BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Albany, Buffalo, Rochester & Syracuse regions

BBB Accredited Business since

TurnKey Internet, Inc.

Phone: (518) 618-0999 175 Old Loudon Road, Latham, NY 12110 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.turnkeyinternet.net

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business is offers web hosting and Internet access.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that TurnKey Internet, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for TurnKey Internet, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on TurnKey Internet, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 07, 2007 Business started: 06/01/2001 in NY Business started locally: 06/01/2001 Business incorporated: 08/22/2006 in NY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Adam Wills, President Mr. Dylan Youngs, Direct Marketing Ambassador
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Adam Wills, President
Business Category

INTERNET - WEB HOSTING INTERNET SERVICES WEB DESIGN

Industry Tips
Developing a website Internet Domain Name Registration

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Communication/Mass Email
  • - eQuote
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company is in breach of contract, they say I am in breach of the terms but yet I have had the account with them for 5 months. I resell there services to people in my area and I have had multiple accounts with them but in a business sense. I use this account for personal use only. Had the account 5 months and now they say that the account is suspended for no reason atall.

Desired Settlement: I would like an apology for the constant issue you seem to have against me and that you resume my services with no issues in the future.

Business Response: Respond to Complaint : please see attached pdf document thank you Sincerely, **** ***** CEO TurnKey Internet, Inc

Hello Mr *****, I am truly sorry to hear that you have had an issue with the customer experience here at TurnKey Internet – and I appreciate the frank comments and feedback. While it does pain me to hear we may have fallen short of your expectations, it is very helpful so that we can improve on areas to ensure our goals of providing the absolute best quality network, online service and customer experience.
After carefully reviewing your history with us unfortunately you have been banned and removed from our network prior as a client due to multiple serious infractions which have caused significant costs in damages to our company for bandwidth spike overages and advanced technical support time to mitigate these serious infractions. As such, you were banned and removed from our network (January 6th, 2014, per ticket ************* for Multiple Denial of Service Attacks related to the content you hosted on our network) you are not permitted on our network in any fashion. You were prior aware of this, and did not dispute the findings.
While we appreciate your enthusiastic nature to keep signing up for services with us using different email addresses, and even asking now to remain a client- it is not a possibility to continue to service your hosting needs. For the safety of our network, community and staff it is not possible to permit you on our network in any fashion. The fact is you were prior banned for multiple valid reasons and you were aware of this - and while you attempted to sign up using another email account after being banned per ticket ************* for multiple SERIOUS violations of our terms of service which you did acknowledge in writing via ticket ************* in January 2014 these actions prohibit us from being able to render or renew your monthly services with us on a go forward basis. While we appreciate your position wanting to continue services with TurnKey Internet, we have utilized our option per our terms of service that you agreed to at signup (from each of your accounts that you created) at: http://turnkeyinternet.net/policies/ to discontinue offering you services.
Your web hosting account(s) were un-suspended as notified to you via ticket ************* giving you time to backup and move your data (which it appears you have done) but to further assist you we
A) Provided you with backups ready to transport to your new hosting provider (links provided here for your assistance)
*********************************
B) We refunded your transaction / payment for the last month of service (April 28th to May 28th) paid via paypal on April 28th via Invoice #********* was refunded via Payal for $7.50 via Unique Transaction ID # ***************** on May 30th, 2014.
C) We have also given you access to your hosting accounts via the standard cpanel web interface (other than listed in “A” above) so you can login if you need additional copies or access to your data, we will leave said data in place for up to 5 business days to assist you in your transition. Please be aware on or about Friday June 6th, 2014 access to said backups and data will cease.
I sincerely apologize that your experience has not been as expected throughout your hosting with TurnKey Internet. The TurnKey Internet customer service team takes great lengths to provide polite, prompt and excellent customer service at all times – when we make decisions like these to discontinue our relationship with a valued client such as yourself it is done with careful review and thorough understanding with the safety and quality of service in mind for all our community and valued clients. I wish you the best, and hope you do find the right hosting company to work with going forward.
Sincerely, **** *****
CEO, TurnKey Internet, Inc

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

They were business accounts, I resell your products in my area when I sell my web designs, you can see this account has nothing in the company field as it is my personal account.

 
I've have this account for 5 months and not one issue has occurred.
 
Since I bought my hosting/reseller from you I have been constantly discriminated against, for what reason I do not know.
 
