BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Eastern Oklahoma

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

AmeriLoan

Phone: (800) 362-9090Fax: (800) 475-1379

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

339 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 43 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues14
Billing / Collection Issues278
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service46
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints339

Additional Complaint Information

The complaints against this company and others located at the same address generally allege the inability to pay off the requested loan, charges to the consumer's checking or credit card account despite never receiving the requested loan, or continued unauthorized charges to the consumer's credit card or checking account once the loan has been paid off.

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (339)BBB Closure Definitions
04/28/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper collection practices

Complaint: Payday loans are illegal to collect on in the state of New York. I have asked them to send an address that I can send the principle to via money order
I took out a payday loan over the internet not knowing they were illegal in NY. Once I found out and saw the talk around the internet about the interest rates and people being charged multiple times, I closed my bank account. They are harassing me and will not stop calling. Also, NY state law says that they are not even allowed to try to collect from me...

Initial Business Response
To Whom It May Concern:
Thank you for contacting our company and making us aware of a customer issue. At this time we are unable to discuss the account with any unauthorized 3rd party. We would like to help the customer resolve any questions they may have. Please have the customer contact us at the following so we can assist them.
Email: **********************************
Fax: 800-475-1379
Thank You
Compliance Department


Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not accept this because it is ILLEGAL in the state of NY for this company to even be contacting me over the matter. I have already changed my phone number in an attempt to stop the harassment. If they do not comply by sending a bill for the principle and some how find my number, I will be forced to file suite against them.

Final Business Response
To Whom It May Concern:
Thank you for contacting our company and making us aware of a customer issue. At this time we are unable to discuss the account with any unauthorized 3rd party. We would like to help the customer resolve any questions they may have. Please have the customer contact us at the following so we can assist them.
Email: **********************************
Fax: 800-475-1379
Thank You


**Please be advised that we have sent a separate communication to the customer in regards to this matter
Compliance Department

04/14/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper collection practices

Complaint: They call virtually everyday about an apparent outstanding debt. Back when I used to answer they would make threats, call my job and even my friend!
The amount is unknown at this time, and whatever it is I assure you they won't be receiving it. First of all, and I didn't know this until after problems arose and I investigated them, they aren't even legally authorized to operate in my state! Nor were they supposed to make automatic withdrawals from my debit account back when I was doing business with them. They charged probably way more than what would be considered a fair Interest Rate. On the telephone they utilize threats, are completely rude, and will make calls to your workplace and even my friend one time! I don't want anything at all, and I refuse to give them anything on the grounds of illegal and unethical Business practice. They should be fined or prosecuted in some way, but I just want them out of my life already. I highly discourage anyone from doing business with them they are immoral people!

Initial Business Response
To Whom It May Concern:
Thank you for contacting our company and making us aware of a customer issue. At this time we are unable to discuss the account with any unauthorized 3rd party. We would like to help the customer resolve any questions they may have. Please have the customer contact us at the following so we can assist them.
Email: **********************************
Fax: 800-475-1379
Thank You
Compliance Department

03/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Inappropriate behavior by customer service personnel

Complaint: This business calls my job about an employee that no long works here. This is interrupting my business and I want them to stop calling ************.
This business calls every day nonstop for a employee that does not work here. I try to tell them she does not work here they proceed to keep calling. They are interrupting business and need to stop calling ************

Initial Business Response
To Whom It May Concern:
Thank you for contacting our company and making us aware of a customer issue. At this time we are unable to discuss the account with any unauthorized 3rd party. We would like to help the customer resolve any questions they may have. Please have the customer contact us at the following so we can assist them.
Email:***********************************
Fax: ************
Thank You
Compliance Department


**Please be advised that the number is in the process of being removed. It can take up to 24 hours for the number to get taken out of the system, but we are making every effort to resolve this matter as quickly as possible.

03/13/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Contract Complaint Issue

Complaint: trying to extort money for a loan agreement
applied for a installment loan and was required to pay a payment up front also the contract that was furnished did not state any terms or dates of repayment and there was no contact phone numbers as to verify any of the information

Initial Business Response
RE: ************
To Whom It May Concern:
Thank you for contacting our company and making us aware of a potential customer issue. Unfortunately we currently do not have this person as a customer. We have checked all databases and we do not hold any information or account for the above referenced person.
Thank You
Compliance Department
Ameriloan


Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I filled out this application and all the numbers that I tried I do not get a response from all I want back is the 385.00 dollars that I pre paid for a 2500.00 installment loan when I verified the numbers they are from different states with complainta attached to them and all fall back on thic native company in Miami Oklahoma thank you ************

Final Business Response
To Whom It May Concern:
Thank you for contacting our company and making us aware of a customer issue. At this time we are unable to discuss the account with any unauthorized 3rd party. We would like to help the customer resolve any questions they may have. Please have the customer contact us at the following so we can assist them.
Email:***********************************
Fax:*************
Thank You
Compliance Department

**Please be advised that we do not require prepayment and also that we do not offer loans as high as the customer stated. We do not, nor have we ever had an active loan for the customer listed above in the complaint.

03/13/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper collection practices

Complaint: Ameriloan continues to call me despite having the loan paid off. The principal plus finance charges were paid. However, I still receive phone calls.
I am receiving phone calls demanding payment for a loan that was paid off including all finance charges. Customer service agents refuse to send me a certified letter detailing all outstanding charges.

Initial Business Response
To Whom It May Concern:
Thank you for contacting our company and making us aware of a customer issue. At this time we are unable to discuss the account with any unauthorized 3rd party. We would like to help the customer resolve any questions they may have. Please have the customer contact us at the following so we can assist them.
Email: **********************************
Fax: ************
Thank You
Compliance Department

Page 1 of 37
05/05/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper collection practices

Complaint: They are harassing me at my work place. It is jeopardizing my job.
I owe them $65. They are calling my work place 2-3 times a day. They are rude to the people who answer the phone. When I call them they are rude. They are sharing private information with my boss and 3 other coworkers when they call. This is against privacy policies!! They have been asked to not call my work place by myself and my boss several times but they continue to call everyday. I spoke with a supervisor who informed me that until I secure my payment with a debit or credit card they will continue to call my workplace. I am going to lose my job if it doesn't stop. My boss has reported this to the Human Resources Dept and I am going to take further steps to stop this harassment. I plan to pay the money that I owe but will NEVER do business with them again!! This was a terrible experience that I will avoid from now on! Thank you for your help.

Initial Business Response
To Whom It May Concern:
Thank you for contacting our company and making us aware of a customer issue. At this time we are unable to discuss the account with any unauthorized 3rd party. We would like to help the customer resolve any questions they may have. Please have the customer contact us at the following so we can assist them.
Email: **********************************
Fax:*************
Thank You
Compliance Department


Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have contacted this business several times about this issue and get the same response every time. They tell me that it is not harassment to call my workplace several times a week ( some days it is several times a day) and that they are not going to stop unless I secure the payment with a debit or credit card (which I do not have). I call to try and make arrangements to pay them and they continuously ask for a debit card number even after I tell them I don't have one and give me a hassle about me offering to send a money order. I have been told that the calls still won't stop until payment is processed. I don't mind them contacting me! I just want them to stop calling my workplace so that I don't lose my job!!!!

Final Business Response
To Whom It May Concern:
Thank you for contacting our company and making us aware of a customer issue. At this time we are unable to discuss the account with any unauthorized 3rd party. We would like to help the customer resolve any questions they may have. Please have the customer contact us at the following so we can assist them.
Email: **********************************
Fax:*************
Thank You
Compliance Department

04/23/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper collection practices

Complaint: I have never had a loan with this company, but they continue to call and leave me voicemails, on my cell and home phone saying I owe them money.
I am receiving phone calls from a company called ameriloan and a company collecting debt for them saying I owe them for a loan I took out. I have never had a loan with them. I do not take out those kinds of loans. I have asked them to stop calling me and they refuse. They call my elderly grandma and harass her during the day saying someone needs to pay them back. She is almost 90 and doesn't need these people calling and worrying her all the time.

Initial Business Response
To Whom It May Concern:
Thank you for contacting our company and making us aware of a customer issue. At this time we are unable to discuss the account with any unauthorized 3rd party. We would like to help the customer resolve any questions they may have. Please have the customer contact us at the following so we can assist them.
Email: **********************************
Fax: ************
Thank You
Compliance Department


Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have contacted them several times with rude responses. All I want is for them to stop contacting me. I have asked them that several times, and they still repeatedly call.


Final Business Response
To Whom It May Concern:
Thank you for contacting our company and making us aware of a customer issue. At this time we are unable to discuss the account with any unauthorized 3rd party. We would like to help the customer resolve any questions they may have. Please have the customer contact us at the following so we can assist them.
Email: **********************************
Fax: ************
Thank You
Compliance Department

04/21/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper collection practices

Complaint: I have informed Ameriloan to stop calling me. Their collection practices are unlawful. They keep harassing me and they are rude.
I contracted PayDay Support to settle my account with Ameriloan. I was assured by PayDay support at (800) ******** that they contacted Ameriloan on my behalf and that Ameriloan was told to cease contacting me. Ameriloan stopped for a short time. Now they are back calling me and harrasing me. I have faxed them all of the documentation. I have mailed them the information that PayDay Support provided to me. They keep calling. I have paid PayDay support over $1200.00 to assist and Ameriloan is still calling.

Initial Business Response
To Whom It May Concern:
Thank you for contacting our company and making us aware of a customer issue. At this time we are unable to discuss the account with any unauthorized 3rd party. We would like to help the customer resolve any questions they may have. Please have the customer contact us at the following so we can assist them.
Email:***********************************
Fax: 800-********
Thank You
Compliance Department


Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have tried to email Ameriloan, I have sent them faxes, and snail mail correspondence. They are constantly being rude and threatening in nature.

This company bullies and I am really at my end at trying to work with them. I have contacted a company PayDay Support to assist with Ameriloan and nothing has stopped.

I will attempt to email them but I would like to copy the BBB as evidence of their bullying nature.


Final Business Response
To Whom It May Concern:
Thank you for contacting our company and making us aware of a customer issue. At this time we are unable to discuss the account with any unauthorized 3rd party. We would like to help the customer resolve any questions they may have. Please have the customer contact us at the following so we can assist them.
Email:***********************************
Fax: 800-********
Thank You
Compliance Department

03/27/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper collection practices

Complaint: Ameriloan stopped debiting my checking account for payment. Now I repeatdly receive harrassing robo calls to my home and cell phone to collect balance
Received a loan from Ameriloan for $700. Loan was obtained on 08/06/2013. My first payment was withdrawn on 08/16/2013 for $50.00 then another withdrawal for $210. was made on 08/16/13 as well. Then on 08/30/13 a withdrawal was made for $195. Then on 09/13/2013 a withdrawal was made fo r $195. Then withdrawals suddenly stopped. I contacted Ameriloan to inquire why and I received no response.

Initial Business Response
To Whom It May Concern:
Thank you for contacting our company and making us aware of a customer issue. At this time we are unable to discuss the account with any unauthorized 3rd party. We would like to help the customer resolve any questions they may have. Please have the customer contact us at the following so we can assist them.
Email:***********************************
Fax: ************
Thank You
Compliance Department


Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
No response from Ameriloans Compliance Department or Customer Service Department as of today 03/21/14.

Final Business Response
To Whom It May Concern:
Thank you for contacting our company and making us aware of a customer issue. At this time we are unable to discuss the account with any unauthorized 3rd party. We would like to help the customer resolve any questions they may have. Please have the customer contact us at the following so we can assist them.
Email:***********************************
Fax: ************
Thank You
Compliance Department

09/09/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Credit, Billing or Collection Complaint Issue

Complaint: I have told these people months ago that my phone would not be operational and that I would rather be contacted through email.
I have told these people months ago that my phone would not be operational and that I would rather be contacted through email. They instead tell me that they have sent emails (which they haven't) and called my place of employment (which to my knowledge is illegal in the state of Pennyslvania) I also have told these people that my hours at work have been cut dramatically and would not be able to make full payments. Instead, they decide to be rude and tell me to ask someone in my family for money. Where I am from that is a rude statement.

Business' Initial Response
To Whom It May Concern:
Thank you for contacting our company and making us aware of a customer issue. At this time we are unable to discuss the account with any unauthorized 3rd party. We would like to help the customer resolve any questions they may have. Please have the customer contact us at the following so we can assist them.
Email: **********************************
Fax: 800-475-1379
Thank You
Compliance Department

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I don't accept this! They have left me with no choice but to take it to the BBB. If they want to contact me then they can do it through the BBB.

Page 1 of 22
01/21/2014Problems with Product / Service
08/22/2011Billing / Collection Issues
04/09/2012Billing / Collection Issues
04/09/2012Billing / Collection Issues
03/12/2012Billing / Collection Issues
02/28/2012Billing / Collection Issues
02/27/2012Billing / Collection Issues
Page 1 of 9

Industry Comparison| Chart

Payday Loans, Loans

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.