BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Albany, Buffalo, Rochester & Syracuse regions

BBB Accredited Business since

Vector Marketing Corporation

Find a Location

Phone: (800) 828-0448 Fax: (716) 790-7055 1116 East State Street, Olean, NY 14760 http://www.vectormarketing.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company manufactures and markets Cutco Cutlery. Vector Marketing Corporation sells its products via independent contractors who sell Cutco Cutlery on a direct sales basis through personal appointments. The company recruits independent contractors by placing advertisements in local college newspapers and websites. Independent contractors for Vector Marketing attend an unpaid seminar and are loaned a sample kit at no charge for as long as they are actively showing the product. The company offers a pay structure that combines guaranteed pay with an incentive commission program. 
 

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Vector Marketing Corporation meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Vector Marketing Corporation include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 149 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

149 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 39 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 49
Billing/Collection Issues 18
Delivery Issues 5
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 76
Total Closed Complaints 149

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Vector Marketing Corporation
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 01, 1984 Business started: 03/14/1948 in NY Business started locally: 03/14/1948 Business incorporated: 10/11/1989 in NY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jeff Hardy, National Service Manager
Business Category

CUTLERY COOKING UTENSILS

Alternate Business Names
Cutco Cutco Corporation Cutco Cutlery Corporation KA-BAR Knives, Inc. Summer Break Work Vector Marketing Work For Students www.summerbreakwork.com www.workforstudents.com
Industry Tips
Business Opportunities & Franchises

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Upon being hired as a sales representative for Vector Marketing, I was lied too and led to believe that the business functioned in a particular way. When I brought the issues to my branch manager, ****** *****, He lied to me and told me that the reason I had not received any of my base pay for the whole first month of work, was due to my change of address. So I then contacted CUTCO field service to change my address and they told me that the only discrepancy was on the behalf of my manager not entering payroll. So I then brought the issue back to ******, who then continued to lie to me and give me the run around. I started asking around the office to see if I was the only one having this issue, and as I suspected, everyone was having similar issues. Turns out, there is a weekly form that reps need to fill out to receive base pay. ****** neglected to inform anyone of this. So I then filled out all the necessary paper work, showing that I am owed roughly $250.00 and turned it in directly to ******, the BM for Fayetteville, I still have yet to see a dime. ****** then accused me of steeling illegal drugs from him and told me that I was fired in a very inappropriate and unprofessional manner. (all of which I have record of. I told him that I did not steal anything and he had no grounds for just termination, and expressed a need for me to stay with the company, to which I agreed. This was short lived as I still had not been payed. I told ****** that I would have to leave the company for several reasons. The way he runs his office is immoral and unethical. He maintains unprofessional, inappropriate relation with female employees, uses illegal drugs, and he has offered to fight me and even threatened the livelihood of my son, (again, all of this I have record of). I am unable to return my sample kit myself and made that very clear; if he wants it, come get it. So in a nut shell, the way that ****** operates is surely to bring him down and I refuse to be apart of such a dishonest and unethical business. Account_Number: ********

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would like to receive the money that I worked hard for and earned, totaling $250. More importantly though, the behaviors of ****** ***** are extremely inappropriate and unprofessional. I highly doubt that Vector Marketing wants a person of such low stature representing them. I would also like to see something happen about that so that what this man put me and my family through, doesn't happen to any one else anymore.

Business Response:

****** also contacted the Vector region office (responsible for this NC office) on August 7th with these concerns.  The region office requested ****** send a list of his appointments so that he could be paid for any monies due to him.  On August 11th, ****** emailed a photo of a paper that listed all his appointments.  Unfortunately, it was not a clear picture and the region office responded to the email advising ****** to send the actual document with names and numbers of all his appointments.  On August 20th, the region office followed up with ****** as they had not yet received any paperwork from ****** (a voicemail message was left).  As of today (8/28), the region office has still not received any paperwork.  They did follow up with ****** today and he claimed he would send the information by the end of the day today. 

Once paperwork is received and verified, we will pay ****** whatever is owed.

Please feel free to contact me with questions at ###-###-#### or email **************.  Thank you.

