BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Oklahoma Natural Gas Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Oklahoma Natural Gas Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 28 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

28 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 16
Billing/Collection Issues 8
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 28

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Oklahoma Natural Gas Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1937 Business started: 10/12/1906 Business started locally: 10/12/1906
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Kent Shortridge, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kent Shortridge, Vice President
Business Category

Natural Gas Companies

Alternate Business Names
ONEOK ONG
Additional Information

Any Consumer can contact Oklahoma Natural Gas on the internet at www.ong.com to apply for the "average monthly payment plan" or to get many answers to many questions you may have.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Oklahoma Natural Gas Company has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2319 W. Edison
    Tulsa Metro Business Center

    Tulsa, OK 74121 (800) 664-5463

  • P.O. Box 21019

    Tulsa, OK 74121

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 401

    Oklahoma City, OK 73101

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/14/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Currently trying to initiate new services, but ONG has associated me with my sisters account. She does not currently reside in the household. Currently trying to initiate new services, but Oklahoma Natural Gas has associated me with my sisters account. My information, customer service stated that they have my social security and all my information listed on that account. They were never authorized to list me on that account. She does not currently reside in the household. I have a rental lease dated October 20, 2015. She is not listed on that lease. Due to dropping temperatures we are needing this issue dealt with as soon as possible because we have 8 children living in the home. Thank you, **************

Desired Settlement: Service activated

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/12/02) */ Our records indicate that a representative has reached out to the customer and is working with him.

12/14/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Transfer of service was not fulfilled and shut off gas with no proper prior communication or timely warning. We moved in September and requested a transfer of service. We received a bill in October not realizing that it was only the final bill for our previous address. We anticipated receiving our November bill this month but instead came home Friday with a blank green slip hanging on our door and our gas turned off. Just in time for the first freezing weekend of the year! Noninformation, no attempt to contact previously! Now we are at home with three kids with no heat! We tried calling the emergency number since we received this notice after work on a Friday, only to be told that they could not find an active account and stated that they cannot even find our service address in their system. Their advise was to call during business hours on Monday. I am wondering how we go from calling to schedule a date for transfer of service, which was never performed, but our old account was cancelled with no representatives calling to address any issues with not being able to locate our new service address or even to confirm our current address. Instead, they did nothing and turned our gas off without attempting to communicate concerns or trying to resolve any issues! This was very poorly handled! It was an oversight that we as a customer did not notice a missing bill but I would expect a professional company to contact their customer if there were issues with providing service.

Desired Settlement: To have my gas turned on immediately and an apology for the inconvenience and unprofessional business behavior.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/12/02) */ Our records indicate that your service was turned on November 23, 2015. Your service address has been updated so there will be no difficulty locating your account using the address in the future. As a courtesy, the $35 service initiation charge has been removed from the account.

10/19/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Continued refusal to turn on gas for several homes. We have been trying to turn on Gas service at 27 addresses since September 11th 2015. Oklahoma natural gas claims a technician is coming however they either never show up or claim that no one was available on site. This is simply untrue. Either the technicians are lying or the customer service representatives are lying. A technician finally came out on September 28th BUT only to turn on 4 of the 27 requested addresses. He only wound up turning on 1 address. The technician left slips in the vacant units detailing work that needed to be done and did not notify the office of any of this. How is it supposed to be taken care of if we do not know about it? That is seriously poor communication all the way around for Oklahoma Natural Gas. There is no recourse in dealing with this company. There is no complaint line, no supervisors to speak to, no one to hold accountable. All we want is the service turned on as requested.

Desired Settlement: All we want is service to be connected at the 27 addresses requested.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2015/10/19) */ Please excuse the delay in our response. Our records indicate that an Oklahoma Natural Gas representative has been in contact with Mr. ******* and his concerns have been resolved. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 13, 2015/10/19) */

8/21/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ONG DETECTED A LEAK AT MY HOME AND HAS TOLD US ITS NOT SAFE TO STAY AT OUR HOME FOR 2WEEKS AND TODAY THEY SAY IT IS SAFE AND THEN THEY SAY ITS NOT ON JUNE 2ND ONE OF ONG'S CONTRACTORS DETECTED A LEAK AT OUR HOME. AND HAD A CREW OUT TO OUR HOUSE WITHIN A HALF HOUR AND STARTED DIGGING AND DESTROYED OUR FRONT YARD. THEY SAID THEY COULDN'T SAY IT WAS SAFE TO STAY AT OUR HOME AND TURNED OUR SERVICE OFF. SO WITH US HAVING KIDS WE LEFT OUR HOME. ON JUNE 12TH THEY SAID IT WASN'T THEIR GAS, AND TURNED IT OVER TO THE OCC, AND ONE OF THEIR CONTRACTORS SAID TO MY WIFE THEY HAVE BETTER THINGS TO DO WHEN SHE TALKED TO HIM ON THAT THURSDAY THE 11TH. WE STILL HAVE NO SERVICE AND ARE OUT OF OUR HOME. THEY CAME OUT AND RE SODDED OUR YARD WITH DEAD SOD AND LEFT ALL THE HOLES THE DRILLED IN MY DRIVEWAY AND SPRAY PAINT ALL OVER MY DRIVE WAY. I UNDERSTAND THAT UNTIL THE LEAK IS FIXED THE HOLES WILL HAVE TO STAY TO MONITOR THE LEAK BUT IT LOOKED LIKE THEY DID THEY SOD AND WERE GOING TO WASH THEIR HANDS OF THE SITUATION. I CALLED TODAY AND TALKED TO ****** TO COMPLAIN AND SHE HAD SOMEONE CONTACT MY WIFE ******** ******** TO TALK TO HER ABOUT WHAT THE CONTRACTOR SAID TO HER. HE TOLD MY WIFE THAT IT WAS SAFE TO STAY AT OUR HOUSE AFTER 2 WEEKS TOMORROW THE 16TH THAT THEY HAVE BEEN TELLING US THAT ITS NOT SAFE, SO I HAD MY WIFE CALL ****** TO SEE IF THAT WAS TRUE AND SHE SAID ITS NOT SAFE. WE HAVE BEEN STAYING WITH FAMILY AND HOTELS FOR THIS ENTIRE TIME. THEY DID PAY FOR THE FEW DAYS THAT WE WERE IN A HOTEL BUT NOTHING FOR THE INCONVENIANCE OF BEING OUT OF OUR HOME. NOBODY HAS BEEN ABLE TO TELL US ANYTHING ABOUT WHERE THE LEAK IS COMING FROM OR A TIMETABLE FOR WHEN IT WILL BE FIXED OR WHEN WE CAN BE BACK IN OUR HOME. ITS HARD TO BELIEVE THAT WE ARE THE ONLY HOME IN THE NEIGHBORHOOD THAT IS BEING AFFECTED. WE ARE EXTREMELY FRUSTRATING WITH THIS WHOLE SITUATION BUT HAVE BEEN NOTHING BUT POLITE TO EVERYONE CAUSE ITS NOT ONE PERSONS FAULT BUT AS A COMPANY THIS IS NOT ACCEPTABLE!!! THIS IS GETTING TO THE POINT WHERE ITS GOING TO PUT US IN A FINANCIAL BIND BECAUSE WE ARE STAYING OTHER PLACES WITH OUR KIDS AND PET THAN AT OUR HOME WITH A MORTGAGE WITH NO END IN SIGHT FOR IT TO BE FIXED AND HAVE OUR HOME WITH ALL UTILITIES AND PUTTING OUR FAMILIES IN A TOUGH SITUATION TRYING TO HELP US OUT. ONG IS THE GAS COMPANY IN OKLAHOMA AND NEEDS TO STEP UP AND TAKE RESPONSIBILITY AND FIX THIS GAS LEAK AND TAKE CARE OF THEIR CUSTOMER THAT THEY HAVE PUT IN THIS SITUATION. IT HAS BEEN 2 WEEKS NOW. I HAVE HAD ENOUGH!

