This Business is not BBB accredited

ChicagoVPS

Phone: (716) 435-7305 9697 Garden Walk, Clarence Ctr, NY 14032 http://www.chicagovps.net View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers website hosting and data storage.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for ChicagoVPS include:

  • 31 complaint(s) filed against business
  • 1 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved

Factors that raised the rating for ChicagoVPS include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 31 complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

31 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 21 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 11
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 11
Total Closed Complaints 31

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on ChicagoVPS
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 09, 2012 Business started: 11/01/2010 in NY Business started locally: 11/01/2010 Business incorporated: 03/30/2011 in NY
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Chris Fabozzi, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chris Fabozzi, Owner
Business Category

INTERNET - WEB HOSTING COMPUTERS - NETWORKS

Alternate Business Names
CVPS Hosting New Wave NetConnect LLC

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    9697 Garden Walk

    Clarence Ctr, NY 14032

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/10/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a VPS instance on 02 Feb 2015 and paid my invoice immediately upon receipt. Being a virtual server, I was expecting the provisioning of my system to be performed relatively quickly. Indeed, many VPS providers can provision and deliver a new system within minutes. I received no updates on my order at all, except that my payment had been received, so I figured that perhaps it was going to take a few hours. The next day (03 Feb), having still not received any updates, I filed a ******* request using their ticketing system. I received no reply. On 04 Feb I attempted to email their ******* staff directly, at their published ******* email address (*******@chicagovps.net), but my email was rejected ("bounced") by their mail server, indicating that they were unable to receive emails at the time. With their email system apparently broken, I filed a second ******* ticket. Finally, late in the afternoon, I received a response: "Your VPS will be up tonight, we had to ship some parts to build a new machine today." Was my system up that night? No. Was it up the next morning? Still no. So, on the morning of 05 Feb, I responded via their ticketing system, letting them know that the system was still not up. Having gotten a taste of how poorly the company operates, and not having received delivery of my paid-for services, I requested that my order be cancelled and refund be made. That seemed to get their attention, and they responded very shortly thereafter saying that my server was up, ignoring my request for a refund. I attempted to connect to the server, and it was in fact not up. I responded to them again, explaining that the server was in fact not up, and again requesting a refund. They responded once again saying that yes, it was up, again ignoring my request for a refund. I attempted to access the server again, and still, the server was not up. I responded again letting them know the situation, and explaining very clearly that I wanted a refund and that that would the last time I'd ask before filing a complaint with the BBB and potentially my bank. They once again ignored my request completely, and instead asked me to help troubleshoot the problem by sending them traceroute output (information that might help them figure out why their server is still not available). It was at that point that I filed this complaint.

Desired Settlement: I would like my order to be cancelled, my account removed, and my payment refunded. They have not delivered what I paid for, and their poor customer service has shown me that they are not a company with which I want to do business.

Business Response: Hello,

The customer did recieve service, and as stated in the ******* ticket the server was up and working. According to our ToS we do not offer refunds, and can only give account credit.

Regards

**** *******

3/3/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Hosting VPS Service from ChicagoVPS after I got an email from them soliciting for business. I contacted them by email and they seemed genuine so I placed an order for a 30 day trial and a subsequent 2-years service for VPS. The order was placed about January 10th, and I was sent an email that order was processed. They immediately went and collected $99 from my credit card, rather than wait for a 30 day trial. Second, since signing up, they have not delivered a working VPS server to me. Instead they take a few days to reply to my support requests, and constantly give bogus excuses for the problems why I cannot have a VPS server to host my website. Their excuses started with Domain Name Servers. I setup another domain, the same way, with Name.com and another hosting company, and everything worked perfectly. Still I went through all their hoops and did everything they asked and the server is still not delivered. They have no idea what they are doing and there is no REAL support of any nature. They just sit by the computer and charge people money and hope to keep their money. I have sent dozens of support tickets to them, called them but they don't call back, and virtually begged them to resolve this and deliver what I purchased from them. They completely ignore everything I have emailed them. And give vague excuses why the server does not work. On top of all that, on their website they claim that they are BBB ACCREDIT BUSINESS - however when I check with BBB they are rated as NOT ACCREDITED BUSINESS, another one of their lies. Additionally I have found dozens of complaints against them online including RIPOFF REPORT (http://www.ripoffreport.com/r/New-Wave-Netconnect-LLC/Clarence-Center-New-York-14032/New-Wave-Netconnect-LLC-Chris-Fabozzi-123Systems-Solutions-ChicagoVPS-Chris-Fabozzi-Ne-1172744), FRAUD (http://www.lowendtalk.com/discussion/1404/chicagovps-net-overselling-lies-and-overall-customer-fraud) ... and a dozen others. I have asked for my money back well inside the 30 days Return Policy - but they refuse to answer my ticket and I left a message and they refuse to return my call or issue my card with a credit for the service they never delivered. I also offered them to deliver the service - and I will not cancel. But again, they cannot deliver the server. They are a scam, they have lied to me, and they conduct their business with fraudulent lies. I will next report them to Attorney General of NY and start other proceedings against ***** ******** apparently the owner.

Desired Settlement: At this time, I have given up with a company who has spend the last 3 weeks lying to me and playing smart tricks and games to avoid delivering a working VPS server for what they charged me. Full REFUND of my money.

Business Response: Hello,

"I placed an order for a 30 day trial and a subsequent 2-years service for VPS." We never in the 6 years of operating offered a free trial. I am not sure where you got that information but it is not true and is posted no where on the website when ordering.

"on their website they claim that they are BBB ACCREDIT BUSINESS - however when I check with BBB they are rated as NOT ACCREDITED BUSINESS, another one of their lies." Where on the website does it say we are a BBB accredited business? This was removed months ago because we stopped paying for the subscription to the BBB. We were at one time accredited.

 "Additionally I have found dozens of complaints against them online including RIPOFF REPORT (http://www.ripoffreport.com/r/New-Wave-Netconnect-LLC/Clarence-Center-New-York-14032/New-Wave-Netconnect-LLC-Chris-Fabozzi-123Systems-Solutions-ChicagoVPS-Chris-Fabozzi-Ne-1172744), FRAUD (http://www.lowendtalk.com/discussion/1404/chicagovps-net-overselling-lies-and-overall-customer-fraud) ... and a dozen others." - The Ripoff report has nothing to do with ChicagoVPS. Its about 123Systems that we do not even control or own.

"I have asked for my money back well inside the 30 days Return Policy" -
It specifically says in our ToS that we do not offer refunds. Again, you are bringing up false information. The best we can do is a credit on account.

Regards

***** *******

1/2/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The website's services from chicagovps.net misrepresented the service they offer as "automatically setup" during a migration of my servers files i had a few hours to migrate everything, i chose to purchase a vps ( virtual private server ) with the clear indication given by the website that it would be automatically setup. This was not the case the vps was unusable for over two hours after purchase. leaving me with no alternative other then to go with another vps provider. *Late delivery of a product was needed in a timely manner could have very well cost me 20 hours of work if not more. *Customer service about this matter has been extremely difficult "no refunds policy" as a answer for every problem. *Finally reached the owner only to be told again "no refunds" *Long response times between support tickets and having to explain the situation over and over. My personal recommendation is to absolutely avoid this company, misleading with horrible customer service.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund threw paypal, and to close the current dispute that we have open threw them, there is no reason a customer who has not used your service, has no intention of using your service because you failed to deliver in a timely manner can not be refunded.

Business Response: This order was put in over the holidays. We were waiting for a new machine to arrive.

