BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Albany, Buffalo, Rochester & Syracuse regions

BBB Accredited Business since

My Digital Discount.Com

Phone: (315) 343-0090 Fax: (315) 343-0494 View Additional Phone Numbers 185 E. Seneca St., Oswego, NY 13126 http://www.MyDigitalDiscount.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business offers electronic equipment sales.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that My Digital Discount.Com meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for My Digital Discount.Com include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on My Digital Discount.Com
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 27, 2003 Business started: 01/01/2001 in NY Business incorporated: 01/01/2001 in NY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Matt Dawson, Owner/President
Business Category

ELECTRONIC EQUIPMENT & SUPPLIES - DEALERS

Industry Tips
Internet Shopping

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (866) 217-1800(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 64GB SSD from MyDigitalSSD. My company works with private data. In this case we put encryption keys to private software owned by other companies. A few days later the hard drive went dead. This is an awkward situation for us since if we RMA the hard drive we risk leaking keys to software which is not owned by us. After some research I discovered the company is aware of the firmware issues. Despite being aware of these issues the company continues to ship faulty hardware to consumers.I spoke with Sales and Chef Tech from MyDigitalSSD. They suggested I return the drive to be fixed or purchase a new drive at 27.6% off. I am not happy with these solution as MyDigitalSSD has acknowledged shipping faulty products and are insensitive to private information on their products. I expect someone in this industry to provide better coverage for situations like this. Either by issuing a full refund, replacing the drive, or having a contract which protects our private data. However Sales informed me that "[You] are asking for a level of support reserved for large corporate clients who pay much more for products while you are paying consumer level pricing."I have documentation of the exchange. I hope MyDigitalSSD will realize there is space to manage these situations and improve their customer service department.

Desired Settlement: I want a full refund.

Business Response: To whom it may concern;   As stated by the customer, we have been in contact. Both myself and the company president. Most of what the customer has stated was true, all except for accusing us of knowing about the firmware issue and still shipping them with this defect. That is entirely false. After we were made aware of the rare defect, not a single drive was sent with that firmware, all were updated before shipping. 1 in every 100 drives has this defect, and as soon as we were made aware of it, we immediately release a firmware update and hosted the firmware release on our site with a full tutorial on how to perform it along with a press release. (There was also talk of sending an email blast to all the customers on record notifying the  customers of the update, but ****** does not provide us with actual emails and does not allow us to provide links.)   That being said, in the many correspondences we've had with the customer, we have offered several solutions, most of which go above and beyond the duty of a customer service representative. We were immediately made aware of the sensitive information on the drive and I came up with the idea of having the customer draw a contract for us and the manufacturer to sign assuring that the information would remain safe. Almost at the same time the president of MyDigitalSSD offered to sell the customer a second drive at cost, $40, $20 cheaper than the original price of the drive. The customer declined and insisted that the we just send him a new drive for free. Eventually he tried to bargain and told us he would accept a new drive for $20, but considering this was a 1 time customer, not a trusted OEM purchaser, we decided that $40 for a new drive was fair, especially considering he is keeping the drive that could easily be fixed. I did not bring this up to the customer because I'm not looking to insult anyone, but this customer could also be using this as a deception to get another drive for free, we have no proof his drive was one of the 1 out of every 100.
We are a very reasonable company, and my offers still stand.
1) New drive for $40, that is the easiest and quickest solution.
2) The customer writes a quick NDA for me to sign, he returns it, I reconfigure and apply the newest firmware to the exact same drive and send it back in 4-8 business days, like a normal RMA would work.
3) The customer writes a quick NDA for me and the manufacturer, and I send it back to the factory to see if the data can be recovered, and I have it back to him in 3-4 weeks.
Thank you for your time. Please let me know your decision.  ******* ****  MyDigitalDiscount.com   ************************** ************

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.
I believe MyDigitalSSD is most likely a well intended business with a terrible customer service policy. As stated in the reply this is a rare defect. A quick check of the ****** reviews show that the majority of the drives they ship are ok.
However, there are others in my situation who have voiced their opinions. This means the company was aware of this issue prior to my purchase from them. The fact that they issued firmware updates further proves that they knew about this defect before my drive was shipped. Maybe the situation here is more like this:  1. Some hard drives had faulty firmware. 2. MyDigitalSSD discovered this and did their best to fix this (Releasing firmware, ect) 3. Some of the drives slipped by and didn't get fixed. 4. I ended up with one of the faulty drives.  This is also the first mention of any online tutorials which could help me recover the drive. While I don't think I should pay money for something I have to this this is my favorite option as our data won't leave our hands.  I wouldn't get distracted by the offer for the NDA. That is an extremely complicated solution. The nature of this product means that customers may put confidential information on these drives. I expect MyDigitalSSD to have some system in place to manage these special scenarios. However, they are shifting the burden by making the customer create a draft. If I draft an NDA we will never be able to agree on the value of the content on the drive or how much is covered. Not to mention this is a costly situation which means hiring a lawyer to look over the draft. This is more of a punishment to the customer than a resolution.
As for MyDigitalSSD wondering if the drive is actually broken. I can relate with this point. However, I am surprised that they never asked for proof of this? I could create a video trying to boot it or a video of us destroying the drive.
Regards, ****** *********

Business Response: It is our policy to fix, replace. or send a full refund (once we have received the item back) on any defective device at no cost to our customers we will even cover return shipping.  We stand behind this very liberal policy.  I understand this customer has valuable sensitive data on this piece of equipment and we offered to sell him a new drive at cost because of his situation.  We feel this is more than fair.  Regarding the customers comments asking why we have not asked for proof that the part has failed.  This is very simple we trust our customers and do not feel he would be wasting his own time with this situation if it were not true.  Sincerely, **** ****** ********************* ****

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

8/10/2012 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On March 28, 2012, I put an order in the website of the business, "http://www.mydigitaldiscount.com", the order ID is "#*****", and then pay via Paypal of $964.99. In their website they declare that the availability of this product is "1 Week Lead Time", but it have been more than 40 days, they still don't send the product to me. During the past one month, I contacted with the business for several times, but for each time they told me that they didn't know when they can send the product. Around April 20, 2012, I contact with someone of them by their live chat system, they told me that they will send the product to me by the end of April. But until now, they didn't send it to me. When I contact with the business in this month, they never replied to me. I want to complaint this business and hope your team can help me to make sure if they are cheater and press them to send my product at once. Thanks a lot!

Desired Settlement: I hope them to deliver the order, send the product I bought at once. If they can not do it, I want them to return my money. If like this, can I ask compensation?

Business Response: BBB spoke to **** from the company today and received a verbal response. The company no longer uses pay-pal as a form of payment so they are unable to refund the money that way. They have been working on getting the part in and still can get it in for you. Please confirm that that part is still needed or please provide a credit card number that can be used for a refund.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

  1. After I received the response, I take a look at their website again and I found that PayPal is still one of payments they provide to customers. So, this means the truth is not same as the **** said and the business is lying.  Anyway, when I paid to the business, I used Paypal as the business proposed and required, and now, when they have to refund my money, it should be refunded to the original Paypal account of mine. There is no reason for them to ask for customer's credit card information when the payment they asked is still available. Who can insure that it might not another cheat of them?
  2. As what wrote in the email I received from BBB, that the business pronounce  that "They have been working on getting the part in and still can get it in for you.", it is obviously not truth and not credible. When I put the order to the business, they pronounce in their website that the "Availability" of the commodity is "1 Week Lead Time", and then after, when I contact with the business for several times, every time they promise to send my product very soon and they pronounced in website the same word "1 Week Lead Time", today if you check their website at   http://www.mydigitaldiscount.com/david-vision-systems-usb-ccd-color-camera-xga-with-lens-david-cam-1-c/ ,  you can find that it's still there. That means they are still cheating.
Every action of the business indicate that the business is still cheating, and they are not trustable. The theat of the business have to be disclosed to the public. I hope BBB. org is a fair-minded and efficient organization can help consumers to protect their rights.

I am also seeking assistance from Paypal to help me to ask back my money and protect my rights, I hope the research result from BBB will not be too much different with other good organizations.

I look forward to your reply!

Regards,

*** ***** ****

 

Business Response: We got the notification from paypal that he tried to take those steps, but without us filtering funds into paypal, that will be impossible. I'm not sure why the customer is being so difficult about this... can you ask if we can do a money wire?


                

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I don't understand what the seller means, can they explain it more clearly?

Who tried to take what steps? What means "without us filtering funds into paypal, that will be impossible"? 

What I want is refund my money to my Paypal account! If the seller can receive money from my Paypal account, why they can not refund it?

Why the seller declared that they don't use Paypal anymore? It is obviously lie! 

Just as the information and proof I have provide to BBB, there is more and more lies of the seller appeared. I hope BBB to investigate the dispute and protect consumers like me at once!


I look forward to reply not only from the business but also the response from BBB!

Regards,

*** ***** ****

 

Business Response: Well, it's not the most descriptive email, but it's pretty obvious he still wants the part, so I am going to start the process of bringing it in for him, do you concur?


******* ****

-------- Original Message --------
Subject: When you can send the commodity I bought
Date: Thu, 5 Jul 2012 06:30:18 -0400 (EDT)
From: *** ***** **** ****************
To: MyDigitalDiscount.com
 

The order ID #******
When do you want to send the commodity?
Let me know if you can complete your mission?

Consumer Response: Hello ********,


I am surprised that you will close the complaint even if my problem haven't be solved! Is this the rule of BBB?

I have told you when I submit the complaint, I want the company refund my money, unconditionally!!! 

*** ***** ****

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

7/18/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a product, MyDigitalSSD 256GB Smart Series SATA III (6G) SandForce mSATA SSD - MDMS-SFIII-256. On June 29, 2012 The Product was out of stock, so I back ordered the item thinking when it comes in stock it would be shipped. On two but brief occasion it was in stock, July 3rd and 5th 2012, I emailed the company to ask about my order on the 5th of July and received an email stating that it will ship on the 5th. On the 6th I contacted customer service to get the tracking number. I was told my customer service that they were still out of stock and it wasn't shipped, I explained the email that I have received and that they had the item in stock and that I should of been shipped. The person from customer service asked me how I would like to proceed, and I asked her to ship the item when it comes back in stock. That was the end of the conversation, back ordering an item on their web site makes the consumer assume that when in stock it will ship like first come first serve. What limited supply of stock they do seem to get, they seem to sell to the general public. I know this because I went through the steps of ordering the product to see if it would go through, it even would of shipped sooner then mine. I didn't order a second.

Desired Settlement: I would like Mydigital to change their practice. In what ever supply that they receive on a back ordered item, they will use to fill the pre or back orders first and sell the remaining sum of the stock to satisfy the consumer.

Business Response: *****, 


Thank you very much for your message. I want to assure you that the issue you experienced was an extremely isolated incident, and is not normally the way we update our website. 

As you know, the product you ordered is extremely popular and we are extremely excited about being the first people with this part on the market. You already know when you ordered the part was in out of stock, and with all out of stock items, we ship on a first come first serve basis. Now when you revisited our website it stated 'In stock.' This is true that the website stated this, and the reason for that is because our shipment was due to come in that Thursday, it did not, which is why your order did not ship Thursday, later we found out that our shipment did not even ship on Tuesday like it was supposed to, it shipped that Thursday, at this point the damage was done, and we notified anyone with expedited shipping that they would not ship until Friday. (You were not included in this email because you chose priority shipping, which is not guaranteed by a specific time, in retrospect you should have also been included in this email, but we were trying to minimize the workload.) That being said, here is the the fedex tracking number of the shipment we expected: ************. As you can see, it was shipped Overnight on Thursday, and we did not receive it until Monday, yesterday when you shipped. Your tracking number by the way is USPS tracking # **********************. You should have that a little later this week. I certainly hope this explains your concerns, and you should know that you were not skipped, you were shipped as soon as we could possibly ship you, and the parts that we had 'in stock' were merely on a truck for delivery that was extremely late. 

I apologize for the book I had to write you, but I felt it was necessary considering the accusations. Trust me, our practices are solid, and the only thing we are guilty of is being trusting of delivery companies. I certainly hope this didn't cause you any significant inconvenience and I hope you enjoy your order. 

Sincerely,
******* ****
GM

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1