BBB Accredited Business since

American Homes of the Fingerlakes

Phone: (607) 347-4600 Fax: (607) 347-4647 1968 Dryden Rd, Freeville, NY 13068 http://www.american-homes.net


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business offers the sales of manufactured, mobile and modular homes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that American Homes of the Fingerlakes meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for American Homes of the Fingerlakes include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on American Homes of the Fingerlakes
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 14, 2008 Business started: 01/01/1998 in NY Business started locally: 01/01/1998 Business incorporated 01/01/1998 in NY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jack Baker, Manager Mr. Edward Schell, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jack Baker, Manager
Principal: Mr. Edward Schell, President
Business Category

MANUFACTURED HOME DEALERS MODULAR HOMES MOBILE HOMES - DEALERS


Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: American Homes build our home and placed it on the foundation in October 2012. The front door has consistantly leaked. We have notified American Homes and they have sent someone out to fix the door, but unfortunelty it has not gotten fixed. As of last week the last person American Homes sent out told us that it's because of they way we positioned our house and that is why the door leaks. We now have black mold growing on the door and on the sheetrock next to the door, and there is fungus growing in the basement. American Homes says that we have to take it up with the manufacturer of the home at this point, who is not returning our calls. American Homes is our general contractor they should be the ones remiding this situation and then dealing with the manufacturer if neccessary. My 2 young children are now being exposed to black mold and fungus and no one will fix the issue. The guy from American Homes had my husband spray the door with water from the hose, and watched the water coming in and all he could say is that it's the way we positioned our house.......

Desired Settlement: We want the door, threshold, sheetrock and flooring replaced. Everything that has gotten wet or is molded or has fungus should be replaced. This house is not even a year old. We also have been complaining about this for 8 months and have had to miss work to meet workers at the house, getting compensated for that time would be nice too.

Business Response:   We have been aware of the door issue and tried to resolve it a couple of times on our own, as stated in the complaint.  After we were unsuccessful we turned it into ****** Homes who is responsible for the factory service.  I have enclosed correspondence between the ******** and ****** Homes which shows that ****** Homes has agreed to replace the door and fix any problems the leaking may have caused.     Respectfully,   ******* *****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on American Homes of the Fingerlakes
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)