BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Albany, Buffalo, Rochester & Syracuse regions

This Business is not BBB accredited

Mountain Wireless LLC

Additional Locations

Phone: (518) 565-0451 23 Durkee Street Suite C, Plattsburgh, NY 12901 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.mountain-wireless.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business offers internet access provider.

BBB Accreditation

On 12/23/2013 the business's accreditation from BBB was revoked.

The revocation was due to violation of BBB Accreditation Standards:

6A. Promptly respond to all complaints forwarded by BBB by:

  1. Resolving the complaint directly with the complainant and notifying BBB, or
  2. Providing BBB with a response that BBB determines:
    • is professional,
    • addresses all of the issues raised by the complainant,
    • includes appropriate evidence and documents supporting the business' position, and
    • explains why any relief sought by the complainant cannot or should not be granted.

6B. Make a good faith effort to resolve disputes, which includes mediation if requested by BBB. Other dispute resolution options, including arbitration, may be recommended by BBB when other efforts to resolve a dispute have failed. BBB may consider a business' willingness to participate in recommended dispute resolution options in determining compliance with these standards.

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Mountain Wireless LLC include:

  • Failure to respond to 4 complaints filed against business
  • BBB Accreditation was revoked because the business failed to honor its accreditation agreement with BBB.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mountain Wireless LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 22, 2011 Business started: 05/01/2009 in NY Business incorporated: 12/22/2011 in NY
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Kevin C. McGinnis, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kevin C. McGinnis, Owner
Business Category

INTERNET ACCESS PROVIDER

Industry Tips
Internet Service Provider

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    23 Durkee Street Suite C

    Plattsburgh, NY 12901 (518) 565-0451

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 129

    Morrisonville, NY 12962

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Technical Support
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/13/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had trouble with them fixing out internet service. We tried many times to get a hold of someone and nobody would call us back. I shut off the automatic payment on my account so they could not take money from my account. Still nobody called. We decided to go with a different internet company. Again tried to call and cancel service, however could never talk to anybody, so I left a message on the answering machine and sent a certified return receipt letter stating that we had cancelled our service as of September 23, 2013. The letter was returned to us unclaimed. On December 18, 2013 they took $232.97 from my account, which they did not have authorization for. I have contacted the bank and cancelling my card. I tried to call Mountain Wireless again and got the craziest automated response on the phone. The phone number associated with the withdrawal is ###-###-####. I know this has happened to other people who have them.

Desired Settlement: I would like my money back. This guy is a crook.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

2/3/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Wireless internet provider continues to bill by internet, but service is stopped, past checks to company are uncashed, telephone disconnected, email addresses do not work. Regular mail is unanswered.

Desired Settlement: Stop billing me. Confirm that company is out of business.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

11/11/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have not had internet service (despite paying 64.02 a month) since the end of June 2013. At first there were messages about the tower and a transformer fire. I still got billed for July even though the service was down and then when it did come back on it was only for about three days. After it went out again I made several calls never getting anyone at the company and never a call back. I was able to connect with technical service (I believe an outside contractor) and they said everything looked fine but they would push my ticket up to advanced technical support and I would hear back in 24 hrs. I have done this 10 times and never got a call back. I then checked my bill (which is on auto pay with a debit card) and found that I have been billed for July and August. I cant get anyone in billing. All calls end the same way with a message from the owner and it says he cant get to the phone but will call back ASAP.

Desired Settlement: At very least my June, July and August bills returned as I didn't have service and I want the stop of future payments. I can do it by canceling my debit card but would prefer Mountain Wireless taking me off auto pay.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

9/9/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They lost service and are still changing us for no service. I tried calling them 30 or 40 times and they never pick up or reply to calls. they will not be able to resore service for atlest 3 weeks and maybe more. I called to try and cancelle service and they will not call back or refund payment for sevices not given.

Desired Settlement: We had to get another service we no longer want there service. the last time we lost service for 10 days and still had to pay for the full 30 days of service.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

1