BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Albany, Buffalo, Rochester & Syracuse regions

BBB Accredited Business since

Dennis Ringer & Son, Inc.

Phone: (585) 225-6067 Fax: (585) 225-6067 View Additional Phone Numbers 440 Mill Road, Rochester, NY 14626 http://www.dennisringerandsoninc.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Dennis Ringer & Son, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Dennis Ringer & Son, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Dennis Ringer & Son, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 01, 1989 Business started: 01/01/1966 in NY Business incorporated: 07/16/1999 in NY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. David Ringer, VP
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dennis Ringer, Presidant
Business Category

ROOFING CONTRACTORS SIDING CONTRACTORS STORM WINDOWS & DOORS CONTRACTORS - GUTTERS CONTRACTOR - ELECTRICAL PLUMBING - CONTRACTOR CONTRACTORS - GENERAL CONTRACTORS - ELECTRICAL GUTTERS & DOWNSPOUTS HOME IMPROVEMENTS PLUMBING CONTRACTORS

Alternate Business Names
Dennis Ringer Roofing & Siding Ringer, Dennis & Son, Inc. Save on Contracting
Industry Tips
Choosing a Plumbing Contractor Home Improvement Contracts -- NYS Law Home Improvements Home Improvements -- FHA Loan Advertisements Recognizing Home Improvement Scams Roof - Ice & Snow Removal Roofing - Repair & Installation Service Calls Three Day Cooling-Off Rule (cancel contracts)

Additional Locations

  • 440 Mill Road

    Rochester, NY 14626 (585) 225-6067 (585) 738-5811

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (585) 738-5811(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Had new roof placed on my 3 yr old home that had no problems other than defect in adhesive on shingles. Prior to having new roof placed by Dennis Ringer and son there where no defects in structure of home,ventilation, leaks ,and insulation. After Dennis Ringer and son placed the new roof, the first time it rained I had large leak from roof that went into middle of my living room. Contacted Dennis Ringer and son and they inspected roof and said it was quick fix and put some "adhesive/caulk" in affected area. Recently had large downpour of rain (within 7 months) of him "fixing" roof leak and same exact spot leaked into my living room. Contacted Dennis Ringer and son and they claim this could be insulation issue, or defect in shingles/moldings/trim/j channel etc...and simply saying this wasnt something they did. They made appt. with me to come look at problem but cancelled. As I was upset my 3 yr old home never leaked prior to them putting on roof, and continues to leak into my living room with damage to ceiling and drywall, he said I was rude and didnt want me to contact him again. This also was followed by letter signed from him stating all of this and calling me "rude, smart___,child lost looking for parents" etc... I am shocked that a person/business can do what they did to my wife and I in our brand new home. I truly am disgusted with his solution process.

Desired Settlement: Since they have already failed to install roof properly without leaks not once ,but actually came out second time to fix with caulk/adhesive and it still leaks in my new home. I have lost all confidence in Dennis Ringer and son inc. to do anything with my roof ever again even if they desired to come and fix again. I will be getting estimates from roofers that will guarentee workmanship and actually find leak in roof and properly fix it. Unfortunately we will be going to court to recoup some, if not all of cost to repair roof, ceiling , drywall, and paint. I do not want them to do this to anyone else, its just not right.

Business Response:

**** called us after we put his new roof on, that i would like to stress, that we were able to get ***** to give him the roofing shingle only and the $8,500.00 for the labor only, nothing for nails, sealant, felt paper, ice & water shield, drip edge, valley material, or replace his ridge vents. **** talked us into installing new felt paper,30lb. not 15 lb, Extra ice and water shield and we supplied the silicone and nails at no additional charge. So **** got us to forfeit Approx. $1,500.00 of the $8,500.00 for labor to give him a better roof. The only thing **** paid for was the new ridge vents, that we told him not to use because we have found they really don't work that well on homes especially with the lenght of the rafter system **** has. But he didn't listen to us. The venting system eliminate's 90% of ice daming. We gave him a price  of $1,680.00 to install 28 new roofing vents and he choose not to do that. When a home owner will not allow us to do our jobs correctly, we do not warranty our workmanship nor do we warranty a manufacture that we don't ever use, in this case *****. We only use "***** *******". So **** has no warranty on the labor or material from us. When **** called with his very small leak last year, we did what a responsible contractor should do, we responded to the call immeadatly went to his home and sealed a small area in 30 year silicone. Since then his home has gone through Hurricane Sandy, many rain storms and snow storms and he had no problems. Now we get a snow storm which was very heavy, wet. and cold snow storm that put a coating of ice on his roof with about 3" to 4" of snow on top of that, and the water couldn't go anywhere so water will always find away to come in. When he called me the next day after the storm, I told him what he is suppose to do is use a snow rake, like we tell all homeowners and remove it or pay a contractor to remove it, because if you don't, he'll have more water damage. He also wanted us to do a courtesy call for free, and we don't do courtsey, snow removal calls . He has to be responsible for his own home, we do not own the home. We even suggested to **** to get a snow rake last year, because he was stuck using the same manufacture that flawed in the first place. Again, **** knew after we installed his new roof with his shingle there was no warranty on labor or material especially because he choose to do things wrong and we have given enough to ****. Regarding his last call i told **** that my son had just had a leg operation . He turned right around and filed this claim . We alreadyknew the problem was due to ice daming, **** was guilty of neglect & lack of responsible maintenance on his own home. He just didn't want to spend money on his own home.

And as i read the complaint, he doesn't want us there anyway and intends to take us to court, so i will wait for the court date and i will counter him for all the additional material and labor. I'm sorry it got to this point, but my son is still on crutches. ****'s problem was an individual storm problem and may never see the problem again, unless it's the same type of storm. Thats why all homeowners have a homeowner policy that covers water damage due to an individual storms because, new or old roof, water damage can occur due to any storm. If ****s roof was really our problem, it would of leaked over all the storms we have had since it was installed.  Respectfully,  dennis ringer.

If requested i'll be glad to send the BBB a copy of our contract with ****.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The response from Dennis Ringer and Son was not acceptable.  Even after explaining the problem to Dennis Ringer and Son they still have failed in every way to fix our roof.  The response that Dennis Ringer and Son have pointed out once again they are  NOT TAKING RESPONSIBILITY for replacing the roof that they installed improperly.  Dennis Ringer and Son should have never done the job if they were uncomfortable with venting or the roofing shingle that was used.  This is not the issue that I am addressing.  The letter that Dennis Ringer and Son have written to the BBB is a complete a lie. I have checks that stated, I paid in full $611.00 on July 24th for additional roofing supplies that were not covered by the $8,500.00 they collected from ***** roofing company. Dennis had said all felt paper, nails, adhesives, roofing vents were included in that price.  I never failed to pay any bill and they never gave me anything for free, except headaches.  Also, in his eloquent letter he failed to state he insisted that I purchase an additional 6 squares of roofing shingles for "waste".  According to *** records I only needed 42 squares of shingles to cover my roof, with waste 3 years prior, during our building process.  Dennis Ringer and Son's insist that I needed to order 48.  Those roofing shingles came to the total of $1266.17, which I purchased on June 7 from *** wholesale.  After the roof was installed I had 6 + squares of roofing shingles left over.  Since this wasn't the shingle Dennis Ringer and Son used, the $1266.17 was a complete loss on my end because I couldn't return extra shingles once ordered and delivered. No monies were forfeited from Dennis Ringer and Son. Nothing in this world is free.

        

The letter he responded with says "small leak". This was a  large leak after first rainstorm, which I had to use pots and pans from preventing further damage to our home. Much more damage would have taken place if I didn't have an incandescent light within 3 ft of the leak. Water was pouring out of ceiling around light into pots and pans and luckily I was home when it happened.  At that time I contacted Dennis Ringer and Son and asked who was responsible for any damage (Dry wall damage to wall and ceiling, and paint) and he said they "aren’t responsible for anything , that’s why you have home owners insurance". I insisted they come out and fix the leak as soon as possible to prevent more damage, however Dennis Ringer and Son did not come here themselves, they sent a young man over with caulk to fix the leak.  He was here a total of 20 minutes and said it was a quick fix and I would never have to worry about the leak again.  I have pictures to prove that the 2nd leak is in the same spot.  I currently have an inspection and estimate by a roofer pending damages and repair.  During the entire time of crisis what Dennis Ringer and Son should of done, was to take responsibility.  My 3 yr old home didn't leak prior to Dennis Ringer and Son installing our new roof .  Our roof still leaks in the exact same spot.

         

He never recommended a snow rake, until he wanted me to pay for his guys to come out and do it.  Snow raking 30-40 ft over a vaulted ceiling in the dead of winter is absolutely ludicrous. My home with its pitch and height has never required this prior to Dennis Ringer and Son coming here. Once again they have excuses for excuses and the only answer is call your homeowners policy.  This is complete negligence on Dennis Ringer and Son. For Dennis Ringer and Son to insist that new roofs are supposed to leak, I question his knowledge as a roofer.   New roofs are not supposed to leak. When you fix a leak it shouldn't come back within 6 months in the same exact spot.  The only reason why it went to the BBB, is because Dennis Ringer and Son made  an appointment  with me on Saturday, March 2nd and he called in sick with me, last minute.  I waited for 4 days (as phone records show) I called him to reschedule our appointment and I received no call back.  I then called the following day and his response was "I told you to  lose my number, don’t call me anymore".  They chose to stop communication with me and failed in every way to resolve the  roof leak.  His letter is a way to distract the BBB in what he is ultimately responsible for and that was putting on a roof that doesn't leak. I have included a letter Dennis wrote to me  following our phone call prior to his 12 pm appt with me for Saturday March 2nd.  This letter is completely tasteless, hurtful, and unprofessional in every way. This is written proof of what type of person the BBB has given an A- rating ????

 

Regards,

**** *******

Business Response:

First i want to apologize for putting some of my personality into my business by calling **** a child, etc. But as you can see, **** is ****. I want to stress that kid we sent over to seal the area of concern that first time last year was ****, he is a 32 year old professional roofing installer that has been working with us for over 10 years and is the same kid that installed his new roof. Regarding the venting. **** knew that by installing proper ventilation on a roof is the difference in the amount of ice daming and condensation occuring during snow storms and achieving the same temperature inside the rafter system and the out door temperature. Thats why we put in his contract about installing the vents and how many he should have. He choose to go back into the ridge vents. Regarding the felt paper. He had a 15lb. felt paper on his roof originally. I suggested we install new 30lb. felt paper to make for a much better job. **** then paid for the upgrade in the felt but talked us into giving him the 2 days of labor for free. So between the new ridge vents and the new felt paper that is the  total of the check for $611.00 and as you can see in the receipts i'm sending you, the actual total i paid to *** wholesale was $755.03.  Not only did we not charge **** the extra money it cost me, he didnot pay for the labor. So i don't want to hear about **** not getting a lot from us for free. Regarding the square footage of ****'s roof. ***** gave hime 3900 square feet of roofing material. When i originally gave **** an estimate, i figured about 5000 sq. ft. because ****s roof is a type of hip roof and is fairly cut up, so i always add 10% more in material because of its size and being cut up. ***** paid for installing 39 sqs. and we installed approx. 42 to 43 Sqs. But we didn't go back to **** and ask for more money. Regarding the Ice and Water shield. **** had one row originally. I suggested that we add one more row, So **** talked me into installing the additional row for free, labor and material, ***** did not pay for this. You can see in the pictures i'm sending you that he had no ice and water shield on the front of the garage at all. I couldn't leave it like that. Now regarding this last storm we had that caused some water damage. ***** roof has gone through many storms and including hurricane sandy and he had no problems until this last snow storm and water came in. we told him what to do and he left the snow and ice there and more and more water came in. He choose not to mitigate his damage, so a small leak let a lot of water in. He didn't listen again. And as the BBB can tell now by ****s complaints, he talks like he is an authority on roofing . We don't even know yet whether its a roofing, siding or trim problem. But i do know that we would not go on his property with out the police department there. I do not trust **** after all of this. And in his own last letter to the BBB, he was going to have another contractor look at the problem and have him fix it and was going to take me to court for repayment. So i left this complaint at that. Also once again, the reason why an insurance company covers storm related water damage is because water damage can occur do to a storm, whether it's a new roof or old roof. Now i'm trully not saying that the problem **** is having is not roof related. I don't know yet because i haven't seen it, its really very strange it didn't leak during all the rain storms we have had, not even the hurricane, but as soon as we have heavy, wet, dense cold icy weather he calls with the problem, And i tell him what to do, snow rake it, or hire someone to remove it, or have us remove it for a fee, he choose to leave it and it leaked further into his home. If its actually a roof problem, i need a professional to tell me so, not ****s opinion. Wehave been in business for over 45 years. We work on an average of between 500 to 1000 homes a year depending on how many storms we have and once in awhile we receive a complant. Most of the complants are because a home didn't listen to what we said, or tell half truths, or both. If it has anything to do with our workmanship we will always show up and fix it. But i can't fix misrepresentation, and we can't force a homeowner to absorb everything we have to say while were there. By the way its only approx. 18 feet to 20 feet to ****s gutter line not  not 30feet to 40 feet. I expect this to be the end with ****s complaint. I will notify the BBB to what happens in court. We wait for ****'s court date. Respectfully, dennis ringer

Enclosed you'll find copies of the contract, pictures of his home, material lists, estimates, etc. I will need to mail all the material since i'm not good enough to email all of this documentation.

I would also like to know if **** has actually gotten an estimate to fix this area from leaking again, or has he left it that way  so it can leak again?

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

First I want thank Dennis Ringer for apologizing and taking it back at the same time and insulting me further.  Dennis explained that his professional roofing installer, **** has been apart of his company for more than 10 years.  What qualifications does **** have to be labeled a professional roofer???  He advised us that when he came and did a quick fix on our roof with caulk, “this roof will NEVER leak in that same spot”.  Dennis Ringer is trying to belittle our complaints when we have every right to express our issues with the BBB.  

 

The bottom line is that Dennis Ringer is the one who broke off all communication with my wife and I.  But when I contact the BBB, Dennis had pages of responses to my complaints that seems ironic and funny!!!  As you can see in all of Dennis’s replies to my complaints, he still will not take responsibility for causing the leak.  He continues to repeat himself and talk about money and labor and all the free items that they gave me, when in fact he got paid roughly $9200.00 to complete this job.   IT WAS NEVER ABOUT THE MONEY…. It was about him doing his job properly and taking accountability for his actions.  In fact, one conversation that I had with Dennis during the original install, Dennis asked if I was a JEW because I questioned how much he was going to charge me for additional ice and water shield.  Is that how business owners treat their customers… again VERY Professional!!!!  I am not an authority on roofing, but I am aware that if you are a professional, you are held accountable for your actions.

 

According to the building inspector for ***********, he advised that we did not need water and ice shield on the lip above the garage, Dennis however felt it needed to be there and charged me accordingly.  99 percent of all damage to my home was from the original storm.  The only thing that happened after the original leak was a pancake size stain on the ceiling in same area as the original leak. NO water came into my great room.  Also, Dennis keeps saying that we went thru Hurricane Sandy…that was NY City area and Jersey.  We had rain and wind but no Hurricane hit ***********, NY.


I just want you to know that I work 60+ hours a week, so my time is valued and I wouldn’t go through all of  this to tell lies. I am telling the truth.  I feel that Dennis Ringer and Son should just take the responsibility and not fight this.  This is what they do for a living and I feel that this is important to share with the BBB so no one else gets burned, like us. 

As of today we have had 2 roofing companies come and give us their professional opinion and they both have advised Dennis Ringer and Son did not place water and ice shield underneath the fascia trim properly.  The ice and water shield in the ridge wasn’t placed properly either.  But I love that he made up story after story with more excuses. It had nothing to do with ventilation, insulation, or ice damning. The fascia trim was never removed from the original install.  They have told me this is the standard practice of the last 10 years and since Dennis has been in this business for 45 years, this should have been a no brainier by his professional installers.  But then again, Dennis Ringer and Son never went on our roof to make sure their employee’s were properly installing the ice and water shield.  How would they know how their employees are installing anything properly when they don’t check their work?  In every job, we have bosses and they check our work regardless of how many years we have been working.  If they are a company that stands behind their products and work,  why don’t they check the work of the employees?  I am sorry, but that is not how a successful company works (where their customers who keep them in business) happy.  The estimates for repairing the roof were estimated just under $1000.00.  We also got an estimate for our ceiling to get painted for water stains, and that will be $550.00, because they have to seal the stains with a special product so the stain does not come thru.  Also, our ceiling is stucco, which was never painted, so that area cannot be touched up, the entire ceiling needs to get painted, which also requires scaffolding.

 

Just to clarify from outside I have a 20 foot ceiling plus 2 ½ feet for foundation, so “for snow raking”, I would need to be at least 10 feet out to see what I was doing.  Therefore I would need a 30-foot snow rake to remove the snow, and doing so in the middle of winter is ludicrous.  If you google snow raking it says that this should not be necessary with high pitched roofs. My roof is 10/12 pitch and in spots 12/12 pitch. No one else on my street  as well as any home built after 2000 has had to deal with snow raking their roof.  I called Dennis regarding the leak because it happened the night of the snowstorm, it did not continue to the next day.  He refers in his letter that the leak continued on for days and it did not.  Again facts seem to be neglected on his part. 


Honestly, Dennis Ringer and Son should be ashamed as to how they treated me let alone handled this problem that was caused by their professional installers.  The only time that they responded was when I contacted the BBB, and to me, that is poor professionalism in a business they have been in for 45 years.  I want the community  (****** county) NY to know that he is not professional in any way, shape or form and does not stand behind his work.  Also, I want you to be aware that the two contractors that have come to give us estimates have advised that they have been getting a lot of work on roofs lately, where Dennis Ringer and Son have installed roofs and homeowners are having problems with leaking roofs and improper installation.  Having negative outcomes with customers spreads like wildfire, and pretty soon there wont be any new customers .We know of some people that have had issues with Dennis Ringer and Son however they do not want to contact BBB regarding their issues, therefore we want to make it known to you that this company’s grading should be downgraded to an F for failing at roofing.

 

In conclusion it was proven that Dennis Ringer and Son improperly installed my roof and failed to fix it properly. Now that professional roofers have proven your guilt Dennis. Now I need you to admit to it. When you admit guilt I will drop lawsuit. It was never about the money!


My next action will be decided by Dennis Ringer’s response.

 

Regards,

**** *******

********* *******

Business Response: BBB spoke to ******. He stated that he is willing to come out and see what is going on. But he wants to be left to do the work and not be interrupted. He is requesting the consumer's brother in law to be there as well so the conflict of personalities do not arise. If the problem is the roof, it will be fixed. Please accept or decline this offer.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

So let me get this straight the  roofer (Dennis Ringer and son) has now decided they will come fix after its been repaired. This is joke right? They want to come rip up roof after its been fixed?

The only reason another roofer has fixed this leaking problem was because DENNIS RINGER  and SON broke off all communication and said if roof leaked further it was on me if damages got any worse. 

When ******* ************ fixed roof they had proven this was faulty installation by Dennis Ringer and son. The leak was found on roof. It was due to improper flashing and improper apron, and valley installation. Included with this is the  copy from them stating roof issue. I have also included what the cost was to fix leak from improper installation- 878.00.  Now that it is official it was do to improper installation and roofer (dennis ringer and son) would not return to my home and fix.  They broke all communication off and have proof of this by emails, phone records,voice mails.  It is not fair they can improperly fix, not return and stick me with bill.  

The only acceptable response by DENNIS Ringer and son is either pay IN FULL $878.00 or pay me what cost would be for DENNIS RINGER AND SON TO PROVIDE service call for 3 people labor for 4 hrs, scaffolding site set up, ice /water shield roll, 2 squares of roofing shingles (tamko 50yr shingle),  2 square roofing shingles torn off and replaced,box of nails, new flashing, cleanup fee, and removal and replacement of siding and trim repair where flashing was found.     

Dennis Ringer and Son's  response will determine what I do next.

Regards,

**** *******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

12/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid $270.00 on May 20, 2012 for a "temporary" fix to a leaking chimney flashing which I was told should last a couple of years, and it only lasted a couple of months. This I am willing to consider a loss as I was told it was a temporary fix, even though I would not have done it if I knew it would only last 2 months. Then I paid $378 on Oct. 5, 2012 for "holes in the roof", and I was told that that should fix the problem. At no point did my roof ever stop leaking, and I had to pay $980 with a different company to repair the flashing. I think I am entitled my $378.00 back as a refund, as the "holes in the roof" did not fix anything.

Desired Settlement: $378 refund for the second repair that did not repair anything.

Business Response: When *** ****** called us about his chimney, I explained that a temporary repair may last 2 days, 2 weeks or 2 years or longer, that is what a temporary repair is. He was selling his home and didn't want to put any more money in the home than necessary.  I also explained to him that the right way to do the chimney was to install proper step and counter flashing but that would cost $800.00 to do. he then took the temporarary repair. Again he called us awhile later and said it didn't stop. I explained to him that there was an additional problem at the base of the chimney that we had to take the roofing shingles off to repair. Which we charged him a nominal fee.  He again called and this time i told him were done with the temporary repairs and we need to install proper step and counter flashing. The cost for the flashing work, taking in consideration the first 2 repairs we tried , we were only going to charge him $600.00. He couldn't wait for us to get there so he hired a different contractor to do the work and paid a lot more than we were going to charge him at $600.00.  Here is the problem i have with *** ******. He didn't pay his first billing and when we came back the second time we added the cost of that to his first billing and sent hime a total billing for $378.00 including the tax. Which he paid. So what we really have is *** ****** is a liar. He never paid a $270.00 fee at all. His total cost was $378.00. And now he wants us to refund all his money, so the 2 days of work would be for free. In order for the BBB to know that i'm telling the truth *** ****** needs to send to the BBB 2 canceled checks dated 5/12 and 9/12 and the original billings he was sent to prove he paid us a total of$648.00. Which is ridiculous. Again The BBB knows us well enough to know that we do not conduct business like this. And most all of the complaints we have had, which are very few. the homeowner tells only half truths. And this homeowner is a complete liar. We will not refund any money to this man. Its now a matter of principle. Its a shame he had to lie about this stuff. He should accept the fact he made a bad decicion about the temporary repair and should of had a permanate repair to begin with. My son and i will never do a temporary repair again to save a homeowner money. It will be amusing to see if he actually can send you the documantation i requested. I expect the BBB to totally disregard this pack of lies. My son and i have worked on over 400 roofs this year without any problems and this is embarrassing and humiliating to think we have a complaint like this.

Consumer Response:  There was no offer made by the owner to resolve this, and he wants proof of payment, so I have attached the check images from my bank to prove payment on our part. The "original billings" that he requested were sent back with said payment. Mr. Ringer stated that he was going to charge me $600 to fix the flashing after the first 2 repairs failed to work. He never mentioned the amount of $600 in reference to any repair we discussed. If Mr. Ringer has in fact worked on over 400 roofs this year alone as he stated, my guess is that it's possible he is confusing my business with someone else's, as was the case several times when I had phone conversations with him. I am sure Dennis Ringer and Son is a reputable business that does not engage in shady practices, but I also know that in this situation they performed work that failed to do it's job, for which I incurred significant additional expenses that I would like reimbursed.

Business Response:

I'm not sure what happened but i responded to this on 11/30/12 and have a copy of my response on that date. I will say it again. When i'm wrong i'm willing to admit it. I apologize for calling him a liar. It really didn't show much class. I'm a little tired of homeowners telling half truths and not the whole truth. Again this homeowner isn't telling the whole truth. I told him on 2 if not 3 different occassions that a temporary repair may last 2 days, 2 weeks, 2 months or 2 years or more. After his last call i told him that were done with this tempirary repair and we were going to now install a permanent repair by installing proper step and counter flashing. We were going to take into account that he had paid us for the temporary repairs and we were going to only charge him $600.00 to do that out of the $800.00 we charge to do this type of work. He couldn't wait and hired someone else to do that work. We still made 3 house calls. I cannot return the tax money, the state has that. So what we are offering is a refund of $200.00. He is the one who made the bad decision's and didn't listen to what we advised originally. My son and i will never do another temporary repair job. If the homeowner does not want a permanent repair they will have to call someone else. This complaint certainly was not worth the trouble. He will have to let me know his new address so we can send him the $200.00 rebate.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

11/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We hired Dennis Ringer & Sons to install 2 doors and door assemblies in our home . Both doors were installed crooked (not square) and the doors rub on the frame. When we called and told Mr. Ringer he sent the same technician back to look it over. The technician came over, looked at the doors said it would be very difficult to fix and called his office. We were then told that the doors were hitting because we painted them with oil paint (we did paint the exterior door with oil based door and trim paint, the interior door was painted with latex paint). We tried to tell Mr. Ringer that by holding a square to the frame, it showed how crooked they were but he would not come to our home himself. After the last call we made to him we were sent a letter stating that if we did not pay the bill in 7 days he would take us to court and contact the 3 major credit bureaus. We paid the bill under protest as we cannot afford to have our credit rating blemished. With the payment we sent pictures showing how the door was not square and where it was hitting, so he could see for himself. We also told him we would be filing a complaint with the BBB and ******* ****. We received another letter stating we would be sued if we slandered them or misrepresented ourselves. We are only stating facts that we can back up with pictures.

Desired Settlement: We were told by the contractor that he would not accept phone calls from us nor ever come to our home. So we are looking to you for a fair outcome.

Business Response: As the BBB knows we very rarely have any complaints. But what we have here again is a homeowner that tells half truths. No where in this complaint does the homeowner tell you that we did them a favor and in the contract that we ordered 3 vinyl replacement windows for them at our cost so he could save money. he went to our supplier, picked them up and installed them himself. The contract total contract was $2875.00. Not the 2125.00 they claim. How they got that figure is anybodys guess. Now for the doors. We got a call from them approx. a day or two later after installation and adjusted the expander bar and changed a piece of trim on the door. After that the door worked perfectly. Then approx. a week later after the put a lot of oil based paint on the door they called because the door was sticking. We sent ****, our installer out their to look at the problem and concluded that because of the amount of oil paint they used made the door swell it was no longer our problem.  When i called him back about the door, i explained to him he can call the supplier and they would help him file a claim with the manufactor. They would send out a rep. to inspect the door. If it had anything to do with the installation we would fix it for free.  He then hung the phone phone up in my ear and filed a claim with ****** **** and the BBB. Any homeowner that makes false claims and tells half truths is accountable for their actions. Because a half truth is a lie. Its misrepresentation of a false claim. My son and i work very, very hard to maintain an excellant reputation with the BBB and this type of complaint can do a lot of harm. They need to be accountable for there actions. My son and i have worked on between 300 to 400 homes this year with this one complaint, so we have a happy completion rate of 99.9%. And that is very hard to achieve in my business. It's a shame that rarely to we get a complaint like this He also commented that he was a master carpenter.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

******* ******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/28/2011 Problems with Product/Service
7/29/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1