Desired Settlement: I EXPECT THE JOB THAT THEY DETECTED AND STARTED TO GET FINISHED AND REPAIR MY PROPERTY TO THE WAY THEY FOUND IT AND COMPENSATION FOR ALL EXPENSES AND PAIN AND SUFFERING. BBB DOES NOT SEEK PUNITIVE OR COMPENSATORY DAMAGES.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/06/22) */ Records indicate there is a leaking gas situation at the property described. Testing has determined that the source of gas is not from Oklahoma Natural's distribution system and the matter is currently under the investigation of the Oklahoma Corporation Commission. There are gas source emissions that can occur naturally or otherwise; as of this communication, no conclusive determination has been made as to the source. Until the situation is remediated, locating occupants in an area free of emissions is the best course of action. Records show that Oklahoma Natural Gas representatives have been in contact with the customer to address other matters of concern. We appreciate the feedback. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/06/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Oklahoma natural gas has not stayed in contact with us at all. We have had to be the ones to make contact with them at all times and they can't ever give me a strait answer, just like the day after they dug in my yard and I called customer service they didn't even know they had someone digging in our yard. Today, june 29th we called the OCC and they said they had turned the case back over to Oklahoma natural gas on Thursday the 25th. We called our Oklahoma Natural Gas contact and they had no idea. They have no idea what is going on and our gas has been shut off since the 2nd of june and our yard still looks terrible with the dead sod they put down. I have plenty of pictures. OCC had 3 days of zero readings when they turned it back over to ONG but they have no idea what they are doing. Nobody can explain why I had elevated readings of gas and why it has gone away. I want to know what they plan to do about all this... Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 17, 2015/07/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) They did not even propose a resolution, all they said is that service was restored on the 3rd of July. I know when Service was restored. This company is so horrible that they even sent me a bill for the month that I didn't even have service from them. But you can't go to a different company no matter how bad they are with customer service because they're the only gas company. They're short responses to this issue and their horrible customer service from the people that came out to our property and did the horrible work to the people in customer service that didn't have a clue as to what was going on and could never give a strait answer just go to show how they don't care about their customers. This has been the absolute worst experience I have ever had with any company. They haven't even tried to make anything up to us, they have just washed their hands of it and give short little responses and hope we go away. Final Business Response /* (4000, 19, 2015/08/20) */ The customer experienced a significant concentration of methane gas on the property. Oklahoma Natural Gas responded to a gas leak concern. It was determined that the gas source was NOT from ONG's system, it was either naturally occurring or migrating from some other source. Once it was determined that this was not system gas, our responsibility included leaving natural gas service off until the source had been remediated/cleared or had no readings of gas present in the area. As a courtesy, ONG continued to work with state agencies to remediate the gas so that the customer could safely return home. ONG also filled and leveled the test holes at remediation sites and laid new sod in the customer's yard, twice, at no charge to the customer.

7/31/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: someone was in the house however the tech left and said no one was home. I had an appointment window scheduled to have service turned on on Monday July 27th. I told the person I set up the appointment with to have the tech call 30 minutes before they were to be there as the house is vacant and I would have to drive there. The tech called like he was supposed to but when I talked to customer service after the supposed missed appointment it appeared he called once he was already at the property. Because he claimed to have waited 28 minutes before leaving. While he was supposedly waiting for me to arrive my electrician was inside the property the entire time and knew the gas guy was coming. He saw the ONG vehicle outside and continued to work on the electrical. The front door was open as the A/C is off while the house is being repaired. I asked my electrician once I arrived and found the note on the front door and he told me no one had tried to get anyone's attention to let them know he was there. I called customer service to set up another appointment and they argued back with me saying they have no way of telling the tech any information other than to call ahead and they can't control when the tech calls or pass them any information. I now have to pay a $25 fee because the tech refused to get someone's attention in the house when there was clearly someone there( truck in drive and front door open).

Desired Settlement: I want the fee removed because I feel the tech did not attempt to contact my representative inside the house or do his due diligence.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/29) */ As a courtesy, the $25 trip charge has been reversed. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/07/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

5/25/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Says I have an outstanding balance $131.91 when I have never had anything in my name before. I set up ONG for the first time ever, as a matter of fact, this is the first time i've ever had an utility bill in my name - comes to find out they are saying I owe an outstanding payment of $131.91. How?? They will not work with me to get this fixed, and are saying my gas will be turned off May 7th, 2015 if I do not pay that amount by that date. I just started a new job, and finally getting things in my name - and this happens?? I need something to be done. I can no afford to have my gas turned off. I have 2 kids, myself, and my mother who lives here.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking for help. I want something to be done. I want the bill gone - I can't just come up with $131.91 out of pocket like that. It's been real tough.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/05/13) */ Our records indicate that an ONG representative has been in contact with the customers regarding the disputed bill and is working with them toward resolution. If there is anything else we can help with, please contact our office.

4/28/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Charges dating back to 2001 On February 2, 2015 My husband and I moved and started newservice with ONG. A few weeks later he added me on as an authorized user in case I had questions concerning our bills. We received our first bill a few days later with a previous balance of $810.xx from 2001!! I called customer svc and was told it was for my ex husbands acct which I was never taken off of as an authorized user and was not in the home in 2001, as I was in a domestic violence shelter. I opened a dispute fully expecting this to resolve quickly and easily. A few days later I returned the call from the collections dept. And was told....we have done our research u were on the acct. And u owe the money. I asked them to please bill my ex husband as I had given them his current address. Because he currently doesn't HAVE ong they said that is not possible. I do not understand this AT All!!! Send him a past due balance like they would anyone else!! The collections person who was completely rude and had ZERO empathy said he just give me the money to pay it, I begged them to speak to him and was told he cannot call because he's not authorized on this acct!!! This is unbelievable to me, they want to take food out of my babys mouth to pay for my EX HUSBANDS BILL!!! I have never been treated so rudely and cruel in my life. What if I'm an authorized user on my 90 yr old grandfather's acct so I can help him understand his bills, does that make me responsible for payment???? I have had service in two other places, with accts in good standing and this money has NEVER been attached to me before. When I said this all I got was oh sorry. I'm so very upset by the practices of this company and want it taken care of.

Desired Settlement: I would like the $800 removed from my husband's account and billed to my EX husband who owes this money, not me. I would also like my name removed from my current husbands account and I never want to have to deal with this company again.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/04/16) */ Our records indicate a supervisor visited with Mr. and Mrs. ****** on Tuesday, April 14, 2015 regarding their concerns and extended payment arrangements have been entered on the account. If the customer has any further concerns, they can contact our office at (800) 664-5463. We appreciate the opportunity to be of service.

3/19/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Cut-off notice received by mail but no paper bills received. ONG was sending the bills to the wrong email address so I never received a bill. I received a cut-off notice for unpaid gas bills. I received the cut-off notice as a hard copy by mail to my current, correct address. I never received any bills from the company before the cut-off notice because they were sending them to the wrong email address. They never sent me a hard copy notifying me that they never received payment for my bill. After receiving the hard copy cut-off notice at my correct address, I spoke to customer service. The representative read the correct spelling of my last name to me but read my email address spelling incorrectly which is my last name followed by my first initial. At that time, I was even asked to verify my mailing address and phone number, both of which they had correctly entered into their system. They were sending my bills via email to the wrong email address and never notified me that they never received my bill by hard copy mail, phone or any other form of communication. In essence, they made no attempt at contacting me to inform me that they did not receive a payment. They told me I should have contacted them after not receiving a bill. I told them that it wasn't, nor is it my job to supervise them and make sure I receive my bill. While speaking with customer service the first time, they corrected the spelling of my email address, read back to me my current, correct mailing address and phone number and told me they would start sending me hard copy bills in the mail. At that time, they told me I owed them over $350. I made a good faith payment over the phone for part of the balance to keep from having my service shut off. After several weeks had passed and I still had not received a hard copy or email bill, I called again to find out where my bill was. At the beginning of the conversation, the lady asked me to verify my mailing address and phone number, both of which they had correctly entered into their system. When I asked why I had not received a hard copy of my bill as requested from the previous conversation, I was informed that they were sending them to the wrong mailing address and once again, I was not receiving my bill, either by email or regular mail. I received no notice via mail, email, or phone call that my bill was not getting paid. Once again, they are threatening to shut off my service for unpaid bills. To summarize, they sent my bills to the wrong email address. But managed to mail me a hard copy shut-off notice several months later to the correct mailing address. I requested to have my bills now mailed to me as a hard copy and found out they were mailing them to the wrong physical address when I verified during the first and second phone call with them the correct mailing address which they had on file.

Desired Settlement: Bill to be dismissed for having never received one due to the fact that it was being emailed to the wrong email address and being mailed to the wrong mailing address after I requested from their customer service after receiving the cut-off notice that they send me hard copy bills in the mail. I still, to this day, have not received anything via email, mail or phone from them other than the cut-off notice. All future bills need to be mailed to my current, correct address that they already had on file.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/03/03) */ The email address for your account was updated and the account was removed from the Paperless Billing program on February 2, 2015. Future bills will be mailed to the service address. We have recently issued duplicate bills of your account, which were mailed to your home address. You should receive copies of these bills soon. Our records indicate an extended timeframe for the account payout has been established and all late payment charges have been removed. Please contact us if additional time is needed. We appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention. To demonstrate our regret for your recent experience, we have removed the $35 service initiation charge for establishing service at this address and the $115 deposit required for service. Thank you again for making us aware of your experience. Please feel free to contact us again if we can be of further service. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2015/03/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The original cut-off notice I received, which has been the only correspondence they have made with me, included a past due amount in excess of $350. I received a cut-off notice because this was the first and only correspondence I have received from ONG due to the fact that they had my email address spelled incorrectly. They were emailing e-bills to the wrong email address. They made no other attempt at calling or mailing bills to me until they mailed the cut-off notice to the correct address. They had the correct phone number and mailing address on file because every time I called to discuss the issue, the first thing they had me do was verify this information. After I notified them about the cut-off notice, which was the only correspondence I have received from them to the correct address, they began mailing hard copies of the bills to the wrong mailing address. It does not make sense that they managed to mail a cut-off notice to the correct address and then began mailing bills to the wrong address. After notifying them about not receiving hard copies in the mail and finding out that they were mailing them to the wrong address, the new bill was in excess of $450. I want the total amount due minus the amount due for the month of February's usage written off. I was informed this morning after talking to their customer service that the total amount due was $465.92. Therefore, the grand total amount due on the entire bill should be whatever the amount would be for the month of February and nothing more. I will begin paying each monthly bill as I should now be receiving them to the correct mailing address. I verified this morning that they have the correct information on file by having a customer service representative verify the information on file. There should be no reason why I should not receive bills to the correct mailing address from this time going forward for each month's bill due. Final Business Response /* (4000, 16, 2015/03/13) */ We have corrected your account and regret the error made. As a courtesy, we have removed the $35 service initiation charge and $115 security deposit. We can offer additional time for payout, up to six (6) months. There are no plans to further reduce the account balance. Customer service can be reached at 800-664-5463 to adjust the length of payout. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 18, 2015/03/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do not accept the proposed resolution as this is far less than what should be offered. This is no better than what was offered in the first proposed resolution. Again, I should not have to pay for ONG's negligent error. There are over $350 worth of charges that were never delivered to me due to ONG sending the bills to the wrong address. The bill due would be in smaller amounts easily affordable had ONG delivered my bill to the correct address or had they contacted me via phone before the cut-off notice was somehow mailed to the correct address after the amount due was over $350. ONG had the correct phone number and address on file as I had to verify with customer service my address and phone number when I called to correct their mistake. They were initially emailing the bill to the wrong email address and then mailing hard copies to the wrong physical address after I verified the correct address over the phone during one of my conversations to resolve the issue. I am now coming up on another bill due and the issue has yet to be resolved. I will not nor should I have to pay on this account until an acceptable resolution has been made. I ensured ONG had the correct information on file after receiving the first cut-off notice months after the first bill was due but never correctly delivered and again after I was notified that another bill was due. I am living paycheck to paycheck to be able to pay all of my utility bills. All other bills from all other companies have been correctly delivered to me and therefore paid on time. I should not be forced to find additional income to now pay more than I can afford to get caught up on this account. Again, it is not my responsibility to pay for ONG's mistake. I can start paying the monthly bill for what was used and would be owed from March 1st to the present when the first bill was mailed to the correct address. I will not contact ONG customer service as I have contacted them several times to be told they are not the ones to provide a resolution on. I will leave this for the Better Business Bureau to decide a resolution on.

