This business is not BBB accredited.

Q Dental Group P.C.

Additional Locations

Phone: (585) 426-3020 Fax: (585) 426-5253 View Additional Phone Numbers 2300 Buffalo Rd., Rochester, NY 14624 http://www.qdental.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers dental group services inlcuding oral surgeons, pedodontist & periodontists.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Q Dental Group P.C. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 13 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 6
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 13

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Q Dental Group P.C.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1985 Business started: 01/01/1984 Business under new ownership as of: 12/01/2012
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

NYS Education Dept Office of Professions
Education Building, Albany NY 12234
http://www.op.nysed.gov/opsearches
Phone Number: (518) 474-3817

Business Management
Mr. Thomas McCoy, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Thomas McCoy, Owner
Business Category

DENTISTS DENTIST - DENTAL IMPLANTS


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1100 Long Pond Rd.

    Rochester, NY 14626 (585) 225-7790

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1225 Jefferson Rd.

    Rochester, NY 14623 (585) 424-5240

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1338 E. Ridge Rd.

    Rochester, NY 14621

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2300 Buffalo Rd.

    Rochester, NY 14624

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    43 Willow Pond Way
    Suite 107

    Penfield, NY 14526 (585) 421-8168

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/18/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been taking my children there to Q dental for the past couple of years. My son ****** ****** had a tooth repaired there. Two weeks ago **** knocked the tooth out and we went back to the dentist last week Monday to see if they could put the tooth back in. I was told on Monday March 1, 2016, that I could go through insurance but the chances of them not paying to have the tooth worked on again. So I asked what it would cost to pay out of pocket. I was told 800.00 dollars was what I would have to pay. I said I can't afford that im disabled and I would have to see what I could do. The nurse working with the dentist went to the back of Q dental. She came back out to the waiting room and said I figured it out, all you have to pay is 137.75....I hugged her and said thank you so much. I went to the front desk and signed the contract and made the appt. for the work to be done. Went back to Q dental on March 29, 2016 and they took my payment and took my son in the back and started the procedure. I was called back to talk to the dentist and was told that there was more tooth that she didn't see that had to be removed...I ask ok and went back to the waiting room. I was then called back a second time and was told my a new nurse working with the dentist that they were not gonna honor the contact and after taking my payment. I was told she would get the manager, the manager came back and said that because a dog knocked the tooth out (that wasn't the truth) they were not gonna honor the contact. The manager then informed me that her nurse didn't tell her the whole situation and that she no longer was willing to stand by the agreement. I told her that it was my fault that your employee wasn't truthful and that wasn't my fault or my son's, I would like you to honor the agreement we made. I was told no, so I went to the front desk and asked for my payment back and asked for a copy of our agreement. I was given everything I asked for and the manager started to say something to me and I asked her to please stop talking with me, you don't want to honor a agreement then fine. Whatever helps you sleep at night. I asked for the number for their head quarters and was given a number to billing and I went and took my son and left. I called the number that I was given and explained the situation to a nice young lady and she sent me to some one else. I then explained everything again to a lady whos name I believe was christa ( not sure on the name). The number I called was ************* I was told I would hear back from her and I haven't at this point.

Desired Settlement: I would very much like for the contract that they gave me, the honor. I didn't lie to anyone. I shouldn't be held accountable for their employee's mistake. We had an agreement and I would like it honored. Thank you

Business Response: 5/5/2016
2300 Buffalo Road
Rochester, New York 14624
(585) 429-5351
In Response to Complaint# ********
We apologize for any inconvenience that has been experienced by our patient. We will gladly complete the treatment and honor the presented fee. Our staff will contact the patient to schedule the appointment.
Again, please accept our apologies.
Q Dental Management

5/4/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
3/7/2016 Problems with Product/Service
11/12/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
7/2/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a procedure done about two years ago, where a substitute tooth was replaced. August of last year 2014, the tooth fell out, I still have the tooth. When I went to Q Dental to have it put back in, no one was able or willing to do it. The Dentist who did the procedure was not available till November. She was out on medical leave. I had to wait for her return. The missing tooth is located in the front bottom of my mouth. Also one of my many questions to Q Dental was, "What if the doctor does not come back?" Needless to say, I no longer wanted what I had. Not because I did not like it. Q Dental would not fix the problem. So when the doctor returned, I asked the doctor for something else. I needed to know, that if something should happen again, I will be able to get it fixed. So Q Dental is charging me $325.00. I've told Q Dental I am willing to pay half. I feel I should not have to pay anything. The only reason I had the new procedure done, is because they would not/could not fix the problem, until the doctor's return. Not to mention how this affected me personally, as a supervisor at my job. Meeting and greeting at major events for my college bound senior.

Desired Settlement: That I receive a bill for $162.50.

Business Response: I am sorry that you are not happy with the level of care that you received from us. It does appear that more than one Dr. has been involved in your care and it will take a little time to investigate. We appreciate your patience in this matter and hope that we can come to a mutually acceptable conclusion.

Consumer Response:

My complaint against Q Dental Group P.C., has been resolved.

Thank you!

6/12/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to q dental to get my teeth cleaned. They did a good job I has happy. On the way out I gave the lady my insurance card. She said there was a problem and she needed to call the insurance provider. The insurance provider was closed. She said she would call the next day and get it situated. I received a bill about a month later. I then called q dental and spoke to someone (I did not get a name) I gave her my insurance information once again. A couple months later I receive another bill same exact price. I called q dental I reached an answer machine I left a message leaving my name, my number, and insurance information. About a month later I receive a collection notice from q dental. I then called again reached the machine this time i was upset asking how they could be this stupid i had gave my insurance information 4 times and they send my bill to collections if my insurance does not cover the procedure please call me and I will figure it out. I received more bills I left more messages. I never got a call back. Finally on 5-8-15 I called and got a hold of *****. I ask her who i could speak to about my bill and she took my info and told me my bills is in collections and i need to speak to the collection agency. I ask her did my insurance not cover it. she told me they do not have insurance on file for me. I told her I had/ still Have insurance she then got real nasty and told me I must have received bills and it is now in collections. I need to call the collection company. I shouldn't have to fight and argue with somebody so I hung up.

Desired Settlement: I want the collections removed, I want the services provided billed through my insurance company. I will be happy to pay the outstanding balance after insurance coverage. Maybe an aplogie from ***** for being so rude and impolite

Business Response: We are very sorry that this issue had escalated to this point and we will take care of it immediately.  We have contacted your insurance company and they have agreed to process this claim for you right away.  We will also withdraw the account from collections.  Also, all related employees will be retrained regarding the submission of insurance claims and patient communication and relations.  Again, we apologize for your experience and hope that can continue to be your dental provider.

4/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My daughter was scheduled for 2 wisdom teeth removal and a week before the appointment I decided to make sure everything was settled. First off we requested removal with gas and novacane which the office said they do. When I called everything was a mess, told that they don't do gas and they didn't have any of my daughter's insurance information to being with. I canceled the appointment and said I would go else where for my daughter. Five minutes later, I received a call from the office saying that the Dr we were seeing, does do gas and there would be no problem. So we rescheduled the appointment for the same day and time. My daughter and I went in this morning, and everything was a mess again. They did not have her scheduled with gas, just novacane and they were going to do all 4 wisdom teeth. When I said, No its with gas, and its only for the bottom 2 teeth, the lady rolled her eyes and and then crossed out the top 2 teeth on the paperwork. They asked if my daughter has been NPO for 6 hours. We had to say No, she had breakfast, since no one said otherwise from the office. They said they would not be able to proceed with the extraction. I said I wanted to file a complaint with the Office Manager. No apology was given other than saying it was our fault that we didn't know the rules of the procedure and that the front desk staff would not know anything about having to be NPO. What! Why wasn't my daughter scheduled right the first, but second time? I am requesting all of my family records so that we may go to another office. They want to charge me,$ 0.75 per page and $5 per x-ray. I asked if they would just transfer the records when I can call with what office. They responded, "We don't transfer records". What!

Desired Settlement: And would like a complete copy of our medical records either for free or transferred over.

Business Response:

In regards to the complaint:  I do understand that we would not have had her insurance in the system as we have just converted to a new software and insurance information did not come over in the transition.  However, I don’t show record of this patient having an appointment at all on the day in question – perhaps another software transition failure.  I will ask the office manager from her main office to touch base and forward her records.  We have seen this patient since 2009 without issues, I apologize that we did not live up to her expectations on this occasion and we will work hard to improve our customer service skills.

**** ******
Manager of Operations
Q Management Services

2300 Buffalo Road, Suite 300
Rochester, NY  14624
Phone:  ###-###-####

www.qdental.com

 

NOTICE:  This email, and any attachment, is confidential.  Additionally, it may contain Protected Health Information covered under the Health Insurance Portability Accountability Act (HIPAA).  If you are not the intended recipient, be advised any unauthorized use, disclosure, copying, distribution, or action taken in reliance on the contents of this information is strictly forbidden by law and company policy.  If you have received this email in error, do not forward it to another party, notify the sender via return email and permanently delete it from your system.  Thank you.

4/17/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had dental surgery done early in May of 2014. I was required to pre-pay my deductible (over $2000). I did so. It turns out that I was overbilled and I am still waiting on a refund of approximately $150. I've called 3 months in a row and have spoke to ***** who keeps telling me she can't do anything until all the claims are clear in the system ( I had an appt. 3 months ago). I am sure there is a way to override your system and give me my money back. It's been 11 months now. This is a bit ridiculous. Please help.

Desired Settlement: Please refund my money with interest. I have been paying 14.99% apr on my credit card for these charges. Since you've had my money for a year, it seems only fair that you pay that back as well. Thank you.

Business Response:

We apologize for any delay.  When we received insurance reimbursement we were in the process of converting to a new software and waiting as balances were being transferred from one software to another.    Our records indicate that a refund was applied and sent to the patient on April 6, 2015. 

Please call with any further questions,

****

Operations Manager

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me if the check shows up.  However, I Still have not seen a check yet and it'd been 10 days since it has supposedly been sent.........

Regards,

******* *******




1/8/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I played for half of my appointment. But they refuse to put me on a payment plan. And cause they won't do that I can't make an appointment to get my teeth adjusted or an appointment to get my official teeth. They promote easy payment plan. But they refuse to give me one. They are very rude to me and before all of this I played and they refused to reimburse my money. I felt forced to get the procedure done by them. Please help me

Desired Settlement: Want to be put on a payment plan and get my teeth adjusted and carry on with the procedure.

Business Response:

To whom it may concern,

******* ****** started treatment with us in our Penfield location on 6/30/14.  After that appointment, ******* missed 4 appointments with us on 7/29/2014, 7/30/2014, 8/26/2014, 10/9/2014.  It is our normal policy to release patients from Q Dental after their 3rd broken appointment with us.  As ******* was midway through treatment we spoke with him and agreed to see him to complete treatment with the understanding that he must show up for his appointments.  He came back on 11/11/2014 and we completed the treatment that was begun. 

******* paid a down payment on his initial visit on 6/30/2014 but has not paid any of his remaining balance.  We offered him payment plans early in the treatment process but he has refused. Q also offers outside financing through ***** ***** that can be easily applied for.  There were definitely different options available for payment if needed.

On 11/19/2014 ******* called in a credit card payment for the remainder of his balance for the work we had completed.  On 11/21/2014 we received notification that he had paid with a credit card that did not belong to him - we credited the involved parties credit card and re-billed ******* for his portion.  ******* called very upset that we refunded credit card payment and he now had remaining balance again.  He assured us that it was his card to use.  At that time we offered to run another credit card on his behalf.  He refused and told us he always pays everything in cash.

******* has had several conversations with Q regarding appointments and finances.  Included in these discussions were 2 different managers, our billing office, and our CEO. We have definitely gone out of our way to be accommodating to Mr. ****** and will be happy to see him for further treatment once his balance has been paid for the previous work performed.

Please feel free to reach out with any questions you may have. 

****

Manager of Operations for

Q Dental Group



Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

BBB spoke to ******* ****** today. He stated that due to the mishap with the card (he is still not sure who called in to dispute that charge as this was a joint account with his fiance AND it was refunded), he still wishes to be on a payment plan. He can pay in cash $100 this week and next week. He knows the balance is $240. This is all he wants to do so he can make another appointment.

Business Response:

This is a totally reasonable request.  I have reached out to our office manager in that location to let her know that Mr. ****** will be paying in cash $100 this week and $100 dollars next week.  She will reach out to him and be happy to set up another appointment and we will bill him for the remaining $40.

****

Manager of Operations for Q Dental

7/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In late 2009 or early 2010 I contracted for a full upper & lower dentures with some needed oral surgery for more than $3000.00. On June 3, 2014 i broke a tooth out of my upper denture while eating a piece of pizza. On June 5, 2014 (9:40am) i went to Q DENTAL to have it repaired an was told that it would cost $155.00 and the dentures were guaranteed only for ONE year. ***** said they could repair my denture for $93.00. I am disappointed with Q DENTAL because I feel my dentures should last a lot longer than 4 1/2 years. I think that either poor quality construction or materials were used and have lost all confidence with Q DENTAL. THANK YOU ****** * *****

Desired Settlement: Have Q DENTAL Stand behind thier workmanship and products.

Business Response:

********,

 

In response to the complaint below, we at Q have reviewed the patients record and do see that the denture was made years ago and is no longer under warranty. We do not warranty dentures extending back as far as this patient would like as there are many reasons that could cause them to break over time.  We have however reached out to ****** ***** and left 2 messages asking him to touch base with us.  So far, we have not received a response.  We will be happy to honor the quote he received from another provider and repair his denture for $93.00. 

 

At Q Dental we always want our patients to feel comfortable with our services and the fees for those services.  We hope to hear back from Mr. ***** soon to schedule an appointment.

 

Cordially,

 

**** ** ******

Manager of Operations

Q Management Services

###-###-####

 

At Q We Care!

2/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Q Dental Charged me 32 dollars for bitewing xrays, and led me to believe that I was covered 100% of cost but then this bill came in from them (Q dental) when I called and spoke to the manager and she told me that it is thier policy to give mandatory bitewing xrays once a year, and if I don't allow them to do it then they would not do business with me, i called my insurance company and the woman on the other end said she never heard of a policy like that,,,so what is going on? i feel i got took for 32 dollars by them, (Q dental)

Desired Settlement: give me my money back, they misinformed me!!

Business Response: In reference to letter of complaint for patient * regarding treatment rendered In our Greece office. * had x-rays taken with our Dental hygienist 1/7/2014. Due to an insurance limitation, the x-rays were denied by Delta Dental. As a courtesy to *. We will make a $32.00 adjustment to his account. Please contact me directly if any information is needed at this time.
*
District Manager

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID*, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

*




1/6/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: "I had my wisdom teeth removed on Friday, October 4th, 2013 at the Q Dental in Greece, NY. Prior to this surgery I was given a description of the costs for this surgery and specifically what my insurance would cover. I have a copy of this. I was told the amount would be $838.00. I paid $100 as a deposit when I scheduled the date of the surgery. When I arrived to the Q Dental in Greece, NY the morning of the 4th, I paid the remainder ($738.00) prior to having the surgery. My mother told me to make sure that Q Dental did not charge me more than I was told I would have to pay and they are not allowed to do that. My brother encountered a similar situation when he had his wisdom teeth out where Q Dental tried charging more than the amount described prior to his surgery as well. The surgery went fine and my caregiver was my boyfriend. After the surgery, one of the assistants came out to the waiting room and told ******* that more tissue needed to be removed than planned and that I would have to pay an extra $524.00 before leaving that day. ******* was asked to talk to me about this. At this point I was just coming out of the surgery and was recovering from the IV sedation. I was on so many drugs that a conversation with me would have been impossible, and the situation incomprehensible. If I had known of the situation I would have refused to pay the extra amount per my mother's warning. The assistant then prompted my boyfriend to go through my purse and asked him to get my credit card out. Mind you, this is my boyfriend, not my husband, therefore this is extremely inappropriate and absolutely uncalled for. Of course he did not go through my things. He actually did what any upstanding gentleman would do, and paid the $524.00 on his own credit card. When he brought me home, he told me what happened, knowing I would pay him back. Let me describe to you my feelings about this. First of all, I am appalled and absolutely horrified that he was requested to go through my things and have me make a payment I would have had no idea about. How dare they try to take advantage of me while I am still on medical drugs and not knowing what is going on! He is not my husband, he's an honest man who always is doing the right thing and he was taken advantage of just as much as I was. This makes me think...how many other people have been taken advantage of in this same situation? This is absolutely absurd. I was told by my dental insurance company that the only thing I could do at this point is file a grievance, which I have done. If nothing is done about this, I will hire a lawyer to take care of this. The fact that this happened to my brother and now me is ridiculous and I cannot even express how disappointed I am!"

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund in the amount of $524.00. This was not included in the original description of what I would be paying and what my insurance covered. If anything, Q Dental should have sent me a bill and I could have disputed it later, which I would have planned on doing had I been in a better state and could have comprehended the situation. My boyfriend should receive a full refund for the $524 he fronted on his credit card because Q Dental left him no choice.

Business Response: In reference to letter of complaint for patient ****** * ****** regarding treatment rendered in our Greece office. Ms. ****** had a consultation visit with our Oral Surgeon on 7/15/13 to review her necessary treatment regarding her wisdom teeth which needed to be extracted. At the time of her 10/4/13 treatment for her extractions, Ms. ****** had two full bony wisdom teeth extractions, one partial bony wisdom tooth extracted, a cyst removed and one hour of lV sedation. The total charges for this treatment were $2912.00 of which Ms. ****** has now paid a total of $1362.00 co-payment. This claim has been submitted to Ms. ******'s dental plan, ***** ****** and to date we have not received payment or an explanation of benefits from her carrier regarding the 10/4/13 treatment. It has been verified this plan has a $1000 yearly benefit and her extractions and her cyst removal "should be'' paid at 50% coverage and the IV sedation "should be"' paid at 80% coverage. Once the payment is received from ***** ******, we will contact the patient regarding a final reconciliation of this date of service. Please contact me directly if any additional information is needed at this time.

******** *******
General Manager

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

****** ******

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern:

We clearly indicated in our response that was sent 10/23/13, we can not act any further on this claim until ***** ****** has processed the 10/4/13 date of service.  We will be more than happy to evaluate this claim in completion at that time.  We called the insurance carrier today, 10/25/13 and it has NOT been processed to date.  As soon as the payment and insurance explaination of beneifts are received, this case can and will be addressed as previously stated.

 

******** *******

General Manager

Business Response:

11/12/13

In response to a message we recived on 11/16/13 regrading complaint ID#*******. Patient: ****** ****** The patient was given an "estiamte only" at the time of her 7/15/13 treatment and we CAN NOT do a fial reconcilliation of this claim  until we receive an explaination of benefits from her ***** ****** insurance carrier.  To date, this claim has not been proceseed.  Due to the fact that the patient filed a complaint with her dental carrier, ***** is now investigating the claim as well.  We furnished a complete copy of the patient record and oral surgery notes to them on 10/28/13 and again on 11/12/13. Payment is due at the time of the treatment and we do not generally do billing for services that are completed in our office. We do our best to "anticpate" the patient co-pay, but obviously with surgery it can be more extensive regarding both the treatment and co-payment. Again to confirm, as soon as this payment is received, it will be reconciled with the patient directly.

Business Response: I am attaching a copy of the ***** explanation of benefits that was just received 12/3/13. I have personally been working with Dr. ***** ****** at ***** to have this claim resolved. Now that we have finally received the final payment from the patient's dental carrier, we are able to make a final determination of both the insurance and patient liability in this claim. The total charges for this claim were in the amount of $2912.00. On 11/6/12 we received a payment of $1000 for this treatment indicating a patient liability of $1126 for this visit. I was contacted by Dr. ****** that ***** did not process the claim correctly and she would have the correct information sent to me via email which was just received. Per the correspondence which was received on 12/2, the correct benefit that ***** should have paid for the claim should have been in the amount of $953.50. At this time we are refunding to ***** in the amount of $46.50 per their request. In addition, ***** has confirmed the total liability to Ms. ****** for her treatment should have been in the amount of $756.50 which includes her copay and deductible due. Since Ms. ****** paid a co-payment of $1362.00 we are sending her a refund check in the amount of $605.50. Please see attached regarding refund sent directly to this patient as well as to her dental plan. Contact me directly if you require any additional information at this time.

******** *******
General Manager

9/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Detailed timeline of events: 5/15/13: Because of a cavity I entrusted Qdental to fix the tooth by inserting a new permanent crown. On this visit a Root canal was performed and I paid $456.57 out of pocket. At this point I was informed it would be a 3-step procedure and that all 3 steps are necessary (in other words doing just 1 or 2 steps is not a permanent fix). After the procedure I dealt with headaches and jaw pain. 5/30/13: Qdental did step 2 of the procedure: a post with a temporary crown. I reported my pain symptoms to the dentist and he didn’t think they were abnormal after a root canal. I paid $466.72 out of pocket on this visit. I had now paid in full ($923.29 total). It is important to note that they would not let me leave the office without paying, even though they still had work to do. In the next couple of days after this visit I noticed my symptoms getting worse, not better. The temporary crown was lopsided. When I would try to chew on the right side of my mouth one tiny portion of the temporary tooth would strike the bottom of my jawline because it was lower than the adjacent teeth(see picture, the tooth is inserted crooked). It has been almost 3 months and I still can’t chew food on that side of my mouth because of the discomfort the temporary crown causes. I had my third and final visit scheduled for 6/25 and had no choice but to suck it up. 6/25/13: Once again I reported my symptoms to the dentist. He got to work on step 3 and when he went to insert the permanent crown it was way too big and didn’t fit my mouth. The impression they took was of another person or the lab made a mistake, I’m not sure. Despite my complaints, He had to re-insert the troublesome temporary crown as there was nothing else he could do until the lab came back with another tooth. The worst part is that instead of trying to make room for me in a week or 2, the earliest slot available to get me back in was 8/8/13 at 3:30. At this point I was very upset. I didn’t want to deal with the pain and lopsided bite for another 5 weeks. After thinking about it that night I called them the next day to ask what my options were. I wanted a full refund and to go to another dentist but when I spoke to the Penfield branch manager ***, she admitted there was a problem and offered me a refund for 1/3 of the cost. Nothing was said about cancelling my 8/8 appointment. Without the 1/3 refund I would have told them right away that I want a full refund to finish the procedure elsewhere. But that was not the case and *** said she would get the paperwork to me so I decided to give them another chance and suck it up for another 5 weeks. 8/6-Present: A week before the appointment I still hadn’t received the paperwork but figured that they would have me sign the stuff when I got to the office to have the permanent crown installed. I was also worried because QDental always calls a couple days in advance of an appointment to confirm and I did not receive a phone call prior to 8/8. On 8/6/13 I got the letter in the mail and understood the problem. There are 2 copies; 1 dated July 15 to the wrong address. 1 dated July 30th. I get mail from them all the time but they get my address wrong on this important paperwork and it takes 5 weeks to get to me, unbelievable. Then I can’t believe what I’m reading. When they agreed to the 1/3 refund on the phone they never said anything about cancelling my appointment on 8/8 and refusing to finish my treatment. I also was led to believe the refund would be based off the total cost I paid ($923.29), roughly a $300 refund. In the letter they only offered a refund of $128.83(1/3 of just step 3 of the 3 step procedure). I was blindsided and when I called they said I have 2 options: 1) take the $128.83 refund and finish the procedure elsewhere (between my cost and the insurance this was an $1846.58 procedure. If I accepted this offer it amounts to me paying them $794.46 out of pocket, $1717.75 total for a crooked temporary crown. Then I have to turn around and incur more costs to get the permanent crown at another place. Insane) Option 2) they would reschedule the appointment they cancelled (without my consent or consultation by the way) and finish the job but with no compensation to me. Continue with them? After all the red flags? I asked when they could get me back in and the said 8/8 would still work but just at a different time (4PM). I wasn’t getting anywhere with the Penfield office so I tried the Rochester branch (###-###-####). I called them around Noon on 8/8 and explained the situation to the manager (********). She promised to call me back before closing. I waited as long as I could then called them back around 4PM. When I called I was put on hold (the secretary was obviously asking if the manager wanted to take my call). When she got back on the line the secretary told me the manager had left the office for the day. I persisted and pushed and as I was talking to the secretary the manager ******** jumped on the line and bluntly told me there was nothing she could do. I had to take one of the 2 options offered by the Penfield branch manager *** and that was it. They even refused to refund the portion I paid out-of-pocket ($386.49) for a service I never received, step 3: the permanent crown. They argued labor costs but the bottom line was that it was manufactured faulty; you can’t hold a patient responsible for that. Also, they can’t hold me responsible for any lab work after my 6/25 visit because they cancelled my 8/8 appointment after I called the next day. In essence they are trying to force me to stay with them. But I am not a satisfied customer. I have been lied to, the customer service is terrible, and they have made 2 major dental mistakes already (crooked temp crown & grossly oversized permanent crown). I can’t risk a third mistake. The #2 molar is a very important tooth for chewing and I have a right to get it fixed correctly, competently and in a timely manner, especially considering the cost both financial and physical. I don’t trust Qdental anymore. My bite is completely out of alignment and the headaches still linger, especially when I chew.

Desired Settlement: I know Qdental will argue they did some work so I shouldn’t get all my money back but please understand that the work they did was substandard and incomplete. I am worse off now than I was before I got to Q dental and I ask the fraud department to hold Qdental accountable by issuing me a full refund ($923.29) so I can get the procedure completed elsewhere. If refunded I would be willing to sign a liability release ensuring I take no future legal action against Qdental.

