BBB Accredited Business since

Continuum Retail Energy Services, LLC

Phone: (918) 492-2840 Fax: (918) 492-3075 1323 E 71st Street # 300, Tulsa, OK 74136 http://www.seminoleenergy.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Continuum Retail Energy Services, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Continuum Retail Energy Services, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 14 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

14 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 12 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 14

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

7 Customer Reviews on Continuum Retail Energy Services, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 6
Total Customer Reviews 7

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 02, 2008 Business started: 07/01/1998 Business started locally: 07/01/1998 Business incorporated 07/20/1998 in OK
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Jason Few, President & CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jason Few, President & CEO
Business Category

Natural Gas Companies Oil & Gas Exploration & Development Energy Conservation Products & Services

Alternate Business Names
Continuum Energy Continuum Energy Services Continuum Energy Services, LLC Continuum Retail Energy Services Lakeshore Energy Services, LLC Dba Continuum Energy Seminole Energy Services, LLC

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Continuum Retail Energy Services, LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1323 E 71st Street # 300

    Tulsa, OK 74136 (918) 492-2840

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/7/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 1/13/2016, a saleslady from Continuum Energy LLC came to my door and sold me lower gas service if I switched from Pacific Gas & Electric to Continuum Energy. She guaranteed me that my bill will be much lower and showed me their rates comparing to PG&E's. However, at the time, she said very little about the delivery charge from PG&E. Not knowing the whole picture, I agreed and signed a contract to allow Continuum to be switched into the gas portion of my utility bill. I noticed a cancellation penalty clause of $50 and asked. I was told that I will be so happy with its savings and would never have to cancel. 3 months later in late April when I reviewed the first bill for February which I received in late March & noticed that my gas bill was actually 50% higher than normal. I was out of the country in late April so I called on the first business day of May which was 5/2/16. I called and asked for an explanation and was told that Continuum was not aware of PG&E delivery charge and therefore could not address my complaint. I told them about the misleading sales call and was told that they had no control over what their salespeople said. I got very angry and demanded to stop the service due to misrepresentation. Tbey told me that I already passed the 30-day grace period therefore they will charge me a $50 penalty for cancellation. I believe that when a cancellation is due to a misrepresentation of the product or service rendered, the customer should not be charged a penalty. And it is now clear that the penalty clause was put in because they already knew about these issues and purposely misled potential customers like me. When I called to dispute the higher charges, it was 38 days after I received my fist bill with Continuum from PG&E 3/28/16, 8 days longer than their 30-grace period of cancellation. However, if the product or service was not misrepresented, the extra 8 days nor the cancellation fee would never be an issue. A scam or a fraud is always a scam and a fraud no matter what.

Desired Settlement: Due to the gross misrepresentation of the product and service to get me to sign up, I respectfully request that the penalty charge be reversed immediately. I am happy and willing to pay for the higher charges of the gas usage that I consumed. BUT NOT THE CANCELLATION PENALTY DUE TO THEIR MISREPRESENTATION OF THE PRODUCT AND SERVICE RENDERED.

Business Response:

Please see our below response in regards to BBB Case No. ********:

We regret any inconvenience Mr. ***** may have experienced and Continuum Energy would like to address this matter and provide a resolution as soon as possible.

After review of the complaint, we have found that Mr. ***** enrolled through a door-to-door sales agent and conducted a third-party verification call. On the verification call, charges were explained and were accepted by the customer. It was also explained that PG&E would continue to assess delivery charges- which do not increase as a result of having an alternate gas supplier, rather, may increase when the usage at the location increases. The customer was mailed a welcome letter that included a copy of the contract with terms and conditions. Mr. ***** had a 30-day window for cancellation without an early termination fee from the time his first statement was generated. Unfortunately, Mr. ***** has cancelled outside this window and was properly assessed the $50 cancellation fee.

 

Thank you for your time,

Customer Care Team

Business Response:

Please see our below response in regards to BBB Case No. 11456015:

We regret that MR. ***** feels that he was deceived. As previously stated all charges were explained on the recorded call that MR. Hicks took part of to enroll with Continuum Energy. In the recording as well as on the paper copy of the contract it explains that delivery charges will be applied separately by PG&E. PG&E delivery charges do not increase when the customer changes supplier. Delivery charges may increase as a result of increased usage. We will Mr. ***** to provide further details. 

Thank you for your time,

Customer Care Team

Consumer Response:

 
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Continuum Sales Rep specifically sold me that I will save money from switching to Continuum Energy including the PG&E delivery charges. That contradicted my reality. After switching over, my first combined bill of PG&E delivery charge plus Continuum Energy gas bill immediately went up 50%. Where is the saving that was promised me? I was totally misled with a bold face lie so they can scam me into switching to buy gas from Continuum Energy.

Any consumer who would like to save money after hearing their compelling sales speech, would agree to their intentional deceitful contract both written and verbal.

Continuum Energy intentionally deceived me and other consumer to switching my gas purchase from PG&E to Continuum Energy with a promise of big money saving. As soon as the scam was discovered, I immediately wanted to stop it and was confronted with their lack of awareness and control of PG&E delivery charges. They also covered themselves by a written contract with a 30-day cancellation and a recording stating the there is a PG&E delivery charge. What really happened was that they failed to inform me that the combined charge from PG&E delivery charge and their gas charge would totally contradict the Sales rep's lies about saving me big money by switching over to them. What a total scam?

If they did specifically point that out, why would I or any other consumer switch our gas purchase from PG&E to them. So what I am left with afterward is to accept the higher combined bill from both of them or suffer a early termination fee from switching back to PG&E. It was a scam from the beginning.

Sincerely,

******* *****

4/8/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: About 2 weeks ago a representative (******** *****) showed up at my mother in law's door, stating he was PGE. She and my father in law speak absolutely no English, only Russian and Armenian, also they are both in their 70s. The representative stated he was a PGE representative and wanted to see their PGE bill, my mother in law not knowing any better gave him her PGE bill, he then started writing her information down. At this point she called my husband who spoke with the representative which confirmed he was not with PGE, my husband then told him to leave, and that my in laws were not interested. My father in law tried to get the paper he wrote their information on which he refused to give and he left. We contacted PGE and they said being that she did not sign anything, we should be OK. Yesterday they received a letter stating they are enrolled with this company as a 3rd party supplier. I spoke with ********** and supervisor *************, explained the situation. They stated that my mother in law agreed so they weren't voiding/canceling the agreement. It is unethical to conduct this kind of business especially if the customer does not understand nor speak English to understand. This business took advantage of an elderly non English speaking person! PGE can not help us, it has to go through this company which has been unsuccessful.

Desired Settlement: I want the company to cancel/void this fraudulent agreement. I need this taken care of as soon as possible or we will start the legal process. I do not want them billed for something they never agreed upon especially they were taken advantage of.

Business Response:

 

Thank you for taking the time to contact Continuum Energy and bringing to our attention the complaint filed by the consumer. We regret any inconvenience the consumer experienced and Continuum Energy has every desire to address this matter and provide a solution as soon as possible.

A thorough investigation was initiated by our Operations Department to gather all the necessary details regarding the consumer’s call to our Call Center on March 10, 2016.

As stated in the consumer’s BBB complaint, the consumer’s daughter-in-law contacted our Call Center on March 10, 2016 and spoke with our Customer Service Representative. When asked by our CSR to speak with the account holder to initiate the cancel request, the consumer’s daughter-in-law asked to speak with a supervisor. As notated in the consumer’s account, the Call Center Supervisor received the call. During the call, the Call Center Supervisor accepted the daughter-in-law’s request for cancellation on behalf of the account holder. It was explained the consumer’s start date for gas services with Continuum Energy to begin as of March 21, 2016. And by submitting a request for cancellation on March 10, 2016, the utility company, PG&E could cancel the enrollment from becoming active on March 21, 2016. However, it was also explained the completion of the request for cancellation of services is not an immediate process. The completion of the request for cancellation of services is fulfilled by the utility company, PG&E within 1-2 billing cycles as final meter reading must be taken by the utility company to conclude services.

Transaction records received from the utility company, PG&E on March 16, 2016 confirmed acceptance of the cancellation order that was originally submitted by Continuum Energy on March 10, 2016. The acceptance by the utility company, PG&E acknowledged that the consumer’s enrollment with Continuum Energy was cancelled before the start date of March 21, 2016. Therefore, the consumer’s gas services did not flow with Continuum Energy and remained the same as before.

Furthermore, Continuum Energy is taking the necessary steps in securing the consumer no longer be contacted by door-to-door marketing campaigns offering Continuum Energy gas services. In order to achieve this, a request to immediately apply the consumer’s contact information to our Internal Do Not Solicit list was sent to the marketing department today, March 28, 2016. Going forward, door-to-door marketing campaigns offering Continuum Energy gas services will cease.

In closing, Continuum Energy would like to thank the Better Business Bureau and the consumer for bringing to our attention the complaint filed. We hope to have addressed this matter thoroughly and with much success.

 

 

3/14/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I DID NOT issue a change of my gas service from **** to Continuum Energy Services LLC. A letter was sent on January 7th 2016 to my home stating that my **** gas services will be changed to Continuum Energy Services LLC. I DID NOT authorize this change. In the letter it has a gas service agreement # ********* and states that the account change effective date is : February 17, 2016. I've been with **** for 40 some years and do not want to change services.

Desired Settlement: I want to be switched back to PG&E services that I had before this unauthorized switch of service. I DO NOT want to incur any disconnect fee or have to pay anything for this change to my services.

Business Response: Thank you for taking the time to contact Continuum Energy and bringing to our attention the complaint filed by the consumer. We regret any inconvenience the consumer experienced and Continuum Energy has every desire to address this matter and provide a solution as soon as possible.

A thorough investigation was initiated by our Operations Department to gather all the necessary details regarding the consumer's enrollment and/or account in question.

Upon completion of the investigation, our Operations Department confirmed a successful enrollment with Continuum Energy into the Index Priced Program. The gas service enrollment was initiated on January 2, 2016 via door-to-door sales marketing channel. The utility company, ******* *** * ******** ****** confirmed the switch start date of February 17, 2016 for gas services to begin with Continuum Energy.

Within the first two weeks following the completion of the successful enrollment with a natural gas supplier, the utility company, ******* *** * ******** ****** sends the consumer a notification via mail regarding change of the consumption services. Also, the selected natural gas supplier will generally send a Welcome Letter/Packet to the consumer within this same time frame. Continuum Energy records confirm the Welcome Letter/Packet was sent via mail to the consumer on January 6, 2016. If the consumer feels the enrollment with the natural gas supplier was in error and/or in question, consumer has the right to rescind services.

As stated in the consumer's BBB complaint, a notification via mail was received by the consumer on January 7, 2016. Per our Customer Service Department records, Continuum Energy was contacted by the consumer's family member (son) on January 27, 2016 requesting to cancel his father's enrollment prior to the confirmed switch start date of February 17, 2016. That same day, January 27, 2016, our Operations Department sent a cancellation form to the son's email address requesting for the consumer's signature as authorization to proceed with the cancellation request. Continuum Energy received the signed cancellation form on February 4, 2016 authorizing the consumer's request for cancellation.

Upon receipt of the signed cancellation request form, Continuum Energy submitted a cancellation order to the utility company, **** on February 5, 2016. Transaction records received from the utility company, **** on February 10, 2016 confirmed acceptance of the cancellation order. The acceptance by the utility company, **** acknowledged the consumer's enrollment with Continuum Energy was ceased before the switch start date of February 17, 2016. Consumer's gas services will not flow with Continuum Energy and will remain the same as before.

Furthermore, Continuum Energy has taken the necessary steps in securing the consumer no longer be contacted by door-to-door marketing campaigns offering Continuum Energy gas services. In order to achieve this, a request to immediately apply the consumer's contact information to our Internal Do Not Solicit list was sent to the marketing department today, February 12, 2016. Going forward, door-to-door marketing campaigns offering Continuum Energy gas services will cease.

In closing, Continuum Energy would like to thank the Better Business Bureau and the consumer for bringing to our attention the complaint filed. We hope to have addressed this matter thoroughly and with much success.

