BBB Accredited Business since

Mattress & More

Additional Locations

Phone: (716) 648-1200 View Additional Phone Numbers 5225 Southwestern Boulevard, Hamburg , NY 14075 http://www.mattymattress.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business offers retail mattress, beds and accessories.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mattress & More meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mattress & More include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Mattress & More
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 14, 2010 Business started: 01/01/2009 in NY Business started locally: 01/01/2009 Business incorporated 01/01/2009 in NY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Matthew Sauer, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Matthew Sauer, President
Business Category

MATTRESSES BEDS - RETAIL

Alternate Business Names
Mattress & More of WNY Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 1079 Union Road

    Buffalo, NY 14224 (716) 675-8900

  • 5225 Southwestern Boulevard

    Hamburg , NY 14075 (716) 648-1200

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/20/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased this latex mattress & box spring from **** ***** at the Hamburg store. According to the setup in his store, the two items looked like a matched set. On April 3, 2015, after he had delivered the two pieces, I noticed the mattress hung over the box spring by 1"-2" all the way around. I immediately called him on his cell, five minutes after he left, and told him to come back, that I was not happy. He told me the mattress would rise higher and the sides would shrink inward within 24 hours. One day later, I sent an email to **** to document my findings and to ask what was going to be done about it. It seems he did not want to have anything documented in writing because he never responded. I then CALLED to tell him the mattress was still hanging over the box spring and also that I measured the box spring and it was only 51.5" instead of the industry full size standard of 53"-54" He insisted the mattress would shrink more so I waited until the Tuesday after Easter to call him again. Not once did he ever reach out to me. He advertises excellent customer service, but I experienced none of that. When I called to tell him the bed he sold me was unacceptable, he told me I would eventually forget about the mattress being smaller than the box spring and that's the way it is. Not only is that ludicrous but he incorrectly assumed I am a simpleton. When I asked him outright, **** finally admitted there is no box spring to match the size of the latex mattress I purchased. So then why aren't customers told that BEFORE they purchase this particular mattress? And why was I given a sub-standard box spring to go along with it? Finally, there were no instructions or brochures with the mattress such as how to care for it, clean it, etc. There is supposed to be a warranty, but no written warranty came with the mattress. If Mattress and More cannot exchange the current box spring for one that fits the mattress, the seller can pick up both pieces and issue a refund.

Desired Settlement: If Mattress and More cannot exchange the current box spring for one that fits the mattress, the seller can pick up both pieces and issue a refund.

Business Response: The customer's issue with the size of the foundation is a due to the sizing measurement they are using. The full size industry standard of 54'' wide is based on the standard full frame size, not mattress or foundation size. Every full size mattress or foundation is going to be slightly smaller since it is designed to fit inside of the 54'' frame. The size of the actual mattress/foundation varies slightly for each different manufacturer and mattress/foundation model, always slightly smaller to fit inside of the frame. Our standard full size foundation is just under 52'' in width to fit inside of a 54'' frame.

When the customer was inside the store shopping I did advise that making the switch from a mattress with springs to a foam/latex mattress sometimes requires an adjustment period. The mattress purchased comes flattened and rolled up in a box, I did advise that due to the nature of how the mattress is shipped that is can take up to 36 hours once opened for the mattress to regain its shape and size sometimes requiring pulling and tugging of the mattress cover to get it centered again . I also advised at time of purchase that the warranty is provided through the manufacturer and proof of warranty is on the law tag sewn into the head of the mattress. This manufacturer does not provide written paperwork on the warranty but it can be found on the mattress law tag. There is no registration process needed from the customer for the warranty, the warranty is active as soon as the mattress is manufactured. Detailed information on the model and manufacturer can also be found on the law tag.
We also display this exact mattress and foundation in our store, showing this particular mattress is slightly larger than the foundation by about 1''. This is a common occurrence in the industry since every mattress model varies slightly in size based on the features and components. I have attached a picture of this mattress displayed in our store, showing the mattress is slightly larger than the foundation by 1''. 
When I spoke with the customer I explained that her mattress does not have a defect nor does her foundation. The mattress and foundation is displayed the same way in our store, showing the mattress slightly larger than the foundation. Since the overlay is just 1'' this does not affect the support the mattress is receiving and the measurements are within the industry standards. I cannot offer the customer a refund since there is not a valid defect and the item cannot be returned since is has been open and in the home therefore it is considered used.

Consumer Response: Please see my response below.  I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

FINAL REBUTTAL
I called ******* ***** IMMEDIATELY, less than five minutes,  after he left my house to tell him I was not happy with the mattress and box spring.  I asked him to turn around and come back but he ignored me.  I also emailed him to document my complaint but he never bothered to respond.  What reputable company would fail to answer a customer's concerns? He kept stalling and telling me to wait and then wait some more for the mattress to take its proper shape.  The box spring he delivered is NOT the industry standard size of 53" to 54" for a full size box spring.  It is 51.5" which is smaller.  For being in the mattress business, I don't know where is getting 52" as the standard for a full size box spring.  I firmly believe he sold me an irregular mattress and he knows that, and that is why he refused to come back to the house after I had a moment to closely study what he delivered.  He could easily have turned around, come back and measured the box spring but he chose not to do that.  He could be right about the latex mattress not being defective, but I won't know for sure until some time passes.  I received NO WRITTEN WARRANTY despite there being a warranty, or so he said.   Quite frankly I'm dreading that something will end up being wrong with the mattress, especially when one considers how Mattress & More conducts business.    I would like my warranty mailed to me. I cannot even go out and spend more money on another box spring because there is no box spring made to fit the latex mattress I purchased.  Mr ***** finally admitted this to me the last time I spoke to him.
I am on disability and saved for several months to buy this mattress and box spring.  At this point, I cannot afford to take Mattress & More to small claims court.   I am so sorry I ever spotted his store and went inside.  I'm appalled that he thinks using deceit, rudeness and insults are professional and ethical ways to run a business.   What a sad legacy to leave for his children. I have always respected the BBB and how they attempt to protect and assist consumers.  There must be some way to warn other people about this company and I would appreciate any help you could offer.  Thank you for your time and consideration.
Respectfully,
******* Mann
Gowanda NY
 




Business Response: When the customer initially called following the delivery of the mattress and foundation it was with concern to how long it would take for the mattress to regain its shape that is temporarily altered during the shipping process. I addressed the customers concern that it can take up to 24 hours for the mattress to reach its full size. At this time the customer made no mention of any issues with the size of the foundation. Five days later the customer called to address their concerns with the size of the foundation, which was determined to be of standard size not defect. We have also addressed the customer's claims that the mattress is slightly larger than the foundation, this is not a defect it is displayed identical to this in our store. If either of the pieces were found to be defective they would be replaced under warranty. We have attached a copy of the warranty for this specific mattress. Since the warranty is a manufacturer's warranty not a retailers we do not have authority to stipulate the terms of a warranty issue. We have also attached a sample of the law tag for this specific mattress which is required for any warranty claims.

Our store return policy is: Unopened and unused merchandise may be returned for store credit. Open product is considered used therefore may not be returned under any circumstances with the exception of defect under warranty. (This is posted in our showroom)  None of the customer's complaints fall into a warranty issue or defect we cannot issue a refund or replacement. The customer is defaming our business with accusations that are not factual or truthful to the events that followed the delivery of purchased items. We stand behind all of our products and honor all warranty issues or defects.

Consumer Response: I have contacted Boyd's in California, who are the manufacturers of the latex foam mattress I purchased.  They informed me that these special mattresses are not meant to sit on a standard box spring. They are meant to sit on one of Boyd's special platforms which they build exclusively for their mattresses.  I was scammed and that's the bottom line.  I feel sad for all the future customers who will end up dealing with this store in Hamburg.  Regards, ******* ****




Business Response: I have attached a picture of the mattress's law tag that clearly indicates the mattress is to be used with or without a foundation. Also as forwarded before the warranty states that the mattress must be properly supported to honor the factory warranty, this is why a standard foundation is necessary. The customer is incorrect with their statement, they received exactly what was displayed in the store at the time of purchase, the latex mattress with a standard foundation.

