BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Albany, Buffalo, Rochester & Syracuse regions

BBB Accredited Business since

American Equipage

Phone: (800) 590-6986 View Additional Phone Numbers 1783 Crescent Valley Rd, Bovina Center, NY 13740 http://www.americanequipage.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business offers military gear, and reproduction uniforms, especially World War II uniforms. Also offers adventure and tactical clothing, boots, leather jackets, camping gear, gloves, hats, historical memorabilia, collectibles, canoes and kayaks, bags and cases, flashlights, and personal protective gear.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that American Equipage meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for American Equipage include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 19 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

19 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 8
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 19

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on American Equipage
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 02, 2008 Business started: 04/01/2002 in NY Business started locally: 04/01/2002
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Leam Cika, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Patty Cika, Owner
Business Category

ARMY & NAVY GOODS BINOCULARS BOOTS CAMPING EQUIPMENT COLLECTIBLES HANDBAGS HATS - RETAIL LEATHER CLOTHING - RETAIL SUNGLASSES UNIFORMS WATCHES - DEALERS WOMENS APPAREL - RETAIL GLOVES & MITTENS - DRESS


Additional Locations

  • 1783 Crescent Valley Rd

    Bovina Center, NY 13740

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (607) 832-4805(Phone)
  • (607) 832-4805 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/11/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
9/11/2014 Delivery Issues
8/27/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have emailed this company several times, left messages three times...I am just trying to find out when my item will ship. I have received NO RESPONSE from this company. I am extremely frustrated by their lack of communication.

Desired Settlement: I just want my items....they need to be responsive and let customers know when their item is shipping.

Business Response: We have phoned and left a message .. product comes directly from the manufacturer .

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.I need to have tracking information provided.  I have not yet received my items and have no idea when they will come. As soon as product is received, I will close the case.  Tracking information can be emailed to **************@*******.com
Regards, **** *****

Business Response: ordered shipped.. tracking # via ***..*******************  thanks 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/7/2014 Delivery Issues
7/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/24/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 9/29/13, I ordered a ****** cloth hood that company advertised. Company advertised 7 to 12 days shipping time. On 10/7/13, I called the company to see if item had been shipped yet. I was told no, so I requested order be cancelled. I received a call immediately after conversation saying it had been shipped on previous Saturday, 10/5/13, so I stated I was just happy it had been shipped. I continued to wait for item and again contacted company on 10/14/13 to see if they could track the item for me. Owner stated in the phone message that yes that was a longtime and he would check. No response back, another call on 10/15/13. No response, no response to email. I called credit card company to contact them about order. Finally an email saying it was on it's way and to be patient. Item finally arrived today 10/19/13. Shipping date on package was 10/16/13! I would never continued with purchase had I known it would take 20 days to arrive and I'm very concerned about the misrepresentation of when item was actually mailed so that I would not cancel order.

Desired Settlement: If company states items will be delivered in 7 to 12 days, make it happen or don't state it.

Business Response: item was shipped and received .. there was a mix up in tracking information as we have numerous items under the same po and this caused the mix up and wrong information. We had apologized for the problem . but the item did ship and customer could have shipped item back for a full refund if they didn't want the item as would have been happy to refund ...thanks   

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that it is easier to keep the item than wait for a full refund. This resolution is satisfactory to me.  Regards,   ******* ****      

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order online for a pair of boots. Boots were charged to my credit card on 9/13/13. I have called numberous times and left numberous voicemails for someone to return my call. I also tried to send numberous e-mails through the website concerning my order. I am just trying to see when our employee might expect to receive his boots but when I couldn't get anyone to answer any of my attempts, I am getting worried.

Business Response: Hello,customer was contacted and we let her know that we were having trouble with our phone lines due to a storm here .. I was able to send her an email the other problem is that we were not open on the weekend when she had called and emailed but she was answered via email as soon as we were open on Monday morning and we have emailed each other .. She has been refunded as she did not want to wait for the back order. thanks 

Consumer Response: Thank you for your attention to this matter. I did receive several e-mails after they were contacted by the BBB. I had previously contacted them by e-mail as well as numerous phone calls before I contacted BBB. They did let me know in the e-mails that the items were back-ordered until sometime in Nov. so I asked them to cancel my order and refund my account. Thank you for all your help,, *** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/3/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a pair of boots on 23 Mar 13 for $104. Also purchased shipping and handling for $17.50. Two weeks later, I still had no boots or shipping information emailed to me. I made SIX phone calls and TWO emails before getting in touch with somebody. They told me my boots were on back order and I would receive them before 18 April. Today is 19 April and I still have not received my boots. I have placed FOUR phone calls, each time leaving my name and contact information and NOT ONCE have they returned my call.

Desired Settlement: I would like my money promptly refunded.

Business Response: This customer was told that there was a back order on these boots. Our customer service had talked to her and had called her back and told her that these boots were on back order until the end of the month. They actually shipped out sooner and they hadn't gotten to her yet due to the bombings in Boston as it held up mail and that is stated on the tracking information. here is the tracking # ***************  FEDEX .. 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/27/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hi, November 5, 2012 ordered a jacket American Equipage N-3B Parka (order *****) paid immediately through Paypal $ 220 with shipping. Seller pulled sending up to 22 November, and then sent me the track number USPS ************* my order. I waited for about a month, but the premise is not moved, the seller asked to open an investigation on this matter, the seller did not do anything. January 4, I opened a Paypal dispute, but it was too late. Now it's been three months from the moment of payment, a jacket I have not received and the seller refuses to return my money. Sorry for my english.

Desired Settlement: Refund

Business Response: As you can see we shipped the parcel .. we are not responsible for parcels lost in Russian customs and an investigation is on going ..it just takes time.. 

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 

I did not turn down the track number that I was given is the track number for my order, I asked to send me a receipt that specifies me. I also asked in the beginning of January to launch an investigation, I want to know the results (28 days have passed). Location information that sending ******** in Russia? where is the evidence?

According to the international postal convention until I received the package, it is owned by the seller. Therefore, the seller is responsible in front of me and I can not require the buyer to cancel the order and get your money back.

Regards,

*

 

 

Business Response:

I spoke to USPS, they have no info from Russia. Our policies clearly point out, that once an article is shipped to a foreign country we are not responsible. How do we deal with this properly please give some advise.

thanks again, *****

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

2/4/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed on order on December 28, 2012 for a t-shirt. My total order was $16.99. At the time of my order, there was no notice on American Equipage's website stating that the shirt was on backorder, so I went ahead and placed the order. My credit card was immediately charged the $16.99 fee, without anything have been processed or shipped. I purchased this shirt as a birthday gift and hoped to have it no later than January 18, 2013. As of today, January 28, 2013 (a full month since the order was placed), the item has still not been shipped. I was told that I would have it by the 11th, then the 18th, then by the 25th. So, I've had enough and I've sent American Equipage an email on January 25th and today, both stating to cancel my order and issue the full refund of $16.99 to my credit card. In addition, they never pick up their phone, take 2 or more business days to return a voicemail and/or email. I've never experienced such horrible customer service EVER.

Desired Settlement: I want a FULL refund of the $16.99 back to my credit card used to pay for the order. It would be nice if this could be done sooner rather than later, but I wouldn't be surprised if it took several weeks to get the refund with this company. Complete and utter ridiculousness and unprofessionalism. American Equipage = Lack of Service!

Business Response: customer was told all information that we received from supplier .. as you can see  customer  called and got an answer .. customer  could have at any time let us know that she  wanted the order cancelled and refunded and we would have done so .. we have cancelled the customers order and customer has been refunded today 1/30..

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Response to American Equipage:

I called several times, and I only got an answer once. I had to email several times as well, in which I waited days to get an answer, if at all.

I was repeatedly told that the order was being received from **** ******** – first that I would have it by January 11th, then by the 18th, then by the 25th. Why would I cancel the order if I’m being repeatedly told that it is on its way? I waited until a month from the order date to finally cancel the order, then I placed the order directly through **** ******** on January 25th after 5 PM, and the order was SHIPPED on January 29th.

For whatever reason American Equipage could not get the product from **** in a month is beyond me and is completely ridiculous.

I have not seen the refund applied to my credit card yet as of January 31st. I would hope it would be refunded by February 4th.

Regards,

****** ******

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

11/16/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i placed an order for a pair of shoes for my son-in-law that he really needs for his job. The price was right and so I ordered them rather then go out and buy them. I understand that there was a storm but when I finally heard from someone I was told that the shoes should arrive on Tuesday or Wednesday (11/13 or 11/14) and I would receive a phone call and they would be expedited since we urgently need these shoes. I go to the website now and it's a 'work is in progress' message. I call and no one answers. I need these shoes NOW or I want my money back so that I can go purchase them. I don't have $250 laying around to buy them without my refund. I feel that I'm getting the run around. If they can't provide the shoes, then say so...give me my money. I'm tired of being nice and not getting what I was told I would get.

Desired Settlement: This was paid through PayPal/my visa check card. I may not have the exact dates listed on the next page - except for 11/11/12 - I was surprised that anyone answered on that day.

Consumer Response:

Complaint # *. The consumer called in on inquiry lines and said that the business has shipped everything and expedited it at no charge, it is expected Saturday and pending its arrival this is resolved.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/25/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I made a purchase of two items, boots and a tent, from American Equipage, and only received the boots in the mail. After 2 weeks of waiting, I began trying to contact AE. I called several times a day during their business hours from the number listed on their website, and never got an answer. I also emailed them from their "Contact Us" page, and never got a response. It was not until after I logged on to the BBB website to look for complaints that I found a different contact phone number listed for AE which I tried and finally they called me back. At this point I was informed that the tent was out of stock, and only then did I get a refund for it, which I believe I should not have had to contact them and ask for. The boots were shipped directly from ********** **** *******. I followed the instructions for exchanging the boots, given to me by AE, and over a week later when I still hadn't received the new pair, I contacted ********** **** **. A service rep. at ********** told me that my RA# that AE gave me for exchanging my boots was actually for a return, not an exchange, and that ********** had already given the refund for my return back to AE. Once again, I had to contact AE and wait for a response before getting my refund back. The problem I have now is that the two separate refunds I received for the two items is nowhere near what I paid to begin with. The total I paid for my order was $367 (subtotal: $335, plus $32 for S&H). the total of the two refunds I received from AE only amounted to $304.98, which is less than the subtotal of the items before S&H. Since the $32 S&H I paid with my original was for two items, I should at the very least receive MORE than my subtotal as a refund. Also I paid for shipping the boots back to ********** **** **., from which I was expecting an exchange. Since I have nothing to show for my purchase, through no fault of my own, I believe I should receive a full refund of my original purchase amount since multiple mistakes made by AE are why I have none of the items that I purchased.

Desired Settlement: A full refund. I have already received refunds amounting to $304.98 of the $367 total cost of my purchase, so all that remains is $62.02.

Business Response: customer has received a total refund per his wishes. thanks 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. Thank you.

Regards,

****** ****

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/2/2012 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 9/18/2011 I did place an order # 43896 for Alpha Industries B-7 Vintage Sheepskin Parka, Style # MLB37005C1 Size:L At the same day I've paid $659.00 + $32.00(shipping) - total $691.00 via PAY PAL. On 9/20/2011 I've got an E-Mail from * " Hello *, Just a note letting you know that these jackets are on back order for about a week or so.. I will send you your tracking # as soon as it goes out.. thanks again... *@AMEQ" On 11/15/2011 I did cancel my order and asked for refund but since that date I NEVER HEARD FROM THEM! I called a couple of times and left the messages - but still no response has been made. I'm asking you to help me to get my money back,please! Thanks, *

Desired Settlement: I'm looking to get my money $691.00 back via PAY PAL transfer to my account.

Business Response: Customer was informed item was a special order and would require a wait.

Until now we have not heard that a refund was requested.

Consumer Response:

The businesses answer is not true! I've sent at least 2 emails to them with request of cancelling my order and issuing full refund to me.

I have these emails archived and can send it to BBB at your request. 

Business Response: we never did any emails perhaps he was spammed out.. technology is not perfect.. however a check has been issued and it should be to him in a few days.. sorry for the delay it just takes time .. thanks,*


Consumer Response:

Actually American Equipage did issue the check for $659.00 (this is the cost of jacket)on Aug,9,2012 - but they never returned $32.00 (the shipping cost) and I'm still looking for that amount!

My complaint was for total of $691.00 ($659.00+$32.00) - PLEASE DON'T CLOSE THIS CASE UNTIL THEY WOULD PAY TO ME THE REMAINING BALANCE OF $32.00!  

Business Response: Hello,

We are sorry this was an oversight .. will get the shipping for the $32.00  right 
out.. sorry for the inconvenience. 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: my purchase order and date was: Order Number: *****; Order Date: 7/24/2012 9:54 AM. i received item on 8-3-12 and immediately sent the following email to them as a reply message attached to their email order: I just received the item today and it is defective. the grenade is loose, bent over and the screw holding it is stripped, cant be tightened or loosened. it has excessive movement and sits on an angle. please send me a replacement as well as a postage paid stamp so i can return the defective item to you thank you **** ***** i received no response and on 8-5-12 i went to their website and send another email to them copying the same same above information. i added that if I did not hear from them in 48 hours, which has expired, i will seek further recourse, which I am now doing. i also plan on contacting my credit card company and filing a dispute of purchase w/them as well.

Desired Settlement: send me a replacement as well as a postage paid stamp so i can return the defective item to them

Business Response: Hello,


To date we have not seen any correspondence  from this customer.. We are always happy to help our customers in any way that we can . We will be glad to send a self addressed postage label to him for the defective item and once it is returned we will ship another one right out and we will inspect it beforehand to be sure it is not also defective. or if he had shipped it back (as many customers do) we would be glad to reimburse him for the shipping to us if it was found defective in any way.. he can let us know which method he would like to do and we will take care of it ... thanks, ***** @AMEQ 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.   they contacted me on 8-13-12 and stated they did not receive either of the 2 emails I submitted and felt they need to investigate their web site.  they did offer to replace item . they stated they were not able to send me a prepaid postage stamp but if i would pay the postage they would reimburse.  i accepted this and sent the item back on 8-13-12 and included in a note inside the box w/item to make a check for the amt of postage i listed to me as well as again giving them my mailing address.  i asked them to make sure the replacement item was not defective.  they agreed and stated they will submit replacement as soon as they receive defective item back.  as long as I receive the postage check and a effective replacement item then I do accept this resolution.

thank you for your assistance in connecting w/the business

Regards,

******* *****

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/14/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Upon ordering an item from this company, no order conformation was sent. A follow up request for order confirmation via telephone and email was not responded to for a number of days. Company telephone was not answered during posted business hours. At this point a request was sent in via email to cancel the order and refund money. After a return email finally came back confirming that there was indeed an order in the system, another request to cancel the order via email was made. Soon after a return email was sent from the company offering a tracking number for an order that had not yet shipped, at which point another email request to cancel the order and refund the payment was made. At this point I have decided to open a complaint with the BBB in the hopes of getting my full payment refunded and preventing the shipment of an order that I do not want.

Desired Settlement: Refund of entire payment by credit card credit, cancellation of order. Order to not ship out.

Business Response: Item was due in and he was told that it was and he had said that if it hadn't shipped to cancel the order..but it had shipped and he was told that.. All emails were returned ..we may have been spammed out..he was also told that we had stopped his shipment  and intercepted his order so that it did not ship out and once we confirmed that the shipment did not go out we refunded immediately.Please check your credit card statement it may take a few days to show up.. 

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

* *

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/28/2011 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered americanequipage.com webstore jacket (***** ************** ****** Style # MJC3801*** ) (****) and hat ( ***** ******  Stealth Beanie-001Black-Style#12 ) (*****$) and I paid **$ shipping costs,but they shipped only the hat and emailed me that the jacket was out of stock. They refunded the jacket price (****) ok but didn't refund part of shipping costs (***50$). If you go to their webshop and put in the cart only the hat it shows international shipping costs only **.50$ I have send 3 emails to staff with no response. Order number is *****

Thank you

***** ********

Desired Settlement: I want rest of the shipping costs refunded.

Business Response: Hello,

Customer was right we did not refund for shipping we made a mistake 
we are refunding right away.. With the Christmas rush we just forgot and 
we had talked with him on the phone but our new employee made a mistake
and didn't refund the shipping.. thanks,,  

Consumer Response:

Hello, I have been refunded ***50$ by american
equipage.

 

Complaint ID. *******

 

Thank you for your help :)

 

Best regards:


Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***** ********

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/20/2011 Delivery Issues
11/30/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues