This business is not BBB accredited.

Phone: (315) 524-4526 View Additional Phone Numbers 1170 Ridge Rd Ste 149, Webster, NY 14580 ! There is an alert on !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This business offers online sales of wedding gowns & formal wear.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for include:

  • 12 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 11 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 9
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 12

Additional Complaint Information

BBB has received complaints from consumers advising that they have purchased and paid for merchandise from this business but have not received the merchandise. Consumers have called and emailed the business with no response. BBB has reached out through letters, phone calls and emails asking for the business to answer to concerns that the consumers are left without their merchandise and their refunds.  BBB was able to find out through one partner of the business that the business was dissolved and the one remaining partner was not able to retrieve any merchandise for the consumers without permission from the other partner.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 30, 2006 Business started: 01/01/1999 Business started locally: 01/01/1999
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Julie Painton, CEO
Business Category


Alternate Business Names
Jel Group, Inc.
Industry Tips
Internet Shopping

Additional Locations


    1170 Ridge Rd Ste 149

    Webster, NY 14580


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/12/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have ordered my gown from this place. I emailed this lady multiple times and got a response in September that she will email me ETA date. Never received a second email, now the website is down. I have emailed her again but no response about my order. I paid 1,737.23 for the dress. This is my order #: **********

Desired Settlement: I want my dress. If I cannot get my dress, I want my money back.

1/16/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dear Sir/Madam I have been attempting to lodge a complaint form on the BBB website; however no matter how many times I try to do this the form will not go any further than the first page. The business I need to lodge the complaint against is as follows:- Business Name: Address: 1170 Ridge Road, Suite 149 City: Webster State: NY Zip: 14580 Business Phone: ###-###-#### Website URL: Due to a recommendation from a friend of mine that ordered her wedding dress from the above business two years ago; I also ordered my wedding dress from them and paid in full ($1,417.08 Australian dollars) on 24 September 2013. On 3 November 2013, my friend who had made the recommendation contacted me to advise that another one of her friends who had also ordered through had not received her dress, even though it was 7.5 months since she had ordered it, and that ***** Painton (the business owner) would not respond to any of her frantic calls or emails. My friend suggested that I contact ***** myself to make sure that my order was okay. I therefore emailed ***** on 8 November 2013 requesting an estimated delivery time. I received no response so I sent further emails on 27 and 28 November 2013, requesting an urgent response. I received no response at all, so on Friday, 29 November 2013 I sent a further email, requesting a full refund within 7 days, as based on her lack of contact and failure to deliver my mutual friend's dress, I do not believe that I can trust her to deliver my wedding dress on time (or at all) either. I have since searched online and have found that prior to this year, had a good reputation (which is why my friend recommended her to me) but since early this year onwards there are numerous reports of ***** Painton not responding to enquiries and not sending girls their dresses on time (or at all) for their weddings. This is the most important dress I have ever purchased so this is very distressing for me. I require a full refund as a matter of urgency so that I can purchase the dress elsewhere, from someone that I can trust to deliver it on time. When I was in the process of deciding to order the dress ***** ******* would respond to my emails within 24 hours. Since she received my money; however, I have had no contact from her and she will not respond to me at all. This seems to be very fraudulent and deceptive behaviour and this woman needs to be made to refund the money she has taken (stolen) from women who have trusted her. I look forward to hearing from you as soon as possible. Should you require further evidence please advise me and I can send you copies of all my emails to and also proof of purchase of the gown. Regards ****** ***** ******* * ******** ** ****** *** ***** ****** **** * ****

Desired Settlement: Full Refund

12/24/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a bridal gown from this website on May 23rd 2013. The last reply I got from ***** ******* was on June 7. Since September 23rd I've sent over 10 emails and haven't had a single response. There a number of other people that have had the same problems and have been posting on the business' facebook group. The ETA we were given from her for the dress was the 24th October. Since that day we have tried calling the number on the website which firstly went to voice mail and then in the past week the number says it is not in service.

Desired Settlement: As I now have to re-order a gown to ensure I get it in time for the wedding I wish to have my money refunded. As a number of people have not had their dress delievered in time and Julie refuses to return my emails, I don't believe she will deliver the dress. Also now that you have down graded her rating from A+ to F, I have no confidence that the business is functioning.

12/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a wedding gown from for my daughter in june, payent was required in full. I checked reviews and the site displayed an Authorize.Net Verified Merchant Badge so I felt it was secure. Was told it would be 18 - 20 weeks In September, emailing and telephoning several times with no response I finally got an email to say it was arriving on the 23rd October. As the wedding is now only a few weeks away I started emailing with no response. I posted a complaint on the company's facebook page along with another young woman who appears to be a victim as well, the comments were removed immediately. I rang Paypay because they offer buyer protection, they told me it was out of the 45 day time limit but will deploy their fraud team. I rang I was put through to an operator in the Philippines who told me the company closed down in 2010. I explained that is still displaying their badge with the words Verified Merchant, which I had relied on when placing the order. I was told that there is nothing they can do about it, it is up to the merchant to remove the badge. I then rang the company again and got a message that the phone has been disconnected. This company is still accepting payments online and I have my daughters wedding in a few weeks time, no dress, having paid $1845. Is there anything that you can do about this please.

Desired Settlement: This company refunds the money it charged for the wedding gown it failed to deliver. This company ceases taking payments online if it is unable to fulfil its obligations

12/6/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My mother forwarded your email to me after she contacted you about the problems I am having with my order. I ordered my dress on the 14th March 2013 and the expected delivery was at the time quoted as 4 -6 months. I ordered my dress through this company as a friend of mine had ordered a dress from this company with no issues in the past. I finally managed to contact her after I hadn't heard anything after about 5 and a half months and she said you were going to post it to me the next week and this was on the 29th Aug. I didn't hear anything for 2 weeks, so I emailed her again (with difficulty). On the 10th Oct and she said my gown was ready to ship and will be shipped that week. Again, that week came and went. On Oct 21st I emailed her again and she said she was working on it right now. Another week passed and no tracking number was sent. On the 28th Oct I sent an email telling her I was not happy and that she had until Friday to send the dress or I would be organising to get a refund. Unfortunately I have not heard anything since and I have sent a couple of other emails. Also, I was unable to get a refund from PayPal as there policy is to commence a dispute after 45 days from purchase, however the construction of my dress was expected to take 5months, so this was never possible. My order number:***-***-****from To resolve this issue I would like a refund or if possible the dress I ordered. Thank-You for your time, ***** ****** * ****** *** ****** **** *** *** **** Mob: *********0

Desired Settlement: To resolve this issue I would like a refund or if possible the dress I ordered.

12/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have sent 6 emails to requesting the ETA for my friends wedding dress and they are not responding at all.

Desired Settlement: An email of ETA for the dress.

12/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered my dress form their website on Sep 14th. Then I keep sending them emails asking about the status of my order and when I will receive it. I got no response. I've been trying to reach them for month and a half now and I got no response. I found many many people having the same issue with them. check their facebook page. people are posting their complains. I am stressed out and I am not excepting to receive anything from them and I want my money back. bad service. this business need to be closed to same people from this.

Desired Settlement: I paid $2,229.91. I want full refund I am not from US but my husband is living their currently. I put his address and contact phone number in my information because the website is not excepting my ***** address.

12/6/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I've purchased a wedding gown on May 5th, and received an email with an estimate date of September 23rd to receive the gown. Since then, I've been emailing them asking if everything's ok, an update on the order etc, and never received any single reply. During the last month I probably emailed them about 15 times and called 2 times, left two voice mails, still no reply. I'm very disappointed, it's been 25 weeks in total since the day I made the purchase.

Desired Settlement: The least they could do is give some feedback and contact the customers. One month late is pretty serious, and I want my wedding dress as soon as possible.

12/6/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I Bought a Bridal Gown on June 9th and the seller said that the dress were be delivered on september on Elizabeth, NJ, My weeding is on november and no dress delivery yet. I send an email before bougth and she (***** *******) tell me that I should receive it before october. This didn't happen. My Girlfriend is on panic because our wedding is near and she has no gown.

Desired Settlement: Please delivery the dress until october 20th or refund me.. with my taxes included.

11/25/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hi, I ordered and purchased a wedding gown from BridalGown.Net in July this year. I purchased online as I live in Australia. They (Julie) advised at the time of ordering that my dress would be delivered in October/November. I have been getting worried because since September (after 4 emails) I have not heard from them or had a response to my emails. I then went to the BridalGown.Net facebook page where I have seen other customers experiencing the same issues - no response from the company and dresses have not been delivered. These customers recommended filing a complaint on this BBB website which i'm doing to hopefully get my dress, or at the least get my money back (approx. $1800AUD). I am getting really stressed now that my wedding is less than 3 months away. Can you please help resolve this issue with the company, as I have had no luck in getting a hold of them

Desired Settlement: My first desired outcome would be to have my dress delivered ASAP. If this isn't possible, I would like a full refund including the international payment charge from using a credit card. I paid for the dress through paypal.

Consumer Response: Hi ********

I just wanted to advise that I have received a full refund on my credit card for the  items I bought. Not sure where it's come from but i'm so so happy that I have my money back.
Thank you for your assistance on behalf of
Warm regards

11/8/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hi there, Recently ordered a bridalgown from 6 months ago. On delivery date there was no dress in sight. All emails and phonecalls have gone unanswered and we are not sure where the owner has gone.

Desired Settlement: We would hope to get a full refund of 1825.35USD back. The link of the order is here:**************************************************************************

11/8/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a bridal gown on April 2nd, 2013 to the value of US$1917.15. The comany advertise that delivery will be between 18 and 22 weeks after the order is placed. It has now been 27 weeks and I have not received the product. I have sent numerous emails and left voice messages on their answering machine all of which have been ignored.

Desired Settlement: I need to receive the product by the end of November. Worst case scenario I would like a refund of all payments