BBB Accredited Business since

Community Builders, Inc.

Phone: (918) 836-5055 Fax: (918) 836-8269 View Additional Phone Numbers 8220 E Skelly Dr, Tulsa, OK 74129 http://cbitulsa.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Community Builders, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Community Builders, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 28 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

28 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 12 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 17
Total Closed Complaints 28

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

14 Customer Reviews on Community Builders, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 5
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 9
Total Customer Reviews 14

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 21, 1987 Business started: 07/01/1982 in OK Business started locally: 07/01/1982
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Greg Wolter, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Greg Wolter, President
Business Category

Windows, Siding, and Sunroom Installation Contractors - Gutters Metal Roofing Contractors Contractor - Metal Roofing Siding Contractors Bathroom Remodeling - Walk-In Tubs Windows - Installation & Service

Industry Tips
Contracts Home Siding

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Community Builders, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/19/2016 Problems with Product/Service
8/25/2016 Problems with Product/Service
5/20/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Windows were inadequately measured before new windows put in. New windows did not fit right. Screens don't fit down all the way.they sent an inspected here and he said the contractor did not measure the windows right. They offered to replace 5 windows. We do not want these window openings opened up again. We just asked for partial reimbursement of the 5 windows that were not installed appropriately. They refuse to work with us.

Desired Settlement: Partial refund of 5 windows!

Business Response: Upon inspection, we did discover that five windows do need to be replaced due to manufacturer's defect.  The manufacturer will provide replacement windows at no cost to the consumer per the manufacturer's warranty.  They will not issue a refund or rebate. We are willing to work with the consumer based on the manufacture's structure.

5/13/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A Community Builders Inc window salesman came to my house on Friday, April 8, 2016. He measured my windows and we discussed all of the different window options. I expressed my desire to keep the window frame color as close to my original windows frames as possible. The sales wasn't aware of all of the frame colors his company offered. He said he would look into it and call me back, he never called. After several days I called the salesman, I got no answer and he never called me back. Several days later I called him again, no answer, I left a voice message and asked that he return my call, he did not return my call, I gave up on trying to reach the salesman. Then on April 25, a guy called me and said he was on his way to measure the windows. When he showed up I explained to him my concerns, he gave me the number to their corporate office. I called the corporate office, no answer, left voice message,they never returned my call. I called their corporate office the following day and I spoke with an assistance Mgr. after explaining the situation to her she said , let me get touch with the salesman so we don't have to cancel the order. I spoke with several managers, and I got conflicting information from both mangers and the salesman. I have read numerous complaints from consumers about this company, and my personal experience with this company (HIGH PRESSURE SALESMAN AND VERY DISRESPECTFUL MANGER) have been very simular. I have lost total confidence in this company, I have been told numerous conflicting things. It appears the company is trying to EXTRACT AS MUCH MONEY AS POSSIBLE out of their customers. They(The Manager)told me it will cost $6400.00 to change the frame color on 16 windows, and that is in addition to the cost of the windows. Then they said we will split the cost, which is $3200.00. That's the cost the salesman told me originally. Their windows are already 2X more expensive then most companies.

Desired Settlement: I have lost total confidence in this company, and I think we are at an impasse. I don't trust their marketing, advertising or warranty claims, and I don't believe anything this company have told me, too many contradictions. I WANT OUT OF THE CONTRACT before this get worst. I do not want to deal with a dishonest company.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

***** **********

4/24/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/19/2016 Problems with Product/Service
2/2/2016 Problems with Product/Service
1/29/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ON TV THEY ADVERTISE A "HOUSE FULL OF WINDOWS FOR $1495. AND THEY SHOW A 2 STORY HOUSE IN THE AD/ THAT PRICE WAS FOR 7 WINDOWS ONLY FALSE AD!!! THE AD SAYS "HOUSE FULL OF WINDOWS FOR $1495. THEY SHOW A 2 STORY HOUSE IN THE AD BUT WHEN THEY CAME OUT TO MY HOUSE THEY SAID THE $14985 WAS FOR 7 WINDOWS ONLY. HAVE YOU EVER SEEN A 2 STORY HOUSE WITH 70 WINDOWS ONLY. THIS AD WAS PN CHANNEL 9. IT IS PURE FALSE ADVERTISING

Desired Settlement: I WANT MY HOUSE FULL OF WINDOWS FOR THE ADVERTISED $1495.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/01/15) */ The average single family dwelling in America consists of 7 windows. This is how we base our "house full of windows" ad. The ad does state restrictions apply. We are sorry for any confusion this may have caused.

1/4/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/21/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Paid for shower remodel. Was not done as explained to me. Shower leaks and has no pressure. They assured me before I paid them that all would be fixed March thru May of this year,2 different salesmen came to my home on different days and proposed a shower remodel. Both said that the shower would be slightly wider than the existing tub. I repeatedly ask about the tiles floor and they both said that they would cut the tile out to fit the new shower pan. I removed all the tile in preparation of putting in new tile after the shower was completed. During the installation I repeatedly ask if the pan was wide enough and was told it was. after they were completed with the job, the pan was only as wide as the previous tub was, which meant that I removed my existing tile for no reason and the new shower pan is about 2" narrower than I think it should have been resulting in a cramped shower that I bang my elbows on every day. I went in person and explained the problem with pictures to show what I was talking about and was assured by everyone that they would take care of any complaint I had. The other issues were that the glass shower doors were scratched, it leaks onto the floor in 3 places, and there is barely any water pressure. Much less that there was with the previous shower. After about 4 months and numerous phone calls, a contractor showed up, replaced the doors, supposedly put more caulk on the frame where it was leaking (it still leaks in the exact same places), and when shown about the lack of water pressure, just said yep, there sure isn't any pressure there, and that he couldn't do anything about that. Needless to say, I am extremely disappointed in Community Builders, and would never recommend them to any one. I am going to have to fix the issues myself and after paying over $8,000.00 for sub-par materials and getting a shower that has less room and less water pressure than my previous shower, I just get more and more disgusted with these people every day.

Desired Settlement: Either modify existing shower pan to move the doors out 2 inches or replace the shower pan with a 2 inch wider pan. Fix the leaks, and do something about the water pressure.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/11/30) */ Job has been inspected by both the project manager and the Vice President of the Company on 3 separate occasions and is properly installed. What the homeowner is requesting cannot be constructed properly. It will cause severe leaks. The water pressure has also been inspected and has the same water pressure. Consumer may need to get his plumbing lines checked; this was not something that Community Builders had any responsibility for. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2015/12/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) To start with there were never 3 separate inspections, I did not say the shower was improperly installed, it is just 2 inches short of where I ask for it to be and where I was told it would come out to. Secondly, Every other shower and faucet in my house and the shower that was removed had and has plenty of pressure, so it is not a plumbing or line problem, it is a specific problem with this "new" shower. I will repeat the major issue is that I ask how far the shower would extend out and was told on more than 1 occasion that it would be about 2 inches further than where it is. I am not asking for the impossible, I simply suggested a way to extend it out without having to tear out the entire shower pan and install another that is 2" wider, which is what I was told the width was going to be. Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2015/12/08) */ All issues have been completely resolved and consumer is satisfied. Please remove from our record due to this being an invalid complaint.

11/27/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
11/10/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
9/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service
8/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Having the siding on my home fixed. I purchased siding and windows from Community Builders in June of 2002 for $3,000.00, recently I have some siding that is starting to come off over my garage and some pealing and chipping on the trim on the roof. I called Community Builders about the problem I was told the person in charge would be told about this. The attitude I get from them is they don't care weather this repair gets done or not. I can't believe a business would treat their customers like this. To me if you are in business to make money you don't treat your customers like this and expect you to call them again to have some work done. Now I need to find another siding company to fix my problem. Thanks ***** *********.

Desired Settlement: All I need is to have someone fix the siding on my home.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/23) */ Consumer called our office last week, this being the first time calling with an issue. Sent our customer service rep to her house on Tuesday morning to access the work. Siding and windows were originally installed in 2002. There is a Lifetime Manufacturer's warranty on the materials with a five year labor warranty. The issue she has is not a manufacture issue. I spoke to consumer and explained about the warranty and she agreed to pay a service fee for the repairs and scheduled the repair to be done next week. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/07/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Community Builders have not called to set up a date and time to come out and fix the siding on my home, I don't know what the problem is I guess they figure it's just a waste of their time. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/08/03) */ CBI did make contact with consumer and scheduled the repair. Repair was completed on Wed 7/29. Consumer paid the service fee as agreed and signed a completion of satisfaction.

8/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Not Satisified with the installation/upgrade of my bathroom. Initial removal and upgrade of my bathroom was done on July 2nd and 3rd. I could tell they were rushing on the 3rd to finish the job by 5. The next day when we inspected the bathroom a little more there were many things wrong, such as shower door sounds like it is grinding and is hard to open all the way, one of the shelves was crooked, some spots where they missed with the caulking, and the grout in the floor was coming out and just looked very poorly done. I called the company and advised of all the issues, they sent the same guys out to fix on July 8th. They told us to not walk on the floor for 24hours which we did not do. The shelf was fixed however the shower door still grinds and is hard to open which the installer said its just the way the shower door is. The grout is not coming out however it still looks real bad and they were very messing there is grout all over my tiles. They did some grinding to fix the grout job they did the first time and you can see where the grinder has chipped several of the tiles they left grout on my door knobs and on the bottom of my closet door. The floor is uneven, in which the salesman told us that if they find the floor is uneven they would fix it before laying the tile, which does not seem to have been the case. The fact I paid $9000 for this bathroom to be redone and I have already got the bill for the first payment and I am not at all satisfied. There is still grout all over my bathroom floor, the floor itself needs to be completely re done and if that's the best they can make the grout look then maybe some different type of grout. I asked the installer about the grout when he called and set the installation date and he said sanded grout. I asked about the epoxy grout and which would be the best. He still insisted on the sand grout. Still not being satisfied with the repairs that were done on July 8th I called the company on July 13th and was told I would get a call back that day or the next. I heard nothing so called again on July 15th and was told the business office manager was in a meeting and would call me back that day. Here it is July 21st and still have not heard anything. I am beyond frustrated at this company and the quality of installation for the $9000 I am spending on a new bathroom!

Desired Settlement: I wish to have my bathroom floor completely redone to my satisfaction. If this can not be done then I request a partial refund on the cost.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/24) */ Spoke to consumer, she has agreed and scheduled with us to remove and replace the floor tile in the shower and fix the shower door. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/08/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) The company came back out and replaced the entire floor and fixed the shower door. For the most part I am now satisfied with the floor.

7/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Community builders will not repair what was broken during the installation of our windows and siding. AC top and brick on the foundation. We purchased approximately 26 double pane windows and siding on a two story home and separate garage from Community Builders. The install started on 2/2/15. The install was longer than expected due to the installer having multiple jobs going at the same time, but did not want to anger installers and get a 2nd rate job. During the install the installers broke our air conditioner cover and broke off two to three brick from the foundation, also the cable wires they rehung are sagging and coming loose.I have continued to contact the installer and he told me constantly he would repair. After several weeks I gave up and contacted repeatedly our salesman and the main office. I told them the install supervisor on our job had lied to me several times and I would prefer another installer to do the repairs on what was broken during the install, they told me they would send someone out but will not.I have been dealing with this for the last three months. Ellen the installation Manager will not send someone out for repairs. She tells me she will and no repairman comes out or calls. I have tried everything I can possibly do to get them out here. My next step will be legal action. I feel I have tried everything within my control to get this resolved. I guess a couple hundred bucks in repairs to Community Builders is worth having a customer that is furious and will never recommend them in the future. **************** Claremore, Oklahoma

Desired Settlement: I just want the items broken during the installation of the siding and windows fixed and our windows caulked properly on the inside of the house.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/06/29) */ To ensure our customers that we are still working on their matters. Our company practice is when an issue is reported is to follow up every two weeks with the customers until issue is resolved. We have record of all communication, including voice mail messages left during our follow up procedures. As of today, all issues have been resolved to the consumer's satisfaction.

2/3/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The contractor did not timely honor the contract and refused to return my $5,000 deposit. On May 8, 2014, I signed a contract with Community Builders Inc. (CBI) for $38,000 to construct a sunroom. Despite numerous contacts with the sale agent (who signed the contract) the work was never started. After more than three months, I informed the sale agent that if the work could not commence by September 1, 2014, I will consider the contract void for non-compliance, hire a new contractor and request the return of my $5,000 deposit. CBI refused to return my deposit citing expenses they had incurred during the process. However, my first contact with a builder representative was in August and he stated because of their heavy workload, it would be months before they could start work. CBI stated that neither sales agent nor builder representative were authorized representatives of the company and they were prepared to commence work. However, I received no verifiable information from the company that they had ordered the supplies and was ready to start and no substantiation was provided to validate any expense incurred. To accommodate the settlement, I offered a $500 fee with the $4,500 balance to be returned. They countered with a $2,000 settlement with the return of $3,000. This offer was declined and I have not heard from the company since,

Desired Settlement: I am willing to increase my settlement to $750 with the remaining $4250 returned to me.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/22) */ Mr ****'s refund check has been cut .. as we have been waiting for the agreement worked out with council.. It has not been signed & sent to CBI... We are waiting for Mr ****..

1/9/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Add for whole house of siding,when salesman finally shows up he indicates they do not stock nor does he have a sample of the produc Set up appointment that was switched two times, when the salesman showed up finally he indicated that a whole house was based on Tulsa average of 1042 sq feet (could not tell me where that figure was derived from). he then indicated that he did not have a sample of the advertised product (had samples of more expensive material) and that they did not routinely stock or provide that material.

Desired Settlement: More truth in advertising, this is obviously an attempt to lure in customers and sell a more expensive product.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/12/24) */ The advertisement reads restrictions apply across the screen. This advertisement has been sent to Oklahoma attorney general and has been without issue. The sales was inexperienced and should've had samples to show> Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/12/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I understood and was able to accommodate the restrictions, inexperience is no excuse for telling me that they don't even have samples of the product they are advertising and donor normally provide the product.

12/22/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company advertised a houseful of window replacements for $#1495.00. But they do not tell you that they get to decide which windows they will replace. Community builders advertise that they will replace a houseful of windows for $1495.00. When the representative showed up, for his presentation, I met him at the front door and I asked him if that price included the window in front of my house. He said that it did not. I didn't even let him in my house. This is false advertising since the TV commercial does not mention that they will be selective about which windows they will replace.

Desired Settlement: An apology would be nice. And then cease and desist from this false advertising.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/09) */ 1. TV commercials and print ads clearly state " restrictions apply"! 2. Average single family dwelling has 7 windows! 3.Obviously there are size restrictions! 4. Advertisements were forwarded to Oklahoma Attorney General several years ago with no issues!

11/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Did not want alside windows.sold me alside windows knowingly.having multiple problems w/ windows.slow to fix problems.installed 6-30-14. Mad about windows for price,performance.how long should it take to complete a work order.these windows cost 13,000.00 dollars.they are an alside window.if I wanted a alside window window world had them for 5,400.00.

Desired Settlement: Windows fixed.keep all warranties.price of windows reduced to $5,400.00.have sales people acknowledge there windows are alside.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/05) */ The sales agents at CBI are unaware of the factory that manufacture our windows. The windows are made to high end custom specifications strictly for CBI, which we call Enviroview. Our windows are nothing like nor have anything to do with Window World. There is nothing wrong with the consumer's windows. It is a screen issue that we have been and are still currently dealing with the manufacture on. CBI has replaced all the original screens once but the consumer wasn't home and nobody else in the household spoke English. Consumer did not know this had been done until our service rep spoke to him Sunday evening which was the same day after he had filed this complaint. Unfortunately, there is still an issue with the screens and new screens have already been ordered. We have not ignored this situation and will continue until everything is right for our customer. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/11/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I apologize I wasn't home when you changed screens.you are right I wasn't home would not have known.because there was no difference. Maybe as they say third times the charm. Now as to your salesperson when I called him,his response was not I'm sorry I was unaware that our high end windows are made by aside the windows we joked about. That you did not want.it was to the effect your windows were the rolls Royce of alsides nothing like w.w.alsides.still an alside.back to work orders.I called about 5 work orders in on my screens little or no response.I called in about apiece on the jamb a spacer or something.it does not close and leaves a gap for pest to move into and breed. I didn't see the necessity for repeated calls after the screens.The window lift bar in my half bath bend in it since installation.I have had condensation on the inside of my windows.the spacer thing is on all dbl hungs 11 windows.13,000.00 dollar windows. Alsides.I'm not convinced.The lift bar I was going to show installer.talked about condensation said it was going to happen.plausible.now the aside label on my windows when top name manufacturers make off name products they use that name. Not the same for windows?my windows say alside not enviroview the rolls Royce. So did I get alsides the window I did not want. Or did I get enviroviews.still a alside.MSR Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/11/17) */ The consumer did receive Enviroview windows with the spacer that was demonstrated. The screens that were re-ordered will be on this week's delivery truck and will be replaced immediately. Regarding the other issues with the windows, this is the first we have heard of them. When we come this week with the screens all the other issues will be addressed and fixed. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/11/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) My biggest problem with the enviroview/alside windows is price. I paid a $1000.00 a window for a window I would not have bought had I known its true origins.I believe the salesman knew and instead of being honest and either walking away or saying you have aside all wrong.sold me the enviroview/aside anyway.that's decietful. Now my installed windows that say aside are supposed to be enviroview. Maybe maybe not.But at a $1000.00 a window happy with purchase is not a possibility.

11/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Lifetime guaranteed metal roof installed. Leak utility area. Damage to interior walls as result. Poor repair, roof leaking again. This has been an ongoing issue since March, 2013. Issues still have not been resolved. Contractors were sent to repair walls did a poor job. We did not sign off on job due to inferior carpentry work. Gaps were left between wall seams and now walls are pulling away are pulling away. Back door does not shut properly due to poor construction. Roof in utility room is leaking again. Supports for the metal roof are rotting and need replacing. Attempts to resolve these issues have been ignored, promises to return calls with action for consumer satisfaction have been broken. An engineer was to have been sent to my home to address and access the situation; no appointments were ever made by Community Builders to make this happen.

Desired Settlement: I want the roof to be fixed so as not to leak. Supporting boards holding metal roof are now rotted and need replaced. I want the utility walls repaired and finished professionally. Request to meet owner at my home to show him the inferior work this particular construction company, which he hired to do the work, have been ignored.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/21) */ Consumer called last year with a leak and it was repaired last year. There was prior damage to the ceiling before the new roof was installed. We repaired it anyway. Received a call yesterday that the same place was leaking. Installer is out there today fixing the leak. Consumer agreed to wait for it to rain before repairing the ceiling again.

9/8/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Never finished job. Installed wrong windows. Window leaks. I purchased windows from this company. I liked they was back by the bbb but im finding that doesnt mean much. They installed these windows four months ago. One window was wrong they never finished installing them and one window leaks. I call and call and get the run around while they have turned the job in finished and im paying for it. I have already paid $2000 towards these windows. I would like a refund and to buy from a reputable company but if thats not possible I would at least like the job finished.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund of my windows. I do not trust this company which would be $6800 but if thats not possible I would like a partial refund for the waiting of my windows and the wrong windows and the half finished windows. I have pictures to show they arent finished and they leak and the promise we will give you money back if you dont save on your energy bills I doubt they would stand behind that promise either. Its ashame because I need my bathroom redone too was hoping I found a good company but I would never do business with these people again.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/08/27) */ The window job was finished except for the caulking. As of today the windows are completely finished and the contract is fulfilled. The window in question is exactly as the contract states. The consumer verbally requested the bathroom glass be obscured, well after the contract was written. CBI will install the obscure glass at no charge.

9/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service
8/8/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Walk-in Tub and it is leaking, I have texted the service man & offce(since June) and have not gotten this taken care of. It is a Jacuzzi Walk-in Tub, purchased in late April 2014. Started leaking in June 2014, texted the service man and he suggested baby oil on the door, did that. No success. Tried texting for him to come out he texted he would, but then never heard back. Called the office several times, no response. Called the salesman ********* and left message. Have not heard from anyone and my Jacuzzi Walk-in tub is still leaking. Am in debt for $13K and am very frustrated.

Desired Settlement: Either fix my present tub or replace with a tub that doesn't leak.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/25) */ According to our records the consumer was in contact with our installer. They went back and forth by text messaging. At one point the consumer said the leak had stopped and not to come out. The consumer did leave a message for *********, her sales agent; he returned her call and spoke with her the next day. Regarding the tub leak: Upon inspecting the tub, it has been determined that it is a manufacturer problem not an installation issue. Apparently the consumer has been using non-recommended oil-based products. It clearly states in the owner's manual not to use these products. This has clogged a valve which is causing the leak. A new valve has been ordered and will be installed ASAP. This will be at no cost to the consumer although she caused the problem. Also, the consumer needs to be using a system cleaner that cleans all the lines and hoses. This is highly recommended by the manufacturer according the owner's manual. Please disregard and remove this complaint due to it being a consumer and manufacture issue.

4/29/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Signed contract for a new roof which is over-priced & was given a 3 business day right to cancel per federal law. I tried to cancel but they refuse I signed a contract on 4-10-14 for a roof and was given a 3 business day right to cancel as required by federal law. The paperwork shows cancel by midnight 4/14/14 via mail. I sent cancelation via certified mail on 4/11/14. Contractor said I signed a waiver of my right to cancel but by federal regulation, reg z, the right to cancel cannot be waived. Even though I have given them written and verbal notice to cancel they have threatened to sue me.

Desired Settlement: accept the notice to cancel as required by federal law

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/16) */ After receiving her certified letter of cancelation, our Sales Manager spoke with the consumer regarding the price of the roof. Her main concern was the price and payment. He lowered the price, which in turn lowered the monthly payment. Consumer agreed to the new price and payment. At no time did anyone from our company threaten the consumer with legal recourse. Please remove this complaint from our records.

4/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Subpar workmanship, bad complaint resolution and poor customer relations. In the spring of 2008 we were solicited by ********* of Community Builders,Inc. to purchase a siding package. Which included,removal of old siding, replacement of all rotted wood and installation of new siding, window frames and enclosed eaves. After 1 year we called them back to repair the eaves because old wood wasn't replaced, and eave covering was coming loose. We called them back again after 1 more year for repair to the eaves, again. Now the coverings at the eaves are coming loose again and we were told we will have to pay if we want it repaired again.

Desired Settlement: Do what they contracted to do. replace all rotted wood and repair eaves, once and for all. Thank you.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/16) */ Community Builders warranty policies are Lifetime on materials and 5 year on labor. Consumer purchased siding in 2008, which was 6 years ago. Our notes show in the past 5 years we went out twice and fixed the problems at no cost. When the consumer called on 03/19/14 she was explained the policy of the 5 year labor and was told there would be a service fee. Consumer got very angry and ending up hanging up on our customer service person. CBI was willing to work with the consumer regarding the fee but she hung up and didn't schedule an appointment for the repair. We are still willing to work with her if she is willing to talk to us without getting angry. We also believe the consumer is using the BBB for leverage to get the repair done at no cost.

3/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I reported a claim and they stated it was covered. Now, 3 months later they are saying it is not covered by warranty. On Aug. 19, 2013, I called to file a claim on rotting wood on my patio doors, that were installed by Community Builders. They told me an inspector would come out and look at the damage. The inspector came out and looked at the damage and told me it would be covered. Community Builders called me and said they were very busy and it would be 2 weeks before the person could fix it. Quite a while passed and they called on Oct. 11, 2013 at 1:39 PM and left me a message to call them back. Could not understand name of person who called. She called back later the same day to tell me they were still behind and it would be another 2 weeks or more before it would be fixed. I double checked with this person during this call that it was covered under warranty and for the second time was told "Yes". I had not heard from them as of today Nov. 7, 2013, so I called to check on when the repairs were completed. **** told me the repairs would not be completed because the inspector called and told them on Nov. 2, 2013, that the repair was not covered under the warranty. I asked why I had been told it was covered and she told me that they don't know what is covered and not covered until the inspector lets them know. This is the second time I have had to file a complaint because this company did not honer what they say.

Desired Settlement: I want them to honor what they said and replace the rotting wood before my back doors fall into the house. I would also like to be reimbursed for the lies told and the amount of time I have had to spend on this issue.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/22) */ According to CBI guidelines patio doors are only covered with a manufacturer's warranty. After examining the door it was determined that the problems were not a manufacturer's issue. We had informed the consumer with this information but then called her back to let her know we were going to replace the door at no cost. The afternoon we talked to her about this was the same morning she filed the report to the BBB unbeknownst to CBI. As of today, a new door is on order and will be installed as soon as it is received. The consumer is very pleased with this, and is waiting patiently for the new door.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

14 Customer Reviews on Community Builders, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart