BBB Accredited Business since

HOMENERGY Services

Phone: (518) 891-1616 33 Depot Street, Saranac Lake, NY 12983 http://www.homenergyservices.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business offers service for boiler heaters, plumbing , and delivery of propane/fuel.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that HOMENERGY Services meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for HOMENERGY Services include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on HOMENERGY Services
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 02, 2007 Business started: 10/01/1995 in NY Business started locally: 10/01/1995 Business incorporated 11/09/1995 in NY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Daniel Reilly, Owner
Business Category

BOILERS - REPAIR & CLEANING HEATING CONTRACTORS PLUMBING CONTRACTORS SEWER CONTRACTORS HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING AIR CONDITIONING & HEATING CONTRACTORS - RESIDENTIAL FIREPLACES GAS - PROPANE OILS - FUEL WATER HEATERS - DEALERS BOILERS - NEW & USED FURNACE SALES & SERVICE WATER & SEWER LINE PROTECTION RADIANT HEATING PLUMBING - CONTRACTOR

Alternate Business Names
HomEnergy Services, Inc.
Industry Tips
Choosing a Plumbing Contractor Heating Systems Home Improvements Service Calls Three Day Cooling-Off Rule (cancel contracts)

Additional Locations

  • 33 Depot Street

    Saranac Lake, NY 12983

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/31/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On February 21,2014 Home Energy filled their 100 Gallon propane tank at ** **** **** *** ****** ***** ** due to their faulty pressure regulator allowing the entire contents of the tank to escape into the atmosphere. The tank had been filled in October 2013 and approximately 5% of the tank consumed prior to the leak. Home energy billed me for the full cost of the lost propane even thou the cause was their faulty regulator. I have contacted their office several times, but they will not return my calls. They charged my credit card without authorization.

Desired Settlement: Home energy has three options: 1 - Refund the amount charged on my credit card and install a new pressure regulator - quickly. 2 - Install a new pressure regulator and provide me a no-cost proof of ownership of the tank and regulator. 3 - Remove the tank from my property at my convenience and immediately refund the amount charged to my credit card.

Business Response: Customer called to say that the tank was low at his camp.  He wanted it filled.  We responded quickly and filled the tank.  Driver found a defective regulator.  We had his c. card on file, authorized to use after each delivery.  The ticket was posted and card run before office was informed, re: regulator.  We had issued him a full credit before receiving the first notice from BBB of the complaint.  His complaint is unreasonable.  He said he'd call the BBB back but he has not.  We would have sent a technician there to replace the regulator but he refused because he has no need for the gas service at this time. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:
I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  However, Home Energy only refunded the propane cost after being told I had filed this complaint. The company owner never would speak to me directly. 
Regards,
***** *******

Business Response:

Hello ***** 
To clarify: 
1) There is difficulty responding on your website.  Since I don’t plan to make a practice of it, I guess I don’t need to know more! 
2) Mr. ****** rec’d a credit the day before I heard from BBB.  Sorry he thinks there was some ulterior motive.  Please inform him we are happy to pick-up the tank anytime. 
Best Regards,
*** ******
HOMENERGY Services, Inc.
33 Depot Street, Suite 1
Saranac Lake, NY 12983
518-891-1616

HOMENERGYServices.com


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on HOMENERGY Services
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)