Thank you,
Continuum Energy

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I understand the response they gave, but let me see if I got it right. Continuum Energy Stated that after there investigation that the Operations Department confirmed a successful enrollment with Continuum Energy into the Index Priced Program. The gas service enrollment was initiated on January 2, 2016 via door-to-door sales marketing channel, but at that time they did not need to have a signature to authorize the switch of services supposedly all they needed was a verbal YES that was Never given. Now for me to cancel service from Continuum Energy I had to have the Operations Department send out a cancellation form requesting for the consumer's signature as authorization to proceed with the cancellation request. I still need to confirm with **** to see if the changes that were made will not cost me anything to change back to a service that I originally had. This all started on January 2nd and a month later here I'am.

Business Response:

Thank you for taking the time to contact Continuum Energy and brining to our attention the consumer’s rebuttal. We regret any inconvenience the consumer experienced awaiting a response from our company. Continuum Energy has every desire to address this matter and provide a solution as soon as possible

 

In response to the consumer’s rebuttal, Continuum Energy would first like to apologize to the consumer for their time invested in this ongoing matter.

 

As stated in Continuum Energy’s original response from February 12, 2016, Continuum Energy’s Customer Service Department was contacted by the consumer’s family member (son) on January 27, 2016 requesting to cancel his father’s enrollment prior to the confirmed switch start date of February 17, 2016. That same day, January 27, 2016, our Operations Department sent a cancellation form to the son’s email address requesting for the consumer’s signature as authorization to proceed with the cancellation request. Continuum Energy received the signed cancellation form on February 4, 2016 authorizing the consumer’s request for cancellation.

 

Upon receipt of the signed cancellation request form, Continuum Energy submitted a cancellation order to the utility company, **** on February 5, 2016. Transaction records received from the utility company, **** on February 10, 2016 confirmed acceptance of the cancellation order. The acceptance by the utility company, **** acknowledged the consumer’s enrollment with Continuum Energy was ceased before the switch start date of February 17, 2016. Consumer’s gas services will not flow with Continuum Energy and will remain the same as before.

 

In response to the consumer’s desired outcome, the consumer’s enrollment with Continuum Energy did not flow. Today, March 7, 2016, our Operations Department confirmed the consumer’s enrollment was ceased originally on February 10, 2016 which was acknowledged by the utility company, ****. Due to the enrollment being ceased by the utility company, ****, the consumer would not incur additional fees or disconnect fees. There was no change with the consumer’s account. We ask for the consumer to please reach out to the utility company, **** to confirm the same information our company has gathered and also to review the monthly bill statements to confirm no change.

 

In closing, Continuum Energy would like to thank the Better Business Bureau for bringing to our attention the original complaint and rebuttal filed by the consumer. We hope to have addressed this matter thoroughly and with much success.

 

Thank you,

 

Continuum Energy

3/11/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Continuum Retail Energy Service says I signed a contract for a year allowing them to provide gas service to my home when I did not sign anything. Continuum Retail Energy Service came to my home selling their gas service. They put us in contract for a year at double the rate I was paying. I did not sign anything. My name is on the bill, my phone number is on the account and I pay the bill. When they came to my house they talked to my spouse. The said they ask for proof of that person being my spouse and they asked for a bill. The bill has my name on it which proves nothing. This person could have been a disgruntled ex, a cousin, a babysitter but since they provided a bill they say it was valid. I say that since I am the named person on the account this is not valid. No one should be able to make any changes to my account besides me. They say that since this contract is for a year I have to pay a $50 fee to cancel early and that since this is the middle of the billing period I will be bailed again before the cancellation goes through. So I am now enrolled with a company I don't know, did not authorize, I will be paying double the amount I was previously charged by the previous provider, and I have to either keep paying double for a year or pay a $50 termination fee on something I did not authorize. I think this is an unethical company. I spoke to a woman named Jessica the first time I called this company and when she explained everything I asked her that if my 10 year old came to the door, authorized and provided a bill would that be acceptable and she said yes. When I spoke to her manager Juan M. ID#56637 he said that if there is proof provided that that person is authorized to make changes that is acceptable though the only proof they supposedly ask for is a current bill that only my name on it. I do not feel this the way to conduct business. They go door to door in the hopes that they get someone to answer the door that knows nothing and they prey on that. I asked Juan M. is they get a lot of cancellations and he said they get numerous cancellations every day which is further proof that they go door to door knowing they will get to bill consumers double their rate and they will either get to do this for a year since that is the length of their contract or at least the $50 fee to cancel. This is not right. With identity theft and everything else that goes on in this world I would think that the only person authorized to make changes on an account, any account, would be the person who's name is on it not just someone who answers the door.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of the charges (47.65) that were made to my account that I did not authorize and I do not expect to have to pay a $50 termination fee on a contract I did not sign for. I would like no further charges to be made to my account by this company. I also have requested to the company that they never come to my house or make contact with me or anyone else they find acceptable, EVER.