We have been in business almost seven years and have been selling this mattress since we opened, as a set with a standard foundation. The customer has not been scammed and we have been trying to resolve the issue but since there is no defect or warranty issue there is nothing further we can do. I spoke with **** on 5/20/15 and he stated that in order to use a foundation, the standard foundation was used to support the latex foam mattress. If not used, an equivalent platform bed must be used in honoring the warranty (enclosed). According to the law tag on the mattress (copy enclosed), this latex foam mattress can be used "with our without a foundation". But, if using a foundation it must meet the requirements of the warranty in supporting the mattress. This standard box spring that was sold to her meets the specifications to support the mattress per the warranty. The box spring that is in her house is the same box spring that is in our store on the showroom floor. If necessary, I am still willing to go back to the consumer's house and check for warranty defects, and bring a new foundation with me, just in case it is needed for replacement.

1/9/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The mattress that was on the show floor and recommended was not what we received. It was over an inch smaller in depth. We wanted to return the mattress but they said we could exchange it even though that is not the store's normal policy. We checked other mattresses of the same brand and they were all smaller than the one on the showroom floor. We decided to upgrade and paid an additional $100.00. It was then recommended to us to take a bonus base which splits in half instead of the matching box spring. We were told if we did not find the bonus base to be acceptable, we could then exchange it for the matching box spring. The bonus base squeaks and we wanted to exchange it. We are now told that he would not take the base back but we could buy a new box spring at cost or we could go to a different store to purchase a rug to put under the base which would help with the squeaking. I feel I should not have to buy a rug to correct the problem. I also feel that if the mattress that we were originally shown were the mattress that we actually received, this problem would never have occurred.

Desired Settlement: I think they should not be allowed to have products on the show room floor that misleads the consumer into thinking they are getting something that they are not. Due to the fact that we were in the store complaining, they agreed to exchange the mattress but we were left with no option than to upgrade because the mattresses did not have the same initial quality that we thought we were getting. I just want the better quality mattress at the price that was advertised. I would also like the public to be aware that this appears to be normal practice at this store.

Business Response:

The initial mattress the customer received was smaller than the model on the floor, this was a factory defect. We offered to exchange the mattress for the customer but they did not want the same type of mattress therefore I offered them an upgrade at a discount due to the inconvenience from the factory. I explained to the customer that  we had different options for box springs since this was for a college student and the different options offered different storage levels under the bed. They decided to go with a bonus base frame that eliminates the need for a traditional box spring but provides the same support as a traditional box spring. I told the customer if when they got home and set up the frame that if they were unhappy to call me right away and I would exchange the bonus base for a traditional box spring. I did not hear from the customer until today, two months later, unfortunately once bedding has been in a home an opened I cannot take it back since it would now be classified as "used". I offered to sell them a traditional box spring at cost for their inconvenience. I also explained to them that a bonus base needs to be on a completely flat surface with support so that the bonus base does not move, I was told it is now on a hardwood floor. I suggested that they get an area rug or furniture cushions to place underneath to prevent the frame from sliding and making noise. 
 
I am extremely sorry that the original mattress the customer received was defective from the factory however that was replaced and the customer choose to upgrade in order to have more space under the bed. The squeaking they are experiencing is due to lack or support for the frame, offering them a box spring at cost is all I can offer them. The squeaking there are experiencing is from lack of support on a hardwood floor not defect. I would be happy at any point to give the customer a replacement box spring at cost.
 
 
 
 

Consumer Response:
I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Upon on our original complaint, the reason we did not accept an exchange for the same mattress was because we checked several of the mattresses and they were all smaller...even though they had the same tags on them.  So, if it was a factory defect, we should have been refunded for our original purchase.  Instead, we were forced to upgrade (and pay for it) to get the same comfort level from a different mattress.  As for the base, it was not squeaking until 2 months later - isn't there some type of warranty for this?  A product should not squeak after 2 months...

Regards,

******* ********




Consumer Response: I do not accept the offer to purchase a box spring at cost.  I have already spent more than I originally intended when I had to purchase the upgraded mattress. 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Mattress & More
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart