BBB Accredited Business since

Hibbard Home Improvement

Phone: (716) 810-9988 Fax: (716) 810-9988 11 Foxcroft Lane, Williamsville, NY 14221 http://www.hibbardhomeimprovement.net View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business offers home improvements, including: kitchen and bath remodeling, basement remodeling, additions, window repair, flooring, interior work, and ceramic tile.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hibbard Home Improvement meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Hibbard Home Improvement include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Hibbard Home Improvement
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 25, 2009 Business started: 01/01/1993 Business started locally: 01/01/1993
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Dale A. Hibbard, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dale A. Hibbard, Owner
Business Category

HOME IMPROVEMENTS TILE - CERAMIC - CONTRACTORS & DEALERS BASEMENT - REMODELING BATHROOM REMODELING WINDOWS - INSTALLATION & SERVICE WINDOWS WINDOWS - REPAIRING CONTRACTOR - INTERIOR TRIM CONTRACTORS - FLOORING KITCHEN & BATH - DESIGN & REMODELING KITCHEN REMODELING

Industry Tips
Home Improvement Contracts -- NYS Law Home Improvements Home Improvements -- FHA Loan Advertisements Recognizing Home Improvement Scams Three Day Cooling-Off Rule (cancel contracts) Window Condensation

Additional Locations

  • 11 Foxcroft Lane

    Williamsville, NY 14221

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: **** was supposed to install a bathroom exhaust fan and put more storage in the garage rafters for me. He told me he would perform all of the work and have a helper with him. When the day of work arrived, two other guys came to do all the work and **** was here for less than an hour to collect his down payment and "make nice." Guys that put the fan in didn't wire it properly. It has a light, a fan, and a separate nightlight. All are wired to ONE switch. In putting storage in my garage they cracked one of my support beams. Then proceeded to re-install my ballast so that when I opened my garage door for the first time, the garage door cracked the ballast and sent glass bulbs flying everywhere. I have scratches on my car which was in almost new condition up until then. When I called **** to complain, after relaying all of my concerns to him, he proceeded to yell at me on the phone saying that he never stated he would be performing the work, that I was thinking of another contractor, and that if the "mess" the broken bulbs caused was too much for me that he would come over tomorrow to clean it up. I then told him I wasn't comfortable having him or the guys he hired in my house to fix or clean up anything. **** is lucky that he already cashed the down payment check because for the issues, time, and money they have caused me I would have canceled that check. As it is, I am out more than $500 and will have to have all of this work re-done.

Desired Settlement: **** should refund me for all but $120 which is what the exhaust fan actually cost (http://www.****************************************************************************************************************

Business Response:

To:  **** – Complaint Handler
        Better Business Bureau
Re:  ID # ******** 

This is in response to ***** ******* *omplaint.  First I would like to apologize for any miscommunication on my part.   I would like to say I don’t think I said I would personally perform the work requested to be done. I usually mention to people that I sometimes do the work myself, that depending on schedules I may not. I have two full time and one part time employee. These employees are experienced in the field of remodeling and I have complete confidence that they do quality work and will represent my company well. I, of course met everyone at the job in the morning to introduce my employees to ***** and to go over the work to be done. In the garage ***** wanted to add some shelving at ceiling level. While planning the shelving supports it was noticed there was an existing fluorescent light that needed to be moved. I was told that ***** confirmed the new location to install the light. It appears that none of the three people (my two employees and *****) noticed that the new location of the light would interfere with the operation of the secondary overhead garage door. 

Regarding the bathroom exhaust fan: It the contract it states a fan and light. Not a night light. It also does not state separate switches. The reasons for not installing two switches for this job are as follows.  ***** was currently getting prices for remodeling the bathroom. So much of the work may have to be changed later. The selection of the location of the switch was somewhat irregularly high as all the walls in the bathroom had ceramic tile installed over four feet high. Therefore the switch box was somewhat unsightly. ***** said she understood that cutting into the existing tile was too costly and she confirmed the higher location.

 I spoke with ***** on the phone later in the day and she said she was happy with everything and she would send me the balance due. However, the following day I heard she wasn’t happy with the switch issue. So I called and left a message saying that I would be happy to come back and add another switch. No charge and I was sorry for any miscommunication. I received no call back until Sunday when she told me about the light bulb breaking. I was very upset at the situation and I raised my voice. I apologized immediately to ***** and tried to explain that I am just upset at the situation, somewhat embarrassed and I am not raising my voice at her. I offered to come over first thing in the morning to do whatever I can to rectify the situation. My offer was turned down. 

Regarding payment: The shelving in the garage is fine and worth at least $450.00 the fan is installed and the only thing ***** may need to have changed is adding an additional switch.

My proposal is for me to return $150.00 for the cost of someone adding another switch. I also will not ask for the balance due of approximately $300.00.

Sincerely,
**** ** *******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:
I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.
**** did not, like he stated, mention that he would NOT be performing the work on site. He did say he may have a helper with him, but that was all that was mentioned.
I wasn't aware that minute details of the job such as wiring something properly and installing the correct # of switches needed to be in the contract. I did agree to the location of the switch higher up on the wall. But never did I say they could skip wiring something properly.
In regards to the garage, the man on site asked if it would be ok to move the fluorescent light fixture "somewhere under the new shelving added." My response was that as long as it didn't interfere with anything then they could proceed. I was not under the impression that I needed to manage ****'s employees on-site. I believe that is his job, not mine.
I do understand that there were materials used on site. However, **** is forgetting that in his employees' negligence, I now have a cracked support beam in my garage, a broken light fixture, and scratches all over my car. It will cost more than $150 to repair the car, let alone the support beam and wiring of the switch.
**** did offer to come and have his "guys" fix the wiring in the bathroom. However, after discovering such second-hand work had been done I was extremely uneasy letting them into my house again. My fear was that I would be left with an even bigger mess than I am currently dealing with.
I was quoted and signed off on a job that was to be done as specified. It was not completed as such, and it left my house and car damaged and in need of repair. If **** refunds me all of the money that was given to him ($550), I will consider this case closed and not take any further action.
Regards,
***** *******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Hibbard Home Improvement
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart