BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Albany, Buffalo, Rochester & Syracuse regions

This Business is not BBB accredited

BridalGown.net

Phone: (315) 524-4526 View Additional Phone Numbers 1170 Ridge Rd Ste 149, Webster, NY 14580 http://www.bridalgown.net ! There is an alert on BridalGown.net !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business offers online sales of wedding gowns & formal wear.

BBB Accreditation

On 1/16/2014 the business's accreditation from BBB was revoked.

The revocation was due to violation of BBB Accreditation Standards:

6A. Promptly respond to all complaints forwarded by BBB by:

  1. Resolving the complaint directly with the complainant and notifying BBB, or
  2. Providing BBB with a response that BBB determines:
    • is professional,
    • addresses all of the issues raised by the complainant,
    • includes appropriate evidence and documents supporting the business' position, and
    • explains why any relief sought by the complainant cannot or should not be granted.

6B. Make a good faith effort to resolve disputes, which includes mediation if requested by BBB. Other dispute resolution options, including arbitration, may be recommended by BBB when other efforts to resolve a dispute have failed. BBB may consider a business' willingness to participate in recommended dispute resolution options in determining compliance with these standards.

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for BridalGown.net include:

  • 12 complaints filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 11 complaints filed against business
  • 1 serious complaint filed against business
  • BBB Accreditation was revoked because the business failed to honor its accreditation agreement with BBB.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 12 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 9
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 12

Additional Complaint Information

BBB has received complaints from consumers advising that they have purchased and paid for merchandise from this business but have not received the merchandise. Consumers have called and emailed the business with no response. BBB has reached out through letters, phone calls and emails asking for the business to answer to concerns that the consumers are left without their merchandise and their refunds.  BBB was able to find out through one partner of the business that the business was dissolved and the one remaining partner was not able to retrieve any merchandise for the consumers without permission from the other partner.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on BridalGown.net
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 30, 2006 Business started: 01/01/1999 Business started locally: 01/01/1999
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Julie Painton, CEO
Business Category

BRIDAL SHOPS INTERNET SHOPPING

Alternate Business Names
Jel Group, Inc.
Industry Tips
Internet Shopping

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1170 Ridge Rd Ste 149

    Webster, NY 14580

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (315) 836-4503 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations

X

BBB has received complaints from consumers advising that they have purchased and paid for merchandise from this business but have not received the merchandise. Consumers have called and emailed the business with no response. BBB opened an investigation and reached out through letters, phone calls and emails asking for the business to answer to concerns that the consumers are left without their merchandise and their refunds.  BBB was able to find out through one partner of the business that the business was dissolved and the one remaining partner was not able to retrieve any merchandise for the consumers without permission from the other partner.  BBB recommends that consumers file with us at bbb.org as well as the New York State Attorney General's Office at: www.ag.ny.gov


Complaint Detail(s)

2/12/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have ordered my gown from this place. I emailed this lady multiple times and got a response in September that she will email me ETA date. Never received a second email, now the website is down. I have emailed her again but no response about my order. I paid 1,737.23 for the dress. This is my order #: **********

Desired Settlement: I want my dress. If I cannot get my dress, I want my money back.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

1/16/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dear Sir/Madam I have been attempting to lodge a complaint form on the BBB website; however no matter how many times I try to do this the form will not go any further than the first page. The business I need to lodge the complaint against is as follows:- Business Name: BridalGown.net Address: 1170 Ridge Road, Suite 149 City: Webster State: NY Zip: 14580 Business Phone: ###-###-#### Website URL: http://www.bridalgown.net Due to a recommendation from a friend of mine that ordered her wedding dress from the above business two years ago; I also ordered my wedding dress from them and paid in full ($1,417.08 Australian dollars) on 24 September 2013. On 3 November 2013, my friend who had made the recommendation contacted me to advise that another one of her friends who had also ordered through bridalgown.net had not received her dress, even though it was 7.5 months since she had ordered it, and that ***** Painton (the business owner) would not respond to any of her frantic calls or emails. My friend suggested that I contact ***** myself to make sure that my order was okay. I therefore emailed ***** on 8 November 2013 requesting an estimated delivery time. I received no response so I sent further emails on 27 and 28 November 2013, requesting an urgent response. I received no response at all, so on Friday, 29 November 2013 I sent a further email, requesting a full refund within 7 days, as based on her lack of contact and failure to deliver my mutual friend's dress, I do not believe that I can trust her to deliver my wedding dress on time (or at all) either. I have since searched online and have found that prior to this year, bridalgown.net had a good reputation (which is why my friend recommended her to me) but since early this year onwards there are numerous reports of ***** Painton not responding to enquiries and not sending girls their dresses on time (or at all) for their weddings. This is the most important dress I have ever purchased so this is very distressing for me. I require a full refund as a matter of urgency so that I can purchase the dress elsewhere, from someone that I can trust to deliver it on time. When I was in the process of deciding to order the dress ***** ******* would respond to my emails within 24 hours. Since she received my money; however, I have had no contact from her and she will not respond to me at all. This seems to be very fraudulent and deceptive behaviour and this woman needs to be made to refund the money she has taken (stolen) from women who have trusted her. I look forward to hearing from you as soon as possible. Should you require further evidence please advise me and I can send you copies of all my emails to bridalgown.net and also proof of purchase of the gown. Regards ****** ***** ******* * ******** ** ****** *** ***** ****** **** * ****

Desired Settlement: Full Refund

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

12/24/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a bridal gown from this website on May 23rd 2013. The last reply I got from ***** ******* was on June 7. Since September 23rd I've sent over 10 emails and haven't had a single response. There a number of other people that have had the same problems and have been posting on the business' facebook group. The ETA we were given from her for the dress was the 24th October. Since that day we have tried calling the number on the website which firstly went to voice mail and then in the past week the number says it is not in service.

Desired Settlement: As I now have to re-order a gown to ensure I get it in time for the wedding I wish to have my money refunded. As a number of people have not had their dress delievered in time and Julie refuses to return my emails, I don't believe she will deliver the dress. Also now that you have down graded her rating from A+ to F, I have no confidence that the business is functioning.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

12/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a wedding gown from bridalgown.net for my daughter in june, payent was required in full. I checked reviews and the site displayed an Authorize.Net Verified Merchant Badge so I felt it was secure. Was told it would be 18 - 20 weeks In September, emailing and telephoning several times with no response I finally got an email to say it was arriving on the 23rd October. As the wedding is now only a few weeks away I started emailing with no response. I posted a complaint on the company's facebook page along with another young woman who appears to be a victim as well, the comments were removed immediately. I rang Paypay because they offer buyer protection, they told me it was out of the 45 day time limit but will deploy their fraud team. I rang Authorize.net. I was put through to an operator in the Philippines who told me the company closed down in 2010. I explained that bridalgown.net is still displaying their badge with the words Verified Merchant, which I had relied on when placing the order. I was told that there is nothing they can do about it, it is up to the merchant to remove the badge. I then rang the company again and got a message that the phone has been disconnected. This company is still accepting payments online and I have my daughters wedding in a few weeks time, no dress, having paid $1845. Is there anything that you can do about this please.

Desired Settlement: This company refunds the money it charged for the wedding gown it failed to deliver. This company ceases taking payments online if it is unable to fulfil its obligations

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

12/6/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My mother forwarded your email to me after she contacted you about the problems I am having with my order. I ordered my dress on the 14th March 2013 and the expected delivery was at the time quoted as 4 -6 months. I ordered my dress through this company as a friend of mine had ordered a dress from this company with no issues in the past. I finally managed to contact her after I hadn't heard anything after about 5 and a half months and she said you were going to post it to me the next week and this was on the 29th Aug. I didn't hear anything for 2 weeks, so I emailed her again (with difficulty). On the 10th Oct and she said my gown was ready to ship and will be shipped that week. Again, that week came and went. On Oct 21st I emailed her again and she said she was working on it right now. Another week passed and no tracking number was sent. On the 28th Oct I sent an email telling her I was not happy and that she had until Friday to send the dress or I would be organising to get a refund. Unfortunately I have not heard anything since and I have sent a couple of other emails. Also, I was unable to get a refund from PayPal as there policy is to commence a dispute after 45 days from purchase, however the construction of my dress was expected to take 5months, so this was never possible. My order number:***-***-****from BridalGown.net. To resolve this issue I would like a refund or if possible the dress I ordered. Thank-You for your time, ***** ****** * ****** *** ****** **** *** *** **** Mob: *********0

Desired Settlement: To resolve this issue I would like a refund or if possible the dress I ordered.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

12/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have sent 6 emails to Bridalgown.net requesting the ETA for my friends wedding dress and they are not responding at all.

Desired Settlement: An email of ETA for the dress.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

12/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered my dress form their website on Sep 14th. Then I keep sending them emails asking about the status of my order and when I will receive it. I got no response. I've been trying to reach them for month and a half now and I got no response. I found many many people having the same issue with them. check their facebook page. people are posting their complains. https://www.facebook.com/pages/BridalGownNET/237697306295438 I am stressed out and I am not excepting to receive anything from them and I want my money back. bad service. this business need to be closed to same people from this.

Desired Settlement: I paid $2,229.91. I want full refund I am not from US but my husband is living their currently. I put his address and contact phone number in my information because the website is not excepting my ***** address.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

12/6/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I've purchased a wedding gown on May 5th, and received an email with an estimate date of September 23rd to receive the gown. Since then, I've been emailing them asking if everything's ok, an update on the order etc, and never received any single reply. During the last month I probably emailed them about 15 times and called 2 times, left two voice mails, still no reply. I'm very disappointed, it's been 25 weeks in total since the day I made the purchase.

Desired Settlement: The least they could do is give some feedback and contact the customers. One month late is pretty serious, and I want my wedding dress as soon as possible.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

12/6/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I Bought a Bridal Gown on June 9th and the seller said that the dress were be delivered on september on Elizabeth, NJ, My weeding is on november and no dress delivery yet. I send an email before bougth and she (***** *******) tell me that I should receive it before october. This didn't happen. My Girlfriend is on panic because our wedding is near and she has no gown.

Desired Settlement: Please delivery the dress until october 20th or refund me.. with my taxes included.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

11/25/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hi, I ordered and purchased a wedding gown from BridalGown.Net in July this year. I purchased online as I live in Australia. They (Julie) advised at the time of ordering that my dress would be delivered in October/November. I have been getting worried because since September (after 4 emails) I have not heard from them or had a response to my emails. I then went to the BridalGown.Net facebook page where I have seen other customers experiencing the same issues - no response from the company and dresses have not been delivered. These customers recommended filing a complaint on this BBB website which i'm doing to hopefully get my dress, or at the least get my money back (approx. $1800AUD). I am getting really stressed now that my wedding is less than 3 months away. Can you please help resolve this issue with the company, as I have had no luck in getting a hold of them

Desired Settlement: My first desired outcome would be to have my dress delivered ASAP. If this isn't possible, I would like a full refund including the international payment charge from using a credit card. I paid for the dress through paypal.

Consumer Response: Hi ********

 
I just wanted to advise that I have received a full refund on my credit card for the  items I bought. Not sure where it's come from but i'm so so happy that I have my money back.
 
Thank you for your assistance on behalf of BBB.org.
 
Warm regards
 
*****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

11/8/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hi there, Recently ordered a bridalgown from www.bridalgown.net 6 months ago. On delivery date there was no dress in sight. All emails and phonecalls have gone unanswered and we are not sure where the owner has gone.

Desired Settlement: We would hope to get a full refund of 1825.35USD back. The link of the order is here: https://marketplaceadvisor.channeladvisor.com/**************************************************************************

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

11/8/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a bridal gown on April 2nd, 2013 to the value of US$1917.15. The comany advertise that delivery will be between 18 and 22 weeks after the order is placed. It has now been 27 weeks and I have not received the product. I have sent numerous emails and left voice messages on their answering machine all of which have been ignored.

Desired Settlement: I need to receive the product by the end of November. Worst case scenario I would like a refund of all payments

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

1