BBB Accredited Business since

Valu Home Centers, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (716) 824-4150 Fax: (716) 825-2133 View Additional Phone Numbers Clinton & Rossler Valu Plaza, Buffalo, NY 14206 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.valuhomecenters.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Valu Home Centers, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Valu Home Centers, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Valu Home Centers, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1963 Business started: 01/01/1963 Business started locally: 01/01/1963 Business incorporated 12/29/1983 in NY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Richard Arena, Exec. Vice President Mr. Chuck DiPiazza, Director of Purchasing Mr. Martin Noworyta, V.P.-Information Systems Mr. Anatole Petruczok, Vice President-Operations Mr. William Simon, Vice President-Operations Mr. Michael Wienckowski, V.P.-Operations
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Richard Arena, Exec. Vice President
Principal: Mr. Michael Ervolina, President
Business Category

BUILDING MATERIALS HARDWARE - RETAIL PAINT - RETAIL PLUMBING FIXTURES, PARTS, SUPPLIES - RETAIL


Additional Locations

  • 100 S Cascade Dr.

    Springville, NY 14141

  • 10378 Bennett Road
    Rte. 60

    Fredonia, NY 14063

  • 1118 Groton Ave. & Rte. 281

    Cortlandville, NY 13045

  • 11270 Maple Ridge Road
    Rte. 31

    Medina, NY 14103

  • 1216 Abbott Road

    Lackawanna, NY 14218

  • 13404 Broadway

    Alden, NY 14004

  • 1365 Nash Road

    North Tonawanda, NY 14120

  • 1841 Elmwood Ave.

    Buffalo, NY 14207

  • 2319 N. Main Street

    Warsaw, NY 14569

  • 2610 West State Street

    Olean, NY 14760

  • 262 Buffalo Street

    Gowanda, NY 14070

  • 280 E. Fairmount Avenue

    Lakewood, NY 14750

  • 3129 Orchard Park Rd & Union Rd.

    Orchard Park, NY 14127

  • 396 Kenmore Ave.

    Buffalo, NY 14223

  • 4152 W. Main St. Road

    Batavia, NY 14020

  • 4264 Delaware Ave,

    Tonawanda, NY 14150

  • 4875 Transit Road

    Lancaster, NY 14043

  • 5900 South Transit Road

    Lockport, NY 14094

  • 6170 South Park

    Hamburg, NY 14075

  • 7451 Seneca Road

    Hornell, NY 14843

  • Aurora Village Shopping Center

    East Aurora, NY 14052

  • Clinton & Rossler Sts.

    Buffalo, NY 14206

  • Clinton & Rossler Valu Plaza

    Buffalo, NY 14206

  • George Urban & Dick Rd.

    Depew, NY 14043

  • P O Box 1410

    Buffalo, NY 14240

  • Porter & Packard Rd.

    Niagara Falls, NY 14304

  • Route 16 & 39

    Chaffee, NY 14030

  • Town & Country Plaza
    361 Hamilton St.

    Geneva, NY 14456

  • Transit & Maple Roads

    Amherst, NY 14221

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On April 27th, 2013, I contracted with this location to install a door that I had purchased from them. The agreement, the CONTRACTUAL AGREEMENT states that my new door and the work performed to install it would be done in a four to six week time frame. I also, at the time purchased the installation which is to be done by ***-**** Construction. I was informed that the installer will not be paid until the job is done correctly. Cool. However when will the job ever be done?? We are now almost 12 weeks into the original contract with no, ABSOLUTELY NO CONTACT from anyone. Numerous calls to Valu result in vague conversations saying that "well, ***-****, is installing this week, maybe you will get your door, it's in stock!! (It's a stock door...they offered it to us upon purchase however whereas I do many things...I don't install doors).My issue...I contracted with Valu. They have my cash for almost three months now. No answers, no service, no door. I don't care about ***-****...I never spoke to them. The problem is with Valu.

Desired Settlement: I want/need this door installed.

Business Response: Valu Home Centers is responding to complaint #******* from ***** *******, dated 7/11/2013. The attached letter from our Vice President of Operations, ***** ******, confirms that we have contacted the customer, and resolved the issue on her storm door installation to her satisfaction.


Thank you for bringing this situation to our attention.

******* *****
Executive Vice President
Valu Home Centers

July 15,2013
Re: ***** *******
I am in receipt of your letter dated July 11,2013, regarding the above-mentioned complaint.
Valu Home Centers takes all customer complaints, either positive or negative, very seriously.
We strive to make sure these complaints are resolved to the customer's satisfaction. Valu Home
Centers has been in business for 45 years. We know that customers are the backbone of our
business and deserve quality customer service and attention to their concerns.
Ms. *******'s door was installed on Saturday, July 13,2013, to her satisfaction. She was issued
a full refund for the installation charge of $109.00. As a gesture of goodwill, for the
inconvenience we caused, we have provided Ms. ******* with a $50 Valu gift card to be used for
future purchases. We try our very best to ensure that our customers get the best experience
possible when they shop our stores. Due to a mis-communication, we did not live up to our
standards or meet the customer's expectation.
As of the date of this letter, we have resolved Ms. *******'s complaint to her satisfaction,
therefore, this case should be considered closed. If you have any questions, please contact me.
Thank you.

***** ** ******
Vice President of Store Operations

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

With all due respect..Valu Home Centers as well as ***-**** construction have gone above and beyond what was expected of them. I am more than satisfied and would not hesitate to do business with either in the future. Their response was timely and efficient.  

***** *******