BBB Accredited Business since

Uncle Bob's Self Storage

Additional Locations

Phone: (800) 242-1715 View Additional Phone Numbers 6467 Main St., Williamsville, NY 14221 http://www.unclebobs.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers climate and humidity controlled storage, moving supplies, and vehicle (boat, car, RV, and motorcycle) storage.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Uncle Bob's Self Storage meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Uncle Bob's Self Storage include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 16 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

16 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 6
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 10
Total Closed Complaints 16

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Uncle Bob's Self Storage
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 24, 1996 Business started: 01/01/1985 in NY Business started locally: 01/01/1985 Business incorporated 05/22/1995 in MD
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Chris Laczi, Contact person Mr. Kenneth F. Myszka, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chris Laczi, Contact person
Principal: Mr. Kenneth F. Myszka, President
Business Category

STORAGE UNITS - HOUSEHOLD & COMMERCIAL STORAGE UNITS – PORTABLE BOAT STORAGE MOVING SUPPLIES RECREATIONAL VEHICLES - STORAGE

Alternate Business Names
Sovran Self Storage, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 1180 University Ave.

    Rochester, NY 14607 (585) 461-0910

  • 1270 Jefferson Road

    Rochester, NY 14623 (585) 424-5075

  • 1275 Sheridan Dr.

    Buffalo, NY 14217 (716) 871-1568

  • 1280 Creek St.

    Webster, NY 14580 (585) 787-1240

  • 2585 Brighton Henrietta Town Line Rd

    Rochester, NY 14623 (585) 427-0590

  • 2681 Niagara Falls Blvd

    Amherst, NY 14228 (716) 691-4565

  • 2802 Transit Rd.

    West Seneca, NY 14224 (716) 674-6055

  • 290 Ellicott St.

    Buffalo, NY 14203 (716) 852-1042

  • 300 Langner Rd

    West Seneca, NY 14224 (716) 825-6174

  • 3154 Union Rd.

    Cheektowaga, NY 14227 (716) 686-0941

  • 40 Leo Place

    Cheektowaga, NY 14225 (716) 632-4014

  • 420 Spencer St.

    Syracuse, NY 13208 (315) 422-0191

  • 4445 Lake Ave.

    Blasdell, NY 14219 (716) 822-1500

  • 521 Young St

    Tonawanda, NY 14150 (716) 695-0832

  • 6104 S. Transit Rd.

    Lockport, NY 14094 (716) 625-9240

  • 6467 Main St.

    Williamsville, NY 14221 (716) 633-1850 (800) 242-1715

  • 6523 Basile Rowe

    East Syracuse, NY 13057 (315) 437-3583

  • 7266 Henry Clay Blvd.

    Liverpool, NY 13088 (315) 457-7222

  • 8161 Main St

    Williamsville, NY 14221 (716) 632-7796

  • 8239 Thompson Rd

    Cicero, NY 13039 (315) 699-8996

  • 860 Phillips Rd.

    Webster, NY 14580 (585) 265-2930

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/6/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
3/8/2016 Problems with Product/Service
12/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service
9/23/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
3/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This complaint falls under: 1) customer service, 2) sales, 3) service, 4) false advertisement, 5) security breach,6) criminal behaviorI filed a complaint with the NJ BBB using the storage name and address (Uncle Bob's) on2/11/2015, complaint # ********, stemming from a formal complaint submitted to Uncle Bob's Storage on 2/2/2015, re incident # ******* filed with Uncle Bob's on 2/4 which has been completed ignored.- First complaint was at site upon arrival (2/1). NO GOODWILL OR GOOD FAITH ALTERNATIVES OFFERED.- On 2/2 I left a very detailed message for anyone other than **** to call me re my complaint (storage, safety, wrong ss#, missing insurance document, etc). NO RESPONSE.- On 2/4 filed formal complaint with the "corporate office" but "Area Manager" *** ******* never contacted me. - On 2/9 in the morning, I contacted ***** ******** by phone and left very detailed message. NO RESPONSE.- On 2/9 in the evening, I contacted Uncle Bob's corporate office via email. I received response that the "Regional Manager" ***** ******* would be calling me back but he never did. - On 2/11, (Two days later(, I submitted a formal complaint with the BBB of NJ (where storage is located). I have call logs of incoming and outgoing calls, photographs and email response from Corporate stating that Mr. ******* would be contacting me. As of today's date, the storage has my incorrect address, ss# and dl# (ss# and dl# belongs to someone else). My insurance documents are missing and most of my rental agreement is missing.I was advised that I needed to file a complaint with the BBB of NY for the Headquarters and Legal owners (Savron Acquisition LP) can be notified.

Desired Settlement: see BBB of NJ complaint # ********-correct docs-correct address-insurance docs-0ne month free (minimum) and the $50 extorted for movers (exit was blocked and was forced to leavetruck at the storage with my mother and pet).-Acknowledgment/apology-Reassurance that **** and unethical, illegal thugs working there will not purposely damage mybelongings.

Business Response:

February 23, 2015

 

Better Business Bureau, Inc.

100 Bryant Woods

South Amherst, NY 14228

 

SUBJECT:       Uncle Bob's Self Storage #376, 480 Allen Street, Elizabeth, NJ 07202

                        Case ID #********

                        Customer:  ******* *****

           

 

We are in receipt of your complaint dated 2/13/15 and respond as follows.

 

Customer rented self-storage space #125 on 2/1/15 but was transferred to space #14 when the space did not meet the approval of the customer. 

 

On 2/2/15, customer left a message at the store requesting a return call.  On 2/5/15, the area manager returned the customer’s call but was sent to voicemail.  On 2/9/15, the area manager again tried to contact the customer but received no response.

 

Enclosed herewith, please find a copy of the customer’s rental agreement that was executed by her on 2/1/15.  The address that is shown on the rental agreement is the address given by the customer.  Number 12 of the rental agreement states the following regarding change of address:

           

“Either party may change such physical or email address by the giving of notice in conformity with this paragraph.  For the purposes of Owner’s lien,“Last known address” means that physical or email address provided by the customer in this Rental Agreement or the physical or email address provided by Customer in a subsequent written notice of change of physical or email address.  Notice must be COMPLETE and in writing, dated and signed by Customer.  Return addresses on envelopes or checks are insufficient.  Change of phone numbers may be done orally or in writing.”

 

On 2/18/15, customer accessed her online account and updated her address and email.  However, the address on the ori****l rental agreement, the customer report updated by the customer on 2/18 and the address listed in your complaint are all different. 

 

As of today’s date, the customer is still a tenant with Uncle Bob’s Self Storage.

 

We are sorry for the inconvenience; however, Uncle Bob's Self Storage was not negligent.  Based on the above information, we deny customer’s claim for damages.

 

Should you require additional information, please contact the undersigned.

 

Very truly yours,

 

***** *********

 

***** *********

Paralegal

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Please have Uncle Bob's Storage provide proof by means of a telephone company phone log for the dates specified on their response, showing that they did indeed call me.  I can provide my AT&T call log showing that on those

dates no calls were received, missed, or answered by voice mail from Uncle Bob's Storage.    Therefore, I have not been able to change my address on the contract itself, nor have I had the opportunity to discuss the problems with the space, ****, and the direct involvement of an Uncle Bob's Storage employee with respect to payment for moving help.
Moreover, Uncle Bob's has not yet provided me with a contract with the last 4 digits of MY social security number and MY drivers license.   Additionally, Uncle Bob's has not provided me with documentation regarding
the insurance that tenants are forced to purchased and in this instance, purchased from them.   
Uncle Bob's has not returned my calls so I expect to receive a COMPLETE contract by mail with the address provided to the BBB and updated online,  with MY ss# and MY DL# AND a complete, correct insurance documentation.
I don't even know what the name of the insurance company is and for all I know, I have none.
Finally, re the spaces themselves, the first unit was the size that we needed but was not in any conditions for use and Uncle Bob's STorage's proposal to "later" they go in and empty my storage in order to do repairs and then
fill it again "while recording", and without my presence, is and should be unacceptable by anyone.   The second space that I was forced to lease because of the day and time (Sunday late afternoon),  leaving me with no other options whatsoever, was smaller so it did not meet my needs and Uncle Bob's did not try to provide other fair alternatives since they chose not to inform me when I was driving from PA in the morning that the space I wanted was no longer in conditions to rent.    Not only is space #14 smaller than what I needed (I would have rented that size if that was sufficient to begin with), but the ADVERTISED dimensions on their website are NOT the actual dimensions, more specifically, the height which made even a greater difference when trying to fit the contents of a 24 ft truck in a 10x15 storage with a low ceiling due to added piers on the ceiling, reducing the advertised dimensions.   
The response provided by Uncle Bob's Storage to the BBB,  just proves my point of their perception of what is legal, professional and ethical.   Both the Area manager and regional manager refused to call me back and I never received a response by corporate by email, phone or mail about my incident report.   It was NOT acknowledged by them at all and that is why I went ahead and filed a complaint with BBB.   
Uncle Bob's Storage continues to act in bad faith by responding to the BBB by lying, stating that they made phone calls when I can easily prove that they did not. 
Please be advised that I provided an alternate phone number and no phone calls were received or missed by Uncle Bob's Storage (locally and/or from corporate) to that phone number either.  
-I do not feel that I am being unreasonable in wanting complete and correct documentation in the forms of a contract and insurance rider.
-I do not feel that it is unreasonable for me to receive a phone call from Uncle Bob's Storage management in response to my complaint for which I was given an incident number.
-I do not feel that it is unreasonable for Uncle Bob's to offer an additional small space so that my belongings would not have to be mishandled and shoved in a storage and stuffed to the edge of the storage where snow and water
enter the units.
-I do not feel that is unreasonable to receive a discount for next month since local employee **** got herself involved and "escorted" me to the ATM for even more money for the moving helpers.  All of this is on camera and
I have asked that the tapes from that date be preserved because it will show the condition of the first unit, the actual size of the second unit, being escorted to an ATM by ****, etc.  My  mother has the photos on her 
phone and does not know how to upload them and get them to me.  However, I will be seeing her on March 7th and can obtain them then and will be more than happy to provide those to the BBB.  
Regards,

******* *****




Consumer Response: Thank you for allowing me the opportunity to upload and email photos of the prepaid storage unit that was damaged and the actual size of the replacement unit.

Re the matter of having someone else's info on my contract and Uncle Sam's Storage even refusing to change that information and refusing to provide me with a correct contract, I appreciate the
fact that although Uncle Bob's has three times avoided the issue (formal complaint to Uncle Bob's and both responses to the BBB), that the BBB is not ignoring that sensitive issue of identity information
being mishandled and my not having a contract with MY info on it.  Hopefully no one will be in possession of my information on their contract. 
Last four digits of my ss# are:  ****
Last four digits of my dl# are:  ****.  Also, my d.l. is from IL, not NJ.
My mailing address is the one found on this complaint.
I will be submitting the photographs on the 7th so that the complaint against Uncle Bob's Storage is complete.  A picture does say a thousand words.
Best regards,
******* *****

Business Response: We have completed our investigation regarding this complaint.  There will be no further action taken by Uncle Bob's Storage.  