Regards,

**********

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

6/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/3/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They provided me a lot of illegal softwares/scripts. And they hosted these softwares/scripts on their server from April 21st, 2010. I don't know why a company which such a illegal action can still stand on BBB.org? Here is a youtube video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2HF8iE6obfE

Desired Settlement: I've purchased their services for resell, I've paid a lot of money to setup a server, billing system... but now they terminated my service and didn't give me a chance to take me files back. They said they will give me 24 hours but after 7 hours of their email, I couldn't login to my account to get my backup.

Business Response:

Hello, per BBB policy, this is a Open legal matter as the person who filed this claim is currently under investigation for EXTORTION, as the person who made this complaint actually attempted to unlawfully obtain money and services through coercion.  We already have a legal investigation, and criminal investigation in process and it would be in-appropriate for this complaint to continue in its current form.

We request the BBB forward to us, and law enforcement copies of the hand written submittals, and/or electronic submitals including name, address, ip address, and any other details as this is an open legal matter of serious concern.

You can see the attached image as evidence of the extortion, and the entire thread discussion (as this person further attempted to extort us over these claims online, including the BBB).  The image is attached, and we will forward hard copy items as required, and as the criminal investigation into ** ***** continues we will need to include the BBB complaint in the evidence as well.

 You will also see ** *****'s own admission of committing this crime of EXTORTION in this regard here:********** where he openly admits to the extortion and why this is now a criminal and legal mater (i've copied that screen shot too where he admits to it). 

 This complaint should be removed, as it remains outside the scope of the BBB as a pending criminal and legal mater. 

As to ** *****'s claims (irrelevant to the EXTORTION which is now under investigation), the same statement below is accurate to fully explain the questions ** ***** raised and issues revolving around it.

 What you may not be aware of is the motives behind what prompted user ********** to make the post and continue the post -- even though the issue had been handled promptly and professionally within 1 business day back on Nov 27th - Nov 28th: he is actually demanding a $20,000 payment and free hosting for life to "keep quiet" about the issue (this should shed light on the motivations behind his original post). While it doesn't change the fact that our staff had to remove some 3rd party content - the $20,000 demand to 'keep quite' and submitting select information to the moderators here at WHT to further try to leverage a payout certainly opens up some questions of their own.

Now, we would not normally reveal how things are done behind the scenes -- especially when it's a pending legal item -- but due to the fact even one of WHT's lead community forum moderators is questioning our good business practices and free bonus/service offerings, we believe it's prudent to respond concerning TurnKey's practices to clarify the true nature of these circumstances.

 Our Ultimate Web Hosting Reseller package offers a unique blend of traditional hosting features along with several unique additional free bonuses -- these include legal documents, advertising credits, SSL certificates, training videos, web scripts, web site templates, web conferencing reseller access and many of the more traditional items combined with cPanel hosting such as web site templates through ** *********** ***, and auto-script installations from ***********, ********** and ************. We don't actually create or package any of the downloadable content or web scripts, but rather license them from third-party vendors. For instance, we have a contract/agreement with ************* for our legal documents, the training videos come from another vendor, and the web scripts come from several vendors (though the ones in question here came from a vendor named "****** ****** ********").

The items from ****** ****** ******** are the ones which had questionable content which we have since removed from offering (and replaced with new content) as soon as it was brought to our attention. The other links are items not necessarily being currently distributed by us any longer, utilized, or plan to be, but serve as examples of what we purchased rights to over the last 18 months. As can be clearly seen, we contracted with 3rd party vendors in good faith to provide their content they claimed to be valid and in good standing. While internal verifications were made -- such as making sure the sites we purchased from were not brand new domains, or transacting with unverified PayPal accounts, etc. -- even those standard, good-faith business verifications did not shield us from the specific vendor that provided us with questionable content. While we did test/investigate all the different components we offer, the plethora of scripts and components in this vendor's reseller pack(s) contributed to our not catching the questionable files contained therein sooner. We have been investigating this (after being notified by the client **********, and subsequently removing the content immediately), and currently our legal counsel are in progress to deal with the matter directly with this vendor.


This oversight in the vetting process of that content is one we have since rectified by having our staff thoroughly examine every script (including those we offer through ***********, **********, ************) as well as all the other 3rd party licensed content to ensure compliance with our quality standards and Terms of Service. We removed most of the content in our downloadable bundles provided by these 3rd party vendors (listed above) to avoid any further possible questions, and have instead focused on adding embedded options to cPanel (such as ************ this week, in addition to what we had prior) rather than downloadable external bundles.

Some of the videos, web scripts and templates were added recently, even though purchased as far back as 2010, and some of the content has been there since 2010 (such as the ************* legal documents). We also contacted our resellers to let them know about the change in the content we had made over the last week, and provided new features for the content we recently removed. A surprisingly few number of people prior had ever downloaded the script bundles (probably due to the huge size of the files), compared to the number of clients on the hosting platform. This partly may explain why user "dasknley" was the first to notice and notify us even though the content may have been available for several weeks or months. We also completed scans through our reseller hosting servers for matching content in the script bundle in question to locate and contact any resellers who had unknowingly deployed any of this content already, so as to help avoid any continued issues.
I will directly reply to this to help clarify (as the motives of the original poster may have helped cloud (no pun intended) the view of Bear and others who were reviewing just 1 side). The free offers we have on our ultimate webhosting reseller package are as follows and originate from:

Free Private Branded Help Desk: We are under contract with ****** **** ****, with a license that permits us to do exactly what we are doing with it.

Free SSL Certificate: These are paid for by us from ********** and provided free to our clients.

Free Legal Documents: Under license from ************* (see screen shot above)

Free Credit Card Merchant Agreement: Under contract/agreement through ***********.

Free cPanel training videos and Scripts: Under license; see screen shot(s) above of all the different scripts/offers above. While we removed several in light of recent events -- all were under license from 3rd parties.

Free WHMCS license - we offer these under license from *********, under their partner program.

Free Domain Name Reseller Account: Resold/provided through ************

Free Voxwire Web Conferencing Account: TurnKey Internet purchased this web conferencing company several years ago, and we provided this value-added exclusive service directly to our web hosting resellers royalty free.

To those of the WHT community who wonder about how we do business or operate, I assure you we are deeply disconcerted by the situation and share the same general sentiments. We too believe strongly in legal and ethical practices (as our clients, former, and current will and have attested to here on WHT, as well as our A+ standing with the Better Business Bureau, and feedback in general from clients). We have a strict policy with our clients in our Terms of Service, and the fact that we inadvertently may have distributed questionable software provided to us by a 3rd party is quite disconcerting. We acted swiftly and professionally to resolve the matter. Turnkey was unknowingly defrauded by the vendor providing this content to us -- and we have taken extensive measures to assure such an event will not occur in the future.

We do deeply regret any reseller of ours who may have been affected by this situation, and ask they contact us directly if they have any questions or comments concerning it. There are no excuses here - we dropped the ball by not catching this during our internal check processes - and in no way did we, or do we ever, condone any illegal distribution of software. As some of our 'former' web hosting resellers have attested to here on WHT, we are quick to respond to abuse issues (take down notices, warez script notices) and boot clients fast who show a disregard for these policies. We are sorry we didn't catch this before deploying the scripts- and over the last week we have been (unsuccessfully) trying to clarify with the vendor to what extent the scripts they sold us were (or clearly now, not) licensed so we could more formally resolve the situation, but due to the vendor's lack of reply thus far our legal channel is now working its path through the process.

We hope the community will understand the honest nature of the mistake on our part, but regardless we wanted to at least set the information straight and help unveil the mystery behind the party who has been sending out selected bits and pieces thus far - and didn't want to wait until we complete our legal channel process (which could be months) leaving these sorts of damaging questions left open in the mean time.

Any reseller client who has questions about this, please contact us directly at the contact links below, an account manager will be happy to clarify and assist with any questions you may have.

Thank you

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

As they stated on their reply, they only showed only the lastest screenshot, I think you should request full screenshots from them to clear all things the hid. They linked to a website that they have relationship, they are corporate member of this website, they paid at least $375/quarter to get this membership and of course the website will protect him to avoid revenue loss. They might request the moderators to close the thread on this website to keep my mounth shut because they couldn't answer my questions which I've posted several times on the website.


They stated that I was "under investigation for EXTORTION" but they didn't get any evidence but just a screenshot from the very long support ticket which they said very much. I'm very happy if you could get this problem higher, to the court or the law. I really want to see what they will show to prove they are not guilty, of cousre they don't have any thing to say because they were guilty. And they are lieing because I haven't received any legal letter from the court or the police to cooperate to the investigation.


I believe the invoices from ************ they provided are totally fake because you could see that ************ offered INSTANT DOWNLOAD, they paid the invoice on 1st April, 2010 but why all the file I downloaded dated 21st April, 2010? (See the image_1).


In the email they sent to me they said that: "we do NOT compile, or build software/scripts" but please notice the blue spot on image_1 it dated 28 November, 2011, this image proves that they have complied, compressed the file to RAR archive and uploaded to their server.


There are a lot of lieing things but I just prove that what they said is unreliable and they are lieing about the legal investigation. Because I'm not living in the US so I couldn't go to the court, if you could, please help me make a statement to the court or the police to open the investigation about them and this problem.


Many Thanks,

****** *****

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

1