BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Albany, Buffalo, Rochester & Syracuse regions

BBB Accredited Business since

Greater Rochester Roofing

Additional Locations

Phone: (585) 732-0305 PO Box 26930 , Rochester, NY 14626 http://www.greaterrochesterroofing.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business offers Roofing, Siding, Windows & Doors, Gutters, Exterior & Interior Construction, and Property Management.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Greater Rochester Roofing meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Greater Rochester Roofing include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Greater Rochester Roofing
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 14, 2011 Business started: 01/01/2002 in NY Business started locally: 01/01/2002
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Garrett C. Gildner, Owner/Operator
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Garrett C. Gildner, Owner/Operator
Business Category

ROOFING CONTRACTORS SIDING CONTRACTORS CONSTRUCTION & REMODELING SERVICES WINDOWS - INSTALLATION & SERVICE DOORS DOORS - INSTALLATION STORM WINDOWS & DOORS WINDOWS PROPERTY MANAGEMENT WINDOWS & DOORS - INSTALLATION & SERVICE CONTRACTORS - GUTTERS GUTTERS & DOWNSPOUTS

Alternate Business Names
Garrett C. Gildner
Industry Tips
Home Improvement Contracts -- NYS Law Home Improvements Home Improvements -- FHA Loan Advertisements Recognizing Home Improvement Scams Roof - Ice & Snow Removal Roofing - Repair & Installation Three Day Cooling-Off Rule (cancel contracts) Window Condensation

Additional Locations

  • 27 Oak Street

    Batavia, NY 14020

  • PO Box 26930

    Rochester, NY 14626 (585) 732-0305

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: my roof is leaking and they haven't responded to my calls. It is guaranteed until 8/15/2018

Desired Settlement: Please repair before it rains again! ASAP!!!

Business Response: Business will either call or stop by consumers home to go over any current issues.  

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired ******* ** ******* who own Greater Rochester Roofing Company of Rochester to complete a tear off, removal of my roof and replace it. I payed ******* in full after completion of the roof on 9/7/2011. $5,645.00. Beginning in the month of October through the present there continues to be severe leaking of water through the upstairs 2 bedroom ceilings and the upstairs bathroom ceililng. I called ******* and he came to look at the damage and tried to blame it on gutters that were filled with leaves. The gutters were cleaned by his company at the time of the roof being replaced. I had a second opinion from another roofing company whom said the shingles were put down incorrectly and what is stated in the contract was not completely done which is why there are numerous continued leaks. Then ******* said he would come at a later date to reassess and fix what he thought might need to be done if the water leaks continued. Since October I have documented that I have left numerous messages for ******* to please call me because there is continued water leaks and he needs to fix the roof. In his contract it says we are convered under warranty in detail. I did explain to ******* because of these water leaks it has done extensive damage to the insulation, wood beams, ceilings and carpeting. I just want ******* to cover what is listed under warranty and to call me to fix the problem before I have to take him to small claims court. If the BBB needs the times and dates I have called ******* I can produce them and the warranty and contract at a later date. I will still continue to try and contact ******* until this matter is resolved. Also, I have taken pictures of the roof and where the shingles were not properly placed down. You can see lots of lifting.

Desired Settlement: I would like ******* to come down and fix the shingles, put a ventilation system up like it states in the contract, but was never done. I would like ******* to replace the insulation, ceilings and damaged carpeting in a timely manner. The upstairs smells from water damage and I am afraid it could turn into mold. I have 6 kids and 2 have severe allergies to mold.

Business Response:

3/19:

******* from the company left a message on 3/16 returning my call. I spoke to him today and received a verbal response. He will draft a written response and send that to me.

 He did state that in Aug 2011 the roof was done for her, and there was water in the back roof area around Nov / Dec. She had a third party that stated it was a problem with the installation. The company said the problem was not the roof, but with the 30 ft gutter that goes into a 18 in gutter. The problem is also with the facia boards. When the gutter backs up it gets behind the facia and creates water spots. The company was out there 3-4 times to look at it. He confirmed that it was not a roof related problem, but he would take care of it.

 The consumer had other third parties look at the problem and they also stated it was not roof related. The company wanted it to rain so he could visually see the problem and stated that in the spring, he would take care of the issue that was causing the problem. 

 Now he is unsure that he wants to do this. He thinks it will open pandora's box. He is willing to arbitrate.

 4/2:

I spoke to ****** today and received an update as he did not send a written response. He stated that there is no proof of an active leak in the 4 times that they have been there. His offer is that the next time there is a heavy rain he will come out to view the problem. The installation will be removed to look at the underside of the decking and the business will tear up the ceiling to also look at the problem. If it is their fault, they will fix it. If it is not their fault, there is nothing they can do.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1