BBB Accredited Business since

Heim Fuel Service, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (518) 784-5136 Fax: (518) 784-4346 148 Van Buen Avenue, Niverville, NY 12130 http://www.heimfuelservice.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business offers fuel wholesale & distribution.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Heim Fuel Service, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Heim Fuel Service, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Heim Fuel Service, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 15, 2005 Business started: 01/01/2000 Business started locally: 01/01/2000
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Heim, President
Business Category

OILS - FUEL KEROSENE DIESEL FUEL GAS - PROPANE


Additional Locations

  • 148 Van Buen Avenue

    Niverville, NY 12130

  • PO Box 133

    Niverville, NY 12130

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/19/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company set us up for a pre pay plan. We requested a delivery of the minimum 150 gallons of home heating oil. We received a delivery with receipt. The 150 gallon receipt was in fact a delivery of 216 gallons, the 150 gallon mark wS crossed off, we were charged for the 216 without explanation. We've contacted to request a refund. They declined. Nowhere in the contract is this allowed. The company expects us to purchase the minimum of 150 next delivery at going rate. This is a scam.

Desired Settlement: I also want the contract highlighted as to where heim fuel is authorized to make a delivery of any amount they decide.

Business Response: March 13,2014
Beth, Complaint Handler
Better Business Bureau
100 Bryant Woods South
Amherst, NY 14228
Re: Complaint ******* **** ****** *****

Dear ****:

Attached please find a copy of the contract **** ***** signed when he enrolled in our winter fuel program. (Per your instructions, I did not include the one with *** *****'s signature.) As you can see in the first bullet, customers who participate in any plan are required to be on automatic delivery. All automatic deliveries are to fill up the tank. This is understood and an industry standard. When the ****** received their first delivery under this program, it was for a fill up so they are familiar with our practices. Although they received more fuel than expected, they have had full use of it, especially with this unusually cold winter, and shouldn't expect a refund. However, if after April 30, when the winter heating season ends, they want a refund of the credit
balance on his account, we will be happy to accommodate them. As stated earlier, we believe we are fully in compliance with our contract and request that you do not publish this complaint on your website.

Sincerely,
******* ****, President
Heim Fuel Service, Inc.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.
We have ever signed a contract, we are not on automatic delivery (we call for deliveries) we had requested a 150 gallon delivery which was agreed upon but much more than we asked for was delivered. In no place on the contract does it state that we are required to purchase any more than the 150 gallon minimum. We requested a contract numerous times and STILL haven't received one. We are not on a "pay plan" we paid cash in full for our oil. That is why we are not in contract! 
[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

****** *****




Business Response: I'll send **** ***** a copy of the agreement she signed, as well as a copy of the check that paid for her winter fuel contract.  As stated in our written response, a mandatory plan requirement is to be on automatic delivery.  And the industry standard for automatic delivery means a fill up.  This can be confirmed by any other fuel company. 
A review of her delivery records shows she had been calling us.  Since they were a  new account just last year, it's not unusual that a customer would call until the computer has enough history to accurately calculate next delivery, so no red flags went up.  However, that does not negate the 'automatic delivery' requirement of any fuel program.
What confuses me is, not only did *** **** speak to *** ***** and apologize for the situation, but they paid for the excess delivery AND requested another one.  I'm not sure what else we can do to placate her. 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Heim Fuel Service, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)