BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Albany, Buffalo, Rochester & Syracuse regions

BBB Accredited Business since

Global Polygraph Network, Inc.

Phone: (607) 398-9009 Fax: (607) 398-9062 PO Box 4444, Elmira, NY 14904 http://www.polytest.org

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business offers lie detection (polygraph) services & referrals.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Global Polygraph Network, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Global Polygraph Network, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Global Polygraph Network, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 20, 2009 Business started: 04/01/1987 in NY Business started locally: 04/01/1987 Business incorporated: 03/20/2007 in PA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. R. Michael Martin, President
Business Category

LIE DETECTION SERVICE


Additional Locations

  • PO Box 4444

    Elmira, NY 14904

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service
11/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid for a lie detector test from Global Polygraph Network. At the time, I was sick and getting over bronchitis. During the exam interview, which lasted at least an hour, I was coughing throughout. A few minutes before I was to be hooked up to the machine, the examiner, ******* ******, told me that I would not be able to cough during the test or it would not read accurately. Though I was still coughing, he decided to administer the test. He started 5 tests. I was able to complete 2 and coughed at the beginning (or near beginning) of another 3. When I received the results, he insisted that he had "no decision" due to my coughing. Therefore, I have paid $648.00 and have no results. The company is suggesting that since they could not obtain enough tests, they are not at fault and will not re-do my test for free. I do not have any experience with lie detector tests and was relying on the expertise of the examiner. I believe he should have stopped the test and rescheduled for a time that I was not sick and could test without coughing.

Desired Settlement: I would like to get my money back for this test. I know that the examiner incurred fees to get to the location but since I was given no results, I feel that I did not get anything for this. In addition, there was another exam before mine so he would have had to get to this location any way. The amount I paid was $600 plus 8% sales tax for a total of $648.

Business Response: The customer acknowledges that polygraph services were provided to her on 10/22/13. 

First, please note that there are four possible outcomes of a polygraph exam:

1.  Deception Indicated - generally indicating deception
2.  No Deception Indicated - generally indicating truthfulness
3.  Inconclusive - examiner unable to render decision after collecting sufficient data
4.  No Opinion - polygraph charts too distorted or artifacted to analyze

Before and after the exam, the customer voluntarily signed a release form stating "I understand that the results of such a test and conclusions drawn therefrom by Global Polygraph Network, its officers, agents, and employees may prove unfavorable to me.  I also acknowledge the possibility that the examiner may be unable to render a decision based on this exam."

Inconclusive results are usually the fault of the examiner, often due to poor exam or question design.  In this case, however, the customer demonstrated an intermittent cough.  Each exam (chart) lasts about 6 minutes, during which time the person being tested must remain perfectly still except for answering the questions and breathing.  Coughing creates a significant amount of test distortion.  One or two coughs during a chart can often be compensated for, but in this case the customer began to cough uncontrollably during 3 of the 5 exams I conducted, thereby rendering the exams worthless.  It is noteworthy that the customer was able to refrain from coughing uncontrollably during the one hour interview process (before the actual test).  It is not the fault of the examiner that the customer was unable to sit still as she was instructed to do.  The customer acknowledges in her complaint that she did receive that instruction.

By way of compromise, I did offer to retest her at half my regular price the next time I was testing in her area, even though the cause of the "no opinion" test result was out of my control.  This offer still stands.

8/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid $475 to take a lie detector. When test was administered the whole process wasn't explained to me which I later found out. After I supposedly "failed" the questions that were asked to me which I know are truthful, I called the administer and he then tells me other factors could have affected that question which was not told to me during the interview or other questions would have been asked as well so that question could be clarified. He also told me that only 2 of the 7asked were graded so how could he even get a result? Polygraph network is supposed to be bbb accrediated but after testing and looking up where they sent me to be tested, that place is not. I wouldn't have proceeded with the test if I knew this. I wanted a testing site that would be upfront and explain the testing process not someone who after testing me tells me that other factors could affect my results, insist I send them $150 before I can even get an appointment, hang up on me, tell my try to convince someone else and be flat out rude. He didn't even collect the remaing of the fee until I was leaving nor were the results discussed with me alone. I was just sent an email saying I failed. Why would anybody spend $475 if they know they are a liar? I wasn't even provided a receipt. I'm very upset because I was misleaded and I never would have chosen this site if I knew this. My sole purpose was to clear my name but instead I was taken for $475.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund and this to be noted on bbb's website. I do not want anyone to be tricked into a situation like this. It not fair nor is it right.

