BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Albany, Buffalo, Rochester & Syracuse regions

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business offers retail sales of hospital/medical equipment/supplies, auto hand/foot controls, wheel chair lifts/ramps and disability access equipment.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Access Unlimited meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Access Unlimited include:

  • 18 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Access Unlimited include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 18 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

18 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 11 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 6
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 12
Total Closed Complaints 18

Additional Complaint Information

BBB reached out to the business with concerns about a pattern  of complaints concerning Access Unlimited's customer service.  Consumers have advised BBB once they order and pay for the product in full they are promised delivery by the company within a 6- week time frame.  The 6 weeks turns into 7, 8, 9 weeks with no product.  Consumers who then decide to cancel are left waiting for their refund for an unreasonable amount of time with no explanation from the business.

The business answered BBB with the following condensed response:


Access Unlimited is unique even within the market of equipment for people with disabilities in that our products are uniquely crafted for each consumer and each make and model of vehicle. We clearly indicate this information with every order.  The advantage of this business model is that we are able to provide solutions that are highly customized to each disabled consumer's needs. The disadvantage of this model is that customized solutions are inherently difficult to plan from a production-planning perspective, and take longer to build. We have worked with the Better Business Bureau in the past to do a much better job of informing our consumers of the fact that production times for customized products are inherently difficult to predict.

That said, we do feel there is and has been significant room for improvement in our company, and have taken concrete steps to improve our results:

 First and foremost, in September we hired a customer care manager whose sole responsibility is to track production and maintain consumer relations for any production that is deemed by our production coordinator to be at risk of being behind schedule or behind schedule. She has over 15 years of experience in customer service, and maintains regular contact with consumers, advising them of any existing or potential delays and expected delivery times or resolutions.  To address production capacity concerns, we have added approximately 30% to our welding and fabrication staff in the last three months through hiring and reallocation of staff previously involved in different parts of our company.  We have expanded our available square footage by nearly 40% in the last three months to alleviate space constraints and allow our production to flow more smoothly.  To address concerns regarding accounts payable, we recently added two new administrative staff which allowed us to move accounts receivable/accounts payable from a part-time position to a full-time position.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Access Unlimited
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 12, 2001 Business started: 01/01/1993 in NY Business started locally: 01/01/1993
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Thomas Egan, President Mr. Walt Huber, Sales Manager/Contact
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Thomas Egan, President
Business Category

HOSPITAL & MEDICAL EQUIPMENT & SUPPLIES WHEEL CHAIR LIFTS & RAMPS DISABILITY ACCESS EQUIPMENT AUTO HAND & FOOT CONTROLS


Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Right after ordering from Access Unlimited, my husband had a setback. He passed away within weeks. The $11,880.00 in Access Unlimited products were delivered and never removed from the shipping boxes. Access Unlimited is standing firm on their no refund policy claiming every piece of the order is custom. I was charged $5000.00 for nothing more than 2 simple wall brackets. My entire order included one 28 pound lift I was to tote and attach at 3 locations, including my car, even though I was led to believe I would receive two lifts. During a **** **** interview, the trainer said, "We would not want you to keep a product of ours you could not use." This could not be further from the truth. I have requested a refund for the installation fees, a service for which I was charged, but was never arranged. I have received nothing but promises for the installation refund.

Desired Settlement: I want the public to know the heartless and deceptive business practices of this company. I want a refund for the installation fee at the very least.

Business Response: Please be advised the customer ordered a Multi lift for the home and auto and the order was rushed through production and shipped.  The customer signed and agreed that the order is non cancellable and not refundable.  Unfortunately her husband had passed away in the interim. Upon review of the order with the customer, Access Unlimited agreed to refund the installation portion of her payment since she did not have the Home mount installed.  The customer had signed a agreement to this affect, which refund was issued as promised.
**** *****
Customer Experience Manager

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and regret that Access Unlimited showed no conscience in making a profit on my misfortune. A fair resolution would have been to allow a return with a deduction of the actual production expenses Access Unlimited incurred. The refund for the installation fee had to be pursued or Access Unlimited would have been fine padding their profit margin even further. Since I had no use for the products, I donated the Multi-lift and accessories to ******** ******* ********, so hopefully something good came from this transaction. Regards, *** ***********

10/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company was to modify my car so that I could drive it. I am handicapped. On May 21,2013, I sent him a check for $3,450.00 for the full amount of the repair. He cashed it. He said he would order the parts and call me back to tell me when he could pick up my car to work on it. Months went by and he did not call. Repeated calls from me, did not find him in. He was always busy and they said he would call me back but he never did. Parts were apparently in but he was too busy to work on the car. By accident I got him on the phone. He called me back on August 22, 2014. By that time I did not trust him so I asked him to return my money. He had not picked up the car and no work has been done on it. I have not contacted another business to do the repair. He said that he would return my money the next week, but he did not. I want my money back.

Desired Settlement: I want my $3,450 back.

Business Response: On 5/21/14 the customer had made a partial payment of 3,450.00 for low-effort steering. Balance due was 1,000.00.  According to notes, we discussed with customer, and she indicated that her situation had improved and she no longer needed the product, leaving Access Unlimited with the parts purchased in order to complete the project.  Access Unlimited however agrees to refund the customer 3,450.00 for customer goodwill. Thank you, **** ***** Customer Experience Manager

9/6/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I dealt with *** **** of Access Unlimited. I ordered an Easy Reach power lift seat and they agreed to build a sill adapter/wheelchair ramp for my vehicle. I was charged immediately for both products. Upon installation of the Easy Reach we discovered that they had utilized a used motor from 2006. We purchased a custom built new product and did not agree to the use of 8 year old parts. The wheelchair ramp was never delivered and communication from Access Unlimited came to a halt. . E-mails were not responded to and phone calls were not returned.

Desired Settlement: We would like our money refunded for the ramp that was never delivered for $250.00 and a 50% refund on the Easy Reach power lift that we paid $6,900.00 for.

Business Response: The customer had ordered an  Easy Reach for the rear of her 2008 **** *** *******, and also a specially designed Quick Ramp in which the customer was advised the a extended lead time would be needed to fulfill  the custom designed product.  The Easy Reach was installed by the installer and had called our tech support line in which our technician provided a wireless remote for customer. Also the installer called again and there was a switch adjustment needed for unit, which is not uncommon. There was never a warranty call made on the motor. The manufacture date imprinted is that of the Motor and not the unit itself. The unit was specially built for her unit at time of purchase,  and was a new part that was never installed on another Easy Reach.  In regard to the ramp, the customer may have a refund of 250.00 since she no longer wishes to have product delivered.
Thank you,
**** *****

Business Response: Please see the attached letter from our vendor explaining the date on the customer's order.  The customer was provided with a brand new custom made unit and the letter explaining dating from our vendor verifies out statement  that the date refers to the motor. In response to the 250.00 requested for the refund of the Ramp, Access Unlimited agrees to refund the customer's money per her request.

Thank you,

**** *****

Please see attached letter.

Consumer Response: I understand it is my responsibility to contact Access Unlimited for my refund. I think it should be automatically done.  However, how much time should I give them and who do I contact if they do not refund my money?
***, **** and **** please let me know if you will be crediting back my credit card or issuing a check.
Thank you,
****** *********







8/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Installation Payment This is regarding the installation of a lift for ***** ***** purchased from Access Unlimited. The installation was performed by ***** ***** who was qualified by *** ****. Access Unlimited was paid in full 28/06/2013. The installer was to be paid $1710 CDN by Access Unlimited upon receipt of payment of the invoice according to Mr. ****. It is now ?24/?05/?2014. Mr. **** inspected and approved the installation over the Internet. Messages had been repeatedly sent to the business manager, they've been completely ignored. The installer, Mr. *****, has not been paid to date. It is going on 11 months with no payment for the installation. Access Unlimited was paid in good faith. It is time for Mr. ***** to be paid. This matter has dragged on too long. According to The Better Business Bureau complaints filed against this company, it has a history of not paying money that it owes. Therefore, I'm forced to file a complaint against this company to get this issue resolved so the installer can be rightfully paid. I'm a quadriplegic with multiple sclerosis. I would appreciate your help in this matter. ***** *****

Desired Settlement: To get the installation payment sent to the subcontractor Mr. ***** *****, or send it to me and I will forward it to the subcontractor.

Business Response: The customer had contacted us and purchased a  Multi Lift for Home and Vehicle and were very satisfied with the performance of the product.  Unfortunately we had run into complications regarding the compensation amount for installation.
Access Unlimited was from the beginning happy to pay for he installation  for Mr *****.  The amount of reimbursement is in question.   We had originally contacted a installer who would receive the normal install rate of 750.00 to complete all home stations. The customer had then decided to install the product and was approved to do so at our customary reimbursement rates. . Later the customer unlitaterally decided  on a much higher compensation amount which lead to an impasse.   The automobile requires no installation with the use of the Speedy Bar, so there is no compensation necessary. The total amount of compensation for the completed job performed would amount to 850.00 in which Access Unlimited agrees to pay.
We appreciate any assistance in resolving this matter in a mutually satisfactory arrangement and regret that a customer who is very satisfied with our product would have felt compelled to make a complaint over a relatively small portion of the entire transaction however, we feel we clearly defined the labor terms of this customer's installation of our product, and cannot be held liable for amounts that  greatly exceed our customary reimbursement.

Business Response: The customer had been called and notified that there was no reimbursement for installation of the Automobile due to the fact of using the Speedy Bar, which requires no installation . There also was not a overcharge of 960.00 in overall pricing.  The MSRP pricing includes all charges, shipping and costs for all items. Access Unlimited agrees to reimburse the customer the 960.00 for customer goodwill to settle disputed charge,and the previous agreed upon amount of 850.00 for home installation. Thank you, **** *****

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  Regards, ***** *****

7/8/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We contacted Access Unlimited on March 12th, 2014, inquiring about a lift for our motor home to assist my wife who has muscular dystrophy with entry/exit of the vehicle. Their national sales manager, *** ****, discussed several options and assured us if we ordered a lift, it would be delivered within six weeks. We ordered their "***** *** **" lift on March 16th and subsequently received documentation requesting measurements and photos, which we immediately provided. We also, unfortunately, gave access to our checking account for payment as the company required full payment with a no refund/no cancellation policy. Nearly 13 weeks have now passed and we have no lift. I have asked on numerous occasions when we may expect to receive the lift and the only response we get is it will be an additional 2-3 weeks. Mr **** refuses to reply to my inquiries. The last correspondence I received on June 3rd from a Mr ***** indicated they were "halfway through the production process and were working diligently to complete the order".

Desired Settlement: I would prefer to cancel this order and receive a refund. However, considering their no refund/no cancellation policy, this is probably not an option . Had I read the BBB reviews about this company and similar problems experienced by others prior to placing my order, I would not have ordered from them. As it appears cancellation and a refund are out of the question, I'd like to have an explanation and apology from Mr **** as to why there is such a delay in delivery. The company's business practice certainly does not live up to their name as my wife does not have the unlimited access to our motor which the lift device would provide.

Business Response: Mr and Mrs ***** had ordered a custom built lift system for a RV. In the production process there are many aspects which may alter or affect the lead time. The Unit must be produced, tested and sometimes redesigned for optimal safety and performance for the customer. The units are individually produced for that particular vehicle the customer has and adjusted for the particular users needs. Sometimes, in the process, it is necessary to adjust or make changes to the unit. The unit is now in our  production  stage, and then will proceed to the assembly department in which it will then be painted and assembly completed and then tested again for final quality control.  The unit must pass all these areas in order to ensure the safety of the end user. We understand the customer's concerns and working working as fast as possible to produce a safe, effective unit. Thank you, **** *****

Business Response: In review of complaint for ******* *****, although product and materials are in production, and all sales are not cancellable and non refundable, in which was signed and agreed upon by customer, Access Unlimited agrees to cancel order and refund Mr. ***** his purchase price of  the ***** ** ** ** for customer goodwill. Please update, Thank you, **** *****

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me, providing the refund is forwarded in a timely manner.Regards, ******* *****

6/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a multi-lift system for my handicapped husband and paid a total of $6500 up front in June of 2013. We had a written agreement that if the system didn't work out, the money would be refunded in full. First of all, we were told that the unit would arrive in approximately 6 weeks. It didn't arrive until late September (3 months later), after about two weeks it didn't work correctly and a new piece was to be sent and we were told it would arrive in about 10 days. however, it didn't arrive until late November. We left for ******* for the winter on Dec. 2nd and were told ***** and **** would train us on ***** once we arrived in *******. We had one training session over ***** and I hurt my back, so training was postponed until mid-Jan. I had asked several times starting back in January for our money to be refunded with no response. After a couple more training sessions in February it was decided that the system would not work for us. I talked to **** ***** and he agreed that the unit should be sent back. That was in March 2014. It was returned and as of this date, June 7th, after many calls and e-mails, the money has not been refunded. I have been told several times that the money will be refunded, but the Payables Dept. person, ***** *******, has told me that even though they agreed to refund it, it would not be all at once. The last time I talked to her was a little over two weeks ago and she had just come from a meeting with *** **** regarding this. I told them I needed the money no later than Friday, June 6th, but still have not seen or heard a thing. The phone operator ******, or Payables Dept. person, *****, will not forward my calls. All they tell me is that they will take my name and number and have someone call me back. They say their hands are tied and they cannot doing anything. No one ever returns my calls. However, when they were trying to sell me the unit, *** **** called me countless times. Now that I want my money back, he has no time for me. I would not recommend this company to anyone needing a multi-lift system. They are slow in delivery and once you pay for the item, forget any further contact with them. I contacted a local Mobility Company, and they told me they no longer deal with Access Unlimited because they also found they were slow and could not get any cooperatiaon with ***** in the Payables Dept or *** ****, owner of the company.

Desired Settlement: I want the total $6500 back that was promised me and I need it all at once to pay off the loan I took out to pay for this. I had to pay them all at once up front. I have spent countless hours on phone calls and e-mails not to metion the stress that this has put me under emotionally and financially.

Business Response: Please be advised that Mrs ***** had ordered a Multi Lift with Access Unlimited and a new bracket was designed after training for the customer.  After the new bracket was installed professionally and several other items such as a new battery pack, the customer had determined that she still could not use the Multi Lift.  Access Unlimited had waived the no return policy for this customer and has agreed to the return of the Multi Lift.  **** ***** waived any restocking fees and any damage claims to customer and advised Mrs. ***** she would receive refund. Mrs ***** will be issued a refund for her order. Thank you, **** *****

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  Regards, ***** *****

6/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a multi-lift to help my husband to transfer from a wheelchair to an automobile Oct. 2013 over the phone and received item on 12-4-13. My first contact was with *** **** earlier in Oct., I believe he owner of the company. He was telling what the lift could do and if it would work for my husband. On the second or third conversation he said he did not usually do it but understood it was a lot of money not knowing if it would work for us he would agree to a return and refund of money if it did not work. After receiving the lift we were to go on ***** and do test with the lift, the car and my husband. It was not successful the first or second time done after adjustments on two different days. While waiting for a different size sling and Christmas holiday to be over my husband passed away. We never were able to get him into the car with the device without much discomfort for him. While doing the test I noticed damage done to the interior door panel and pointed out the trainer on the second test. I have sent a copy of the estimate to them. They only contact me when I have sent a email to them first. Usually one the two weeks after. The first call was around middle of Jan. 2014. They called me back around the first of Jan 31. 2014. Telling me there is no refund and only could sell it on consignment as a used item, with a great loss to me and may take a long time. I emailed picture of door damage to them with cost. March 2 2014 I emailed to *** **** asking him to reply to me only to have a gentleman named ****** call me back on March 12, 2014. Suggesting I sell the item on ****. I was told that afternoon they would discuss the door damage and get back to me. I have not received a call back. The lift unit itself is universal for all autos. The only thing custom made is the bracket to match the make and model of the vehicle. I believe they sell for $800.00. I paid $5900.00 for the whole lift assembly. Since the item was never used I fell it is not a used item and believed they should stand behind the verbal word. I don't see why they could not resell the power lift unit as new. It was not used any more then they themselves would have done testing before sending out.

Desired Settlement: I have offered to accept $4000.00 total. to absorb the cost for the custom bracket and the damage done to my door. I feel this is fair for both parties.

Business Response: Please be advised that customer signed the sales agreement form stating the special order is non cancellable and non refundable. The customer also signed and initialed the payment authorization form stating that this is a binding order and authorizing payment according to the terms of the sale. During the training process, Mrs ******'s door panel had been damaged and was acknowledged by our trainer in which Mrs ****** had submitted pictures. Mrs ****** also had submitted a quote for the repair of 1,200.00.  We are not exactly sure how the damage has occurred, but for customer goodwill we will replace the door panel.   Access Unlimited has found this price to be excessive and we are happy to provide a comparable door panel and and arrange repair of her door panel .  Mrs. ****** is aware of this.  Mrs. ******'s Husband had passed away shortly after receiving their product, in which we are truly sorry for her loss. Also the customer was advised of the terms of the sale and that possibly she could sell product on *****.  Please note that the Multi Lift Speedy Bar is made vehicle specific, and the Multi Lift is specially set by our design team to fit that vehicle,  and the person being transferred. Access Unlimited agrees to provide a comparable door panel and and arrange repair of her door panel, and will look for any possible customer's who may have the same vehicle as Mrs. ****** in which we can refer to Mrs ******. for a possible sale of her Multi Lift. Also, Access Unlimited is happy to assist customer in other popular ways to liquidate her purchase. Thank you, **** *****

Business Response: Please be advised that the refund was issued as agreed. A credit of $1,200.00 was issued to  Mrs. ******'s ******** card number ending in ****. Thank you, **** *****

Consumer Response: Refund was made to me after last contact to BBB on 9-23-14.  Received refund on 9-23-14 after four month wait.  I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  Regards, ******* ******

5/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased an ********** *** **** seat. This item is a mechanical modification to the passenger seat in my van to enable my handicapped wife to transfer from her wheelchair into the passenger seat in our van. This device rotates, extends outward then drops down from the normal seated position to an position that allows transfer from the wheelchair to the re-positioned seat. Then, with a push of a button, the seat retreats to the cars interior, rotates, slides backward and is repositioned for safe transportation. I ordered the device on 2 Jan 2014 and was told the delivery and installation would be within 4 to 6 weeks. I paid $7,500.00 upfront for this product.. Access unlimited had to find a local installer to train and certify the installation of their products. Access Unlimited found an installer in ********, SC called ****** ******** Center. I was told to go to the ******** facility, they would remove the passenger seat, send it to their factory in **********, NY. The conversion unit would be build, my seat installed on the device, then returned to ********, SC to be installed. The unit arrived on or about the 28th of February 2014 at the facility in ********,SC, later than expected. I returned my van to ********, the facility worked on the installation for 3 days and failed to provide a working product. Discussions were held with the NY Firm between the installer and myself. It was agreed that the NY facility would build another seat and send it back to ********, SC. The rebuilt seat was due back in 4 weeks, but again was delivered late. The device showed up in ******** on the 15th of April 2014. I returned my van on Monday, the 21st of April 2014. After three days of installing this unit at the ********, SC facility, the seat still does not work successfully. The installed contacted me and said that after three days and about 20 hours of effort the seat did not work as promised. I contacted the NY facility this afternoon and asked for some response and solutions to this problem. Their answer was they will contact me tomorrow.

Desired Settlement: The order form I signed and paid up-front for says that special orders are non-cancellable and non-refundable. This dispute is on a product when installed does not work as advertised. I would like my $7,500.00 returned at once.

Business Response: Access Unlimited has been in constant contact with the customer and has acknowledged the issues the customer has been having with the operation of the **** *****.  Our Service technician has been in contact with the installer and has spent numerous hours attempting to correct the issues concerning seat itself.  The **** ***** is a complex product and does require the removal of the customer's original  seat and then return to Access Unlimited to be attached to the base and then returned to the installer thus allowing less time and less chance for error for the installer.  Sometimes auto manufacturer variances can pose a issue for this complex unit. Access Unlimited has agreed with the customer to rebuild and install a new **** ***** seat and assign a new installer located in the area in which the customer now resides. Customer now resides in ***** *****, SC.

3/13/2014 Delivery Issues
1/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I'm a disabled person who trusted the description of a vehicle access unlimited was selling. First they took money out of my bank account without my permission. Next it took weeks and weeks to get the van. I called and emailed them over and over and over with NO response, totally ignored me for weeks. When they get your money you will have zero customer service or support. When I get it the remote doors and disability ramp didn't work. Duct tape holding the door panels together. Van was filthy all over with dog hair on all of the seats. The drivers seat is flopping left to right and would slide forward when you stop and shoot backwards when you step on the gas. This would make driving very dangerous. Three days after I get the van I have a blow out on the highway leaving a disabled guy stranded. Come to find out tires have dry rot and need replacing $600 for new tires, tried calling for help and again no help not even a call back. I could never afford to do business with this company again.

Desired Settlement: Repair the side doors so it does not need duct tape, fix the seat and reimburse me for my tires.

Business Response: **** brought the vehicle in. The tires were inspected and they are not dry-rotted. It appears that **** was scammed  by the tire dealer. It was explained to **** that based on the findings that I would not be able to refund him for the tires. The other two items, the seat and trim panel were fixed and the customer seemed satisfied.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

**** *******




9/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I, ******* ****, ordered a ***** * ** lift for my recreational vehicle, on June 28th,2013. The company represented by *** said they did not accept charge cards so I paid them by electronic check in the amount of $5950.00 on the same day. *** told me that the order would take a total of 3 to 5 weeks. It has now been 8 weeks and I keep getting the run around. I am in fear of losing my money. Please be advised that I am totally handicapped and confined to a wheelchair with a personal care attendant 24 hours a day. Access Unlimited knows this and is taking advantage of handicapped people according to the other complaints I see in this report.

Desired Settlement: I would prefer to have delivery of order before I die! If the order is not forthcoming for whatever reason they should refund my money in full.

Business Response: Please be advised that I have been in comtact with customer several times and have been informing them of each step of process. Their order will be shipping very shortly and will inform as soon as the item ships, I have also been in contact with the installer.

Thank you,

*** *****

This has been resloved. *******

The customer had been notified each update and the lift has been shipped to the installer and the installer had been notified.

Thank you,

*** *****

8/30/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In late February of 2013 I had ordered a disabled mobility devise for my elder mother who had a stroke, I had surgery on my spine during this time and ordered this devise to move her and care for her because of my medical issues to help me move her and give her proper care. I had ordered from this company a complete set up of a in-home and vehicle devises at a price of $10,500.00, I still have not received all the products to be able to use it, it has been over six months now. My mother is getting worse in her physical health and may pass away very soon, she had been place in a nursing care home which I had been trying to bring her home to care for her before she dies, this company has prevented me from having quality time with my mother in her own home in this last stages of her life. I am still waiting for the last devise in hopes I can still bring her to her house on weekends, I have a lawyer working with me and they had sent them at least two letters to get them to sent the products to me, I had about 90 percent of the devise, but the main one I need I still don't have, that's the vehicle devise, I can't put her in the car myself with out the devise. Because it has been over six months and my mother condition is worse I really can't use it any more, if I had it now at best bring her home a few times for a visit.

Desired Settlement: I just would like a refund, I can't use it anymore.

Business Response: Please be advised that a partial shipment was made to customer and the final parts were shipped 8/20/13 completing the customer's order. Customer had been notified. This was a specialized order containing lifting device for the auto as well as home stations.

Thank you,
** **

Consumer Response: Consumer left vm for BBB that they received all items.

 

 

 

8/20/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We took our truck to *** ******** in *********, OR on March 17, 2013. They removed the seat from our truck and shipped it to Access Unlimited within a week. They (Access Unlimited), were supposed to make the disabled lift for our seat and send it back within a month. So far its been almost 4 months and all they do is make excuses

Desired Settlement: My seat with the lift or my seat and the $3000 they insisted up front.

Business Response: BBB spoke to ********, the consumer, on behalf of the business and the following response and resolution was relayed:

The company has finished what they were contracted to do and they did get it to me. They did a good job, it works well and I am satisfied. This is resolved.

6/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband is a parapalegic and is unable to walk or stand. In January we contacted **** ***** and *** **** at Access Unlimited in order to purchase an Easy Reach Seat from them for my husband to use in his vehicle. We paid $6800 in full on January 29th. On February 5th we shipped our existing truck seat to Access Unlimited, immobilizing the truck as it was the drivers seat. We were told that we would have the truck back in proper working order no later than March 2nd, as we needed it for a trip. Since then we have been lied to multiple times regarding when the seat is going to ship. Here it is April 16th and we STILL do not have our seat. Blame has been passed around at Access Unlimited (they even tried to blame us at one time by saying we shipped the seat too soon but we were told by *** to ship it when we did). Our truck has been sitting out in the weather for almost 3 months now. My husband is unable to drive this vehicle and with his condition it has been getting harder and harder for him to transfer himself into the vehicle he manages to get into now. We had a delivery we were being paid to make down in ******* where we HAD to have this truck. We had our local trim shop transfer the seat out of our existing truck into the new truck so we wouldn't lose out on the money for the delivery. Then they had to transfer it back. While we were using the new truck I had to lift a 60 lbs platform and a 56 lbs ramp out of the bed of the truck to set it up where my husband could get in and out. This was not an easy feat for me as I have fibromyalgia and degenerative disc disease. Doing this lifting multiple times put me down on my back for several days but we had no other choice but to do this. During this whole ordeal we have been completely ignored by *****, the business manager for weeks at a time. I would email or call many times a day with no response for weeks. When she finally contacted me back after me threatening to take a legal stance against Access Unlimited we were told that the seat would ship absolutely no later than April 16th. When I contacted ***** today she is once again putting off the ship date. I am beginning to wonder if we weren't scammed out of $6800 or if this is actually a legitimate business.

Desired Settlement: First of all I would like our seat shipped immediately, completed and in working order, next day air with Access Unlimited paying the freight charges. I would also like for Access Unlimited to reimburse ***** **** for their working on transferring the seats in the vehicles twice. Finally, for our suffering and extremely long wait I would like to be reimbursed for part of our charges. We have had to wait almost two months longer than we were promised, being lied to constantly with no offer to correct the problem or satisfy their paying customer. I would be willing to accept $750 for having our truck sit outside for almost three months during the winter (it is garage kept when we have possession of it), for missing out on several trips we were to take in the truck, for the damages my husband has suffered from having to continue transferring himself when he is physically unable to do so as well as he used to, for being ignored and the lies we were told over and over again by *****. Once the seat is shipped we have to wait for the trim company to get training from Access Unlimited to install the seat so it could be another few weeks to a month before we actually get the seat back. I want Access Unlimited to make the training an absolute priority to ensure that, once the seat arrives, the seat is installed and we have the truck back within a week.

Business Response: Please note that the The ****** have ordered a Easy reach for a 2007 ********* ********* for the drivers position. 1/23/13. The necessary forms were signed by the customer 1/30/13. Access Unlimited had located installer for the ****** and the installer had shipped auto seat to Access Unlimited. The Easy Reach is a product which requires specific information regarding vehicle in order to be processed, and the product is a specially made item for the vehicle. Lead times are estimated in order for project to proceed. The unit was delivered 4/19/13 and the ****** wanted a specific installer to the product. The product was installed and a letter of satisfaction was received.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.
When this item was originally ordered through **** ***** (respondant in last response) he said the lead time is usually 2 weeks and we would have our seat no later than March 2. After many lies and accusations that it was our fault the seat wasn't done (by *****) I feel that this company should do everything in their power to make the customer happy. They have done the complete opposite and won't even address the issue of offering a sincere apology as requested in my last response. Mr. ***** claims that they found an installer....this is a blatant lie as we are the ones who put Access Unlimited in touch with the trim shop we use all the time. We did all the leg work on that and for him to claim to have done it is absurd. But this is yet another lie which seems to be the norm for this subpar scam of a company. Again, the letter of satisfaction was sent with a note saying that we were satisfied with the installation and mechanics done by the installer, not Access Unlimited and, in fact, we wanted it noted that we were highly dissatisfied with anything that had to do with Access Unlimited. This scam will not admit to doing anything wrong and this is their downfall. We were prepared to spend approximately $20,000 ordering other items from them but they will never receive another dime from this customer. I am still asking for a formal apology from *****, whom does not adhere to standard customer satisfaction practices as well as from **** and ***, who is completely ignoring any questions for a conversation. I have sent numerous emails and left many messages for the owner to call me to discuss his business practices but have as of yet to receive any form of communication from him. Until an apology is given and some form of financial reimbursement for the wear on the vehicle as previously explained, the missed opportunities for financial gain, the lies and the general indiscretions on the way we were treated I will not accept any response as approved.
Sincerely, ***** and **** *****    

6/22/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In May,2011 I took delivery of a multi lift system for our car to be used in transfer of my handicapped husband. I was assured by Access Unlimited that it would work for us after I told them my husband's height and weight and the make and model of our car. It was shippped to * * in Houston, Tx for installation. I made the actual purchase from * * in Houston, Tx after most of the communication with Access Unlimited. After multiple attempts to get the lift to work for us, it did not. I made numerous phone calls, talked to * in customer service about a refund. She always said she would get back to me. She never did. Once she suggested that I have the company in Houston take it back and try to sell it on consignment. That is not what I wanted. ADA in Houston agreed to uninstall it, which they did. I have it in my possession. In Sept, 2011, I sent a certified letter, return receipt requested, to Access Unlimited requesting a refund. It was received by, and signed for by *. I have never had a response. In April, 2012 I began sending emails to * *, the president of the company, again requesting a refund with no response. I sent my last email, on Thursday, May 10, 2012. Still no response

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund for the lift. It does not work for us as was promised. I understand that a full refund might not be possible. This thing cost $6500.00 and is totally useless to us. It has never been used save the attempts at trying to get it to work.

Business Response:

As the manufacturing company for the Multi-Lift, we took the initial call from
* * on the description of our products.
Once, Mrs. * received verbal information from our company, she worked
directly with a local Dealer, * * in Houston, TX.
Mrs. * is not Access Unlimited’s direct customer. She bought the unit
through a Dealership. Access Unlimited supplied the quotation and sale directly
to the Dealership. The paperwork to the Dealer references that all sales are
final.
The Mulit-Lift is the product that the customer chose to fit their needs. We are
unable to guarrante how well a customer will like the product. We can only be
responsible for the mechanical end of the product. Mrs. * did not find the
unit defective. They just didn’t like it. Therefore, we have a warranty clause to
cover this.
In previous discussion with Mrs. *, I recommended the option for her to
speak directly with the Dealership to sell the Multi-Lift on consignment. This is
her best option to pursue with the Dealership and/or Access Unlimitied.
Thank you
* * *
Business Manager

5/29/2012 Delivery Issues