BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Albany, Buffalo, Rochester & Syracuse regions

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers dental group services inlcuding oral surgeons, pedodontist & periodontists.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Q Dental Group P.C. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Q Dental Group P.C. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 15 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 8
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 15

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Q Dental Group P.C.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 1985 Business started: 01/01/1984
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

NYS Education Dept Office of Professions
Education Building, Albany NY 12234
http://www.op.nysed.gov/opsearches
Phone Number: (518) 474-3817

Business Management
Dr. Frank Quarantello, DDS Ms. Rosemary Zaepfel
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Donna Mattern, Finance Manager
Business Category

DENTISTS DENTIST - DENTAL IMPLANTS


Additional Locations

  • 1100 Long Pond Rd.

    Rochester, NY 14626 (585) 225-7790

  • 1225 Jefferson Rd.

    Rochester, NY 14623 (585) 424-5240

  • 1338 E. Ridge Rd.

    Rochester, NY 14621

  • 2300 Buffalo Rd.

    Rochester, NY 14624

  • 43 Willow Pond Way  Suite 107

    Penfield, NY 14526 (585) 421-8168

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (585) 429-5351(Phone)
  • (585) 544-2003(Phone)
X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Q Dental Charged me 32 dollars for bitewing xrays, and led me to believe that I was covered 100% of cost but then this bill came in from them (Q dental) when I called and spoke to the manager and she told me that it is thier policy to give mandatory bitewing xrays once a year, and if I don't allow them to do it then they would not do business with me, i called my insurance company and the woman on the other end said she never heard of a policy like that,,,so what is going on? i feel i got took for 32 dollars by them, (Q dental)

Desired Settlement: give me my money back, they misinformed me!!

Business Response: In reference to letter of complaint for patient * regarding treatment rendered In our Greece office. * had x-rays taken with our Dental hygienist 1/7/2014. Due to an insurance limitation, the x-rays were denied by Delta Dental. As a courtesy to *. We will make a $32.00 adjustment to his account. Please contact me directly if any information is needed at this time.
*
District Manager

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID*, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

*




BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1/6/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: "I had my wisdom teeth removed on Friday, October 4th, 2013 at the Q Dental in Greece, NY. Prior to this surgery I was given a description of the costs for this surgery and specifically what my insurance would cover. I have a copy of this. I was told the amount would be $838.00. I paid $100 as a deposit when I scheduled the date of the surgery. When I arrived to the Q Dental in Greece, NY the morning of the 4th, I paid the remainder ($738.00) prior to having the surgery. My mother told me to make sure that Q Dental did not charge me more than I was told I would have to pay and they are not allowed to do that. My brother encountered a similar situation when he had his wisdom teeth out where Q Dental tried charging more than the amount described prior to his surgery as well. The surgery went fine and my caregiver was my boyfriend. After the surgery, one of the assistants came out to the waiting room and told ******* that more tissue needed to be removed than planned and that I would have to pay an extra $524.00 before leaving that day. ******* was asked to talk to me about this. At this point I was just coming out of the surgery and was recovering from the IV sedation. I was on so many drugs that a conversation with me would have been impossible, and the situation incomprehensible. If I had known of the situation I would have refused to pay the extra amount per my mother's warning. The assistant then prompted my boyfriend to go through my purse and asked him to get my credit card out. Mind you, this is my boyfriend, not my husband, therefore this is extremely inappropriate and absolutely uncalled for. Of course he did not go through my things. He actually did what any upstanding gentleman would do, and paid the $524.00 on his own credit card. When he brought me home, he told me what happened, knowing I would pay him back. Let me describe to you my feelings about this. First of all, I am appalled and absolutely horrified that he was requested to go through my things and have me make a payment I would have had no idea about. How dare they try to take advantage of me while I am still on medical drugs and not knowing what is going on! He is not my husband, he's an honest man who always is doing the right thing and he was taken advantage of just as much as I was. This makes me think...how many other people have been taken advantage of in this same situation? This is absolutely absurd. I was told by my dental insurance company that the only thing I could do at this point is file a grievance, which I have done. If nothing is done about this, I will hire a lawyer to take care of this. The fact that this happened to my brother and now me is ridiculous and I cannot even express how disappointed I am!"

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund in the amount of $524.00. This was not included in the original description of what I would be paying and what my insurance covered. If anything, Q Dental should have sent me a bill and I could have disputed it later, which I would have planned on doing had I been in a better state and could have comprehended the situation. My boyfriend should receive a full refund for the $524 he fronted on his credit card because Q Dental left him no choice.

Business Response: In reference to letter of complaint for patient ****** * ****** regarding treatment rendered in our Greece office. Ms. ****** had a consultation visit with our Oral Surgeon on 7/15/13 to review her necessary treatment regarding her wisdom teeth which needed to be extracted. At the time of her 10/4/13 treatment for her extractions, Ms. ****** had two full bony wisdom teeth extractions, one partial bony wisdom tooth extracted, a cyst removed and one hour of lV sedation. The total charges for this treatment were $2912.00 of which Ms. ****** has now paid a total of $1362.00 co-payment. This claim has been submitted to Ms. ******'s dental plan, ***** ****** and to date we have not received payment or an explanation of benefits from her carrier regarding the 10/4/13 treatment. It has been verified this plan has a $1000 yearly benefit and her extractions and her cyst removal "should be'' paid at 50% coverage and the IV sedation "should be"' paid at 80% coverage. Once the payment is received from ***** ******, we will contact the patient regarding a final reconciliation of this date of service. Please contact me directly if any additional information is needed at this time.

******** *******
General Manager

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

****** ******

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern:

We clearly indicated in our response that was sent 10/23/13, we can not act any further on this claim until ***** ****** has processed the 10/4/13 date of service.  We will be more than happy to evaluate this claim in completion at that time.  We called the insurance carrier today, 10/25/13 and it has NOT been processed to date.  As soon as the payment and insurance explaination of beneifts are received, this case can and will be addressed as previously stated.

 

******** *******

General Manager

Business Response:

11/12/13

In response to a message we recived on 11/16/13 regrading complaint ID#*******. Patient: ****** ****** The patient was given an "estiamte only" at the time of her 7/15/13 treatment and we CAN NOT do a fial reconcilliation of this claim  until we receive an explaination of benefits from her ***** ****** insurance carrier.  To date, this claim has not been proceseed.  Due to the fact that the patient filed a complaint with her dental carrier, ***** is now investigating the claim as well.  We furnished a complete copy of the patient record and oral surgery notes to them on 10/28/13 and again on 11/12/13. Payment is due at the time of the treatment and we do not generally do billing for services that are completed in our office. We do our best to "anticpate" the patient co-pay, but obviously with surgery it can be more extensive regarding both the treatment and co-payment. Again to confirm, as soon as this payment is received, it will be reconciled with the patient directly.

Business Response: I am attaching a copy of the ***** explanation of benefits that was just received 12/3/13. I have personally been working with Dr. ***** ****** at ***** to have this claim resolved. Now that we have finally received the final payment from the patient's dental carrier, we are able to make a final determination of both the insurance and patient liability in this claim. The total charges for this claim were in the amount of $2912.00. On 11/6/12 we received a payment of $1000 for this treatment indicating a patient liability of $1126 for this visit. I was contacted by Dr. ****** that ***** did not process the claim correctly and she would have the correct information sent to me via email which was just received. Per the correspondence which was received on 12/2, the correct benefit that ***** should have paid for the claim should have been in the amount of $953.50. At this time we are refunding to ***** in the amount of $46.50 per their request. In addition, ***** has confirmed the total liability to Ms. ****** for her treatment should have been in the amount of $756.50 which includes her copay and deductible due. Since Ms. ****** paid a co-payment of $1362.00 we are sending her a refund check in the amount of $605.50. Please see attached regarding refund sent directly to this patient as well as to her dental plan. Contact me directly if you require any additional information at this time.

******** *******
General Manager

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

9/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Detailed timeline of events: 5/15/13: Because of a cavity I entrusted Qdental to fix the tooth by inserting a new permanent crown. On this visit a Root canal was performed and I paid $456.57 out of pocket. At this point I was informed it would be a 3-step procedure and that all 3 steps are necessary (in other words doing just 1 or 2 steps is not a permanent fix). After the procedure I dealt with headaches and jaw pain. 5/30/13: Qdental did step 2 of the procedure: a post with a temporary crown. I reported my pain symptoms to the dentist and he didn’t think they were abnormal after a root canal. I paid $466.72 out of pocket on this visit. I had now paid in full ($923.29 total). It is important to note that they would not let me leave the office without paying, even though they still had work to do. In the next couple of days after this visit I noticed my symptoms getting worse, not better. The temporary crown was lopsided. When I would try to chew on the right side of my mouth one tiny portion of the temporary tooth would strike the bottom of my jawline because it was lower than the adjacent teeth(see picture, the tooth is inserted crooked). It has been almost 3 months and I still can’t chew food on that side of my mouth because of the discomfort the temporary crown causes. I had my third and final visit scheduled for 6/25 and had no choice but to suck it up. 6/25/13: Once again I reported my symptoms to the dentist. He got to work on step 3 and when he went to insert the permanent crown it was way too big and didn’t fit my mouth. The impression they took was of another person or the lab made a mistake, I’m not sure. Despite my complaints, He had to re-insert the troublesome temporary crown as there was nothing else he could do until the lab came back with another tooth. The worst part is that instead of trying to make room for me in a week or 2, the earliest slot available to get me back in was 8/8/13 at 3:30. At this point I was very upset. I didn’t want to deal with the pain and lopsided bite for another 5 weeks. After thinking about it that night I called them the next day to ask what my options were. I wanted a full refund and to go to another dentist but when I spoke to the Penfield branch manager ***, she admitted there was a problem and offered me a refund for 1/3 of the cost. Nothing was said about cancelling my 8/8 appointment. Without the 1/3 refund I would have told them right away that I want a full refund to finish the procedure elsewhere. But that was not the case and *** said she would get the paperwork to me so I decided to give them another chance and suck it up for another 5 weeks. 8/6-Present: A week before the appointment I still hadn’t received the paperwork but figured that they would have me sign the stuff when I got to the office to have the permanent crown installed. I was also worried because QDental always calls a couple days in advance of an appointment to confirm and I did not receive a phone call prior to 8/8. On 8/6/13 I got the letter in the mail and understood the problem. There are 2 copies; 1 dated July 15 to the wrong address. 1 dated July 30th. I get mail from them all the time but they get my address wrong on this important paperwork and it takes 5 weeks to get to me, unbelievable. Then I can’t believe what I’m reading. When they agreed to the 1/3 refund on the phone they never said anything about cancelling my appointment on 8/8 and refusing to finish my treatment. I also was led to believe the refund would be based off the total cost I paid ($923.29), roughly a $300 refund. In the letter they only offered a refund of $128.83(1/3 of just step 3 of the 3 step procedure). I was blindsided and when I called they said I have 2 options: 1) take the $128.83 refund and finish the procedure elsewhere (between my cost and the insurance this was an $1846.58 procedure. If I accepted this offer it amounts to me paying them $794.46 out of pocket, $1717.75 total for a crooked temporary crown. Then I have to turn around and incur more costs to get the permanent crown at another place. Insane) Option 2) they would reschedule the appointment they cancelled (without my consent or consultation by the way) and finish the job but with no compensation to me. Continue with them? After all the red flags? I asked when they could get me back in and the said 8/8 would still work but just at a different time (4PM). I wasn’t getting anywhere with the Penfield office so I tried the Rochester branch (###-###-####). I called them around Noon on 8/8 and explained the situation to the manager (********). She promised to call me back before closing. I waited as long as I could then called them back around 4PM. When I called I was put on hold (the secretary was obviously asking if the manager wanted to take my call). When she got back on the line the secretary told me the manager had left the office for the day. I persisted and pushed and as I was talking to the secretary the manager ******** jumped on the line and bluntly told me there was nothing she could do. I had to take one of the 2 options offered by the Penfield branch manager *** and that was it. They even refused to refund the portion I paid out-of-pocket ($386.49) for a service I never received, step 3: the permanent crown. They argued labor costs but the bottom line was that it was manufactured faulty; you can’t hold a patient responsible for that. Also, they can’t hold me responsible for any lab work after my 6/25 visit because they cancelled my 8/8 appointment after I called the next day. In essence they are trying to force me to stay with them. But I am not a satisfied customer. I have been lied to, the customer service is terrible, and they have made 2 major dental mistakes already (crooked temp crown & grossly oversized permanent crown). I can’t risk a third mistake. The #2 molar is a very important tooth for chewing and I have a right to get it fixed correctly, competently and in a timely manner, especially considering the cost both financial and physical. I don’t trust Qdental anymore. My bite is completely out of alignment and the headaches still linger, especially when I chew.

Desired Settlement: I know Qdental will argue they did some work so I shouldn’t get all my money back but please understand that the work they did was substandard and incomplete. I am worse off now than I was before I got to Q dental and I ask the fraud department to hold Qdental accountable by issuing me a full refund ($923.29) so I can get the procedure completed elsewhere. If refunded I would be willing to sign a liability release ensuring I take no future legal action against Qdental.

Business Response:

August 20, 20 13
In reference to letter of complaint for patient ***** ******* regarding his 5/ 15/13 treatment
rendered in our Penfield office. Mr. ******* was a new patient to our office on 1/27/12. At his
initial visit with us, we indicated a need for treatment on tooth #2. At that time, Mr. ******* did
not wish to schedule any treatment to have any necessary dental work done. We heard from this
patient again on 6/28/12 after we sent him a six month reminder card for a follow up routine six
month cleaning and exam. Mr. ******* scheduled a visit for 7/13/12 and then missed his
scheduled appointment. We saw this patient on 9/20/12 and at that visit, it was again
recommended to have an necessary treatment performed on tooth #2 as well as tooth #2 I . This
patient was given a quote as to his co-payment to have his necessary work scheduled, and he
stated he would call our office when he was ready to have his work completed. A six month
reminder was sent to this patient and he scheduled a vi sit on 5/6/13 for a cleaning, exam and at
that visit, current x-rays were taken. At this time the patient was now having discomfort on his
upper right and it was determined that tooth #2 would require a root canal treatment, post and
core and crown after the root canal treatment was completed or an extraction. This patient was
aware of his options and chose to save #2 and have the root canal, post and crown. This patient
has Excellus BC/BS insurance. This is a dental plan which mandates that treatment is submitted
for payment "at the time of completion" for all major treatment. The root canal procedure was
performed on 5/15/13 on tooth #2 and on 5/30/13 #2 had a post and core placed ( a procedure
which is done on root canal treated teeth after completion of the root canal). This tooth was
prepared for a crown and the final impression was taken. The patient returned on 6/25/13 for the
insert of the crown and the bite was high on the crown. The DDS felt it was in the patient's best
interest not to insert the crown at this visit since it would compromise the porcelain appearance,
and the crown was returned to our lab to be remade. On 6/28/13 the patient contacted our office
expressing his disappointment that his crown did not fit. He asked to "just keep" the temporary
crown that was on the tooth and he wanted to be refunded for any monies paid for the crown.
Since the patient stated he did not wish to return to our office, a letter was sent to him explaining
he would be refunded one third of the total monies he paid for the treatment on the crown
(patient paid a total of$386.49) which equated to $ 128.23. We were asking this patient to sign a
release which stated that the patient understands he only has a "temporary crown" on tooth #2
and indicated he was failing to complete his recommended treatment in our office. On 8/7/13, the
patient called our office and stated that he was planning to return to our office to have the crown
inserted. He was very argumentative and stated he wanted to be refunded AND have his crown
inserted. He asked for a FULL refund for all monies paid for this tooth. On 8/8/13 , this patient
then called the Gates office and then the Greece office and tried to explain why he should get all
his money back and he wanted to have his crown inserted that day (8 /8/13). This patient stated he
will contact a lawyer as well as all of our offices and the newspaper until he gets his refund and
his crown inserted. He repeatedly told our staff we did not know what we were doing. Please
note the total charge for the crown procedure on tooth #2 is $772.98 (Excellus par fee) of which
the patient has 50% coverage. The patient has an anticipated co-pay of $386.49 and "upon
insertion of the crown" the Excellus insurance would reimburse our office the other 50% benefit
of $386.49. To date this crown has not been inserted, nor has any claim been submitted to
Excellus for the crown procedure. The fee for the 5/15/13 root canal was $888.13 of which the
patient paid a co-pay of $456.57 and his Excellus dental plan paid a benefit of$431.56 (this
treatment WAS completed). The fee for the 5/30/13 post and core procedure was $160.48 of
which the patient paid a co-pay of $80.24 and his Excellus dental plan paid a benefit of $80.24
(this treatment WAS completed). The patient has paid to date $386.49 regarding the crown and
two thirds of this treatment has been completed and this crown is ready for insertion. At this
point, we have consulted with the treating DDS and we have opted to refund to Mr. ******* any
monies paid specifically for the crown treatment. He has paid a total of$386.49 for this
treatment and there has been no submission to his insurance so he will be free to have this
treatment redone at a new provider of his choice. A release has been sent to this patient regarding
this treatment. As soon as this is signed and returned (copy attached) he will receive his
appropriate refund and he can seek treatment at a new provider.
Please contact me directly if any additional information is needed at this time.
******** *******
General Manager

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/19/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I visited Qdental in February (2013) to obtain a quote on some work I needed to have done. Prior to the appointment, they asked that I obtain x-rays from my previous dentist. I called my previous dentist and was informed that x-rays lose quality when printed and they told me they would email them to Qdental. When I called Qdental back, they informed me they didn't have an email address to receive the x-rays so they would provide them to me free of charge on my visit. While at my initial Qdental appointment, I informed them that my insurance wasn't going to cover anything as I reached my maximum for the year. QDental then provided a quote and I moved forward with them and they completed the necessary work. Upon completion of the work, I received a bill that was close to double my quote. When I received the bill, I called right away and they informed me that the quote they gave me was factoring in my insurance, despite the fact that I told them I had reached my maximum for the year. I informed them that I wanted to speak to the manager as I didn't think this was fair (as I had moved forward with work under a misquote, due to their error). I was assured that the "Office Manager" would contact me. I received no call but another bill in the mail. Upon receipt, I called again, informed them of the issue and was again told that the "Manager" would contact me to discuss the issue. This then happened a third time. After the third time, and still not 1 call back from the "Manager" I received a notice that the were submitting my bill to a collection agency. Their action to submit my case to a collection agency without receiving one call, even though promised 3 times, is unacceptable. This will affect my credit rating and they flat out lied multiple times.

Desired Settlement: My desired outcome, due to the time and effort spent, is to only be charged only what I was originally quoted as well as cancelling the process with the collection agency. This is extremely fair as Qdental in Penfield has done nothing, other than falsely promise phone calls to discuss, to help resolve the situation.

Business Response:


Please see attached for additional information.

July 9. 2013

In reference to the response letter of complaint from Mr. **** ******* regarding his treatment rendered in our Penfield office on 3/5/13. Please be aware, Mr. ******* presented to us as a new patient on 2/20/13 for treatment he knew he required on tooth #15 following a root canal procedure he had completed by a previous DDS two weeks earlier. Prior to coming to Q Denial we have since been notified by Mr. ********* ****** dental insurance, that he had previous treatment on 1/30/13, 2/4/13 and 2/6/13 at a different dental provider outside of Q Dental which utilized his denial insurance as well. With Mr. ********* dental plan he has a yearly benefit of $1000. Due to the fact that he did in fact have dental work prior lo coming to Q Denial, he used all but $72 of his $1000 max before he had any treatment started at Q Dental. When the estimate was given to Mr. ******* on 2/20/13 regarding a crown and post on tooth #15, the estimate was given to the patient taking into consideration that an allowance would be paid by his dental plan.

The estimate indicates an "anticipated insurance allowance", ll also indicated an "anticipated patient co-pay" which was calculated based on his ****** fee schedule. When we received payment from Mr. ********* insurance for his 3/5/13 tx, we only received a benefit of $20 (see attached) from his denial plan since he had already reached his yearly maximum. This patient was only charged an additional fee AFTER we received the benefit from his insurance and it was clear the insurance did not pay ''the anticipated benefit". It is clearly indicated on the estimate sheel that Mr. ******* signed on 2/20/13 prior to his treatment being started that after the insurance payment is received, his responsibility may change regarding any monies due. Please note this patient's account was sent to RCB on 6/28/13, the complaint from the Better Business Bureau was received on 7/3/13 and we received a check from this patient regarding his outstanding balance in the amount of $317.20 for his balance that was being disputed (see attached). You may contact me directly if any additional information is needed at this time. 

******** *******
General Manager

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The response by the business does not address any of the complaints:

 

1) I was informed there would be no x-ray fee as QDental didn't have an email address for my previous dentist to email information. I was charged an x-ray fee even though I was told I would not incur this cost. This was not addressed in the rebuttal.

 

2) I moved forward with the dental work after receiving the quote. When given the quote, I was NOT informed this was factoring in insurance. If in fact I knew it was, I would have addressed this. This was not addressed in the rebuttal.

 

3) The biggest issue is that I called the facility 3 times to discuss the owed payment. I was told 3 times that an "Office Manager" would call me back. I never received one call back to discuss the situation. I was then sent a letter by a collection agency for the owed amount. To not receive one call after hearing multiple times I would be contacted and then involving a collection agency without one discussion is unethical.

 

As stated, the rebuttal by QDental does not address any of my three complaints above, which were clearly stated in my original submission. 

Regards,

**** *******

Business Response:

Better Business Bureau, Inc
100 Bryant Woods South
Amherst, NY 14228
ID#*******
July 17,2013
[n reference to the 2nd letter of complaint from Mr. **** *******. Please let me address Mr.
*******'s complaints.
I.) Attached you will find a copy of a refund ck payable to Mr. ******* 's dental plan regarding
the $16 (sixteen dollar fee) which was paid for his x-ray at this 2/20/13 visit. Though it was
necessary to have an x-ray available to us in order to do a proper diagnosis of Mr. *******'s
pending dental needs, we have now refunded in full for the x-ray treatment.
2.) I am attaching a copy of the quote that Mr. ******* was given at his 2/20/13 visit. This
quote which is signed by Mr. *******, clearly indicates "anticipated insurance allowance" as
well as indicating if the indicated treatment is not covered by the patient's dental plan then the
patient responsibility may change after the insurance payment is received.
3.) Per our records, Mr. ******* called our office on 4/18/13 regarding his concern with his
existing balance. Our office explained to you at that time, that we are able to give you an
"estimate" however until we receive the actual payment from your insurance carrier, it is only
then that we will have the benefit amount paid by the insurance company which dictates what the
patient co-pay would be. On 5/1 /13, you were contacted again by our office regarding your
balance. We offered to work out a payment plan with you regarding your balance and you
indicated you did not wish to work out any type of payment plan. You would not be paying the
balance above the estimate that was given to you initially. On 6/28/ 13 a letter was drafted to the
patient saying we did not hear from him regarding his account and it was a written notification of
dismissal (see attached). J hope all of Mr. *******'s complaints have now been addressed.
Please contact me directly if any additional information is needed at this time.
******** *******
General Manager

Consumer Response:

1) Issue #1 is resolved upon receiving the refund check - when will I get this? As mentioned, I should not have been charged in the first place for the x-rays and was told I wouldn't be.

2) This is clearly a case of QDental (Penfield) misinforming a patient. The quote they gave was extremely inaccurate. I chose to have the work performed based on the quote and then the final bill wasn't even close to what I was told.

3) This remains an issue. The response again never addressed the fact that I was told 3 times that I would receive a call from the "office manager" so i could receive clarification. I never once received a call as I was told I would. So, rather than paying the bill I was waiting to discuss the situation with the appropriate person. After calling multiple times, being told I would be contacted and not receiving one call, I was informed the payment was being sent to a collection agency. This is unethcal business practice.

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

**** *******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the information provided by all parties, BBB determined that the business handled the matter appropriately, and no further action was needed.

7/1/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Last Spring I started the process to have my teeth bleached and have a new crown installed as my old one was inadequate. The arrangement was that I would be fitted for a new crown, given a temporary, then have my teeth bleached, then have the new crown made to color match, then installed. Initially, the dentist contacted my insurance company to find out what portion of these services they covered, and I paid roughly $450 upfront for the new crown, was fitted for it and given a temporary. The bleaching is an entirely out of pocket expense that I would pay for when services were rendered for that. Over the next almost year, I made several appointments the have my teeth bleached. The first appointment I made was confirmed, then cancelled the day of by the dental office because they had accidentally overbooked the appointment slot with too many patients. I had already left work early for the day. The next appointment I made was cancelled because the entire town the office is located in lost power, which I understand is not their fault, so I was okay with that. They were supposed to call me back when the power was back on to set a new appointment, I never heard back from them. After I had to call them to set a new appointment, they called to confirm it then cancelled again on the day of because the Doctor with whom I had the appointment had something else he had to do that afternoon and failed to tell the office workers who set and confirm appointments. The next appointment I set, I actually had to cancel at the last minute because of an emergency. I was told they were going to have to charge me a $45 cancellation fee, which I agreed to and asked if I could pay when I came in next. I was told that this would be fine and that they would put a note on my chart saying that it would be paid when I came in for my next appointment, which was also set up in the same phone call. When the time for that appointment came around, again, after having been confirmed by the dental office, they cancelled on me again the day of because the Doctor had once again failed to let the office staff know that he had better things to do during that time slot. At that point I stopped trying to make new appointments for a while. Several months, I got a letter in the mail from a collection agency telling me that the $45 cancellation fee I had been previously charged was about to be reported to my credit score. I had never received anything from Q-dental saying that they were making an effort to collect that fee, or that it was considered late. More recently, my temporary crown broke and I called to set an appointment to have it fixed and finally have my teeth bleached. Once again they called to confirm and then day of called to cancel. I explained that my tooth had broken and needed to be repaired so they couldn't cancel, at which point they told me to keep the appointment, which was set for 3:30 pm, but that the Doctor had to leave at 4 pm so the bleaching would have to be done during another appointment. While I was there, the doctor made me a new temporary crown, as well as made the temporary molds necessary for the bleaching, which I was not only never told needed to be made, but which also take several days to receive back from whatever company makes them, so I wouldn't have been able to have the bleaching done that day anyways, which I was not informed of. The Doctor didn't mention anything about needing to leave early that day, and in fact seemed to take his time with my appointment. When I left the office, it was after 4 pm and the Doctor did not seem in any hurry to be gone for the day. Another appointment was set for the next week to have the bleaching done, which actually was kept and at the end of the appointment, the office manager informed me that she was going to re-check with my insurance company to make sure they were still going to cover the insurance end of my new crown. I was told they would call me to set an appointment to install the new crown after they had heard back from the insurance company and had the new crown made to color match my bleached teeth. When I got home, I realized that the after care kit they gave me to follow up on my bleaching services had expired 2 years ago. After several weeks, I called Q-Dental and was told that the office manager had quit unexpectedly and had never followed through on contacting my insurance. Today, Q-Dental called me and told me that I would owe them another $120 to finish this work. I asked why, when I have already paid for this service am I now being charged more, and they said it's because I need a different type of crown than I paid for. This is the first I am hearing of this. Admittedly, I got angry and explained that I have had enough of this nonsense at which point the woman on the phone asked me to calm down and not curse at her. I told her that she needed to put me on the phone with someone who could handle my problem because I am justified in being upset, and I apologized for yelling at her and stated that I am aware it is not personally her fault. Someone else got on the phone with me, I pre-apologized to her for being loudly upset and stated that I knew it was not her fault personally, but that I have had a lot of problems with this office and felt justified in yelling. She told me this was not the case and hung up on me. All of this in in addition to this office not being able to find my chart when I call, almost without fail, because they have misfiled it. There has been 1 time that I can recall in which they did not have to call me back after they located my chart because it was not filed where it should be on the shelf. I'd like to point out that they use an alphabetical filing system for their patient charts.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have my dental work finished for the amount I already paid. I would like to make an appointment, and have it kept. I would like this process to be completed so that I never have to deal with these people ever again. Needless to say, I will finding a new dentist for myself, but I would like to have services I have already paid for completed first. Otherwise, I think they should refund what I have already paid, as well as pay any difference in cost they I might incur to have this procedure finished at some other dentist.

Business Response:

June 12,2013

In reference to the letter of complaint for Ms. **** ****** regarding her 6/15/12 treatment for a crown on looth #8 which was prepared on 6/15/12. This patient was to return in September of 2012 to have her teeth whitened before the permanent crown was placed, and she never returned to our office until May 2, 2013. At this time, we feel it would be in this patient's best interest to refund the fee paid by herself ($382.50) and her ****** ******** ********* ($467.50) toward the crown procedure on tooth #8 and have the patient seek treatment at a new facility outside of Q Dental. In the interest of patient satisfaction, we feel this patient will be best suited and more importantly more satisfied having this procedure completed at a different provider. Please see attached copies of refund checks sent to the patient and her insurance company refunding in full for the crown procedure from 6/15/12. You may contact me directly if any additional information is needed at this time.

******** *******
General Manager

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

As detailed in my complaint, that I did not return in September of 2012 to have my dental work finished, was not my fault, but Q-Dental's.  Also, the amount that they refunded me was not accurate.  I paid $479.25 and they refunded me $382.50 for a difference of $96.75.  I would like that amount to also be refunded to me, and I also stated in my complaint that I would like Q-Dental to be responsible for any difference in cost to me for having my work completed elsewhere if the total of that work is more than I originally paid at Q.  If these extremely reasonable requests are met, then I will have no further quarrel with Q-Dental.  If not, I'll be forced to pursue this ridiculous matter.  This is a rather shoddy way to run a business in my opinion, and I am certainly not the only person in ********* to feel this way.

 

Regards,

**** ******

Business Response: June 28, 2013


In reference to the response letter of complaint from Ms. **** ****** dated 6/25/13 regarding her 6/15/12. We have refund in full regarding the crown on tooth #8 and per attached, we are now refunding for the post which was completed on this tooth as well. Though the post more than likely will not have to be replaced, we wanted to refund for ALL monies that we received regarding the treatment rendered in our office for tooth #8. Please be aware there will NOT be any additional refunds or compensation made from our office regarding her future treatment on this tooth. This patient should discuss any fees with her new provider of choice before any treatment is started, so she is aware in advance of the fee being incurred by her. Since we are refunding in full to her insurance company for #8, please be aware that her ****** ********* ********* would be able to reimburse the insurance portion to a new provider for treatment which will be rendered on this tooth. This patient will then be responsible for any additional fees she does incur from a new provider. Please see attached copies of refund checks sent to the patient and her insurance company refunding in full for the post procedure from 6/15/12. You may contact me directly if any additional information is needed at this time.

******** *******
General Manager

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

2/26/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: AFTER HAVING A CONSULTATION APPOINTMENT AT Q - DENTAL, I WAS IN FORMED BY Q DENTAL THAT THE PROCEDURE THAT THEY RECOMMENDED TO ME WAS COVERED BY MY INSURANCE. A FEW WEEKS LATER I RECIEVED A BILL FOR $400.00, PLUS THEY SEND TISSUE TO THE LAB. I RECIEVED ANOTHER BILL FOR $115.00. I WAS LEFT SITTING IN THE ROOM FOR 20 MINUATES WHILE THE YOUNG MAN WHO WAS TAKING CARE OF ME LEFT TO GO CALL MY INSURANCE COMPANY. WHEN HE RETURNED WITH THE GOOD NEWS THAT MY INSURANCE COMPANY WILL PAY FOR THE ENTIRE PROCEDURE. I HAVE MADE SEVERAL CALLS TO Q-DENTAL WITH THIS PROBLEM. THEY TOLD ME TO BAD, YOU SIGNED THE PAPERS. THEY WILL NOT GIVE ME THE FULL NAME OF THE DIRECTOR TO MAKE A COMPLAINT. THEY SAY HER NAME IS ROSEMARY, BUT WILL NOT SUPPLY A LAST NAME OR PHONE NUMBER TO CONTACT HER. THEY HAVE SENT ME THREATENING COLLECTION LETTERS, BUT WILL NOTDISCUSSW THE PROBLEM. I WOULD NEVER OF HAD THIS UNNESSASARY WORK DONE IF ITWAW NOT COVERED. I HAVE MADE ARRANGEMENTS TO GET THIS BILL PAID SO MY CREDIT IS NOT DISTORYED.

Desired Settlement: $400.00

Business Response: Better Business Bureau
100 Bryant Woods South
Amherst. NY 14228
Attn: Carol Bedard

Patient: ***** * *****
** ****** *****
************ ** *****

ID#:*******

November 12. 2012

In reference to letter of complaint from ***** * ***** visit at our Greece office on 4/2/12. Please be advised. at this time, we are still trying to retrieve payment from the patient's MEDICAL carrier for the biopsy procedure performed. We received the denial from the patient's DENTAL carrier United Concordia that the dental plan does NOT provide for this SURGICAL Procedure. The explanation of benefits was received from the dental carrier on 5/31/12 and we billed the patient for the non-covered treatment on 6/11/12. It was not until 8/16/12. that the patient provided us with their MEDICA L information and asked us to submit the claim to MVP for consideration. The claim has been submitted to MVP on 8/16/12, again on 10/2112 and again on 1/11/12. At this time, we have donc everything possible in our efforts to try and get this claim paid accordingly under the patient's medical plan. This palient should be advised of such and no further action is necessary on the part of the patient at this time. We will notify the patient of this as well and I
apologize if this was not explained clearer to the patient previously. "Some" dental plans will consider a biopsy procedure under their benefil plan and we were not aware of this particular plan until the denial was received on 5/31/12. We are doing everything possible to have this claim reconsidered under the patient's medical plan. Please contact me directly if you require any additional information at this time.

******** *******
General Manager

CC: ***** * *****

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[I have read the response from Q dental.  The only issue they have addressed is the fact that they have not received payment from the insurance company. At this time the letter says for me not to do anything.  They already know the insurance company is not going to pay.  They have not addressed the matter from my complaint, that before they worked on me, they informed me at my consultation that the work would be covered .  Again, they left me in a room for 20 minutes while the assistant went to call the insurance company.  It is my opinion that their response letter is a smoke screen to delay responsibility.  

Business Response:

Better Business Bureau
100 Bryant Woods South
Amherst. NY 14228
Attn: ***** ******

Patient: ***** * *****
** ****** *****
************ ** *****
ID#: *******

November 21. 2012

In reference to the new letter of complaint from ***** * ***** visit at our Greece office on 4/2/12. At this time. there is nothing further we can do until we have a response from the patient's medical insurance. The balance at this time, is totally indicated as an "insurance share" and not a "patient share". The patient has a 0 balance on his account (see ledger attached). Our most recent resubmission to MVP healthcare was 11/1/12. We will follow up on this with the insurance carrier the week of 11/26/12. This claim will be sent to the patient's dental carrier for coverage AFTER the EOB is received from the medical carrier. In our professional opinion this biopsy procedure was indicated and necessary. We are NOT an insurance carrier. we are the provider of service. We are trying our best to have this treatment covered for the patient to reduce his out of the pocket liability. He will be contacted directly from our office after we have received payment from both his medical and dental carrier.
******** *******
General Manager

Business Response:

To reiterate, we continue to make every attempt to have the biopsy service  to *** ***** on 4/2/12 paid by her medical/dental insurance so that she will have little or no finiancial obligation for the treatment rendered.  There can be no final determination on the patient's out of the pocket expense until we receive an explaination of benefits from both her medical and dental carrier. The claim was just resubmitted AGAIN "on behalf of the patient" as of 12/3/12 and we have had no response to date. The patient will be contacted by her insurance carriers as will Q Dental  as the provider, upon determiantion of benefits  on the patients behalf.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

***** *****

 Still waiting 

Consumer Response: As stated in the last response from qdental, we are still waiting to hear back from the insurance company for the third time.  I will wait for response. 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

2/19/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went in for a service and was quoted a price for a root canal based on my insurance of $125+$45+$150. I went in for the service and paid in the installments as advised. Upon completion of the service I was directed a different price. When reviewing why the change they stated that my insurance declined the payment, when I called my insurance to confirm, it was determined that Q Dental quoted me based on the wrong insurance in the file that they had failed to update, even though they receive updated information each month on every patient from the insurance providers. I was then told I would be responsible for the balance even though misquoted because it was just a quote and could deviate at anytime. I was told that they have so many patients they don't have time to go thru and update everyone's files. I have been trying to work out a resolution with there office manager ****** and the Business manager ******** who has failed to return any of my calls or follow up with me.

Desired Settlement: I am expecting to only pay what I was quoted.

Business Response:



Please also see attached for more information.
February 4. 2013
In reference to the letter of complaint received 22/1/13 for patient ******** *********. Please be aware this patient was already contacted on 1/31/13 and she paid her "quoted copay" only. Her account now shows a 0 balance and no additional is due regarding her treatment rendered 9/7 and 9/28/12 (see attached). Please contact me directly if you require any additional information at this time.

******** *******
General Manager

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/10/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
10/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/11/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: False advertising / bait + switch.

I heard a Q Dental add on my car radio that offered a senior citizen special of $80. (Eighty Dollars). When I got the bill it was for $179. I then called Q Dental and told them it was the $80. senior citizen special I signed up for. Then Q Dental informed me that because I had *** Insurance of $30. I did not qualify for the senior citizen special.

#1.) The radio add did not specify that the $80 senior citizen special was only for seniors with no insurance.
#2.) There was no mention of price differences or terms or conditions when I called Q Dental to arrange for the senior citizen special.
#3.) Again; there was no mention of price differences or terms or conditions during or after the procedures. 

Desired Settlement: Credit of 149.00 and charge me.

Business Response: August 1, 2012

In reference to letter of complaint from Mr. Gary ******** regarding his 7/2/12 visit at our Irondequoit office, I have actually secured a copy of our radio ad verbiage regarding our cleaning special which clearly indicates patients WITHOUT DENTAL INSURANCE will be given a $65 special ($80 with fullmouth xrays) *see attached. When Mr. ******** presented to our office, he
stated that he had the ***** *** ** dental plan. This plan has SET allowances for all of his dental procedures which have been established by HIS dental plan. We are attaching a copy of the explanation of benefits we received from his ** dental carrier. Technically, we are able to bill this patient "up to the allowable" ** fees. As a professional courtesy, we only charge the patient set copay per our association with his ***** *** dental plan * see attached. I will admit that after I reviewed this patient record, he was billed in error in the amount of $149.44. His correct balance after his insurance payment is attached in the amount of $91.00. If Mr. ******** has any additional questions or concerns in this matter, he should contact our office directly at ###-###-####, and ask for ****** or *****. I apologize for any inconvenience in this matter; however, based on the patient's current dental plan, the balance of $91.00 is correct, due and payable. Please contact me directly if you require any additional information at this time.

******** *******
General Manager

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/26/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Billing pratices: bill was twice as much as the esstimate.

Desired Settlement: dismiss the bill.

Consumer Response: the original quote was $1079some how it has jumped to as much as 2969 without insurance adjustments

Business Response: March 5. 2012

In reference to letter of complaint from *** ******. *** ***** was given an estimate for dental treatment in our office on 7/21/11 I. This estimate was based on his current dental treatment which needed to be rendered and the treatment he had rendered year to date. *** ***** actually had the estimated dental treatment performed, on 11/17/11. When the estimate was given on 7/21/11, the patient was quoted an approximate copayment of $456 (four hundred fifty six dollars), however between July 2011 and November 2011, the patient had other dental treatment performed which affected the actual benefit that would he paid by his insurance when he actually had the 11/17/11 surgery performed. An itemized statement is attached for review as well as the explanation of benefits received from the insurance in conjunction with each specific treatment date. The “estimate and worksheet" clearly states that if the benefits are not paid in full by the patient‘s insurance, the patient is liable for any additional balance due. Hence the additional patient balance of $431 (four hundred thirty one dollars) Please contact me directly if you require any additional information at this time.

******** *******

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The fact that I am a female and QDental refers to me as "Mr." shows that they did not take adequit time to give me the service I deserve. The regluing of my bridge should have been explained if the treatment changed or if the insurance changed.The bridge was there when the estimate was given what does the regluing of the bridge change treatment. The regluing of the bridge did not occur at the Greece office. If I was over my insurance allowance I should have been informed before treatment.I should have been allowed to renegotiate the time of treatment and/or price of treatment due to insurance not paying.

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

3/24/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On October 6, 2011, I received a statement that indicated that I had a credit balance of $99 (account number *******). The statement provided a telephone number of ###-###-#### to call to claim the refund check. I made several calls to that number since then and each time I was assured that the refund check would be sent within 3-4 weeks. However, to date I have not yet received my refund check.

Desired Settlement: I expect the business to refund my overpayment as they have indicated they would in the letter of October 6, 2011.

Business Response: March 14, 2012 
 In reference to letter of complaint from *** ***** ****** regarding an existing credit  from 
treatment rendered at our Gates location. In addition to the treatment rendered in Gates. *** ******** 
also had treatment rendered in our Greece location. It was not until 12/21/11 that his account was 
finalized in Greece regarding treatment rendered 8/2411 and then on 1/6/12, this patient had NEW 
treatment started. To date we have heard back from one of his insurances on 2/9/12 and no 
payment has been made to date regarding the treatment performed on 1/6/12. This patient has 
contacted our billing office, however he has also been notified that we do not make any type of 
patient refund if there is any “open insurance" which there is on his account. We had our billing 
office make a call to *** ****** again today to remind him that this is our policy (see attached). 
As soon as all insurance monies are received regarding the open claim from 1/6/12 treatment, we 
will reconcile tho account and send any remaining credit due to the patient directly to him. Please 
contact me directly if you require any additional information at this time.

3/13/12
I just called *** ****** and left him a voicemail explaining that his credit has
been approved however we cannot release it 
until his insc comes in for the Greece 
location. I explained that I was aware the 
credit stems from Oct of last year however 
he has had continuos open insc in the 
greece location. I told him that he does 
not apprear to have any future appts and as 
soon as we receive pymt from the insc , 
company we will release the refund. I left 
my name and number if he has any further
questions.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/29/2011 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 4/21/11 at QDENTAL My Son had work done on his teeth regular visit.He has always been insured.Through husbands insurance.All bill have been paid till 4/21/11 I called them they said I would have to take it up with insurance in the meantime they have me in collections they harass me everyday .My credit was super till this happened.I called **** they had to have papr from sons school proving he was student **** has that information. In between time I am still being harassed and billed I just received another paper saying **** will not cover it Because they didnot properly list teeth.

Desired Settlement: I want this situation taken care of ,an apology and my credit put back to normal!

Business Response: December 18, 2011

In reference to letter of complaint from **** **** ******* regarding treatment of her son **** 
relating to services rendered on 3/24/11 as well as 4/21/11. **** ******* had informed us that her 
son **** dob **** **** was covered under her **** dental plan for his dental treatment rendered 
in our office. Our office had been notified on 4/8/11 that **** did not have any active coverage 
under the **** dental plan due to inaccurate infomation regarding **** and his current student 
status. **** ******* was then billed for the treatment rendered. I myself called **** on 
 12/ 14/11 and was still informed there was still an existing problem with ****** student status. I 
called **** ******* directly and explained this to her. She gave me the name of a **** 
representative who advised her this was not the case and the claims would be paid. I myself 
personally called this representative on 12/15/11 and I was informed the same. In addition, we 
actually received payments for ****** dental treatment from **** for his 3/24 and 4/21/11 
treatment. I called **** ******* and apologized for any inconvenience she had gone through. 
This was clearly a problem with her insurance company not having updated information (that they 
could only get from her) in order to process her son’s claims. This account regarding **** has 
been removed from the Rochester Credit Bureau and there is just one more existing claim for **** 
which is being reprocessed by the insurance. Please Contact me directly if you require any 
additional infomation at this time. 

******** *******
General Manager

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1