1/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Claim #*********** RE: Stored Property Insurance (Store #44-Space ****) Dear Ms.******, Mr. ********. ****** and Mr. **** ******, I received a letter dated November 5, 2014 from MS. ******, from Bader Company's claim office. Of course, I was disappointed and dismayed as to the decision made to deny my claim. This response is being sent much later than I would like for it to have been, but it is necessary. My plight with Uncle Bob's Self Storage began on June 25, 2005, and ended on September 29, 2014. Initially, I had two storage spaces. In addition to the above-mentioned Space ****, I also utilized Space B108 from June 25, 2005 to year 2008. This information was verified by **** ********, Store Manager for Store #44, located at 7604 Highway 85, Riverdale, GA 30274. Due to the financial strain, I removed my things from this space. Rega rding storage Space ****, a lien had been placed and I was in jeopardy of losing it, which would have resulted in my things being sold at auction. I was put in contact with Mr. Patrick Brislan, acting district manager at that time. Not to burden, overload or saturate you with my personal problems, but I informed him that I've been taking care of two sick parents, one of whom is now deceased and that was why my things were in storage for such a lengthy period of time, that coupled with economic reasons. As a plea for help, I asked Mr. Brislan if there was something that we could work out toward paying the $774.00 payment due. I was asking for an extension of time to pay. After listening, he offered to allow me to pay a total of $500.00 in lieu of removing my belongings, thus creating a win-win for all parties involved. Mr. Brislan never muttered, uttered or stuttered a word about his offer knocking me out of or cancelling the insurance. Had I known that, I would have scraped up the remaining $274.00 owed rather than risk not being covered by insurance. All this time I whole-heartedly thought and believed that I was covered. Mr. Brislan stated that he would contact **** ********, Store Manager #44, have him do the paperwork, and I could go in to make the payment and sign the paperwork. I agreed to do so. Prior to my arrival, I contacted **** to ask had he spoken to Mr. Brislan, he stated that he had and I would have to bring a cash payment only. I did. According to Uncle Bob's rules, a client is not allowed to enter their storage space once it is in lien-sale status. The bill must be paid first. I paid it. After doing so and opening up my storage space, I was hit by the odor first, then after pulling things out and seeing the damage, I immediately asked **** to come to my space to view what I was seeing. I asked **** if they had a rat problem. He stated they did not, which was obviously the understatement of the year. I asked him to take pictures. He did and said that he would forward them to Bader Company. I too have sent numerous pictures to the claims department. Most of my things are ruined due to rat feces, rat urine, rat saliva and shredding. The mold and mildew is an entirely different discussion. Two days later, after making the final payment of $500.00 on September 29, 2014, and discovering mounds and mounds of ruined goods, I informed **** ********, Store Manager, store #44, that I would need to file a claim. He informed me that I would not be able to do so due to the fact that I had gone outside of the 30 days of nonpayment for insurance payments. I was in shock and disbelief! How do your clients know that the insurance payments are not inclusive, if that information is not conveyed? Refusing to accept what I deemed as an injustice, I began seeking answers. I was informed that once the account is brought current, the insurance kicks back in. After contacting another employee at a different store and sharing this nightmare about the insurance and the 30-Day cancellation rule that I was not made aware of until two days after my final payment, his response was the following: "people don't know that". How would they know? It's not something that is forthcoming. A cancellation notation should be included on all receipts when and if applicable for insurance purposes. It is a well-hidden benefit for the company. There are some challenges that dwell within these two companies in the areas of professionalism and clarity, both Bader and Uncle Bobs Self Storage. I wonder if that's by design. In addition to the above-mentioned Space ****, I also utilized Space B108 from June 25, 2005 to year 2008. This information was verified by **** ********, Store Manager for Store #44, located at 7604 Highway 85, Riverdale, GA 30274. Due to the financial strain, I removed my things from this space. Unfortunately, I feel as though I've been intertwined with two entities that allegedly exhibit unethical behavior. Bader Company and Uncle Bob's Self Storage are allegedly participating in bait and switch tactics which lend and lead to confusing and unethical business practices that teeter along the borders of deception. The lure of climatecontrol is the bait. What's the point of paying for climate-control for so many years in order to protect one's things when the end result is not fruitful for the client and their things are ultimately ruined anyway? In the end, there's a switch so that clients can't make a claim. Clients are forced to pay their bill without prior knowledge as to the condition of their belongings, yet the wording in the agreement does not create a win-win outcome as Mr. Brislan touted. The only winners are Bader Company and Uncle Bob's Self Storage. A client can't have access to their things, and then once the agreement is signed, the wording is written so that Uncle Bob's Self Storage is released from any and all damages. In, my opinion, that sure is shallow. There's a Catch-22 here. I'm quite sure that my experience is not A-typical. I wonder how many other clients have been craftily ripped-off through the years. I'm also sure that the two above-mentioned entities more than likely have a long-standing relationship in cahoots with one another which is not only not surprising, but profitable as well. It is a disgrace as to how people treat others and I am always amazed at the way people treat other people. Something is very wrong here. For nine years I've paid storage fees, a multitude of late fees, lien fees, climate-control fees and insurance fees in an effort to keep my things. I fought and struggled really hard to do so due to the contents, albeit insurance fees were not included initially. How and when did the insurance fees come into play? Upon making a payment years ago I was informed by one of a slew of employees that have worked at this store, that it had become mandatory for all clients to have insurance. There seems to be a lack of cohesiveness among some of the employees when it comes to communicating valid information. When I asked the employee (male) about the policy and how much it would be, he stated that he wasn't sure and that the cost would be included in my monthly payments. After calling him back a couple of days later, he informed me that the cost would be $8.00 and that the policy would come from the insurance company. Did you all ever send me one? The only thing I ever remember receiving was a brochure from the local store, not a policy. I deserve some type of compensation. My nine-year tenure alone is deserving of something. My children and I don't even have mattresses to sleep on due to the amount of rat feces plastered all over them and the box springs. Enclosed with this letter is a report generated by Uncle Bob's Self Storage on October 20, 2014. As you can see, this report only goes back five years and doesn't include the beginning year of 2005. I've asked for a complete report to include all nine years, but to not avail. The hand-written words (Other: insurance) atop the report, were written by a store manager at another location. began my quest for answers through different locations since many of my calls were not returned, including those made to Mr. ******* F. ******, President and COO and Mr. **** ******, Vice PreSident, **** ******** and ****, another acting District Manager in Mr. Brislan's absence. The one opportunity I did have to speak with ****, acting District Manager, I asked what methods was used to control the rodent problem? He informed that Uncle Bob's sprays. So, you have the store manager, **** ********, telling me that there is no rodent problem, but you have one of the district manager's acknowledging that they do. As time progressed, you can see that there are variances in prices through the years to include insurance payments and rate increases. No one ever explained the 30 Day Cancellation stipulation as it pertains to insurance coverage. Now, it appears that no one wants to be held accountable for anything except collecting the money. This has been one exhausting journey for fairness. Not to be repetitive or redundant, but in addition to all of the above, I am also helping a sister who is battling liver cancer. I've been from Emory University Hospital (Midtown), to Cancer Treatment Centers of America, to Piedmont-Newnan Hospital, back to Cancer Treatment Centers of America. Also, in an effort to improve my quality of life, I've been taking college classes, and am now a student at Georgia State University (classification - senior), in which I've had to withdraw this semester. As life happens, I've received this blow. As you can imagine, one of man's most precious commodities is time. More time has lapsed than I anticipated in addressing this matter. I would appreciate you revisiting and reconsidering your decision to deny my claim. Thanking you in advance for your time. ****** ****** **** ******** Lane Atlanta, GA ***** ###-###-####

Desired Settlement: See attached

Business Response:

Ms. ****** rented self storage space **** at Uncle Bob's Self Storage located at 7604 Georgia Highway 85, Riverdale, GA on 6/25/2005.   Her account became delinquent for unpaid rent and other charges in the total amount of $782.00.  On 9/29/14, we offered and Ms. ****** accepted an Accord wherein Ms. ****** would pay $500.00 in full settlement of her account and would vacate space.  On 10/1/14, Ms. ****** vacated the space.  Ms. ****** did have tenant insurance through Bader Company; however, her insurance was cancelled due to non payment of premium. 

On 10/6, Ms. ****** reported damage to some of her items.  She subsequently submitted a claim to Bader, but was denied based on non-payment of premium.

Ms. ******'s file is attached for your reference.

Should you require any additional information, please contact my office directly. 

1/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called ****** *****, CEO of Sovran Self Storage aka Uncle Bob's Storage and informed his office by voicemail of the access problems that I was experiencing with his Jacksonville store (Store No. 108). I informed him the office manager, ***** *******, was gouging me for money and refused to talk to me about the unit in which she was holding my valuable personal belongs. I tried to register online to gain access to my account only to learn I was blocked from accessing my account online.At my sister's house, I found a Lien Sale Notice in the floor threatening to sale my personals unless a bucket of repetitive fees were paid; and when I called the Jacksonville office today January 5, 2015 ***** ******* had nothing but wise-cracks (i.e. we are not a charity, etc.) and insults for me and deliberately and intentionally hung up the phone in my face. To this latest incident, I decided to turn this matter over to the New York State Attorney General and the Better Business Bureau, as I have never known a merchant to take custody of my personal property and then refuse to do anything to accept payment and/or speak professionally and respectfully to me.

Desired Settlement: All my property moved at Uncle Bob's Store 108 expense to Uncle Bob's Store 238 in Kingsland, GA where I plan to work with the manager to keep the account current and in good standing.

Business Response:

Mr. ***** is not a customer of record at our facility located at Uncle Bob's Self Storage, 9914 San Jose Blvd., Jacksonville, FL.

He is listed as an authorized access to space rented by ** ********  Ms. ********* account is delinquent for rent and other charges in the total amount of $378.19.  The space is scheduled for auction pursuant to Florida self storage lien laws on 1/21/15.

It is our belief that an agreement was reached between Mr. ***** and Ms. ******* to transfer the rental agreement into Mr. ******* name.  To date, we have not received final, executed documents in order to do so.  We have advised both parties the executed document may be faxed to our store at ###-###-####.

We would advise Mr. ***** to have Ms. ******* complete and forward the rental agreement assignment.  Nevertheless, either Mr. ***** or Ms. ******* would have to bring the account current to stay the auction which, again, is scheduled for 1/21/15.

10/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I came to uncle bob on about the middle of March it closing time at 6:45 p.m..I explain to the manager my situation that I had lost all of the things.Im paying for hotel and everything would be costing more. and upon moving in to the faucilty she said don't worry I will work with you while you are. when asking how she said they will take off all the chargers I said thank you.Not reading the contract and she never said that on the fifth we get a late 15.00 and also on the twenty 25.00 another charge.Plus a lean of 115.00. I talk with the the district manager in june. about issues and he took the charges off. on july fifth they lock my unit. when calling about paying the manager said her boss tells her she cant take off any chargers now. asking her to have him call me. He call from ###-###-#### at 12:15 08-20-2014 I spoke with him and he said he did say that. I explain to him the charger make no sense.after july 5th im charge 15.00 and after the 20th ten days later and then a lean of 115.00. that's 145.00 plus what the person owe.all of this in one month. total 280.00.I spoke with ****** ******** the cfo of the company. after telling him what happen. he responded did you expect her to keep working with you after she said. I said yes.time 6:02 8-21-2014 his phone ###-###-####.I ask him did he know whats on the internet about others this has happen to he responded he was not concern and hang up.

Desired Settlement: When tried to pay in August they said I had to pay 280.00.I just want to get my things out of this storage without paying the outrages fees and be finish.

Business Response: October 7,2014
Gentlemen:
Re: Uncle Bob's Self Storage #205, located at 4000 N. West Street, Jackson, MS
39206
*****. ***** - Case # ********
We have received the complaint contained in an electronic mail communication dated
October 2, 2014, copy enclosed, and respond as follows. Relevant documents are
attached.
On March 24,2014, *****. ***** entered into a self-service storage rental agreement
at the facility referenced above for space #A3. The rental agreement expressly states
that rent is due on the first of each month and that a lien attaches if the account is in
continuous default for a period of 30 days. We do allow a grace period for our
customers through the 5th of the month before they are considered to be in default and
are charged a late fee.
Ms. ******* account first became delinquent on April 5,2014. As a courtesy, all late
fees were waived and a payment was made on June 17,2014, which brought her
account current. Thereafter, Ms. ******* account was in continuous default, and the
contents of the storage space were sold at public auction on September 17, 2014 for
non-payment of rent and other charges according to the Mississippi Property Code
§85-7 -125, et. seq.
Prior to auction, notices were both mailed to Ms. ***** and published in a local
newspaper, as required by statute. Furthermore, our management discussed the
delinquency of the account with Ms. ***** and offered Ms. ***** a 50% accord and
satisfaction in July, which she turned down and again prior to auction offered to pull
her space from auction for a payment of 75% of her balance, but she declined.
Total delinquency on the day of auction was $390.00; proceeds at auction were
$130.00. The balance (plus a collection fee) was submitted to IC System.
Should you require additional information, please contact the undersigned.
Very truly yours,
*******.*********
Vice President - Administration
Encs.
cc: Ms. *****.*****
Store #205

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

**** *****

When I paid in June, my payment due again on  July  fifth storage and they had locked me out, so I called the 800 number and talked with customer service and they had someone call me on Monday the seventh, and I called the manager here on west street and talked with her. I told her I am locked out and wanted to get my things, and that's when she said I needed to talk with **** because he wasn't letting them take the interest off. I talked to her Manager and from talking with him he said I told the manager not to take off the charges, and not once did he offer the 75% off. That way, if they had given me the 75% off I wouldn't be here trying to recover my belongings and from them, so then I went to the CFO. I  even told them all of them there is nothing really in there worth a lot, and that they are things I can't get back but it still didn't matter.

 

  I called the Company Head Auction and talked with the manager to explain to him that I wanted to buy my things back and he took the number but I still haven't heard from anyone. ###-###-####  is the number. All I need is my things.  My mother Past away in 1997, I had irreplaceable things that I cant get back, such as my son's Military Picture, and his awards I can't agree with that . I have tried all I know how, I went to the mail today I got a $380.00 bill from some Company saying I owe uncle bob's. I am never going to agree with a company deliberately lying about trying to give a discount and knowingly.  I plead with you help me recover my things

                           Thank You

                           **** *****


9/25/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Storage unit is located in:Uncle Bob's Self Storage #743 8133 Easton Rd.Ottsville, PA 18942Spaces: ***** I have had the unit for almost 2 years. I had my credit card linked into auto payment for the monthly dues. About 6 months ago, the auto payment had a error and I was charged a late charge on the account. I was told that there was nothing I could do and I would have to enter a new card for it to take. The only card I had was that card I was using. I have been charged a late fee every month. Now since the auto payment was missed back in August and I accumulated late fees of $120 plus lien fee. I am looking for Auction on 9/24. I was not given a notice ( per-lien) that there was going to be a auction. The only notice I received was last week from a voice mail stating that I have to pay almost $400 for two months of rent, Which the error was not my fault.

Desired Settlement: I want to be able to put my credit card on file and pay the two months that is owed and not all the other charges that have accumulated.

Business Response:

While we investigate this complaint, we are, as a courtesy, pulling Mr. *****' space from the scheduled auction on 9/24/14.

Following our investigation, we will submit formal response.

*******. *********, Vice President-Administration

s*********@sovranss.com

###-###-####

8/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On May 20th at approximately 11:28am, I placed a call to Uncle Bob's Storage and spoke with *** ( who later identifies himself as the manager, after being asked several times for a manager.). I booked the use of the moving truck for 5/31. I had initially asked *** if I was still entitled to the use of the truck because I had already rented my storage space the week prior, and while reading over my contract I noticed the use of the truck came with the storage rental. ***, asked me "what is your storage space number?" I located my receipt and said to him "1469". *** looked me up in their system and then said yes. I asked *** could I use the truck on Saturday 5/24, and he responded it was rented. I then asked him could I use it on the 5/25, he responded it was rented that day. I then said well, due to my being off on Monday 5/26 (the holiday), I said how about that date? *** said we're closed that day, and even if we weren't the truck is loaned out for charity that date. *** then stated the truck is however available on 5/31. I said, good that is my official move date any way, I was just trying to be proactive and move on the weekend I had off. We agreed that I would take the truck on 5/31. *** then told me as a matter of fact it's available all day, and you can have it from 9am to 4pm. He said, all you have to do is show up with your drivers licensce and proof of auto insurance. I said ok. Before we hung up he read the reservation back to me using the wrong date 5/30, and I said no 5/31 and he reponded oh yes I have it, I just read it wrong. Prior to this reservation of the truck, *** has helped me on 3 occassions, the day I rented my space which was 5/10 and I paid $103.58 for the storage rental, and boxes. 5/24 I purchased more boxes $16.27. Both of these transactions *** helped me carry the boxes to my car. *** has also spoken with me over the phone on 3 ocassions. My purpose in pointing out all of this by this time I'm no stranger to *** because he is the only one that has assisted me from day one. I showed up to pick up my truck reservation on 5/31, at 9am as advised. *** says to me, so what are you here for? I said to pick up the truck, he said what is your name ( with a smirk on his face)? I told him, he says well I don't have a truck for you because the name on the reservation is *********. *** says you'll have to go and get a truck from some place else. In that moment I immediately crashed in the emotions department because i'm already stressed with the move, no help, and had been woke over 24 hrs, and had just got off work at 7am. I was absolutely not prepared to hear this news knowing I had to be out of that apartment that day. ***, thought the whole situation was funny as if he was enjoying antagonizing me in the moment. He then disregarded me and began assisting other customers. He also told me that i never reserved the truck with him, I must have called another store, and there was nothing he could do. I scrolled back in my phone to may the date we had the conversation, and I rang the number. I said to ***, do you hear your phone ringing? He said yes (still with that smirk on his face). Eventually I went to the door hollered emotionally for my brother and he then entered to talk to ***. *** continued in his condescending, antagonistic attitude. He would not take responsibility for the mess up on his end. My brother at some point advised *** to call the police because of ***'s attitude towards the whole situation. The cheektowaga Police (3) arrived, and they only made the situation worse. Upon arrival by 2 of the cops the attitude displayed and the non caring disposition they took when it came to me the customer who was visibly emotionally distressed, as well as angry they treated me Just as bad as ***. On Monday June 2, I reached out to their corporate office and was put in contact with a ***** *****. ***** called me with the same disgusting attitude as ***, and asked me what did I want him to do about it. He said another customer called him and said they felt threatened by my behavior. I said to *****, do you really think I care what another causcasion customer called and told him about an emotionally distressed black woman who was made to be the villan when I had did nothing wrong but trusted *** with the Reservation I had made on 5/24? ***** said to me he didn't care, I was getting nothing out of him, and what ever I do I better do it legally and put it in writing. At some poin I ended up hanging up the phone.

Desired Settlement: Due to all of this that transpired on that day 5/31. It took me 3 hours to find another truck. It cost me another $80.00 to rent another storage space. At that point a great percentage of my persoanl belongings was al ready in Uncle Bob's storage for I had been moving all month. What should have taken a total of 3 hrs tops that date took me 10hrs. Emotionally distraught I still am. I never ever could pull myself together emotionally that day. I cried the entire day because I couldn't believe I had been treated so cruely, unjustly, I felt this was a discriminatory act, as well as my civil rights being violated. The company management attitude has proven to not considered my business of any importance to them, and in the 45mins that this entire occurrence went on, ********* never, ever showed her face. I would like the monies I had to spend on another truck, and storage given back to me. They total $130.00. I should also be compensated more for the emotional distress they put me through on that day, and a letter of apology from the company. I do feel that their actions on everyone involved were racially motivated. I feel that because it was ***'s error he should have had the compassion and business sense to be remorseful, and do all he could to calm me as the customer and try very hard to make right what he made wrong. He didn't try at all, however he did antagonize the entire situation with his demeanor, condescending tone, choice of words and visible smirk that was on his face the entire time. I'm not saying that I reacted in the best way, but being the situation as it was it could have been alot worse with the kind of stress I was under that day. Moving is a very stressful time for any one. Being that i'm single, was with limited help and had done all I could to be proactive in scheduling that truck 11 days prior to my move if *** was not able to accommodate me he could have said it initally and I would have moved on 5/20.

Consumer Response: ********* is the name  that *** the manager said was on the reservation.  *** made the reservation with me over the phone on 5/20. Somehow my name never made it on the reservation and that is the leg they're standing on with this situation. Instead of saying *** messed up, take responsibility for where he went wrong,  *** antagonized the situation by the display of the smile that never left his face while dealing with me,  it was funny, offered me no resolution and exhibited he didn't care.  They only have one truck for the site. Because of the behavior and attitude that was shown towards me I didn't trust leaving my personal belongings in their possession. The cost of another truck rental and new storage space at a different location I would like for them to reimburse me. The poor display of customer service, satisfaction,  and lack of appreciation for my business is why I moved my things. 

Business Response:

*******,

 

We have reviewed the attached BBB complaint.  Although Uncle Bob’s was not negligent, as an accommodation to Ms. *********, we offer to settle her claim of loss for $130.00.  If this settlement is acceptable to Ms. *********, please so advise.

 

Thank you,

 

***** ******* | Paralegal

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 
How  and when will they refund me the money? Their admitting to what they did is not necessary as long as I'm refunded.  

Regards, 

****** *********




5/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am writing to you to give attention to this particular storage facility. I rented 3 storage units and placed all of my belongings in them. We had a lot of rain last weekend and the storage facility got flooded with over 13 inches of water. Everything I owned has been destroyed- at least $15,000 of damage. I took the insurance that they provided but did not opt for flood insurance. This facility has a low elevation and I do not believe that it has adequate drainage. I saw only 3 drains not even close to any of the units. I asked an employee if the site was flooded in past and the women said "YES". I think that they should be required to disclose this to customers to give them informed consent. I also think they should be required to put a better drainage system in the facility or to shut down. Whats the point of having a storage facility that gets frequently floods? I dont want anyone else to suffer the damages that my family has.

Desired Settlement: replacement for damages and want full refund of $1200.00 (total cost that I paid to store my items in units), disclose to customers that facility has hx of flooding due to very low elevation and poor drainage system

Business Response: May 15,2014
Re: Uncle Bob's Self Storage #***, located at 500 Frenchtown Road, East Greenwich, RI 02818
***** ***** / Complaint ID *******
Dear *******:
We are in receipt of the above referenced BBB complaint and respond as follows below. Copies of
relevant documents are attached.
On August 19,2013, August 25,2013, and April10, 2014, respectively, ***** ***** entered into self-service
storage rental agreements at the facility referenced above. The rental agreements each expressly
state that no bailment is created and personal property is stored at the customer's sole risk. The rental
agreements further state that insurance is the responsibility of the tenant.
Last spring we engaged the services of a certified drainage contractor and followed the contractor's
recommendations concerning the drainage system on site. We are currently investigating additional
improvements relative to drainage.
On or around March 30, 2014, East Greenwich and surrounding areas experienced heavy rains and
flooding. Our facility was impacted by this event, including Mr. *****'s spaces. Although Uncle Bob's
was not negligent, as an accommodation to Mr. *****, we are willing to settle his claim of loss for
$1,200. Mr. ***** should contact our Area Manager, ******* ****** at ###-###-#### to discuss
further.
Thank you,
***** *******
Paralegal
SOVRAN SELF STORAGE, INC. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed Uncle Bobs response.  Clearly the paralegal, ***** *******, acknowledges that their company was aware of drainage issues as early as "last spring".  ***** reveals that Uncle Bobs, "engaged the services of a certified drainage contractor" last spring.   I rented 3 storage units in September and flooding issues were never disclosed to me even though workers told me in April that they flooded in the past.    As a result I have sustained ~ $15,000 in property damage.  This company is in the business storing people's personal property and flooding from a mere rain storm should NEVER happen.  They should be fully equipped to handle a little rain.  We did not have a hurricane we just had a rain storm.  We live in New England and inclement weather is typical.  A rain storm should not cause 13 inches of water to flood into storage units!  I submit that Uncle Bobs Storage has improper drainage and they knew about it as early as last spring!  They failed to remedy the problem, never disclosed this to future patron and are negligent.   They should compensate me fully for my loses, fix the problem or to close as a storage facility.    

Regards,

***** *****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I firmly reject Uncle Bobs settlement of $1200.00.  This amount does not come close to covering the property damages sustained due to the company's negligence.  My family lost almost all of our belongs due to flooding at the storage facility.  I believe that this flood should have never occurred.  Uncle Bobs knew that they have a flooding problem as early as last spring according to ***** *******.  She stated that they "consulted with a drainage contractor last spring".  I want to see the contractors documented recommendations made at that time (with dates) and I also would like to see evidence that his recommendations were followed by Uncle Bobs Storage (with dates). 

A worker at Uncle Bobs told me that the facility started to flood when a neighboring road was build a few years back.  They said that once this road came in they noticed the facility would flood periodically.  Other workers also admitted that the facility flooded in the past.  This was never brought to my attention when I rented 3 units this past fall.  My family lost almost everything we owned.   We contacted our home owners insurance as well as Baders insurance (which is required by the storage facility to get before you can rent there) but both insurance companies stated that they would not cover any of my loses.  They said that they would only cover loses that were due to "water damage" but not damage which were sustained from flooding.  I believe that this flood should never have happened and that Uncle Bobs is negligent.   Uncle Bobs is in the business of storing people's property.  They should make sure that their facility has proper drainage and that does not flood from a little rain.  No other areas flooded that weekend.  Uncle Bobs should be able to handle 2 days of rain without having 12 inches of water accumulate in the storage units.  Clearly the drainage consultant that was used was totally incompetent or Uncle Bobs did not follow his recommendations.  So I would like to see evidence of what Uncle Bobs did to correct the drainage problem, financial compensation for ALL my loses, and reimbursement of $ 1200.00 to cover the cost of renting 3 units there.  Uncle Bobs Storage is negligent and people should know...let the buyer beware!

Regards,

***** *****

Business Response:

*******,

 

Contrary to Mr.******* email below, my letter of May 15th (copy attached for reference) does not state “Uncle Bobs knew that they have a flooding problem as early as last spring”.

 

To reiterate what my letter actually says:  Last spring we engaged the services of a certified drainage contractor.  All of the drainage consultant’s recommendations were followed, such that we believed in good faith that the drainage system was properly functioning at the time Mr. ***** rented his unit.  When the facility experienced flooding this past March, we immediately began investigating what additional improvements were needed.  Uncle Bob’s was, therefore, not negligent.

 

Per the rental agreement, it is the tenant’s responsibility to ensure that his personal property is adequately insured.  (Please reference paragraph 4 of the rental agreement.)  Because there is no bailment with self-service storage, we have no way of determining a tenant’s exact insurance needs.  Contrary to Mr.******* assertions, we do not require that tenants obtain ***** insurance, specifically.

 

Mr.******* original BBB complaint, also attached, seeks compensation in the amount of $1,200 under the heading “Desired Settlement”.  That is precisely what we offered him, and that offer continues to stand.

 

Thank you,

 

 

***** ******* | Paralegal

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

*****'s latest response, from Uncle Bobs Self Storage, is not acceptable and it does not resolve my problem.  She has not provided me with any of the information that I requested in my last email.   In my last email, I clearly requested that Uncle Bobs Storage produce the drainage contractors recommendations (with dates) as well as proof that Uncle Bobs followed all of the recommendations made by the contractor.  ***** makes no mention of this in her latest email, (surprise, surprise).   She does state, however, that they have offered me my desired settlement of $1,200.   This amount is totally ridiculous and insulting.  In my desired settlement, I clearly requested full compensation for my total loses ($15,000) as well as an additional $1,200 to cover the expense that Uncle Bobs charged me to store my belongings in their facility.   ***** fails to acknowledge my complete set of demands and makes it seem that they have fulfilled my wishes by offering me a mere $1,200!

