BBB Accredited Business since

Buffalo Biodiesel Inc.

Phone: (800) 721-1427 225 Sawyer Ave, Tonawanda, NY 14150 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.Buffalobiodiesel.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business offers the collection of cooking oil and the distributors of oil/diesel fuels.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Buffalo Biodiesel Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Buffalo Biodiesel Inc. include:

  • Government action(s) against the business

Factors that raised the rating for Buffalo Biodiesel Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 16 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

16 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 13
Total Closed Complaints 16

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Buffalo Biodiesel Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 4
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 07, 2010 Business started: 01/01/2005 in NY Business started locally: 01/01/2005 Business incorporated 08/12/2005 in NY
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Tax & Finance
W.A. Harriman Campus, Albany NY 12227
www.tax.state.ny.us
Phone Number: (518) 457-2244

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Sumit Majumdar, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Sumit Majumdar, President
Business Category

OILS - WASTE OIL - CRUDE - PURCHASING DIESEL FUEL OILS - FUEL


Additional Locations

  • 225 Sawyer Ave

    Tonawanda, NY 14150 (800) 721-1427

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/13/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been trying to get a hold of someone for a year. Every time I call, all I get is someone says I will pass the message along. We have not been paid since we have signed on with the company, and I am tired of the unprofessionalism by being just a never passed on message. I am going to change from this company and will never work with them again, and I will not recommend them to anyone. Worst customer service I have ever dealt with.

Desired Settlement: I want to be paid for what they have taken and let out of the contract.

Business Response: This complaint I believe is from *** ******* ****.   A call did come in on the 25th of November and the call was returned at 10:10am the same day.  There was a voicemail box but it was not setup at that time.  Another call came in on or about the 18th of December requesting a payment.   The payment was scheduled on the 18th of December. A check for $194.00 was cut (#*****)  for the period 5.1.15 to 7.31.15.A previous check was also sent on August 12th for the period prior. If there is any dispute regarding service or contract terms, per the agreement, a request must be sent in writing.  We have not received any written communication outside of this complaint.  All written communications are responded to.  Although we did return the phone call, It is not company policy to make multiple phone calls to confirm action was taken unless it was an emergency.  We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused the client and expect that this communication resolves the matter.  An additional payment has been requested to clear the account for collections until 11.30.15 for $239 and was sent out on 1.5.16.  This account is under contract until 2019. Best regards, Sumit M. President Buffalo Biodiesel Inc.

9/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service
6/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service
4/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My business and myself have contacted Buffalo Biodiesel approx. 12 times over the winter to collect the used cooking oils, When we call to complain we are told that we haven't called before. Our oil bid has been full for 2 months, they finally came to collect the oil and said they couldn't get much because they're bid is frozen so they would bring out a couple barrels for us to put the oil in- that was weeks ago still no barrels. We have a hazard going on! They threaten me with contract violation if i take it somewhere else but they won't help me out. I called and asked to stop service ,they called back and told my worker that we are under contract till 2019 ! I called and told them I would have never signed a contract for 5 years and that I want a signed copy faxed to me, the lady on the phone agreed and took my fax number, that was 3 weeks ago with no fax nor call back! I am totally frustrated with this company and have been buying 5 gallon buckets to store the oil in. I need help to get away from this company !!

Desired Settlement: Termination of services due to failure to provide adequate and agreed upon oil collection services !

Business Response: This complaint is materially wrong in many respects. First, Mr. ****** ****** **** is not a customer of Buffalo Biodiesel Inc Mr **** owns a company called "***** *** *****" which by contract is obligated to sell its used cooking oil to Buffalo Biodiesel. That makes Buffalo Biodiesel HIS customer, not the other way around. Therefore, this is not a consumer complaint. They did not "buy" anything from us. They sell used cooking oil to us, so we are therefore we are the "Customer". Second, he did not call 12 times for service. These calls are recorded and logged by a third party. There simply is no record of those types of calls from this business. Third, Mr. **** claims he did not sign a contract in his complaint. He did sign the contract -personally. A copy of the contract is enclosed. Fourth, Mr. **** claims that he had to buy 5 gallon pails in order store oil. This is untrue as there were no "pails" of oil to collect at the site when we arrived for service at any time, and our collection container was only half full upon our arrival for the last several services. The history of our contact with Mr. **** is as follows. In February Mr. **** called and requested that we remove our equipment, stating that he was breaking his contract with us in order to sell the oil to someone else. He was reminded that the business was still under contact with Buffalo Biodiesel, but that if he put the request in writing the equipment would be removed once it was received. He was further informed that while would comply with a written request to remove the equipment, we would thereafter take action to enforce the contract, as is our right. Mr. **** denied that any contract existed and claimed that he had never signed a contract. He requested a copy of the contract, and said he would send the cancellation request in writing. There was no claim of any service problem at this time. Mr. **** never sent a cancellation request. My assumption is that is because, since he personally signed the contract with Buffalo Biodiesel, he did in fact know that he was under contract with us and would be liable if he breached it.  Instead, Mr. **** has attempted to manufacture a fictitious service problem as a way to get out of a contract he had already informed Buffalo Biodiesel he intended to breach in favor of another party. To this end, Mr. **** made a series of calls to try and document the fictitious service problem. Service calls are listed below. The date on the left indicates the date the call came in, the date on the right is the day the served was cleared as completed. The service is cleared as completed the day AFTER it is done, as the log sheets the drivers submit at the end of their shifts are process the following morning. Therefore, for example, Buffalo Biodiesel received a request for service from ****** *** ***** on February 27, 2015. The location was serviced on February 28, 2015. The service was marked as complete the following morning on March 1, 2015. As is clearly evident from these records, each service call was responded to well within the contractual service window. At each service call, me equipment was not overfilled, leaking, or problematic in any way. At no point were were there any 5 gallon pails present, nor was there any need for additional collection equipment of any kind, as again the Buffalo Biodiesel collection equipment onsite was not full. In an attempt to be proactive, and before any complaint had been filed with the BBB, we spoke with an employee at ****** *** ***** on March 13, 2015 about the frequency of the calls they had made for service. ****** *** ***** had been serviced with no complaints every 4 to 6 weeks for nearly a year, and no service complaints were made in February when Mr. **** attempted to breach in favor of another collector. Now, however, there bad been two calls in two weeks. Although we did not have any collections that were even approaching a full container since roughly the previous summer, we agreed that we would drop an additional container at their location to give them added capacity. We also agreed that until such time as we could do so, we would service them roughly every two weeks. In accordance with this agreement and again being proactive, having previously serviced them on March 14, we serviced ****** *** ***** again on Friday, March 20, 2015. The container was roughly half full at that time - it was in no way overflowing. This week, Mr. **** filed his BBB complaint. Among the other claims I've noted as materially false is the claim that a hazard was created due to the equipment being overfilled. It should be noted that overfilling a container to the point it is spilling onto the ground would be the fault of the personal placing the material into the equipment, not Buffalo Biodiesel, as logic would dictate that you should not place material into a container that is full. However, there simply was no hazard. We have serviced them 3 times in the past 4 weeks. The collection equipment has never been full, it wasn't full on February 28, it wasn't full 14 days later on March 14, nor was it full six days after that on March 20. How is a container that is never full creating a hazard? We cannot neither address nor remedy a fictitious claim. We cannot honor Mr. ****'s request to terminate his contract due to failure to provide adequate and agreed upon collection services. We have collected oil per the terms of the agreement. We are also dropping off additional equipment in order to address any potential production overages by ****** *** *****. We have been proactive and attempted to resolve the issues he has claimed, prior to any BBB intervention. However, we cannot make Mr. ****'s contract disappear simply because he has arbitrarily decided he wants to sell his oil to someone else. Again, if M. **** wants to breach his contract without cause and ask us to cease collections, we will remove the equipment and litigate the breach. The choice in that regard is his. Best regards, ***** ******** President Buffalo Biodiesel Inc.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.    The main problem is that mr. ***** ******** apparently doesn't know what his employees are doing out there.  Mr. ********'s only thoughts are that i want to get out of my contract, all i want is the company to pick up the used oil like they say they were going to do !! I have pictures of the 5 gallon buckets i purcheased to put the oil in while my bin was full, he has no idea what he is talking about! Myself and my employees absolutely made those calls to have someone come empty the container, they said it was frozen and could only get a tiny bit and would have to come again when it thawed a little. Meanwhile they would drop off some barrels to put the oil in till then. Weeks later still no barrels and still a full frozen bin ! My employees had called  with nothing to show so I started calling and still nothing... finally when I sent the complaint to the BBB, days later we had, not barrels that were promised, but another entire bin, a giant bin, taking up the rest of our storage.     I am definitely not wanting to just complain nor was I looking for another recycle company, all I want is my used oil collected like promised. It very much upsets me that I am doing business with a company like Buffalo Biodiesel.. Seems mr. ******** has a lot of experience with unhappy clients and is almost scripted on dealing with them. His business practices are upsetting they way he makes up untruths and assumes what people are thinking, saying that all I want is to use another recycler- that absolutely was ridiculous until this past couple months dealing with his company. He also keeps saying that I say I never signed a contract, another total untruth, I know I signed a contract I said I never signed a 5 year contract like his company is saying< I asked to have a copy of that contract that they mysteriously have, they agreed to fax me a copy- obviously that never got faxed to me.  Also in his rebuttal to my complaint he mentions that a copy of my signed contract is enclosed...but obviously was not.     It is a shame that this has become such a problem. This company has a 3rd party answering service, you cannot talk to a member of this company. As stated we have made the calls that I said we have in my initial complaint, apparently they have the calls listed under the individuals that are my employees that made the calls.     I never wanted any hassles, just my oil collected. I had no problem with their payments or anything till this winter. You would think mr. ******** would call a business owner that was calling with a problem, especially one that hadn't had a problem for almost a year, and talk with them and get to the bottom of the matter. Calling business partners liars is not the way to get things done in this country.    I want a copy of my signed contract they say I signed with a 5 year term, which is absurd, faxed to me or enclosed in the next response like he said was enclosed in this one, cause i guarantee it doesn't match the signed one I have!  Regards, ****** ****

Business Response: BBB spoke to ***** at business and the copy of the requested copy of contract was faxed over. See attached. It does state 5 years and is signed by the consumer.

4/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: **** ***** the regional purchasing rep. Told me in front of witnesses that his company would check weekly and pick up used fryer oil at least once a month and pay for the amount of oil picked up. Neither has happened. They did pick up oil last year but have fail to pay for it and now the have not picked up the oil in over 2 months. They put a vat in the back of my restaurant which is completely full and distended and after call about 10 times the dropped off 2-50 gal drums which are also completely full without picking up or empting the vat. We are now having to put oil out in 5 gal buckets because of this. We have repeatedly called to get drums and vat empty and keep getting told that they will and we need to call ahead to have this done, which we have done over and over again with no result. I called today and was told the say thing, when I asked to speak to a manager the lady told me that I was speaking to an answering service even though I called # on business card. Told lady that I was very upset and that they need I have someone call me back within a half hour or I was going to start taking action against them. Half hour later a lady called and I tried to explain situation and she started giving me the same line about calling ahead of time and that they had dropped off barrels 2 weeks ago and "what did I want them to do pick it up with a straw" didn't get that but think it was in reference to cold weather. Which is not my problem they could have pick up vat and dropped off another. Because I have now received 3 complaints about all the oil sitting behind my restaurant (looks bad). When I told lady the if they didn't do anything about picking up oil I was going to call BBB she said go ahead they had complaints before and the still had a A+ rating and she didnt care.

Desired Settlement: Paided for oil, oil picked up, oil checked and picked up on regular basis like agreed and told would happen!!

Business Response:

The service that is guaranteed by our contract and the service this customer expects differ greatly. While it seems clear she wishes otherwise, Buffalo Biodiesel is not bound to offer her service so far in excess of what is promised in the contract. First, per the contract, payment is made for oil collected 2x per year, or approximately every 6 months. The 1st collection of oil for this location took place on December 28th, 2014. It has not yet been six months. We are not in arrears for payment. We do not pay for each collection individually, nor is it practical to do so given that the company literally completes hundreds of collections a day, seven days a week. However, a payment for the 2014 collection has been sent out. Second, BBD does not employ agents that "check on" equipment, weekly or otherwise. Again, this would be highly impractical given that we service thousands of locations across 7 states. Employing people to simply look inside equipment without the ability to collect from the equipment would seem to serve no purpose. Collections are also not done monthly. The locations are either placed on routes or serviced on a call-in basis according to the contract. And again, it simply does not make any logical sense to send someone on a weekly basis to "look" at equipment and then send someone else once per month to actually collect it. The regional purchasing rep who dealt with Ms. ***** has been a valued employee of Buffalo Biodiesel for years. He is fully aware of how the company operates, how collections are conducted, and how payments are made. He has also handled the contracts for several hundred other used cooking oil vendors over the course of his employment, and there has not been a single one that has ever claimed he made promises outside the contract, much less promises akin to these. Further, he has been trained to write and has  a history of writing any changes to the contract on the physical contract itself. Even given this history and training spanning years with the company, he was questioned over the matter and categorically denies making such illogical statements to this or any customer. Third, regarding Ms. *****'s rendition of her interaction with our service manager on the phone, I can only say that her claims are totally false. Ms. ***** called our service line and threatened legal action against the company if she did not receive a call back in 30 minutes. While this was a totally unreasonable request, the call was in fact returned by our service manager. During the course of the conversation Ms. ***** was reminded that she needed to call for service and that there was a lead time for that service when she called. Specifically, one cannot call and expect a vehicle to service the location the same day. She was also told that we cannot empty the vat equipment at her location at the present time because the material inside it was frozen. She was reminded that suitable "winter" containers were already provided for the excess materials she produces, and that that collection equipment would be continually exchanged when she called for service until the weather broke, allowing the material in her vat to thaw. Once the weather broke, her larger vat container would be pumped out and the excess winter containers removed. Ms. ***** insisted that instead of exchanging the winter containers, which weigh 400 lbs, we needed to swap out the frozen vat container, which weighs 3000lbs. When she was told that was not possible, she became irate that we could not have a person lift a 3000 pound container and exchange it. She demanded it be done immediately regardless of the safety or practicality involved, and stated that it was our problem. She threatened that if we failed to do so, she would be filing a complaint with the BBB and taking legal action. She was told that although it was regrettable if she chose to go that route, it was certainly her right to do so. Ms. ***** was extremely upset and hung up the phone on our service manager. She was not told that we have had BBB complaints before. She was not told that we have an A+ rating with the BBB. She was not told that we don't care if she files a complaint. Our service manager with whom she spoke handles about 500 service requests of various kinds per week,, with an objective of handling them fully and preventing complaints. That is her entire job description. It's illogical that she would tell someone that she does not care about a complaint, because that would affect her job. I believe that Ms. ***** was already extremely agitated, and when her threat of a BBB complaint did not result in the action she wanted, she viewed that as the company not caring if a BBB complaint was filed. This is of course untrue. As you are aware we take all BBB complaints seriously. However there are simply some demands made on us that, due to safety and practicality, we cannot comply with. It should be noted that, per the contract terms, the customer is required to have pumpable oil. Due to weather conditions the oil was not pumpable and therefore we could not empty the equipment. This is weather-related and is not the fault of either ********** or Buffalo Biodiesel. As a result, Buffalo Biodiesel proactively provided additional, suitable containers at no cost to ********** for the excess material generated before the the weather broke, at which time the material would again become pumpable. This was done within the cure time for complaints, as provided by the contract. Buffalo Biodiesel will continue to provide suitable containers for oil collections that can be exchanged during the winter months. This is a standard practice if the material in a larger container freezes. The winter containers weigh about 400lbs when full and can be physically exchanged when frozen. Again, it simply is not possible to exchange the larger equipment when full , as it weighs approximately 3000lbs or 1.5 tons. We are not obligated by contract to do so, it is not practical to do so, and most importantly it is extremely dangerous to do so. When the oil is pumpable, BBD will empty the vat collection equipment and remove the small excess winter equipment. If Ms. ***** wishes additional pickups, call backs, or payments they will be provided, but not within a 30 minute timeframe. Best regards, ***** ******** President Buffalo Biodiesel Inc.

2/25/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: this company has not paid us for product they have collected . .They also have not returned phone calls about issue . Have tried to contact sales people and accounts payable and have got no ware.

Desired Settlement: would like to be paid for what they agreed on and also would like them to remove their oil vat from the property.

Business Response:

This client is *** ******** II, rather than ******** **********, who I believe is a principal. The client was paid last year for collections made and also fro 2014 with check # ***** covering collection from 12.1.13 to 12.31.14. There have been no payment requests received by this office, outside of the BBB complaint.

Best regards, ****** ********** President, Buffalo Biodiesel Inc.

9/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The contract state that 6 months after date of pick up a check will be releases..........first pick up 12/4/2013 todays date 6/23/2014past the 6 months still no check. i have called several times all i get is "i will leave a message for someone to return your call" but thats never happens!! they have picked up our oil on 124/4, 2/27, 3/4, 5/25. i have not been paid for any of it. i can not even get a call back

Desired Settlement: i would like my money for everything that has been collected and terminate the contract i do not want to do business with a company that treats you this way!! if they can't hold up there end of the contract then i don't need to either!!!!!

Business Response: ***** ***** was in contact with our Sales Rep ******* *****. The request from her rep was received by my office on the 25th of June
and was responded to the next day on June 26th.
Payments were made per the agreement and ahead of schedule. 1dispatched payment for the period 1.1A to 3.31.14 after receipt of her
complaint made to our sales rep.
22-Apr-l4 **** W. Cut check V12794 for $149.00 for oil p/u period 11/18/13 -12/31/13
26-Jun-14 ***** M. paid $55 chq 12696 1.1.14 to 3.31.14
Ms. ***** was informed that Check 12794 was not cashed. Ms. ***** must provide a written statement claiming that she did not receive
the payment and request that we issue a stop payment and reissue the cheque. She also most agree to return check 12794 if she does
receive h in the future. Once I receive her statement, I will issue the stop payment and issue a replacement check within 24 hrs.
Per our contract, the company has 30 days in which co remedy any issue from the time the problem is brought to our attention in writing
only. Our response is within the contractual timeline and we arc eagerly awaiting the receipt of Ms. Bakers statement so we can get the
matter resolved.
***** ********
President
Buffalo Biodiesel Inc.
Visit us at: www.buffalobiodiesel.com
Prom the Desk of ***** ********

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. As long as they truly do follow through!

however i would like to note that i received a check #12696 to the business address issued on 6/26/14 hand written.   and then just out of the blue i received a check sent to my house address computer generated for 4-22-2014 pay attention here check number 12794  the check that was suppose to have been sent back in april is 98 checks past the one that was just issued???? but hey as long as they pay on time and i don't have to call them again for them to do there job  everything will be fine.  just not sure i will be renewing my contact with this company!!

Regards,

***** *****




Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

this is my second complaint! they told me they would cut a new check in 24 hours that was a month ago!! this company does not pay without a fight!! most business owners do not have the time to chase there money!!! i am currently looking into finding someone else to give my business to. this company owes me over 300.00 and they will not pay!!!i want all money owed to me and my contract terminated

Regards,

***** *****


Business Response: Business has sent copies of checks sent to the consumer.

9/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Received oil drums, they were pumped and we were never paid for used oil. Lids were not replaced after pump in February 2014. Contacted company for replacement lids and never received. Never had a response from company after leaving several messages. Now we have oil mixing with rainwater in open vats. Environmental hazard. No follow up despite multiple attempts over a now 7 month period. Both numbers are answered by an answering service. Would like vats removed, area cleaned (as promised by company in their website). Also would like payment for oil.

Desired Settlement: Remove containers. Clean area. Pay for the used oil they pumped.

Business Response: The customer's complaint states we pumped the oil at this location and never paid for it and that we did not
replace the lids at this location. Per the contract, customers are paid two times per year. We issue a receipt with
every pickup. Upon information and belief, the lids were on site and BBD ("Buffalo Biodiesel, Inc.") does not
remove lids upon collection.
In terms of a resolution the customer is paid up to date for the oil received. Per the request from the BBB this
account has been scheduled for a removal and the account is considered closed. In terms of the area cleaned, we are
responsible for our employee actions around the area of collection for used oil. Upon information and belief, there
has been no spill or cleaning needed at this location due to oil collections. It is not company policy or practice to
take lids during the collection of used oil.

8/28/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Business closed in May, 2014. Phone call to Buffalo Biodiesel last week of May to have grease-filled drum removed from property. No action taken. Further phone calls first week of July, and was told that we must email to get the drum removed. Email sent on July 7, no response and no action from Buffalo Biodiesel Phone call, July 24, asking for someone to call back with scheduled pick up date, no response from Buffalo Biodiesel. Phone call, July 28, again asking for a call back in regard to issue, no response from Buffalo Biodiesel. Phone call July 29, same request, no action. Landlord will not release significant security deposit until the can is removed.

Desired Settlement: Get the can off of the property!!!!! I am without several thousand dollars that could be collecting interest or applied to reduce outstanding loans. Call me back with a scheduled date of pick up and ACTUALLY PICK UP THE CAN!!!!!

Business Response: This matter has already been resolved and the equipment was removed within the contractual
time limit. Ms. ******* did call in for a removal. We cannot process verbal removal requests as there is a contract in force.
She was informed that a written request must be sent in per the terms of the agreement A written request was received on
July 8th 2014. Per the terms ofthe agreement we have 30 days in which to remove the equipment. I spoke with Ms. *******
on the 29th ofJuly and I informed her of the time lines. After she explained her situation, 1made an exception and moved up
her request to be done on the 31st of July, ahead of schedule.

8/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We own the property at **** **** ********* *** where *********** ********** is located. Bullalo Biodiesel has a storage tank at this address that we've been trying to get remove for nine ( 9 ) months. The only contact is a answering service and thye can't seen to get my message to the right people.

Business Response: Mr. ****** appears to be a landlord of one of our clients, *********'s. It appears that they
are out of business. Please have Mr. ****** put the removal request, in writing and on his company letter head. Once I
receive the letter, I will process the removal.
A simple letter stating "We are the property owner of **** **** ********* **** and request that you remove your equipment
immediately" should suffice.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

Consumer called BBB and stated that the tank had been picked up and that the complaint has been resolved.

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

*** ******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 10155980, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

Tim ******

I've received this e-mail from Summit say it's scheduled for removal.

From: Sumit@buffalobiodiesel.com [mailto:sumit@buffalobiodiesel.com]
Sent: Wednesday, July 30, 2014 9:46 AM
To: timz@beammack.com
Subject: removal

Scheduled for removal.

Thanks,

Sumit

6/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Over the last six months, this company has spilled two 55 gallon drums of cooking grease in my parking lot. The first time, the untrained driver had no idea what to do and was going to drive away but we had the police stop him. Bio diesel said they would clean it up, but the cleanup was inadequate and lengthy. In addition, I personally spend $1500 in manpower and materials to clean this up. For the second spill, the untrained driver had no idea what to do. The company said they'll be out 'sometime' to clean it up. This 55 gallon oil spill is in a parking lot that is also used as a thoroughfare. The grease is tracked all through this side of the village. They do not return calls, no apology, no news. I have notified the DEC, the sheriff, the village police so that this will be on record. This company says they will pay for oil, but they short the payments up to 50%.

Desired Settlement: Clean up the mess and reimburse my cost of peat moss for 149.60. I'll waive the labor reimbursement and time and trouble because I don't want this to be dragged out. I will add those amounts to a future claim if this is not resolved quickly.

Business Response: BBB spoke to ******** at business and the following was relayed: The consumer has stated to us that he has retained an attorney and begun litigation proceedings. Regarding the complaint issue: We sent people out there several times. The first time we notified the DEC, set up cones and power washed the area. The second spill peat moss was put down the same day and placed cones to contain the area. The business owner moved the cones which created a bigger mess but we still went out there to clean as we had someone out there to pressure wash the next day. Regarding oil collection, the consumer has been issued receipts each time.
If the consumer has receipts for the peat moss they bought at their own expense, please provide copies.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. I did nothing to their cleanup.  I did not move any cones; they did not have any to remove.  Their vehicle had no cones. I even paid for the peat moss (4bags) that the driver spread around.  This company is lying about the situation.   This company is bad news.  I'm one of many, many companies they've screwed.  My complaint stands.  (by the way, they were also unapologetic about spilling the grease on my property to begin with...all they said was 'we'll take care of it', 'we've got it handled', 'you don't have to do anything'.  I kept telling him it was a disaster; he kept telling me they had it all under control.  ) Regards, **** ****

5/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I can not get service after many repeated calls to Buffalo Biodiesel, Inc. I have called at least 5 times in the last two and half weeks with no resulting service, or returned phone calls to explain lack of service. There seems to be no direct way to contact Buffalo Biodiesel, Inc. as all phone numbers lead to an answering service. The service has no way available for me to contact Buffalo Biodiesel, Inc., they can only pass on my repeated requests for service. Used grease is now being stocked piled in 5 gallon buckets in my dumpster area. This is not the first time that this company has done this to me. I do not understand this lack of service or communication from them. If they do not want to provide this service they should go into another business perhaps.

Desired Settlement: I would like some way to contact Buffalo Biodiesel, Inc. directly. I would like to have consistent pick ups of my used grease. I am just looking for the service that they told me that they were going to provide.

Business Response: The client desired a way to contact BBD directly. The 800 number provided to him IS our direct contact. The phone number is a 24/7 toll free number that is outsourced to a call center. Every call to this number is transcribed and immediately sent to us. Services are scheduled based on these messages, and return calls are made when requested. Mr. **** did schedule service through the 800 number. BBD went to his location on two separate occasions and attempted to perform services without success. At that point Mr. **** called the 800 number and requested a call back. Mr. ******* from our management team called and spoke directly with Mr. **** to arrange for a third collection attempt. This attempt was successful. The company routes its calls through a call service so that all calls may be logged and record through a third party call center. This practice ensures the highest level of customer service by allowing messages to be forwarded to multiple parties who can keep track of customer service complaints such as this one. However, any customer at any time may request a call back, and as was the case with Mr. ****, the call will be returned by our staff. Clearly this matter should have been resolved on the first attempted collection and I apologize for the lack of prompt service and attention that Mr. **** and all of our clients deserve. At this point, I believe the complaint was resolved prior to receipt of the letter from the BBB. Mr. **** did speak with the company and the service was completed as requested. ***** ******** Best regards, President Buffalo Biodiesel Inc.

4/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: grease spilled all over my patio, back walkway, grass, mulch, bushes. mulch was driven over, and black top broken up. I have left no fewer then 11 messages with this company, plus an email direct to the company. not one response, this has been over 3 days, with not a single call back! my contract clearly states all spills will be cleaned up by the company, 3 days, countless calls, and no reply.

Desired Settlement: I want the grease cleaned up, and I want my contract terminated, and their barrel removed from my property.

Business Response: BBB spoke with the business on 4/14 and they stated that the spill has been cleaned up.  The owner did call and apologize for the delay.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

****** ******

2/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I call Buffalo Biodiesel Inc so many times to ask about my check for the used oil since they pick up the used oil from my restaurant on Nov. 16, 2013. The first time calling was trasfered to the answering service, and they called me back to tell me they will send the check to us around2 weeks, I didn't receive my check after one month, and I tried to call the same service number and that was answering service again, and they said the only thing they can do for me was leave my message untile the office give me a call back. I ask for their manager or supervisor's phone number, they gave me another answering service number. And then I left another message to them. untile right now I still not got their call back. Since few days ago I finally received my check, but the amout was not what we deal when we sign the contract with them. So, I called again , same result, leave the message and nobody call me back. I don't know how they service to other customers, but to me, that was terrible, I never met this kind of terrible service before. We are consider with change to another company if they don't respond to us .

Desired Settlement: the rate for used oil per galon.

Business Response: 2/12/14

Buffalo Biodiesel Inc.
225 Sawyer Ave
Tonawanda NY 14150
Phone: ###-###-####
Fax: ###-###-####
Email: ***************************

Better Business Bureau
100 Bryant Woods South
Amherst, NY 14228
Attn: *******-Complaint Handler
Complaint #*******

Dear *******;

In is unfortunate that ****** ***** ******* * *** feels that they are not being treated fairly. Enclosed is a copy of the contract that they signed on March 4, 2013. The contract clearly states that they are paid $1.00 per carboy (see item 4-A). In addition said contract also states that customers will be paid within six months of collection (see item 5-B). Our first collection with them was done on March 28,2013 and the check, was processed on July 5, 2013 in the amount of $28.00. On August 19, 2013 that check was reissued due a name change and the amount was adjusted to $38.00 due to pick-ups since previous payment was issued. In January 2014 check number 10392 was issued for $24.00 covering the period of 7/11/13-11/30/13. To date, we have picked up 62 carboys from Momiji and payment has been made for 62 carboys.

If you should any questions or concerns in resolving this matter, please feel free to contact me directly at ###-###-####. Thank you for your assistance with this matter.

Regards,
****** ********
Comptroller

1/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Under our contractual agreement our business gives our used oil to Buffalo Biodiesel. In return Buffalo Biodiesel, by contract, pays us for our used oil and gives us 4 grease trap cleanings a year. 2 months ago a driver for the company came and told our manager he was picking up the vat full of oil and bringing a new vat for our future oil. They flat out lied and stole our oil and did not return. 19 calls were made to their phone number, always going to a call center. They finally responded by saying they get a multitude of calls like this and their sorry that the company has not responded to the calls and emails they have forward to the owner and company. I proceeded to call the sales agent and requested my payment for the oil that they stole* ****** ***** then went to a friend in the sheriffs department and said by me calling his cell phone number he provided on the contract I was harassing him and if I didn't stop calling him he would give me trouble. I will be filing a personnel complaint against the officer, I've contacted the attorney general and my attorney. These people are not only giving businesses a bad name ,but are breaking the law, and are using law officials to protect them.

Desired Settlement: let the public know that Buffalo Biodiesel does not honor their contracts and breaks the law.

Business Response: Complaint is frivolous.  The consumer had a 1 year agreement to give company all the oil for 4 trap cleanings. The consumer provided only 63 gallons for the entire year.  The business removed their equipment and notified the consumer that they would not be renewing contract with him and to take his business elsewhere.  Consumer made series of escalating calls attempting to restore service, when the business made it clear that no renewal would take place, the calls turned into harassment.  The Onondaga county sheriff's were contacted (Case # ********)  for harassment against the consumer. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

******* *******, President 
Frivolous is such a big word for an unethical and unprofessional company. When frivolous is used in the first line of response this is usually an indicator of covering up lies from one side.

 
When trying to acquire our business your agent surveyed our business and new the size and how much oil you potentially would receive, keeping in mind their was no oil amount minimum or requirement. 
 
We use 3 gallons a week x 52 weeks = 156 gallons. Add that the contract went into the second year by several months = 200 +/- gallons.
 
Your goal was to take over the Syracuse market. The only thing it appears was you spread lies and deception.  You upset and cost businesses in the area time and money. You did help out local quality oil company's by bringing their customers back or new customers.
 
A simple call on the matter or a call back was all that was needed. Your actions or inaction's show the true character of you the person and the company. Shady and dishonest.
 
Your Syracuse rep. ****** did give me his cell phone and the company phone written on the contract to call anytime for whatever I needed. If he answered his calls or the company just paid there bills there would be no further discussion, but he choose to try to shut me down and scare me by going to a friend who is a deputy and abusing his authority. Hearsay is one sided. 
 
So. your response is frivolous like your ethics. hold yourself accountable and pay me the money you stole. Don't dare spin your unprofessional actions and lies on me. Look in the mirror, unlike our country's leaders and take responsibility and be a man. 
 
The only harassment is your actions and your lack of responsibility, man-up your an embarrassment.
 

Business Response: 2/12/14

Buffalo Biodiesel Inc.
225 Sawyer Ave
Tonawanda NY 14150
Phone: ###-###-####
Fax: ###-###-####
Email: ******@buffalobiodiesel.com

Better Business Bureau
100 Bryant Woods South
Amherst, NY 14228
Attn: *******-Complaint Handler
Complaint # *******

Dear *******;

Please find enclosed a copy of the letter that I sent to **** ******* at ******** ***** advising him that we would be discontinuing service with him due to the on-going issues with his account.

If you should any questions or concerns in resolving this matter, please feel free to contact me directly at ###-###-####. Thank you for your assistance with this matter.

Regards,
****** ********
Comptroller

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

This is what we call fraudulent. This is an all out lie. The letter was written the same day the letter to ******* was written 02/14/2014 not 09/16/13. The only difference is they made a copy of the letter to make it look like it was all ready printed in the past.


This is what their own calling center said their notorious for. The call center fields these calls of complaints without returns all day everyday according to them and they apologize over and over for their poor business practices. A very shady company. 

If I received a letter discontinuing my service we wouldn't be in this dispute. I keep extensive filing, including all correspondence and envelopes to track dates of post mark. 

I do believe there first response was they didn't get enough oil according to contract. Wrong, I supplied contract with no amount, breach. Second, they notified me with calls, where is there phone records? I supplied my records, LIE. Third, harassment,if calling the numbers on the contract to qualified personnel who should respond, but doesn't answer there phone because there unprofessional and knows there wrong is harassment, I'm confused. You new the sheriff, I called my connection he will be disciplined . Face it you stole my oil

Just because they made a bad choice doesn't justify theft and a breach of agreement.

This is covering their tracks, and trying to bore this away with smoke and mirrors. I wouldn't have wasted my time I would of gotten a new competent provider.
 
*******, this illegitimate company is playing you and the BBB. They want it to go away. Buffalo Biodiesel is an example of the negligent, unprofessional and incompetent company's that need to be weeded out.

Regards,

******* *******, President 





Business Response:

*******,

Good Morning, I received your letter dated the 21st.  The letter that I sent to ******** ***** terminating our contract with them was indeed written and sent on 9/16/13.  It was not written and copied as he stated (please see attached).
Also attached is a copy of the contract that you requested.  In regards to the copy of the contract that he sent to you, it is written right on the contract the it is a 1 year contract and will not continue without new term.
As you and I discussed, we will be sending the payment once all of this is resolved.  Thank you for your assistance with this this matter.

******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

This response is another tactic to continue to bore and confuse people. They keep changing their story of lies, as if we, who are sticking with the original story, the truth, might forget. 


1st contract states oil amount - none.
2nd they sent a letter (copied) - none.
3rd they called me, I sent proof where is theirs - none.
4th they claim the contract is 1 year, it was 21 months. Lie.
5th they owe me 0, none - now will pay. Guilt and acknowledgement.
6,7,8,9,10 etc....... nonsense.

They claim the contract is for 1 year without renewal unless there is a new term. Well, quite odd September 2013 when their supposed letter was dated is 21 (twenty one) months from the original date of signing the contract on January 26, 2012.  That would be 9, yes nine months in addition as you were gladly taking MY oil. My how bold to lie when it's in writing. It appears they do not even know what is in their own contract, so for the sake of this dispute there going to read it.

Buffalo bio never called, Buffalo bio never sent a letter and Buffalo bio never paid. If so provide phone records like I did, metered receipt from the post office due to the importance of the letter to cancel a contract. Most important, REFUSED TO PAY ******** ***** FOR THE OIL THE TOOK, WHICH THEY AGREED THE THEY DID, AND DID NOT PAY THE CUSTOMER.

Pay me my money For all of my oil. With penalty and interest for 9 (NINE) months at 24.99% + administration cost and lost time. Period!

Quit wasting the BBB's and my professional time smoke screening your corrupt ways with nonsense tactics of lies and deception. Man up, apologize and pay me my money. Thank you also for the legal paper trail you provided me with.

I also request that due to the behavior of this unprofessional organization that the BBB give Buffalo Biodiesel the lowest rating to warn current and future customers of their poor business tactics and deception. I do understand that their will be no bias on the BBB due to the fact that Buffalo Biodiesel is a paying customer and I am not currently, but a future customer.

Regards,

******* *******, President 

11/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Buffalo Biodiesel was supposed to pickup used kitchen oil. They haven't and we want their barrel removed. We have called their 800 only to ALWAYS get the answering service. We have left messages to no response. A manager was on our premise and promised to have the barrel removed, that was a month ago. We can't get this resolved.

Desired Settlement: We no longer want to do business with this company as they are unresponsive.

Business Response: Consumer asked to have equipment removed on October 8th- the equipment was removed on the 17th (believed he was under contract).   The consumers contract wasin renewal state and within the terms of the contract removal requires 30 days written notice for removal of  equipment from site.  Company operated within the contractual terms of the contract and were unable to remove the tank on the same day requested. 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

4 Customer Reviews on Buffalo Biodiesel Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart