BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Roto Rooter Plumbing Sewer & Drain Cleaning Service meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Roto Rooter Plumbing Sewer & Drain Cleaning Service include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Roto Rooter Plumbing Sewer & Drain Cleaning Service
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 08, 1973 Business started: 11/01/1972 Business started locally: 11/01/1972 Business incorporated 03/29/1974 in OK
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Construction Industries Board
2401 NW 23rd St, Ste 2F, Oklahoma City OK 73107
http://www.cib.state.ok.us
Phone Number: (405) 521-6550
The number is 058472.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Kyle Brierly, Owner Vice-President Mr. Rod Lacie, Opp Manager Mr. Doug Thompson, Operations Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kyle Brierly, Owner Vice-President
Customer Contact: Mr. Doug Thompson, Operations Manager
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbers - Commercial Plumbing - Renovation & Repair Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Sewer Contractors Sewer Inspection Water Heaters - Repairing Grease Traps Sewage Treatment Equipment Sewer Cleaner Vacuum Service Water Heaters - Dealers Water Heater - Tankless Septic Tanks & Systems Cleaning Sewage Disposal Systems Water Heaters - Parts & Supplies Water & Sewer Line Protection Drainage Contractors Mechanical Contractors

Alternate Business Names
Air Rooter Duct & Chimney Cleaning Air-Rooter Duct and Dryer Vent Cleaning Brierly Corporation Industrial Commercial Enterprises Roto Rooter Plumbing Roto-Rooter Septic Tank Pumping Roto-Rooter Sewer & Drain Clean Service
Products & Services

This company offers plumbing services, sewer and drain cleaning, septic pumping, grease trap pumping, sewer and drain TV camera inspection, leak and line locating, sewer and drain line water jetting, and car wash pit cleaning.


Additional Locations

  • 5700 S 107th East Ave

    Tulsa, OK 74146

  • 620 Monney Dr.

    Muskogee, OK 74401 (918) 558-2466

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/13/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I feel that an excessive amount was charged for the service provided. A fairly simple repair issue was not resolved after two visits by this company. I contacted Roto Rooter on 11/20/15 because my toilet would not flush and I had an issue of water on my bathroom floor after taking a shower. A plumber was dispatched to my home several hours later. I am out of the Tulsa area so was charged a travel fee of $121.50 which I was aware of. When the plumber arrived he went it to the bathroom, tried to flush the toilet and pronounced that it was "clogged up" . He then went out to the area of the septic tank and dug up and exposed the lid which he removed. He said it was, "needing pumped badly" and expressed concern that lateral lines and other issues could be involved leading to thousands of dollars of repairs. Of course I was very concerned and scheduled for the next available business day which was the following Monday for the tank to be pumped. That's all he did and this visit cost $230.50 paid via PayPal debit card. He flushed once and dug for about 15 minutes to expose the septic lid-that was it. The following Monday , 11/23/15, the service man arrived and pumped the septic tank. He stated that it was all cleaned out and no problems determined with any lateral lines. I asked if that meant my toilet worked now and he said to go try it. I did and it had the same problem. I asked what do I do now and he advised to call again and schedule the original plumber out. Issue not resolved and fee was $490 paid via **** debit card. I did not want to call this business out again. It was my impression, if not expressly stated, that if the septic was pumped and there was no damage to the septic field, lateral lines, etc. that the toilet would work. To simply have the tank emptied I would have called a local company and saved myself the $132 mileage fee to come from the Tulsa area. I struggled with what to do and pretty much had to wait anyway due to the Thanksgiving holiday. During this time I inquired around looking to find a local plumber. I did get a recommendation for ************** plumbing of Tahlequah and he came out the following Monday, 12/1/15. He told me the pipe was plugged up where the pipe went outside of the house to the septic tank. It was not actually the tank at all. He dug up and took off the lid, ran a plumbing snake and resolved the problem in less than an hour. His charge was $175 and I wish I had called him first. My toilet works just fine now. In conclusion, my septic may have needed to be pumped at some point but my immediate problem of the non-working toilet could have been resolved by the Roto Rooter plumber clearing the clog at the pipe where it exited the house flowing to the septic tank as the final plumber from ************** plumbing service did. The final plumber told me if I were actually having a septic problem that it would have gone over the lid and sewage into my yard which did not happen. Additionally, I had to rent a Porta Potty for the 4 members of my house to use probably unnecessarily at the cost of $90.

