BBB Accredited Business since

Jazz Hardwood Floors, Inc.

Phone: (716) 990-1188 397 Goundry Street , North Tonawanda, NY 14120 http://www.jazzhardwood.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers hardwood floor and custom installation, restoration, and refinishing.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Jazz Hardwood Floors, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Jazz Hardwood Floors, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Jazz Hardwood Floors, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 22, 2006 Business started: 01/01/2001 in NY Business started locally: 01/01/2001 Business incorporated 04/30/2002 in NY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John Scott, President/Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Scott, President/Owner
Business Category

FLOOR LAYING, REFINISHING & RESURFACING HARDWOOD FLOOR CONTRACTORS HARDWOOD FLOOR MAINTENANCE FLOOR REFINISHING

Industry Tips
Home Improvements Three Day Cooling-Off Rule (cancel contracts)

Additional Locations

  • 397 Goundry Street

    North Tonawanda, NY 14120

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/17/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company has failed to make restitution as discussed, which has prompted this complaint for further action and more frustration. The company displayed poor workmanship, which could not be rectified, then failed to follow thru with restitution that was promised

Desired Settlement: In the least, payment for the runner that had to be purchased to cover up poor workmanship, or 10% of payment for the work, or if need be a full refund for the entire job.

Business Response: Our response is as follows: 
The customer's complaint is inaccurate. The company did not display poor workmanship, although there was a minor quality issue. The initial attempt to rectify it met with limited success (we always try the least invasive method of repair first). The customer was not interested in getting the problem fixed . An offer of $25.00 as appeasement was made to the customer. The customer accepted. That offer still stands. It is unfortunate the the customer doesn't understand that not everything is on her timetable. It is also unfortunate that her actions are technically extortion (her email communications can be provided, if requested). ****, Jazz Hardwood Floors, Inc.

8/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had our kitchen remodeled last fall. Jazz Hardwood Flooring came into replace our flooring. When it was finished, in October, we looked at the finished product and noticed that there were numerous spots of flooring that had lifted and that areas where the polyurethaned had not taken and left streeky spots. We had contacted them, and it took forever for him to return our calls to finish the job properly. He never showed up on the day that we had schedualed, for him to finish the job. Finally he returned and glued the loose board and set another date to finish the floor. Since then, he has failed to return to finish the job, failed to return our calls. We have payed him in full and expect him to finish the job properly.

Desired Settlement: return to finish our kitchen floor properly

Business Response: ****,  We installed and finished a new hardwood floors for the home owners  on 9/6/13. We received a call-back because there was an area that was missed on the final coat. I told them I would take care of it and the area that their cat had walked through. I admit that it was not a high priority and did not seem to be with them as well. We did miss the appointment to do the touch up work. Due to the extremely high work load and call volume we were experiencing, it was some time before I was able to get back to them. By this time, the season had changed and the the floors were exposed to extremely low humidity conditions, due to the extreme temperatures we were experiencing. This caused shrinking and delaminating of part of the floor. This is not covered by any warranty. This was failure of the home owner to follow the printed instructions in the Care and Maintenance brochure that I provided them with the invoice for the job. I did meet with them and agreed to repair them area of the floor that had separated. I was attempting to make them happy by taking care of something that was not my responsibility. i did not want to come out and say that they screwed up by not following the printed instructions that I left for them. They agreed to install a home humidifier, which did correct the shrinkage problems with the floor. I did inform them that the squeaks in the one area of the floor were caused by the subfloor moving, not the hardwood we had installed. The subfloor was installed by the kitchen contractor before we put down the hardwood floor and was not squeaking when we installed the hardwood floor.. I set up a day to do the repair work. I called them that Monday morning to inform them that I would be showing up a little late and asked for a call back as soon as possible. I never heard back from them until that evening when  the home owner left a message. By this time, I had already rearranged the work schedule, in order to keep my employees busy. There was no time in the schedule for them for several weeks. We were again into a very busy time. On top of that, I had several employees with health issues that kept them from working. This put more of a burden on me and meant that I was working almost every night until 9:00 or 10:00. There were several phone calls from the homeowner that I could not take, because I could not physically answer the phone. At that point, the homeowner started to harass me with excessive phone calls. The calls would go to voice mail and the homeowner would just let the phone pick up whatever background noises there were. I received 117 phone calls between 7/1 and 7/8/2014. I had to put a block on the phone number so that the voice mail would not be filled up with junk phone calls and not waste airtime. I am still willing to work with this customer to resolve this. I will take care of the issue with the missed area of finish and also touch the area where the cat left foot prints. I am willing to put an additional coat of polyurethane floor finish on the entire kitchen. I am not willing to repair anything that is the result of their failure to follow printed instructions or is the result of conditions over which I have no control.   **** *****Jazz Hardwood Floors Inc.

Consumer Response:

We apologize for not responding sooner, we have been out of town with the birth of a new grandchild.
In response to Jazz Floor's response to our complaint:
-several areas about a foot in diameter on the floor were not coated with polyurethane along with the paw prints from our cat, he graciously said at that time not to worry he would willingly fix the paw prints and coat the missed areas
-several small but noticeable areas were not stained, we asked him to restrain the given areas
-several boards lifted, he did come back to fix one but a slight lift remains and needs to be sanded, restained and polyurethaned 
-two appointments were set up with **** but he did not show up or call to explain why he missed the appointments
-we called **** numerous times without a reply and due to frustration my husband kept calling hoping he would finally get sick of us calling and answer, even our contractor called him and a promise was made to call us, but no call was received.
-we were worried about the spaces between the boards, however, this problem has been resolved and I did share this information with John
**** stated he was willing to come and resolve the problem, but we have not heard from him.
 ****, we sincerely appreciate your help in this matter and your timely responses. We have lived in our house for 32 years and have never encountered a problem like this previous to this experience.
With sincere gratitude,  *** and *** *********

Business Response: I spoke with **** who stated work is scheduled to start the week of 11/17/14.