12/8/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Charged with no valid seasoning for said charges. I received a letter from ONG stating the following: "A recent review of your account indicates that during the past 12 months, undisputed changes have been delinquent twice, service has been disconnected for nonpayment, or a returned item has been received. Therefore, a deposit of $140.00 has been added to your account and will be billed in three installments beginning with your next bill. When the deposit has been paid in full it will be automatically refunded with interest after a 12-month satisfactory payment record has been established with Oklahoma Natural Gas. Please contact us at 1-800-664-5463 if you have any questions concerning this notice Sincerely, Credit Department" Okay since I have not made any changes to my account that reason is not valid, My services have not been disconnected, and I always pay with either my debit card or cash this letter makes not sense to me. When I called ONG they stated the letter had a typo and it was because I made my payments late a few times which still to me seems unsubstantiated since I have paid late charges because of those payments. How it is legal for you to charge someone multiple times for a bill being late? I already paid a fee for the late payments I made and I refuse to pay another fee just so this monopoly has extra money to invest. To me this is unlawful since I paid for said services plus I paid extra for the few times my payment was late. I am a single mother with 3 children and I only get paid every 2 weeks. My money goes to bills and feeding and clothing my kids. So what if my payment is a little late at least I paid the bill with the late charge. I absolutely refuse to pay any extra and feel that it is unlawful to be charged multiple times for the same service. I sure I am not the only person who feels this way.

Desired Settlement: Remove the charges from my account because the charge is unsubstantiated. I have paid extra in late fees and refuse to be charged multiple times for the same service that was provided in the past. If I wanted someone to hold my money for interest I would put it in a savings account. Your not a bank and you shouldn't act like one.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/11/21) */ A deposit has been billed based on account activity and in accordance with utility rules set forth by the Oklahoma Corporation Commission: 165:45 11 1. Deposits and interest (d) A residential consumer may be required to post a deposit as a condition of continued service if undisputed charges have become delinquent, with delinquent meaning a payment not received on or before the due date as posted on the bill, in two (2) out of the last twelve (12) billing periods or if the consumer has had service disconnected during the last twelve (12) months pursuant to OAC 165:45 11 11 or has presented a check subsequently dishonored. As a courtesy, the deposit was set up to bill in three installments beginning with the next bill.

11/28/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Forever wait times, used online service to set up gas service on Thursday, 11/6/2014 - STILL NOT COMPLETED. Tried calling ONG several times, left on hold forever to active new service for my 18 year old daughter just getting her first place on her own. On 11/6/2014, used the online activate service late morning due to long wait times and being at work. DID NOT see anywhere that it said a copy of the DL had to be submitted, NOR ANYWHERE to submit it at. I've NEVER supplied my DL or SS card. NEVER ONE EMAIL OR CALL until Monday, 11/10/2014 when service was to be activated telling her that she had to give a copy of her DL# and SS card. Lady was RUDE and did not give her a # to fax it to or an email address to send it to. She calls me - I try calling ONG at 11:47 - leave for a call back DUE TO LONG WAIT TIMES. Recording said call would be returned within 50 minutes. IT WAS 5:08PM. I missed the call - called back SEVEN TIMES only for the phone to either ring off the hook when transferred to a CS rep, or it would ring and then I would be put back on hold again. It was going into the que as no recording came on telling me all reps were busy. Called AGAIN this morning at 8:02 - THREE TIMES and get a recording that no one is available to assist me. FINALLY get through at at 8:04 and have to leave my # for a call back within 8 minutes. It's now been FIFTEEN MINUTES and no call. My kid is in a house WITH NO HEAT and temps are at and/or BELOW FREEZING.

Desired Settlement: SERVICE ACTIVATED TODAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/14) */ Our records indicate that the service was turned on for Ms. ******** November 13, 2014.

11/17/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I applied for financial assistance with the Muscogee Creek nation and was approved for $242.56 to pay for my $100.00 deposit as well as my $142.56 gas bill. So when i called to have the ONG rep to turn on my gas they claim they only received a commitment from Creek nation for $142.56, which I know is a lie because I spoke to Francis West the social worker and she said that a commitment to pay ONG $242.56 was sent on 11/04/2014. I am attaching a copy of this commitment that Musocogee Creek Nation sent to me as well...they are helping with my water and electric as well...but the main thing I want you to see is the $242.56 amount that they approved me for. yet ONG claims that their commitment that they received was for $142.56 and have refused to turn my gas on. I have a minor child in the house..and I want them investigated. because the commitment has been sent to them for the full payment. You can contact me by email or by phone at ************ *********************** (please see attached)

Desired Settlement: I am attaching a copy of this commitment that Musocogee Creek Nation sent to me as well...they are helping with my water and electric as well...but the main thing I want you to see is the $242.56 amount that they approved me for. yet ONG claims that their commitment that they received was for $142.56 and have refused to turn my gas on.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/12) */ Our records indication that the assistance certification was corrected and the service turned on November 7, 2014.

11/4/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Old gas line protruding from yard presents safety hazard. Several months ago ONG relocated our gas meter from the street corner to the driveway next to our garage. Part of the gas line was left protruding from the yard. I was told that as soon as the ground settled they would return to remove the old line. A few weeks went by and I called to complain of a gas odor, concerned that it may be emanating from the old line. The meter was inspected but was found to be in good working order. Nothing was done about the old line. On April 23 I notified the customer service division via email that the old gas line has still not been removed. I was told that I would be contacted regarding my concern. I was not contacted. On September 24 I contacted customer service again. They again told me that someone would contact me soon. I feel that they have had ample time to remove the old gas line. The gas line is on a street corner and presents a safety hazard to pedestrians.

Desired Settlement: Remove the old gas line as promised.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/23) */ Our records show that your old line was removed Wednesday, October 15, 2014. If you have any other questions or concerns, please contact our office.

10/24/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ONG has been contacted by phone at least a dozen times and in writing that ****** ** ******, ******************************* is DECEASED, and his bill will be paid as soon as I am certified as executor of his will by the court; however, ONG continues to dun this dead man and threaten legal actions.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) STOP DUNNING A DEAD MAN!!!!!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/10) */ The account has been coded to prevent further final bill amount reminders from mailing out and any collection activity has been suspended. If there is anything further we can do for your, please contact our office.

9/29/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ONG shows there is a past due amount that has been sent to collections that I have never been in or occupied. Twelve months ago I made an offer on a bank owned foreclosure. The house was vacant and in order to have inspections done the gas had to be turned on. A deposit was required. Upon giving the required deposit, the gas was turned on for the day of inspections and after it did not pass the cancel order was placed that same day 24 hours after it had been turned on. The balance was suppose to be returned at that time. After not receiving the deposit I assumed that it was a non-refundable deposit. After finding another house to make an offer on my credit was pulled and it showed that I was in collections therefore lowering my credit score drastically. I have repeatedly tried to contact ONG to get this resolved and the only resolve that they will give is pay the bill. I never lived in this house and they never gave any effort to contact me to let me know that there was an issue or a bill due, or past due for that. In order to get the gas turned on I had to provide all my information which to this date nothing has changed. According to ONG they did not get the cancel order and the gas remained on until the deposit ran out and the amount of $123 had gone unpaid and it was then they they turned it over to collections. They claim that they sent bills to the address of the unoccupied house to me before it was turned over to collections. Of course I never got any of these said bills seeing as how it was never owned or occupied by myself. I don't owe this bill and they will do nothing to resolve it.

Desired Settlement: I want this amount owed removed and taken out of collections and erased immediately off my credit.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/16) */ Service was initiated November 5, 2013 at Mr. ****** request. A deposit of $110 was billed on the initial statement along with a $35 service initiation charge. No payment was received on the account and the service was interrupted January 9, 2014 for the past due amount of $174.62. The billed deposit was removed from the account, and the account finaled with an outstanding balance of $129.74 after the billed deposit was removed. There is no record of a request to disconnect the service from Mr. ******. Once paid in full, the credit report update to reflect balance paid.

9/8/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failure to make payment arrangements I am a single mother of 3 and I make approximately 200-300 every 2 weeks. I just made a payment on July 24th in the amount of $201.00 at which time I attempted to make payment arrangements on a future amount that was going to be due and was denied. I have left messages with public assistance agencies to help with the future payment and have informed ONG of when I get paid and how much I can pay. I received a notice on Friday 8/15/14 that said I needed to pay 233.00 or make satisfactory arrangements by 8/18/14. Since I work until 7pm they were not open on Friday when I received the bill upon arriving home from work. I called first thing Monday 8/18 and was refused a payment arrangement even though the office was closed by the time I got home from work on Friday and I get paid on Friday and could pay it then and explained my situation. This is a 48 hour notice and if my mail runs while I am at work and they send it to be delivered on a Friday how is one to call before 48 hours if the office is not open and you do not receive the notice until after office hours? Not to mention I have tried for several weeks by calling once a week to get them to give me an arrangement for this Friday when I get paid.They continue to tell me they can not give me an arrangement when the bills say to call and make arrangements if you cannot pay your bill on time. They think they can get away with treating their customers badly and have horrible customer service and put things in writing that they do not hold themselves to just because they are a conglomerate and are the only company available for this service. I think it is an injustice that they put in writing that they will make payment arrangements but when one calls they refuse and then charge you extra fees for being late when you have notified them before hand when you can pay your bill. If you can't honor what you put in writing it should not be put in writing because it is false advertisement.

Desired Settlement: I would like this company to hold themselves to their word and allow payment arrangements when in every one of their billing statements and notices they say one can call and make payment arrangements. If they are not going to honor what they put in writing they should not offer this. It is false advertisement.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/08/27) */ A 10-day disconnect notice was mailed August 7, 2014 and a 48-hour notice was included with the customer's regular bill on August 9, 2014. Both notices indicated service interruption scheduled on or after 08/08/14 that payment must be received or arrangements made before August 18, 2014. There was no response from the customer prior to August 18, 2014. The customer did call on August 18, 2014, but there was already a disconnect order out in the field and arrangements are not available on or after the scheduled date of disconnect. The disconnect order was worked as scheduled on August 18, 2014, but the service was left on as a courtesy to give the customer time to make a payment. Payment was received August 22, 2014. The account is not in collection status at this time.

8/4/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Billing and Fees Resulting from their own administrative idiocy. I travel regionally for work quite a bit, and had to be out of town for an extended period of time. This resulted in my service being disconnected. No biggie. I paid my past due balance as well as an extra 130 dollars because I was going to have to leave town again for a while and I wanted to have a credit with them. I called, they sent a tech, he turned my gas back on, all was well. SEVERAL WEEKS Later, at 1700 my dog began barking and growling at the back door. There was an ONG tech in my backyard, trespassing, which from what I understand is still illegal in this country. But hey, when you are a billion dollar monopoly you can do whatever you want. I asked him what was going on, he said that the computer told them that there was unauthorized usage on my gas meter. At first I didn't understand that. Then he stated that my gas should still be off. I asked him to wait while I called ONG. I finally got one of their "customer service" people on the phone. She confirmed that not only was I current, I was well ahead of my bill. She then stated that they tech was there because they show my gas should still be turned off. I told her it has been on for three and a half weeks since the guy came out. She stated that they had no record of this. I said that must be a mistake. Then she proceeded to act like I had somehow turned the gas on myself, which I am fairly sure is not possible. Anyhow, I told her, well it is on, and my bill is current. So he doesn't need to shut it off regardless right. No, in fact. The tech turned my gas off, then I had to schedule a reconnect for the next day. Keep in mind, I literally had dinner cooking in the oven when the tech trespassed in to my backyard. I explained to them how absurd this entire thing was, to turn off gas for a customer that is well ahead of their bill. Fast forward to me receiving my bill their administrative SNAFU. ACTUAL GAS USED. 55.76 Service Charge (Whatever that means) 28.76 Various Taxes, and other penny annie crap they use to fatten their pockets. like a "Franchise Fee" Apparently they are ********'s. All that totals 90.63 Plus the 50.00 reconnect that I do owe, for when he turned it on the first time. We are at. 140.63. My actual bill includes the charge "Unauthorized Gas Use" 100.00 "Deposit Billed" 165.00 "Credit Balance Refund" 131.85 For a grand total of 537.48 It gets better, they then credited the 131.85 to my 537.48 bill. They actually charged me for my credit, and then credited it to my charges. Absolutely Unreal. I called customer service and got the general responses that big monopolies are allowed to give people when there is no competition for their services, and so are held to no standard. In hindsight, the day the guy originally showed up to turn my gas back on, I was working from my home office that has a front facing window. I literally sat here as the tech pulled up, stopped for a few minutes and was writing on something in his truck something. I watched him put the truck in gear and slowly start moving forward as he was looking at his phone, so I went out my front door. He saw me, stopped, put the truck back in park, and got out. AND THEN TURNED MY GAS ON, WATER HEATER AND ALL. Can the BBB please help get this resolved. It seems the only way to ever get ONG to right their wrongs is through you guys. Please help.

Desired Settlement: I would like all of the ridiculous charges of "unauthorized use","Deposits", ANDTHE CHARGE FOR MY CREDIT, that one just floors me, removed, and current bill to reflect what I actually owe them. A grand total of Eight Dollars, and Seventy-eight cents. I will proactively go ahead and pay this amount tomorrow. Well ahead of the due date of 7/18/2014.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/23) */ Our records indicate that the service at Mr. ************* residence was interrupted May 8, 2014 for nonpayment of the past due amount of $269.67. A final bill was issued May 19, 2014 that reflected a previous balance of $347.05, and final utility charges of $42.82. The customer's $170 deposit and $4.67 in interest were applied to the total balance owed, leaving an outstanding balance of $215.20. A payment of $347.05 posted to the account 05/20/14, leaving a credit balance of $131.85. There was no record of a request to reconnect the service and a refund check was issued June 5, 2014 for the $131.85. On the same date, June 5, 2014, the meter was pulled at the customer's residence for unauthorized gas consumption. The service was reconnected June 6, 2014, based on the customer's request. On June 25, 2014, a bill was issued for $405.63. The bill reflects the $131.85 credit balance and subsequent transaction required to issue the refund check, $50 Reconnect charge, $100 Unauthorized Gas Use charge and $165 Deposit, along with $90.63 in utility charges. Research into the events on the account, confirm that the charges billed on June 25, 2014 are valid. The account is eligible for payment arrangements.

7/8/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Kept billing me for service I requested shut off. Closed my business in Oklahoma. Sent notices to ONG, electric provider, internet provider, water, and landlord. Everyone else turned off their service on the date I requested, however ONG left the gas running. The gas for the business (retail store) consisted of a 5 gallon water heater that was used for customers to be able to wash their hands with warm water in the restroom, and heat. Closed my store in May of 2008. ONG sent a bill for May in June of 2008 and I paid it, along with the other utilities. In July I received a bill for gas usage in June, for the amount of $37. While this is a small amount, I can't on principle pay $37 for a five gallon water tank that is an in empty store with no one using it, least of all after I had asked the service to be turned off. I called and informed them that I requested the gas be turned off, and mentioned that I had told everyone else so I am not sure what happened with them. Within 5 seconds of me finishing my sentence they smugly said they don't have any record of me asking to turn it off. I asked it to be turned off and informed them I would not be paying for a service I asked to be cancelled and they failed to cancel. The very next month they sent an additional bill for July's "usage" to the same amount of $37. I called them again and they said the exact same thing as before, there is no record of me asking to have the service removed. They did inform me that if I didn't pay the bill, they would be forced to shut off my gas. I decided that after asking to have my gas shut off in May, and then again in June, that this was actually the only way that I could get ONG to listen to me and shut off the service. I had already moved to a different state when the forwarded bill came to me from Oklahoma. They finally shut the service off in August. They sent the bill to collections and it ended up on my credit report. I decided I am not paying for their mistake. Almost seven years later I am in the process of moving and they put a freeze on the move due to me "owing" Oklahoma Natural Gas from 2008. Now if I want to move into the house, I have to pay the collections agency for a service I didn't receive, and clearly asked to be turned off. Since ONG doesn't have any competitors in various markets, they don't have any reason to provide a good service or treat customers with respect. In this case ONG now has me in between a rock and a hard place billing me for a service they never actually provided and for a service I never asked to receive.

Desired Settlement: Since my family and I are unable to move into our new home due to this fraudulent series of bills, I am asking you to refund me the amount that I have to pay the collections agency to get this taken care of so we can move. As well as $100 for having to take off of work tomorrow for several hours driving around the DFW area (this is actually much less than I make in a half day but I want to set out the olive branch in this case). I have to get a cashiers check during bank hours to pay the collections agency you chose, ****************************. This would be a total of $164.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/25) */ Our records indicate gas service was initiated in the name of ****************** November 17, 2005. As of May 9, 2007, the account balance was $193.73. A payment of $158.18 posted to the account May 10, 2007, leaving a balance of $35.55 owing for the service period covering April 7, 2007 - May 7, 2007. ****************** called August 20, 2007, and requested that the account be finaled. The account finaled as of August 21, 2007 with a balance of $116.70. Based on a request received at the time, a billing adjustment was performed to reflect a final service date of June 1, 2007. A total of $52.54 was reversed from the account, resulting in a final bill of $28.61 for service from May 7, 2007 - June 1, 2007, which, along with the $35.55 balance from May 2007, brought the final balance owed on the account to $64.16. There is no indication that any further adjustment is due on this account.

6/16/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ive Ive called them several times askin why my bill shot up wen we didnt even have gas at the time

Desired Settlement: I baught this house out right in jn 2014 and it had been forclosed on and sent to auctuion ive got the tittle n abstract in my house I know they where all cleared. But the first month of jan I payed off the balance ive got that bil Statement saying this. We couldnt g3t it turned on they came out dug up our whole front yard n replaced itbthen there was a leak under the house so we hired someone who found it n replaced that the 1st wk of feb finally we had heat but then 3 days later out antiquck heater blew out no more gas the rest of feb. This is 5he timebin question.. now im phidacly dissbled not retarted I just want this all clearef up I dont have 400plus doll to pay towareds anyone elses bill.. n im almost positive this is what they want me to do we didnt use any gas during thease 2 months everytime I call them they give me another stupid answer!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/04) */ Our records indicate a supervisor visited with you this morning and explained the billing records for your account. The arrangements discussed have been entered on your account and collection activity has been terminated. If you have any further concerns, please contact our office. We appreciate the opportunity to be of service.

