BBB Accredited Business since

Beautiful Homes By Thomas, Inc.

Phone: (716) 837-3084 Fax: (716) 831-3107 View Additional Phone Numbers 145 Crescent Avenue, Buffalo, NY 14214 http://www.beautifulhomesbythomas.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Beautiful Homes By Thomas, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Beautiful Homes By Thomas, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Beautiful Homes By Thomas, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 01, 1982 Business started: 05/01/1980 in NY Business started locally: 05/01/1980 Business incorporated 11/02/1990 in NY
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

City of Buffalo - Licensing
City Hall Room 313, Buffalo NY 14202
Phone Number: (716) 851-4078

Type of Entity

Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Thomas J Lang, Owner
Business Category

HOME IMPROVEMENTS HOME IMPROVEMENTS - ADDITIONS PAINTING CONTRACTORS PATIO & DECK BUILDERS ROOFING CONTRACTORS SIDING CONTRACTORS CONSTRUCTION & REMODELING SERVICES BATHROOM REMODELING REMODELING SERVICES WINDOWS - INSTALLATION & SERVICE HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING AIR CONDITIONING & HEATING CONTRACTORS - RESIDENTIAL CARPET & RUG DEALERS - NEW FENCE CONTRACTORS GATES KITCHEN CABINETS & EQUIPMENT - HOUSEHOLD SPAS & HOT TUBS - DEALERS WINDOWS FIRE DAMAGE RESTORATION STORM WINDOWS & DOORS - REPAIR FENCE - SALES, SERVICE & CONTRACTORS DECK BUILDER PATIO BUILDER WINDOWS & DOORS - INSTALLATION & SERVICE KITCHEN & BATH - DESIGN & REMODELING KITCHEN REMODELING CARPENTERS CONCRETE CONTRACTORS CONTRACTORS - GENERAL CONTRACTOR - REMODEL & REPAIR DOORS - REPAIR HEATING CONTRACTORS

Industry Tips
Buying Carpet Heating Systems Home Improvement Contracts -- NYS Law Home Improvements Home Improvements -- FHA Loan Advertisements Recognizing Home Improvement Scams Roof - Ice & Snow Removal Roofing - Repair & Installation Service Calls Three Day Cooling-Off Rule (cancel contracts) Window Condensation

Additional Locations

  • 145 Crescent Avenue

    Buffalo, NY 14214

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/23/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Beautiful Homes by Thomas L. had a agreement with ***** & ******** ****** at *** ******* **** to fix there home that had a fire, he had agreed to a price $167, 895.00. that we agreed to pay him we also agreed to some additional work for kitchen and bathroom a price of $6,995.00. We were gonna have done. We also sent a contractor's claim verification form to our Insurance company stating that he would start the work on 2/25/16. We also have a tape on him agreeing that he would fix our roof and fix the rest of the house. We showed him our Insurance paper's he kept overnight, and the next day he asked for the rest of the paper work he wanted to know how much we were getting from the Insurance company. We told him our lawyer says we don't have to tell him the amount of what we are getting then he said if we don't tell him the price he is calling off the contract and he is not going to do the work. If you need a copy of the tape we have it. him on tape saying what he was going to do to fix our home.

Desired Settlement: For Beautiful Homes to abid by the contract and the price that Thomas L. gave us $167,895.00.

Business Response: AFTER REVIEWING THE INSURANCE DETAIL CONCERNING THE FIRE AT *** ******* WE DECIDED NOT TO COMPLETE THE FINAL ACTION FOR CONTRACTING THE JOB. OUR REASON WERE AS FOLLOWS; 1. IN EARLIER MEETINGS WITH ***** I FOUND HIM DIFFICULT TO DEAL WITHIN REFERENCE TO HIM BEING HONEST ABOUT WHAT HE KNEW ABOUT WHAT WAS TO BE DONE AS PER INSURANCE WORK REQUIREMENTS; HE TOTALLY CHANGED THE REPAIR DETAILS BY ADDING HIS OWN PERSONAL REMODELING ELEMENTS [ IE 12 ADDITIONAL WINDOW REPLACEMENT S ABOVE THE ORIGINAL FIRE REPLACEMENT REQUIREMENTS—CHANGING THE REPLACEMENT OF SUSPENDED CEILINGS TO FRAMING AND DRYWALL CEILINGS FOR FIRE ROOMS AND ALSO ROOMS NOT INVOLVED IN THE FIRE REPAIRS. THERE WAS A COMPLETE MAJOR ELECTRICAL RENOVATION UPDATE REQUIRED BY BID INSPECTOR THAT WAS NOT PART OF FIRE DAMAGE WHICH WAS CONFINED TO A SMALL SECTION ON THE FRONT OF HOUSE. 2. ASBESTOS; AFTER REALIZING THAT THERE IS ASBESTOS TILES THROUGHT THE THRID FLOOR AND ALSO IN THE ROOFING SHINGLES THAT WOULD ADD TO THE REMEDIAL COSTS NOT STATED IN THE INSURANCE DETAIL AND THE FACT THAT WE ARE NOT A ASBESTOS CERTIFIED REMOVAL CONTRACTOR.-- ALSO LEAD TO OUR DECISSION NOT TO PROCEED WITH THIS PROJECT BECAUSE OF THE UNKNOW ADDITION COSTS FOR US. 3. EVERY TIME WE MET [5 TIMES] THERE WERE ADDITIONAL EXTRA REVISIONSNOT INCLUDED IN FIRE DESIGNATED REPAIRS AND FURTHER REQUESTS BY MR ****** TO THROW PRICE LINE ITEMS INTO THE JOB.. 4. I DID NOT RECEIVE THE INSURANCE DETAIL MINUS THE PRICING PAGES UNTIL THE DAY AFTER I SUBMITED MY LATEST PROPOSAL. AFTER REVIEWING THE INSURANCE DETAIL I DECIDED THAT THE PROJECT AND DEALING WITH MR ****** WERE NOT IN OUR BEST INTERESTS TO PURSUE. 5. FIND ENCLOSED A COPY OF THE DENIAL LETTER SENT BY REGISTERED MAIL AND REFUSED BY MR. ******. RESPECTFULLY - THOMAS L.  CAO


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Beautiful Homes By Thomas, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)