BBB Accredited Business since

ReBath of Albany

Phone: (518) 371-0400 Fax: (518) 371-0411 View Additional Phone Numbers 9 Solar Drive, Clifton Park, NY 12065 http://www.rebathofalbany.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business offers one day bath remodeling.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that ReBath of Albany meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for ReBath of Albany include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on ReBath of Albany
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 08, 2007 Business started: 01/01/2006 in NY Business started locally: 01/01/2006 Business incorporated 10/17/2006 in NY
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Frank Rafalik, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Frank Rafalik, Owner
Business Category

BATHTUBS & SINKS - REPAIR & REFINISH BATHTUB REFINISHING BATHROOM REMODELING - WALK-IN TUBS KITCHEN & BATH - DESIGN & REMODELING BATHROOM REMODELING

Alternate Business Names
BCJ, LLC
Industry Tips
Home Improvement Contracts -- NYS Law Home Improvements Home Improvements -- FHA Loan Advertisements Three Day Cooling-Off Rule (cancel contracts)

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 3-4 weeks ago I noticed a greying showing in the bottom of our brand new tub which was installed appx. 4/13.

Desired Settlement: For someone to come and drop a bottle of their specific cleaner, even if we have to pay for it They never call back or even try to solve the problem. I was specifically told twice by salesman-Clifton Park branch NY. that he would drop off cleaning product or have a man by the name of **** in ********* drop off a bottle. He never did. Even if he called and told me they were out of stock and would drop it off the next day or whatever, I would have accepted that, at least they would have contacted me out of courtesy.

Business Response:

This complaint has been taken care of and the customer i8s satified.We hand delivered ReBath cleaner to the customer. The issue was a cleaniong problem and not a defect in workmanship or product.

 

11/14/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When job was finished retailer was notified that sealant and mudd job was unacceptable. A service guy was scheduled to come on a Wednesday called and said he would be late , called back to say he couldn't make it that day , would be there on Thursday afternoon,when didn't show called office he was out on vacation for the rest of week. owner was to call never received a call back from him either. When I called office to speak with the owner after two weeks of waiting he said that the warranty would still be covered if we did work that needed to be finished ourselves. When payment was made to our credit card it was $925.00 more than balanced owed at job finish on contract. called office to correct t his matter and we were told the money was owed to them and they wouold put a lien on our home if balance was not paid.

Desired Settlement: to pay the amount due at job finish that was agreed upon on signed contract.

Business Response:

To whom it may concern ;

   Mr. & Mrs. ******* contracted with ReBath of Albany to install a rebath shower system (phase 1) this amount is not in question.Phase two contract reads, remove ceiling ,install sheetrock install ceiling fan and tape first coat ( first coat is not a fishish coat) ( the contract is noted as such," the customer to finsh and a deduction of 450.00 is noted"),install new shut offs for 925.00.Both contracts are signed and dated by Mrs.******* .On both contracts Mrs.******* indicated that the work was completed and that she was happy with the out come.Mrs. ******* also signed the customer check list and indicated that the amount to be charged to her credit card was correct and that we were authorized to charge her account.

Mrs. ******* called on 8/20/12 to say that some of her sealant had shrunk and would like us to come back to reseal the sealant.Mrs. ******* was told that our service tech was on vacation and that it would be a week until we could get back to her.A service time was scheduled and our service man called to say he would be late Mrs.******* indicated that she could not wait.Mrs ******* called again and spoke to Frank ,the owner and  asked that  since they were going to paint could they just seal it themselves and would that void her warranty.She was informed that that would be alright and it would not voild her warranty if she touched up the sealant herself.

On 8/24/12 Mrs. ******* called to ask about the amount charged to her credit card . Since our bookeeper was out that day I told her we  would call her back on Monday the 27th.On 8/27/12 Mr .******* called to complain that he was not going to pay the $ 925.00 as it was not stated in the contract and that the paint looked horrible due to the tapping.Mr.******* spoke to Frank Rafalik and indicated that he knew the amount was correct but was not going to pay it as he was not happy with the paint job.Mr.Rafalik pointed out to Mr.******* that we did not paint ,he did , and that the tape was not a finish coat he was to finish the tape as stated in the contract ( $450.00 deduction).Mr. ******* admitted that he indeed owed the $925.00 but was not going to pay it and "would  drag our name through the mud on the internet .BBB and with corporate.Frank told Mr. ******* that we would indeed put him into collections and possibly put a lein on his home if he did not pay the amount contracted.ReBath has completed all contracted obligations in a timely manner and we expect the *******s to pay the amount contracted.

I do not see any additional work sited in the complaint by the *******s so the only complaint is the contracted amount.We have all the contracts,work sheets and authorization to bill credit cards signed by Mrs.******* with the amout owed.The work has been completed and the customer simply does not wish to pay.I will send a hard copy of both contracts to you  with the amounts listed and the customers signature clearly signed and dated.