 

******* ** *****

National Service Manager

Vector Marketing Corporation

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am considered an independent contractor by Vector Marketing. Vector is the marketing arm of Cutco products. They originally told me I was going to get paid $15 for every demo that I give to a customer about Vector/Cutco's products, plus commission on every item sold. This was clearly stated on their ads as well as in the letter that they sent to me. However, they have not done so, but rather they've underpaid me, even though I have upheld my part of the agreement. They've also told me a lot of very stereotypical things against groups of people that they don't want me to sell to. I relied on their word and contract, and they have not honored it. I believe my district manager in Bloomington knows about the misdeeds that Vector has performed as well, and I believe it's not just me that has had problems with them. As far as I can tell, others who have worked with Vector/Cutco have run into the same thing that I am running into right now. I have concluded that Vector has committed fraudulent misrepresentation. I have something of value to them so that they will have a need to pay me what I'm owed for the work I have already done. I believe Cutco's management has been irresponsible and has treated me very poorly and unfairly.

Desired Settlement: All I desire is for my full payment for all of the demos that I have done and products I have sold. If they refuse to do that, then they should give me the sample kit for free to cover the expenses that they still owe me.

Business Response:

We have made contact with Mr. ****** and explained how the base pay/commission system works (as also outlined in the sales rep agreement that was signed).  There seemed to be some confusion regarding this program.  It was determined that no additional monies were due to Mr. ******. 

Mr. ****** has since purchased the sample kit.  He is no longer eligible for the base pay program, however, he will be paid commission on any orders submitted. 

Please fee free to contact me with questions at ###-###-#### or email **************.  Thank you.

 

******* ** *****

National Service Manager

Vector Marketing Corporation

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My daughter started getting calls from this company saying they were interested in her for a job. She NEVER applied there. They are calling over and over almost nonstop. We blocked the number and they started using another number. I called them and told them to stop calling her and the woman in the Colorado Springs office (at least it was a CS number) said that my daughter had to call and tell them she wasn't interested. I told them that she was never interested and they have been harrassing her. They just keep calling and calling.

Desired Settlement: I want them to stop calling my daughter. Apparently this company has had many complaints for this same issue as i can see on BBB. How they have a A+ rating with BBB is beyond me with this kind of practice. Harrassing young adults and children for this is horrible and I will not stand for it.

Business Response:

The following email was sent to Ms. ********* regarding this issue:

Ms. *********,

I am responding to the recent complaint filed with the Better Business Bureau regarding Vector Marketing.  I do apologize that your daughter was contacted on numerous occasions, even after you advised that she was not interested.  I have spoken with the local office and they have assured me that your daughter’s name has been removed from the contact list.   Please accept my apologies that her name was not removed sooner.

If you have any questions or are contacted by any Vector office in the future, please contact me at ###-###-#### or email **************.  Thank you.

 

BBB - Please feel free to contact me with questions at ###-###-#### or email **************.  Thank you.

 

******* ** *****

National Service Manager

Vector Marketing Corporation

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/13/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am supposed to receive my paycheck through the mail every week, my manager says it's supposed to arrive on Monday or Tuesdays. This is the second week in a row I haven't received a paycheck at all. I have completed 27 demonstrations during those two weeks and not been paid for my work. I have called customer service and they insist that they have sent out the checks and there is nothing they can do. I have talked to my manager who keeps insisting that it comes in the mail.

Desired Settlement: For doing the demonstrations I am supposed to receive $16 for each. Thats $432 they owe me for my demonstrations that I have done. I want to be paid in full.

Business Response:

We did speak with ****** on 8/4 regarding this issue.  We did confirm that checks have been issued but evidently there has been an issue with the post office with delivery.  We have put a stop payment on the most recent check (mailed 7/24 for $422.00) and have overnighted a check on 8/5 for $422.00 to ****** so she'll have it on Wednesday, 8/6.  The $10 difference between what ****** was actually requesting ($432.00) and the check sent ($422.00) was due to a stop payment fee of $10 for a previous check issued.  This was explained to ****** and she understands. 

We do apologize it has taken so long for ****** to receive her check.  Now that the address is confirmed, this issue should be resolved.  ****** was content with the outcome.

Please feel free to contact me with questions at ###-###-#### or email **************.  Thank you.

 

******* ** *****

National Service Manager

Vector Marketing Corporation 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/5/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I worked for vector for three weeks and quit because I found that it was not for me, my boss **** ***** stated that we would have 3 days of paid training and I did not receive that nor my check for being on the field trying to sell their knives. I have been gone from the company for approximately two months and I'm still in contact with him and he keeps telling me I'm going to get my check but every time the day comes that he is supposed to give me my check he comes up with an excuse why he can't.

Desired Settlement: I want my check and paid training which comes out to $335.50. I would like to get my check and be left alone

Business Response:

We have attempted to contact ***** to resolve this situation.  The phone number provided does not accept calls.  We sent an email on Monday, July 21 and have yet to hear back from *****. 

We did speak with the manager, **** *****.  He claims ***** was made aware that training was unpaid in both the interview and the training sessions.  He has been in contact with ***** as he has agreed with ***** that she is owed $46.50 for the 3 demonstrations she completed.  However, he is uncomfortable in sending to the address provided by ***** because he claims it is not her house and he fears the check being lost.  In the email we sent on 7/21, we did ask that she confirm the proper address as we do have 2 different addresses for *****. 

We would be happy to work with ***** to resolve this situation.  However, she needs to contact ***** *******, who sent the 7/21 email, either by responding to the email or calling ###-###-####. 

Please feel free to contact me with questions at ###-###-#### or email **************.  Thank you.

 

******* ** *****

National Service Manager

Vector Marketing Corporation

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/1/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was offered a job that was full-time and $15.00 an hour with Cutco/Vector. I was called in for an interview with the St. Joseph, MI branch manager. I was offered the job and I accepted it. Thinking it was too good to be true and close to home it was worth a shot. So, willingly I went to the meetings for their training for several days and found out that I would not be receiving pay for those hours. Reluctantly, I tried to stick it through and give it another chance and work hard to make some money. During the second training day we were informed to call everyone in our phones that we could think of and give them their sales pitch and set up an appointment to give them a demo. I was excited because I had quite a few set up for the weekend. I presented 16 demos throughout the time spand of the weekend. I was proud of myself for actually getting really good at memorizing their speech. After each and every demo (which was supposed to be one scheduled every two hours) you had to call the manager and he would ask if you sold anything. Keep in mind, when you start your speech they tell the customers they don't have to buy anything because we get paid just to do the demo.. the manager would get upset with you if you didn't sell anything. He would ask what I think i did wrong, so I continually honestly answering his questions and it got really depressing because they make you feel like a piece of crap if you can't sell it. After doing the 16 demos and only selling two items (an ice cream scoop and a cutting board- which the customer looked up reviews for the cutting board and cancelled because it had horrible reviews) the manager called an "emergency meeting" and had me cancel the demos I had already set up for the times he wanted us there for the meeting. I attended the last minute meeting to learn how to "promote sales", hoping to get some pointers that may possibly help. We had to sign up for individual personal meetings for the next morning, I did. I attended the meeting at the scheduled time when the manager pulled me into the office and started asking me questions about my sales pitch. He informed me stating:" I contacted my manager and he said there is absolutely NO way you can do 16 demos and not sell anything. You are either not doing the demos completely or you are targeting the wrong people." I informed him that I was completing the demos which took about 45 mins to an hour each depending if the customer had questions or not and I was going to everyone that owned a house, married and worked full time. I didn't think I could find better prospects to sell this to. He "beat around the bush" calling me a liar. I was embarrassed and ashamed that I could not do better sales and he basically made me feel like an idiot. I informed him I was trying my best and he blatantly told me it wasn't good enough. He asked if I would be able to drive to Lansing (which is HOURS from where I live) to meet up with a higher manager and go to a sales meeting. I informed him I didn't have a job so I didn't have gas money to go there. He stated I could ride along with some other people going but I would have to pitch in for gas money. Once again, I told him I didn't have gas money for that. He stated that I had two choices: Not get paid for the next week but merely on sales only or turn in the Cutco bag. I had no choice but to turn in the Cutco bag because I was driving ALL over to sell their merchandise and was losing more money than I was gaining because they don't pay for your gas mileage and it's only $15 per completed demo. I had ran over an entire gas tank running around selling their merchandise and didn't have any money left to do more demos. I handed the manager the bag with all of the merchandise in it expect the starting manual and stated that I was sorry it didn't work out. I then asked him when I would get paid for the 16 demos I had previously done and it was a Friday, he stated it would be Monday and I would get a check in the mail. I checked the mail everyday for two weeks until the following Tuesday. I got frustrated because I had still not been paid the $240 I had been promised. So I called the manager, of course no answer, left a voicemail. No return call. I kept calling about every other day, when he finally text me saying that he had just received my message because he "had been away from his phone most of the day". I informed him that I had not received my check yet and he said that he wasn't sure why but he would contact the regional manager to see what was going on. I let him know my hours of when I was available because I had started a new job. He made sure to call during the hours I was not available so he didn't have to talk to me. He left a voicemail once stating they were figuring it out and i would get a "different" check in the mail. In 3 days it will have been a month since I turned in the Cutco Bag. I called again today from my house phone number which he had stored before and he "accidentally" answered it, you could hear him about to say hello and he must've realized it was me so he quickly hung up. I called right back thinking he accidentally lost connection and it went straight to voicemail. I left a voicemail stating I still have not received my check and it's getting ridiculous. Plus, the customer that ordered the ice cream scoop still has not received their product. I am getting nowhere with their manager except in circles because he seems to not know anything and never returns my calls. I am so entirely frustrated by this scam and I want the $240 for the 16 demos I fully performed.

Desired Settlement: I want to get paid the $240 I was promised for the 16 complete demos I performed. Also, I would like to either cancel the customer's ice cream scoop or have them deliver the product so the customer will stop calling me worried that their bank account info is going to be stolen.

Business Response:

We did speak to ****** on 7/22 regarding this issue.  We do apologize for the way this was handled.  ****** was sent a check for $217 on 7/3/14 (check #*******).  An additional check for $30 was sent on 7/23/14 (check #*****).  We also contacted the customer and confirmed she did receive the ice cream scoop. 

Again, we do apologize for the delay and the way this was handled by our local Vector office.  This matter is now resolved.  Please feel free to contact me with questions at ###-###-#### or email **************.  Thank you.

 

******* ** *****

National Service Manager

Vector Marketing Corporation

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am an ex-employee of Vector, I worked their for 2 (two) weeks from my understanding we were to be payed $15 for every demo we did and a percentage of what we sold I ******' ******* made 8 demos and 1 (one) official sale, for this particular sale i was to get 10% of the sale, the sale being $904 in percentage of what I get $90.40 demo wise payment 15 x 8= $120. From my understanding and the way I was told we got payed our commission of sale and base pay, I only received a check for $71.30 when I saw this payment that was given to me I immediately contacted my manger they told me I would receive a $42 check the next week I asked well what about the rest of my money, they told me that's all they owe me so i quit on the spot.

Desired Settlement: I would like the rest of my due payment or LEGAL ACTION WILL BE TAKEN.

Business Response:

We have sent 3 separate checks to ******:

   Check#     Issue Date     Amount
4978240    2014-07-10       50.00
4967580    2014-06-26       60.00
4962026    2014-06-19       71.30

Total payout = $181.30.  ******* ***** is awaiting a call back from ****** to explain the confusion regarding the $90.40 payment referenced in the complaint versus the actual payment of $71.30.  However, the difference has been made up in the 2 subsequent payments made on 6/26 and 7/10. 

This issue is resolved.  Please feel free to contact me with questions at 1-800-828-0448 or email **************.  Thank you.

 

******* ** *****

National Service Manager

Vector Marketing Corporation

 

Consumer Response:


In the last statement I sent, I announced that my previous employer (Vector Marketing) owed me a work payment of $220 I have only received $181.30, to further prove this (meaning $220) is my owed payment I was told I was only owed $120 and would receive no further payment other than such (meaning $120) I have a witness that was present during this claim of theirs, and as I see it since previous employer (Vector Marketing) has payed me over their said amount of owed payment $120 I feel that they recognize and accept the truly owed payment of $220 and I would like to receive such owed payment. I have already received partial owed payment of $181.30, only $38.70 is left to pay as owed payment this is my last request to receive owed payment or I will serve Vector Marketing with an outstanding lawsuit for lack/with holdings of work payment

Regards,

****** *******




Business Response:

In ******'s original complaint filed on 6/30/14, ****** was under the impression he should be paid commission AND base pay on all the demonstrations that were done. We have attempted to explain that the base pay program works as such:  At the end of the base pay period (usually one or two weeks), the total number of appointments is compared to total commissions earned on each sale.  If total commissions on orders are less than total commissions earned on the base pay program (8 demos x $15 per demo = $120), the company will pay the difference to the sales rep.  Commissions earned on the one sale for ****** totaled $71.30.  The company owed ****** the difference between $120 and $71.30, which amounted to $48.70. If fact, we ended up overpaying ****** as per the following:

We have sent 3 separate checks to ******:

   Check#     Issue Date     Amount
4978240    2014-07-10       50.00
4967580    2014-06-26       60.00
4962026    2014-06-19       71.30

We have attempted to contact ****** to discuss his reasoning why he believes he is owed an additional $38.70.  If we truly owe ****** additional monies, we would be happy to pay him.  ****** has refused to work with us to resolve this difference.  Below is the latest email exchange with ******:

On 7/23 we wrote:

I cannot factor out to an additional $38.70, please call me so we can walk through the commission statements and understand how you are coming up with an additional $38.70.  You can reach me at the ###-###-####. 

Thank you

*******

******'s response on the same day was as follows:

Since you are acknowledging you will not pay me there is no further need for direct communication between us to proceed, expect to hear from my Lawyer about this conclusion you have reached.

Regards, ******' *******

Again, we would be happy to work with ****** but need to have discussion so we both understand each other.  ****** is not allowing this to occur. 

Please feel free to contact me with questions at ###-###-#### or email **************.  Thank you.

 

******* ** *****

National Service Manager

Vector Marketing Corporation

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

7/1/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Vector first started by sending a letter in the mail addressed to me, stating that if I were to come in for a job interview, I would be hired and paid $15 as starting pay. However the letter did not state the company name, or what they did. I could tell that it was a scam, therefore I did not respond to the letter. Next came the constant phone calls. I receive a phone call at least once every 2 weeks from Vector asking me to come in for a job interview that I had not even applied for. Last night, Vector called me with a sneaky plan. They forced a college classmate of mine to call my cell phone and act like she wanted to catch up with me over the summer. On the phone, she stated "my manager wanted to talk to you", and I asked her what company she worked for, however she did not respond and immediately handed her personal cell phone (not a company phone) over to her manager. He introduced himself and I asked once again which company this was, and he replied with "Vector". I then hung up the phone and received a text from my classmate which read: "...sorry for doing that to you. My manager took the list of my contacts and wanted me to call people for the job offer at Vector" So her manager forced her to hand over her cell phone so that he could write down all of her personal contacts, and forced her to call whomever was in those contacts. This company seems very unethical to me, and obviously is not good to their employees. I did a small amount of research on Vector and found one case that claimed he received $5 pay instead of the promised $15. I also noticed that all of my friends and their friends had been contacted by Vector as well. Apparently they target unemployed (or employed) college students, because they are easy to scam since most need money to pay for school.

Desired Settlement: I would like Vector to stop contacting me and also to stop scamming college students.

Business Response:

The following email was sent to ***** on 6/20:

*****,

I am responding to the recent complaint filed with the Better Business Bureau regarding Vector Marketing.  I do apologize that you were contacted on numerous occasions, even after you advised that you were not interested.  I have spoken with the local office and they have assured me that your name has been removed from the contact list.  Regarding the phone call from your college friend (and the phone then passed to the manager), this is a normal practice but only if it agreed to by the sales rep (or potential sales rep) in the office.  We never force this practice on any sales representative.  I am sorry that this did occur. 

If you have any questions or are contacted by any Vector office in the future, please contact me at ###-###-#### or email **************.  Thank you.

**** *****
National Service Manager
Vector Marketing Corporation
###-###-####
**************

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Tuesday, June 3rd our school conducted our graduation ceremonies at our campus (private property). Agents from this company gained access to our parking lot, trespassing on private property, and left business cards on the few hundred cars in our parking lot. This is trespassing, littering, and unethical at best. If this continues, we will use every means available within law enforcement to mitigate the situation.

Desired Settlement: We would like the company to acknowledge this occurred, provide a letter of apology and assurance it will never happen again.

Business Response:

The following email was sent to Mr. ******* on 6/18:

Mr. *******,

I am responding to a recent complaint filed with the Better Business Bureau regarding a solicitation issue with Vector Marketing at Crystal Springs Uplands School.  Thank you for bringing this issue to our attention.  We do require our Vector offices to get approval from schools when doing this type of solicitation.  We do apologize this did not occur.  We have contacted the local Vector office and they have assured us they will get proper approval in the future prior to accessing a school campus. 

Again, I do apologize.  If there are any issues with Vector Marketing in the future, please feel free to contact me directly at ###-###-#### or email **************.  Thank you.

**** *****
National Service Manager
Vector Marketing Corporation
###-###-####
**************

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/25/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: my child who is a senior in high school got a letter from your firm and when I called and asked how they got her name and address all I got was a run around from ********* ****. All he wanted was my name and cell number and promised to call me back. I want to know how your firm got the information and why are your sending to these letters without the permission from the parents of these students. When I asked them to remove her name this was a problem for them as well. Your letters are misleading. They do not tell the student this involves selling door to door.

Desired Settlement: iwnat someone from this firm to contact me and tell me who sold them my childs name. They should have parents permission to contact the student and be more open and honest in their letters. The local management is nothing but a sham and a needs to be educated on how to removce someone from their mailing list and be able to tell a parent where the information came from.

Business Response:

After several attempts to make contact, ***** *******, president of our mailing company,  spoke with ***** today. She talked to her about our process and ***** seemed to appreciate the call and information provided.  ***** provided information on how Vector and her company have worked together over the years, how the mailing process worked, as well as information ***** would need to remove her daughters name from all direct mailing lists.  ***** also sent ***** a letter which stated the following:

Dear *****,

We have removed *****'s name and address from our mailing list. I am

including the address of a company where you can request for ***** to be removed from

all direct mailing lists.

Mail Preference Service

****** ********* *********** **** ****** ** *** ********

New York, NY 10036-6700

We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. We assure you

that ***** has been removed from our mailing list.

Sincerely,

***** *******

President

L&D Mail Masters Inc.

 

This issue is now resolved.  Please feel free to contact me with any questions at ###-###-#### or email **************.  Thank you.

 

******* ** *****

National Service Manager

Vector Marketing Corporation

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I worked for Vector Marketing for a couple of weeks, in this time I performed 3 appointments and sold $100 of merchandise. I had quit due to family issues and I never received a payment for my work. The company makes millions a day but is unable to pay a mere $55 to a college freshman.

Desired Settlement: I would just like to get payed for the time and effort I put into the company.

Business Response:

In investigating this issue, we did find that we had no contract on file for Mr. ****.  We did work with Mr. **** to get an updated contract completed to get him in our system.  Once this was completed, we credited the $55 owed to him.  A check will be mailed to Mr. **** on Thursday, 6/19. 

We do apologize the contract was never initially sent and processed.  This issue is now resolved.  Please fee free to contact me with questions at ###-###-#### or email **************.  Thank you.

 

******* ** *****

National Service Manager

Vector Marketing Corporation

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/19/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 3/15/14 I purchased merchandise (cutlery) that was to be $81.49. On 4/18/14 my bank card was debited for $81.48 again. I called Cutco on 4/21/14 to inquire why they have debited my account again, since my original invoice was marked paid in full with 0 balance. I informed them that their representative never mentioned multiple payments. My understanding was the merchandise cost was $81.49. Cutco said I owed 3 more payments. When I said multiple payments was never mentioned they disregarded me. I was going to return this merchandise to them but their attitude was "it was used". I knew they were not going to issue a refund so I didn't return it. They said this material was worth over $400. I don't want it, but they don't seem to be willing to hear my point of view, so we are at an impasse. On 5/19/14 I spoke to ***** of Cutco and she asked me to send her a copy of my invoice. After sending a copy, I received in the mail a "doctored" copy of the invoice with the numbers changed, a part of the form was removed (the part that said "Paid in Full) and my signature was altered.

Desired Settlement: I will return all merchandise.

Business Response:

We do apologize for the confusion on this order.  We spoke to Mr. ****** on 6/18 and agreed to refund him the $162.97 he has paid on this order, once the merchandise is received at our facility.  Mr. ****** will be returning the merchandise. 

Please contact me with questions at ###-###-#### or email **************.  Thank you.

 

******* ** *****

National Service Manager

Vector Marketing Corporation

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******* ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am writing to the Better Business Bureau to complain about Vector Marketing and its employees, Manager ***** ******** and his receptionist Michelle.I received a voicemail message on Saturday, May 24, 2014 at approximately 10:50am from phone number ###-###-####. It was in response to my inquiry online about Part-time and Full-time work.When I returned the call at approximately 2pm asking for ******, who had left the message, ******** said she would help me. She proceeded to what sounded like reading from a script as she was speaking very rapidly and unintelligibly. I pointed this out to her and asked her to please repeat what she had just said because she spoke too quickly for me to understand what she just said. She then repeated what she said which was that Vector offered an entry level base salary of $18 to start and then she asked me if I was available for an interview the same day (Saturday, May 24, 2014) at 4:30pm. I asked her where they were located and she responded that their offices were located at 3000 Hempstead Turnpike, Suite 315 in Levittown, NY 11756.Soon after I finished speaking with ******** at approximately 2:29pm, I received a text with a reminder of the appointment I had just confirmed with her on the phone.Soon after the text, I received an email message from Mr. ********, confirming my appointment with him and telling me he was looking forward to meeting me as well as providing directions to his office.I traveled by car approximately 20 minutes and arrived for my interview 20 minutes before the scheduled meeting time. A young woman greeted me and then went to one of the back offices to bring out Mr. ********. We shook hands, he said he was ***** ******** and what happened next was very disturbing. ***** ******** accused me of being rude to his receptionist and asked me to leave. I stated that I merely asked her to repeat herself because I didnt understand what she was saying over the phone because she was talking so fast. Suffice it to say that the interview did not take place even though I consider myself excellent at customer service and would have been perfect for the sales position Vector Marketing was offering.It is my opinion that both these individuals were extremely unprofessional and to put it in their own words rude to me. They had ample time to notify me (by phone, email or text) to cancel the appointment but instead they purposely inconvenienced me by waiting until I arrived personally before telling me that there would be no interview. Mr. ******** claimed he knows his receptionist wouldnt lie, implying that I was the one who was making things up or lying about what had in effect occurred, which is not the case.I suggest that the Better Business Bureau investigate Vector Marketings business practices. I initially attained their business card from a college campus and I am afraid they will do this again to other unsuspecting students who are merely trying to find a way to pay for college expenses such as myself.Thank you for your kind attention to this matter.

Desired Settlement: I would like a letter of apology from Manager ***** ******** for the inconvenience and emotional damage.

Business Response:

We do apologize for this situation.  ***** ******** sent the following email apology to ********* on 5/28:

Dear *********, 

I'm sending you this email to apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced the other day here at Vector. I want to assure you that no harm was meant, and the email you received was automated. Because of this miscommunication, it may have seemed that I sent you the confirmation email as a part of some joke, only to kick you out before the interview process had begun. But I'd like you to know that I hold myself to higher standards than such actions. The day you called we had a heck of a lot of phones ringing and were understaffed and never had the opportunity to let you know ahead of the interview that we would not be interested in accepting you. I do hope that you accept my apology, as I would never intentionally mislead anyone in such an immature fashion. It was merely a byproduct of being understaffed and delayed communications between my receptionist and I. As a manager and a representative of Vector Marketing, I hope that you will not see Vector in a negative light. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience caused to you and any emotional damage done. 

 

Please feel free to contact me with any questions at ###-###-#### or email **************.  Thank you.

 

******* ** *****

National Service Manager

Vector Marketing Corporation

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/13/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Foremost, there was not an appropriate description for 'Primary Nature of your Complaint' so I chose a similar one. The nature of my complaint is centered around unwanted literature being sent to my home. On three occasions, I have asked Vector to stop sending information on employment opportunities to my house. I spoke with ***** ******** (branch manager and sender of literature) and she wrote me off quickly and said to speak with headquarters because it is not her issue, even though these letters are addressed to me from her. I followed her direction and contacted headquarters. I spoke with ***** who mentioned he will remove me from the list. I also asked to receive and email confirmation indicating that I will not receive communication from them, but I have yet to receive it. Since this is now my 4th attempt at trying to remove myself from their system, I am requesting that BBB please get in touch with Vector, let them know I am very serious about this issue, and to have them confirm with me (or BBB) that they will never send another piece of literature to my house.

Desired Settlement: An email in writing which indicates I will not receive further communication from Vector.

Business Response:

The following email was sent to Mr. ***** on 6/13/14:

Mr. *****,

I am writing in response to a recent issue filed with the Better Business Bureau regarding Vector Marketing.  Let me first apologize that you continue to receive mailings from Vector.  Your name has been removed from the mailing list.  This removal may take a few days to work through the system so there is a chance that another mailing may be scheduled  with your name still in the database.  If that does happen, I do apologize.

If you continue to receive solicitations, please feel free to contact me at ###-###-#### or email **************.  Again, I apologize and hopefully this will resolve this issue.  Thank you.

**** *****
National Service Manager
Vector Marketing Corporation
###-###-####
**************

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

****** *****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/30/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Vector placed an add on Craigslist for sales. I received a phone call for an interview after submitting my resume. I was told base pay is $15.75. They made it sound as if I would get $15.75 per hour. The girl who called me insinuated that I would make 15.75 per hour. She said, "Looks like I can fit you in for an interview at 3:45 on Monday April 28, 2014." I accepted this and showed up for the "interview." Turns out they didn't "fit me in" as she stated. I walked in and there were several other people there. I had to wait over 30 minutes for my turn to talk to someone. He brought me into his office with another applicant and I had to discuss me and my qualifications in front of a stranger. I questioned ****** **** (manager) about this and my concerns that I was interviewed with another applicant because this was an invasion of my privacy. ****** stated, " I do it this way so I can get more interviews done this way." He did not care about my privacy. Then after waiting again for my "second" interview, I had listen to a sales pitch...this is when ****** **** told us we would be paid $15.75 for each sales appointment we did...not per hour. This was NOT a second interview, it was a sales pitch. Then I find out that we were required to sell to at least 10 of our family and friends first. My complaint is that they tricked me into coming in for an interview, and wasted my time. 2 hours into the interview/sales pitch is when they tell you about the pay. Vector is very deceiving. They generally target students and that concerns me because children are easy to manipulate.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) Make them stop deceiving people and make it clear what the real pay is.

Business Response:

I personally spoke with Ms. ********* on 5/22.  I did apologize for her feeling that she was mislead by the local Vector office.  The office manager has spoken with the receptionist regarding the scripting to ensure a similar situation does not occur in the future.

As an apology, I am sending Ms. ********* a complimentary Cutco Petite Chef knife.  Ms. ********* appreciated the gesture and follow up. 

Please feel free to contact me with questions at ###-###-#### or email ***************  Thank you.

 

******* ** *****

National Service Manager

Cutco/Vector

  

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company continues to call and harass me about employment even though I have stated that I am not interested. I have told the caller 3 times now and that I am not interested. My requests have clearly been ignored.

Desired Settlement: Stop calling and harassing me.

Business Response:

Sent following email to Jamaal on 5/21/14:

*******

I am responding to a recent complaint filed with the Better Business Bureau.  The complaint was regarding unsolicited calls you have been receiving from one of our El Paso Vector Marketing offices.  Thank you for bringing this to our attention – I do apologize.  I have notified our El Paso offices and requested that your name be removed from any call list they have on file.  If you continue to receive phone calls, please contact me immediately at ###-###-#### or email ************** and I will address promptly.

Again, I apologize for this issue.  Feel free to contact me with any questions.  Thank you.

**** *****
National Service Manager
Vector Marketing Corporation
###-###-####

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/22/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was suckered in to working at this dump they call a job. I was connected to Vector/Cutco through *******************.com where they had advertised a job that pa