BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Albany, Buffalo, Rochester & Syracuse regions

BBB Accredited Business since

Eaves Family Dental

Additional Locations

Phone: (315) 536-3341 Fax: (315) 536-7465 660 Liberty Street, Penn Yan, NY 14527 http://www.eavesdental.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business offers Cosmetic Dentistry & Restorative Dentistry/Implant Dentistry.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Eaves Family Dental meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Eaves Family Dental include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Eaves Family Dental
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 26, 2002 Business started: 01/01/1983 in NY Business started locally: 01/01/1983
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

NYS Education Dept Office of Professions
Education Building, Albany NY 12234
http://www.op.nysed.gov/opsearches
Phone Number: (518) 474-3817

Business Management
Dr. Marilyn Y. Eaves, DDS/Dentist/Partner Mr. Kevin Wallace, DDS/Dentist/Partner
Contact Information
Principal: Dr. Edmund E. Eaves, DDS/Dentist/Partner
Business Category

DENTISTS DENTISTRY - CHILDREN DENTISTRY - COSMETIC

Alternate Business Names
Cosmetic Dentistry of the Finger Lakes

Additional Locations

  • 355 W. Morris St. Ste. 105

    Bath, NY 14810 (607) 776-6600

  • 64 Elizabeth Blackwell St. Ste B

    Geneva, NY 14456 (315) 789-8899

  • 660 Liberty Street

    Penn Yan, NY 14527 (315) 536-3341

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

4/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My son, ******* *********, is a patient of Dr. *****, he is 20 years old. I had a problem with ***** about charges for "teeth cleaning" that they said would require a copayment of about $50 with my Blue Cross Dental Insurance, they later charged me an extra $100 and called it a "debriment." I refused to pay because they did not disclose that this would be the cost at the time of the service. My son, called for an appointment for a tooth ache and they refused him service, ***** customer service rep "Missy" told him that unless his mother paid the $100 for the teeth cleaning and an additional $100 for collection cost they would not schedule him for an appointment. I didn't know that if I have a problem with a doctor, they can refuse service to the rest of my family.

Desired Settlement: They are a discriminatory dental practice with questionable billing practices.

Business Response:

Hi ********,

I’m so glad you called and got this email address.  ******* is not monitored as well as it should be.  We have had some turnover and it slips my mind, my apologies.

 

I have reviewed the ********* issue and Lourdes’ representation is not entirely accurate.  How is it best to proceed at this point?  Prior to being written off for nonpayment, I offered to split the difference with the patient (she would have only owed about $50), which she agreed to and then never paid.  Should I send you a summary of how things happened on our end?  I don’t know how it works when someone files a complaint with the BBB.  We are always upfront with our patients about the treatment they need and the fee associated with that treatment.  Unfortunately, insurance companies don’t always pay what is estimated and sometimes misunderstandings occur.  I don’t see how anyone could find us discriminatory or that we have questionable billing practices.

 

Please advise me how to proceed.

 

Thanks and Best,

***** ****** ******

Chief Operating Officer

Eaves Family Dental Group

315.536.3341

www.eavesdental.com

Business Response:

In regards to Lourdes *********:  She presented to our office for the first time on 4/24/12.  According to Ms *********, it had been over 30 years since she had last seen a dentist.  Due to the length of time in between dental visits, she required a more involved dental cleaning than a standard adult prophylaxis.  She required what is known as a debridement, which we performed for her on 4/25/12.  Her dental insurance does not provide coverage for debridement, this is unusual.  Most insurance companies provide coverage at 80% for a debridement.  Ms. ********* was sent statements on 6/7/12, 7/5/, 8/2, 8/30, and 9/27/12 informing her that her insurance did not cover the debridement and asking her to call us to make a financial arrangement or to discuss if she had questions.  Ms. ********* did not respond to any of these statements or several phone calls we made to her regarding her balance and insurance coverage.  The 9/27/12 statement informed Ms. ********* that if she did not make payment or contact us by October 30, she would be written off for bad debt.  On 10/9/12, we sent Ms. ********* a letter letting her know that we were cancelling any upcoming appointments for herself and family members and she would be written off for bad debt.  Upon receipt of this letter, Ms. ********* called us and stated she didn’t feel she should owe any money to us since she had “just a cleaning.”  Ms. ********* was informed when we rendered the debridement on 4/25/12 that it was not just a cleaning, but was a more involved procedure that she would owe at least a co-pay for.  All of our patients are informed that their insurance coverage is just an estimation, there is never any guarantee of payment from an insurance company.  It was at this time that I told Ms. ********* that I was sorry for the misunderstanding and I would be willing to split the difference with her.  Instead of owing $104.50, her balance would be $52.25, Ms. ********* never responded to this offer, nor did she make payment of any amount.  Due to Ms. *********’s lack of response, we wrote the entire balance off as bad debt.  Ms. ********* called in January of this year and spoke to me personally and stated she wished to make an appointment, I let her know that she would have to pay the past due amount, plus a deposit in the amount f $100.  This is our standard policy when dealing with accounts that have been written off due to non-payment.  Once an account has been written off, all appointments for the family are cancelled and a deposit of $100 is required in addition to the past due amount in order to reinstate appointments.  Unfortunately, many patients are written off more than once and having a $100 deposit helps to avoid a second write off.  Ms. ********* told me she would not be paying the past due amount or deposit and would seek dental care elsewhere.  Ms. *********’s son, *******, recently called for an appointment, and because he is on the same account as his mother, is subject to the same policy. 

We work very hard to help our patients afford the care they need and I was more than willing to work out a payment plan with Ms. *********, but she ignored our statements for 6 months and has repeatedly stated she will not pay her portion for services rendered in good faith.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1