Desired Settlement: I would like my initial fee of $230.50 refunded as the plumber did not resolve the issue of the non working toilet as he could have fairly simply. I would also like $90 for the porta potty I had to rent for the week that I had no toilet. I am not asking for a refund of the tank emptying service although I certainly would have hired someone local had I known the end result. The fact that they emptied my tank did not make my toilet work which was the entire purpose of the visit to begin with.It was my belief that they would empty the tank and then make sure my plumbing worked-it's only common sense. Why would I want to have the tank emptied and remain with the same problem?

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/12/04) */ ******************************************************************************************************* IN response to the customers complaint. When the serviceman opened the lid to the incoming line to the septic tank he found that it was full of solids. The customer said it had not been pumped in 12 years. The tech did not diagnose the problem correctly by checking to make sure where the stoppage was, either the tank or the main line. He should have tested the line by running water in house and checking to see if it made it to the septic tank. On 11/23/15. We pumped the tank and the house was still backing up, at this point the customer should have contacted our supervisor to resolve the issue, instead the customer ordered a porta-potty service with the intent of having Roto-Rooter pay for it. Roto-Rooter has always made every effort to resolve any problems that were not addressed correctly the first time. We feel that in this instance the customer was not taken care of at the quality we aim to provide and will be reimbursing the customer her initial service fee as the plumber did not resolve her issue. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/12/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I would like to CLARIFY that I actually ordered the porta potty on the same day as the initial visit-not after the tank was pumped. My family had no working toilet and we are in a rural area. There was no other acceptable alternative and, I was thankful they could deliver it the same day.Porta Potties are pretty disgusting-I was not overjoyed to use one and certainly did not have an "intent" to order one and make Roto Rooter pay for it! By your own admission had the plumber tested the line it's possible he could have gotten it working and allowed me to avoid the additional expense of a porta potty.

4/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: accused me of not answering my phone but they actually did not have the right number for me They hung up on me twice very unprofessional delayed serv. ON MARCH 14, I CALLED ROTO ROOTER AT ABOUT 5:53AM. I EXPLAINED THAT MY PLUMBING WAS SERVICED THE EVENING BEFORE ON THE 13TH OF MARCH AND NOW IT IS NOT WORKING. I ALSO TOLD THEM I HAD OUT OF TOWN GUESTS COMING IN AND I NEEDED IT TO BE A PRIORITY. THERE WAS A MALE ON THE PHONE THAT ASKED MY NAME AND ADDRESS. I HAD TO ASK WHEN TO EXPECT SOMEONE. I WAS TOLD THAT THEY WOULD CALL BACK WITH THAT INFORMATION. NO ONE CALLED BACK BY 9:30 SO I CALLED BACK. A FEMALE ANSWERED. I TOLD HER WHO I WAS AND ASKED IF THEY COULD GIVE ME AN UPDATE BECAUSE NO ONE CALLED ME BACK. SHE SAID, "SHE CALLED". I SAID NO, I HAVE BEEN SITTING WITH THE PHONE AND NO ONE CALLED. HER VOICE BECAME LOUD AND SHE REPEATED TO ME "SHE CALLED THREE TIMES". I SAID THATS NOT POSSIBLE. SHE CUT ME OFF AND SAID, "WELL WHEN SOMEONE IS FREE, THEN THEY WILL BE THERE". I ASKED WHEN BECAUSE I WAS CLEARLY SKIPPED OVER. I THEN ASKED WHAT NUMBER SHE HAD FOR ME. SHE RECALLED THE WRONG NUMBER. I TOLD HER IT WAS NOT CORRECT. SHE TOLD ME THAT IS THE NUMBER THAT "THEY" SAID I GAVE. I TOLD HER IT MAKES NO SINCE FOR ME TO GIVE THE WRONG NUMBER SO HE CLEARLY GOT IT WRONG. I ASKED IF I WAS GOING TO HAVE TO WAIT ALL OVER AGAIN. SHE SAID "YES BECAUSE I DIDNT ANSWER WHEN SHE CALLED THE FIRST THREE TIMES". I REPEATED SHE NEVER CALLED BECAUSE THAT WAS NOT MY NUMBER. SHE CUT ME OFF AGAIN AND THEN "SAID WELL IT WILL BE MAYBE BETWEEN NOW AND NOON WHEN SOMEONE GETS THERE" AND ABRUPTLY HUNG UP ON ME. I THEN CALLED RIGHT BACK AND ******* ANSWERS. I ASKED IF THEY HAD THE CORRECT ADDRESS SINCE THEY DID NOT HAVE THE CORRECT CONTACT NUMBER ON THE PREVIOUS CALL. SHE HAD THE RIGHT ADDRESS. I THEN ASKED HER TO DOUBLE CHECK THE PHONE NUMBER. SHE THEN CALLS OFF THE WRONG PHONE NUMBER AGAIN. I ASKED WHAT IS GOING ON. I EXPLAINED THAT I GAVE IT TO TWO DIFFERENT PEOPLE AND THE NUMBER IS STILL INCORRECT. SHE TOLD ME "I DONT HAVE TO ACT LIKE THAT WITH HER! THAT IS THE NUMBER SHE HAS!" I TOLD HER SHE NEEDS TO LEARN TO BE A PROFESSIONAL AND NOT TAKE ME INQUIRING ABOUT MY INFORMATION PERSONAL. I TOLD HER THIS HAD NOTHING TO DO WITH HER PERSONALLY SO THERE WAS NO NEED FOR HER TO BE RUDE GETTING LOUD WITH ME AND SAYING THAT. SHE THEN CUTS ME OFF, REPEATS MY NUMBER, ANS SAYS I HAVE YOUR NUMBER AND SOMEONE WILL BE THERE WHEN THEY ARE AVAILABLE. SHE THEN HUNG UP ON ME. I CALLED BACK AND ASKED FOR A MANAGER. SHE (*******) CLAIMED THEY WERE NOT THERE AND WONT BE IN TIL MONDAY. I SAID WELL I NEED THEM TO HAVE A MESSAGE FOR THEM TO CALL ME ASAP. SHE SAID, "THANK YOU" AS I WAS SPEAKING AND HUNG UP ON ME YET AGAIN. AT 11:13AM ***** CALLED ME TO SAY THAT A TECH WAS ON THEIR WAY. THIS TOOK WAY TOO LONG CONSIDERING I MADE THE FIRST CALL IN THE 5AM HOUR.

Desired Settlement: I WANT THIS COMPLAINT TO BE FORMALLY DOCUMENTED AND MARKED AS A NEGATIVE AGAINST ROTO ROOTER. IF BBB HAS THE RIGHT TO SUGGEST, I WOULD LIKE FOR THE BBB TO SUGGEST WAYS FOR ROTO ROOTER TO IMPROVE THEIR CUSTOMER SERVICE AS WELL AS SUGGESTING A FORMAL APOLOGY TO ME FOR THIS EXPERIENCES.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/03/27) */ When ***** called in at 5:53 AM she talked to our sub-contracted overnight answering service. Nothing promised her by them concerning time or calling her was relayed to us. By the time ***** actually reached someone in our office she was already aggravated. The fact that ***** declared her circumstances a priority did not meet our company parameters for a priority job. The rest of the conversations were pretty much as ***** related them but she failed to mention that she also, and first, raised her voice and talked over our CSR. Our CSR responded wrongly to *****'s aggression. We have expressed our displeasure with and reinstructed our CSRs on how to properly manage a disgruntled customer and the steps they could have taken to keep this situation from escalating to the point it did. I have since called ***** to explain about her requests on her first call not being forwarded to us and delivered the formal apology she requested. Our priority is to offer the best customer service we can and pride our self on doing so. We will use this experience for future training. *********** Office Manager Roto Rooter Tulsa Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2015/03/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I was told that the answering service did not relay the correct information. Even when I spoke with someone, they never told me that my need did not qualify as being a priority. No I do not agree with the response saying that I raised my voice first and calling me disgruntled and had aggression. There were three phone calls total. I do not believe she is including how I was treated on the first phone call. I felt like I was yelled at and over talked FIRST along with being treated unprofessionally through out all three phone calls. With that being said, it then escalated to the second phone call with their employee being just as unprofessional as the first. The bottom line for me is that they are a very unprofessional company other than the technician that actually did his job in a professional manner. I will not pay someone to be treated like crap which is exactly how that company made me feel! Yes, someone gave me a formal apology but it was not the so called ladies that treated me in an unacceptable way. As far as I am concerned, from hear on out I will pay more with ****** Plumbing or some other company opposed to dealing with Roto Rooter and their poor customer service. I refuse to take out any more of my time with this situation. Yes someone and I had a conversation. Yes an apology was offered. But did I feel like it was still being swept under the rug to a degree? Yes! I did. Thank you BBB for allowing me to formally complain about this company. At least with you all I feel as though I have been heard.

2/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Kitchen ceiling caved in due to Roto Rooter not successfully shutting water off in two separate visits. Ice maker line that is run up through my kitchen ceiling and directly feeds into hot water tank, froze and broke creating a flood in my garage and small leak in my kitchen. Roto Rooter (R.R.) then sent a heating/air guy out on the afternoon of the 9th and he acted completely baffled as to why he was sent. He pulled out a 1/2 garbage bag of wet insulation and said everything was fine. Then on the 15th water started leaking profusely from my kitchen ceiling like water was still present so I called RR out again to shut off. RR arrived on the 16th and a 2nd different technician went up in the attic and stated that water was shut off but ceiling needed to be replaced due to saturation from earlier leak. At 5:30am on the 18th my kitchen ceiling caved in causing an uninhabitable living arrangement for my two children and I. Since the ceiling was gone I had a clear sight line to the ice maker line and could clearly see water running down the pipe and dripping onto the top of my refrigerator. RR again came out and finally disconnected my ice maker line which subsequently stopped the original water leak. As a result of their original lack of due diligence I have lost my kitchen ceiling and a livable home for my children and I.

Desired Settlement: I want the ceiling to be fixed and temporary living arrangements to be made for my kids and I.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/23) */ Roto-Rooter response to BBB activity Report Case # 38056008 Roto-Rooter takes great measures to treat all customers with the highest level of customer care and service. Our response to this customer complaint will show that we have gone above and beyond to provide the highest level of customer satisfaction. Before January 9th freezing temperatures caused a waterline to break in the attic of the property located at 12032 E. 37th St. Tulsa, OK. On or about January 9th **********, after an extended leave, returned to the rental house she was a tenant of at 12032 E. 37th. Ms. **** found the house to be flooding due to the broken pipe. She did not know how to turn the water off to the rental house so she called the fire department. When the fire department arrived they found the attic space above the kitchen and garage to be completely flooded to the point water was running down the walls and out the door. The fire department used a breaking bar to break holes in the ceiling of the garage to allow SOME of the water to drain out of the attic space. On January 9th Ms. **** called our company, Roto-Rooter to address the leak. Our serviceman found a uninsulated copper pipe in the attic which had been bootlegged in (installed illegally per plumbing code). Roto-Rooter addressed the leak to the best the conditions would allow. Roto-Rooter had to remove saturated insulation directly around a leak. We addressed a leak which allowed the rest of the house to have water supply. Roto-Rooter advised the customer of the flooded conditions of the attic. On January 16th Ms. **** called Roto-Rooter again and asked if we would come out because water was still dripping from the saturated flooded attic. Roto-Rooter sent a foreman to the house and advised Ms. **** verbally and on the invoice that the ceiling is still saturated and needs to be repaired. He also advised Ms. **** to contact her landlord about the issue and about the needed sheetrock repairs. She stated that her landlord wouldn't do anything to fix it. It was brought to her attention that the holes busted in the ceiling of the garage by the fire department would not dry out and repair the water damage to the ceiling from the flooded attic. Roto-Rooter again inspected the waterline to the degree safety would allow due to the saturated and waterlogged sheetrock of the ceiling. Roto-Rooter advised Ms. **** the sheetrock would fall down if not repaired. On January 18th the sheetrock 'fell down' in the entire kitchen. Once the pipe was exposed and the safety hazard of the confined space of the waterlogged attic was not an issue, Ms. **** called us back out to look at the plumbing. She wanted us to address what she perceived as a "small drip" from the pipe. Due to the waterlogged conditions there were plenty of drips from everything. Roto-Rooter disconnected the line and assured no water was coming through the line. On January 19th Ms. **** came to the Roto-Rooter office. She used vulgar language and yelled at me while issuing threats if Roto-Rooter did not did not provide her with a place to live and repair her entire ceiling. In the name of customer service I offered her a full refund of the $104.00, which is the entire amount we charged her. She agreed and signed a 'Release Settlement of Claim'. Roto-Rooter has gone above and beyond to satisfy Ms. ****. Roto-Rooter did not cause the pipe to freeze and break. We did not cause any of the water damage. We have given her a 100% refund solely because we sympathize with her unfortunate circumstances. Roto-Rooter wishes Ms. **** well and can only hope she comes to realize we value her business and we are not to blame for the damage that occurred before she ever called for our services.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Roto Rooter Plumbing Sewer & Drain Cleaning Service
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)