***** rambles on in her latest email reiterating that Uncle Bobs Self Storage is not negligent and that the company did not know that the facility had flooding issues.  ***** has admitted that Uncle Bobs Self Storage consulted with a "certified drainage contractor last spring."  Obviously, the company knew that the storage facility had serious drainage problems which is exactly why they consulted with the "certified drainage contractor".   If they had no knowledge of drainage issues they would not have paid for a certified consultant to evaluate the site.  Clearly, upper management were well aware that the facility had flooding and drainage issues as early as last spring!!!  Furthermore, numerous workers at the Uncle Bobs Self Storage on Frenchtown Road admitted to me, when I was throwing out everything that I owned into a dumpster, that the facility had indeed flooded in the past.   Clearly, Uncle Bobs Self Storage is negligent. 

So *****, let me clearly reiterate to you what I would like to be done so there is absolutely no confusion:

1. Full Compensation for total loses
2. Provide the name of the drainage contractor that was consulted
3. Produce written documentation of the certified drainage contractor's analysis and ALL recommendations that were made-  with all dates please
4. Written documentation of proof that Uncle Bobs on Frenchtown Rd corrected ALL problems which were identified by the contractor- with dates please

Is this clear??? 

***** *****

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.
In her first email, ***** admits that Uncle Bobs Self Storage consulted with a "certified drainage contractor last spring."  Obviously, the company knew that the storage facility had a drainage problem which is exactly why they consulted the "certified drainage contractor" at that time.  Her latest email states that Uncle Bobs is not negligent and she suggests that the company had no knowledge of drainage issues when I rented 3 of my units.  If they had no knowledge of drainage issues they would not have paid for a certified consultant last spring.  Clearly, they were well aware of flooding in the past as well drainage issues. 
Regards,

***** *****

5/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: First fact , the flood happened sat. Night into Sunday morning. Another customer reported the flood to corporate before 12 noon Sunday. I called twice Sunday afternoon looking for answers. With no results.So that puts you( uncle bobs) in 'the know' before noon on Sunday. uncle bobs immediately went into 'oh shit' mode and started making calls to their own vendors and insurance people well before you started calling your own customers. You know how I know that is a fact? I went to the facility at 9am and there was ****, store manager and a contractor taking were pictures of the damage on behalf of uncle bobs.I did not get a call until almost 24 hours after corporate knew of the flood and that is because I had already called twice. It took your area manager ******* 48 hours to return my call. That is inexcusable. When I cleared out my storage unit I spoke with two other who we're cleaning out their units that they did not get called by uncles bobs about the situation until Tuesday. Still 48 hours after the event. Second fact, UB told me that on Sunday when the report came into corporate They called the local authorities in EG and had the site shutdown. This is also not true as I have in writing from ****** *****, the town manager that a report never came into either fire or police about 500 frenchtown rd(uncle bobs)Fact 3, you require insurance for rentals on your property, but I was told by **** that it is just a formality and I don't even need it. Just make sure you have a lock on your door and your door you'll be fine. Just get the least expensive and it will save you a bunch of money. Now this is coming from their employee.Did you know that I had the option of putting the unit under my own home owner insurance policy? I didn't. I bet you did, but YOUR employee never explained that to me. I bet she didn't know either. In fact I never found out about that until Friday when ******* FINALLY showed up from corp

Desired Settlement: Damaged items need to be replaced.

Business Response: May 13,2014
Re: Uncle Bob's Self Storage #005, located at 500 Frenchtown Road, East Greenwich, RI 02818
**** ***** / Complaint ID ********
Dear *******:
We are in receipt of the above referenced BBB complaint and respond as follows below. Copies of relevant
documents are attached.
On March 8,2014, ********. ***** entered into a self-service storage rental agreement at the facility
referenced above. The rental agreement expressly states that no bailment is created and personal property is
stored at the customer's sole risk. The rental agreement further states that insurance is the responsibility of
the tenant.
On or around March 30, 2014, East Greenwich and surrounding areas, including our facility, experienced
heavy rains and flooding. The facility was closed and without power for approximately one week due to the
severity of the event. A couple hundred spaces were affected, and we attempted to contact those customers
as expeditiously as possible. Given the emergency situation at the facility, our communication with
customers was timely.
Concurrent with the execution of the rental agreement, Mr. ***** purchased an insurance policy through
************. ***** ******* has settled Mr. *****' claim at the maximum limit of his policy. We,
therefore, consider Mr. *****' claim to be resolved.
Should you require any additional information, please contact the undersigned.
attachments
cc : Store #005
Area Manager
Thank you,
***** *******
Paralegal

Consumer Response: Flood happened on March 30th. I had to do all the contacting to uncles bobs between march 30 and April 2. They did not contact me until April 3. 4 Days to contact me? really?? and then it took a full week to get someone from corporate on site... there should have been someone there the next day. $99 to fly from Rochester/buffalo to providence on SWA.... give me a break Their store level employees do not carry the corporate way of doing business. I was told by the uncle bobs employee that "I do not need insurance, but it is required. nothing ever happens so just get the cheapest and sign here" I was never told I had a choice of insurance companies. I was never told I could find my own if I wanted to. I was told everyone uses this ***** insurance because they're the cheapest but I still don't need it. I didn't know I needed my real estate lawyer to review a storage unit contract for a 2 month rental. Uncle Bob's also had their own vendor at the site Monday March 31 assessing damage to their own property, well before they contacted their customers. Uncle Bob's has been dishonest with information and what they have told their customers. Rhode Island is very small and tight knit. It is very easy to get information from town officials on what is really happening with a business that is out of state but operating in state.

12/13/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company made no attempt at contacting me prior to auctioning my items stored in their facility.

Desired Settlement: reimbursement for my property.

Business Response: December 4, 2013
Case ID #*******
Customer: *********** ******* ********
We are in receipt of your complaint dated 12/3/ 13. We respond as follows below. Copies of all relevant
documents are enclosed.
On May 1, 20 13, *********** ******** entered into a self-service storage rental agreement at the referenced
facility. The rental agreement expressly states that rent is due on the first of each month and that a lien attaches if
the account is in continuous default for a period of 30 days. We are not a warehouse and no bailment is created.
Mr. ********'s account was in continuous default, and the contents of the storage space were sold at public
auction on August 21, 20 13 for non-payment of rent and other charges pursuant to New York law_
Prior to auction, notices were both mailed to Mr. ******** at the address he provided on his rental agreement and
published in a local newspaper, as required by the Act.
Notices included: Lien Sale Notice dated 7/19/13; Pre-Lien Notice dated 6/21/2013; Late Notice dated 6/11/2013
Total delinquency on the day of auction was $622.00; proceeds at auction were $470.00. The balance (plus a
collection fee) was submitted to IC System.
Should you require additional in formation, please contact the undersigned.
Very truly yours,
****** ** *********
Vice President-Administration

11/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sales Person over the phone **** told me inaccurate pricing of a unit. Contract included other fees bringing total from $79 + Tax to $88 + Tax. I Jason called in to ask for pricing of a unit on Saturday the 5th of October. **** over the phone gave me inaccurate prices of the unit we reserved over the phone. The unit was supposed to be $79+Tax and it was $88+Tax. I asked if other fees apply besides tax and was told no. **** also told me there was a complimentary truck to use and if we wanted to use the truck there would be fees if we used it over a certain time or mile range and they can supply insurance for the truck if we didn't have adequate insurance for our vehicles. These we the only fees we were told about if we used their truck. After going to the facility and looking at the unit *** presents a contract which is more because of additional insurance fees of $9. I told him I was quoted a price $79 plus tax and was never informed of the insurance fees. He told me he could do nothing and to call customer service. I asked him to call customer service on their phone and he told me no to go use my cell phone. I told him that this problem was a result of misinforming us and we should be able to use the store phone and he again said we could not. So I called on my cell to customer service and spoke with ******. He told me he would have to listen to the tape and call the store back. He did so after about 10-15mins. ****** instructed *** to take off the one time $20 fee. This would have been fine if we needed the unit for one or two months. But we will be using the space for a time frame of 6-9 months. There was no additional option. It was either the $20 off or nothing. ****** didn't even have the courtesy to talk to me over the phone to discuss a second option. So I left the storage facility and called ****** back. He told me he reviewed the conversation and the employee just started the day before so he was new and that was his excuse. ****** tried to say the employee ****, mentioned insurance when he discussed the ability to borrow a complimentary truck if we didn't have a car with insurance. I told him the insurance was for the truck and not the unit. ****** said that john still mentioned the insurance and there was nothing he could authorize. He said he would put in a report of the situation and either **** or **** would call the resolve the issue. ****** gave me the reference number of *******. As of today Saturday the 12th I still have not heard from the company.

Desired Settlement: Four (4) Letters of apology from the CEO/Owner, ******, **** And **** and better customer service training.

Business Response:

Good morning,

This issue was addressed yesterday with a letter of apology going to the customer (see attached)

Thank you,

***** ******

Vice President, Corporate Communications

October 31,2013
Dear Mr. *******,
I have recently learned of your dissatisfaction with the way your storage inquiry was
handled, Uncle Bob's takes great pride in our customer service and it's always
disturbing to hear when something breaks down, We have investigated the matter and
are providing additional training to the employees involved,
On behalf of my entire team, please accept our apologies for any inconvenience this
incident caused.
Sincerely,
**** ******
Regional Vice President

8/21/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 1.) I have been trying to get my monthly fee adjusted....it was supposed to be a 15% discount when you reserved your space via phone. My bill has never been adjusted yet for that! 2.) I have paid monthly and keep getting irrational and unwarranted late fees. Payments have been made and received and still late fees charged! Also checks that have been accepted and cashed that have stated "account paid in full" with month for. Still late fees charged after the fact of receiving the payments in-person and on time! A check was supposedly returned from the business via mail (never received by me) and then 2-3 late fees charged for same month check received by business for. Now payment made for the following month, not received "alledgedly". 3.) No access to online account and or statements not being sent out regularly. 4.) Request to remove daughter not done. She and my son have tried to speak on my behalf when I was extrememly sick or in the hospital and was told they could not, yet she is on as a contact. Please remove her and her info. immediately as my 3rd request! 5.) Request for District Manager, *******, to call and not done. I have requested to meet with her in-person to review all going on...still no response. The one time months ago she contacted me, I was dealing with a death in my family and had a full house of family members and requested call back. I was advised that she noted I couldn't take call and that was end of story. Luckily, it was taken care of by then manager. 6.) Unit has been locked and no access granted and I believe this to be new manager Helen attempting to abscound with my family's personal belongings or has a personal vendetta. 7.) I have tried to speak with ***** and she ends up being loud, rude and uncaring. (Problems not presented to me in the past under old management.)

Desired Settlement: I am requesting the proper billing inquiry w/explanation, billing adjustment w/credits applied, credit months for consistent disservice and billing issues, along with a written apology.

Business Response:

Ms. ******* *******
Re: Uncle Bob's Self Storage #082, located at 6523 Basile Rowe, E. Syracuse, NY 13057
***** ***** / ID # *******
Dear Ms. *******:
We are in receipt of your letter dated July 25, 2013, copy enclosed . We respond as follows below.
Copies of relevant documents are enclosed.
On March 25, 2012, ***** ***** entered into a self-service storage rental agreement at the facility
referenced above. The rent, late, and lien fees are all expressly stated within the rental agreement which
Ms. ***** signed, indicating her asset to the amounts stated, Rent and fees have been applied to the
account in accordance with the rental agreement A copy of the payment history on the account is
enclosed .
We do not mail statements as a matter of course, pursuant to the terms of the rental agreement, which
states that rent is due on the first of the month "without notice". If payment is not received on the
account within 5 days of its due date, we can overlock the space, per the rental agreement. Additionally,
online access to an account can be suspended if the account is past due.
In order to make a modification to the rental agreement, such as removal of an authorized access or
emergency contact person, the enclosed Notification of Change torm must be completed and returned to
the store.
The Area Manager and Store Manager for this location have each made multiple attempts to contact
Ms. ***** to resolve her concerns. Messages were left for Ms. ***** that were never returned.
As an accommodation to Ms. *****, however, we will reduce her rent from $150 per month to $139 per
month, retroactive to January's rent
The current balance due on the account is $762.00. We will accept payment now of$439.00 for rent
and insurance and will waive the late fee of$120 and the lien fee of$ 115. Ms. ***** should make
arrangements directly with the store to pay the account current.
Thank you,
***** ********
Paralegal

7/19/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to uncle bobs twice to make a payment and noone was there. So they charged me an extra 25 dollars on my account.

Desired Settlement: I would like the late fee on my account waived.

Business Response:

July 18,20 13
We are in receipt of your letter dated Jul y 8, 2013, copy enclosed. Please be advised that a credit of $25
has been applied to Ms. ******' account.
If you require anything further, please feel free to contact me.
Thank you,
***** *******
Paralegal


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Uncle Bob's Self Storage
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart