BBB Accredited Business since

G A Bove Fuels

Additional Locations

Phone: (518) 664-5111 Fax: (518) 664-6463 View Additional Phone Numbers 76 Railroad Street, Mechanicville, NY 12118 http://www.bovefuels.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers Fuels, Heating oil, Kerosene, Propane, Diesel fuel, and Gas. Also sells & services furnaces and stoves.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that G A Bove Fuels meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for G A Bove Fuels include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on G A Bove Fuels
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 19, 2003 Business started: 01/01/1971 Business started locally: 01/01/1971
Business Management
Mr. Frank A. Bove, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Frank A. Bove, President
Principal: Mr. John Bove Jr., Chief Financial Officer
Business Category

OILS - FUEL HEATING EQUIPMENT & SYSTEMS CLEANING & REPAIR HEATING CONTRACTORS GAS - PROPANE - EQUIPMENT & SUPPLIES

Industry Tips
Heating Systems Service Calls Three Day Cooling-Off Rule (cancel contracts)

Additional Locations

  • 40 Derby St.

    Hudson Falls, NY 12839 (518) 747-7761

  • 76 Railroad Street

    Mechanicville, NY 12118 (518) 664-5111

  • Route 30

    Wells, NY 12190 (518) 924-2052

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/23/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
4/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My heat pump was running in December. It was not supposed to be, so I called for service from my heating and gas service company, Bove Fuels.They sent a guy who's first communication was "I don't know much about heat pumps. No one has them up here." Why would they send a guy who did not have any experience with the stated issue?He added coolant to my air conditioning unit! IN DECEMBER. He said, "sometimes this works."Needless to say, it did not work.The next technician they sent waked into the mechanical room and said "There is your problem right there. The heat pump temperature sensor is not attached. It says it is 75 degrees outside. I don't think it is---ha-ha, Plus, that is why there is all this wire here."took him 5 minutes----doneFirst they charged me for both visits. I disputed it, and they said ok, you can pay just one, but you have to pay the first one. Of course the first one was twice as much as the bill for the visit that actually worked. I was still in email and phone contact with them about this when my gas ran out.The owner was a bully on the phone and refused to deliver fuel until I paid the disputed amount. As I said, I have never NOT paid a bill in my life...I just wanted some type of reasonable compromise. And I ALWAYS had paid my fuel bill to them on time...for two years!These guys do not care. They do not care that 4 kids were without heat during the winter. With absolutely NO NOTIFICATION that they were not delivering. I was on automatic delivery...had always been for the 2 years I got gas from them. Don't let them lie and tell you otherwise!

Desired Settlement: After all that I have had to go through, nothing short of a full refund could possibly satisfy what they did.How dare they stop delivering gas in the winter with no notification.

Business Response:

When we arrive 12/22/14 the heat pump was not reading the correct outside temperature. It said it was 75 when it was really cold outside.  This was because the system was constantly  running and generating it's own heat.  The system needed coolant to function properly.  We fixed this problem and it was running great when we left.  We charged him for the service call $173.50 and 30.40 was for the refrigerant.

 We were called on the 12/31/14 and found the sensor was not working.  This may have burned out from the first problem.  We fixed it, it was running properly and did not charge him for this.   We were called for fuel on 3/22/14 and he still had this the repair amount as an outstanding balance.  He is on a will call account and we generally do not deliver with an overdue balance.  The bill was paid and his fuel was delivered.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID , and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 To Whom It May Concern,

 I appreciate the BBB’s attempt to help me mediate this incident.  There is no offer of compromise from the business in their response.  In addition, the business’ version of events is incorrect.

 The actual events are as follows:

The first service call was performed by a technician who openly admitted that he had very little experience with heat pumps.  The reason the heat pump was reading 75 degrees F was because that was the temperature in the utility room. 

The Connection to the thermostat was in the utility room, in clear view, set on top of the heat pump control panel.  I know this because the second service call was responded to by a technician who did know what he was doing.  He immediately saw the thermostat/sensor on top of the control panel and made the connection between the reading and the actual indoor temperature in the utility room, STILL 75 degrees F

Also, they did charge me for both visits, and only agreed to charge me for one visit upon my complaint to the company.  The fact that they then chose to charge me for the more expensive and ineffective visit was and is the issue at hand. 

As for my being on a will call service, this is completely untrue. As proof I can reference the fact that I never needed to call or did call for delivery of gas before this incident.  I signed up for their service along with my next door neighbor, and he will support my assertion that we were not, and never were on a “will call” service plan. That is a bald faced lie.

In my estimation this lie is a convenient excuse for their cancelling my delivery with no notice during the middle of a cold winter because of this ongoing debate.  I have a wife and 4 children, and the company’s flagrant disregard for common courtesy and for the law left us with no heat for 2 days.

With no fuel and no heat I decided I would pay the bill so that my family would have heat.  Having said that, I believe this whole entire situation could have been courteously dealt with by simply letting me pay the bill that actually produced a solution to my heat pump problem.

Please know that I have never left a bill unpaid in my entire life.  At 52 years of age I have a perfect credit rating, so the idea that I would stiff someone is ridiculous.  I simply wanted a mutually agreeable and sensible solution.  I have run my own business for years and I would never treat a customer the way this company has treated me and my family.

This company offers no compromise whatsoever.  from my experience this is typical of their complete disregard for customer’s needs, rights and satisfaction.

At this juncture, with the amount of time and effort I have had to put in to address this, a full refund of my money and a written apology from the owner would be a logical solution.  

Regards,

4/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My father was a Bove customer for over 50 years. He passed away in September and I am taking care of his home. In October I had Bove come out to my dads home to check and make sure the gas was working properly, which it was. I paid in full for the service the same day and told the technician I was handeling the house as my father had recently passed away. I signed a form, which I have a copy of saying that his home will now be on a will call for delivery service. About two weeks ago I saw a Bove truck in my dads driveway and pulled in the driveway to see what they were doing. They said they were capping off the gas due to non payment of a bill. They didn't have any info. on the bill and told me to call the company. When I called they said there was a past due bill of $389.00. I asked them what it was for and was told they couldn't tell me because the account went into collections and I would have to call the collections department. I did and after they did some investigations they told me it was for a fuel delivery on December 29 2014. I was surprised because I never called for a delivery. I told that to the women at collections but she didn't have any answers as to why fuel was delivered without my consent. I decided to pay the bill because I wanted to get the gas turned back on for my dads home. I don't want anything to happen to his home. I then contacted Bove and told them I paid the bill and would like to have someone come out and service my dads home. I was then told that I had to go on-line to fill out an application to have the service turned over in my name. They said once I did that I would get a call for an appointment. I filled out the on-line application and waited for a call. A woman called back in about an hour and said they would no longer service my dads home due to past account history. I was shocked! I told her I didn't know there was any bill since I never called for delivery and as soon as I knew there was a problem I took care of it. I couldn't believe that after my dad had their service for over 50 years they would not service his home due to one incident. The women(Stephanie) was very rude and uncaring. I told her I never authorized the fuel delivery yet I paid anyways. She didn't care what I had to say. She said it was my responsibility to fill out paperwork when my dad passed to have the account turned over in my name and I never did. I told her I wasn't aware that I had to. She said did and since my dads account went into collections they will no longer service us. I was shocked over 50 years of service. My parents always paid their bills in full immediately. One issue with billing and they refuse service. It saddens me that a company can be so uncaring.

Desired Settlement: I would like the company G.A. Bove Fuels to contact me with an apology. I fill I was treated poorly.

Business Response: This was clearly a misunderstanding.  We were totally unaware that her father had passed away.  We have since been in contact with the consumer and updated the account.  We sincerely apologize if the customer feels she was treated poorly.

3/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: At first I had a contract with Bove that allowed payments to be reduced to 217 a month. I fell behind due to 800 dollars worth of plumbing repairs and 500 dollars worth of car repairs. I owed around 560 dollars due to this. On January 29th, 2015 a payment was made in full to Bove. But because of the late payment, I was taken off the contract and was told that I had to make full payments. Today on 2/10/15 I tried calling Bove and was told that it would cost 239 for 100 gallons and that I would have to pay up front for the delivery, i was also told that it would take 5 to 7 days after the payment to receive the fuel. Before now i never had to pay upfront, also when i payed for a delivery prior to this issue, the fuel was immediately delivered. My wife is a cardiac patient, my sons and their girlfriends live with me also and my youngest son has a 5 month old daughter. I have made several attempts to make a payment arrangement with Bove during this time period from 1/29/15 to now 2/10/1505 and have not had any cooperation.

Desired Settlement: To have the fuel delivered the day I pay for it . The way it was from the beginning when I chose Bove.

Business Response: Due to the extreme temperatures and snow this winter, we have had a up to a week delay when customers call for service.  We do apologize for this and do our best.  We do encourage customers to sign up for automatic delivery and a budget plan for this reason.  Due to company policy the consumer's account must remain COD.

6/3/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am on a pay as you go plan with G A Bovee Fuels. On 2/4/14(approx.) a delivery was made to my home. I had called their office prior to the delivery and told the representative that the propane tank was nearly empty and paid the amount she told me with my debit card which was $92.68. That is what she said it would cost if the tank were completely empty. A few days later I received a bill from them stating I owed an additional amount of $29.05. How can they tell a person that a full tank is one amount, the person pays and then they bill them for extra. I ignored the billing statement. Now I received a letter from them dated 4/17/14 informing me that they had reviewed my account and decided to close it. They will be removing my tank within 10 days of this letter . The letter is postmarked 4/18/14 and I received it 4/22/14. They also stated they would be charging me a tank removal charge. I called them today and found out the charge for tank removal is $110.00. They know my tank is pretty close to being full so they are not going to refund me any money on whats left in the tank. I can see if I was at fault but whoever charged my debit card the day I ordered the fuel is at fault. If they want to take the tank, fine, but I should get a refund on what is left in it and not be charged a removal fee. This is bad business. Last year I had to call them because my tank was leaking, you could smell it all over the back yard. They exchanged the tank but I was not given any extra fuel for what I lost.

Desired Settlement: They can take their tank but I do not want to pay the $110 fee for removal. I want a refund of what is left in the tank. It has only been since 2/4/14 until 4/23/14. I am sure they can weigh the tank and tell what is left. It must still be 75% full. If they do not agree to the above, I will pay the $29.05 balance which I do not believe that I should have to pay and keep the tank.

Business Response: BBB spoke with business today and stated that the tank has been picked up and the balance due of $29.05 will be waived as well as the fee for the tank removal.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Hi - I thought this was resolved but guess you were given misinformation by G.A. Bove Fuels.  I had filed a complaint and was responded to by someone from your agency a couple times. Last time she emailed me she told me everything was resolved and I received all I was asking for. I deleted her email with her name because I believed what she said. Well, low and behold, today I received a bill from G.A. Bove Fuels demanding $152.76 or it would be turned over to a collection agency. That charge is for picking up the tank (which was 3/4 full) and the balance of $29.00 which I disputed and you said they minus-ed off my account. Did they lie to you or did you just tell me everything was settled in my favor. They are liars and crooks and they probably do this to a lot of people. And the worse part of it is they are getting away with it. Isn't that illegal for them to tell you that I owe them nothing and then they try to bill me for the same amount. Please get hold of me or get me in touch with someone at your agency that oversees these lies. Thank you! Angela Bruce
Regards,

****** *****



Business Response: Spoke with the business today and the invoice did cross in the mail.  The account is at a 0 balance.

5/27/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This statement may also be considered a contract issue.On or about 02/26/14 I phoned Bove Fuels to order 150 gal of fuel oil to be delivered to my residence. I asked the agent I spoke with if she could put this order on my account and continue debiting my bank account for $40 a month, then in April to increase the debit amount to $50 a month. The agent repeated my billing request then said she will put my order up for delivery.On 03/01/14 Bove delivered 150 gal of oil to my residence.On 03/07/14 Bove debited my bank account for $40.On 03/20/14 I contacted Bove with the intention to remind them to increase my payment to $50 in April since there have been oversights with billing in the past. My call was transferred to ********* and she said my payment of $40 a month in not acceptable, that I have 2 months to pay for the above mentioned oil delivery. I explained that my only source of income is SSDI which is $1,000 a month, that I have to support myself and my son on that amount and that I can't afford to pay Bove anymore than what was agreed upon. I was told that Bove will take back the oil they delivered. I was reduced to tears and hung up. Later a man called me from Bove he said the agent who agreed to $40 a month payments made a mistake, that he'll give me 3 months to pay, I explained my financial situation, he told me to go get money from social services, Again I was threatened that Bove will pump out my oil. If I knew that Bove was not going to uphold their contract with me regarding their acceptance of my payment method, I WOULD NOT HAVE ORDERED THE OIL BECAUSE I DON'T HAVE THE RESOURCES TO PAY FOR 150 GALLONS IN THE 2-3 PAYMENTS THAT BOVE IS NOW DEMANDING.The agents demanding the money were demeaning, their harassment was WHOLLY UNEXPECTED and frightened me to the point that I called them back and told them to take half of my SSDI next month even though I can't afford it. This puts me in jeopardy as I won't have enough funds to pay my other expenses.

Desired Settlement: Bove Fuels to uphold the payment agreement as stated in the above complaint, that was confirmed by Bove Fuels delivery of oil, and the fact that Bove IS currently debiting my bank account. That Bove WILL NOT debit my bank account for more than $50 next month.An apology for the unanticipated condescending tactics used by Bove's agents. I endured 1/2 hour of their demands and threats, which upset & frightened me and served only to negatively impact my fragile health issues & finances.

Business Response: Spoke with **** who advised:

He worked out an agreement with consumer who would paid ($240 on April 3rd, and $240 on May 5th) then carry on the $40 a month for full payment on account. 

Typically all oil deliveries on COD, cash on delivery, which means check must be given at time of service or no delivery.

This agreement was confirmed twice with the credit person at the office. 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

***** ******



  I did not receive any contact from any agent of Bove Fuels since my complaint was written to the BBB.  Furthermore I did not WORK OUT any other payment amount with Bove Fuels other than the $40.00 per month ($50.00 per month starting in April) 

 I did NOT authorize a payment of $240.00, nor did ********* (she handles my account with Bove Fuels) contact me to CONFIRM that payment.  Please be reminded that I was badgered and threatened by 2 different agents from Bove Fuels.  I felt trapped, and frightened by them and forced into a situation to make payments that I cannot afford!!  As I mentioned in my complaint that I said to them to take half of my money, that was an utterance out of fear and the stress of being forced into I situation that I had not anticipated or expected and had no control over, nor do I have the resources.

 

  As mentioned in my complaint, IF I WAS AWARE that Bove Fuels was going to demand such high payments from me THEN I WOULD NOT HAVE ORDERED THE FUEL OIL BECAUSE I CANNOT AFFORD THOSE HIGH PAYMENTS.

When I ordered the fuel oil I did so WITH THE CLEAR UNDERSTANDING BETWEEN MYSELF AND THE BOVE AGENT I SPOKE WITH, THAT I WAS GOING TO BE CHARGED $40.00 PER MONTH.

My only financial resource in social security disability insurance which is $1,008.00 per month and I support myself and my son on that amount.  My monthly bills are $68.00 for home owners insurance, $98.00 for car insurance, $200.00 for food, $60.00 for gasoline, $70.00 for internet, $40.00 for phone service, $310.00 for national grid.  Last month National Grid billed me $420.00, and this month's bill was a little over $400.00.  I also have to pay for several medicines and doctor visits.

I AM STRAPPED, I CANNOT AFFORD TO PAY BOVE $240.00.  AS YOU CAN CLEARY SEE I AM, AND WAS FULLY AWARE OF MY FINANCES AT THE TIME I ORDERED THE OIL AND I WOULD NOT HAVE ORDERED IT IF I KNEW I HAD TO PAY MORE THAN $40.00- $50.00 PER MONTH.  I can provide copies of my income statements, and of the above bills to verify what I have stated it true and accurate.

I am willing to pay Bove $50.00 per month,  Bove Fuels agreed to this payment plan at the time I ordered the oil!~!!!!!!!!  If Bove Fuels is unhappy over the payment arrangement THEY AGREED to, then I guess their only recourse is to come and take back their oil, and leave two disabled persons without heat. 

I CANNOT BELIEVE THAT SUCH BUSINESS PRACTICES ARE LEGAL.  TO SELL A PRODUCT AT A SET PAYMENT AGREEMENT, THEN CHANGE THE TERMS OF THE AGREEMENT WHEN THE CUSTOMER IS TOTALLY UNAWARE, AND UNABLE TO ANTICIPATE A GROSS INCREASE IN THE PAYMENT TERMS.  OR TO THREATEN A CUSTOMER WITH THE REMOVAL OF THE PRODUCT BECAUSE THE CUSTOMER IS UNABLE TO PAY SAID INCREASE.  THIS IS DISPICABLE. 



 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

***** ******

     I will accept the offer from **** Bove under the following terms, the financial damage Bove fuels caused me placed me so far in dept. that I cannot start to pay Bove Fuels until June 3, 2014, and at the rate of $85.00.  And, I also want to see a full print out of my account with Bove Fuels.  On 02/01/14 I received a bill from them for a balance due of $34.22, and if my math is correct Bove Fuels took $50.00 from my SSDI account to satisfy that bill.

  If Bove Fuels finds this offer acceptable, I will stop all actions taken with the filing of a police report for my bank to protest the amount Bove Fuels removed from my account.  And I will also stop all legal action taken against Bove Fuels regarding the unlawful and unauthorized taking of SSDI funds.


***** ******



Business Response: Business contacted BBB stating they will accept $85/month payments starting June 3 and the requested documentation will be sent to the consumer. 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on G A Bove Fuels
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)