Business Response: The complaining party did not provide their name, the examiner's name, or the testing location.  Without any information I can not pull up their records.  We handle thousands of requests per year and take examiner complaints very seriously, if founded.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

******** **********

 

 

They said they needed additional information which is included below

Name: ******** **********

Site: ******* ****** (THIS PLACE IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED AS GLOBAL POLYGRAPH HAS BBB STICKER ON WEBSITE)

            ***** ******* ****

            Glen Allen, VA

Test Date: August 7, 2013

Examiner: ******* ***** ***** ******

 

Business Response: On 3/6/13 *** ********** registered with the Global Polygraph Network (GPN) requesting a referral to our member in Richmond VA (**** *****) and paid GPN a $100 referral fee.  We sent the case to *** ***** who contacted *** ********** and proceeded to schedule 3 different appointments, but ********** canceled each one.  Her file was closed after 30 days.  Then, five months later, ********** contacted *** ***** and wanted to go ahead with the exam.  This exam took place on 8/7/13 regarding an issue of suspected infidelity during her current relationship.  The examination results were "deception indicated" to the relevant questions. 

Point #1 = *** ********** did not agree with the test results.  Neither GPN nor the examiner have control over the test results.  They are what they are.  Results are calculated through use of a numerical scoring system approved by the American Polygraph Association and American Society for Testing and Materials. 

Point #2 - GPN is a referral service for polygraph experts.  *** ********** paid us $100 for a referral to a qualified expert, and this referral was completed.

Point #3 - *** ***** is a member of our organization, not an employee or a contractor.  In short, *** ***** does not work for GPN.  Once we completed the referral for *** ********** our obligation to her was satisfied.  GPN did not administer *** **********'s exam.  We do have guarantees published on our web site, such as relating to the examiner's qualifications and time frame that the examiner will offer appointments.  You can find our guarantees at www.polytest.org.  Since *** ***** is not an employee or contractor of GPN, we do not have oversight of his individual cases.

Point #4 - I am not familiar with the "******* ******," the company mentioned by *** ********** in her complaint.  Our members are all individuals, not companies.  I am not responsible for companies I have no relationship with or knowledge of.

Point #5 - GPN is a BBB accredited business.  Our members can choose to be BBB members or not.  We do not claim that our members are BBB members.

Point #6 - *** ********** suggests that she was misled by GPN.  If there is anything GPN did to mislead *** ********** in any way I am certainly receptive to hearing about it.  The information on our web site is extensive and available for all to review before scheduling an exam with one of our members.

Point #7 - *** ***** graciously offered to send the charts from her exam to a qualified QC examiner for a quality control review of the data.  *** ********** declined this offer.

In closing, any grievance *** ********** has regarding *** *****' polygraph examination needs to be addressed with him or his licensing authority.  GPN received only $100 from *** **********,, which constituted our referral fee and nothing more.  We did not conduct this exam for her.  We do stand behind our members, however, so if *** ********** can document any professional misconduct or malfeasance on *** ***** part I would be willing to hear all about it.  Her simple claim that the test results are wrong have no foundation.



Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

******** **********

 

 ******* ****** is the COMPANY that **** works for which is NOT bbb accredited like GPN says their examiners. Therefore I was mislead and no charts or anything where discussed or shown to me after testing so how am i to know they are the actual results?

Business Response: This complaint was filed against Global Polygraph Network, a referral service.  GPN referred the client to a qualified examiner, **** *****.  The client has never disputed the fact that this referral was completed.  The client has never disputed the accuracy of *** *****' credentials that GPN has published online.  GPN has provided the requested service to this client, which was completed on 3/6/13.

The client was not referred to the ******* Agency, *** *****' employer.  *** ***** is a GPN member.  ******* ****** is not a GPN member.  GPN has no direct affiliation with ******* *******  The fact that *** ***** is employed by ******* is immaterial.  GPN has no relationship with *******, contractually or otherwise.  GPN is not responsible for who is and who is not a member of the BBB.  GPN is an accredited member of the BBB.  GPN has never stated or published that each of its members are also BBB members.

It is NOT common practice for examiners to show, produce, or release their charts (work product) to clients.

The client stated that she has no way of knowing if her results are "actual" results.  *** ***** offered to have his examination results Quality Controlled by an independent expert.  The client declined this offer.

GPN has provided the service requested by this client.  GPN has represented its member's credentials accurately on our web site.  GPN can do no more for this client.


12/18/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable