BBB Accredited Business since

Patio Enclosures

Phone: (585) 385-9999 Fax: (585) 385-2210 View Additional Phone Numbers 123 Despatch Drive , East Rochester, NY 14445 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.rochesterpatioenc.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers manufacturing, sales/installation, and service of sunrooms, patio enclosures, and solariums. The East Rochester NY location is a local, independent franchise of Patio Enclosures, Inc. headquartered in Ohio.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Patio Enclosures meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Patio Enclosures include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Patio Enclosures
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1982 Business started: 01/01/1982 in NY Business started locally: 01/01/1982 Business incorporated 11/17/1998 in NV
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Philip H. Hart Jr., Proprietor Ms. Joyce Hart, Proprietor
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Philip H. Hart Jr., Proprietor
Business Category

PATIO, PORCH & DECK ENCLOSURES BASEMENT - REMODELING WINDOWS - INSTALLATION & SERVICE SUNROOM & SOLARIUM DESIGN & CONSTRUCTION RAILINGS AWNINGS & CANOPIES DOORS DOORS - INSTALLATION STORM WINDOWS & DOORS WINDOWS DECK BUILDER VINYL DECKING DOORS - VINYL BASEMENT - FINISHING HOME IMPROVEMENTS - ADDITIONS PATIO & DECK BUILDERS

Alternate Business Names
Patio Enclosures - Rochester NY Unlimited Enclosures (Hart), Inc.
Industry Tips
Home Improvement Contracts -- NYS Law Home Improvements Home Improvements -- FHA Loan Advertisements Three Day Cooling-Off Rule (cancel contracts) Window Condensation

Additional Locations

  • 123 Despatch Drive

    East Rochester, NY 14445 (585) 666-0493 (585) 385-9999

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My mother purchase an enclosed patio many years ago from Patio Enclosures. The contract was transferable and the work was lifetime. My mother passed away and now I (the daughter) own the house. I am having problems with the roof of the enclosure "peeling". I called Patio Enclosure and they came down to look at the situation. I was told that I needed a brand new roof due to water seeping in and damaged the inside of the roof. I was given a bill for $8,000.00, the cost to replace the roof. I questioned about the lifetime guarantee and I was told that they were under a different management. I am questioning if it is under a different management but yet still carries the same name of the company, why is the contract NOT valid. This company is still going by the name of Patio Enclosure and this is VERY misleading. They SHOULD be honoring the contract.

Desired Settlement: I would like to see the contract honored and the old roof taken off and replaced with a new roof.

Business Response:

We received on June 23, 2013 your summary of complaint ID ******* from ****** *. ********. I have included a copy of the contract that Ms. ********'s mother, ****** ***********, signed on 2/23/1985. The comments in the summary are incorrect. The room was purchased 28 years ago. The contract was not transferable. "No subsequent owner or other person is covered." This sentence is one of only two sentences in the Warranty Coverage section of the contract. Any warranty certainly would have expired upon the death of Ms. ********'s mother. There is no lifetime warranty. One year of free service is written in bold face type on the front of the contract as well as detailed in the Limited Warranty section on the back of the contract.
Ms. ******** did not receive a bill. She was given a Home Improvement Contract that included a written description of the work to be done and cost associated with the work. It was Ms. ********'s choice whether or not to sign and return the contract. Referring to the paperwork left behind as a bill infers that we were trying to collect a debt. We were not trying to collect a debt, but rather offering Ms. ******** an opportunity to contract with us to repair her roof. My wife and I purchased the Rochester Franchise of Patio Enclosures in 1999. Ms. ********'s implication that we are being "very misleading" by maintaining the name is absurd. Businesses often change owners without changing the business name. Upon purchasing the business in 1999, we extended the 1 year of free service to existing customers to 10 years of free service. This negates Ms. ********'s comment "they should be honoring the contract" as we actually honored the Limited Warranty section of contracts held by existing customers tenfold. I hope that this complaint does not reach our history page. I cannot think of any circumstance where an invalid complaint against a previous company's warranty should impact my reputation.
Best Regards,
Philip H. Hart, Jr.
President Owner