BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Albany, Buffalo, Rochester & Syracuse regions

BBB Accredited Business since

eQueos, LLC dba Prospect Genius

Phone: (800) 689-1273 Fax: (888) 488-9011 View Additional Phone Numbers 250 Jordan Rd, Troy, NY 12180 http://www.prospectgenius.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

eQueos offers IT consulting, programming, networking, and database architecture. Prospect Genius is an affiliate of eQueos and offers online marketing services to local business.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that eQueos, LLC dba Prospect Genius meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for eQueos, LLC dba Prospect Genius include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on eQueos, LLC dba Prospect Genius
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 30, 2008 Business started: 07/01/2005 in NY Business started locally: 07/01/2005 Business incorporated: 08/29/2005 in NY
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Alex Pelli, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Alex Pelli, Owner
Business Category

INTERNET MARKETING SERVICES COMPUTERS - NETWORKS

Alternate Business Names
eQueos, LLC Prospect Genius

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 930-0394(Phone)
X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/14/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Prospect genius is worthless, The only thing they are able to do is get people searching for the exact key phrase to your cite. They make claims of google results but you will only see exact matches to your company name. the same if you had a 50 web site. Never invest in these scam artists. I put almost 2 years into it and at the end when I cancelled they did their best to hide the phone number we used and turned just nasty to deal with. They are just real scum when it comes right down to it.

Desired Settlement: Prospect genius goes out of business.

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern:

Since the desired settlement is for "Prospect Genius to go out of business," there is not much for us to work with on this. The best I can do is to set forth the facts of what happened and correct the erroneous claims made by *** *******. I have attached three e-mail threads that show the interactions between *** ******* and Prospect Genius. Upon reading through these e-mails, you will clearly see that we did all that we could to assist *** *******.

The attachments I have included are three e-mail threads:

  • 1.pdf is the exchange between *** ******* and me and covers the majority of the issue.
  • 2.pdf was created because *** ******* replied to an old e-mail, and it includes discussion with his sales rep ******.
  • 3.pdf shows our attempt to collect payment for services rendered, and *** *******'s reply stating that he successfully ported the number.
In the complaint, *** ******* cites 11/25/2012 as the date he commenced his campaign with us, and 5/21/2013 as the date of the problem. The accurate date of his order was 3/20/2012, and his campaign was terminated due to a past-due balance on 11/18/2013. As far as I can tell, the 5/21 date has no relevance whatsoever to our relationship with *** *******.

There were also repeated assertions that our service is a scam, and that it was worthless. *** ******* paid for our month-to-month service for 18 months. If, at any point, he felt that the program was not worthwhile, he could have canceled it with nothing more than an e-mail stating his desire to do so. Clearly, *** ******* knows that the value he obtained from our services exceeded the money he spent, or else he would not have made 18 consecutive decisions to continue the service. Furthermore, when *** ******* signed up, we honored our 10% military discount despite the fact that his service was not for the United States, but rather for Finland. We had no obligation to do so, and if we were attempting to scam or defraud, what possible explanation could there be for honoring this discount? Along the same lines, if we were attempting to scam or defraud, why would we provide service free of charge for 29 days as we attempted to rectify his failed billing?

*** *******'s campaign was ultimately terminated on 11/18/2013 because his account was 29 days past-due. As you can see in *** *******'s own e-mail from 11/21/2013 (Attachment "1.pdf"), he acknowledges his last payment was made on 9/20/2013. Upon his receipt of the notice of termination, *** ******* began asserting that we "hastily" canceled his account. I then replied with a fully documented timeline illustrating, that in fact, our action was in no way hasty, as it came about a full 29 days after his account went into past-due status. We made several unsuccessful attempts to contact *** ******* to correct his payment issue during the final 29 days of his time with us.

*** ******* was quite concerned about his ability to port the phone number we used for him, an issue he raised in his response to the e-mail that notified him of the termination of his account (Attachment "1.pdf"). In all the subsequent e-mails, I explained to *** ******* that we have no part in that process, other than refraining from reusing the number. So long as no new client is assigned the number, he is free to port it at any time. Despite his failure to properly notify us of the desire to port the number, we still honored his request and refrained from reusing the number. No matter how many times this was explained to *** *******, he continued to assert that we were acting in such a way as to thwart his attempts to port the number. In fact, no such actions were taken, and even if we had wanted to, we would have been legally prevented from doing so, making his repeated claims all the more absurd. We have had dozens of former clients port numbers without issue. The fact that *** ******* struggled with this is regrettable, but it had nothing to do with Prospect Genius, as we do not control any part of that process.

Further backing our assertion that we have no role in the number porting process, *** ******* states in an e-mail dated 12/16/2013 (Attachment "3.pdf") that "the phone number is transferred," which I can only conclude means he was ultimately successful in porting the number.

*** ******* has, for some reason, convinced himself that Prospect Genius has actively tried to harm him in some way, and no matter how many times we attempted to clarify his misconceptions, he refused to listen. *** ******* still owes Prospect Genius approximately $250 for services rendered between 10/20 and 11/20 in 2013.

Sincerely,

**** *****
President
Prospect Genius

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

*** *******

**** has prior to this used his name under the customer service rep and now he claims to be the president. that's fine. i will shed light to the claims as they come about in the response. the third .pdf attachment is missing, mainly because prospect genius finally provided the name of the company who they leased the phone number from, allowing me to port the number. this means most of ****es rant on the email is a filler and not based on facts.

About the 18 months, i was going to quit the service quite a few times. prospect genius then sold the monthly service for 50 dollars to keep me from cancelling. interestingly that's about all i think their service is worth. about the military discount, for them to sell me the deal initially i wanted a discount. their idea was to dress it up as a military discount. i provided the paperwork and it was done. if it had been "free" they would have not required me to provide the information in the first place. ****** with prospect genius is great and that's the reason why i signed up and stayed, but the service is not worth more than 50 dollars per month.

then about the past due account, prospect genius was asked to provide details about porting the number after cancellation. when they sat on this information and then turned nasty after cancelling speaks for itself.

the bottom line is this. had they immediately provided the information required by *******, who is the carrier i ported to, i would have not looked back. it would have been a bad decision made while trying to grow the company. then after the headache trying to get the information it turned to be a nightmare that is not warranted in the business world.



Business Response: In *** ********'s initial complaint, he stated that his desired resolution to this issue was that "Prospect Genius goes out of business." From this we know, quite clearly, that there is nothing Prospect Genius will be able to do to satisfy him.

The main points he asserts are:

1. That Prospect Genius is worthless
2. That we are scam artists
3. That upon his cancellation, we attempted to "hide the phone number" used in his campaign
4. That upon his cancellation, we "turned nasty."

In my original response, I fully refuted these points and I'll summarize again here:
1. If we are worthless, why did *** ******** decide to stay with the program 18 consecutive times? No one pays for something that has no value so clearly, at the time, *** ******** saw value in continuing the program each month.
2. If we are scam artists, we are clearly the worst scammers in history. We honored a military discount for his service in the FINNISH army. If we were trying to scam him, why would we give up 10% of the revenue on our scam? Further, if we were scamming him, why did we continue to provide service for a 29 days after his payment ran out?
3. *** ******** has provided no factual evidence to back up his claim that we tried to hide the phone number in some way. Simply, this is because none exists. We state in our Terms of Service that if the client wishes to retain the phone number that s/he submit that request within 10 days of cancelling. If that is done, we will refrain from assigning that number to another client, thus leaving it available to be ported at the client's leisure. This is exactly what we did. The incompetence of the carrier *** ******** decided to go with to do the porting of the number has nothing to do with Prospect Genius.
4. I submitted all the email correspondence between *** ******** and Prospect Genius during this time when we purportedly "turned nasty." As you can plainly see, at no point did I or anyone else break from professionalism. Beyond supplying all the correspondence for your review, there is literally nothing more I can do to prove the inaccuracy of *** ********'s assertions.

The majority of *** ********'s dissatisfaction stems from his difficulty in porting the number to his new carrier. He is convinced that Prospect Genius has a role to play in this process, despite our repeated assertions that we do not have any control over that process whatsoever. In fact, the FCC prevents us from doing what he describes so he's actually accusing us of breaking the law, which I can assure you we are not.

I understand that this number porting business is foreign to many so I'll illustrate it with an analogy. This situation is akin to filing a complaint against your internet service provider because they refused to come to your house to fix the electrical outlet in your wall. Sure, your cable modem uses the electricity from the wall to function, but it has nothing to do with the service itself and no matter how much you complain, there is nothing the internet service provider can do to solve your problem.

To further illuminate the situation, the following is an excerpt from one of *** ********'s emails:

****, i dont know what your problem is but to port that number to the new carrier i need the:
Account Name
Account Number
Account Pin
Account Password

None of that information is actually required. We have had dozens of past clients port their phone number without a single piece of this information. Think of it this way, if you were to walk into a Verizon Wireless store with an AT&T phone, you would not have to provide any of that information to Verizon in order for them to port your AT&T number to your new ******* phone. In fact, even if I had an overwhelming desire to provide this information, it would have been impossible because I posses exactly none of it. There is no account name, number, pin or password to provide, making it physically impossible for me to comply with *** ********'s demands.

I'll make one final attempt to illustrate the futility of this situation. The following is the very first communication received from *** ******** after we notified him that we terminated his account due to a past-due balance:

Dear ****,
i received a past due bill from your billing today, now you have sent me an email the same day that it has been terminated. i have made it clear that when i cancel this service i want to port the telephone number that is associated with my account. i hope you are not taking extra steps to hold on to my phone number. please advice what is needed at this point to port the number since you have hastily initiated this termination.
Art Seppala

As you can see, *** ********'s paranoia over the phone number is quite obvious despite the complete lack of evidence. The following is the response that was sent back to *** ********. As you can see, there is nothing "nasty" about it.

*** *******,

The termination of your account for Cool Air Express, Inc. can in no reasonable way be described as "hasty." We acted in accordance with section 7F of our Terms of Service which allows us to terminate your account 30 days after your last payment is received. On 10/20/2013 your card declined. Three days later on 10/23/2013 you spoke with Kelly about the failed payment and indicated that you would resolve the issue. Three weeks later, on 11/12/2013 you spoke with ****** on the phone. The next day, on 11/13/2013, you received a follow-up email from ****** explaining how to cancel as well as how the number porting process works. It was not until 11/18/2013 that your account was terminated due to your failure to remit payment for the previous 29 days. This timeline puts us approximately 60 days from your last payment, exceeding our 30 day standard by 100%, and as such cannot be described as "hasty."

Despite your failure to submit your cancellation request in writing as the Terms require, and despite your failure to request the number porting in writing, we refrained from reusing the number that was associated with your account. We have no further involvement with the number porting process.

--****

No matter how angry *** ******** gets, and no matter how many complaints he files, it will never change the fact that we have no control over his phone provider's ability to execute a number port. It is quite unfortunate that *** ******** is unhappy but just as I cannot stop the sun from being hot, I have no ability to do anything to address *** ********'s frustrations.



Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,
*** *******

The response is just a play on words on prospect geniuses part.

1. i requested the billing history from prospect genius in email a few weeks ago which they have not provided. it clearly shows the times they dropped the service to 50 dollars when i attempted to terminate the service, as i stated before. it also shows their unwillingness to work with clients that quit their service.

2. for a free discount they required the documents for a military service, which makes it not free. furthermore i will not assume responsibility for their decisions. also, there is a bill for the 29 days they provided the service after the balance ran out making this claim even more ridiculous

3. in my last attachemt it is clearly read that only after taking this matter to a legal professional they provided me with the slightest bit of information stating that the carrier is marchex which allowed me to port to t-mobile.

4. yes, as i stated above only after turning to a help of a legal professional they provided the information of the carrier that had the number. the bulk of the email is mainly alex writing for his own enjoyment.

with all the analogies it does seem like someones writing a book.  some highlights are worth mentioning, like the dozens of past clients porting their numbers. this would make me assume that propect genius is not that great. also mr seppalas paranoia, which is just uncalled for.

on one thing i do agree with alex is that what is done is done and there's no setting it right afterwards no matter how much he writes about the sun and the stars.



Business Response: I stand behind my previous statements.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

7/14/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: unauthorized continued billing of my credit card and all services were discontinued and confirmed via email, phone.

Desired Settlement: Issues refunds for April, May and June charges and discontinue billing my credit card.

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern:

This complaint is based on one credit card charge made on 4/26, along with two other charges on undisclosed dates in May and June. The 4/26 charge was voided (canceled before it was processed), and the other two do not exist. Further, the client is seeking a refund of $747 which is fully $100 more than the total amount billed over the life of his account.

The gentleman who filed this complaint was a
client of ours for just 90 days. He signed up for our lead generation program on 1/27/2012 and canceled via email (attached) on 4/26/2012. The client had been billed on 4/26/2012 somewhere around 2-3am when the automated credit card processing occurred. The invoice was generated and sent to him reflecting this charge at 8:11am; he replied back with a request to cancel services at 8:12am. Just 23 minutes later, at approximately 8:35am the credit card transaction was voided (see attached screenshot). On 5/8/2012 at 9:41am this client  was sent a confirmation code (attached) confirming the cancellation of his account.

On 7/2/2012 at 9:30am we received an email from an employee of this client, citing credit card charges that we supposedly processed on the client's
credit card, as well as the absence of a refund for the 4/26 charge. There was a series of correspondence between the client's employee and my staff in the subsequent hours, but I responded myself at 11:43am on 7/2 (attached).

In my response, I explained a few key points. First was that when a charge is voided, no refund is due because no charge is actually processed. Since we stopped the transaction from taking place we were not paid; we cannot refund money we did not collect. We even provided proof to the client that the transaction was voided (see attached).

The second key point I made was that we did not initiate any charges on his card after the cancellation request was received on 4/26. Since it is physically impossible to prove a negative, I cannot definitively prove that charges do not exist any more than I can prove that elves do not live under my desk when no one is looking. The best I can do is provide the transaction log for his account (attached), which shows all transactions for that credit card number from 1/30/2012 through 6/30/2012. As you can see, the client was initially charged $647 on 1/30/2012 when he signed up. The charge first declined, and then later that same day it was approved. The only other transactions for that card number were on 4/26, when it was billed for one month, and then later that same day when the charge was voided. Clearly we did not initiate any transactions after 4/26.

All of this information was provided to the client on 7/2. We responded to all of his communications in an extremely prompt manner, as is evidenced by the fact that total of just 133 minutes passed between the initial email from his employee and the final email sent from me, the president of the company, to the client. We have been responsive, offered to help in any way possible, and we never initiated the transactions in question.

I requested that the client produce the credit card statements showing proof of these charges so that we can launch an investigation. That request was not acknowledged, but I will restate it now. Since we have no record of any transactions after 4/26, unless he can produce that documentation, there is literally nothing within our power that we can do for him.

For good measure, I have also included our Terms of Service document. Per section 3 of this document (which the client agreed to) we are not even required to refund/void the transaction from 4/26. As such, we have already gone above and beyond what we agreed to do for this client in an effort to provide exceptional customer service.



Sincerely,

**** *****
President, CEO
Prospect Genius

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1