BBB Accredited Business since

NOCO Energy Corp

Additional Locations

Phone: (800) 662-6776 Fax: (716) 542-5423 View Additional Phone Numbers 2440 Sheridan Dr, Tonawanda, NY 14150 http://www.noco.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers Heating Contracting, Propane, & Home Heating Delivery and Service.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that NOCO Energy Corp meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for NOCO Energy Corp include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on NOCO Energy Corp
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1958 Business started: 01/01/1935 in NY Business started locally: 01/01/1940 Business incorporated: 01/12/1948 in NY
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Town of Tonawanda - Licensing
Municipal Building, Kenmore NY 14217
Phone Number: (716) 877-8801

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Alicia Lineberger, Customer Service Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Alicia Lineberger, Customer Service Manager
Principal: Ms. Michele Smith, Controller
Business Category

HEATING CONTRACTORS HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING AIR CONDITIONING & HEATING CONTRACTORS - RESIDENTIAL PETROLEUM GAS - PROPANE GAS - PROPANE - EQUIPMENT & SUPPLIES OILS - FUEL WATER HEATERS - DEALERS APARTMENTS ELECTRIC COMPANIES NATURAL GAS COMPANIES BOILERS - NEW & USED HUMIDIFYING APPARATUS FURNACE SALES & SERVICE WATER HEATER - TANKLESS BOILERS - SALES & SERVICE BOILERS - REPAIR & CLEANING

Industry Tips
Heating Systems Home Improvements Renting an Apartment Service Calls Three Day Cooling-Off Rule (cancel contracts)

Additional Locations

  • 13613 Main Road

    Akron, NY 14001

  • 2440 Sheridan Dr

    Tonawanda, NY 14150

  • 6804 Main Street

    Cherry Creek, NY 14723

  • 700 Grand Island Boulevard

    Grand Island, NY 14150

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/11/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: At the end of my billing season for the last year from 7/13 to 5/14 the balance that showed due seemed extremely higher than normal. I called to inquire why around 07/18/2014. I spoke with ***** in the credit department, who explain that an extra delivery had been provided due to the colder winter we had had. ( Understandable) When ***** was explaining the rate for the deliveries an error was determined in the price per gallon ( I had signed a fixed pricing in Sept 2013 and returned it to the company). I was then transfered to a customer service manager ****** that explained she did not show a record of the fixed pricing signed but was willing to honor the price/gallon of $3.89 for the season in question. She advised me to continue to pay for the upcoming season $310/month for budget billing. I immediately forwarded a payment of $500 along with a $5 off coupon to NOCO Energy corp to apply to my past balance of $1210.40. ****** advised me she would put a request in to apply a credit for the billing error in price/gallon and advised it should show up in either my 8/28 or 9/28 bill. ( Credit was calculated to be approx $195.00) I called again on 8/14/14 upon receiving 8/28 bill spoke with ***. *** advise the notes did show that ****** forwarded it for processing and it might take till 9/28 or 10/28 to apply. Upon receiving my 9/28 billing I called on 9/17/14 spoke with **** who also indicated he could see the notation on my account but nothing being applied as of yet. **** also proceeded to offer an upsell for maintence on my furnace ( Felt it was unprofessional considering the situation- understand probably a requirement of his call handling). In addition he lectured me for not paying more than the balance budget payment of $310 in a condescending manner. In October I received my statement with no adjustment and unfortunately was too frustrated to call in to inquire. I feel 3 calls in to the company to reconcile this issue was enough. It has been over 3 months since the issue was discussed and credit was promised. I am concerned that the past balance will be reported adn impact my credit score.

Desired Settlement: All that I am asking is that the adjustment is applied. I understand only $505 has been paid to the balance of $1210.40. Of that $705.40 I was adv of an approx credit of $195.00 leaving my balance at $510.40. I was advise by ****** that this could be paid as I had additional funds availible to apply or it would just roll into the balance due at the end of season in April/May.

Business Response:

I am writing in response to the above case number.  

Ms. ***** did contact NOCO regarding her concerns and I would like to apologize for the delay in her receiving credit on her account. 

According to our records, Ms. ***** received 2 deliveries at a price higher than $3.899.  They were on February 11, 2014, for 222.9 gallons, billed at $4.099, and March 31, 2014 for 222.1 gallons, also billed at $4.099.  Prior to that, her deliveries were at or below the agreed upon price.  Adjustments to those deliveries were to be made after we spoke in July.  The adjustments to those two deliveries result in a credit of $93.22, which was rounded to $95.

In order to reach an amount close to $195, all taxes would have to be removed from the deliveries.  I am not able to do this because we do not have a tax exemption certificate on file for Ms. *****.

At this time, Ms. *****’s account is in good standing and no information has been reported to any credit agency indicating otherwise. 

We regret that Ms. ***** has not been completely satisfied with our service and we will continue to work at improving it.  At this time we feel that we have provided sufficient evidence that a credit of $95.00 is what is due, and that amount has been posted to her account.   

If you have further questions, please contact me via e-mail at ***********@noco.com or by telephone at ###-###-####.  Thank you.  

 

Regards,

****** **********

Customer Service Manager

NOCO Energy Corp.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below

Although ****** Did Advise An Estimated Amount Of $195.00 I Agree That Based On These Calculations $95.00 Does Seem Closer To The Actual Amount. However, I Do Expect That I Would Not Be Expected To Pay Taxes On The Overcharged Portion Of My Oil. Therefore I Am Requesting The Taxes For That Portion Which Comes Out To Approx $20. 

Regards,

******* *****




Business Response:

In response to Ms. *****'s concern, I will issue and additional $20 credit to her account. 

Thank you,

****** **********

Inside Sales/Customer Service Manager

Fuels Division

###-###-####

a**********@noco.com

 

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this ********** is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******* *****




7/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In 2009 my father and I bought two heating and hotwater systems from NOCO for two houses. The unit in my house has not been working properly ever since it was installed. I had service technicians at my home on a regular basis, lately as often as several times a month when the unit presented continuously presented the same error code "6A- ignition failure". The last time this code presented I was unable to reset it even temporarily causing us to lose any hot water in the home. I have had to take time off work every time a service/repair visit had to be scheduled and nothing has been resolved for more than a few weeks. Yesterday I had to take another day off work when NOCO had scheduled a visit to do a complete scan on the unit to determine the problems. The same technicians had also been scheduled to perform the scan on my father's unit two houses up the road, they went there first stayed for more than two hours and the went home without ever notifying me or showing up to perform any form of check on my unit. When calling the manager of NOCO Cherry Creek the reason given was that they have already spent so much time on one unit. This is not acceptable as no problem has been resolved, I have a baby due this fall and can not risk losing heat or hot water again and also cannot take any more time off work. I think I have bee patient enough and given the company plenty of time to resolve the problems (almost five years). All I get is excuses or no contact at all, it seems to me that NOCO is either unwilling or unable to fix the problems with a unit they sold for almost $10000.00 which is why I am filing this complaint.

Desired Settlement: I would either have the unit replaced after being strung along for a long time by the company or would like for the company to finally fix the entire unit once and for all (including the system scan instead of having me sitting at home waiting and never showing up) at a time convenient for me, even if that means late afternoon or weekend as I have lost many days of work due to the problems already and can't take anymore time.

Business Response: NOCO has been in contact with Mr. ****.  We have arranged to meet with him at his convenience.  We will meet with him at his residence on Thursday, June 26.  At that time we will establish what needs to be done to resolve Mr. ****'s complaint.  We will post a follow up response to the complaint after that meeting.

6/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am following up on a complaint that I registered with your office a week ago. I was asked to explain in writing the details of my complaint against Noco Fuel Corporation. I already sent in copies of receipts pertaining to my complaint. I have a two family home and I live on the second floor and I heat with gas. The first floor is heated by oil on a separate service. I do not live down stairs and I do not have a tenant. I only turn the heat on when it is very cold to keep the pipes from freezing or if I am sitting down stairs for an extended period of time. On July 10, 2013, I contacted Noco Fuel to place an order for fuel, they stated that they would make the delivery on July 18, 2013. I was not at home on the July 18, 2013 and I forgot to leave the gate to my back yard unlocked for the delivery. Noco Fuel was not able to deliver the Fuel due to the gate being locked. The fence is five feet high and I keep a lock on it at all time unless I am expecting someone that needs to enter my back yard. Once I returned home there was no delivery ticket left in my mail box or in the mail slot of my front door indicating that Noco Fuel had stopped by and was unable to make the delivery due to the locked gate. Subsequently I did not follow up with Noco Fuel to place another order. On October 10, 2013, I tried turning on the heat and did not have any heat or fuel in the tank. The tank had not been on since July 10, 2013 when I placed an order for the tank to be filled for the upcoming winter months. I called a private company to come out and check the tank to see why I was not getting any heat. The service technician asked if Noco Fuel had bled the lines the last time they filled the tank, and I said I was not sure. After checking the tank and bleeding the lines, the technician said I should be good. The name of the company that came out is ********* ******* & ******** Service and the technicians name was **** *******. After the lines were bled, I did not try turning on the heat again until January 1, 2014, at which time, I did not have heat. I checked the gage on the tank and found that the tank was reading empty. I received a bill from Noco Fuel on July 29, 2013 in the amount of $1,008.26 for a delivery I did not receive. I have paid them a total of $530.81 to date. I did not realize until checking my records, that Noco could not have made the delivery on July 18, 2013, because I was at ******* ******** for an outpatient procedure, and was not home and did not leave the gate unlocked. I called Noco Fuel to have someone come out to check the tank, and they confirmed that the tank was empty and the gage was not working as well. They put (10) gallons in to test the tank for heat and I signed a delivery ticket for the (10) gallons. Noco Fuel sent out another truck on January 2, 2014 to fill the tank completely, and I did not place this order nor did I sign the delivery ticket. I am disputing this delivery because I did not place an order for the tank to be filled again, which is still reading empty. I was not happy about having to fill the tank again after paying $530.81 for fuel that Noco Fuel claimed they delivered on July 18, 2013. The reason why I contacted Noco Fuel was to have someone come out and explain to me why my tank was reading empty, after they claimed they filled the tank on July 18, 2013, and I had not been using the fuel, because I leave upstairs and only use heat downstairs when it is very cold. It was not my intent to have them deliver any more fuel until a resolution was reached on an outstanding bill for fuel that I did not receive. After the tank was filled again on January 2, 2014, I turned the heat on after Noco Fuel left and it only ran for two hours before it shut off. The tank was reading empty again so I called Noco Fuel again to report the problem and they refused to return. Their response was that the tank must be empty. I stated that there must be a problem with the tank and they still refused to come back out to assess the problem. My problem with Noco Fuel is that they have not provided me with an actual ticket from the truck when the tank was allegedly filled on July 18, 2013 and again on January 2, 2014. What I received was a bill from Noco Fuel stating how many gallons where provided, the date and the cost. Normally when a delivery is made a copy of the ticket from the truck driver is left in my mail box. Noco Fuel claimed that the ticket may have blown away. To date, I have paid Noco Fuel $530.81 for fuel that I have not used. Either the tank was never filled or the gage is faulty and is indicating that the tank is full when it is not. I am requesting that Noco Fuel refund me the $530.81 that I have paid for fuel that I did not actually receive. I can be reached at ###-###-#### if you have any questions regarding my statement.

Desired Settlement: Refund of $530.81

Business Response: I am writing in response to the above case number. According to our records, Ms. **** did in fact receive fuel deliveries on July 18, 2013 and January 2, 2014. Following this letter are copies of the delivery tickets along with two images generated by our GPS equipment. Each delivery vehicle is equipped with a GPS and that data is electronically transmitted to our Dispatch center. Our drivers do not have the ability to modify or delete any of that information. Regarding the delivery on January 2nd. We have a record of a phone call from Ms. ****'s home telephone (###-###-####) at 10:56am on Thursday, January 2. The record of the call does not have the name of the caller, only that the CSR received a verbal request to fill the tank as soon as possible. We do not have record of Ms. **** requesting service after the January 2 delivery. At this time, we have received payment in full for the delivery made on July 18, 2013. There is an outstanding balance of $1034.79, which is the amount for the delivery made on January 2, 2014. We regret that Ms. **** has not been completely satisfied with our service and we will continue to work at improving. At this time we feel that we have provided sufficient evidence that both deliveries were made and we will not be refunding $530.81. If you have further questions, please contact me via e-mail at **************@****.com or by telephone at ###-###-####. Thank you.

Regards,
****** **********
Customer Service Manager
NOCO Energy Corp.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

BBB spoke to **** **** today. She stated for the July delivery, the gate was locked. How did the company deliver fuel if they could not get to the tank? She was at ******* that day and can prove it by getting a doctor's note. Just because there is a delivery ticket does not mean fuel was actually put into the tank.



Business Response: BBB spoke to ****** today. The delivery was made on July 18, 2013. When the private company came to bleed the lines, they probably left the furnace on as it was October. If the furnace was NOT on, with the cold winter we had, the consumer would have noticed problems. ****** advised the consumer could call her directly at ###-###-#### so ****** can talk to her. The driver stated the gate was unlocked.

4/14/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am a propane customer with Noco. We use Noco's online bill payment system, and as I pay all my bills online, use their system to check my amount due. We received a tank fill in September, October, and November. I made a payment in October, and two weeks after our November fill (which was around November 5th), I checked my amount due online (this was November 18th). The system indicated that I had a credit on my account of around $100 (negative amount due). I thought perhaps I had double-paid. Nonetheless, I tried to make a payment and the online system displayed "no payment is needed on your account at this time", along with $0.00 and a confirmation number (which I have). I got another delivery in early December, and the online account indicated the SAME credit amount. Last week my husband checked the tank and saw the level was low. This is alarming as we have been having very cold temperatures. He called Noco to see when our next delivery was, and they told him we weren't scheduled since we owed more than $400. I immediately went online and the system said we were due. I didn't receive any phone call or letter saying we were overdue and that we'd no longer be scheduled for delivery. That seems unsafe with these life-threateningly low temperatures, not to mention the risk of property damage due to potential frozen pipes. I immediately paid when we became aware of this situation (Thursday January 17). My husband then checked our tank on Saturday and the amount was below the 5% mark (which is the lowest mark), so we had to call for an emergency fill as we would not have made it through the weekend. A representative called me yesterday telling me she had a message that we'd called over the weekend and I told her we'd had to have an emergency fill, and told her something was wrong with their online billing system totals, she indicated that "billing isn't something I deal with" and ended the call. I am very upset, as when we opened the account with Noco, we had specified to be on a "budget plan" to avoid issues like this. There is some sort of billing problem with their system and no one can offer me an explanation of what happened. As a result of this billing issue I will likely be charged a $99 emergency fill trip fee. I cannot even see a list of statements online to check historical payments. If their online billing system isn't trustworthy, it should NOT be used or offered.

Desired Settlement: I would like a detailed statement of payments due and received from 9/1/2013 until 1/21/2014. Noco should not charge a $99 fill fee due to their online billing errors causing me to not be scheduled for a delivery.

Business Response: I am writing in response to the above case number.  

The ****** were able to reconcile their account on Thursday, January 16. At this time, they do not participate in a NOCO Budget Billing Program which we offer to all customers at no charge.

Regarding online account information. We were unable to replicate the error that Ms. ***** experienced but that alone is not enough for us to say that it did not happen.  We continually monitor our online program and are regularly receiving inquiries and payments.  Ms. ***** has been in contact with our office via e-mail and has not had any further complaints.  

A detailed summary of all account activity from September 1, 2013 through January 31, 2014 has been generated and mailed.  This was requested in the original complaint. 

Lastly, regarding the delivery of propane.  A propane delivery was made Saturday, January 18.  The information was forwarded to me on the Monday following the delivery (January 20) and it was determined that the fee would not be assessed. At this time, we will not be issuing a credit for a $99 fee because one was never charged to the ***** account. 

If you have further questions, please contact me via e-mail at ***********@****.com or by telephone at ###-###-####.  Thank you.  

 

Regards,

****** **********

Customer Service Manager

NOCO Energy Corp.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The online payment system has actually changed to display less information.  Now, when I log in, "information is not available about your account balance" is shown.  However, NOCO has been emailing copies of the mailed statements, so they are making an effort to keep me informed on the status of my account.

 
When we first signed up for NOCO service, we did fill out and return a form for participation in the "budget billing" program, so this is incorrect.  We should be participating in this program and I have mentioned this by phone and email to NOCO customer service reps.  The only offer to help this situation was to forward us a form for "automatic credit card billing" - which is a separate autobill program, not the same as the budget billing program.  I do not wish to be auto-billed, given the huge amounts we have been seeing this winter, so auto-billing doesn't solve that issue.
 
I do appreciate the billing statements being emailed, but am not satisfied regarding the offer to sign up for "auto bill" rather than a budget plan which we originally signed up to participate in.
 
We also have a separate complaint issue.  In February 2014, our tank was allowed to run empty.  When this happened, we called for an emergency delivery.  A driver came out and filled our tank (he was great), but indicated that NOCO had mis-scheduled deliveries for February in our area, and that many other people had their heating fuel run out.

Regards,

****** *****




9/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a heating and air conditioning unit installed along with other work done by Noco eight years ago. The cost of the work done was upwards of 10,000 dollars. I have had an issue with my blower on the furnace not working properly.Noco sent a tech over and he diagnosed the problem as being the circuit board. The system I had installed was a ***** unit. Noco neglected to inform me that they are no longer an approved service rep of this company. They told me I was responsible for the cost not only of the circuit board but also the kit and the additional labor needed to update my system as ***** no longer makes a circuit board that fits my furnace. I would have gladly paid for the circuit board but had an issue with the additional costs associated with the updated kit and labor associated with this. Noco insisted that this was my responsibility and the cost would be 648.00. This did not include the cost of 85.32 I had already paid for the service call. To make a long story short I made calls to ***** and also a authorized dealer of ***** parts and found out my equipment was still under a limited factory warranty. I found out all parts would be covered. I would only need to pay for the labor involved. If Noco would have told me in the very beginning they were no longer a approved service rep for my equipment, I would have found a company that was. They might have asked for the model and serial number of my systems and told me I was still under warranty. I f I would not have researched out all this myself I would be paying 648.00 to a company unnessarily . I called Noco and left a message explaining my factory limited warranty that was still in affect. I received a call back the next day. The rep suggested I have an authorized dealer do the work! I had already come to this conclusion as an estimate from an authorized company for ***** equipment was 165.00 vs 648.00.In the coarse of this phone call the Noco representative hung up on me. I found this rude and unprofessional as we were in the middle of a conversation.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting reimbursement of the service charge of $85.32. I should have been dealing with an authorized rep of ***** equipment from the very beginning. Noco did not let me know they were no longer and authorized rep of ***** until sometime after the service call.

Business Response: We have reviewed Ms. ******’s complaint (see complaint number above) and conducted an internal investigation to determine what happened. 

Ms. ****** called for service on August 27, 2012 and a technician was sent to her home that day.  At the time of the first call, we quoted a service charge of $79 + tax.  That is our standard fee for coming to the home and it covers the amount of time it takes for our technician to determine what is wrong with the equipment, as well as to provide solutions and cost estimates. NOCO is a certified installation and repair company for ***** and many other fine equipment brands of heating and cooling equipment.  We installed equipment at **, in early 2004.  The cost of the installation was $8,000, with $3,875 paid by an ****** **** grant, and $4,125 paid by Ms. ******. At the time of installation, a 5 year warranty for parts and labor was provided.  That expired in April 2009.  NOCO is no longer a ***** Dealer and therefore does have ready access to information regarding any parts covered for an extended period of time by the manufacturer.  In addition we are not privileged to receive extended warranty parts at no charge.

In speaking to our Service Manager, ***** *******, he does acknowledge speaking to Ms. ****** on more than one occasion.  However, there was difficulty with the connection each time, causing difficulty for each of the parties in hearing each other and at one point being disconnected.  He is adamant that he did not hang up on Ms. ******.   At this time, we do not feel that a refund of the service charge is in order.  The charges were quoted in advance, and the diagnostic evaluation which those charges represent was performed. We regret that Ms. ****** was inconvenienced by having to contact another contractor, but we are glad that she was able to save money by using a current ***** Dealer.  We would like to offer a $20 NOCO gift card as a token of our appreciation to Ms. ****** for having used our services in the past. 

If you have further questions, please contact me via e-mail at ***********@****.com or by telephone at ###-###-####.  Thank you.  

Regards,

****** **********
Customer Service Manager

NOCO Energy Corp.