Thank you

****** *******

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The contract we signed stated gut ceiling ,install new greenboard on ceiling and tape, install new shut-offs, install 2 new rad covers, install 2 new shut-offs for outside faucets with a balance due upon completion of $5080 with no mention of "phase 1" Why would there be another bill for the same work that is on the only contract that we were aware of ?When Mrs ******* signed the paper work (at 9:30 at night still needing to eat dinner and having to get up at 3:00am to go to work) there was not a $925 charge on the paperwork she signed , that was added afterward without our knowledge or consent.The paperwork we signed off on all has her initials for the $5080, but the $925 does not                                                                                                                                                                  

As for the shoddy work it wasn't until the next day we noticed numerous voids in the caulk and a poor job of taping when we called to have it fixed they said they would be there the next day to fix it between 11&1pm then switched it to 3or4pm. They called to tell us they couldn't keep appt. but would stop the next day at the same time.When they didn't show we called the office to say he hadn't shown up yet, at this time we were told not sure when he would be here as he was on vacation for Thursday & Friday, but she would give it to the owner to pull someone off another job to have work done as he didnt like things falling through the cracks and would have him call with time and day. On friday when we hadnt heard anything I called the office again, said I hadnt received a phone call back, and I was told he had just received the complaint because he had been out on a job. At this point it was two weeks of waiting and I asked if the warrantey would be voided if we did the sealant ourselves, as we still had not used the shower up to this point. I was told it would be okay, we figured at this point they were paid and they were not going to finish the job. When we finally used the shower we had no hot water, at this time we had to take off the hardware and adjust the valve as this was installed wrong from the installers.

We were told that they were putting a lein on our home and that thier Lawyer would have the paper work drawn up with in seven days, if the payment was not made. We said put a lein on our home and we will sue you, he said go ahead we have been sued before. As for the amount due $8930 (which they keep stating is total bill) minus the $450.00 deduction = $8480. minus  $500.00 credit for ordering before June 30th =$7980. minus $2900. downpayment =$5080.  balance due upon completion. We can live with having to finish the shoddy workmanship, and being brushed off on the followup to fix, but fraduantly overcharging us $925.00 is not correct business practices, so please refund the overpayment to my charge card of $925.00.

" Our next step is the ******** ******** Office".

**** * ***** *******

          

Business Response: First I would like to question why Mrs. ******* is now complaining about "shoddy work "when there is no mention of this in her previous complaint? We contend that the "shoddy work "was the paint applied by Mr. *******. We consider this harassment by the *******'s

Mrs. ******* did not call the next day she did call to schedule a service visit to have the sealant reapplied on 8/24/12 (Friday at 4:15PM) almost a full two weeks after her installation was complete. Mrs. ******* was not happy with our service timetable and I explained that our service technicians do not work on Saturday and he would be taking a few days off for Labor Day weekend. I called Mrs. ******* back and apologized that we could not accommodate her any earlier than after the holidays. Mrs. ******* said she was going to paint so they would just reseal the area themselves if it would not put her warranty into question. I told Mrs. ******* that would be fine or we would come back out after Labor Day weekend.Mrs. ******* never mentioned additional service, billing or other complaints either at that time or in her previous complaint to the BBB.

I do not understand the statement that Mrs. ******* signed the contract due to hunger and sleep deprivation as the appointment was at 10AM on June 28th? How many stories are the *******'s going to fabricate to continue harassing ReBath for a refund that is not due them? I am sending you a copy of the salesman's appointment information sheet clearly showing the date, time, address, phone number and name of the people he is to meet. Please note the sold result is indicated as well as the amounts for Phase 1, the Rebath portion of the sale (tub, walls, faucet) and Phase 2,the additional work to be completed ( sheetrock,2 shutoffs light, vent combo ,radiator covers, ceiling demolition and first coat of mudd). The fax is time stamped at the top of the page.

As for the signed paperwork Mrs. ******* signed it is our standard practice to have all paperwork with the amount due signed by the customer.Mrs. ******* signed and initialed the paperwork with the amount due clearly highlighted in the left-hand corner as we have done thousands of times without incident. I have sent a copy of this agreement to you as well as a copy of the the contract. I agree the contract addition is off but this is not to our advantage it gives the *******'s an additional $25.00 off the contracted price. I take offense that the *******'s are asserting that the paperwork was altered after she signed it or that we are being less than honest. The contract clearly states that the total contract is for $8930.00. I spoke to both Mr. and Mrs. ******* about the $925.00 due and they both agreed it was due .Mrs. ******* signed off allowing her credit card to be billed the additional $925.00. Since this was the same procedure that was followed after the Phase one portion was completed she was aware and accustomed to our procedures. We agree that the salesman did not carry the amount due onto the correct line of the contract but it is clearly stated on the contract. If the *******'s had any questions regarding the amount due at any phase of the project we would have stopped and addressed the issue then. The payment of $925.00 only became an issue almost two weeks after completion? Why did they wait so long? If there was a question why did Mrs. ******* sign the paperwork with the amount clearly shown? We feel that the *******'s are simply trying to have work completed without paying for it.

ReBath has a stellar reputation and an "A" rating with the better business Bureau .We take our business reputation and customer service very seriously.Mr. ******* stated that he was going to ruin our reputation by "smearing our name all over the internet, with the BBB as well as other internet sites. I let Mr. ******* know that if he should decide to take such action I would respond leagaly. As for putting a lien on the *******'s home I also let Mr. ******* know that should he decide not to pay the $925.00 owed this was an option open to me. Since Mr. ******* has contacted the credit card he used to pay the $925.00 and stop payment and was told that he had no cause I believe Mr. ******* is trying to cause as much trouble as he possibly can and is using the BBB as an accomplice. I respectfully ask that the BBB drop this matter and decline to continue investigating this matter any further.

Sincerely
Frank Rafalik

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

In responding to the shoddy work it is not the paint job, it was the sealant around the shower stall, the tape job, and the water faucet needing to be readjusted so that we had hot water. I called on 8/17 and spoke with ****. He scheduled the work to be done on Wed. 8/22 between 11am & 1pm & he would be here to do it himself. On 8/22 **** called my husband to say he wouldn't be able to make it until 3 or 4 pm. **** then called back again and said he would be unable to make it out to our home today as he was held up on another job, but would be out on Thursday 8/23 between 3 or 4 pm. When he didn't show up I called the office to see what happened. ****** told me he was off on Thursday & Friday, but she would give this to the owner. Never heard back from him thats why I called back on Friday @ 4:15pm (when I got home from work) By this time it had been two weeks that we were unable to use the shower as we didn't want moisture to get behind the caulk into the walls, at this point we just figured he had his money and wasn't going to complete the job, so we did.

Billing was not brought up at this time because we had not received our credit card bill yet showing the $925.00 overcharge.  We will pass over the foolish comments of hunger @ sleep deprivation (are you serious?) it was not at 10am, it was 9:30pm with his installers on a work order not a contract. There was never at any time a phase I or II mentioned to either one of us nor was there any paperwork showing a phase I or II . As for him being offended, we take offense to being ovecharge $925.00. We never agreed that we owed another $925.00 the contract clearly states " BALANCE DUE UPON COMPLETION  $5080.00 ". We signed off not knowing they snuck in an additional $925.00. We didn't question the amount due because we agreed to owing $5080.00 at job completion not $6005.00 that we were charged. Again this took two weeks to get our credit card statement and saw the overcharge. As for the credit card you were paid the entire $6005.00 (which should only be $5080.00) and no credit has been issued as of yet. If you were the honest business person you say you are , you would have issued the credit knowing you were wrong. Its quite clear you don't honor signed contracts. Maybe since your installers stated that this job was under quoted this is your way of making back money.

As for using the BBB as an accomplice, the last we knew this is the division for consumers to voice thier concerns on a business who is unwilling to rectify a complaint. Your stellar reputation and customer service was not shown to us, You constantly pull your Lawyer for liens and threaten us with legal action ( as we were told you already spoke with your lawyer and would have us served within seven days the lein papers no options). We paid for a service that was unsatisfactory which gives us a legal right to express our opinion. 

We implore the BBB to continue thier investigation, look past all of the misdirection and double talk that he continues to use and ask yourself why 2 bills for a two day job, and a contract that clearly states balance due upon completion of $5080.00. Why were we offered $400.00 from the salesman if he also knew you were in the wrong?

Thank you

***** * ***** *******

 

 

 

 

10/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A bathtub renovation system was installed on July 19 & 20 2012. The tub drain stopper was not the type I had been told would be installed and the shower curtain rod was installed too high for a standard 72" shower curtain. The company did correct the drain stopper problem, but did not contact us regarding the height of the shower curtain rod. Fortunately my wife was able to sew a custom shower curtain (of 76" length) and a matching window curtain using our former 72" shower curtain and purchased material. She did not save the receipts, but the material cost was likely less than $50, including an 84" long shower curtain liner (which also had to be reduced to a 76" length). Her total labor time for this customization was about 12 hours. I wrote a letter to describing this situation to Rebath of Albany on July 24, 2012. They have not responded to that letter. A few weeks later I complained by telephone to Rebath Corporate in Tempe Arizona. The lady I spoke with said she would call Rebath of Albany. If she did, I do not know, but I have still not had a response.

Desired Settlement: An apology would seem to be in order. In lieu of a monetery adjustment, my wife would accept a replacement recessed toilet paper dispenser in polished brass to match the fixtures in the new bath system.

Business Response:

We were not aware of any service issues for the ********.I have looked through our records and we did not receive a letter,it may have become lost in the mail.Unfortunatly corporate did not contact us regaurding this issue.

Mr.Frank Rafalik,the owner, spoke to Mr.******* today at 4:30PM and apologised for any issues we have not addressed.We are sending Mr. ******* a $50.00 gift card to **** ***** to purchase the gold colored toilet paper holder.Mr ******* indicated that this would be the desired outcome.

Sincerely

****** *******

ReBath of albany