BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Albany, Buffalo, Rochester & Syracuse regions

BBB Accredited Business since

Buffalo Biodiesel Inc.

Phone: (800) 721-1427 225 Sawyer Ave, Tonawanda, NY 14150 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.Buffalobiodiesel.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business offers the collection of cooking oil and the distributors of oil/diesel fuels.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Buffalo Biodiesel Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Buffalo Biodiesel Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 10 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Buffalo Biodiesel Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 07, 2010 Business started: 01/01/2005 in NY Business started locally: 01/01/2005 Business incorporated: 08/12/2005 in NY
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Tax & Finance
W.A. Harriman Campus, Albany NY 12227
www.tax.state.ny.us
Phone Number: (518) 457-2244

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Sumit Majumdar, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Sumit Majumdar, President
Business Category

OILS - WASTE OIL - CRUDE - PURCHASING DIESEL FUEL OILS - FUEL


Additional Locations

  • 225 Sawyer Ave

    Tonawanda, NY 14150 (800) 721-1427

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Communication/Mass Email
  • - eQuote
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/28/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Business closed in May, 2014. Phone call to Buffalo Biodiesel last week of May to have grease-filled drum removed from property. No action taken. Further phone calls first week of July, and was told that we must email to get the drum removed. Email sent on July 7, no response and no action from Buffalo Biodiesel Phone call, July 24, asking for someone to call back with scheduled pick up date, no response from Buffalo Biodiesel. Phone call, July 28, again asking for a call back in regard to issue, no response from Buffalo Biodiesel. Phone call July 29, same request, no action. Landlord will not release significant security deposit until the can is removed.

Desired Settlement: Get the can off of the property!!!!! I am without several thousand dollars that could be collecting interest or applied to reduce outstanding loans. Call me back with a scheduled date of pick up and ACTUALLY PICK UP THE CAN!!!!!

Business Response: This matter has already been resolved and the equipment was removed within the contractual
time limit. Ms. ******* did call in for a removal. We cannot process verbal removal requests as there is a contract in force.
She was informed that a written request must be sent in per the terms of the agreement A written request was received on
July 8th 2014. Per the terms ofthe agreement we have 30 days in which to remove the equipment. I spoke with Ms. *******
on the 29th ofJuly and I informed her of the time lines. After she explained her situation, 1made an exception and moved up
her request to be done on the 31st of July, ahead of schedule.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service
8/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We own the property at **** **** ********* *** where *********** ********** is located. Bullalo Biodiesel has a storage tank at this address that we've been trying to get remove for nine ( 9 ) months. The only contact is a answering service and thye can't seen to get my message to the right people.

Business Response: Mr. ****** appears to be a landlord of one of our clients, *********'s. It appears that they
are out of business. Please have Mr. ****** put the removal request, in writing and on his company letter head. Once I
receive the letter, I will process the removal.
A simple letter stating "We are the property owner of **** **** ********* **** and request that you remove your equipment
immediately" should suffice.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

Consumer called BBB and stated that the tank had been picked up and that the complaint has been resolved.

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

*** ******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 10155980, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

Tim ******

I've received this e-mail from Summit say it's scheduled for removal.

From: Sumit@buffalobiodiesel.com [mailto:sumit@buffalobiodiesel.com]
Sent: Wednesday, July 30, 2014 9:46 AM
To: timz@beammack.com
Subject: removal

Scheduled for removal.

Thanks,

Sumit

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: grease spilled all over my patio, back walkway, grass, mulch, bushes. mulch was driven over, and black top broken up. I have left no fewer then 11 messages with this company, plus an email direct to the company. not one response, this has been over 3 days, with not a single call back! my contract clearly states all spills will be cleaned up by the company, 3 days, countless calls, and no reply.

Desired Settlement: I want the grease cleaned up, and I want my contract terminated, and their barrel removed from my property.

Business Response: BBB spoke with the business on 4/14 and they stated that the spill has been cleaned up.  The owner did call and apologize for the delay.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

****** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I call Buffalo Biodiesel Inc so many times to ask about my check for the used oil since they pick up the used oil from my restaurant on Nov. 16, 2013. The first time calling was trasfered to the answering service, and they called me back to tell me they will send the check to us around2 weeks, I didn't receive my check after one month, and I tried to call the same service number and that was answering service again, and they said the only thing they can do for me was leave my message untile the office give me a call back. I ask for their manager or supervisor's phone number, they gave me another answering service number. And then I left another message to them. untile right now I still not got their call back. Since few days ago I finally received my check, but the amout was not what we deal when we sign the contract with them. So, I called again , same result, leave the message and nobody call me back. I don't know how they service to other customers, but to me, that was terrible, I never met this kind of terrible service before. We are consider with change to another company if they don't respond to us .

Desired Settlement: the rate for used oil per galon.

Business Response: 2/12/14

Buffalo Biodiesel Inc.
225 Sawyer Ave
Tonawanda NY 14150
Phone: ###-###-####
Fax: ###-###-####
Email: ***************************

Better Business Bureau
100 Bryant Woods South
Amherst, NY 14228
Attn: *******-Complaint Handler
Complaint #*******

Dear *******;

In is unfortunate that ****** ***** ******* * *** feels that they are not being treated fairly. Enclosed is a copy of the contract that they signed on March 4, 2013. The contract clearly states that they are paid $1.00 per carboy (see item 4-A). In addition said contract also states that customers will be paid within six months of collection (see item 5-B). Our first collection with them was done on March 28,2013 and the check, was processed on July 5, 2013 in the amount of $28.00. On August 19, 2013 that check was reissued due a name change and the amount was adjusted to $38.00 due to pick-ups since previous payment was issued. In January 2014 check number 10392 was issued for $24.00 covering the period of 7/11/13-11/30/13. To date, we have picked up 62 carboys from Momiji and payment has been made for 62 carboys.

If you should any questions or concerns in resolving this matter, please feel free to contact me directly at ###-###-####. Thank you for your assistance with this matter.

Regards,
****** ********
Comptroller

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Under our contractual agreement our business gives our used oil to Buffalo Biodiesel. In return Buffalo Biodiesel, by contract, pays us for our used oil and gives us 4 grease trap cleanings a year. 2 months ago a driver for the company came and told our manager he was picking up the vat full of oil and bringing a new vat for our future oil. They flat out lied and stole our oil and did not return. 19 calls were made to their phone number, always going to a call center. They finally responded by saying they get a multitude of calls like this and their sorry that the company has not responded to the calls and emails they have forward to the owner and company. I proceeded to call the sales agent and requested my payment for the oil that they stole* ****** ***** then went to a friend in the sheriffs department and said by me calling his cell phone number he provided on the contract I was harassing him and if I didn't stop calling him he would give me trouble. I will be filing a personnel complaint against the officer, I've contacted the attorney general and my attorney. These people are not only giving businesses a bad name ,but are breaking the law, and are using law officials to protect them.

Desired Settlement: let the public know that Buffalo Biodiesel does not honor their contracts and breaks the law.

Business Response: Complaint is frivolous.  The consumer had a 1 year agreement to give company all the oil for 4 trap cleanings. The consumer provided only 63 gallons for the entire year.  The business removed their equipment and notified the consumer that they would not be renewing contract with him and to take his business elsewhere.  Consumer made series of escalating calls attempting to restore service, when the business made it clear that no renewal would take place, the calls turned into harassment.  The Onondaga county sheriff's were contacted (Case # ********)  for harassment against the consumer. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

******* *******, President 
Frivolous is such a big word for an unethical and unprofessional company. When frivolous is used in the first line of response this is usually an indicator of covering up lies from one side.

 
When trying to acquire our business your agent surveyed our business and new the size and how much oil you potentially would receive, keeping in mind their was no oil amount minimum or requirement. 
 
We use 3 gallons a week x 52 weeks = 156 gallons. Add that the contract went into the second year by several months = 200 +/- gallons.
 
Your goal was to take over the Syracuse market. The only thing it appears was you spread lies and deception.  You upset and cost businesses in the area time and money. You did help out local quality oil company's by bringing their customers back or new customers.
 
A simple call on the matter or a call back was all that was needed. Your actions or inaction's show the true character of you the person and the company. Shady and dishonest.
 
Your Syracuse rep. ****** did give me his cell phone and the company phone written on the contract to call anytime for whatever I needed. If he answered his calls or the company just paid there bills there would be no further discussion, but he choose to try to shut me down and scare me by going to a friend who is a deputy and abusing his authority. Hearsay is one sided. 
 
So. your response is frivolous like your ethics. hold yourself accountable and pay me the money you stole. Don't dare spin your unprofessional actions and lies on me. Look in the mirror, unlike our country's leaders and take responsibility and be a man. 
 
The only harassment is your actions and your lack of responsibility, man-up your an embarrassment.
 

Business Response: 2/12/14

Buffalo Biodiesel Inc.
225 Sawyer Ave
Tonawanda NY 14150
Phone: ###-###-####
Fax: ###-###-####
Email: ******@buffalobiodiesel.com

Better Business Bureau
100 Bryant Woods South
Amherst, NY 14228
Attn: *******-Complaint Handler
Complaint # *******

Dear *******;

Please find enclosed a copy of the letter that I sent to **** ******* at ******** ***** advising him that we would be discontinuing service with him due to the on-going issues with his account.

If you should any questions or concerns in resolving this matter, please feel free to contact me directly at ###-###-####. Thank you for your assistance with this matter.

Regards,
****** ********
Comptroller

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

This is what we call fraudulent. This is an all out lie. The letter was written the same day the letter to ******* was written 02/14/2014 not 09/16/13. The only difference is they made a copy of the letter to make it look like it was all ready printed in the past.


This is what their own calling center said their notorious for. The call center fields these calls of complaints without returns all day everyday according to them and they apologize over and over for their poor business practices. A very shady company. 

If I received a letter discontinuing my service we wouldn't be in this dispute. I keep extensive filing, including all correspondence and envelopes to track dates of post mark. 

I do believe there first response was they didn't get enough oil according to contract. Wrong, I supplied contract with no amount, breach. Second, they notified me with calls, where is there phone records? I supplied my records, LIE. Third, harassment,if calling the numbers on the contract to qualified personnel who should respond, but doesn't answer there phone because there unprofessional and knows there wrong is harassment, I'm confused. You new the sheriff, I called my connection he will be disciplined . Face it you stole my oil

Just because they made a bad choice doesn't justify theft and a breach of agreement.

This is covering their tracks, and trying to bore this away with smoke and mirrors. I wouldn't have wasted my time I would of gotten a new competent provider.
 
*******, this illegitimate company is playing you and the BBB. They want it to go away. Buffalo Biodiesel is an example of the negligent, unprofessional and incompetent company's that need to be weeded out.

Regards,

******* *******, President 





Business Response:

*******,

Good Morning, I received your letter dated the 21st.  The letter that I sent to ******** ***** terminating our contract with them was indeed written and sent on 9/16/13.  It was not written and copied as he stated (please see attached).
Also attached is a copy of the contract that you requested.  In regards to the copy of the contract that he sent to you, it is written right on the contract the it is a 1 year contract and will not continue without new term.
As you and I discussed, we will be sending the payment once all of this is resolved.  Thank you for your assistance with this this matter.

******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

This response is another tactic to continue to bore and confuse people. They keep changing their story of lies, as if we, who are sticking with the original story, the truth, might forget. 


1st contract states oil amount - none.
2nd they sent a letter (copied) - none.
3rd they called me, I sent proof where is theirs - none.
4th they claim the contract is 1 year, it was 21 months. Lie.
5th they owe me 0, none - now will pay. Guilt and acknowledgement.
6,7,8,9,10 etc....... nonsense.

They claim the contract is for 1 year without renewal unless there is a new term. Well, quite odd September 2013 when their supposed letter was dated is 21 (twenty one) months from the original date of signing the contract on January 26, 2012.  That would be 9, yes nine months in addition as you were gladly taking MY oil. My how bold to lie when it's in writing. It appears they do not even know what is in their own contract, so for the sake of this dispute there going to read it.

Buffalo bio never called, Buffalo bio never sent a letter and Buffalo bio never paid. If so provide phone records like I did, metered receipt from the post office due to the importance of the letter to cancel a contract. Most important, REFUSED TO PAY ******** ***** FOR THE OIL THE TOOK, WHICH THEY AGREED THE THEY DID, AND DID NOT PAY THE CUSTOMER.

Pay me my money For all of my oil. With penalty and interest for 9 (NINE) months at 24.99% + administration cost and lost time. Period!

Quit wasting the BBB's and my professional time smoke screening your corrupt ways with nonsense tactics of lies and deception. Man up, apologize and pay me my money. Thank you also for the legal paper trail you provided me with.

I also request that due to the behavior of this unprofessional organization that the BBB give Buffalo Biodiesel the lowest rating to warn current and future customers of their poor business tactics and deception. I do understand that their will be no bias on the BBB due to the fact that Buffalo Biodiesel is a paying customer and I am not currently, but a future customer.

Regards,

******* *******, President 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

11/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Buffalo Biodiesel was supposed to pickup used kitchen oil. They haven't and we want their barrel removed. We have called their 800 only to ALWAYS get the answering service. We have left messages to no response. A manager was on our premise and promised to have the barrel removed, that was a month ago. We can't get this resolved.

Desired Settlement: We no longer want to do business with this company as they are unresponsive.

Business Response: Consumer asked to have equipment removed on October 8th- the equipment was removed on the 17th (believed he was under contract).   The consumers contract wasin renewal state and within the terms of the contract removal requires 30 days written notice for removal of  equipment from site.  Company operated within the contractual terms of the contract and were unable to remove the tank on the same day requested. 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved