulgar language and racist statements. 

On the evening of July 13, 2011, I spoke with you over the telephone and instructed you to direct your 
communications to my office, as your file has been forwarded to me to handle. We believe your 
concerns were fully addressed in our correspondence of March 16, 2011, copy enclosed for your 
reference. However, should you have any additional concerns, please direct those concerns to me in 
writing at the address provided above. Please discontinue calling the store. 

Thank you, 

***** ********* 
Paralegal 

cc: Store #722 
Area Manager

March 16, 2011

We are in receipt of your letter dated March 2, 2011, copy enclosed, and respond as follows below. 
Copies of all relevant documentation are enclosed. ' 

On July 11, 2009, you entered into a self­service storage rental agreement at the referenced facility. The 
rental agreement expressly states that rent is due on the first of each month and that a lien attaches if the 
account is in continuous default for a period of 30 days. We are not a warehouse and no bailment is 
created. 

Your account was in continuous default, and the contents of the storage space were sold at public 
auction on June 3, 2010 for non-payment of rent and other charges according to the Fla. Stat.  83.801, 
et seq. 

Prior to auction, notices were both mailed to you at your last known address and published in a local 
newspaper, as required by the statute. Furthermore, our management made multiple attempts to contact 
you via telephone. 

Total delinquency on the day of auction was $811.32; proceeds at auction were $25.00. The balance 
(plus a collection fee) was submitted to IC System. 

Regards, 

********
Paralegal

Encl. 

cc: Store #722 
Area Manager

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/17/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was charged a $28.20 late fee on a $141.00 storage space. That is a 20% charge that is automatically added to my electronic bill that I pay online. I either must pay in full (which I did) or not pay at all. I emailed my complaint to Uncle Bob's Storage in Bridgeton, MO where my local storage space is. 2 different managers called me, and I asked for the late fee to be refunded, they told me no and that's the way it is. A 20% late fee is over the top bad business.

Desired Settlement: I want the $28.20 late fee refunded to my account.

Consumer Response: Sovran Self Storage in NY owns Uncle Bob's in MO.  The managers at the Missouri site claim they are bound by "corporate rule" and can do nothing to help me.  

Business Response: February 6, 2012

We are in receipt of your letter dated December 22, 201 1, which was faxed to us on January 31, 2012.
We respond as follows below. Copies of relevant documents are enclosed. 

On July 16, 2011, ***** ***** entered into a self-service storage rental agreement at the facility 
referenced above. The rental agreement expressly states late and lien fees in Paragraph 3. Enclosed is a 
copy ofthe payment history on this account, and late fees have been applied in accordance with the 

terms of the rental agreement. 

cc: Store #308 

Area Manager

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1