BBB Accredited Business since

Williams & Williams Marketing Services Inc.

Phone: (918) 250-2012 Fax: (918) 250-1916 View Additional Phone Numbers 7140 S. Lewis Ave.  Suite 200, Tulsa, OK 74136 http://www.williamsauction.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Williams & Williams Marketing Services Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Williams & Williams Marketing Services Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Williams & Williams Marketing Services Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 15, 1991 Business started: 01/01/1985 Business started locally: 01/01/1985
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

OK Real Estate Commission
2401 NW 23rd St Ste 18, Oklahoma City OK 73107
http://www.ok.gov/OREC
Phone Number: (866) 521-3389
orec.help@orec.ok.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Pamela McKissick, President/ CEO Jacob Erhard, General Counsel Fontana Fitzwilson, SVP, WMG
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Jacob Erhard, General Counsel
Principal: Ms. Pamela McKissick, President/ CEO
Business Category

Real Estate Auctioneers

Hours of Operation
M: 8:00 AM - 5:00 AM
T: 8:00 AM - 5:00 AM
W: 8:00 AM - 5:00 AM
Th: 8:00 AM - 5:00 AM
F: 8:00 AM - 5:00 AM
S: Closed
Su: Closed
800-801-8003
Alternate Business Names
Auction Network Luxury Group Auctions Williams & Williams Auctioneers Williams Auction Williams, Williams & McKissick, LLC
Products & Services

The company states that it offers real estate through auctions.


Additional Locations

  • 7140 S. Lewis Ave.
    Suite 200

    Tulsa, OK 74136

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/10/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been calling them for almost 2 months just to get a closing date. This is it for my patience. On September 24th, 2014 , I was 'announced' successful bidder for a property in Hankcock, New York, NY. Upon request I submitted all required documentation and such. Since then, I have been calling them, Begging them ( Can show all **** records if needed) for closing date. Every time I called in past 2 months, I hear same excuse "sale is pending" operator would transfer my call to new person each time and new person would end up making new false commitments. If the property of themselves were ready for auction, WHY did it show on their website then? Didn't they know they/property is not ready yet for sale?. I have even been told to back out which I would never consider. Williams & Williams MUST NOT waste consumers time.

Desired Settlement: All I need is closing date for ******************************

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2014/12/09) */ Williams & Williams has no control over how quickly a seller makes a determination of whether they will accept or reject a high bid offer. Our representatives maintained constant contact with Mr. **** throughout the process, and also advised him of his ability to rescind his offer if he so chose. He decided not to rescind his offer but wait for the decision of the seller on his offer. There is nothing Williams & Williams could do to speed up the process, and Mr. **** has been made aware of this fact many times. As of today, I believe the seller has made a determination to accept Mr. ****** offer, and the closing process has been initiated. Therefore, I believe this matter is closed. Thank you. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 12, 2014/12/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I was made aware of this fact many times and this was a result of me calling Williams and Williams periodically for continuous 2 months. We are moving forward with closing. But the closing date is not decided yet.Unsure from which side the delay is coming.I suggested Dec 18th, 2014 for closing. I would not consider this complaint closed until closing is initiated. Business Rebuttal Response /* (1000, 10, 2015/01/09) */ I respectfully reiterate that Williams & Williams is not the seller of the property, has no legal right to compel the sale of the property, and is not a party to the purchase contract by and between the seller and Mr. ****. As such, all Williams & Williams can attempt to do is assist in the process. At the end of the day, if the seller delays or refuses to move forward, Williams & Williams has no power to compel them to act. I would like to reiterate that this auction was a "seller confirmation" auction. Therefore, the seller had no duty to accept Mr. ****'s bid. The fact that they took 2 months to decide whether to accept or reject it was within their rights. Mr. **** could have rescinded his offer and moved on if he so chose. He decided to wait. Therefore, there is no delay on anyone's part. He simply chose to wait to see if the seller would accept the offer. My understanding is that this transaction is set to close on January 12, 2015. All indications are that it will close Monday or early next week. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 18, 2015/01/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) THank you so much for your kind updates, I agree with most part except for couple only. 1)First I was never provided with the seller information, I would have contacted them or even BBB for this issue. After months of waiting, I had to bring this issue to somebody's attention. We just can't be put on wait for months. 2) Unfortunately, It is not going to be closed on Jan 12, 2015. I'm given Jan 18th, 2015 I believe which I sunday. :-), And therefore, I firmly believe that the proposed resolution is unfortunately still not acceptable. Final Business Response /* (4000, 22, 2015/02/10) */ I have been made aware that this transaction closed on January 30, 2015. I understand Mr. ****'s frustration, as it is shared by Williams & Williams, but Williams & Williams could not have done anything additional to move this transaction more quickly towards a closing. I understand Mr. **** is upset that we did not provide him with the name and contact information of the seller's representative. Williams & Williams is contractually prohibited from giving the names and contact information of any seller representatives. As has been stated before, it is in Williams & Williams' best interest to drive these transactions to close quickly, and in the given instance, Williams & Williams did everything in its power to assist in the closing of this transaction. Williams & Williams considers this matter closed.

7/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am filing a complaint due to the mishandling of our purchase and the bait and switch on fees. My wife and I contacted Williams and Williams on July 22 about a property they had located at ***********************************. We were supplied an email containg information on submitting an offer prior to auction. The auction was scheduled for the end of August. We submitted the offer including the auction fee of $1500.00. We verbally checked on the fee and it was never disagreed with. We upped our offer and again filled out paperwork with this fee. We were instructed by employees of Williams and Williams to fill in the auction fee our selves. We had contact with three employees and the main one, *****************, was horrible with communication. We were asked to sign several extensions as the sellers did not have inspections or paperwork done in time. We finally were able to start closing paperwork in mid September. Our lawyer brought it to our attention we were being charged an auction fee of $3000.00.We contacted Ms. ********* immediately and were told her bosses would call us that evening. Two managers called me that evening and stated that the $3000.00 fee was correct and that I was not allowed to dictate the fee. I explained that I was told to write in the fee of $1500.00 and that it seemed illegal for them to pull a bait and switch at the end. They acknowledged that it was mishandled, but the fee was the fee and we needed to pay it. The only other option was to ask the seller to pay the difference, which would probably make the deal fall threw. They informed us that we would need to sign a new agreement with he $3000.00 fee on it or the deal could fall through and we could lose the house. So we did sign so as not to lose the house, although we did not agree. This seems to be a strong case of bait and switch.

Desired Settlement: We would like Williams and Williams to honor the original agreement and refund us the $1500.00 we feel we were overcharged. This whole purchase was extremely mishandled from the beginning and ended with us not having access to our new home for a week after closing, due to the fact that no one had the lockbox code that worked fine a week prior. I feel we were very patient and tried to work with Williams and Williams. Our lawyer and the sellers lawyer also found a lack in communication while trying to work on this purchase.I would strongly caution anyone from working with this auction company after the experience that I had

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/11/19) */ Williams & Williams denies that it engaged in any activity that could be characterized as "bait & switch". There was a misunderstanding as to the terms and conditions of sale with respect to the property purchased. Williams & Williams, in conjunction with the seller, set certain terms with respect to the sale of each property. In this case, the issue is with respect to the field service fee. For properties that are designated "on-line only" the fee is clearly indicated as $1,500, and for properties designated as "on the lawn and on-line" the fee is $3,000. The designation is made by determining if the auction will occur only on-line or if there will be a live auction on the lawn that may also be bid on using our on-line functionality. The subject property was classified as "on the lawn and on-line", and therefore, the $3000 fee applied. The ********'s understood that "on-line only" meant that bidder would use the on-line bidding platform and not attend the auction on the lawn. Unfortunately, that is not correct. These terms are clearly indicated throughout Williams & Williams' sales literature. It is correct that the *********'s submitted an offer identifying the incorrect amount of $1,500 for the fee. However, that offer was rejected. When the ********'s second offer was submitted, the incorrect offer sheet was not used, but instead, a Contract for Sale was presented to the ********'s with the corrected amount of $3,000 included in the terms. The ********'s reviewed the Contract for Sale, executed it, and submitted it to the seller. The seller ultimately accepted and signed the Contract for Sale. When the *********'s misunderstanding came to light, they were given the opportunity to modify their offer and resubmit it to the seller, but choose to move forward with the closing as directed by the Contract for Sale. Williams & Williams understands there was a miscommunication, but denies it was intentional or that it engaged in any "bait & switch" tactics. The ********'s were given the opportunity to modify their signed offer to take into account the difference in the fee, but they elected to move forward and close on the transaction. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 10, 2013/11/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) When we orginally made an offer on the property represented by Williams and Williams, we were told that we had to put in the auction fee. At the time we put in $1500 as their website had 2 different auction fees. One was over the internet (1,500), and one was on the lawn ($3,000). We then submitted the offer with the auction fee of $1500 for approval. We did this through email several times. We then signed a legal document from Williams and Williams with the $1,500 listed as an auction fee. We can provide this documentation. When our attorney got the final numbers from Williams for closing, it was noticed the fee was changed to $3,000. We questioned why this had happend, and the office manager (*******) told us of the snafu. She told us that we should never have been told to enter the auction fee, rather it should have already been in the paperwork. She also told us that there was a mistake made by a member of her team. When we balked at the extra fee, we were told that it was a set fee and could not be changed unless a new offer was submitted, and that we could try and re-submit to the bank. However because we were so far along in the process, if we did there was a possibility they would void the agreement and take the house back. Essentially it was a risk on our part to re-submit the offer. Not wanting to lose the home, we did not re-submit the offer, but still felt we were wronged. We then had a conference call with senior management and described what had happened. They said there was nothing they could, or would do. We feel it is wrong that we submitted an offer and had paperwork signed by Williams showing the auction fee was $1,500. We also feel it was wrong that the fee was increased, and in essence tried to sneak through with the closing documents. We also feel that the home should not have been used as leverage to make us agree to an increased fee. Was there micommunication? Yes, and the blame lies solely in the hands of Williams and Williams. This type of business practice should not be tolerated. Again, we have all paperwork from this transaction and feel we should be refunded $1,500.00. Sincerely, ****** and ******** ******** (please see attached) Final Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2014/01/21) */ This complaint has been resolved satisfactorily. Though W&W feels it was legally correct in charging the fee, for customer service considerations, we refunded the disputed amount to the ********'s.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Williams & Williams Marketing Services Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)