BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Albany, Buffalo, Rochester & Syracuse regions

This Business is not BBB accredited

Edifi-College Financial Aid Services

Phone: (518) 862-1850 Fax: (518) 452-8715 View Additional Phone Numbers 450 New Karner Rd Ste 100, Albany, NY 12205 http://www.edifi.com/

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Edifi-College Financial Aid Services include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Edifi-College Financial Aid Services
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 17, 1993 Business started: 10/01/1991 Business started locally: 03/01/1993
Business Management
Ms. Maura Kastberg, VP Client Services Mr. John Braat, Chief Operating Officer Mr. Michael Modica
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. William Davidson, Chairman
Principal: Ms. Maura Kastberg, VP Client Services
Business Category

SCHOLARSHIPS & FINANCIAL AID

Alternate Business Names
CFAS, LLC College Financial Aid Services, Inc Edifi
Industry Tips
Financial Aid for College

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    450 New Karner Rd Ste 100

    Albany, NY 12205

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 869-0220(Phone)
  • (800) 586-1068(Phone)
  • (518) 456-1902 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/27/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/6/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/13/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Been paying monthly for services that should not have been charged to me in the first place.

Desired Settlement: I would like my money back.

Business Response: December 30, 2011

I have reviewed this client's file and found the following. ***** ***** had signed and initialed the
contract in the required sections confirming she fully understood the service we provide and the
payment plan she agreed to; she was also provided with a carbon copy for her own records.
Enclosed is a copy of the contract *** ***** signed on 04/02/2011.

At the seminar *****, *** *****'s daughter was provided with a username and password to
access the website account we created. On the website student's have access to SAT and ACT
test preparation, College and Career Searches, and a Portfolio to save the results of their
searches.

On 04/20/2011 we received an email with the completed Financial Aid Estimate Request form
and copies of their 2010 Federal taxes Schedule M.

On 04/22/2011 *** ***** contacted our office requesting to change her monthly payment date
to the 20th of each month starting 5/20/2011.We gladly accommodated *** *****'s request.

On 04/29/2011 we mailed a Welcome Binder for ***** which included a junior hand book for *****
to refer to for her junior year of high school. The United States Postal Service has confirmed
deliver of the binder on 05/09/2011.

On OS/26/2011 we called and left a message for *** ***** to contact our office to schedule a
phone interview to review the family's financial information.

On 06/21/2011 we called and left another message for *** ***** to contact our office to
schedule a phone interview to review the family's financial information.

On 06/22/2011 ****** **** returned our ca!!s and asked to contact her at her place of business.
We called the phone number *** ***** has requested we return her call and left another
message for her to call to schedule the phone interview.

On 06/24/2011 *** ***** returned our call and we were able to schedule the phone inte!Yiew for
06/28/2011.

On 06/28/2011 we conducted the phone interview and gathered additional information to
complete the required financial aid forms for *****'s chosen colleges.

On 07/06/2011 we mailed an outline of the information that was gathered during the phone
interview for *** ***** to review and keep for her records.

On 07/11/2011 we emailed college cost estimates for *****'s chosen colleges that were provided
to us on the Financial Aid Estimate Request form and gathered during the phone interview on
06/28/2011.

On 08/15/2011 *** ***** contacted our office asking to have her 812012011 payment taken on
09/02/2011. We updated fvis. *****'s file to adjust her payment date.

On 08/16/2011 ***** contacted our office to update her chosen list of colleges. We removed
Spelman College and added Southeast Missouri State University per her request. We then
emailed new college cost estimates for Southeast Missouri State University.

On 09/09/2011 the payment for 09/02/2011 had returned and we mailed a letter to inform ***
***** of the missed payment to her account.

On 09/23/2011
school.

On 09/26/2011 the payment for September returned. We mailed another letter informing ***
***** of the missed payment on her account.

On 10/12/2011 *** ***** contacted our office stating she wouid begin making payments again
on the account.

As of yet we have not received any further payments on *** *****'s Edifi account. To date Edifi
has completed as much of the services we are able to provide. Stated in the contract in order to
cancel we would needed to have been contacted with in the first five business days from the date
of signing the contract. As the contract also states after the cancellation period of five business
days an incurred late cancellation fee of no less then $595.00 would be due and increases
proportionately thereafter to cancel the contract.

We incur costs for each and every contract we sign regardless of the level of client participation.
These direct costs include, but not limited to, mailing costs, long distance telephone charges,
employee labor and materials to ship our "welcome pack" and handbooks, setting up their student
in our databases, setup charges and transaction fees with our payment vendors, sales
commissions, employee labor associated with new client enrollment, etc. In addition, there are
many indirect costs including travel, rent, utilities, personnel, etc. that we incur in order to be
ready to deliver the services.

We will offer *** ***** two options to resolve her account with Edifi, the first; is to resolve the
payment issue and continue utilizing the remainder of the services we offer. The second option
we will allow her to cancel the Edifi account with a Late Cancellation fee total of $797_10.

we mailed the senior hand book for ***** to refer to for her senior year of high

If she decides to utilize the services she will need to contact our office and resolve the payment
issue. However if she decides to cancel her Edifi account she will need to sign and return by fax
or mail the enclosed late cancellation agreement within 30 days along with her canceliation fee.
Upon receipt of the signed agreement by Edifi, the account will be closed.

****** *********
Edifi Accounting Department

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/11/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/12/2011 Problems with Product/Service
10/1/2011 Problems with Product/Service
9/16/2011 Problems with Product/Service
8/12/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
1