BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Albany, Buffalo, Rochester & Syracuse regions

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers Full Service for Computer Information Systems.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that CCPlus, Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for CCPlus, Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on CCPlus, Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 28, 2000 Business started: 12/11/1992 in NY Business started locally: 07/01/1999 Business incorporated: 12/05/2000 in NY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Tom Teahan, Sales Manager Mr. Steven White, Operations Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Randy Mayall, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Steven White, Operations Manager
Business Category

COMPUTERS - DEALERS COMPUTERS - SUPPLIES & PARTS COMPUTERS SOFTWARE & SERVICES COMPUTER SOFTWARE PUBLISHERS & DEVELOPERS COMPUTERS - CABLE & INSTALLATION COMPUTERS - DISASTER RECOVERY COMPUTERS - NETWORKS COMPUTERS - RENT & LEASE COMPUTERS - ROOMS - INSTALLATION & EQUIPMENT COMPUTERS - SERVICE & REPAIR COMPUTERS - SYS DESIGNERS & CONSULT COMPUTERS - TRAINING INTERNET SERVICES WEB DESIGN COMPUTERS - NETWORK SECURITY COMPUTERS - SECURITY EQUIP & SYSTEMS COMPUTER CONSULTANT

Alternate Business Names
CC Plus Our Computer Guy, Inc.
Industry Tips
Developing a website Internet Domain Name Registration

Additional Locations

  • 266 Elmwood Ave, Suite #188

    Buffalo, NY 14222 (716) 882-0328 (716) 529-0509

  • 286 Genesee St.

    Auburn, NY 13021 (315) 258-8330

  • 5905 East Taft Road

    Syracuse, NY 13212 (315) 458-8877

  • 740 Driving Park Ave, Suite A2

    Rochester, NY 14613 (866) 624-8750 (585) 697-0649

  • 911 Central Ave, Suite #326

    Albany, NY 12206 (518) 482-2480

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (866) 624-8750(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: An unreasonable, excessive delay in completing the repair. An improper, unsuccessful repair. The problem was a malfunction in the * * software program. They had trouble determining the cause, and kept the laptop for an inordinately long time. After many phone calls to check on their progress and two or three trips to their office, they said the problem was with a loose chip. I am not a technical person, but have been informed by other computer repair services that the problems with * * could not be attributed to hardware. The repair was supposedly done in July 2012. After paying a total of $362.93 to CCPlus, I set the laptop aside and continued using my backup laptop. I resumed using the "repaired" laptop yesterday. The exact same problem that CCPlus supposedly fixed is still there. I called ahead and went to their office today to have them stand behind their work and fix the laptop correctly. They flatly refused to look at it without more money up front, and implied that I was lying about the circumstances. Now I understand why they don't have a BBB Rating. They are rude, dishonest, and incompetent. Avoid them!

Desired Settlement: Refund my payments. They are not competent to fix it.

Business Response: Mr. * came to our office in July 2012, asking us to address an issue he was having with his * * documents.  He stated: "I am an author working on a book. I have each 'page' of my book saved as a separate document. However, when I save the changes I made to a page, I receive a pop-up message that is becoming very inconvenient to me, as it occurs for each page I attempt to close."In a typed letter he also requested the following items be addressed:
   - Fix problem with *, so I can exit docs cleanly.
   - Fix the long boot time. (It takes over 2 minutes)
   - Have it go directly to the Desktop when it finally does boot up. (i.e.: Remove the annoying * screen)
   - Fix Standby Mode
   - Please keep all tool bars and tabs in * exactly as they are.
   - Please keep all icons on Desktop exactly as they are.Technicians Notes:
   Got screen shots of * Settings. Error does not happen when closing individual documents, only when closing the program itself. Backed up the data and verified file count. Downloaded and updated * and rebooted. Ran several other anti-virus and anti-malware programs. Nothing was found (does not mean nothing was there, simply nothing that the software had the signatures for), including installing * recovery console. Removed * from the start-up folder but the pop-up folder still came up on boot. Scans found nothing malicious. Contacted * who approved additional 0.5 hours to work on issues. Unable to make changes to the boot.ini file. Verified that * was in the administrators group and created new user as administrator. Still could not make changes. Options were grayed out. Deleted new account I created. Found that * * he has is part of the * *. This can't be downloaded. Searched for a copy but it is too obsolete. Ran sfd / scannow. It did not find any problems. (Contacted * about * * Disk - he dropped off * * 2002 Disks 1-5, * * App & Driver Recovery Disks) Used the * disk to enable the * program to open again, but it still had the same problems when closing the program.
   Performed a repair install, uninstalled using windows and did a new install and used revo to uninstall it and reinstalled it from scratch. None of these worked, it had the same problem.  PDF Creator was integrated into *. Uninstalled * * * 6. Received the same message as when running the * Program. Used System Restore to move before the removal and re-installed * *. This still did not fix the problem. * (technician) found errors in the *** event log. He tried every way to uninstall ***, but it would not completely remove. He ran *** and did not find anything. He tested it again without add-ins. Same thing. He contacted *, who approved a reload of the hard drive with up to 2-4 hours (of labor). * also said he wanted *** free anti-virus put on at that time. The laptop has an OEM version of ** **. Spent quite a while finding an OEM version disk to re-install *. Tried to install *, but kept getting errors and the install failed. Ran hard drive and memory tests. Tried to install using different disks. Still failed. Finally found that memory was slightly loosened. Not enough to see with the naked eye, but enough to cause intermittent problems. Reseated the memory. * approved wiping the hard drive and starting from scratch. Wiped the drive and loaded *. After * was installed I found, downloaded and installed all of the hardware drivers needed for the laptop. I backed up the drivers so * will have them if he needed them again. Installed and activated * *. Updated the product key and activated *. Ran two sets of systems updates (150 updates total). Installed office * * *. Downloaded and installed *** 2012 Free version. Updated *** definitions. Verified that the Word toolbars matched the screen shot taken before the restore.Total Time:
5.25 Labor Hours
   - Standard 1 hour diagnostic / repair fee upon dropping off his system
   - Approved additional 0.5 hours to attempt to resolve * * and additional issues listed on * list.
   - Additional 3.75 hours for hardware testing / verification, Wipe and Reload of OS, reinstall of all data, drivers and updates; install of *** Free; verification of all toolbars and icons in same location as before reload.Multiple times, during the phone conversations with * about explaining his options, was it recommended to considered NOT moving forward with the additional labor to attempt to fix the old laptop and might be more cost effective option to purchase a new laptop. - Labor to move forward was desired and approved per *. Anyone in this field will agree, that based on the work that was approved and completed, the amount of time taken is completely justifiable. You will also notice, that nowhere in the technicians notes (which Mr. * also has a copy of) does it state the sole problem was with a "loose chip" -- it states the technician noticed the stick of RAM was loose while completing the reinstall of *, at which point, once the stick was reseated properly, the reinstall of the OS completed successfully and without error.)Mr * also indicates that he has not used this laptop since this work was completed back in July 2012, until October 30th, 2012. Nearly 4 months later. However, Mr. * contacted our office via telephone approximately 3-4 weeks ago, stating he was having an issue with his touchpad not working on his laptop.  While over the phone, I personally walked through a few solution options with Mr. *, one of which was successful, at no charge.Our office had not heard from Mr. *, related to ANY issues with his laptop, until October 30th, 2012. At which point, he stated that he just used his laptop for the first time since it was fixed in July 2012 and was experiencing "The same issues as before."  It was explained to him over the phone that we would be happy to have him bring the system in and look into the issues, however, given the amount of time that has passed since the work had originally been completed, we would ask he pay the standard 1 hour diagnostic / repair fee upon his arrival to our office.  He contended that it was the same problem and that he should not have to pay. We explained that we could not fully agree this was the same issue and that it could very well be a different problem with similar symptoms, in which case, we would need to have one of our technicians look into the problem and determine what the issue(s) were.Mr * arrived at our office and was explained the same information that he was explained over the phone. However, he refused to pay our initial 1 hour diagnostic / repair fee.  We explained to him that we could not / would not troubleshoot his laptops issue(s) because we have no way of knowing if in fact in is the same problem due to the amount of time that has passed since the repairs were made. We also explained, if he had contacted us within a reasonable time frame after the work was completed, we would have gladly reviewed the issues to determine if they were the same and / or unresolved. However, that was not the case.Mr. * then argued with our staff member about asking him to pay the diagnostic / repair fee. After a few minutes of going back and forth with him, our staff member asked him to please leave, as we were not going to be moving forward with his laptop based on the differences he has with our process and our explanation of why we were asking him to pay for the services.  He refused to leave, standing in front of our receptionist, making remarks, such as "you should go find a company that you'd be proud to work for." "I will be sure to get the word around about this." etc. - upon exiting our office he asked if we could "recommend him a competent company to resolve his problem." - We replied, "No, I'm sorry, we cannot."  He made a few more remarks to our receptionist before exiting our office.I understand Mr. * frustration that his laptop was having issues, but to ask a company such as ours to provide him a service at no charge solely based on his word that he has not used the laptop in nearly 4 months (after he had already contacted our office a month ago requesting assistance over the phone to resolve a problem he was having on his laptop) and that the laptop is having the same issues as back in July, after we performed a complete wipe, reload and reinstall of all the software on that system, is unreasonable.  Mr. * himself, was extremely rude and in my opinion dishonest about the status and use of his laptop. If I had made the investment to try and resolve multiple issues with my laptop, spending $362.93, which Mr. * did, I would have plugged that laptop in as soon as I arrived home and attempted to 'test' each item I asked the company to resolve to ensure they were each working properly.  If they were not working, then I would have then contacted that company right away, informing them the issues were not resolved. I would not have waited nearly 4 months to do so.  We stand by our decision to request for payment of our 1 hour diagnostic / repair fee.

Please feel free to contact me at any time to discuss this issue further.

Thank you.

* *
Operations Manager
CCPlus, Inc.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.
For rude people to say I was rude shows how out of touch with reality the folks at CCPlus are. What left me standing in their "office" (which seems to be a converted house) was not rudeness, but disbelief in their dismissive attitude not to stand behind their work. The defensive quantity of their argument to my complaint does not constitute a quality response. For the record, another company with a real office and workshop (***) quickly and competently fixed the problem: 1. ** did not strip down and uninstall all of the programs and data on my laptop (as did CCPlus, who never made the laptop work right after they did the so-called re-install). 2.After fixing it correctly, the total fee ** charged me was $100.   From my experience with their lack of professionalism, competence, and civility, I would advise my friends and associates to avoid CCPlus. Go to **.     Sincerely, * *

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

12/1/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1