Business Response:

August 20, 20 13
In reference to letter of complaint for patient ***** ******* regarding his 5/ 15/13 treatment
rendered in our Penfield office. Mr. ******* was a new patient to our office on 1/27/12. At his
initial visit with us, we indicated a need for treatment on tooth #2. At that time, Mr. ******* did
not wish to schedule any treatment to have any necessary dental work done. We heard from this
patient again on 6/28/12 after we sent him a six month reminder card for a follow up routine six
month cleaning and exam. Mr. ******* scheduled a visit for 7/13/12 and then missed his
scheduled appointment. We saw this patient on 9/20/12 and at that visit, it was again
recommended to have an necessary treatment performed on tooth #2 as well as tooth #2 I . This
patient was given a quote as to his co-payment to have his necessary work scheduled, and he
stated he would call our office when he was ready to have his work completed. A six month
reminder was sent to this patient and he scheduled a vi sit on 5/6/13 for a cleaning, exam and at
that visit, current x-rays were taken. At this time the patient was now having discomfort on his
upper right and it was determined that tooth #2 would require a root canal treatment, post and
core and crown after the root canal treatment was completed or an extraction. This patient was
aware of his options and chose to save #2 and have the root canal, post and crown. This patient
has Excellus BC/BS insurance. This is a dental plan which mandates that treatment is submitted
for payment "at the time of completion" for all major treatment. The root canal procedure was
performed on 5/15/13 on tooth #2 and on 5/30/13 #2 had a post and core placed ( a procedure
which is done on root canal treated teeth after completion of the root canal). This tooth was
prepared for a crown and the final impression was taken. The patient returned on 6/25/13 for the
insert of the crown and the bite was high on the crown. The DDS felt it was in the patient's best
interest not to insert the crown at this visit since it would compromise the porcelain appearance,
and the crown was returned to our lab to be remade. On 6/28/13 the patient contacted our office
expressing his disappointment that his crown did not fit. He asked to "just keep" the temporary
crown that was on the tooth and he wanted to be refunded for any monies paid for the crown.
Since the patient stated he did not wish to return to our office, a letter was sent to him explaining
he would be refunded one third of the total monies he paid for the treatment on the crown
(patient paid a total of$386.49) which equated to $ 128.23. We were asking this patient to sign a
release which stated that the patient understands he only has a "temporary crown" on tooth #2
and indicated he was failing to complete his recommended treatment in our office. On 8/7/13, the
patient called our office and stated that he was planning to return to our office to have the crown
inserted. He was very argumentative and stated he wanted to be refunded AND have his crown
inserted. He asked for a FULL refund for all monies paid for this tooth. On 8/8/13 , this patient
then called the Gates office and then the Greece office and tried to explain why he should get all
his money back and he wanted to have his crown inserted that day (8 /8/13). This patient stated he
will contact a lawyer as well as all of our offices and the newspaper until he gets his refund and
his crown inserted. He repeatedly told our staff we did not know what we were doing. Please
note the total charge for the crown procedure on tooth #2 is $772.98 (Excellus par fee) of which
the patient has 50% coverage. The patient has an anticipated co-pay of $386.49 and "upon
insertion of the crown" the Excellus insurance would reimburse our office the other 50% benefit
of $386.49. To date this crown has not been inserted, nor has any claim been submitted to
Excellus for the crown procedure. The fee for the 5/15/13 root canal was $888.13 of which the
patient paid a co-pay of $456.57 and his Excellus dental plan paid a benefit of$431.56 (this
treatment WAS completed). The fee for the 5/30/13 post and core procedure was $160.48 of
which the patient paid a co-pay of $80.24 and his Excellus dental plan paid a benefit of $80.24
(this treatment WAS completed). The patient has paid to date $386.49 regarding the crown and
two thirds of this treatment has been completed and this crown is ready for insertion. At this
point, we have consulted with the treating DDS and we have opted to refund to Mr. ******* any
monies paid specifically for the crown treatment. He has paid a total of$386.49 for this
treatment and there has been no submission to his insurance so he will be free to have this
treatment redone at a new provider of his choice. A release has been sent to this patient regarding
this treatment. As soon as this is signed and returned (copy attached) he will receive his
appropriate refund and he can seek treatment at a new provider.
Please contact me directly if any additional information is needed at this time.
******** *******
General Manager


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Q Dental Group P.C.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart