Download

BBB Accredited Business since

Jamestown Cycle Shop

Phone: (716) 664-4112 Fax: (716) 664-6376 10 W. Harrison Street, Jamestown, NY 14701 http://www.jamestowncycleshop.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers most all types of Sporting Goods, Ski, Snowboard, & Bicycle Sales and apparel, All Team Outfitting gear, Custom in-house Screen Printing, & Embroidery. Etc...


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Jamestown Cycle Shop meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Jamestown Cycle Shop include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Jamestown Cycle Shop
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 01, 2002 Business started: 01/01/1924 Business started locally: 01/01/1924
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gary Evans, President
Business Category

SPORTING GOODS - RETAIL SPORTSWEAR - RETAIL SWIMWEAR & ACCESSORIES EMBROIDERY SCREEN PRINTING BICYCLE - DEALERS DARTS & DART BOARDS SKI EQUIPMENT - RETAIL


Additional Locations

  • 10 W. Harrison Street

    Jamestown, NY 14701

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/23/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a $16.19 mouthguard. the woman cashing me out said "if it doesn't fit you can return it for a different size". It was to small for my boyfriend, and it had no sizing instructions on it. When I went to exchange it she told me she couldn't exchange because it had been opened. My grandmother, ehom I live with called and spoke to a manager named Randy, he said he would only exchange it for a $1.99 one!

Desired Settlement: I would like my full purchase price refunded in cash, as I paid in cash. I feel the cashier should take the loss on herself as she never said it could only be exchanged or returned if it wasn't opened

Business Response: As I stated on the phone we feel badly that our efforts to help this customer didn't work out.  We did try our best to help her with the used mouth guard by offering discounts and other models of lesser cost.Thanks for understanding and hopefully its a long time before you see another one.SincerlyRandy -- 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:
I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.
Regards,
********* ******



9/17/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On August 8, I rented (2) bikes for 24-hours from 'Jamestown Cycle Shop' at the Chautauqua Institute location for $50. I provided my debit card information and a photo copy of my driver's license (in the event the bikes were not returned). I spent some time talking to the seller on the day of the rental. I asked if we could return the bikes after the shop closed, since we were paying for a 24-hour rental and the 'Hours of Operation' were only until 6pm. She explained that we would simply need to park the bikes outside of the shop when finished riding. The bikes were returned by 7:30pm on the same day as the rental. I assumed that my debit card would be charged when the shop opened the following day. I was pleased with my experience and planned on returning in the Fall. On 8/30/15, I was doing some shopping and noticed that there was a charge on my online banking for $161.25 from Chautauqua Bike Rental. I had missed a call from a (716) area code the previous day, so I checked my voicemail. Steve from Jamestown Cycle had left a message on 8/29/15 at 5:40pm. The content of Steve's message was to ask a question about a bike rental ticket from 8/8/15. He explained he was "buttoning up" things at the shop for the end of the month and would like a return phone call. At no point did the message reference additional rental fees/charges. I called the business concerned that our bikes had not been received on return. Steve explained that I was not being charged for unreturned bikes, but for a full week's rental. He stated that Jamestown Cycle had made an "administrative error" and my card was never charged for the initial rental. I explained the situation and my conversation with the seller - and asked why I would be charged for a full week? Steve stated that if a transaction is not closed, it is assumed that the bikes were rented for a full week. He already indicated being aware that the bikes had been returned and referenced the rental receipt multiple times during our conversation - so I'm still unclear why I would have been charged for a weekly rental. Steve denied running my debit card for this payment on 8/30/15. However, the $161.25 charge from Chautauqua Bike Rental appears as a pending transaction and I saved a screen shot from my online banking. Also, he stated that he was immediately processing a refund (admitting then that the card was charged) for $111.25, which was the difference between the cost of the rental and the week for which I was charged - no refund is visible on my account.

Desired Settlement: It's an unethical (and probably an illegal) business practice to charge customers, without authorization, for services not rendered. If I had not noticed the charge on my account, it would never have been in dispute - effectively, Jamestown Cycle would have stolen $112.25 from a customer. Furthermore, it was inconvenient for a number of reasons - the charge was not processed in a timely fashion, which is my expectation as a customer. The "administrative error" (i.e. not charging my debit card for the initial transaction) is the responsibility of Jamestown Cycle. I feel strongly that Steve was attempting to balance transactions for month end and charged my account (with a $111.25 penalty) when he did not receive an immediate response on a matter that was left not rectified by the business for 21-days! This was not an issue of someone trying to "get something for nothing" - it was a mistake made by the business, for which I was penalized with an overcharge. I would like a refund (as promised). However, my main concern is that Jamestown Cycle stop an unethical/illegal practice of charging for services not rendered and without customer authorization.

Business Response:

On August 29, I was reviewing the paperwork for bicycles that were rented from our Chautauqua Institution location. This location is seasonal and was closing September 1, so we wanted to take a final account of all of our rental units.  During this review, I noted that the rental ticket for ***** ******* showed the rental was still outstanding (from August gth). I called the phone number provided at 5:45 pm leaving a voicemail asking her to return my call so we could determine if she still had the bikes or, if returned, the length of the rental so we could make the appropriate charges. The following day, I checked our rental inventory and found that we were in possession of the two bicycles (C168 and C170) on her ticket. I concluded that her rental return had not been checked in by our staff; . therefore, the rental had not been processed and paid for. Having not heard back from *****, I made the decision to charge *****'s credit card for the amount of $161.25. I came to this amount by calculating two bikes rented for one week at $75.00 each plus 7.5% tax ($150.00 plus $11.25). I chose the term of one week as about 95% of our rentals are weekly. The charge went through our system at 3:13 pm on August 30. At approximately 4:00 that same day I received a call from ***** inquiring about the charge. I explained what had occurred and the reason for the charge. She informed me that the bicycles were returned the same day after hours and she should not have been charged for a week's rent. I agreed that she should have been charged for two bicycles for one day ($53.75- $25.00 each plus $3.75 tax) and that I would immediately issue a credit for the difference. She expressed concern that she was being double charged and I assured her that I had no record of that. I urged her to contact me in the event she found any previous charges we made on or around August 8th. After the call, I processed the credit of $107.50 at 4:10pm. I have receipts for the charge, the credit and the Rental Agreement signed by *****. In response to the complaint:
• I believe the charge of $53.75 is legitimate. Two bicycles were rented for one day each and our rates are clearly posted. Services were rendered and payment for those services is expected.

• There was no attempt to steal from or penalize ***** in any way. Upon being informed of the
overcharge, her account was credited immediately.

• The charge was not made immediately following the rental, but in a reasonable time after the transaction (less than 30 days). I have no record of any initial payment on or around August gth to indicate ***** was double charged.

• The terms of the signed Rental Agreement states in part " ... the renter will promptly pay all charges that accrue under the terms of this agreement ... " The bicycles were left in front of our location after business hours without being paid for.

• I regret *****'s negative experience. We work very hard to avoid such situations and I believe we treat our customers fairly. There was obviously poor communication in this matter and as for my part in that I apologize. I can assure all involved that in no way did I act unethically or with any attempt to overcharge or defraud.
Please contact me if I can be of any service clarifying or explaining any further.
Steve D
Jamestown Cycle


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Jamestown Cycle Shop
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)