In our ToS that the customer agreed to, we have 48 hours to provision a service. There is no issue here.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

***** *****




1/2/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My VPS went down for many hours multiple times. The VPS was brought back up but it was unusably slow. I requested that they move me to a different machine. After making up lots of excuses... * Their main server was down. When it wasn't. * Lots of back and forth things, that required me to answer and waiting for their reply for many hours. ie. I would have to change my ip address, I would have to backup, etc. They said they moved my VPS but instead they just removed the old one. So now there is no service at all! According to their website they have a 99.9% uptime guarantee, but they're no where near this... http://www.chicagovps.net/about.html The money they have to pay their support staff to answer emails and going back and forth, they could have spent less time just moving my VPS as requested.

Desired Settlement: A working VPS like I purchased.

Business Response: The customers issue is being looked at and will be resolved

12/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ChicagoVPS customer service for the past two months has been unable to provide proper service to allow me to operate the VPS that I have paid for (yearly). The first ticket (#**********) I had to figure out how to fix the issue myself when a simple less than an hour fix would have solved the problem. Yet this ticket was open for multiple weeks leaving me without service. The second (and current) ticket (#**********) support not only replaced my VPS service with a new one (I didn't ask for) they still are completely unable to solve a simple problem that would have resolved the issue in less than an hour. Their support staff simply replies to tickets with "working on it" or "please hold" while virtually nothing is done that's related to the original request. Requesting that a senior support staff resolve the issue ChicagoVPS simply relabels the ticket to "level 1" and no one works on it.

Desired Settlement: I would like the original VPS that's still running reattached to the account, web controls to shutdown and restart to work with the old VPS, and all issues in the current ticket resolved.

Consumer Response:

Consumer filed another complaint:

Complaint Detail / Problem
Nature of Complaint:
Advertising Issues - An advertisement misrepresenting a service
Problem:
At http://chicagovps.net/ ChicagoVPS displays an BBB accredited logo. From the information found here http://www.bbb.org/upstate-new-york/business-reviews/internet-web-hosting/chicagovps-in-clarence-ctr-ny-235967102/ ChicagoVPS is not accredited.

Desired Settlement / Outcome
Desired Settlement:
Desired Outcome:
ChicagoVPS should remove the accredited BBB logo.

 

Complaint Overview
Identification
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
CID: 10317879 Date Filed: 11/21/2014 5:22 PM Type: Business Complaint
Better Business Bureau, Inc. (Upstate, NY)   [more]
Via: Complaint Form
Export: BBB Internal/Hard Copy  |  BBB Summary
Assigned: Complaint Handler ext 283, Jessica, - [ Assign Complaint | Claim Complaint ]
     Case Number:  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Serious Complaint Type
 
Arbitration/Mediation Offer Details
Submit this Business/Complaint as Potential Pattern of Complaint.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Business-level Alert(s)
 
Consumer Information
Date Filed: 11/21/2014
Sal: Mr.
First Name: Derek
Middle Name: Evan
Last Name: Schrock
Suffix:
Address:
 
6814 Thomas Blvd #4 

Pittsburgh Pennsylvania 15208 
UNITED STATES
Daytime Phone: 7248404695
Evening Phone:
Fax:
Email: derekschrock@gmail.com (email)
Business Information
blue: Click here to MANAGE this Business
Rating: C-
TOB: INTERNET - WEB HOSTING
Complaint History: View Complaint History
Business ID: 0235967102
Name: ChicagoVPS
 
Address: 9697 Garden Walk
City: Clarence Ctr
State/County: NY
Zip/Postal Code: 14032
Business Phone Number: (716) 435-7305
Complaint Handler: Chris Fabozzi
Send via: Email
Handler Phone: (716) 435-7305
Handler Fax:
Business (as entered)
ChicagoVPS
9697 Garden Walk
Clarence CtrNY, 14032
(716) 435-7305


 
Complaint Detail / Problem
Nature of Complaint:
Advertising Issues - An advertisement misrepresenting a service
Problem:
At http://chicagovps.net/ ChicagoVPS displays an BBB accredited logo. From the information found here http://www.bbb.org/upstate-new-york/business-reviews/internet-web-hosting/chicagovps-in-clarence-ctr-ny-235967102/ ChicagoVPS is not accredited.

Desired Settlement / Outcome
Desired Settlement:
Desired Outcome:
ChicagoVPS should remove the accredited BBB logo.
 
Complaint Overview
Identification
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
CID: 10317879 Date Filed: 11/21/2014 5:22 PM Type: Business Complaint
Better Business Bureau, Inc. (Upstate, NY)   [more]
Via: Complaint Form
Export: BBB Internal/Hard Copy  |  BBB Summary
Assigned: Complaint Handler ext 283, Jessica, - [ Assign Complaint | Claim Complaint ]
     Case Number:  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Serious Complaint Type
 
Arbitration/Mediation Offer Details
Submit this Business/Complaint as Potential Pattern of Complaint.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Business-level Alert(s)
 
Consumer Information
Date Filed: 11/21/2014
Sal: Mr.
First Name: Derek
Middle Name: Evan
Last Name: Schrock
Suffix:
Address:
 
6814 Thomas Blvd #4 

Pittsburgh Pennsylvania 15208 
UNITED STATES
Daytime Phone: 7248404695
Evening Phone:
Fax:
Email: derekschrock@gmail.com (email)
Business Information
blue: Click here to MANAGE this Business
Rating: C-
TOB: INTERNET - WEB HOSTING
Complaint History: View Complaint History
Business ID: 0235967102
Name: ChicagoVPS
 
Address: 9697 Garden Walk
City: Clarence Ctr
State/County: NY
Zip/Postal Code: 14032
Business Phone Number: (716) 435-7305
Complaint Handler: Chris Fabozzi
Send via: Email
Handler Phone: (716) 435-7305
Handler Fax:
Business (as entered)
ChicagoVPS
9697 Garden Walk
Clarence CtrNY, 14032
(716) 435-7305


 
Complaint Detail / Problem
Nature of Complaint:
Advertising Issues - An advertisement misrepresenting a service
Problem:
At http://chicagovps.net/ ChicagoVPS displays an BBB accredited logo. From the information found here http://www.bbb.org/upstate-new-york/business-reviews/internet-web-hosting/chicagovps-in-clarence-ctr-ny-235967102/ ChicagoVPS is not accredited.

Desired Settlement / Outcome
Desired Settlement:
Desired Outcome:
ChicagoVPS should remove the accredited BBB logo.
 
Complaint Overview
Identification
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
CID: 10317879 Date Filed: 11/21/2014 5:22 PM Type: Business Complaint
Better Business Bureau, Inc. (Upstate, NY)   [more]
Via: Complaint Form
Export: BBB Internal/Hard Copy  |  BBB Summary
Assigned: Complaint Handler ext 283, Jessica, - [ Assign Complaint | Claim Complaint ]
     Case Number:  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Serious Complaint Type
 
Arbitration/Mediation Offer Details
Submit this Business/Complaint as Potential Pattern of Complaint.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Business-level Alert(s)
 
Consumer Information
Date Filed: 11/21/2014
Sal: Mr.
First Name: Derek
Middle Name: Evan
Last Name: Schrock
Suffix:
Address:
 
6814 Thomas Blvd #4 

Pittsburgh Pennsylvania 15208 
UNITED STATES
Daytime Phone: 7248404695
Evening Phone:
Fax:
Email: derekschrock@gmail.com (email)
Business Information
blue: Click here to MANAGE this Business
Rating: C-
TOB: INTERNET - WEB HOSTING
Complaint History: View Complaint History
Business ID: 0235967102
Name: ChicagoVPS
 
Address: 9697 Garden Walk
City: Clarence Ctr
State/County: NY
Zip/Postal Code: 14032
Business Phone Number: (716) 435-7305
Complaint Handler: Chris Fabozzi
Send via: Email
Handler Phone: (716) 435-7305
Handler Fax:
Business (as entered)
ChicagoVPS
9697 Garden Walk
Clarence CtrNY, 14032
(716) 435-7305


 
Complaint Detail / Problem
Nature of Complaint:
Advertising Issues - An advertisement misrepresenting a service
Problem:
At http://chicagovps.net/ ChicagoVPS displays an BBB accredited logo. From the information found here http://www.bbb.org/upstate-new-york/business-reviews/internet-web-hosting/chicagovps-in-clarence-ctr-ny-235967102/ ChicagoVPS is not accredited.

Desired Settlement / Outcome
Desired Settlement:
Desired Outcome:
ChicagoVPS should remove the accredited BBB logo.
 

Business Response: ********

This issue was resolved, Im not sure how to control the number of complaints as they do not give us enough time to complete what they ask before coming here to complain.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The issue[s] wasn't/weren't resolved.  I felt it was best to walk away from the company and leave my $80/year service. 

The company had ample time to resolve the issue however their support staff was unable to resolve the issue due to 1 not understanding the problem I asked to solve, and the system they use.  It would take 2+ weeks to get any type of meaningful replies that came to fixing any issue.  In every instance the canned replies such as "We're looking at this" or "Your problem has been fixed" (when it wasn't at all) would be the only replies I would receive.


Regards,

***** *******




Business Response: Hello,

I was under the impression that everything was fixed, as this issue was over 65 days old. If you want to reopen your ticket I would love to resolve this issue.

Thanks

*****

11/14/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On August 13th 2014 I purchased a 3 month rental on a Web Server from Chicago VPS. Today it is October 21st 2014 and I still haven't received a usable Web Server from Chicago VPS. My intention was to migrate my existing Web Server over to the new one I purchased from Chicago VPS. This migration was time sensitive and required that I accomplished the move within a week in order to avoid additional fees from my existing host. The Server I purchased from Chicago VPS was misconfigured and this caused a delay of over 1 month. I wasn't able to install an operating system on the Web Server because Chicago VPS didn't install an SSD until the 24th of September. It turned out that the Server I purchased wasn't compatible with Windows Server 2012 which I intended on using. Because of the incompatibility and the extra $140 I had to pay to my existing host for keeping them an extra month due to Chicago VPS's delays, I requested a refund at that time (September 24th 2014). I was told that they don't provide refunds and that I would get credit instead. I've been patiently waiting until today and they still haven't delivered me a Server. It turned out that they couldn't get the Server I ordered working, so they decided to "upgrade" me to a slower machine. They have since made me wait another month without delivery causing me to pay 2 months with my existing host for a total of $260. What finally caused me to write to the BBB is because I was told in writing after several apologies that I would 100% have my Server... yesterday. Well it's the day after and I STILL haven't gotten my Server and when I just inquired about it in a Trouble Ticket, they replied with. "Hello, I am sorry for delay. We will get back to you." That's when I decided enough is enough and that these guys are going to jerk me around forever. If anything, I need to at least report t his to the BBB to let you guys know how these guys are treating their customers. They're not taking any responsibility and they've gone back on their word several times and have NEVER delivered on anything they've promised in any timely manner. They've said "sorry" to me several times in writing but have never offered any type of compensation for what the delays have costed me.

Desired Settlement: I want a FULL MONEY BACK REFUND on my credit card. I'd also like for them to pay for one out of the two months that they've caused me extra payments with my existing host which is $130/mo. It's because Chicago VPS took over 2 months and never delivering me my Server that I had to hold onto my existing host and continue to pay them. Chicago VPS already took my money of $120 upfront and wouldn't refund me the money after several requests on my end. This forced me to have to wait and not procure myself another provider. They've costed me over 2 months in time and over $260 in fees with my existing provider. They've also costed me delays with my business and my clients.

Business Response: Hello,

I have offered the client 6 months free ( $240 value ), and still credit his account $120 for mistakes made on both ends. We always complied with what the client wanted, but as stated, mistakes were made and we have offered compensation for it.

Regards

*****

11/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a dedicated hosting service for a year at this hosting provider. I selected the option to pay the full annual fee instead of the monthly payment. I did not want to continue using the dedicated server or pay for it the second year, but I found out that ****** had automatically sent out a payment of $360 due to the pre-approved payment setup for this host on the day before the next annual billing cycle starts. I immediately contacted ChicagoVPS using the online support ticket system the same day to cancel for refund. They neither refund or cancel my host. They completely ignored my next several requests for refund. I also signed up for a virtual server (VPS) at this company and paid an annual fee a while after I requested for my dedicated server cancellation above thinking that they were working on my request. The virtual server never worked ever since. I also submitted many support tickets and requested for refund but they were slow on replying my requests and did not issue refund for a non-working server.

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive refunds for my two payments. First, I requested to cancel the dedicated server before the next billing cycle started. Second, the VPS server never worked. A $360 for the dedicated server and $162 for the VPS server.

Business Response: Hello,

As explained we do not offer refunds only account credits. According to the ToS that you agreed to, it is the clients responsibility to maintain their Subscription Payments with ******. It also states that the only way of cancellation is by submitting a cancellation request via the billing panel. Opening a support ticket does not count as this, and thus is not cancelled correctly.

Regards

***** *******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I submitted the cancellation support ticket the day before the next billing cycle starts because I did not know or remember that I have to go through their cancellation request menu. I believe any fair customer service would remind me to request for cancellation the correct way instead of ignoring the support request for a long time. I attached the printout of the support ticket that they merged in with my other requests for my other servers with them. I also attached the printout of the dedicated server showing the billing cycle dates. They never offered me any refund or account credit and my server is already cancelled a few months into the fully paid for the annual billing cycle.

 
The VPS server that I paid $162/year never goes online since I signed up. According to their ToS, does this mean that I wouldn't even get a refund for a non-working service? I think Chicago VPS is trying to misrepresent information and their company is fraudulent. They trick people into their service using offers like more than 50% off service and low price hosts. The people that signed up, like me for example, finds out that their service is not as expected.

Regards,
**** ***




11/8/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They guarantee the servers will be set up within 24 hours on their website and then in their terms of service say they will take up to 7 days. The Terms of Service are not on the same page as this claim, which is easily accessible within one click of their homepage.

Consumer Response: I want them to change their website to reflect what they actually will do

Business Response: Hello,

We usually do setup within 24 hours, and in rare cases have a backlog and like the *** says, we reserve the right to take up to 7 days.

Regards

***** *******

Business Response: *******

I will have the site updated to reflect your needs. This will be done tomorrow.

Thanks

*****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

****** ********


10/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My Virtual server loses connectivity. Troubleshooting has shown the IP address assigned to my VPS is now in use by another customers VPS. Support has ignored ticket requests and failed to respond to questions, and has recently closed the ticket after failing to follow up. The level of customer service is unacceptable, this service is unreliable and poorly managed/maintained. I want the rest of my money back.

Desired Settlement: i just want the rest of my money refunded and the services terminated immediately.

Business Response: Hello,

I would be willing to work with the client directly. He can email me and we can resolve the issue. *****@**************

Regards

*****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

i have already emailed *****, the company owner, prior to opening this BBB complaint and did not receive a response. the support team, which is my only other option, declined to terminate my services and refund me, and is not competant enough to address the problem i am experiencing with their service. im simply just asking for $10 to be refunded to my card, as this is a big waste of time and isnt valuble enough to me to help this company work through their support-team problems.

 
as chicagovps's owner has ignored my direct contact attempt, and his single-employee support team is also ignoring the problem i am encountering, i am at a loss to ask for anything other than termination of my services and refund for the remaining balance, and previous months of services which were not provided.

Regards,
**** *****




9/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been a customer of this service for a little over a year. About 1 month ago they had a server crash and lost all my data. That was fine, it happens, and I had a backup. They promised this was an isolated problem and I renewed for another year. Since then they have not been able to restore my service, even to the operating system I had before. They also keep telling me the problems will be resolved and never deliver. It's been 2 or 3 weeks and I still don't have a server. I have saved off the transcripts from their support and can provide them if requested.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of $20. At this point it's more the principle then the money because, they have been so rude, and unwilling to provide a refund.

Business Response: Hello,

According to our ToS we do not offer refunds, only Account credit. There should be no issue at this point.

Regards

***** *******

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

That is an outright lie.  According to their Terms of Service page (http://**********.net/tos.html) 1.7.1 it states

1.7.1 Refunds are subject to approval by ********** on a case by case basis. If a refund is deemed appropriate, then ********** will credit your account or refund through ******* 

 I do not want an account credit from a company I believe to be incompitent.  I want my money back, and it clearly say's I'm due it.  FYI... I have support tickets proving the staff is essentially doing nothing, making me wait 4+ days inbetween responding, and never fixing the issue.

Regards,

******* ******




Business Response: Hello,

We are not responsible for your data, as stated it in the ToS. We offer any OS you need, so I am not sure what the problem is. You just needed a fresh VPS and upload your files again. Beyond a new VPS we are not responsible for anything else and is up to the end user to configure the VPS.

We supplied a working VPS, everything else is up to you.

Regards

*****

9/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/9/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Eleven days ago (Sunday, August 10th, 2014) I purchased the "Bargain Bin Dedicated Servers - Xeon E5630 ( 4x SSDs )" service from ChicagoVPS. Two days after payment I still had no server and submitted a ticket asking for an ETA as to when the server would be set up. Their support team answered back claiming that they were back logged with server installs and that the server should be up within 48 hours. 48 hours came and passed. I then updated the ticket letting them know that the time they said has been surpassed and let them know I was still waiting for them to set it up. They responded by telling me that "Your ticket has been assigned to concern person". At this point I responded by asking to cancel my service and provide me with a refund since it had been 5 days and I received no actual service. Instead of doing as I asked, they merely responded by letting me know that the service would be set up by the next day. I respectfully declined and again asked to cancel and provide a refund. They moved me to their billing department Four days later (and no refund, no nothing) I updated the ticket again asking what was going on. At this point they then replied telling me that I was "in [their] list" and that they had a problem with the system for my order and that they'd be upgrading my system. I again told them that I did not want a system, that I had been waiting for my refund, and once more that I no longer want a system. I was then told that I was being moved to the deployment team to which I responded "For the refund?" and they replied "No, they will update you with exact ETA." At this point I let them know once more that I do not want a system or their service any longer and that I had requested a refund over 5 days ago, that I want a refund, and that if I had to ask again I would come here to the BBB to log a complaint and to my card provider to dispute this. They then responded simply telling me that my ticket has been moved back to their billing department. I made it unequivocally blatant that I was dissatisfied and wanted a refund. I tried being patient, but their practices and excuses are ridiculous. I read their terms of service and saw that in paragraph 1.7.1 states: "Refunds are subject to approval by ChicagoVPS on a case by case basis. If a refund is deemed appropriate." I find a full refund in this situation to be incredibly appropriate considering I never received any service.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund in the form of the money being returned to my debit card. If this cannot be done then I'd like it to be credited to my ****** account which I can provide. I would not like an account credit as I will not be seeking any further services with this company afterwards.

Business Response: Hello,

This client has already been refunded and delt with through the support system. Please remove this complaint.

Regards

***** *******

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that they definitely refunded my money (after taking their freaking $25 administrative fee), however I see no reason this complaint should be removed as this complaint didn't even get me my money back. ***** ******* said to me that only an account credit would be offered and that the BBB complaint "did nothing for me[him]." It wasn't until I submitted a dispute through my debit card/bank that they refunded my money. This is not a good/trustworthy business and the complaint should remain on this website as a testament to that and a warning to others.

Regards,

******** ******

PS: They still haven't even removed the service from my account. I submitted another ticket asking them to close my account and it's been sitting in their billing department for several days now! 24/7 support my a**!

8/30/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The provider has not provided any service. I have open multiple tickets and I have received no response. As of 8/14/2014, I have not received any response or any service that I have payed for. I called ChicagoVPS and the representative noted he had been traveling as an excuse to why none of my tickets have been responded to. I will be providing evidence to this. Also, he noted there are no refunds. However, it is impossible for him to enforce this policy if no service has been provided. Giving money for a service then receiving no service or response from a company is fraud.

Desired Settlement: The company provided an email saying your vps is here but the details did not work at all. Also, the package that was delivered was not as described. I want them to deliver the right package or refund me.

Business Response: Hello,

I looked over the ticket the customer opened. One of our techs replied and asked to please check, and sat there without a response so it was assumed the issue was fixed.

If there is still a problem, the customer an reply to the support ticket. There is nothing wrong here, and the service works.

Thanks

***** *******

8/30/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: It has been 6 days without an update on my order. I am complaining about the late delivery of services from ChicagoVPS.

Desired Settlement: As a customer, I think the general public needs to be made aware of ChicagoVPS's false advertising of the delivery of their services. I think ChicagoVPS needs to be held accountable for their actions.

Business Response: Hello,

The customer ordered a special server during a sale which backlogs should have been expected.

In our ToS is says we have up to 7 business days to deliver the product the customer ordered. We delivered it within 6 days which meets our ToS.

We are also upgrading the client to different hardware because previous hardware was having an issue.

Regards

***** *******

8/30/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: promises instant delivery, 24 hours later, NO DELIVERY. ontop of that, customer service is appauling, throwing me between sales and Technical support, when i havent even gotten a product i already paid for. NO ONE is giving answers... am about to create a legal case against company.

Desired Settlement: i want what i paid for, set up properly.. quickly as possible.. its well beyond the time limit promised.. and i am starting to become very aggressive. another outcome is to fix their customer representatives... its appauling..

Business Response: Hello,

I looked over the ticket, and I did not see anything too out of the ordinary and the problem has already been fixed.

Please close this issue.

Regards

***** *******

8/9/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ChicagoVPS's terms of conditions paragraph 1.7.1 states: Refunds are subject to approval by ChicagoVPS on a case by case basis. If a refund is deemed appropriate, then ChicagoVPS will credit your account or refund through ******* Which gives the customer a little safety. HOWEVER, when a customer actually buys a product and get access to parts of the site which non logged in users doesn't get, you'll find a post in the knowledgebase under "Billing" named "Refunds" with this content: We do not process refunds for any account holder. I find this a bad business practice since their Terms of Conditions explictly says "Refunds are subject to approval by ChicagoVPS on a case by case basis." which is the only refund policy you can see, until you've actually bought a product.

I ordered 7 Virtual Private Servers from ChicagoVPS which they yet to deliver. Around 12 hours after payment, a ChicacoVPS representative promised me that the servers would be setup "today". It's now 03:01AM at the location of the business, and 9:01am at my location, and still no delivery of product.

I've ordered and paid for 7 Virtual Private Servers on July 11th, 12:36 AM (GMT -7) but have yet to see an actual product. The support team are incapable of telling me what's going on.


I find the customer service of this company very bad. Short robotic responses and lack of simple kindness and slow as hell

Desired Settlement: I would like them to remove that article, and update their Terms of Service

I would like to get my order delivered with compensation and an official apology.

I would like all of my servers setup and ready for use and a compensation for the hassle I went through.

Better Customer Service Training

Business Response: Hello,

This issue was already resolved via support ticket and the client received a refund in form of an account credit.

Regards

*****

8/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ChicagoVPS is a webhosting provide of Virtual Private Servers. I purchased two such VPS systems, one in December 2013, one in late January 2014, each with a three year term. Since then I have had numerous stability issues with their online service and found the service to be generally unreliable for the purpose they advertise it for, I finally became fed up I asked for a refund and to cancel my service. The CEO of ChicagoVPS contacted me and offered to refund two years prorated fees. I rejected this offer as I have only used six months of their unstable and unreliable service and I countered with a prorated offer of the six months I had used the service. The CEO of ChicagoVPS rejected this counter offer and said he would only refund two years worth of the service cost. I feel that offering to pay for the bad service I actually did receive was a reasonable settlement, I am not going to pay for an extra six months per VPS that I will never receive. The CEO of ChicagoVPS is now in effect holding my entire payment hostage because I won't accept his unreasonable offer.

Desired Settlement: I am willing to settle for six months pro-rated service for the time I actually used the service. This constitutes a refund of $100. I feel this is a very reasonable solution.

Business Response: Hello,

We do not offer refunds, according to our **** Account credit will only be given and that is my final answer since he didn't want a refund.

The $80 covers my administration fee to refund. So its $100 in account credit or $80 cash refund.

Your choice.

Regards

*****

8/1/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Hosting service package that includes certain features (Cpanel) and after checking out and paying for the service using paypal, the following page asked for additional monthly payments for the feature mentioned (that is advertised to be included). I contacted the company to refund me , they ignored all my attempts, i then contacted ****** but they don't cover "intangible" services under their policy. I found that the company knows this and scams people by this mechanism. Collect payments and they cancel the service and if the client complaints or asks for a refund, they know they will never issue it if paid by paypal because its their firm knowledge of paypal policy. I further contacted them but they keep ignoring my attempts. I found other victims and complaints in these links but now hoping to stop these fraudsters from tricking others in to their scheme. Feel free to contact me for further details if needed. Thanks **

Desired Settlement: Full refund

Business Response: Hello,

Our ToS states we do not offer refunds, I was being nice in offering the $80 as a refund. I have a $20 administration fee for refunds, so $100-$20 is $80 that I am willing to offer.

If you want the full $100 we can do it as account credit.

These are the only two options I am offering.

Regards

*****

Consumer Response: hi Jessica (Better Business Bureau):

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 
The company has all my billing details and they can simply issue my refund to the ****** ******* that i used for submitting the payment.
Where do we go from here ?

Regards,

** *******



7/17/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I pay my bill $100 at a time in advance and the billing system draws from this credit to pay invoices as they are created. On April 21nd, 2014 I went to load $100, but I left the default of $25 in the amount text entry and hit OK. I was presented with a confirmation screen, which I declined. I went through the process again, with the correct amount and completed the transaction. Unknown to me at the time, this had created an unpaid and overdue invoice. At midnight on on April 22nd, 2014, the system reconciled the overdue bill by using the credit card it had stored from the $100 transaction. I did not expressly authorize the storage of my card. Later that day I create a support ticket for $25 that was improperly charged. the following day, ChicagoVPS responded by asking me for the last 4 numbers of my credit card, which I provided shortly thereafter. This was the last I heard from them. the charge was never reversed. On April 30th, 2014 I updated the ticket requesting a full refund and a cancellation of my service. This has also not been done and I have received no response from anyone at ChicagoVPS. A total of $125.00 was charged to my account, $9 of which was used to pay a bill. there is still $116 that I want refunded to me

Desired Settlement: close my account and refund $116 to me immediately.

Business Response: Anything added as an account credit is to stay as a store credit used only at ChicagoVPS. If a gift card is bought at a store, you cannot get a refund or use that gift card at another store. The same applies here.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

A credit to a business that no longer has my trust is worthless to me.  This reply took an entire month, and offers no attempt to reconcile.

Regards,

***** *********




6/24/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hello, I've purchased 2 VPS servers from ChicagoVPS.net at February 2014 . The purchase has been made for 3 years in advance. The total of the deal is 60$ per vps for 3 years (120$ in total) I've not managed to receive an uptime for more than 15 consecutive days. The VPS keeps disconnecting, and I'm extremely not happy with the response of the support guys. As of now, my vps is down for more than 12 hours, and still no response on the ticket!!! I've opened 6 tickets from February 2014 until now, all of them regarding the uptime of my servers. Totally disgust by this company. This is unacceptable, and I simply cannot work. I'm unable to maintain my business this way, and I would like to terminate the deal.

Desired Settlement: I wish to receive a complete refund to my directly to my paypal account. The refund would be for the total of 120$ (usd)

Business Response: I read over the support tickets and seems as if the issue was worked on correctly and appropriately. The issues caused by factors on our end. Refund will be denied, customer is still using the service also.

6/17/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 5/30 a dedicated server was requested from this company. On their website they provide the claim dedicated servers are set up within 24 hours. Being that I requested one on a Friday I did not expect 24 hours and instead figured it would be configured on Monday 6/2. I inquired with support on 6/2. Received no response. Inquired again on 6/3 asking for an update mentioning about their promise time frame. I was told "Due to a large sale we made there will be a small delay in setup's. We are trying our best to get them installed." I left them go all day Tuesday and Wednesday. Thursday 6/5 comes along and I inquire again and they asked me which operating system I needed on the server. This information was already submitted when I requested service. Friday afternoon comes along, a week after ordering services and they are still not delivered. I requested cancelation and refund. Monday 6/9 I receive a message from the CEO asking for the transaction ID, this is information, he the owner, should know easily how to look up. I respond with that information. Tuesday passes. Wednesday 6/11 I advise them if I do not receive refund I will be contacting the BBB and my credit card company to dispute the charge. They did not respond to that request.

Desired Settlement: For this company to remove deceptive advertising practices on their website and to refund the charge of 39$ made to my mastercard.

Business Response: Customer already refunded.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

 
The vendor posted refund immediately after receiving information on this claim. 

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

**** *****




1/30/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: VPS is slow and sluggish most likely due to other abusive users on node.

Desired Settlement: Find abusive VPS clients on my node and deal with them so that they dont affect my service. See that Ticket ID: **********] is dealt with appropriately.

Business Response: Hello,

There is no warranty for the product purchased. We offer a service, and has been delivered. The support ticket he supplied has been dealt with accordingly and this issue is now resolved.

Thank you

***** *******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***** **********




10/12/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This buisness have left my order cancelled and don't have refund my money by my request. Paypal litige are OPEN, and ChicagoVPS don't support me with anything.

Desired Settlement: i need to chicagovps refund all my money (9,95 USD) for my cancelled VPS.

Business Response: Hello,

There is no refund required here. The client used the product and decided that he did not want it anymore. There was nothing wrong with the service and no refund will be granted.

Regards

***** *******
Director of Operations
ChicagoVPS

8/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a Virtual Private Server (VPS) from ChicagoVPS on March 20th, 2013. Beginning April 13th, 2013, I began experiencing numerous server outages, and the inability to log on to the VPS control panel to restart the server. Over the next 8 days, I opened numerous incident tickets with the support team for each of the outages, and received various responses stating that the VPS node was experiencing Distributed Denial of Service (DDoS) attacks, which were causing the outages. On April 21st, 2013, I requested to have my VPS server moved to a different node. I received a reply later that there would be a $10 "admin fee" to move the server to a new node. If necessary, I can supply the date, time, and ticket number for each outage experienced over those 8 days. On June 18th 2013, ChicagoVPS experienced a security breach due to a ******* vulnerability that had a patch released by the vendor 2 days prior to the security breach. At this point, the database and filesystem on my VPS were corrupted and unusable. On June 19th 2013 at 7:36AM Central time, I submitted a support ticket to cancel my VPS account. Almost 36 hours later (June 20th@5:08 PM), I received a generic reply to the ticket stating that the support team was close to having the issue resolved, to which I replied that I would still like to proceed with having my account cancelled and a refund issued. On June 23rd 2013, the ChicagoVPS support team finally made a new control panel available to its user's, which I used to submit another account cancellation request. I received a generic e-mail confirmation notifying me that the account would be cancelled within 24 hours. On June 25th 2013, I received an e-mail reply from the ChicagoVPS support team stating that my previous support ticket for account cancellation and refund had been acknowledged and forwarded to the billing department. Over the next month, I was forced to send follow-up e-mails to the ChicagoVPS support and billing teams to inquire about the status of the refund. I sent 4 follow-up e-mails on July 8th, July 14th, July 18th, and July 24th, before finally receiving a reply that they are "only offering credits, not refunds". I replied to the message indicating that my account had already been closed for over a month, and that a refund will need to be issued. The ChicagoVPS service comes with a 99.9% uptime guarantee, and I obviously did not experience anything close to that level of service.

Desired Settlement: Issue a full refund.

Business Response: After reading over the customer complaint, I have decided it is not appropriate to offer a full refund. First of all the client used the services for months before any issues. The denial of service attacks are out of our control, and usually only last 2-5 minutes and would still leave the customer with 99.9% uptime. As for the security breach, this was due to a third party software issue that ChicagoVPS has no control over. The network was not affected by this, and an SLA credit was given. SLA or Service Level Agreements is the standard procedure for downtime in the internet hosting business. We gave as little at 2 month and in some cases more depending on the severity of the issues which is far more than we should have offered in the first place.

Regards

***** *******

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.
The service provider's reply states that I "used the services for months", which is inaccurate.  As indicated in my original complaint, I ordered the service on March 20th, 2013, and started to report issues on April 13th, 2013, which is only 3 weeks. Secondly, the service provider indicates that the Denial of Service (DoS) attacks only lasted 2-5 minutes, however viewing the ******* reports for the ********* node from April 2013 (where my VPS server was hosted), indicates numerous outages in succession, especially on April 13th and 14th, which is when I submitted tickets to the ChicagoVPS support queue. I would also like to point out that the ******* uptime reports for ChicagoVPS ********* node are no longer available at their original location (http://*******), which might indicate that they have not achieved their guaranteed uptime. Finally, the third-party software (*******) that the service provider "has no control over" had a patch released for the exploit 2 days prior to the security breach that occurred at ChicagoVPS, which led to multiple days of downtime and corrupted data.
Regards, ********** ********    

Business Response: In response to the customer, when I said the client used the service for months, he kept using the service after these "problems" occured. As for your statement about ******* uptime, they are not always accurate and are not a reliable source for uptime as we have very harsh settings set. ******* is only used for notifications and is often in accurate, especially during DDoS attacks. he reason we do not use it anymore is because we developed our own and did not wish to pay any longer for something we do not need.

As for the ***** accusation, in saying we did not patch for the update, we did minutes after it was released. If you actually do your research you will see that there were multiple exploits that ******* did not fix and we were victim of one of them, another reason why we still to this day do not have ***** activated for public use. ***** is still doing internal audits and have released multiple fixes since the hack of ChicagoVPS and shows that ***** was not secure in multiple ways, not just the one you pointed out.

Regards

***** *******

8/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hi, I asked the support ticket before i make a purchase if i can buy a license for an external server, which they confirmed in there ticket number #********** which i have a snapshot for your reference, After i paid, they told it cant be done, so i asked for refund. They said i would have to wait for the next day which i did I waited and they never refund me back, i open a dispute on ****** so i can get back my money, There CEO (*****) asked me to close the dispute or he wont refund, which in my part i took his word and i did, and since the day i ordered which June 16th Until today I was never refunded and they ignore my emails and tickets. i am happy i just paid one month ($10USD) which they never refund, I was going to pay the whole year in advance The reason I am filing this claim, because if this what their CEO promise people to close dispute knowing that they cant open it again and dissappear to get away with it, That gives a good idea about what kind company is this. And i wanted to share my experience here and everywhere so people would take their precaution before dealing with this FRAUD company.

Desired Settlement: Immediate Refund

Business Response: Hello,

This client has already been refunded and this is a false claim. Please see attached image.

Regards

***** *******

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 
Hi, I am closing this claim because i got my money back, But i want to respond to ***** (The CEO) since he was the main reason why this claim was sent to BBB in the first place since its was his fault. This was not a false claim, I have send you a print out of both tickets from their ticketing system where i asked before i purchase and they confirmed, and the second one after i bought and he asked me to close a ****** dispute to refund me then ended up not even care to answer me until i mentioned i filed this claim as my last hope, and they refunded me almost 2 weeks after. You can see the attachment and decided if it was a false claim or a true one. I got refunded back thanks to BBB, You can close this claim if you want.
Regards,   **** ****      

7/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Virtual private server host. We (me and my client - I'm a sysadmin) had more than 5GB of data with them. They assured us, on their website, that A) 'security is their top priority', B) 'your data will always be safe', C) '99,9% uptime' and D) '24/7 live support, all problems resolved quickly'. None of these things are true. First, they had a gigantic security breach due to an exploit in ******* that most hosting companies knew and fixed about days ago. The entire network went down for days with no word from them. When they did finally appear, they said that they had everything backed up and would be restoring sites straight away. That didn't happen. The server was left untouched for several more days, and support tickets went unanswered. Today they contacted us and said 'Unfortunately backups for your container from our master backup repository are not available.' And that was it. Not even an apology.

Business Response: Hello, Yes the customer is right, we had a security breach. However, this was due to a third party software we use like he also stated. The customer is wrong and we did patch the known exploits on time and before the breach occurred. I am not sure where he would get such information saying we did not. There was nothing we could do in this situation, as we have no control over *******. What the customer also failed to mention as that not only ChicagoVPS was affected by this, over a dozen hosts were AFTER patches were made. Since our breach ******* has released multiple patches to fix issues that were exploitable. The customer was also compensated 2 months for the downtime.
Regards ** **

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ***, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The security breach in question was due to an exploit in ******* that was known\known to be revealed well in advance of the breach itself. To try and offload responsibility onto ******* for that is one thing, because in the end the responsibility for site uptime and security ultimately lies with the VPS provider, not a third-party software provider. A bad workman blames his tools.

 

However, to try and also dodge the other two complaints using the same excuse?

A) Downtime for extended periods of time with no communication with customers whatsoever

B) Complete loss of my client's data, without warning or apology, despite your staff claiming that backups were available. Many others are reporting data either completely missing or corrupted.

 

If I hadn't made my own personal backups on behalf of the client, he would have lost all of his data since this spring.

 

The most frustrating thing, however, is that CVPS still completely absolves themselves of any responsibility.

Regards,

** **

 

 

4/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company did not respond appropriately and vigorously in preventing a prolonged service outage and complete loss of data. In addition, I expended considerable time and effort had to be expending responding to customer complaints and restoring service that would have been unnecessary if they had responded professionally or may have been partially mitigated if technical support had communicated the possible outcomes instead of waiting for 40 hours while websites and services were down and unreachable. The technical support provided was inferior, the communication was, at times, completely wrong or misleading. They failed to look deeply into the technical support issue I brought even though there had been 7 hours of outages during 8 technical support incidents in the 24 hours preceding the total collapse. Technical support did not take reasonable actions to prevent a catastrophic outcome even though they were provided with up to 8 opportunities in the 24 hours leading up to the calamity that resulted in a prolonged outage and complete loss of data. But for the negligence of the technical support personnel, lost revenue, time and additional costs could have been prevented. They took no steps to insure the safety of customer data even though they had ample information to suspect an ongoing problem that could cause data loss. They also failed to convey the possible serious nature of the failures. Even after the technical support team allowed the massive failure in hardware, they did not provide prompt updates to allow me to make reasonable decisions. After their initial incident report, it took 40 hours for the technical support team to provide the only other update - that all data had been lost and was irrecoverable. They provided no information that this was a possible outcome. On the contrary, they stated they had recovered the files and were rebuilding the server. That was not true.

Desired Settlement: I paid for service that included technical support. In fact, technical support is a primary function of the service they provide. Their failure to provide competent service has cost me time in restoring my service, lost time when my service was interrupted by the avoidable failure and time spent retaining my customers affected by their technical support failure. My billable time is a modest $50/hour. I spent 40 hours without service waiting for technical support to communicate with me in a meaningful way. I also spent time moving my clients to other servers, recovering data, responding to clients and other activities that would not be necessary but for the actions of technical support. Consider that technical support is insurance for websites. They are employed at a modest cost to the customer to prevent calamities like this one. Their technical support failed and they should provide me with a billing adjustment equal to the cost of my time related to that failure. I would like a $2000 billing adjustment. I should note that they offered just one month of free service for all of the time and effort they cost me. That is an unacceptable alternative as it was their job to employ capable technical support personnel that would maintain these systems and keep them running on behalf of their customers. Their failure to provide promised service that resulted in severe costs cannot be trivialized to a single month of free service.

Business Response: Hello,

In this instance, the client thinks he is entitled to $2000 because his data was lost in a Hard Drive Failure. The client is responsible for their own backups of the data as it is stated on our site that we do not have any or keep any. The service is unmanaged and I do not see why the client thinks we are responsible, I offered him 6 months free of service and explained that my offer was far beyond industry standards and even refunded him for the month of service in which the incident happened.

The client will not receive him claim from us. The issue has ended as the client has stopped sending me threatening emails and has since moved on.

I would consider this case closed.

Regards,

Chris Fabozzi

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

First of all, the business misrepresents their service.  They have made announcements regarding their management of backups for both individual customers as well as data centers. The reality is, they did not perform any of the scheduled backups that they claimed they were making and they 'lost' the backup I created manually on September 29 (see Control Panel attachment, 9/29/2012 Centralized Backup)  that would have mitigated this claim.  They offer to restore using the Centralized Backup in the second attachment (Webeau Web Design Mail - CHI-VPS44 Important Service Advisory Notice). 


Finally, they had announced to their customers months ago (early November) that they would be doing their own, regular backup of these servers:

"Hello Everyone,

I just wanted to give a quick update, since a lot of you are looking for one and had a few questions.

First off, I want to start out by saying thank you to all of you that have been clam during this event and understand that sometimes things do happen.

In no way, has WHMCS been effected from this, so no customer personal information such as credit cards, emails, etc. has been stolen.
ChicagoVPS will also be implementing a regular backup service for all OpenVZ products. We will start out in Chicago and work to Buffalo, then to LA. We want to assure you that we are doing everything we can to make sure nothing like this can happen again, and that you can still rely on us for your hosting needs. If you have any additional questions, please feel free to open up a support ticket. Thank you all again for your business.

Regards,

Chris Fabozzi

Director of Operations

ChicagoVPS"

(emphasis added)

I do not appreciate being deceived.  You shouldn't either.  The emails, written by the respondent, clearly state that they have a "Centralized Backup" AND a regular node backup (automatic backup of the physical machine rather than the instance, as Centralized Backup was intended)


These email arrived via Google and are still stored on their servers, preserving the headers.  They can be made available to you if you have any questions.


Lastly, the respondent claims he offered 6 months in free service when, in fact, he said to me that he was going to offer e 1 year.  There was no offer of 6 months.  So, again, the business tries to deceive you and misrepresent the issue.


The following email, written during the outage that triggered this complaint, clearly makes reference to 'restoring' the node and to Centralized Backup.  However, since they did not do 'regular backups' as promised above (see previous quote), and they 'lost' my Centralized Backup, all data was lost for my service requiring me to spend days rebuilding my services.

"
Dear Customer,

The ChicagoVPS team has been working day and night over the past 48 hours to restore our environment and mitigate the impact of the issues we’ve experienced. This evening we have doubled our support staff to help better serve the ongoing support load and to make sure we are providing the highest level of customer service possible. 
At this time all impacted nodes are back online and all customer VPS (containers) have been reinstalled using a fresh template. Our work to recover files continues; that effort is easiest for customers who made use of our centralized backup service. If you’ve used that feature please contact our support team so we may work with you to restore your files. Customers who did not utilize that method may also contact us and we will work on restoration as resources allow. Please understand that this is now an all-hands event and we will work diligently until every customer is online and happy. We are willing to provide whatever assistance is required, without cost, to re-setup your environments as they were before this crisis. Most importantly ChicagoVPS appreciates your business. We understand you have a choice when it comes to your VPS hosting and we promise to work as hard as possible to make our appreciation clear. Thank you for your patience and understanding.

Regards,
Chris Fabozzi
Director Of Operations
ChicagoVPS"

 

(emphasis added)

The evidence clearly does not support the companies response.  They did not 'restore' service for my container, they created a blank container with none of my original data.  The response misrepresents the promises made by the company and the supposed offer referenced in their response.  The  fact is, they have not offered anything beyond 1 months service (equivalent to $25) in exchange for their massive failure and my hours of work restoring my service,

They clearly represented that they were doing 'regular backups' and that customers could rely up their 'Centralized Backup' as well.  Both systems failed in addition to the hard drive failure.  This is the cause for my complaint and they have offered nothing in compensation.

I have been waiting for this BBB complaint to be resolved before deciding if any further action is necessary.

 

Regards,

**** ********

Business Response:

********,

I looked over his account and all communication we had with him. 

Lets clear a few things up that he just seems to not understand, or just doesn't want to listen.

The central backup we offer is free, he made his backup on September 29th like he said. On October 10th we sent out an email stating that the central backup machine has failed an that everyone make a new backup.

It seems he did not do this and is why he was left without a backup.

As for the email sent in early November stating we were implementing free weekly backups, he is correct and we started to do that. What he fails to understand is that we do not have endless pockets and the money it would take to get backups for EVERY server we have was just over $200,000.

That being said it was a process that has just recently ended last month ( 4 months later to be completed ) and his server was part of the later part of the project, it was not an overnight process.

He is just being unreasonable and upset over $7 he spent to store "important data" as he says. If it we that important you would spend more than $7 and have your own backup.

There really is nothing more for us to talk about, and to me the issue has been long since over.

Regards

Chris 

2/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ChicagoVPS.net was running a $30/year special for a decent VPS package. I purchased one from their datacenter in Chicago according to their website. Once I had a chance to use the VPS later that day, I decided that due to it's poor performance and outdated software options, that I was not satisfied. I promptly canceled the service from their website and was told that it would be deactivated in 24hours. When 24 hours elapsed and I did not hear from the company, I filed a billing support ticket. This is where I was finally told that they do not offer refunds. I figured I was in the clear for a refund because their terms of service state that they offer refunds on a case by case basis.. but also make it very hard to do so with a $25 processing fee that no other VPS provider charges. It's simple: I wasn't satisfied, I barely used the service to begin with, just refund and don't give the customer such a hard time.

Desired Settlement: A simple %100 refund of $30 back to my Visa card and this problem goes away. It's simple: I wasn't satisfied, I barely used the service to begin with, just refund and don't give the customer such a hard time.

Business Response:

********,

This client has received his refund quite some time ago, I am not sure why he opened a complaint when he got what he asked for. Here is the support ticket he opened and how we handled it, also attached it an image showing we did refund the money.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I canceled my service in less than 24 hours from the time of signing up, the date was 11/26. I was refused a refund at first, and my VPS service was removed as well. I didn't get a refund of $5 (the service cost $30) until 12/3. I had to fight with the company, fight with my bank, and lodge this complaint (which was totally ignored until today 2/5/2013!) just to get a $5 refund. This company is a scam and the reviews on the internet make that clear. The company's response does NOT resolve my complaint.

Regards,

***** *******

 

2/12/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: hello, on January 14, I have purchased web hosting service that included "Operating System: CentOS 6 x86_64 w/ cPanel & WHM". Yesterday, January 15, I am being told that the "cPanel & WHM" cost extra $15.00 a month. Seller is refusing a refund. I can email a order/contract form as a proof when needed.

Desired Settlement: I should follow the contract or refund money.

Business Response: Hello,

The customer is wrong, and specifically states that the "product" in which they think is missing is just a template and not the real thing. To further explain myself, this means that the program is already installed so the user does not have to manually which takes a few hours. However, it will not work unless a license for the product is purchased, only the trial version will work.

In my eyes the complaint is invalid, and should be considered resolved. The service works perfectly fine, and the client has been given exactly what they paid for.

Regards

*

9/12/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On September 10th I received an e-mail from my bank at 2:05 AM asking me to approve suspicious charges on my debit card. 1) A transaction in the amount of $99.95 at new wave netconnect llc., a computer equipment and software company was approved in WILLIAMSVILLE, new york United States on or around 2012-09-10 at 01:19AM. 2) A transaction in the amount of $37.20 at new wave netconnect llc., a computer equipment and software company was approved in WILLIAMSVILLE, new york United States on or around 2012-09-10 at 01:12AM. These charges occurred when I was asleep. I do not understand how I was charged. I went the website of new wave netconnect llc., and could not find any links to a purchase page or anything.

Desired Settlement: I would like an apology, explanation from the company and a refund promptly processed to my bank account. I would also like the company to ban the person who fraudulently used my information from using their services/products in the future.

Business Response: I have called ******, and explained the charges were already voided earlier today. Everything is taken care of and this should be considered resolved.

Regards,

*****

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. This resolution, however, did leave some concerns and complaints on my part.

ChicagoVPS recommended that I contact them directly, prior to contacting the BBB, in the future regarding refunds or fraudulent charges as the BBB is not the BEST way to solve these sort of issues. Discouraging me and making me feel as if I had done something wrong by filing a complaint against them on the BBB. Also, when they called I have missed their call, and they did not bother leaving a voicemail. 

I wonder if this issue would have been solved as soon as it did if I had contacted the company directly, as the company has recommended.

Also, the charges appearing on my statement were from "new wave netconnect llc" and using a search engine online one comes up with the website http://www.nwnx.net/index.html with the front flash image written in a foreign language. The company, however, now seems to operate under the name of ChicagoVPS with a website of http://www.chicagovps.net/ 

The aforementioned website does not contain any link or information on purchasing a product or service, therefore I  contacted the BBB. Was contacting the BBB the "wrong move" on my end?

Also, if they are an online server provider of some sort, they should be able to take down their old website, which will be the first one to come up if someone were to search them by their billing company's name.

Regards,

 

****** *

 

 

8/2/2012 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I required a VPS to complete a task. After some research, ChicageVPS seemed like a good solution. After reading on their website that my service would be available immediately, I placed my order with a coupon code I found online. A couple of minutes went by, then a couple of hours went by, so I submitted a ticket to find out what was going on. I did not get an answer after 12 hours so I submitted another one. This one was responded to with reasonable time, where they were were not answering the question clearly. Eventually I got a response that said it would be available tonight or tomorrow. I could not wait that long to complete this project so I ordered another VPS from another provider, which was available in 3 minutes. Because ChicageVPS could not provide me with the service I required, I requested a refund. They will not give me my money back.

Desired Settlement: In all honesty, I'm trying to get $7 back, that's not really what I'm concerned with. Although I would like the money back, I wanted the BBB to know about the sketchy practices about this company.

Business Response: Hello,

We explained this to the client when he ordered that we were waiting for new servers to show up to the Data Center since we ran out of space. This took an extra day because he signed up over the weekend and there is no delivery on weekends. Because there was an announcement made publicly multiple times that anyone ordering a new service that it would not be instant, the buyer should have known.

According to our Terms of Service, we do not offer refunds unless there is fault within a service and also says we deem the right to provision that service in a 48 time period if needed. We provided his service within a 48 hour time period, and I also took a look and he has been using our services since the incident. I feel like this was an impulse reaction from anger. He has also renewed our services showing that he likes where he is.

Please disregard this complaint as I see it as not relevant.

Regards,

Chris Fabozzi

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

First off I would like to express that through this whole process I have been very professional with my dealings and find Chris' remark "Please disregard this complaint as I see it as not relevant." offending.  I will be refuting numerous claims Chris made in his previous message.


"We explained this to the client when he ordered that we were waiting for new servers to show up to the Data Center since we ran out of space."

This was not explained to me until 12.5 hours after I opened a support ticket, after my payment had gone through.


"This took an extra day because he signed up over the weekend and there is no delivery on weekends."

I placed my order on May 16, 2012 (I have a payment confirmation email if necessary) which fell on a Wednesday, definitely not the weekend.


"Because there was an announcement made publicly multiple times that anyone ordering a new service that it would not be instant, the buyer should have known."

I did not see any message on their website when I signed up.  I also checked a forum which Chris was active on and actually posted the promotion code I used.  Finally I checked their Twitter and there was no mention there either.  Below are links to the forum site and their twitter, where you can see there was no announcement before May 16th when I signed up.


http://www.lowendbox.com/blog/chicagovps-6-45-512mb-xen-vps-in-chicago/

http://twitter.com/#!/chicagovps


"According to our Terms of Service, we do not offer refunds unless there is fault within a service and also says we deem the right to provision that service in a 48 time period if needed."

I have attached their terms of service from when I signed up.  There is no mention of the no refund policy or the "48 hours" he claims here.


"...and I also took a look and he has been using our services since the incident."

I have not been using the service and as a matter of fact when I got my login credentials, I logged into the box and immediately shut it down.  I logged in to my web account yesterday to find it mysteriously was up again.  I have also attached a screen shot of my current bandwidth usage which clearly shows my usage was minimal.


"He has also renewed our services showing that he likes where he is."

I have not renewed my service, nor do I plan on it.  I just retained access to my account for the time being to retain my proof in this complaint.  I will be canceling my service at the end of the billing period.


In the end, I genuinely  believe this company operates in bad practice and the staff is extremely unprofessional.


Regards,

*** ******

Business Response: This client has already left and refused/did not respond to a refund after the fact. Not much more I can do.

Regards,

Chris