BBB Accredited Business since

Access Unlimited

Phone: (607) 669-4822 Fax: (607) 669-4595 570 Hance Rd, Binghamton, NY 13903 http://www.accessunlimited.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business offers retail sales of hospital/medical equipment/supplies, auto hand/foot controls, wheel chair lifts/ramps and disability access equipment.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Access Unlimited meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Access Unlimited include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 15 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 5
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 10
Total Closed Complaints 15

Additional Complaint Information

BBB reached out to the business with concerns about a pattern of complaints from 2013-2014 concerning Access Unlimited's customer service.  Consumers have advised BBB once they order and pay for the product in full they are promised delivery by the company within a 6- week time frame.  The 6 weeks turns into 7, 8, 9 weeks with no product.  Consumers who then decide to cancel are left waiting for their refund for an unreasonable amount of time with no explanation from the business.

The business answered BBB with the following condensed response:


Access Unlimited is unique even within the market of equipment for people with disabilities in that our products are uniquely crafted for each consumer and each make and model of vehicle. We clearly indicate this information with every order.  The advantage of this business model is that we are able to provide solutions that are highly customized to each disabled consumer's needs. The disadvantage of this model is that customized solutions are inherently difficult to plan from a production-planning perspective, and take longer to build. We have worked with the Better Business Bureau in the past to do a much better job of informing our consumers of the fact that production times for customized products are inherently difficult to predict.

That said, we do feel there is and has been significant room for improvement in our company, and have taken concrete steps to improve our results:

First and foremost, in September we hired a customer care manager whose sole responsibility is to track production and maintain consumer relations for any production that is deemed by our production coordinator to be at risk of being behind schedule or behind schedule. She has over 15 years of experience in customer service, and maintains regular contact with consumers, advising them of any existing or potential delays and expected delivery times or resolutions.  To address production capacity concerns, we have added approximately 30% to our welding and fabrication staff in the last three months through hiring and reallocation of staff previously involved in different parts of our company.  We have expanded our available square footage by nearly 40% in the last three months to alleviate space constraints and allow our production to flow more smoothly.  To address concerns regarding accounts payable, we recently added two new administrative staff which allowed us to move accounts receivable/accounts payable from a part-time position to a full-time position.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

5 Customer Reviews on Access Unlimited
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 5
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 5

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 12, 2001 Business started: 01/01/1993 in NY Business started locally: 01/01/1993
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Thomas Egan, President Mr. Walt Huber, Sales Manager/Contact
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Thomas Egan, President
Business Category

HOSPITAL & MEDICAL EQUIPMENT & SUPPLIES WHEEL CHAIR LIFTS & RAMPS DISABILITY ACCESS EQUIPMENT AUTO HAND & FOOT CONTROLS


Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/19/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I entered into a contract with this business to order my husband a wheelchair lift to be mounted in my 2007 **** ****. This was suppose to take 4-6 weeks and it is going on 4 months. I was told the lift could be mounted easily into this vehicle and very easy to operate. It should not have been a special order/make product; just a simple lift for a wheelchair. The owner, Tom Eagan, was extremely nice and always contacted me via phone or e-mail very promptly; that is until I paid for this product with a credit card. Before ordering this product I told Tom that I can be reimbursed for the lift thru ********* Insurance, my husband's workman's compensation carrier. He told me he would personally contact ********* Insurance and give them a heads up on why we needed this product and how it is a better product than I could get thru the suppliers that ********* goes thru. He said Access use to be a supplier for *********, but they use other suppliers for medical equipment now. I told him I would have to get this approved thru ********* prior to ordering it and he told me not to tell them that I had already purchased it and to pay for all of it except for $50. He said it might take longer if I told ********* I had already purchased it. He said to give them a quote not the bill of sale. After about a month I contacted Tom by phone and e-mails inquiring how things were going and if he had spoken to anyone at ********* and he never got back with me. I have spoken to Terri, Bonnie and Walt H. and was told he was in the middle of a project. No one has yet told me when I would get this product. The only time I hear from anyone is if I initiate contact. I have told all of them how I felt I was dropped like a hot potato after paying for this product. I told them I wanted Tom to handle this workman's compensation issue because he said he knew how they operated. He still does not contact me after I have told everyone how frustrated and unhappy I am with this. I don't want anything else to do with this company and want a full refund on my credit card and will go thru the proper channels thru ********* Insurance to get a wheelchair lift. I am extremely unhappy with this whole experience.

Business Response: Please note that this matter is now fully resolved to the satisfaction of the customer.  We in fact received a polite thank you letter from the customer thanking us for our prompt cooperation on  8/14/15.  The date the complaint was filed with the Better Business Bureau  was 08/4/15.  Date of refund request was 08/03/15 and approved on 08/3/15.   Mrs. **** called on 08/3/15 and requested that she wished to cancel her order. Access Unlimited had tried calling and left her a voice mail message  to discuss her request. Mrs **** also emailed on 08/03/15 requesting refund and a email reply was sent to her that Access Unlimted was reviewing her information and asked for a phone number in which to contact her.  She stated that she would only reply to email and wished not to be contacted. Mrs. ****’s refund was fully issued to her credit card company on 8/4/15. Mrs. **** ordered an Easy-Stow PIR with a custom manual wheelchair docking device.  This is a highly customized and specialized product specifically designed for the individuals needs.  After the time of the order, and payment Mrs **** indicated that she changed her mind and wanted to try to bill this modification through her workers compensation insurance carrier ********* Insurance.  We indicated that we were not able to guarantee payment from her insurance carrier but that we were happy to help her tried to build through them. At that time she indicated that she wished for us to continue building the product but did not want to finalize the transaction until she had clarification from her insurance carrier as to whether they would pay for this product. Several attempts to contact her provider we left unanswered. Her representative did not return calls in a timely manner . One one occasion 06/3/15 he asked for more information and the other occasion (7/9/15) he had directed me to the New York State Workmen Compensation site to complete their forms.    Mrs **** had been advised of this and she then directed me to email all information to her Atty. which was done on 7/10/15.  Several email conversations had taken place as well as phone calls with Mrs ****/ Mrs **** had contacted us on 05/22/15 for status and also on 6/8/15. On 6/10/15 the customer had called again and was given status. On 6/22/15 Access Unlimited had left a message for Mrs **** and emailed her that we were trying to contact her Service Provider.  On 6/26/15 Mrs, **** was advised we were still trying to contact her provider.  On 7/9/15 her provider stated we must file information with New York State Workmens Compensation board.  On 7/10/15 Access Unlimited was advised by Mrs. **** to send information to her Lawyer and we complied.  At no time up until 8/3/15 did Mrs. **** indicate that she did not wish us to build the product for her. On several occasions she said she did not want to complete the transaction until she got clarity from her insurance company. On 8/3/15, she indicated that she no longer wanted the product, and we immediately authorized full reimbursement for all amounts paid, with payment made in full on 8/4/15. Access Unlimited acted in good faith under the instructions of the consumer.  Within 24 hours of the consumer requesting cancellation and reimbursement, we complied.   We cannot be held responsible for the decision of an insurance company or the insurance company’s lack of timely response as we tried to help the customer obtain reimbursement from the insurance company.   We received the thank you letter mentioned above from the customer on 8/14/15.  When Mrs. **** placed the order for the lift, there was no consideration of an insurance company making payment to us, and our efforts following that were simply based on a sincere effort to assist a customer in obtaining reimbursement. Since we acted directly under her instruction and extremely promptly, we hope that the Better Business Bureau will understand that there was no more our company could have done to respond to the wishes and requests of this customer.  Walt H. Customer Experience Manager Access Unlimited

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that the response was not in fact accurate, but I did get my money refunded and I'm glad that this is over.    Regards, ******** ****

6/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am writing as I need help with an issue involving my wife who is disabled and has become a victim of what I believe is fraud. I have been dealing with a company called Access Unlimited *** ***** **** **********, NY ***** . After my wife had an extensive surgery in January at the ***** Hospital In ********* ********, she was unable to get in and out of her car by herself. We began searching for methods to do so and came across Access Unlimited. They offer a product called a glide and go. Its cost is 5600 dollars. We contacted the company and talked with a sales manager named Tom E. Mr. E. told us he had the product on the shelf and could send it right out if we purchased the product. He also recommended we use *** Credit Union to finance the product which we did. Two and a half months have gone by and we have no product. Countless calls have been made to the company and I am always told the person we need to talk to is not there or otherwise unavailable. We never received any information from the credit union about payments or our account most likely because Mr. E. wrote the wrong zip code on the paper work. Now the credit union has put our account up for collection. We have had to find a way for my disabled wife to live independently and no longer wish to wait on Access Unlimited to deliver the product. In fact, I believe that Access Unlimted is a scam that preys on disabled people. I spoke with the business manager for Access Unlimited today and she told me basically to bad there is a contract. I contend that that contract was breached when access unlimited failed to delivery the product in the time promised. Is there any way you could help me by having Access Unlimited cancel this order and return the funds they received from *** Credit Union on our behalf to ***. I am hoping you can, I assume that a simple phone call from you would be sufficient to make this happen. My Phone Number is ###-###-#### Thank you ******* *******

Desired Settlement: Have order cancelled, and funds returned to Credit Union Immediately

Business Response: BBB spoke to Walt at the business and the following was relayed: We have spoken to the customer and we have agreed to issue the customer a refund. This has been resolved.

10/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Right after ordering from Access Unlimited, my husband had a setback. He passed away within weeks. The $11,880.00 in Access Unlimited products were delivered and never removed from the shipping boxes. Access Unlimited is standing firm on their no refund policy claiming every piece of the order is custom. I was charged $5000.00 for nothing more than 2 simple wall brackets. My entire order included one 28 pound lift I was to tote and attach at 3 locations, including my car, even though I was led to believe I would receive two lifts. During a **** **** interview, the trainer said, "We would not want you to keep a product of ours you could not use." This could not be further from the truth. I have requested a refund for the installation fees, a service for which I was charged, but was never arranged. I have received nothing but promises for the installation refund.

Desired Settlement: I want the public to know the heartless and deceptive business practices of this company. I want a refund for the installation fee at the very least.

Business Response: Please be advised the customer ordered a Multi lift for the home and auto and the order was rushed through production and shipped.  The customer signed and agreed that the order is non cancellable and not refundable.  Unfortunately her husband had passed away in the interim. Upon review of the order with the customer, Access Unlimited agreed to refund the installation portion of her payment since she did not have the Home mount installed.  The customer had signed a agreement to this affect, which refund was issued as promised.
**** *****
Customer Experience Manager

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and regret that Access Unlimited showed no conscience in making a profit on my misfortune. A fair resolution would have been to allow a return with a deduction of the actual production expenses Access Unlimited incurred. The refund for the installation fee had to be pursued or Access Unlimited would have been fine padding their profit margin even further. Since I had no use for the products, I donated the Multi-lift and accessories to ******** ******* ********, so hopefully something good came from this transaction. Regards, *** ***********

10/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company was to modify my car so that I could drive it. I am handicapped. On May 21,2013, I sent him a check for $3,450.00 for the full amount of the repair. He cashed it. He said he would order the parts and call me back to tell me when he could pick up my car to work on it. Months went by and he did not call. Repeated calls from me, did not find him in. He was always busy and they said he would call me back but he never did. Parts were apparently in but he was too busy to work on the car. By accident I got him on the phone. He called me back on August 22, 2014. By that time I did not trust him so I asked him to return my money. He had not picked up the car and no work has been done on it. I have not contacted another business to do the repair. He said that he would return my money the next week, but he did not. I want my money back.

Desired Settlement: I want my $3,450 back.

Business Response: On 5/21/14 the customer had made a partial payment of 3,450.00 for low-effort steering. Balance due was 1,000.00.  According to notes, we discussed with customer, and she indicated that her situation had improved and she no longer needed the product, leaving Access Unlimited with the parts purchased in order to complete the project.  Access Unlimited however agrees to refund the customer 3,450.00 for customer goodwill. Thank you, **** ***** Customer Experience Manager

9/6/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I dealt with *** **** of Access Unlimited. I ordered an Easy Reach power lift seat and they agreed to build a sill adapter/wheelchair ramp for my vehicle. I was charged immediately for both products. Upon installation of the Easy Reach we discovered that they had utilized a used motor from 2006. We purchased a custom built new product and did not agree to the use of 8 year old parts. The wheelchair ramp was never delivered and communication from Access Unlimited came to a halt. . E-mails were not responded to and phone calls were not returned.

Desired Settlement: We would like our money refunded for the ramp that was never delivered for $250.00 and a 50% refund on the Easy Reach power lift that we paid $6,900.00 for.

Business Response: The customer had ordered an  Easy Reach for the rear of her 2008 **** *** *******, and also a specially designed Quick Ramp in which the customer was advised the a extended lead time would be needed to fulfill  the custom designed product.  The Easy Reach was installed by the installer and had called our tech support line in which our technician provided a wireless remote for customer. Also the installer called again and there was a switch adjustment needed for unit, which is not uncommon. There was never a warranty call made on the motor. The manufacture date imprinted is that of the Motor and not the unit itself. The unit was specially built for her unit at time of purchase,  and was a new part that was never installed on another Easy Reach.  In regard to the ramp, the customer may have a refund of 250.00 since she no longer wishes to have product delivered.
Thank you,
**** *****

Business Response: Please see the attached letter from our vendor explaining the date on the customer's order.  The customer was provided with a brand new custom made unit and the letter explaining dating from our vendor verifies out statement  that the date refers to the motor. In response to the 250.00 requested for the refund of the Ramp, Access Unlimited agrees to refund the customer's money per her request.

Thank you,

**** *****

Please see attached letter.

Consumer Response: I understand it is my responsibility to contact Access Unlimited for my refund. I think it should be automatically done.  However, how much time should I give them and who do I contact if they do not refund my money?
***, **** and **** please let me know if you will be crediting back my credit card or issuing a check.
Thank you,
****** *********







8/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Installation Payment This is regarding the installation of a lift for ***** ***** purchased from Access Unlimited. The installation was performed by ***** ***** who was qualified by *** ****. Access Unlimited was paid in full 28/06/2013. The installer was to be paid $1710 CDN by Access Unlimited upon receipt of payment of the invoice according to Mr. ****. It is now ?24/?05/?2014. Mr. **** inspected and approved the installation over the Internet. Messages had been repeatedly sent to the business manager, they've been completely ignored. The installer, Mr. *****, has not been paid to date. It is going on 11 months with no payment for the installation. Access Unlimited was paid in good faith. It is time for Mr. ***** to be paid. This matter has dragged on too long. According to The Better Business Bureau complaints filed against this company, it has a history of not paying money that it owes. Therefore, I'm forced to file a complaint against this company to get this issue resolved so the installer can be rightfully paid. I'm a quadriplegic with multiple sclerosis. I would appreciate your help in this matter. ***** *****

Desired Settlement: To get the installation payment sent to the subcontractor Mr. ***** *****, or send it to me and I will forward it to the subcontractor.

Business Response: The customer had contacted us and purchased a  Multi Lift for Home and Vehicle and were very satisfied with the performance of the product.  Unfortunately we had run into complications regarding the compensation amount for installation.
Access Unlimited was from the beginning happy to pay for he installation  for Mr *****.  The amount of reimbursement is in question.   We had originally contacted a installer who would receive the normal install rate of 750.00 to complete all home stations. The customer had then decided to install the product and was approved to do so at our customary reimbursement rates. . Later the customer unlitaterally decided  on a much higher compensation amount which lead to an impasse.   The automobile requires no installation with the use of the Speedy Bar, so there is no compensation necessary. The total amount of compensation for the completed job performed would amount to 850.00 in which Access Unlimited agrees to pay.
We appreciate any assistance in resolving this matter in a mutually satisfactory arrangement and regret that a customer who is very satisfied with our product would have felt compelled to make a complaint over a relatively small portion of the entire transaction however, we feel we clearly defined the labor terms of this customer's installation of our product, and cannot be held liable for amounts that  greatly exceed our customary reimbursement.

Business Response: The customer had been called and notified that there was no reimbursement for installation of the Automobile due to the fact of using the Speedy Bar, which requires no installation . There also was not a overcharge of 960.00 in overall pricing.  The MSRP pricing includes all charges, shipping and costs for all items. Access Unlimited agrees to reimburse the customer the 960.00 for customer goodwill to settle disputed charge,and the previous agreed upon amount of 850.00 for home installation. Thank you, **** *****

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  Regards, ***** *****

7/8/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We contacted Access Unlimited on March 12th, 2014, inquiring about a lift for our motor home to assist my wife who has muscular dystrophy with entry/exit of the vehicle. Their national sales manager, *** ****, discussed several options and assured us if we ordered a lift, it would be delivered within six weeks. We ordered their "***** *** **" lift on March 16th and subsequently received documentation requesting measurements and photos, which we immediately provided. We also, unfortunately, gave access to our checking account for payment as the company required full payment with a no refund/no cancellation policy. Nearly 13 weeks have now passed and we have no lift. I have asked on numerous occasions when we may expect to receive the lift and the only response we get is it will be an additional 2-3 weeks. Mr **** refuses to reply to my inquiries. The last correspondence I received on June 3rd from a Mr ***** indicated they were "halfway through the production process and were working diligently to complete the order".

Desired Settlement: I would prefer to cancel this order and receive a refund. However, considering their no refund/no cancellation policy, this is probably not an option . Had I read the BBB reviews about this company and similar problems experienced by others prior to placing my order, I would not have ordered from them. As it appears cancellation and a refund are out of the question, I'd like to have an explanation and apology from Mr **** as to why there is such a delay in delivery. The company's business practice certainly does not live up to their name as my wife does not have the unlimited access to our motor which the lift device would provide.

Business Response: Mr and Mrs ***** had ordered a custom built lift system for a RV. In the production process there are many aspects which may alter or affect the lead time. The Unit must be produced, tested and sometimes redesigned for optimal safety and performance for the customer. The units are individually produced for that particular vehicle the customer has and adjusted for the particular users needs. Sometimes, in the process, it is necessary to adjust or make changes to the unit. The unit is now in our  production  stage, and then will proceed to the assembly department in which it will then be painted and assembly completed and then tested again for final quality control.  The unit must pass all these areas in order to ensure the safety of the end user. We understand the customer's concerns and working working as fast as possible to produce a safe, effective unit. Thank you, **** *****

Business Response: In review of complaint for ******* *****, although product and materials are in production, and all sales are not cancellable and non refundable, in which was signed and agreed upon by customer, Access Unlimited agrees to cancel order and refund Mr. ***** his purchase price of  the ***** ** ** ** for customer goodwill. Please update, Thank you, **** *****

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me, providing the refund is forwarded in a timely manner.Regards, ******* *****

6/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a multi-lift system for my handicapped husband and paid a total of $6500 up front in June of 2013. We had a written agreement that if the system didn't work out, the money would be refunded in full. First of all, we were told that the unit would arrive in approximately 6 weeks. It didn't arrive until late September (3 months later), after about two weeks it didn't work correctly and a new piece was to be sent and we were told it would arrive in about 10 days. however, it didn't arrive until late November. We left for ******* for the winter on Dec. 2nd and were told ***** and **** would train us on ***** once we arrived in *******. We had one training session over ***** and I hurt my back, so training was postponed until mid-Jan. I had asked several times starting back in January for our money to be refunded with no response. After a couple more training sessions in February it was decided that the system would not work for us. I talked to **** ***** and he agreed that the unit should be sent back. That was in March 2014. It was returned and as of this date, June 7th, after many calls and e-mails, the money has not been refunded. I have been told several times that the money will be refunded, but the Payables Dept. person, ***** *******, has told me that even though they agreed to refund it, it would not be all at once. The last time I talked to her was a little over two weeks ago and she had just come from a meeting with *** **** regarding this. I told them I needed the money no later than Friday, June 6th, but still have not seen or heard a thing. The phone operator ******, or Payables Dept. person, *****, will not forward my calls. All they tell me is that they will take my name and number and have someone call me back. They say their hands are tied and they cannot doing anything. No one ever returns my calls. However, when they were trying to sell me the unit, *** **** called me countless times. Now that I want my money back, he has no time for me. I would not recommend this company to anyone needing a multi-lift system. They are slow in delivery and once you pay for the item, forget any further contact with them. I contacted a local Mobility Company, and they told me they no longer deal with Access Unlimited because they also found they were slow and could not get any cooperatiaon with ***** in the Payables Dept or *** ****, owner of the company.

Desired Settlement: I want the total $6500 back that was promised me and I need it all at once to pay off the loan I took out to pay for this. I had to pay them all at once up front. I have spent countless hours on phone calls and e-mails not to metion the stress that this has put me under emotionally and financially.

Business Response: Please be advised that Mrs ***** had ordered a Multi Lift with Access Unlimited and a new bracket was designed after training for the customer.  After the new bracket was installed professionally and several other items such as a new battery pack, the customer had determined that she still could not use the Multi Lift.  Access Unlimited had waived the no return policy for this customer and has agreed to the return of the Multi Lift.  **** ***** waived any restocking fees and any damage claims to customer and advised Mrs. ***** she would receive refund. Mrs ***** will be issued a refund for her order. Thank you, **** *****

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  Regards, ***** *****

6/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a multi-lift to help my husband to transfer from a wheelchair to an automobile Oct. 2013 over the phone and received item on 12-4-13. My first contact was with *** **** earlier in Oct., I believe he owner of the company. He was telling what the lift could do and if it would work for my husband. On the second or third conversation he said he did not usually do it but understood it was a lot of money not knowing if it would work for us he would agree to a return and refund of money if it did not work. After receiving the lift we were to go on ***** and do test with the lift, the car and my husband. It was not successful the first or second time done after adjustments on two different days. While waiting for a different size sling and Christmas holiday to be over my husband passed away. We never were able to get him into the car with the device without much discomfort for him. While doing the test I noticed damage done to the interior door panel and pointed out the trainer on the second test. I have sent a copy of the estimate to them. They only contact me when I have sent a email to them first. Usually one the two weeks after. The first call was around middle of Jan. 2014. They called me back around the first of Jan 31. 2014. Telling me there is no refund and only could sell it on consignment as a used item, with a great loss to me and may take a long time. I emailed picture of door damage to them with cost. March 2 2014 I emailed to *** **** asking him to reply to me only to have a gentleman named ****** call me back on March 12, 2014. Suggesting I sell the item on ****. I was told that afternoon they would discuss the door damage and get back to me. I have not received a call back. The lift unit itself is universal for all autos. The only thing custom made is the bracket to match the make and model of the vehicle. I believe they sell for $800.00. I paid $5900.00 for the whole lift assembly. Since the item was never used I fell it is not a used item and believed they should stand behind the verbal word. I don't see why they could not resell the power lift unit as new. It was not used any more then they themselves would have done testing before sending out.

Desired Settlement: I have offered to accept $4000.00 total. to absorb the cost for the custom bracket and the damage done to my door. I feel this is fair for both parties.

Business Response: Please be advised that customer signed the sales agreement form stating the special order is non cancellable and non refundable. The customer also signed and initialed the payment authorization form stating that this is a binding order and authorizing payment according to the terms of the sale. During the training process, Mrs ******'s door panel had been damaged and was acknowledged by our trainer in which Mrs ****** had submitted pictures. Mrs ****** also had submitted a quote for the repair of 1,200.00.  We are not exactly sure how the damage has occurred, but for customer goodwill we will replace the door panel.   Access Unlimited has found this price to be excessive and we are happy to provide a comparable door panel and and arrange repair of her door panel .  Mrs. ****** is aware of this.  Mrs. ******'s Husband had passed away shortly after receiving their product, in which we are truly sorry for her loss. Also the customer was advised of the terms of the sale and that possibly she could sell product on *****.  Please note that the Multi Lift Speedy Bar is made vehicle specific, and the Multi Lift is specially set by our design team to fit that vehicle,  and the person being transferred. Access Unlimited agrees to provide a comparable door panel and and arrange repair of her door panel, and will look for any possible customer's who may have the same vehicle as Mrs. ****** in which we can refer to Mrs ******. for a possible sale of her Multi Lift. Also, Access Unlimited is happy to assist customer in other popular ways to liquidate her purchase. Thank you, **** *****

Business Response: Please be advised that the refund was issued as agreed. A credit of $1,200.00 was issued to  Mrs. ******'s ******** card number ending in ****. Thank you, **** *****

Consumer Response: Refund was made to me after last contact to BBB on 9-23-14.  Received refund on 9-23-14 after four month wait.  I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  Regards, ******* ******

5/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased an ********** *** **** seat. This item is a mechanical modification to the passenger seat in my van to enable my handicapped wife to transfer from her wheelchair into the passenger seat in our van. This device rotates, extends outward then drops down from the normal seated position to an position that allows transfer from the wheelchair to the re-positioned seat. Then, with a push of a button, the seat retreats to the cars interior, rotates, slides backward and is repositioned for safe transportation. I ordered the device on 2 Jan 2014 and was told the delivery and installation would be within 4 to 6 weeks. I paid $7,500.00 upfront for this product.. Access unlimited had to find a local installer to train and certify the installation of their products. Access Unlimited found an installer in ********, SC called ****** ******** Center. I was told to go to the ******** facility, they would remove the passenger seat, send it to their factory in **********, NY. The conversion unit would be build, my seat installed on the device, then returned to ********, SC to be installed. The unit arrived on or about the 28th of February 2014 at the facility in ********,SC, later than expected. I returned my van to ********, the facility worked on the installation for 3 days and failed to provide a working product. Discussions were held with the NY Firm between the installer and myself. It was agreed that the NY facility would build another seat and send it back to ********, SC. The rebuilt seat was due back in 4 weeks, but again was delivered late. The device showed up in ******** on the 15th of April 2014. I returned my van on Monday, the 21st of April 2014. After three days of installing this unit at the ********, SC facility, the seat still does not work successfully. The installed contacted me and said that after three days and about 20 hours of effort the seat did not work as promised. I contacted the NY facility this afternoon and asked for some response and solutions to this problem. Their answer was they will contact me tomorrow.

Desired Settlement: The order form I signed and paid up-front for says that special orders are non-cancellable and non-refundable. This dispute is on a product when installed does not work as advertised. I would like my $7,500.00 returned at once.

Business Response: Access Unlimited has been in constant contact with the customer and has acknowledged the issues the customer has been having with the operation of the **** *****.  Our Service technician has been in contact with the installer and has spent numerous hours attempting to correct the issues concerning seat itself.  The **** ***** is a complex product and does require the removal of the customer's original  seat and then return to Access Unlimited to be attached to the base and then returned to the installer thus allowing less time and less chance for error for the installer.  Sometimes auto manufacturer variances can pose a issue for this complex unit. Access Unlimited has agreed with the customer to rebuild and install a new **** ***** seat and assign a new installer located in the area in which the customer now resides. Customer now resides in ***** *****, SC.

12/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I'm a disabled person who trusted the description of a vehicle access unlimited was selling. First they took money out of my bank account without my permission. Next it took weeks and weeks to get the van. I called and emailed them over and over and over with NO response, totally ignored me for weeks. When they get your money you will have zero customer service or support. When I get it the remote doors and disability ramp didn't work. Duct tape holding the door panels together. Van was filthy all over with dog hair on all of the seats. The drivers seat is flopping left to right and would slide forward when you stop and shoot backwards when you step on the gas. This would make driving very dangerous. Three days after I get the van I have a blow out on the highway leaving a disabled guy stranded. Come to find out tires have dry rot and need replacing $600 for new tires, tried calling for help and again no help not even a call back. I could never afford to do business with this company again.

Desired Settlement: Repair the side doors so it does not need duct tape, fix the seat and reimburse me for my tires.

Business Response: **** brought the vehicle in. The tires were inspected and they are not dry-rotted. It appears that **** was scammed  by the tire dealer. It was explained to **** that based on the findings that I would not be able to refund him for the tires. The other two items, the seat and trim panel were fixed and the customer seemed satisfied.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

**** *******




9/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I, ******* ****, ordered a ***** * ** lift for my recreational vehicle, on June 28th,2013. The company represented by *** said they did not accept charge cards so I paid them by electronic check in the amount of $5950.00 on the same day. *** told me that the order would take a total of 3 to 5 weeks. It has now been 8 weeks and I keep getting the run around. I am in fear of losing my money. Please be advised that I am totally handicapped and confined to a wheelchair with a personal care attendant 24 hours a day. Access Unlimited knows this and is taking advantage of handicapped people according to the other complaints I see in this report.

Desired Settlement: I would prefer to have delivery of order before I die! If the order is not forthcoming for whatever reason they should refund my money in full.

Business Response: Please be advised that I have been in comtact with customer several times and have been informing them of each step of process. Their order will be shipping very shortly and will inform as soon as the item ships, I have also been in contact with the installer.

Thank you,

*** *****

This has been resloved. *******

The customer had been notified each update and the lift has been shipped to the installer and the installer had been notified.

Thank you,

*** *****

8/30/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In late February of 2013 I had ordered a disabled mobility devise for my elder mother who had a stroke, I had surgery on my spine during this time and ordered this devise to move her and care for her because of my medical issues to help me move her and give her proper care. I had ordered from this company a complete set up of a in-home and vehicle devises at a price of $10,500.00, I still have not received all the products to be able to use it, it has been over six months now. My mother is getting worse in her physical health and may pass away very soon, she had been place in a nursing care home which I had been trying to bring her home to care for her before she dies, this company has prevented me from having quality time with my mother in her own home in this last stages of her life. I am still waiting for the last devise in hopes I can still bring her to her house on weekends, I have a lawyer working with me and they had sent them at least two letters to get them to sent the products to me, I had about 90 percent of the devise, but the main one I need I still don't have, that's the vehicle devise, I can't put her in the car myself with out the devise. Because it has been over six months and my mother condition is worse I really can't use it any more, if I had it now at best bring her home a few times for a visit.

Desired Settlement: I just would like a refund, I can't use it anymore.

Business Response: Please be advised that a partial shipment was made to customer and the final parts were shipped 8/20/13 completing the customer's order. Customer had been notified. This was a specialized order containing lifting device for the auto as well as home stations.

Thank you,
** **

Consumer Response: Consumer left vm for BBB that they received all items.

 

 

 

8/20/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We took our truck to *** ******** in *********, OR on March 17, 2013. They removed the seat from our truck and shipped it to Access Unlimited within a week. They (Access Unlimited), were supposed to make the disabled lift for our seat and send it back within a month. So far its been almost 4 months and all they do is make excuses

Desired Settlement: My seat with the lift or my seat and the $3000 they insisted up front.

Business Response: BBB spoke to ********, the consumer, on behalf of the business and the following response and resolution was relayed:

The company has finished what they were contracted to do and they did get it to me. They did a good job, it works well and I am satisfied. This is resolved.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

5 Customer Reviews on Access Unlimited
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart