BBB Accredited Business since

Judi Laird Draperies, Upholstery & Color Consultant

Phone: (585) 535-4010 Fax: (585) 535-4010 View Additional Phone Numbers 2497 Route 20 A, Varysburg, NY 14167 http://www.jlgermandesign.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business offers furniture upholstery, custom window treatments, German exterior shutters and color consulting.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Judi Laird Draperies, Upholstery & Color Consultant meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Judi Laird Draperies, Upholstery & Color Consultant include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Judi Laird Draperies, Upholstery & Color Consultant
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 16, 1998 Business started: 01/01/1971 in NY Business started locally: 01/01/1971
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

NYS Education Dept Office of Professions
Education Building, Albany NY 12234
http://www.op.nysed.gov/opsearches
Phone Number: (518) 474-3817

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Judi Laird, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Judi Laird, Owner
Business Category

DRAPERIES & CURTAINS - RETAIL & CUSTOM VENETIAN BLINDS - DEALERS WINDOW SHADES WINDOWS COLOR CONSULTANTS INTERIOR DECORATORS & DESIGNERS WINDOWS - INSTALLATION & SERVICE

Alternate Business Names
Judi Laird Deutsch Decor Judi Laird Interiors Laird Interiors Laird, Judi Interiors
Industry Tips
Home Improvement Contracts -- NYS Law Home Improvements Home Improvements -- FHA Loan Advertisements Window Condensation

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Seven months after placing a $2059.56 deposit for upholstery work (Feb 13, 2013 credit card plus $20 cash to cover fabric sample book loan), and ten weeks after the first of two pieces was picked up; I visited the workshop on Sept 20, 2013 to check on progress of work. I had originally been advised the work would be completed in the spring; and later advised it would be completed during the summer. During a discussion on Aug 15, 2013, I had been advised the work was taking longer than anticipated due to the need to re-glue portions of the frame; but the first piece would be completed in two weeks. This turned out to be untrue - as the total extent of work complete was the removal of one arm end cap. I subsequently picked up the piece on Friday Sept 20, 2013; and requested a return of my deposit. I was advised the fabric obtained to perform the work was being returned to the supplier; and that I would receive a refund after that. On Oct 1, 2013, I sent a certified letter confirming this. **** called upon receiving the letter, and advised she would return $1000 when she received a refund for the material; and would then repay an additional $300 per week after that. On Oct 16, **** claimed that she had not yet received the refund from the supplier. On Oct 19, **** called and advised she now expected to get the first portion of the refund out this week; but it would only be $300 -$400. To date, I have not received any portion of my deposit for work that was not even started after seven months. To date, I have not received any portion of my deposit back.

Desired Settlement: I would like a total refund of my deposit now.

Business Response:

The consumer did not have the patience to wait for the work to be completed, he wanted it done before my other customers and did not wish to wait any longer.  He picked up the sofa and  told me to return the fabric and he wanted his money back.   I could not send him the full refund at once. I needed to wait for the fabric refund. I sent him $1000 on 10/29/13 ck #1628. Then I sent $500.00 on  11/17/13 #1639. I still owe him $559.56 and I wrote him a letter advising him I will send as soon as I have it. Hopefully within  the next couple weeks he will have his refund.

Business Response: Good Morning *, I just received your email. I  have given *** ****** no stress. He came here and  helped him load his  furniture. I sent him a check for $1,000.00 as soon as I could, this week I mailed him $500.00 more and I will mail the final $529.00 as soon as I have it.  I work alone,  do the Reupholstery, rebuild and redesign furniture, custom draperies, Color consultations, go to school, teach furniture upholstery, do Color Consultations, write special articles for the local newspaper.  Last year I was injured and could not work on the furniture. I had a big backlog. I work 7 days a week, 'round the clock because I greatly enjoy what I do.  After 42 years in business I have a reputation and I take no shortcuts to speed work up.  I hate computers,  used to be a programer 43 years ago and spend as little time on the computer as possible. I cant do upholstery work and sew draperies on the computer. I work by telephone and US Mail.  My work is all custom and face to face with my customer or on the phone. I have been very polite to *** ******. I am sorry he can't understand good work as mine takes time  and I am doing all I can to get caught up after my accident.  Respectfully, *


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Judi Laird Draperies, Upholstery & Color Consultant
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)