This business is not BBB accredited.

Blue Haven Pools

Phone: (918) 258-4525 Fax: (918) 258-1488 241 N. Aspen Ave., Broken Arrow, OK 74012 http://www.bluehaven.com ! There is an alert on Blue Haven Pools !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because it is out of business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Blue Haven Pools
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 26, 2005 Business started: 04/02/2004 Business started locally: 04/02/2004 Business incorporated 02/01/2004 in OK
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Bob Smith, President Mrs. Peggy Smith
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bob Smith, President
Customer Contact: Mrs. Peggy Smith
Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design

Alternate Business Names
American Pool Inc. doing business as Blue Haven Pools & Spas
Additional Information

Blue Haven Pools & Spas national company began business in January 1954. The local franchise of Blue Haven Pools & Spa of Tulsa began business on August 19, 1982. This local franchise American Pool Inc. doing business as Blue Haven Pools & Spas opened their franchise on April 02, 2004.

Business Management

American Pool Inc., doing business as Blue Haven Pools has been sold to Pools by Blue Haven doing business as Blue Haven Pools & Spas as of November 8, 2013.

Products & Services

The company states that it offers custom gunite pool sales.


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    241 N. Aspen Ave.

    Broken Arrow, OK 74012

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/6/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our underwater LED pool light stopped working. We built a pool with Blue Haven pools in February 2011 which was completed in April 2011. In September 2012 the light stopped working but since it was the end of the season we decided to deal with the issue this season. When we opened the pool this May my husband examined the light and there is rust inside and around the bulb and covering. We were told they use LED lights in these pools because the lifespan of them is longer then standard pool lights. I contacted ******* on this issue in June and replied back saying that the 1 year warranty was up on that part and there was nothing they could do and if I wanted to have it fixed it would be $450. So i replied back with a detailed description of the rust activity and no one ever contacted me back. So I waited 2 weeks and then called them. I spoke with ******** and she told me that they have had previous similar problems and they have hired 3 different manufacturers to install these lights but it seems to be hit and miss. Again, they told me with it not being under warranty it would be $450 to fix. I payed over $50,000 for this pool and i feel like the LED light should have worked much longer.

Desired Settlement: We would like to have this repaired out of their pocket because of poor installation of a product.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/07/24) */ The pool was complete the beginning of April 2011. Light warranties are a one-year manufacturer warranty. This light is well over a year out of warranty. We are unable to extend a manufacturer's warranty. This particular pool was has been serviced by at least one other pool company and equipment was damaged and we had to repair the equipment. Rust could be due to improper chemical balance. It's hard to say what could have caused the light to go out. She is correct we do not use that light any longer because newer technology became available and we made a change. In reference to having used more than one manufacturer. I was simply stating the over the years we have used different brands of lights and there are times when lights go out. I do not have an explanation for that. Unfortunately, we cannot cover items under warranty that no longer have coverage. We would be happy to offer a replacement light at a discounted amount.

6/24/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My swimming pool is not finished. I was told it would take nine weeks, maybe eight weeks, to complete. It has been eleven and one-half MONTHS and my pool is still not finished. It has been paid for since September 2012. June 21, 2012- Met with *** ***** at Blue Haven office; signed contract and paid $1,000.00 deposit. June 28, 2012- Pool marked and staked June 30, 2012- Excavation began August 20, 2012- Stonework on Water feature September 21, 2012- Pool equipment turned on Mid-Sept.-*** ***** said back of water feature would be finished. Nov. 20, 2012- My daughter and I went to Blue Haven office. ******* looked at the pictures my daughter had and told us that it would not right and would be finished. Jan.2013- *** and ***** came to my house and again promised everything would be taken care of (end of Jan.) May 24, 2013- *** and ***** came to my house and promised again to get the pool finished. They said someone would call the next week to schedule the work. Not only has that "next week" come and gone, but a second week is almost over with no communication from Blue Haven. I received the BBB Complaint Form in the mail. The envelope is dated Dec. 23, 2012. I have kept believing them when they told me my pool would be completed. Silly, gullible me! I have made many calls too. Unfortunately a lot were not returned. Thank you for your help. *************** June 5, 2013

Desired Settlement: I want my pool completed. (Water Feature: Sealed (clear in front) back and front; concrete cap on top, some stones reset; back plastered and any other necessary finishing touches.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/06/11) */ *********** signed a contract with Blue Haven Pools June 21, 2012. Her pool was dug July 7 and started up September 20th. We instructed Ms. ***** September 27. ***** noted on her start up report the back of the water feature was unfinished. ***** purchased a dry stack stone veneer that did not include brown coat because she intended to have a landscaped "screenwall" behind the wall. ***** changed the landscaping she is going to install so Blue Haven, at no expense to *****, agreed to brown coat the back of the wall. (A $250 value.) ***** also believed there was a leak in the waterfall installed in that wall so we could not apply any stucco until the leak was addressed. We have made multiple trips to look at this issue. In an effort to assure ***** there was not a leak we removed the cap on the waterfall to expose all the plumbing, once again at no charge to her. (A $400 value.) Note, these are the pictures that were supplied. We are including a picture of the completed waterfall after a waterproofing product had been applied and before stucco was to be applied; this picture has the cap in place. The pictures previously provided by ***** were taken after the waterfall cap had been removed. Upon removing the cap we confirmed there was not a leak. May 24, 2013, when Rob and Steve met with ***** they explained she would notified when the deck crew would be out to repour the waterfall cap, again at no expense to *****. This was during the time we were receiving excessive amounts of rain and an exact day could not be provided as all our crews were already behind schedule; this was explained to *****. Once again, the pool completed per contract September 20, 2012. We have gone to great lengths to address *****'s concerns and provide resolutions at no additional expense to her. I am enclosing a copy of *****'s Pool Completion Start-up Report signed and dated by ***** September 27, 2012. Please notice the line at the bottom that states "My pool is satisfactorily completed, as contracted (except any items listed above on punch). I fully understand and accept responsibility for the care and maintenance of my pool and equipment." The item listed on the punch list was resolved September 27, 2012. The cap on the waterfall is being repoured today, June 11. ********** discussed all of this with ***** following her filing.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Blue Haven Pools
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)