BBB Accredited Business since

Butler Tree Service

Phone: (918) 402-5440 Fax: (918) 258-1905 View Additional Phone Numbers 12220 E. 91st, Broken Arrow, OK 74012


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Butler Tree Service meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Butler Tree Service include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Butler Tree Service
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 21, 1994 Business started: 01/01/1990 Business started locally: 01/01/1990
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Danny Butler, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Danny Butler, Owner
Business Category

Tree Service Crane Service Lawn & Tree Care Stump Removal & Grinding Stump Grinding

Service Area
Tulsa, Broken Arrow, Sapulpa, Sand Springs, Jenks, Bixby, Catoosa, Owasso, Skiatook, Turley, Sperry, Claremore

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/26/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They damaged our car LEGALLY parked on the street when they set up their operation for the day. Paint color same as their equipment all over our car. On 11/14/15, our car was parked in front of our home at 2:15pm. Approximately 45-60 min later, Butler Tree Service arrived to set up for a backyard tree removal my across the street neighbor hired them to do. This is a neighborhood side street. They parked dump truck of sorts and a wood chipper directly across from our home. While this was parked facing the right way, there is some question as to whether or not it was too close to the corner. At any rate, the length of the truck and the wood chipper spanned directly opposite of my drive way and extended to be directly across from our car. At no time during their set up or after did they ask for us to move the vehicle. Further, we had no idea they were coming, now did we see that they were parked there until after the sun set and it was dark; this made the path in the road quite daunting, especially for very large vehicles. We do know they arrived about 3ish because the owner admitted to me this is the time they arrived. We also know for certain our car was parked at 2:15pm on the street in this spot. The owner, after first arguing that our car was not there, later said he did recall it being there when he arrived. During their arrival, they also set up a boom crane in the driveway of this across the street neighbor. This is the vehicle we believe did the damage to our vehicle. The path they needed to take to line up the boom crane and the odd indentions on the vehicle made it quite telling that a normal vehicle would not have done this. But the most damning evidence has to be the EXACT matching yellow utility truck paint that was left on our vehicle. At approximately 6:30pm, when it was very dark outside, the damage on our vehicle was noticed. We checked to see if the car door could open and when we closed it, the side view mirror fell off. Someone actually took the time to push the mirror back in place, as if the rest of the damage would not be noticed. I left a message for the service that night and my call was returned that evening although they had to leave a voice mail. In the morning, the man arrived and did not come to my house to start with before his crews arrived; I had to call him again. We looked at the damage and he claimed they didn't do it, and assured me that had they done it, they would just turn it over to insurance. As I continued to survey the positioning of their vehicles and what part could have done the damage, I returned to his equipment and there was an obvious spot on a rounded part of his boom truck that had damage that would have been the exact part of the vehicle, with a rounded area which would have caused the damage. He insisted the damage was from hitting some concrete and not our car. Despite the fact that it looked as if a layer of paint had been taken off to exposure a lighter, fresher look. I repeatedly asked him to talk with his employees to see if they saw or heard anything. This would have happened within about 15ft of whoever was running their wood chipper, so it would have been very hard to miss. He failed to ask them during the day. As they were finishing up, he sent some on, and the others they were still there he was demanding stay inside vehicles while he moved equipment and cars back and forth. I should have approached them all, but I was trying to be respectful. He was frantically trying to get out of there at the end of the day on the 15th. I left him a voicemail as he pulled away and then I only heard from him the following day. He said he had left his phone at a restaurant, which was strange since I called shortly after he left. He said that none of his people saw anything and he was sorry it happened. There are a lot of things about situation and observations by two other neighbors in the area made them believe there were problems with this service, as well. But sadly, no one witnessed it. All we have is the damage on two vehicles and the exact, matching paint. But they would not own up to it.

Desired Settlement: I believe the fairest solution is to turn the claim over to his insurance company as he suggested he would if they admitted guilt. There is far more that leads most to believe this was done by his company than not. There is virtually no other way this could have happened. Not only are we at a loss for this vehicle, which has been officially ruled a total loss, but we will be out the monies on additional insurance fees in the future. The negligence establish by he and his staff for creating a dangerous situation the way they parked in the street, they also were careless in positioning their equipment which led to the paint from their vehicle ending up on our damaged car. All I want is for them to rightfully take it through their insurance. I have no desire to address the police report of the hit and run we filed. As the officer stated to us, after 24 hours, it is considered leaving the scene of an accident. I have no desire to go that far with it. I only want the vehicle taken care of as it should be.

Consumer Response: Just wanted to add an update, I have NOT heard from Butler Tree Service since my complaint was issued. I have submitted my BBB Complaint Number to my Insurance company, as well. Today is 12/17/15, please advise what I need to do next. Thank you.

Consumer Response: Just checking in for a status report, if someone could reach out to me please. Per your status updates, a Second Notice was sent to the member on 12/9/15, however, a status update on 12/17/15 also states a second notice was sent to the member. Is this a mistake that should read "Third Notice"? Are the any ramifications for the member for not responding by the initial deadline of 12/16/15 established by the BBB per the report? My car insurance company has the police report case file # as well as the BBB Complaint Case #. Please let me know what my options are next. Thank you for your help!

Business Response: I'm not aware of anything that happen as to my responsibility. All the people seen nothing. Asked everybody no one seen anything. This was across the street 3 houses down. Not a customer. We feel we are not responsible for anything.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The most likely people who would have seen this are his very own employees. I doubt that any one of his own workers would implicate his company. Further, I have serious doubts that he even asked his people as we watched them pretty intently over the course of the day and saw no indication that he spoke to them about the vehicle (parked legally) across the street. He never pointed to the car or showed any of his people the vehicle. I was trying to be respectful of him and not walk over and ask myself, but I guess that was a bad idea. Besides, if he did it, why ask your own people?
"Hey Bob, who did this?"
"You did Boss."
"Oh, OK, thanks, I'll tell him. "
But if he didn't do it, and he was truly trying to help, don't you think he would have shown them our car and pointed to where it was parked? Why did we not see him do that?
Secondly, and most importantly, what are the odds that between 3pm and 6:30pm a vehicle with yellow utility paint drives down the street on a Saturday afternoon/evening and causes over $4300 in damage on a vehicle; damage that looks as if it really needed a significant sized vehicle to cause said damage. Not a compact or midsize car. Probably not even an SUV. Oh, and a vehicle painted with a utility truck YELLOW color... the same color of paint on Butler Tree Service vehicle in the driveway across the street.
The damage wasn't just a scrape across the side. The front driver's side panel was crunched in such a way someone would have had to been maneuvering a vehicle to do this damage.
There is simply no other way this happened.
Lastly, whether or not I was his customer or just a neighbor across the street is irrelevant. He is a local business who wants to be in good standing with the Better Business Bureau and the community. I am a consumer who wants to make sure I report when I see businesses operating inappropriately and I have every right to report their reckless actions to the BBB. He should also have to answer for that whether he chooses to the right thing and accept responsibility, or not and face the consequences of the BBB's rules and guidelines. I will be reporting this experience everywhere I can if the right thing is not done in the end.
(IMG_5756)


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Butler Tree Service
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)