BBB Accredited Business since

Long Consulting Group, LLC.

Additional Locations

Phone: (716) 375-4801 Fax: (716) 375-4803 125 South Union St. Ste. 1, Olean, NY 14760 http://www.longconsult.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business offers land services, consulting services and asset marketing in the land industry.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Long Consulting Group, LLC. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Long Consulting Group, LLC. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Long Consulting Group, LLC.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 13, 2007 Business started: 01/01/1998 Business started locally: 01/01/1998 Business incorporated 01/01/2006 in NY
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. West Long, Sole Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Christine Long, Accounting / Human Resources
Business Category

OIL FIELD CONSULTANTS MARKETING CONSULTANTS SEARCHERS OF RECORDS


Additional Locations

  • 125 South Union St. Ste. 1

    Olean, NY 14760 (716) 375-4801

  • 2646 West State Street Suite 401

    Olean, NY 14760

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/13/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife, *****, and I own 10.2 acres of property in Tioga County, PA. On Sept. 22, 2014, we each received a letter from the Long Consulting Group, Wellsboro, PA, informing us that ***** ******* ******** * ***** ****(*****) is interested in leasing our property for oil and gas development. Our current lease with **** ********* expires in July 2015.I called the office in Wellsboro and discussed the possibility of signing a new lease with **** ******** who is an agent of Long Consulting Group and Shell Oil. Mr ******** subsequently sent us 2 individual leases, one in my name and one in *****'s name, along with 2 bank drafts, each valued at $5103 payable from the ***** **** ** *****. There were some problems with the leases and there was no information that listed the money that we would receive for signing the leases. Mr ******** said the bank drafts contained all of the numbers necessary. I was skeptical about the missing information, because our current lease contains that information.The property is listed in two revocable trusts, one in my name and one in my wife's name. On Dec. 11 Mr ******** called to tell us about a deadline and a promise to pay us with a check. We signed both leases and mailed them overnight. On Jan. 14, 2015, I called Long Consulting headquarters to ask why we had not received payment and was told by ***** *** that additional title searches had to be completed and we would not be paid until May.On Jan. 28 we tried collecting on the bank drafts. They were rejected due to title failure on Mar.18. On Mar.26 Mr ******** called to say that *****'s lease was incorrect. It should have referred to her revocable trust. He sent a revised lease for ***** to sign. On April 8 I discovered that ***** had recorded my lease on our property deed even though I had NOT been paid and *****'s lease was invalid. We have a problem. ***** has recorded my lease without payment and has not obtained a valid lease from *****.

Desired Settlement: We would like the current ***** lease recorded on our deed to be removed or I would like to get paid for that lease with a cashiers check.***** would consider signing a revised lease that contains payment information and does not rely on a bank draft.

Business Response:

Long Consulting conducts tens of thousands of contacts on behalf of its clientele each year.  All very similar to the one made here with the complainant.  We have been at this for over 10 years and have never been the subject of a complaint to the BBB.   We are a first class service company that prides itself with our customer service expertise. The allegations reported in the complaint are not a complete and accurate accounting of what took place.  The general framework is accurate however; the testimony makes it seem as though we set out to deceive the owners (complainants) and that is no the case.  The complainant were well aware of how the process worked and that the title to the property would undergo a more in depth review if they were willing to participate in the lease. If the complainant did not like the results of the transaction they should be in touch with ***** whom they have as a business partner.  Long is simply a mediator of sorts to set the business up.  In fact, case law indicates the complainant is guilty of misconduct and not ***** or Long.  They knew that the property mentioned was in a trust and they did not reveal that information as they knew it might reduce their financial gain under the terms of the lease agreement between them and *****.  It appears that they may have wanted us not discover the title discrepancies on their property.  Respectfully, **** ** Long

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

We reject all of the company's comments for the following reasons. The company's message contains several distortions of the facts, along with several false accusations against us.  The most serious of these is the claim that we deliberately hid from them the fact that our property was recorded in two separate revocable trusts.  The company knew about the revocable trusts prior to contacting us.  The initial letters that we received from Long's Wellsboro office dated September 22, 2014, clearly stated at the top, following our names, the words "Trustee and Revocable Trust" in both my wife's letter and my letter.  There is no truth to the company's claim that we hid that information from them for devious purposes.  As further proof, the Long agent required us to provide copies of the title page (first page) and the signatory page (last page) for both of the revocable trusts.  Why would we hide any information about the revocable trusts? A second issue that needs to be addressed is the incorrect title that appeared on my wife's lease.  When we received the draft copies of the leases, we informed the Long agent that my wife's lease was incorrectly titled because it referred to my revocable trust instead of her own revocable trust.  The Long agent disagreed with us and stated that the title was correct according to Long's legal department.  Now we are being blamed for a mistake made by the company.  A third claim that needs to be corrected is the comment that we had prior knowledge regarding the numerous, additional title searches that were required by Long and ***** after we signed the leases on December 11, 2014.  On January 14, 2015, after several attempts to learn why we had not been paid as promised, we contacted Long headquarters and were told at that time about the additional title searches.  We thought that a title search had been conducted prior to our signing of the leases, but it wasn't until 34 days later that we were told the truth.  The fourth issue is the company's comment that we deliberately withheld the information concerning the trusts because we "did not want them to discover any title discrepancies on our property."  The title to that property has been examined numerous times and there is currently a gas and oil lease recorded on it for **** *********, now owned by ***** ***/*****.  In addition, in 2011 we established the two revocable trusts and the Tioga County property had extensive title searches prior to its inclusion in the trusts.  In order to resolve the problems with Long Consulting, and on the advice of our legal counsel, we do not plan to pursue this matter any further. Regards, ***** *****