This business is not BBB accredited.

Action Plumbing and Drain

Phone: (918) 928-8000 View Additional Phone Numbers 1004 N 129th East Ave #1A, Tulsa, OK 74116 http://www.actionplumbingtulsa.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Action Plumbing and Drain include:

  • Failure to respond to 2 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Action Plumbing and Drain include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Action Plumbing and Drain
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 17, 1994 Business started: 01/01/1968 Business started locally: 01/01/1968 Business incorporated 06/13/2011 in OK
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Construction Industries Board
2401 NW 23rd St, Ste 2F, Oklahoma City OK 73107
http://www.cib.state.ok.us
Phone Number: (405) 521-6550
The number is 00118899.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Michael Gibbons, Owner/President
Business Category

Plumbers

Products & Services

This company offers residential, new construction and commerical sewer and plumbing, drain cleaning, gas, water and sewer lines..


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Action Plumbing and Drain has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of F.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1004 N 129th East Ave #1A

    Tulsa, OK 74116 (918) 928-8000

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/19/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Although I have paid their invoice in full($7872), they have taken me to collections over an invalid invoice,totaling $629.03. 11/7/14- I contacted Action Plumbing and explained my plumbing situation and requested an estimate to do the work mentioned above. In the next few days, ****** from Action Plumbing came to the house and quoted $2000-$2200 to break open the slab in the kitchen and replace the sewer line from the sink to the laundry room washing machine drain. I agreed to this price and a date for this service was scheduled. 11/24/14- ****** showed up for the appointment ( I was out of town and not present but my brother was). ****** decided that he was not going to complete the agreed upon scope. Instead, he decided to "snake" the lines again and told my brother that the "issue has been fixed". He did not call me to discuss the change in the scope of work nor any pricing related to that scope. If he had called me, I would have told him that I do NOT want to "snake" the lines again and that I am only interested in replacing that drain line (which was the agreed scope of work). He also replaced some plumbing parts related to the washing machine, also not discussed. I had already purchased the parts for the repair and intended to complete that portion of the work myself. In fact, his plumbing connection started leaking the same day. I had already paid a different plumber to snake the lines, which is how I knew the line was collapsed and the slab needed to be opened up to repair the drain line. I called ****** that day, but did not get a return call. The next day, the washing machine and sink began backing up again and this verified what we already knew and that the work that needed to be completed was the work I already recieved an estimate from Action and agreed to complete. Over the next 3 weeks, I was largely ignored by ****** and the owner of Action Plumbing, Michael Gibbons. On the 21st day since the work was completed, I left a voice message at their office that if I was not contacted back by Monday at lunch, I would be finding a different contractor as I cannot wait any longer (It had been a month since I had agreed to the original estimate). 12/8/15- I did receive a call from Michael. An explanation was given and an apology. I accepted and reiterated the urgency to get this work done (the agreed scope for $2000-2200 to replace the line from the sink to the washing machine). I spent the next 2 weeks trying to get them to commit to a start date. We finally agreed on Monday, 12/22/14. I paid a $2000 deposit at this time. 12/22- the work finally begins but the work does not go to plan. It took until... 12/31- job finally complete. The scope of work grew and more pipe than originally though needed to be replaced. The length of slab removal,pipe replacement,and pouring new rough grade slab doubled, approximately. Somehow, though, the price almost quadrupled from $2000-$2200, all the way to $7872. 1/5/15- invoice received and even though I knew it to be exorbitant and Action was being advantageous (they were aware that this was an insurance claim for me), I submitted to my insurance company. I explained that it may take time to process since the price had grown so high. 2/5/15- Michael requested payment and said that my insurance claim is not his problem and that he has "legal measures" to collect his money. I told him I dont have $5800 to pay him but would forward funds as soon my insurance company sent them. 12/23/15- i paid the invoice in full, considering this terrible experience complete. 5/5/15- received a collection letter from ******* Collection Service, seeking $629.03. 5/5/15-5/10/15- left messages with front desk at Action and sent the owner emails explaining where I think he is confused. No response was given. I also called ******* and their stance is basically "You could afford to pay the $7872,so why not just pay the $629.03?" This is unfair, corrupt and intentional on the part of Action Plumbing. The work they are seeking compensation for was not approved and accomplished nothing.

Desired Settlement: This invoice and collection attempt needs to be voided immediately. Also, I need something in writing or electronic form from Action Plumbing stating that exactly that. I would love to "seek" them to not try to bully and take advantage of people, especially one that paid you in full almost $8000 for your service. Im sure plenty of people just pay him off to be done with it but Im not going to do that. I do not owe him one cent more.

11/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/29/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called this company concerning a plumbing problem at 8:00 and was assured it would be taken care of that day. No one ever showed up or called. I called Action Plumbing on 12/7/13 at 8:00 a.m. concerning a plumbing problem. I was assured that it would be taken care of that day. When I had not heard back by 1:30 I called and was told I was next on the schedule. I told the representative that I was not leaving the house as this problem was extremely important to me. I called again at 4:30 after not hearing back from them and was told he would check and find out where the plumber was and call me back. He did not call back .I finally got him to pick up the phone around 5:00 and was told it was "I'm sorry it's too late". The advertisement in the yellow pages states they have service 24/7.I want to know why I was never contacted. It prevented me from calling someone else. This was a Saturday and we had no water until Monday.

Desired Settlement: I want to know why I was not contacted immediately when they knew the service was not going to be completed. I also want to know why it couldn't be completed since they advertise service 24/7. I never left my home all day waiting and was not even given the courtesy of a phone call.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/01/03) */ As I told Mr. *******, that was the day of the large snow storm. Many calls were flooding in. We did the best we could to handle them in order of importance. I realize that Mr. ******* problem was just as important to him as every other problem was to the other person. When I spoke to Mr. ******* at 1:30, I recommended to him that he not stay around the house and that we would call him, before we headed his way. However, despite the extenuating circumstances, caused by the weather, Mr. ******* is right; we could have and should have handled the matter better. I told that very thing to Mr. *******, before he filed the complaint. I am not sure what more is expected. Regards, *************** Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 10, 2014/01/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) My biggest problem with Action Plumbing is the deceit and misinformation . I was told at 1:30 that I would next in line to receive service as soon the the plumber finished the job he was working on. I never got a call from Action to inform me of any change in their plan. As a result I had no opportunity to contact another plumber and had no water forthe entire weekend. Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2014/01/22) */ I do not know what I could possibly add to this, other than what I have already written. I do not see any additional information or requests.

1/7/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Action exceeded initial verbal estimate by 300%. They performed work not authorized by me nor did I know the work had done until I received the bill The original invoice was for $5,017.76, all in one total. I requested a detailed breakdown between labor, material, etc. about three weeks later, and another request for the information, I received an invoice showing material, Equip Rent and Labor, all in total with no detail breakdown as to hours. Once again, I requested a detail of the labor hours. Two more weeks passed and I received a third version of the invoice totaling the same as the first two invoices. This third invoice changed all of the previous invoice category totals and added a fourth category, "Ran Hydro jetted .....". The third invoice reduced the Material by $130., reduced labor by $190, increased Equp Rent by $120 and added the Ran Hydro Jetter category for $200. Every time I request more information, the previous information changes and it takes two weeks to get done. I spent 40 years in Accounting mostly as a Controller and many years working for Contracting companies. It should not take this long to get information and it should not keep changing. I feel like I have been overcharged for Labor and perhaps material. Action supplied 38 drain valves and I supplied 22 drain valves. When they came back for the second time to finish the job, they told my employees that they had left drain valves in our store on the first visit. Neither my employees or me ever saw drain valves left in the store. I bought 22 valves so they could finish the job. Was I charged for the valves they thought they left in our store? I haven't even asked that question yet. The unauthorized work was the installation of three ball valves. I would have liked to have had the opportunity to delay that work, because there were more pressing issues that needed to be done. But, I was never given the opportunity.

Desired Settlement: I feel like I have been overcharged, but I can't get the detailed information to determine that feeling. I have paid $3,000 of the invoice and will pay another $1,000 this week. I would like to get enough information to see how their invoice was put together. I have no confidence in their invoice. I also want their late charges and interest waived since they created the scenario that caused me not to be able to pay their invoice all at once. The unauthorized work is one problem. A second problem was that they originally said the job could be completed in 5 hours. The last invoice presented shows 12.5 hours.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2013/11/18) */ As you might imagine, our version of the story is significantly different. However, we are willing to try to reach some level of agreement, with Mr. ********. So far, we have not had much success reaching him. My service manager says that he has called him 3 times, but hasn't been able to speak to him. I called Mr. ******** this morning and left a message. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 18, 2013/12/09) */ My complaint with Action Plumbing is not complete or satisfied. I have tried to talk with them several times, the latest was with the Owner on Tuesday, Dec 3. He was not prepared to talk nor has his Service Manager been prepared to talk the two or three times I have talked with him. I am waiting for them to be prepared. They want me to call them at 8:30 AM apparently any day I choose. I am the Customer and believe they should make the contact when it I convenient for me, not vice versa. **** ******** Final Business Response /* (4000, 22, 2013/12/23) */ The last time we spoke to Mr. ******** he did not object to the 08:30 request and we have been waiting for his call. The request for the 08:30 phone is not capricious. Early in the morning is the only time the service manager and I are together and have access to the required records. The time is also during normal business hours. If Mr. ******** had any objection to this time, he never expressed it to us. I am of the opinion that all three parties involved here would be better served if he mentioned his concerns to us directly and not arbitrate this through the BBB.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Action Plumbing and Drain
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart