BBB Accredited Business since

Alpin Haus

Additional Locations

Phone: (518) 842-5900 View Additional Phone Numbers 1863 State Highway 5S, Amsterdam, NY 12010 http://www.alpinhaus.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers sales and service for recreational vehicles, skis, snowmobiles, boats, spas, and swimming pools.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Alpin Haus meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Alpin Haus include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Alpin Haus
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 01, 1994 Business started: 01/01/1964 in NY Business started locally: 01/01/1964 Business incorporated 12/12/1967 in NY
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

NYS Department of Motor Vehicles
6 Empire State Plaza, Albany NY 12228
http://www.nydmv.state.ny.us/facLookup/default.html

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Dave Baker, Director of RV and Boat Sales Mr. Ron Craig, Director of RV and Boat Service
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Andy Heck, President
Business Category

RECREATIONAL VEHICLES - DEALERS RECREATIONAL VEHICLES - EQUIPMENT, PARTS, SUPPLIES SKI EQUIPMENT - RETAIL SNOWMOBILES RECREATIONAL VEHICLES - REPAIR & SERVICE SWIMMING POOL CONTRACTORS, DEALERS, DESIGN SWIMMING POOL ENCLOSURES BOAT REPAIR BOAT DEALERS BOAT EQUIPMENT & SUPPLIES

Alternate Business Names
Alpin Haus Ski Shop, Inc.
Industry Tips
Home Improvements Swimming Pools

Additional Locations

  • 1863 State Highway 5S

    Amsterdam, NY 12010 (518) 842-5900

  • 22 Clifton Country Road

    Clifton Park, NY 12065 (518) 371-2211

  • 30 Gordon Lane

    Gansevoort, NY 12831 (518) 226-8000

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    36 Route 6

    Port Jervis, NY 12771

  • 4850 State Highway 30

    Amsterdam, NY 12010 (518) 843-4400

  • PO Box 859

    Amsterdam, NY 12010

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/13/2016 Problems with Product/Service
9/6/2016 Problems with Product/Service
9/1/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have purchased an r.v from Alpin haus back in December and had the contract written out with all the charges for the rv and had them paid in full with a bank certified check I currently have the rv paid in full. But 3 months down the road I get a bill in the mail stating I owe them 600 dollars so I politely call them they redirect me 4 times so I end up leaving a voice mail for a call back. Noone calls back so I call back a month later after getting the bill again I leave 4 voice mails with 4 different people and no call back so I call again and get the parts manager he tells me it's not his problem and that I agreed to it so I have to pay it and he keeps telling me I have 2 pay the bill because I said I would I never said any such thing I have the full contract and receipts from the beginning till the end of the sale and no where did I Agree to pay 600 dollars any way the manager hangs up on me and I'm still fighting to know why they want me to pay for services I did not receive it's ridiculous! These huge company's think they can walk all over the consumer I just don't think it's ok to bill someone randomly then when u call they say oh well pay it anyways then hang up on you rude! I would like to hope this would be resolved but I don't know where to go from here so I'm leavong this complaint.

Desired Settlement: I want the total bill they keep sending me to be zero with no further false billing and a paid in full bill mailed to my home I will longer be purchasing vehicles from this dealer.

Business Response: Tom M. Sales Manager and Greg C. Sales person spoke to Mr. ****** today.  There was confusion over hitch equipment. He was billed for hitch equipment but there was a mix up and he did not need the equipment as he was going to get from a friend.  He will bring equipment back this week and his account will be credited so he will then owe $0.  

3/10/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Has been repair shop for four months they tell me they can't fix it it's a new unit they can't fix it I can't use it I want a new one this is a lemon

Desired Settlement: I want a new one this one is a lemon

Business Response:

We have contacted ******** RV the manufacture of the RV numerous times for guidance and they have flown out a representative to inspect and oversee the repairs of the RV.  Below is the latest contact that we have had with Mr. ******* and there seems to be positive progress being made in the repairs of Mr. *******'s RV. Sincerely, Ron C. Director of Service and Parts   

On Feb 15, 2016, at 11:50 AM We have contacted Mr. **** ******* today and advised him of the videos we submitted to the manufacturer over the course of Friday. We have advised him that ******* components is sending in parts to repair the issue ( They reviewed the videos and they felt as though it may be a bad motor that is slipping. He was good with that and appreciated the phone call. I advised him would update him when the parts arrive. Dan H. Service Manager

Business Response: Customer has agreed to trade in his Trailer toward a newer model which is due in mid to the end of April

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  Regards, **** *******

1/6/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: M y RV has been in for service going on 3 months. Earlier this year they had it for almost 4 months. I called them when I did not get a return call, I emailed, Tracee J., Nancy A. and Ron C., and asked for an appointment on Oct.21st. Tracee spoke to me and set up an appointment for me to come down for an inspection and walk thru to check all the equipment was in working order. When I arrived on the agreed upon time (I was 15min early), my RV was inaccessible and all systems were shut down. Following a heated exchange Nancy wanted me out of the building. I spoke to Ron C. without any satisfaction. He told me, I needed to pick it up and I could not hire his employee Alan R. ,on his off time?

Desired Settlement: I want my RV delivered to me! And my relationship cease with this terrible service group!

Business Response: Mr ******* chose to store his RV with us while parts were on order instead of using the RV. The camper was very usable and there was absolutely no reason not to use it while waiting for parts to arrive. When Mr. ******* arrived to pick up his camper he lost control and verbally abused and threated our Service Manager in front of customers and employees. The Police were called and charges have been lodged. Sincerely, Ron C. Director of Fixed Operations Alpin Haus

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. That was not a response it was a RANT from a non professional, who was not on site, He didn't even spell my name correctly. I'll let the facts speak for themselves. Regards, *** *******

12/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a 2015 ******* for $24,000 from Alpin Haus. They did a bait and switch. They had my kids put a for sale sign on the one we picked. When my husband went back up to pick it up, they said oh, we gave you the camper next to the one you picked but don't worry, it's the same thing. Since the day we used it, it has been nothing but problems. It leaked at the hose connector and caused a small flood. The linoleum ripped from the slide out, the door would not lock, the outdoor kitchen door won't close right, the circuits popped all the time. You couldn't use the toaster inside and have the griddle plugged in outside. For holiday weekends at a campground when we plugged in our holiday blowups the circuits would blow. We had an ant problem all summer due to the water leaking. The jack stands bent. This camper is a lemon by every sense of the word. They don't call us back. They took the camper for two weeks in July to fix the problems and when we got it back, it still had the problems. We dropped it off in October, they still haven't fixed it. They won't call us back. They keep saying you need to talk to Dave. This Dave never calls us back. We are done dealing with them. DONE.

Desired Settlement: Please help us! We don't know what else to do. We are making $250 payments or a lemon that we haven't seen since October.

Business Response: This is David B. - Director of RV sales for ALpin Haus. I am researching the facts on this matter and will get back to you before the end of this week. Thank you

Business Response: The consumer has alleged we did a bait and switch in regards to the trailer they received. That is not what happened as the paperwork they did with the sales person had the specific Vehicle Identification number on it. All of the original paperwork would have had to be redone to accommodate the vehicle change and that did not happen. In our computerized, recorded and locked deal history the only vehicle that was ever assigned to the customer is the vehicle they received. I can only assume that the kids may have put the sold sign on the wrong vehicle and whoever may have said "we gave you the one next to it" simply we moved the sign to the one they actually saw and purchased. It is a big lot with a lot of vehicles. I think the actual issue at hand is a door issue the customer is having with his trailer. At the time of his delivery this was an issue and we offered at that time to change vehicles for him. He declined this offer as he did not have time to wait. Clearly if there was a bait and switch we would not have made that offer. He went and looked at another unit at that time and decided to stay with his initial purchase. We are working with the factory to get the door issue resolved and our service manager has told the customer we will take care of it. We are taking care of the customer even if the factory does not cover it and this was shared with the customer the end of November before we even got the BBB (11/30) notice. Mr. ********** called me on Saturday 11/28 and we discussed these issues. I told him we would look into this and get it resolved. That same day our Service Director had reached out to him and assured him it would be taken care of. We are always concerned for our customers satisfaction and want them happy. Unfortunately we are not always accommodated by a manufacturer to the same desired end. If there are further questions or issues I would be happy to discuss further. David B.- Director of RV Sales.

11/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a ******** ******* *** trailer on June 22, 2013. We took it camping a few weeks later, and the radio did not work whenever the lights or TV were put on. There were a few other problems with the trailer as well, but they have been repaired. We took the trailer back the Monday we got back from camping and told them of the problem. They said they would take a look at it. About a week later, we called, and were told it would be ready by the end of the week. We picked up the trailer, and went camping again. The radio still did not work when the lights or TV were on. We took the trailer back to Alpin Haus on July 22, 2013. To date, we have not heard from Alpin Haus, and have always had to make the telephone call (3) to see what was happening. They have told us they cannot fix the problem, and the manufacturer did not have a solution. They said we could still use it, but we cannot use it as intended. I asked for a refund including the interest on the payments we were making as we financed the purchased. I was told they could do nothing about this. I would need to contact the manufacturer about a refund. ******** the sales manger advised me of this, and did not seem sympathetic to our problem. I contacted ********, and was advised they did not have an open warranty issue for our trailer. I was also advised a refund would come from the dealer, not the manufacturer, but ******** was positive the problem could be resolved. I explained the situation, and was advised they would never tell a dealer there was no solution. I spoke to **** ********, the ******** service manager, and was advised Alpin Haus never contacted him regarding this problem, and had they been contacted, they would work to solve the problem. ******** was aware there had been a problem between the radio and lights, but it had been repaired on all trailers that were reported. He asked me for the name and telephone number of Alpin Haus and was going to contact them. I gave **** ****, the service manager at Alpin Haus information. I have only had correspondence from **** ******** of ********, and still have no trailer. I have lost the entire camping season, and am making payments on something that cannot be use. Alpin Haus has done nothing for us, but has been paid over $18,000 for a defective trailer. Please note this is the Alpin Haus in ******, NY We are hoping you can help us with our plight. Thank you.

Desired Settlement: Replacement or full refund including interest on payments made to bank and compensation for lost time and use.

Business Response: This is the events that had transpired pertaining to a 2014 ******** ******* travel trailer belonging to ******** and **** ******. The service department was notified that when the ceiling lights were turned on they lost radio and TV reception. The service department had troubleshot the discrepancy to the LED ceiling lights. When the lights are not turned on, the radio and TV work fine. We contacted ******** and were told they were aware of this issue and are working towards a fix. The service manager had given this information to Mr. ****** and we told him we will let him know when we have a repair from the factory. This was approximately 8/16/13. The service manager had also suggested to keep using the trailer instead of leaving it at the repair station. On 9/27/13 Mr. ****** called and left message with service dept. The same day a call was received in Parts from **** at ******** that they were sending new LED light assemblies.  The trailer now operates as it should.
***** ******
Alpin Haus or ********
Service and Parts Manager  

10/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On August 14, 2013 we dropped off our 5th wheel camper to Alpin Haus for our appointment to leave our camper/HOUSE with them for service. We were leaving for a vacation (NOT with the camper) the following Friday, Aug. 16th returning on Aug. 22nd and had a list of things that we wanted checked/repaired WHILE WE WERE AWAY! The list of issues that we gave to one of the service people, **** was: check on front landing gear (warrantied), check on top of right living room slide, Microwave (warrantied), bearings & brakes, inspection, all appliances & roof, flush black water tank & to check on the cable/plug that is behind the panel in bottom storage compartment. We also gave **** instructions NOT to call our home phone since that WAS IN THE CAMPER but to call my wife's cell phone when she needed to contact us. My wife spoke with **** on Monday the 19th & she told her the bearings were done but they were checking on the brakes to see if they would pass inspection & she would call us back after lunch. We didn't hear from her till Wednesday & she told my wife that she was CALLING THE WRONG NUMBER....THE ONE WE TOLD HER NOT TO CALL! She said that the brakes passed inspection BUT they suggested we have new ones put on & we said OK & she had also tried to call two different places for the microwave but they didn't have the right size. My wife called back on Saturday for an update & she wasn't in but spoke to **** & he could not give us and update!! She told him to have **** call us on Monday. When **** called, my wife told her how dissatisfied we were with their/service & it was totally unacceptable!!! She said all she could do was have my wife talk to her boss which she did, again with no satisfaction. We returned from vacation on Aug. 24th and the camper was NOT DONE and we had to stay with our daughter and her family with only what clothes/pills/essentials that we had from our vacation!!! The story that we kept getting EVERY TIME my wife called, from their service department is that "we are waiting for the parts". We finally got the call that everything was done & we could pick up the camper. We went to Alpin Haus on Aug 30th and did have a confrontation with **** again about our situation and she asked if we wanted to speak with her boss the head of the service dept. Mr. ***** and we said yes. Again...no satisfaction, we felt like he was just trying to appease us saying that he had "just put out a memo that morning to all the tech, etc about the service that they should be doing for the customers". BS.... We paid the bill, which they said that they had taken some money off! Another BS statement!! When we finally left to pick up the camper and I backed up to it......the landing gear DIDN'T WORK which they stated on their invoice "replaced defected switch' TESTED ALL OK! My wife went back into service and said they better send someone outside NOW because we couldn't hook up. They sent someone and he even stated that he didn't know why they sent him since he didn't know anything about those things. He did try to help but then I went in right to Mr. ****** office and slapped the invoice down on his desk and said it was NOT fixed!! He then sent another tech outside to help and did get it so we could hook up (after about and hour). **** also brought out a $50 gift card from their store and gave it to my wife....REALLY???? We got our camper/home back to our daughter's home around 7pm and left it hooked up till the next day since we had plans for the night. The next day when I went to unhook from my truck AGAIN THE LANDING GEAR DID NOT WORK!!! I called Alpin Haus & spoke with **** regarding this PROBLEM and she had a tech call us back & my son-in-law spoke with them and they talked him through it to "fix" it till they could get the techs to come to us & bring the "new" microwave also. After we had finally unhooked from my truck I checked on the other things that they supposedly FIXED!!! I opened the black water cap to hook up our sewer and FECAL MATTER CAME OUT OF THE DRAIN PIPE!!!!!! They had not flushed the system!!! They fixed a gasket on the slide that had no problem with it...it was not the problem that we discussed with them. On Sept. 5th the techs arrived and one started to work on the landing gear while the other man unpacked the microwave. That man asked my wife to come out and inspect the microwave because he saw some scratches on it. she went out and after further examination of the unit we determined that we could not accept this unit & refused delivery. On Sept 9th, 12th & 13th we called for an update, I spoke again with Mr. ***** and complained about **** and the service & that I did not want to deal with **** again. I had had it with the poor, unacceptable service and that my next step was an attorney. He said that he would "email" **** and that he would take care of us!!! I called on 9/23 after not hearing from anyone and **** was with a customer and would call me back...NOT...called him back again and he said "he got the parts in" and they would come on Wed. Sept 25th to install the microwave. The company would not send another new microwave only a "shroud" At this point we were at their mercy being that we were leaving WITH OUR CAMPER/HOME for our Winter residence in ******* on that Friday Sept 27th. They did show up and installed the microwave and we never heard from them again. They never even gave us call or anything to check out how things were...TERRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE!!!

Desired Settlement: We would like them to refund the full amount that we paid out to them in the amount of $1,009.09 for the aggravation that we had to go through for something that should NOT have taken 42 days to repair!!!! For them not keeping us updated with the repairs, etc., not returning our phone calls, the lack of customer service. This 5th wheel is our home, it is not just a camper that we can leave and don't care when we get it back!!!! We were very lucky to have accommodations at our daughter and her family's home for a week otherwise we would have had to stay at a hotel and Alpin Haus would have had to pay for that. We still didn't have our pills etc. and our daughter's home is 49 miles away from Alpin Haus so we just couldn't jump in our diesel truck and drive there whenever we wanted. We do hope that something is done about this and that other people know what they will be dealing with. They need to regroup and get people in their service dept. that will do the job RIGHT. We will NEVER buy from them again (this is our 3rd unit that we have purchased from this dealer) and we will find someplace else for service. I think we were MORE than patient with them. 42 DAYS OF AGGRAVATION!!!!!!

Business Response: We do apologize for the parts delays and damage incurred in shipping. On pickup there was still an intermittent  problem with the control board on the front jacks and  a gift card  was given as a goodwill gesture to a long time customer. We consider Mr. and Mrs. ***** valued customers and want to resolve this matter. In order to achieve mutual satisfaction we would be open to discount some future service or parts also as goodwill.   
Respectfully, *** *****
Director of Service and Parts Alpin Haus  

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.  
Mr. *****'s APOLOGY for "the parts delay" doesn't even come close to all the emotional distress that we went through for 42 days of dealing with their service department!!!! His reply makes it all sound so trivial when it was anything but trivial!!!  A DISCOUNT on FUTURE service or parts is unacceptable because we will NEVER bring our HOME to their facility again.  Also a $50.00 gift card as a "goodwill gesture" was a slap in the face. These people just don't have a clue how much we went through with their lack of good service.   
Regards, ****** *****    


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

4 Customer Reviews on Alpin Haus
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart