BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Albany, Buffalo, Rochester & Syracuse regions

BBB Accredited Business since

Vekton Corporation

Phone: (585) 248-3240 Fax: (585) 248-3189 1829 Penfield Road, Penfield, NY 14526 http://www.vekton.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Home Improvements, Siding, Windows, Roofing & Doors

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Vekton Corporation meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Vekton Corporation include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Vekton Corporation
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 1987 Business started: 01/01/1982 in NY Business started locally: 01/01/1982 Business incorporated: 10/10/1986 in NY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mrs. Maura Brennan, Office Manager Mr. Roy J. Gordon
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Thomas E. Dustman, Manager
Business Category

SIDING CONTRACTORS TILE - CERAMIC - CONTRACTORS & DEALERS WINDOWS - INSTALLATION & SERVICE DOORS DOORS - INSTALLATION WINDOWS DECK BUILDER WINDOWS & DOORS - INSTALLATION & SERVICE CONTRACTORS - GENERAL DOORS - REPAIR GUTTERS & DOWNSPOUTS HOME IMPROVEMENTS - ADDITIONS PATIO & DECK BUILDERS ROOFING CONTRACTORS

Industry Tips
Home Improvement Contracts -- NYS Law Home Improvements Home Improvements -- FHA Loan Advertisements Recognizing Home Improvement Scams Roof - Ice & Snow Removal Roofing - Repair & Installation Three Day Cooling-Off Rule (cancel contracts) Window Condensation

Additional Locations

  • 1829 Penfield Road

    Penfield, NY 14526

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We moved into a beautiful home with NO roof leaks at all, but, given the age of the roof, decide to have a new roof installed. After a $24,000 new roof was added....the leaks began. Vekton has been back four times to address various issues. In the last week, they calked a leak , but once again, their attempt at just putting a "band aide" on the problem failed and water is, as I write, drizzling down our family room wall. I would, and have, strongly advised anyone having work done on their home to avoid Vekton "like a plague".

Desired Settlement: No one at Vekton has addressed the issue in an effective manner. I suspect the appropriate answer is to have a different firm do the work and have an attorney address the rest. If they bother to call...we will address it from there.

Business Response: Vekton installed roof in July 2010. Roof was completed on July 15, 2010 (paid in full at $21,250 not $24,000.). Approximately one month after completion, **** ***** called about a leak around an old skylight on the upper second story main roof. We immediately responded and informed him it was the skylight failing. **** and I decided that we would remove the old skylight and re-roof that area. We did this at no charge.


Approximately one year later **** called about a leak in a lower one story area which also had two old skylights. *** ****** (Vice President) responded and reworked flashing and ice and water shield around the skylights and also the area where the roof meets the brick sidewall. This was done on the lower back area. We did this at no charge because it was close to the one year warranty on our original agreement.

On 5/23/13, almost three years from the original install and two years from the repair on the lower back area ******* ***** called because of a leak. I responded that very day so ******* could show me where the leak occurred. It was where the roof meets the brick sidewall on the lower back section. She indicated at this time the two old skylights that had leaked previously had been replaced by another company.

There was no leak for two years from the original repair on the lower section. I returned with a roofer on 5/24/13 and reworked the flashing not just caulking. On 5/29/13 **** left a voice message that there was a leak again and if we didn't respond by noon he would contact BBB and attorney. ***** ******* out office manager called immediately. ******* said they didn't want us back. They would get the roof repaired and bill us.

We believe leaks prior to 2013 were probably caused by the old skylights. The labor warranty on our agreement (see agreement) is one year. Vekton responded to every call by the homeowner despite being past the one year warranty trying to help. ******* refused our offer to help on 5/29/13. Our obligation is complete.

Sincerely,

****** ********

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Dear BBB:

Thank you so much for your attention. I apologize I was out of country and could not respond sooner.

 

In fact, the Vekton company did NOT address the issues with the leaky new roof. An alternative company came promptly and nicely fixed the problem. Fortunate, since the next week was a monsoon.

 

I stand by my complaint and would not rec. Vekton for any roofing work.

 

Thank you...

 

**** * *******

4/3/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had siding installed in the spring of 2011, in the summer I noticed that a number of bees were enterining my home by way of a gap in the siding. When I contacted the company I was told that I would have to have the bees killed and that they would then come out and have the installer repair the siding. I contacted Vekton three times telling them that the bees were sprayed and requesting that the installer contact me to set up a time to remove the siding so that I could remove the bees nest and have the siding re-installed without the gap. The installer has not contacted me and Vekton has not called to follow up as well.

Desired Settlement: Have a different installer contact me and set up a time that is acceptable for both of us to be present to remove the end cap on the siding, remove the bees nests and repair the siding. I would like this done before the summer in case the bees are not dead.

Business Response: March 30, 2012 

l was notified on 3/27/12 that *** ******* concerns had not been addressed. I called *** ******* 
that same day to apologize for my error. I assured him his concerns would be addressed immediately. 
l then ordered material that may have been needed to rectify the situation and scheduled to have it 
delivered on 3/28/12. On the morning of 3/29/12, I met with a different installer at *** ******  
home. The corner post and surrounding siding, was removed. Fortunately there was no bee's nest. The 
siding was reinstalled and a new corner post was installed. When I spoke with *** ******* later in the 
day he indicated that he was satisfied with the work.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******* *******