BBB Accredited Business since

My Digital Discount.Com

Phone: (315) 343-0090 Fax: (315) 343-0494 View Additional Phone Numbers 64 SW 9th Street, Oswego, NY 13126 http://www.MyDigitalDiscount.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business offers electronic equipment supplies, sales, service and repairs.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that My Digital Discount.Com meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for My Digital Discount.Com include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on My Digital Discount.Com
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 27, 2003 Business started: 01/01/2001 in NY Business started locally: 01/01/2001
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Matt Dawson, Owner/President
Business Category

ELECTRONIC EQUIPMENT & SUPPLIES - DEALERS ELECTRONIC EQUIPMENT & SUPPLIERS - SERVICE & REPAIR

Industry Tips
Internet Shopping

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 64GB SSD from MyDigitalSSD. My company works with private data. In this case we put encryption keys to private software owned by other companies. A few days later the hard drive went dead. This is an awkward situation for us since if we RMA the hard drive we risk leaking keys to software which is not owned by us. After some research I discovered the company is aware of the firmware issues. Despite being aware of these issues the company continues to ship faulty hardware to consumers.I spoke with Sales and Chef Tech from MyDigitalSSD. They suggested I return the drive to be fixed or purchase a new drive at 27.6% off. I am not happy with these solution as MyDigitalSSD has acknowledged shipping faulty products and are insensitive to private information on their products. I expect someone in this industry to provide better coverage for situations like this. Either by issuing a full refund, replacing the drive, or having a contract which protects our private data. However Sales informed me that "[You] are asking for a level of support reserved for large corporate clients who pay much more for products while you are paying consumer level pricing."I have documentation of the exchange. I hope MyDigitalSSD will realize there is space to manage these situations and improve their customer service department.

Desired Settlement: I want a full refund.

Business Response: To whom it may concern;   As stated by the customer, we have been in contact. Both myself and the company president. Most of what the customer has stated was true, all except for accusing us of knowing about the firmware issue and still shipping them with this defect. That is entirely false. After we were made aware of the rare defect, not a single drive was sent with that firmware, all were updated before shipping. 1 in every 100 drives has this defect, and as soon as we were made aware of it, we immediately release a firmware update and hosted the firmware release on our site with a full tutorial on how to perform it along with a press release. (There was also talk of sending an email blast to all the customers on record notifying the  customers of the update, but ****** does not provide us with actual emails and does not allow us to provide links.)   That being said, in the many correspondences we've had with the customer, we have offered several solutions, most of which go above and beyond the duty of a customer service representative. We were immediately made aware of the sensitive information on the drive and I came up with the idea of having the customer draw a contract for us and the manufacturer to sign assuring that the information would remain safe. Almost at the same time the president of MyDigitalSSD offered to sell the customer a second drive at cost, $40, $20 cheaper than the original price of the drive. The customer declined and insisted that the we just send him a new drive for free. Eventually he tried to bargain and told us he would accept a new drive for $20, but considering this was a 1 time customer, not a trusted OEM purchaser, we decided that $40 for a new drive was fair, especially considering he is keeping the drive that could easily be fixed. I did not bring this up to the customer because I'm not looking to insult anyone, but this customer could also be using this as a deception to get another drive for free, we have no proof his drive was one of the 1 out of every 100.
We are a very reasonable company, and my offers still stand.
1) New drive for $40, that is the easiest and quickest solution.
2) The customer writes a quick NDA for me to sign, he returns it, I reconfigure and apply the newest firmware to the exact same drive and send it back in 4-8 business days, like a normal RMA would work.
3) The customer writes a quick NDA for me and the manufacturer, and I send it back to the factory to see if the data can be recovered, and I have it back to him in 3-4 weeks.
Thank you for your time. Please let me know your decision.  ******* ****  MyDigitalDiscount.com   ************************** ************

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.
I believe MyDigitalSSD is most likely a well intended business with a terrible customer service policy. As stated in the reply this is a rare defect. A quick check of the ****** reviews show that the majority of the drives they ship are ok.
However, there are others in my situation who have voiced their opinions. This means the company was aware of this issue prior to my purchase from them. The fact that they issued firmware updates further proves that they knew about this defect before my drive was shipped. Maybe the situation here is more like this:  1. Some hard drives had faulty firmware. 2. MyDigitalSSD discovered this and did their best to fix this (Releasing firmware, ect) 3. Some of the drives slipped by and didn't get fixed. 4. I ended up with one of the faulty drives.  This is also the first mention of any online tutorials which could help me recover the drive. While I don't think I should pay money for something I have to this this is my favorite option as our data won't leave our hands.  I wouldn't get distracted by the offer for the NDA. That is an extremely complicated solution. The nature of this product means that customers may put confidential information on these drives. I expect MyDigitalSSD to have some system in place to manage these special scenarios. However, they are shifting the burden by making the customer create a draft. If I draft an NDA we will never be able to agree on the value of the content on the drive or how much is covered. Not to mention this is a costly situation which means hiring a lawyer to look over the draft. This is more of a punishment to the customer than a resolution.
As for MyDigitalSSD wondering if the drive is actually broken. I can relate with this point. However, I am surprised that they never asked for proof of this? I could create a video trying to boot it or a video of us destroying the drive.
Regards, ****** *********

Business Response: It is our policy to fix, replace. or send a full refund (once we have received the item back) on any defective device at no cost to our customers we will even cover return shipping.  We stand behind this very liberal policy.  I understand this customer has valuable sensitive data on this piece of equipment and we offered to sell him a new drive at cost because of his situation.  We feel this is more than fair.  Regarding the customers comments asking why we have not asked for proof that the part has failed.  This is very simple we trust our customers and do not feel he would be wasting his own time with this situation if it were not true.  Sincerely, **** ****** ********************* ****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on My Digital Discount.Com
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)