BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Albany, Buffalo, Rochester & Syracuse regions

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business offers sporting goods specializing in Women's Team Apparel and Footwear.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Athletica dba Team Cheer dba Girls Got Game meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Athletica dba Team Cheer dba Girls Got Game include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Athletica dba Team Cheer dba Girls Got Game
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 14, 2008 Business started: 01/01/1998 Business started locally: 01/01/1998
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Randy L. Cofield, President / CEO Ms. Renee Cofield, Director of Marketing
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Randy L. Cofield, President / CEO
Business Category

SPORTING GOODS - RETAIL SPORTSWEAR - RETAIL WOMENS APPAREL - RETAIL

Alternate Business Names
Athletica Girls Got Game Team Cheer

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (585) 243-8415(Phone)
  • (585) 243-5268 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/16/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company sells sneakers that run two sizes small and they fail to inform the customers of this. I ordered two pairs of Asics ***** LP item #******* white in sizes 5 and 5.5. I need to exchange them for a 7 and a 7.5 because of how small they run. However, I am expected to pay shipping charges not only to send the sneakers that were too small back but I also have to pay to have the bigger sneakers shipped. I tried speaking to a manager (*******) but he refused to waive the shipping charges.

Desired Settlement: I want this company to take responsibility for all shipping charges.

Business Response:

Dear Better Business Bureau Representative,

Please be advised that ******** ********* is receiving a $20.00 shipping credit as a result of this transaction. 

We regret the inconvenience this has caused and look forward to helping Ms. ********* again in the future.  

Sincerely,

***** ****, Sales Manager 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/9/2012 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I started writing this complaint on10-17-12 & had to log off so your website didn’t save any of it…. On 9-5-12 I placed a $252.82 order for 10 t-shirts, 1 stock pom (to see what it looked like before ordering a lot of them), & 7 duffle bags. I received the shirts on 9-11-12, & sent an email inquiring about the rest of my order on 9-19-12. I got a response on 9-20-12 that the pom had been shipped but that the bags were on back order until 10-1-12. I was never informed of this when I initially placed the order. I received the one pom on 9-25-12, & on 9-27-12 I received an email from the company stating that the 7 zebra duffle bags had been shipped. When I clicked on the tracking number in the email to see when I could expect them to arrive it took me to the UPS shipment for the one pom. I sent another email to customer service asking for the proper tracking number for the bags. The response I received was that the tracking number was for the duffle bags, even though I said it was taking me to the pom shipment on UPS’s site that had been delivered 2 days earlier. The next reply I received was that she had 2 tracking numbers for my account, I tried to explain that there should be THREE tracking numbers because the items were being shipped in 3 groups. She replied again, insisting that the tracking number was for the bags & that they had been delivered on 9-25. I asked why I would get an email stating items were shipped if I had “received” them 2 days prior. I didn’t get any further assistance via email. (I work at night, so it‘s easier to communicate via e-mail) On Monday 10-8-12 I wrote another e-mail asking for help with my order, & received a response on 10-10-12 again claiming that I received the bags. BUT this time the “new” customer service rep said she would look into it further for me. I replied back to her to let her know (again) that we did NOT receive the bags. AT ALL. (The tone in some of the emails from their company comes across condescending in some ways) At this point the money for them had been taken out of my bank account on 10-1-12. She wrote back & said that she contacted the vendor, & that the email I received on the 27th saying the bags were shipped was an error. The company was still waiting to receive the bags from overseas & that they hoped to get the bags to us by the end of the following week. (Which should be by the 19th but it’s the 17th & they still haven’t been shipped.) These bags were ordered SIX WEEKS ago, at some point this company should have offered to cancel the order & refund our money, or allowed us to pick another style of bag that was in stock. I finally got an update today in my email stating the bags should be delivered on Tuesday 10-23. My SECOND issue concerns a new order I placed on 10-12-12. This company was the only one who had the style bloomers (“hot shorts”) we wanted our girls to wear for competition this weekend, plus we had already purchased one pair to see what they looked like before ordering them. If I could have found the same item elsewhere I would NOT have placed another order with this company. BUT since my hands were tied I actually called the company on the phone & told the rep I was checking to see if they had the items I needed in stock. She said they were not, but that they could order them from the manufacturer & have them direct shipped to us but that it would take an extra 2 days doing it that way. I told her I wanted to pay for the 2 day air shipping, & specifically asked her if I could expect to have them by “next Friday” meaning the 19th. She said definitely so I placed the order. I was very thorough with this & made absolutely sure I’d have them in time for our competition before placing the order due to my experience with last month’s order. Now it’s been 3 business days & I haven’t received a shipping notification yet. Our competition is this Sunday. Unless the items are shipped out today or tomorrow morning, we will not have these in time for our competition, & our girls will have no bloomers at all!! Needless to say I’m beyond frustrated with the service of this company & extremely worried that we just spent $209 for items that we may not be able to use (depending upon the outcome of our competition). Updated 10-19-12 I sent an e-mail to **** ***** on 10-17-12 asking about the bloomers, and told them I wouldn’t be able to access my email until 11pm that night due to working night shift and sleeping during the day. They tried to call me while I was sleeping (my phone is on alarm only when I sleep) and also sent me emails. They said they could ship me a different style & get them to me in time. First of all, we had to fundraise to buy the ones we ordered & weren‘t about to throw away money these kids had to earn. Second of all, everything we have matches the ones we ordered & that is what the kids expect. I told them if they were going to ship the alternatives as a courtesy then that was fine but otherwise no. I ordered 12 because we already had one. Why would we buy 13 of something else we didn’t want to begin with that doesn’t match our theme? And how would we even begin to size the girls when we don’t know if those items run small or large? The ones we ordered run small! They wrote back and pretty much said they would swap the order out but they wouldn’t fix their error by sending us something we could use until we received the ones we ordered. (Basically said the same thing on the voicemail too) Aside from the obvious, a big issue with this latest incident is that they should never have promised something they couldn’t deliver on. The sales rep looked in her computer and told me they could direct ship from the manufacturer and told me I could have them before our competition even with the extra processing. I paid $29.99 for 2 day shipping and it’s been a week. At the very least they should have offered to reimburse that shipping fee or upgrade to overnight for free when the items become available, but they didn’t even try to make this right unless we were willing to pay for their mistake. If I had been told on 10-12-12 that we couldn’t get them in time, we would have had time to figure something else out. But instead I’m told we can’t get them AFTER it’s too late to go elsewhere. Luckily our girls were able to get into maroon bloomers for the first competition. But if the girls don’t make it to the next level what good will $200 worth of bloomers do for us then? Two separate incidents over a 6 week period, it appears that this is commonplace for this company. Thank you for your time.

Desired Settlement: I don't really know what resolution would be appropriate at this point since our competition is 1 day away. If our girls don't make it through to the next round then we'll call and cancel the shorts order.. That doesn't change the fact that 7 girls will have brand new cheer bags AFTER their season is over. Lord willing they will make it through to the next competition & we'll get the "hot shorts" well ahead of that date. But we will definitely go elsewhere to order the custom t-shirts, poms and megaphones we'll need for that!! I just want someone to make sure this company doesn't do this to other people. If something is back ordered give them an alternative vs making them wait 1 day short of 7 weeks. And if someone calls to MAKE SURE what they want can be delivered when they need it, don't say yes and then not be able to follow through!!

Business Response:

Dear Better Business Bureau Representative,

Athletica, Inc. customer ****** ******** and I have exchanged emails about her orders with our company.

Below is my most recent reply:

Thank you for the time that you took to explain the circumstances with your orders.

After reviewing your two transactions, our Finance Department will credit the $29.99 shipping charge that was applied on order#*

Additionally, your account# * now has a $100.00 goodwill credit that you can use on any future order.

I would be delighted if you took Team Cheer up on this offer.

Thanks again for investing so much of your time with communicating your summaries.

We are constantly looking to improve the service that we provide to our customers.

**

 **P.S. Congratulations to your team for advancing into Regionals this year!**

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/9/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The communications with this company is unrealistic. Team cheer was a suggested vendor this year from popwarner as one the best vendors to us. i found that hard to believe. This company does a horrible job at communcating with the consumer when items are either out of stock or items that were promised by certain dates never came. I was deling with ******* and ***** the companys sales reps for ordening 18 uniforms this season and from my socks, to my shoes to my shells and body liner this sistuation has become a disaster. I orderd a brand of shoes as i only received 16 i kept asking when would the other ones come, finally i received a email informing me that this style of shoe was no longer available and would not be available until next year! I had to order a different style of shoe for 2 girls. I orders socks and then was told my remaining 5 pairs would not be available for 2 additional more weeks so i had to order another different style of sock. My next incident became the "instock" body liners. I received 6 body liners, when asked when the rest would be in, i was giving the run around then finally was told my body liners would not be available until mid ocotber. That was not okay! I then demanded a supplement liner. ***** sent some black body liners and i was told would be free of charge. The final incident are my shells. I was told by ******* or ***** that my shells would come September 5th, 7th, 9th then my final date was september 13th! After this issue causing a BIG issue among my league i emailed ******* on 9/8/12 received no responce, I emailed ***** on 9/9/12 no reply just asking to be sent a tracking number of these shells that were due to me on 9/13/12 on 9/11/12 is when i received a phone call from ********* a sales rep to inform me that my shells now would not be sent to me until mid october also! He stated he would send some all black shells not what i orderd to just suppliment my order free of charge. At this point all of these delimas have caused a issue. As i explained to him my team is not a tradidtional cheer team and we only use these uniforms 10 times so for any items to be shipped to us in mid october is useless.

Desired Settlement: Due to the nature of this sisutation i would like to not be charged for any of the items that was sent to me based on there mistake nor would i like to be charged for the shells and body liners that the company claims to be coming in mid october.

Business Response:

The series of actions mentioned on the complaint have been addressed in the following ways:

1. On 9/11/'12, the customer was sent next day delivery 18 fully customized uniform tops completely free of charge. These were produced so our customer's cheerleading team would have uniforms to wear for one of their games. This gift order had a value of $539.82.

2. The uniforms that Team Cheer initially estimated would be delivered in mid-October, order# **********, actually ended up being delivered on 9/24/12. Due to the inconveniences that our company caused for our customer, the gift order sent on 9/11/12 was sent with no strings attached. These free uniforms were sent because our company felt obligated to help in whatever ways we could.   

3. On 9/18/12, the customer was sent another gift order, this time for cheerleading bows. This no-charge order had a value of $164.67.

The Team Cheer Sales Representative, Support Representative, and Sales Manager regret that our customer's experience has been so uneven and unsatisfying.

All of us at Team Cheer remain available for any and all communication related to the ***** **** ***** *** ****** cheerleading team.

Sincerely,

***** ****

Sales Manager 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/28/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: For Cheer Season 2011, my organization purchased over $5000.00 in new head to toe packages for our cheer program. We were told that we havd a line of credit of $4000. We made an initial payment of $2500 before any work on the uniforms was performed. We are a program of the ********* ***** **********, a registered 501c3 in good standing. We made several payments on the remaining $2500 all with the understanding that we still had an open line of credit with the company. Speaking and working with ******** *********** the Accounting Supervisor from Team Cheer has been extremely frustrating and challenging. The first problem we had with our invoices is that product that was returned was not credited to our account. After several weeks of complaining, this was finally corrected. The second issue, which is still outstanding, is the cost of shipping on select items that was never credited back to our bill. When we selected to employ Team Cheer as our vendor for uniforms our quotes stated that we would not have shipping included in our price. The last, and biggest issue we have, is the practice of having an attorney contact our not-for-profit organization, TYF, and make claims that we have cases open against us and they would need to come out and perform asset recovery or accounting audits on the ********* ***** **********, Inc. We do not scare easily and have the appropriate attorneys ready to take our claim agains Team Cheer further in the court of law if it cannot be corrected via the BBB. We in no way are stating that we do not still owe a balance to Team Cheer. What we did try to state to ********, the accounting supervisor for the company, is that all of the chargers are not correct. We have been informed that our current bill is $895 plus an additional $300 in misc. charges from Team Cheer. It concerns me that this company feels they can bully small non-profits or the programs of non-profits to meet end results. To be threatened with audits and asset recovery on our non-profit, who did not make the contract arrangements with Team Cheer in the first place, is unethical. I personally will not utilize this company for our organization again. I have been running a cheer program in * for 5yrs. We have used one or two companies to meet our performance needs and we decided to give Team Cheer a chance based on their presentation in our league meeting and the competitive quotes we received for head -to-toe packaging. We have never received the poor customer service or treatment for these other companies that we received from ******** who represents Team Cheer. I promise to make the other 38 towns in our league aware of what was done to our organization. We are all in the business of serving children and helping build a brighter future for them and the scare tatics that this company stoops to should be against the law.

Desired Settlement: The ********* ***** *********** *** is requesting a formal written apology from Team Cheer. We are also asking to have our billing issues corrected and we do not want to work with ******** *********** during the resolution of this account. The sad part about all of this is our organization purchases new head-to-toe packages every year. We doubled in the number of girls and was denied new quotes, and fit kits from Team Cheer because of ******** ***********, per the new sales rep. I would additionally, like to have any amount paid to Team Cheer returned for our ongoing challenges and frustrations in dealing with the company. A company is only as good as the people they employ. The employee's are the spirit team of the business and the wrong impression can be the lasting impression. Extremely Disappointed in Team Cheer, *

Business Response:

After carefully reviewing the statements made by ***** ************, the following is a summary of Athletica’s work with the * organization, along with our actions since the complaint.

In July 2011 the ******** began placing a series of orders with Athletica d.b.a. Team Cheer that would eventually total over $5,000. During the course of fulfilling the orders, there were adjustments involving returns and credits that, according to company records, were satisfactory to the customer.

When the customer fell behind in paying off their orders, Team Cheer’s finance department, including the supervisor, began normal debt recovery efforts. Customers falling behind on payments are commonplace occurrences in our business, especially considering the fact that many of our accounts are 501c3 non-profit groups. Our finance department is trained to be extremely careful and understanding when taking steps to recover payments from our non-profit customers.

According to all of our records, the * ******** willingly agreed to a repayment plan that would pay off their orders. When the payments ceased, and emails went unanswered, our company decided, on 7/17/12, to turn the customer’s debt over to a collection agency.

Currently, the ******* ******** have a remaining balance owed of $895.34. Coincidentally, our collection agency said on 7/24/12, that the contact person with the ******** acknowledged this figure as their legitimate and agreed-upon past due amount. 

*** ************ requested a formal written apology from Team Cheer. In accordance with this request, an email was sent on 7/27/12 by our company’s finance supervisor. As stated in the letter, it is our hope that the ******* ******** and Team Cheer are able to work together in the future.

Sincerely,

*

Customer Service and Sales Manager

Athletica, Inc.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.
The letter of apology does not address the collection or account practices of Team Cheer. The email, which is attached, states:
Dear *, Hi. I am sorry that the * have been referred to a collection agency. I have enjoyed working with you and hope that your association and Team Cheer have a chance to work together again. I'd be more than happy to assist you in your recent request on June 8th, 2012 of samples to be sent once the balance of $895.34 is paid in full. All the best to you and your team! Sincerely,* Accounting Supervisor * 

When I spoke to the law firm that the account was turned into, the representative was to have the account reviewed to have finance charges and other charges in dispute removed. What was removed was the collection charges. The last email I received from Team Cheer regarding our account, since that has been the primary source of correspondence. Was on May 15th after our last payment. I am concerned about their practices when it comes to the small business owner, especially non-profits. After speaking with our Board of Directors, it has been determined to have our attorney's take further action in the face of being threatened by the company via it's hired "collection's agency". We have turned over the voicemails that were left for our non-profit last week claiming that our assets and accounts would be seized on behalf of Team Cheer. Per the response from the company our account was turned over on July 17th. Again our last contact with the accounting supervisor was May 15th. We had hoped to do business with them for all of our teams in our conference but after speaking with other teams they may join in on our complaint. We will not sit and be bullied by any person or corporation. It is unacceptable.  Regards,*

Business Response: As a follow-up to the pending complaint, Athletica Inc.'s Customer Service and Sales Manager* continues to work with *. The * have a Board of Directors meeting scheduled for Friday 8/17/12. * and* will continue their discussions, with the goal of reaching a mutually agreeable resolution. 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/27/2012 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Feb 13th @ approximately 2:45 EST I placed a large order for stock pom poms. I selected and paid for 3 day priority shipping because I needed the delivery by Feb 17th. On Feb 17th when it I realized that the order was not going to be delivered per the tracking information I called the custormer service line. I was informed at that time that the 24-48 hour processing time that is listed on order page IS NOT included in the shipping time, it is in addition to the shipping method. This is not explained, it only states there is a processing time, not that it is in addition too the shipping time. Therefore when I paid for 3 day priority shipping that actually means one's order will not be delivered for up to 5 days. I was also told that "processing" times have a cut off time each day and that my order actually did not start the processing time until the following day on Feb 14th. This is not mentioned anywhere on the order form. As a result half of the order was delivered Monday Feb 20th well after the event for which I needed the order. That was six business days after I placed the order. The remaining part of the order was delivered on Feb 21st seven business days after I placed the order. This was even outside of the processing times plus three day ship time. Clearly not meeting the expectations even from Team Cheer and definately not my expectations. Additionally I placed multiple phone calls that day and received the same scripted answers for the delay. At no point was there any effort for customer service recovery. I asked for a refund of the shipping costs and the customer service representative stated she would do that "but you need to remember next time there is a 24-48 hour processing time and you need to adjust for that". The rep was condescending in her tone. By that point I was well aware of Team cheer's shipping policies I did not need to hear that AGAIN!!! When i told her never mind she could keep her money that she had lost me as a customer in for any future purchases she said nothing. In closing, I have spent thousands of dollars with this company. This was the first time I ever needed a rapid shipment from this company. In all the years that I have ordered online when I have selected a 2 day, 3 day, or overnight shipping that is what I expect. This could be easily cleared up by changing wording on the order screen to avoid confusion. Team cheer also needs to work on customer service recovery. In today's economy one would think each customer is valuable. I plan to share this experience with every coaches contact I have and discourage anyone from using Team Cheer. Who ever reads this complaint must look at it through the consumer's eyes. The company cannot assume that a consumer "gets" what should be the obvious in their opinions. What needs to be clear the order form does not state that processing times will increase wait times for the offered rapid shipping options!

Desired Settlement: If Team Cheer desires to keep my business I want a few things. First a full refund of shipping charges. Two a full clear explanation of wait times for deliveries. Three, an explanation if the company has any desire to improve customer service recovery. Lastly a company credit for my inconvenience. As a result of this issue I am having to take a full day to personally deliver pom poms to the individuals that they were ordered for. My time valuable and I feel that I should be compensated. I am a full time Registered Nurse. I make 33.35/hour. It will take four hours of my time to resolve this issue and would like the equivalent of my salary for four hours. That amount is $133.40 cents.

Business Response:

Dear Better Business Bureau Representative,

Hi. Regarding Complaint *******, our company has already taken action to satisfy our valued customer ********* *****.

Here is a summary of what took place on Thursday 2/23/12, an hour after the compaint was filed:

Our Call Center Supervisor refunded the $24.99 shipping charge.

The account was gifted $279.72 worth of product. 

Please feel free to contact us with any additional questions.

Thank you.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ** *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. I still very strongly that you need additional clarity on delivery time of orders versus shipping times if that has not been done. However the follow up interaction last Thursday with the customer service rep was a much better response than what I encountered originally. I recognize that mistakes happen and no one or no business is perfect. I feel based on the situation this is the best outcome possible.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

11/8/2011 Problems with Product/Service
10/27/2011 Problems with Product/Service
7/26/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1