4/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Shutoff notices because they didn't process my payment timely and rude, poor customer service. Unacceptably rude customer service every time. I received notices of shutoff well after my payment had been sent. My payment was sent on time. ONG takes an inordinate amount of time to process check payments (not my problem). My check cleared the bank in plenty of time, yet still received cutoff notices. Called to make sure this was clear on my account and was met with an indescribably rude, "know it all" attitude from customer service. I have had to have 3 issues resolved in the past year with this company, all through BBB representative, and all because it boiled down to extremely rude and beligerant customer service representatives who would rather tell me how much they know as opposed to listening to a customer and seeing that issues are an easy fix. I have been hung up on, accused of not paying my bill, accused on late payments, and told there is no help, only to "recommend" to me that things should be done differently (such as doing automatic debits, etc.). I pay by check. I will not do an auto draft. I refuse to be penalized for paying by card over the phone or internet. So I pay by check. On time. Not my problem the check goes to another state and sits somewhere, sometimes for over two weeks, prior to it being processed. Furthermore, regardless of any processing issues on ONG's end, there is no reason whatsoever to be treated so poorly when I call to speak with a representative. Since moving to this state, I have never once been treated respectfully or considerately by an ONG representative except when I've had to deal with the BBB representative. As a customer, I am tired of being treated like trash, especially when I call about problems that are beyond my control.

Desired Settlement: An apology. Better customer service. To make sure there are no late payment marks against my account for what is clearly beyond my control in this matter.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/04/17) */ We appreciate hearing from you and thank you for your feedback. As mentioned, disconnect notices were issued indicating service interruption was nearing. Fortunately, payment arrived and collection activity was halted. No late payment charges were incurred in this instance. Payment by electronic check may be an option to consider, there is no fee assessed. The transaction can be conducted through the website or by phone. Electronic checks differ from an automatic payment, as they are entered by the customer each month. A customer service representative can also assist with processing an electronic check payment and can be reached at ************ for this and other services. The level of service you receive is important to us and we are sorry that we didn't meet your expectation in this instance. We look forward to future opportunities to serve your energy needs.

3/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They broke our mirror on the door of our hotwater heater and did not admit it.they overbilled and missed a payment of canceled check. They overbilled/ They missed our Jan payment of a cancled check on account ending in **** at (Bank Name). Then they overbilled @$300+ for gas usage when we were absent from home and furnace was turned down to 68 with no showers, dishwasher or washer ect. No usage. our bills ran about $57 to $91 normally. They sent a service man out. He broke the mirror on our den door to the hotwater heater and did not tell us. Then he turned off the hotwater heater and refused to restart it. American Home Shield Insurance Co said he shouldn't have done that and they would charge $75 to turn it back on. It will cost about $250-300 to replace mirror door too. Then a second repairman came tonight and he said there was a gas leak and that the meter must be changed to be located at the house instead.

Desired Settlement: I want the extravagant bill for gas we were not home to use in late jan and early feb cancled. I want the broken mirror door replaced with estimates from HomeDepot. I want the meter changed out to a new one and more accurate billing in the future. I want a full credit for this month for the whole day ruined and robbed of my valuable time and hourly wage and tomorrow's for the repairs. I want at least $400 sent to me and all this month bill canceled.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/03/12) */ Based on your correspondence, the following information is being provided. Account records for your address reflect the recent billing statements referenced, are accurate. The meter reading was also recently verified as being correct. Additionally, we communicated with you recently regarding a payment referenced as missing and confirmed that the payment did apply to your account. Please provide our office with detailed information on any payments you still show outstanding and we will be glad take a look for any necessary correction that may be needed. Lastly, while we have no record of breaking a mirror while on your property, you may submit a claim for payment consideration. Please contact our office for a claim form, if interested. In order to be considered for payment, the completed claim form will need to include the proof of purchase receipt for the replacement. It is also important to note that submission of a claim does not guarantee payment. Thank you for the opportunity to be of service.

3/27/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have to pay someone else outstanding balance from 2.5 years ago because they called to pay my bill and admitted staying with me for a couple weeks. I received 2 bills and shutoff notices on March 7 and March 11 2014. I checked my account and noticed all my monthly bills were paid to date. I called to inquire and was told the charges were from the person (******)calling in to pay my gas bill. They (*******, the customer service rep) stated ****** had an outstanding debt from a previous residence. ******* said that I am now responsible for the $246.56 she owed since she has paid on my account and admitted she had been staying at my residence. Because of this they also added her onto my account without my prior authorization. I then asked to speak to a supervisor, ***** then got on the phone to tell me the same thing. I was liable and if not paid by the 20th of March my gas would be shut off. I then asked for someone higher than her and was transferred to ONG debt collection department and spoke to ****** and was told it was okay to do. I spoke with ****** after getting off the phone with ONG, She confirmed she was not living at the previous of ************************ in December 2011, which is when ONG stated the balance was from. This balance was accrued from her ex boyfriend's wife who moved in months earlier and was court ordered to change utilities into her name but did not. Once again ****** was not listed on the bill but was added to the account for paying the utilities from months earlier. ONG stated if she pays towards the bill she must then be added to the account. I asked ******* and *****,if I called up to pay a neighbors bill and stated I was staying there, (regardless of the length of time) and I called in would they then be liable for my debts if I had any at the time? She said, " Yes but people don't do that." How is it allowed for a company who uses someones credit, to be able to add someone to the account without knowledge or approval of the account holder? How can I be responsible for someones balance from a previous address who I did not add to my account, but simply called in to pay my gas bill? I have always paid my bill without ever getting a cutoff notice. On top of the inability to properly explain the situation, both the first customer service rep and her boss had attitudes and the lack of desire to help or give a good explanation.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund in the amount of $246.56, this is the amount I personally never accrued and was someone else's balance I should not be responsible for. MY account has always been in good standing and up to date.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/18) */ Ms. ********'s name and balance were added to your account in error. Her name and the $246.56 balance have both been removed from your account. The March bill was issued just prior to the reversal transaction, so please disregard the balance owed on the bill. Your account currently has a credit balance of $135.73 that can either be applied to future bills or refunded by check. Please advise our office on your preference at **************. We appreciate the opportunity to serve your energy needs.

3/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ONG came to our house and removed a portion of our driveway which is fine. What is not ok is that we were never contacted prior to them doing so. We came home from work to find our driveway torn apart. The man working in the hole told us there must have been some type of lack of communication from his people. Now we have a new slab of cement in the hole which is good however, all of the extra from the driveway is now sitting in our yard along with the other debris left behind. Our yard looks atrocious and the cement itself does not look great. My complaint is being sent to bbb because this is the second time ONG has done work on our property and left our yard looking worse than before. If you are going to be on someone else's property I believe you should leave it the same as you found it. We have contacted them several times and can't get a reply.

Desired Settlement: I would like for ONG to come back and make our yard the way it was previously. We are trying to sell our house and it's not helping to have it look the way it does.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/12) */ Restoration work was completed on this property March 11, 2014. A supervisor will try to make contact with you to verify that the work is satisfactory.

3/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have asked for almost two weeks for someone to come out and fix a pipe. I can't even move into my house and every time I call they say someone is Going to call me back and no one has. This is the worst customer service I have ever dealt with

Desired Settlement: None I just need someone to come out and fix my pipe so my gas can get turned on

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/27) */ Our records indicate that this service line has been replaced and your service turned on February 21, 2014. Please let us know if we can be of further assistance.

2/21/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Frivolous charges In setting up my gas service, the company had to send a technician to come to the house and turn the gas on. Well, first, they don't give any firm time that they are coming, so the homeowner has to stay home all day waiting for someone to come. Well, I had stuff to do, and we had an agreement for them to call when they were on their way. They called me, and I told them I would be home in 15 or 20 minutes, they said ok. When they got there and I wasn't there yet, instead of calling and verifying that I was there or on my way, they left, and charged me a trip charge for me not being there. Then I had to reschedule and sit and wait all morning for them to arrive. I explained to them the situation and asked them to remove the charge but they refused.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be credited the $25 that was unfairly charged.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/19) */ We regret the recent difficulties you have experienced restoring your gas service. As a courtesy, the $25 trip charge has been removed from your account. You are a valued customer, Mr. *******, and we hope your future contact with Oklahoma Natural Gas is more positive.

12/2/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Cancelled service on a home that was sold 7 days after billing period and they charged entire month Cancelled service on a home that sold on the last day of the billing period for 7 days later and they did not inform me that they would charge me an entire months service charge.

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive a refund for the $28.77 service charge. When I called they were quite arrogant and told me they wished I could find someone else to buy my natural gas from.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/11/06) */ Our records indicate your gas account was finaled on October 14, 2013 based on your request. The final bill included service from October 7 through October 14, 2013. Each billing generated based on meter readings does include a service charge, regardless of the number of days. ONG's approved rates do not allow for the prorating of the service charges. We appreciate the opportunity to serve your energy needs. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 10, 2013/11/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This should have been explained at the time of cancellation Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2013/11/20) */ Your concern will be forward to the appropriate department for review. We appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention.

11/4/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Fraud case in 2007. This company has never dropped the charges even though they have proof of my innocence from 2 police reports filed about the fraud In 2007 a lady in Tulsa Oklahoma stole my credit card while I was attending a horse show at the E-Plex. In 2007 I filed a fraud report and contacted the 3 major credit bureaus, filed 2 police reports (Tulsa, OK and Springfield, MO), hired 2 privet detectives, contacted my credit card company and sent all the businesses (this means you) that were involved in the fraud copies of all of the above information. I have sent Oklahoma Natural Gas copies of the 2 police reports that were filed back in 2007 when the fraud case was opened. This company instead of researching the information provided to them, ignored all the signs that an innocent person was wronged. After 6 years of fighting with this horrible company, I have sent my case to the Attorney Generals office in Jefferson City, Missouri. I have never lived in Tulsa Oklahoma and I can prove it. My privet detectives caught the lady that stole my card and put her in jail. All the other companies involved with this fraud case have dropped the charges. Why won't this horrible company leave me and my credit score alone!!!! I am not responsible for any charges accrued to this company by fraud, and guess what I CAN PROVE IT!!!!!!!!!! I still have the original police reports and fraud letters that were sent to and from the 3 major credit bureaus. I want my credit restored!!!!! I want this company off my credit report!!!!! I want this company to fix all the years of destruction it has done to my credit!!!! I HOPE YOU ARE LISTENING NOW!!!!! I AM INNOCENT, I CAN PROVE IT!!!! YOU KNOW IT BECAUSE YOU HAVE BEEN FAXED THE POLICE REPORTS AND FAILED TO DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT!!!!!!!!! THIS CITIZEN OF THE UNITED STATES IS FET UP WITH YOUR CONTINUOUS DENILE OF MY INNOCENCE. AS I STATED BEFORE THE ATTORNEY GENERAL'S OFFICE IN JEFFERSON CITY WILL BE IN TOUCH. YOU NEED TO FIX THIS NOW!!!!!!!!!!!! SINCERELY, A VERY UPSET USA CITIZEN!!!!!! ***************** REGARDING: partial account #********* address ID #********* amount $52 my address at the time of the fraud was: ****************************************************

Desired Settlement: This company needs to fix my credit score. Your company has destroyed my credit and harassed me enough. I have endured many hardships due to my credit score being low and your company is the main cause of the problem. I have the original police reports stating my innocence. This case and the charges that were accrued to your company have always been fraud, and I have sent you (numerous times) all of the information you need to release the charges from my name. I want your company to contact the 3 major credit bureaus and release the charges that you still hold against me. The Attorney General in Jefferson City Missouri will be in touch. Sincerely, Very Upset USA Citizen, ****************

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/23) */ Our records indicate that a supervisor visited with you on October 18, 2013. Your name has been removed from the account with the outstanding balance and the reporting agency has been contacted and advised that you are not responsible for the balance owed. We apologize for any inconvenience or concern that this may have caused you, and hope that any future contact with Oklahoma Natural Gas is more positive.

11/1/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Interrupted gas service for maintenance without notification and did not make a valid attempt to restart service. I was informed 2 weeks ago that my gas meter would be moved up to my house which would involve replacing my gas line. I was never told the exact date and apparently this occurred today. They turned my gas off to move my meter and never turned the gas back on. When calling the ONG customer service center they gave no information except "it should be turned back on tonight." This is unacceptable and I wish there was something that could be done.

Desired Settlement: I want them to turn my gas back on.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/31) */ Our records indicate that the customer's service was restored October 28, 2013 at approximately 9:00pm. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/11/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) They fail to see the issue. First I was never informed when the work would be performed so we could plan accordingly to be without gas for a period of time. Second, the workers did not attempt to inform us of when the gas would be restored, they just left and we had to chase them down. They said before 7pm. When calling customer service no assurance was given when it would be turned back on. Yes, it was after 9pm when it was finally turned back on, but that is pathetic customer service. They had already planned for the outage by having the crew there so there should have been someone scheduled to be out there to turn it on as soon as possible.

10/14/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had no idea my service was being suspended. I come home see its cut snd immediatly pay it. Now they are telling me I have all kinds of fees. I have been at this address for 13 years. I refuse to pay a deposit due to a suspension which I paid immidatly. Then the lady says someone has to be here. Well no one was here when you cut it off

Desired Settlement: No deposit snd discuss business practices

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/01) */ Thank you for your inquiry Mrs. *******, our records indicate service has been reconnected. Your recent inquiry questions a deposit, which is required of account holders in similar situations. As a courtesy, no deposit will be billed at this time. We appreciate you as a long-term customer and look forward to serving your future energy needs.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Oklahoma Natural Gas Company
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart