BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Albany, Buffalo, Rochester & Syracuse regions

BBB Accredited Business since

Lockport Outdoor Store

Phone: (716) 433-8991 Fax: (716) 433-9043 View Additional Phone Numbers 5943 South Transit Road, Lockport, NY 14094 http://www.lockportoutdoor.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business offers clothing and workshoes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Lockport Outdoor Store meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Lockport Outdoor Store include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Lockport Outdoor Store
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 14, 1994 Business started: 01/01/1973 in NY Business started locally: 01/01/1973 Business incorporated: 07/02/1973 in NY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. James Kushner, President / Owner / Treasurer
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. James Kushner, President / Owner / Treasurer
Business Category

CLOTHING - RETAIL SHOES - RETAIL

Alternate Business Names
Lockport Surplus Center, Inc.

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 734-1191(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/9/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hi there.On 09/15/2012 a pair of work boots was purchased from Lockport Outdoor Store in Lockport NY. On 10/03/2012 the sole started to separate from the shoe due to a poor quality glue been used. On 10/04/2012 I went to the store to return this boots and was told by one of the cashiers it is not a defect and they will not take this shoes back. They said it is normal wearing. I don't see this as normal wear since it is even not safe for me to use this shoes. The original receipt says 30 days for returns if a product is defective. On my question if the business is registered with BBB cashier lied to me by saying No it is not registered with BBB. Thank You.

Desired Settlement: Refund.

Business Response: To whom it may concern:


We do not take returns for any worn goods, but we do honor any complaints regarding defective products.  

The boots in question were in very good condition.  There was a very small amount of peeling on the rubber of the toe.  This is expected when considering the wear and tear that the average work boot goes through.  

The customer was told by the manager that if the problem gets any worse it might be a sign of a defect.  In this case we would treat the problem as we would any other defect, i.e. return the merchandise to the manufacturer and give the customer a store credit.

Please let us know if any other information is needed.

Thank you,
*

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

*

 

Now this boots is unusable any more. I can not return it to the store because the warranty is expired.Their receipt says 30 days. They waited for my  30 days to expire and now they answering. This is not the way to do business. They will lose customers. 3of my friends will newer go there any more.

Business Response: If the customer has a defective pair of boots, we will return them to the manufacturer up to one year after the original purchase date.  If the manufacturer gives us full credit (in the case that the footwear is defective), then the customer will receive a store credit for the full purchase amount.


This store credit never expires, but we suggest the customer use it for something other than the product he originally purchased if it did not stand up to the conditions he's used to.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: purchased new work boots on 1/3/2012,after a few days new boots start to stink. went to store on 2-24-2012 to talk to mgr. girl behind counter was rude when i asked for mgr. told to come back latter mgr not here now. came back talked to mgr. he said no warrenty on boots for stink. i have been a customer of this store for many years even when they where in the old store,have spent a lot of money there which i see now they could care less about. they do not stand behind what they sell and will never get another dime of my money.i only wanted credit towards another brand boot.went to another store on 2-25-2012 and spent my money there.

Business Response: To whom it may concern:


This customer's complaint did not fall within the store's guidelines for returning footwear.  The customer trying to return the boots explained to our manager that the footwear started to give off an offensive smell.  The manager, who has 16 years of experience with the company, did not recognize the smell as anything that would be used in manufacturing a piece of footwear.  It was apparent that whatever made the boots funk so nasty was a foreign chemical spilled onto the boots after they were purchased.  We offer credit to any customer who has a defective product under warranty.  Unfortunately, this was not the case.

Please follow up with us if any additional information is needed.

Thank you,

**** ******* - Vice President, Systems Integration

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

BBB spoke to ***** on the phone today. He is not happy with the response from the business. He was a long time customer who purchased products as they are a family of ATV'ers. He expected that the business would take care of him. He stated that if you Google " China Boots Stink" you will see millions of complaints like his. This is because China is allowed to use chemicals that are not allowed in the US. There was no chemical spill on the boots, how would they know this? He was also surprised that the employee that waited on him laughed when he explained the reason for the return. You don't laugh at your customers. All he wanted was to return the boots so he could buy a different brand. He will no longer shop at this store and and will tell others about this situation as well.  

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

1