BBB Accredited Business since

G A Bove Fuels

Additional Locations

Phone: (518) 664-5111 Fax: (518) 664-6463 76 Railroad Street, Mechanicville, NY 12118 http://www.bovefuels.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers Fuels, Heating oil, Kerosene, Propane, Diesel fuel, and Gas. Also sells & services furnaces and stoves.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that G A Bove Fuels meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for G A Bove Fuels include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on G A Bove Fuels
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 19, 2003 Business started: 01/01/1971 Business started locally: 01/01/1971
Business Management
Mr. Frank A. Bove, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Frank A. Bove, President
Principal: Mr. John Bove Jr., Chief Financial Officer
Business Category

OILS - FUEL HEATING EQUIPMENT & SYSTEMS CLEANING & REPAIR HEATING CONTRACTORS GAS - PROPANE - EQUIPMENT & SUPPLIES

Industry Tips
Heating Systems Service Calls Three Day Cooling-Off Rule (cancel contracts)

Additional Locations

  • 40 Derby St.

    Hudson Falls, NY 12839 (518) 747-7761

  • 76 Railroad Street

    Mechanicville, NY 12118 (518) 664-5111

  • Route 30

    Wells, NY 12190 (518) 924-2052

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/23/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
4/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service
4/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service
3/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: At first I had a contract with Bove that allowed payments to be reduced to 217 a month. I fell behind due to 800 dollars worth of plumbing repairs and 500 dollars worth of car repairs. I owed around 560 dollars due to this. On January 29th, 2015 a payment was made in full to Bove. But because of the late payment, I was taken off the contract and was told that I had to make full payments. Today on 2/10/15 I tried calling Bove and was told that it would cost 239 for 100 gallons and that I would have to pay up front for the delivery, i was also told that it would take 5 to 7 days after the payment to receive the fuel. Before now i never had to pay upfront, also when i payed for a delivery prior to this issue, the fuel was immediately delivered. My wife is a cardiac patient, my sons and their girlfriends live with me also and my youngest son has a 5 month old daughter. I have made several attempts to make a payment arrangement with Bove during this time period from 1/29/15 to now 2/10/1505 and have not had any cooperation.

Desired Settlement: To have the fuel delivered the day I pay for it . The way it was from the beginning when I chose Bove.

Business Response: Due to the extreme temperatures and snow this winter, we have had a up to a week delay when customers call for service.  We do apologize for this and do our best.  We do encourage customers to sign up for automatic delivery and a budget plan for this reason.  Due to company policy the consumer's account must remain COD.

6/3/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am on a pay as you go plan with G A Bovee Fuels. On 2/4/14(approx.) a delivery was made to my home. I had called their office prior to the delivery and told the representative that the propane tank was nearly empty and paid the amount she told me with my debit card which was $92.68. That is what she said it would cost if the tank were completely empty. A few days later I received a bill from them stating I owed an additional amount of $29.05. How can they tell a person that a full tank is one amount, the person pays and then they bill them for extra. I ignored the billing statement. Now I received a letter from them dated 4/17/14 informing me that they had reviewed my account and decided to close it. They will be removing my tank within 10 days of this letter . The letter is postmarked 4/18/14 and I received it 4/22/14. They also stated they would be charging me a tank removal charge. I called them today and found out the charge for tank removal is $110.00. They know my tank is pretty close to being full so they are not going to refund me any money on whats left in the tank. I can see if I was at fault but whoever charged my debit card the day I ordered the fuel is at fault. If they want to take the tank, fine, but I should get a refund on what is left in it and not be charged a removal fee. This is bad business. Last year I had to call them because my tank was leaking, you could smell it all over the back yard. They exchanged the tank but I was not given any extra fuel for what I lost.

Desired Settlement: They can take their tank but I do not want to pay the $110 fee for removal. I want a refund of what is left in the tank. It has only been since 2/4/14 until 4/23/14. I am sure they can weigh the tank and tell what is left. It must still be 75% full. If they do not agree to the above, I will pay the $29.05 balance which I do not believe that I should have to pay and keep the tank.

Business Response: BBB spoke with business today and stated that the tank has been picked up and the balance due of $29.05 will be waived as well as the fee for the tank removal.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Hi - I thought this was resolved but guess you were given misinformation by G.A. Bove Fuels.  I had filed a complaint and was responded to by someone from your agency a couple times. Last time she emailed me she told me everything was resolved and I received all I was asking for. I deleted her email with her name because I believed what she said. Well, low and behold, today I received a bill from G.A. Bove Fuels demanding $152.76 or it would be turned over to a collection agency. That charge is for picking up the tank (which was 3/4 full) and the balance of $29.00 which I disputed and you said they minus-ed off my account. Did they lie to you or did you just tell me everything was settled in my favor. They are liars and crooks and they probably do this to a lot of people. And the worse part of it is they are getting away with it. Isn't that illegal for them to tell you that I owe them nothing and then they try to bill me for the same amount. Please get hold of me or get me in touch with someone at your agency that oversees these lies. Thank you! Angela Bruce
Regards,

****** *****



Business Response: Spoke with the business today and the invoice did cross in the mail.  The account is at a 0 balance.

5/27/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This statement may also be considered a contract issue.On or about 02/26/14 I phoned Bove Fuels to order 150 gal of fuel oil to be delivered to my residence. I asked the agent I spoke with if she could put this order on my account and continue debiting my bank account for $40 a month, then in April to increase the debit amount to $50 a month. The agent repeated my billing request then said she will put my order up for delivery.On 03/01/14 Bove delivered 150 gal of oil to my residence.On 03/07/14 Bove debited my bank account for $40.On 03/20/14 I contacted Bove with the intention to remind them to increase my payment to $50 in April since there have been oversights with billing in the past. My call was transferred to ********* and she said my payment of $40 a month in not acceptable, that I have 2 months to pay for the above mentioned oil delivery. I explained that my only source of income is SSDI which is $1,000 a month, that I have to support myself and my son on that amount and that I can't afford to pay Bove anymore than what was agreed upon. I was told that Bove will take back the oil they delivered. I was reduced to tears and hung up. Later a man called me from Bove he said the agent who agreed to $40 a month payments made a mistake, that he'll give me 3 months to pay, I explained my financial situation, he told me to go get money from social services, Again I was threatened that Bove will pump out my oil. If I knew that Bove was not going to uphold their contract with me regarding their acceptance of my payment method, I WOULD NOT HAVE ORDERED THE OIL BECAUSE I DON'T HAVE THE RESOURCES TO PAY FOR 150 GALLONS IN THE 2-3 PAYMENTS THAT BOVE IS NOW DEMANDING.The agents demanding the money were demeaning, their harassment was WHOLLY UNEXPECTED and frightened me to the point that I called them back and told them to take half of my SSDI next month even though I can't afford it. This puts me in jeopardy as I won't have enough funds to pay my other expenses.

Desired Settlement: Bove Fuels to uphold the payment agreement as stated in the above complaint, that was confirmed by Bove Fuels delivery of oil, and the fact that Bove IS currently debiting my bank account. That Bove WILL NOT debit my bank account for more than $50 next month.An apology for the unanticipated condescending tactics used by Bove's agents. I endured 1/2 hour of their demands and threats, which upset & frightened me and served only to negatively impact my fragile health issues & finances.

Business Response: Spoke with **** who advised:

He worked out an agreement with consumer who would paid ($240 on April 3rd, and $240 on May 5th) then carry on the $40 a month for full payment on account. 

Typically all oil deliveries on COD, cash on delivery, which means check must be given at time of service or no delivery.

This agreement was confirmed twice with the credit person at the office. 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

***** ******



  I did not receive any contact from any agent of Bove Fuels since my complaint was written to the BBB.  Furthermore I did not WORK OUT any other payment amount with Bove Fuels other than the $40.00 per month ($50.00 per month starting in April) 

 I did NOT authorize a payment of $240.00, nor did ********* (she handles my account with Bove Fuels) contact me to CONFIRM that payment.  Please be reminded that I was badgered and threatened by 2 different agents from Bove Fuels.  I felt trapped, and frightened by them and forced into a situation to make payments that I cannot afford!!  As I mentioned in my complaint that I said to them to take half of my money, that was an utterance out of fear and the stress of being forced into I situation that I had not anticipated or expected and had no control over, nor do I have the resources.

 

  As mentioned in my complaint, IF I WAS AWARE that Bove Fuels was going to demand such high payments from me THEN I WOULD NOT HAVE ORDERED THE FUEL OIL BECAUSE I CANNOT AFFORD THOSE HIGH PAYMENTS.

When I ordered the fuel oil I did so WITH THE CLEAR UNDERSTANDING BETWEEN MYSELF AND THE BOVE AGENT I SPOKE WITH, THAT I WAS GOING TO BE CHARGED $40.00 PER MONTH.

My only financial resource in social security disability insurance which is $1,008.00 per month and I support myself and my son on that amount.  My monthly bills are $68.00 for home owners insurance, $98.00 for car insurance, $200.00 for food, $60.00 for gasoline, $70.00 for internet, $40.00 for phone service, $310.00 for national grid.  Last month National Grid billed me $420.00, and this month's bill was a little over $400.00.  I also have to pay for several medicines and doctor visits.

I AM STRAPPED, I CANNOT AFFORD TO PAY BOVE $240.00.  AS YOU CAN CLEARY SEE I AM, AND WAS FULLY AWARE OF MY FINANCES AT THE TIME I ORDERED THE OIL AND I WOULD NOT HAVE ORDERED IT IF I KNEW I HAD TO PAY MORE THAN $40.00- $50.00 PER MONTH.  I can provide copies of my income statements, and of the above bills to verify what I have stated it true and accurate.

I am willing to pay Bove $50.00 per month,  Bove Fuels agreed to this payment plan at the time I ordered the oil!~!!!!!!!!  If Bove Fuels is unhappy over the payment arrangement THEY AGREED to, then I guess their only recourse is to come and take back their oil, and leave two disabled persons without heat. 

I CANNOT BELIEVE THAT SUCH BUSINESS PRACTICES ARE LEGAL.  TO SELL A PRODUCT AT A SET PAYMENT AGREEMENT, THEN CHANGE THE TERMS OF THE AGREEMENT WHEN THE CUSTOMER IS TOTALLY UNAWARE, AND UNABLE TO ANTICIPATE A GROSS INCREASE IN THE PAYMENT TERMS.  OR TO THREATEN A CUSTOMER WITH THE REMOVAL OF THE PRODUCT BECAUSE THE CUSTOMER IS UNABLE TO PAY SAID INCREASE.  THIS IS DISPICABLE. 



 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

***** ******

     I will accept the offer from **** Bove under the following terms, the financial damage Bove fuels caused me placed me so far in dept. that I cannot start to pay Bove Fuels until June 3, 2014, and at the rate of $85.00.  And, I also want to see a full print out of my account with Bove Fuels.  On 02/01/14 I received a bill from them for a balance due of $34.22, and if my math is correct Bove Fuels took $50.00 from my SSDI account to satisfy that bill.

  If Bove Fuels finds this offer acceptable, I will stop all actions taken with the filing of a police report for my bank to protest the amount Bove Fuels removed from my account.  And I will also stop all legal action taken against Bove Fuels regarding the unlawful and unauthorized taking of SSDI funds.


***** ******



Business Response: Business contacted BBB stating they will accept $85/month payments starting June 3 and the requested documentation will be sent to the consumer. 

4/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On several occasions we notified the office and drivers about using our 2nd driveway do to the pipe for my septic tank. I have even put in a turn around for the drivers so that the weight of their trucks would not ever have to be on our septic system. I had fuel delivered in February 2013 and the driver came in our 1st driveway. I went out and spoke to the driver **** ******** and he stated that he had nothing from the office stating that the 2nd driveway was to be used. He then stated that he would report this and make sure it was put in the system so all drivers would know. I once again had fuel delivered on March 14, 2013 While the driver was here he crushed in the pipe for my septic. I immediately came in and called the office once again to tell them that there was an incident in which there drive drove directly over our pipes and now there is a whole in our driveway.

Desired Settlement: I wish to have the pipe fixed so I can continue doing business properly. I do not wish to report this to my home owners and raise my premium for something that is not my fault.

Business Response: BBB spoke to **** ** this morning. The pipe is in the middle of the driveway. The consumer would have the trucks back up into different places at different times of the year. (Ex, because of snow banks). The pipe is only 4 inches below the driveway, which is not deep enough. **** ** tired to offer the consumer a $200 credit at the time. This was going to be a credit on the account, and the value was for how this was when it was found. The proper process is for the consumer to contact his homeowner's insurance and put in a claim. Then they will contact the company for their insurance info and the two insurance companies will work it out.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

We have had estimates done and we are looking at $3000 in costs. A $200.00 credit to our account was offered and that will not solve the problem. We will pursue this matter further.

Regards,

**** *****