BBB Accredited Business since

Rich's Home Exteriors, LLC

Phone: (518) 792-9000 Fax: (518) 798-4793 View Additional Phone Numbers 150 Saratoga Rd., South Glens Falls, NY 12803 http://www.richshomeexteriors.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business offers siding, roofing, handyman services, insulation, windows/doors service and repair.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Rich's Home Exteriors, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Rich's Home Exteriors, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Rich's Home Exteriors, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 11, 2003 Business started: 01/01/1952 in NY Business started locally: 01/01/1952 Business incorporated 09/26/2012 in NY
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Cindy L. Rich-Sheets, President / Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Cindy L. Rich-Sheets, President / Owner
Business Category

ROOFING CONTRACTORS SIDING CONTRACTORS WINDOWS - INSTALLATION & SERVICE HANDYMAN SERVICES PROPERTY MAINTENANCE DOORS PATIO DOORS DOORS - INSTALLATION STORM WINDOWS & DOORS WINDOWS INSULATION CONTRACTOR - SPRAY FOAM CONTRACTOR - METAL ROOFING WINDOWS & DOORS - INSTALLATION & SERVICE CONTRACTORS - GUTTERS DOORS - REPAIR GUTTERS & DOWNSPOUTS GUTTER CLEANING INSULATION CONTRACTORS

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, MasterCard, Visa, Discover, and checks.
Industry Tips
Home Improvement Contracts -- NYS Law Home Improvements Home Improvements -- FHA Loan Advertisements Recognizing Home Improvement Scams Roof - Ice & Snow Removal Roofing - Repair & Installation Three Day Cooling-Off Rule (cancel contracts) Window Condensation

Additional Locations

  • 150 Saratoga Rd.

    South Glens Falls, NY 12803

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A Bay Window unit was purchased and installed 4 years ago. This past fall during a heavy rain storm we noticed water seeping in under the wood framing at the base of window unit. We contacted our representative at the company and a service person came and inspected the unit. It was found that the left side of the unit, when installed, was not caulked allowing water to enter and seep under the whole base of the unit. Also there was the start warping and the stain and varnish chipping due to moisture entering underneath. Our representative came to look at the window unit and stated it would be replaced by them due to being under their warranty. Since it was late in the season, by the time the window was ordered it would be too cold to install. It was agreed that the window would be ordered and replacement would be done in the spring of this year. We contacted the representative in late March, 2014 questioning when the window unit would be installed. He stated they were getting their work force together and would contact us. As we had not heard any further, we called again 5/29/14 and were transferred to ***** ****. She stated she had just contacted the manufacturer the day before and they agreed to replace window unit, but not pay for labor. We got the impression she may have been in dispute with the manufacturer. We asked, since they were notified last fall, why they were just acting on it now. She said she "made a mistake", people make mistakes". Our concern is it was the installation, we assume, that cause the damage. Why do we have to be delayed and be in the middle of a dispute with the manufacturer as to who will pay for the replacement window. We questioned ***** **** when we would be hearing back from her about installation. She stated a week. It has now been a week and no contact has been received.

Desired Settlement: We would like our window unit of the same like and kind ordered from the manufacturer immediately by Rich's Home Exteriors LLC and properly replaced as soon as possible.

Business Response: Please also see attached for an additional document.
To Whom It May Concern:
*** * **** ****** purchased a bay window from **** ******** * ***** ****** **** on August 31, 2009. A copy of the contract is enclosed for your review.
On December 31, 2012 **** ******** * ***** ****** **** went out of business, federal ID **********
January 1, 2013 Rich's Home Exteriors LLC federal ID ********** was formed.
In on October *** * **** ****** contacted Rich's Home Exteriors LLC about concerns with their window. We both opted to wait until spring due to the oncoming winter.
On May 28, 2014 I contacted the manufacturer to see what course of action to pursue.
I never said I had a dispute with the manufacturer. I was exploring options in order to help her. Installation was never once mentioned. We will replace the window.
Sincerely, ***** *** ***********