Business Response:

Thank you for taking the time to contact Continuum Energy and bringing to our attention the complaint filed by the consumer. We regret any inconvenience the consumer experienced and Continuum Energy has every desire to address this matter and provide a solution as soon as possible.

 

A thorough investigation was initiated by our Operations Department to gather all the necessary details regarding the consumer’s enrollment with our company, Continuum Energy.

 

Upon completion of the investigation, our Operations Department confirmed the consumer’s gas service for consumption was successfully enrolled with Continuum Energy on January 4, 2016 via door-to-door sales marketing channel. A copy of a monthly utility gas statement, acknowledgement by an account holder, spouse and/or authorized individual to make such changes to natural gas services and the completion of successful enrollment verification by a third-party vendor is required to process a valid enrollment in the State of Ohio in the Columbia Gas of Ohio gas service territory. During the initial enrollment verification, spouse was offered and agreed to receive the Fixed Rate program priced at $0.625 cents per CCF of natural gas consumed for the first available billing cycle after successful enrollment through twelve billing cycles. The enrollment also notifies, per the Public Utilities Commission of Ohio, the consumer has the right to rescind their enrollment with Continuum Energy without an Early Termination Fee within seven (7) business days after the postmark date of the confirmation notice of contacting the utility company. Residential customers who wish to cancel their enrollment after their rescission period may be subject to a $50.00 Early Termination Charge. To complete the initial enrollment on January 4, 2016, spouse acknowledged and agreed to the statement that Continuum Energy was not their utility company but a gas supplier licensed in the state of Ohio.

 

Within the first week following the completion of the successful enrollment with a natural gas supplier, the utility company, Columbia Gas of Ohio (COH) sends the consumer a notification via mail regarding change of the consumption services. Also, the selected natural gas supplier will send a Welcome Letter/Packet to the consumer within this same time frame. Continuum Energy records confirm the Welcome Letter/Packet was sent via mail to the consumer on January 5, 2016. If the consumer feels the enrollment with the natural gas supplier was in error and/or in question, consumer has the right to rescind services. Upon further review, Continuum Energy did not receive notification feedback from the utility company, Columbia Gas of Ohio (COH) and/or the consumer electing to rescind services.

 

Continuum Energy records confirm the customer, Christine Adkins contacted our Customer Service Department on February 12, 2016 to request a cancellation of service from Continuum Energy and return to Columbia Gas of Ohio (COH). Customer was informed of the Early Termination Fee of $50.00 and the standard time frame of within 1-2 billing cycles for completion of the cancellation of service. Please understand the completion of the request for cancellation of services is not an immediate process. The completion of the request for cancellation of services is fulfilled only by the utility company, Columbia Gas of Ohio (COH) within 1-2 billing cycles as final meter reading must be taken by the utility company, COH to conclude services.

 

The request for cancellation of services was submitted by Continuum Energy to the utility company, Columbia Gas of Ohio (COH) on February 12, 2016. The utility company, COH confirmed receipt of the request for cancellation of services from Continuum Energy. The utility company, COH confirmed the service end date of March 10, 2016. Customer will no longer be billed with Continuum Energy as their supplier for consumption/usage after the service period date of March 10, 2016.

 

In response to the customer’s desired request for refund of charges, Continuum Energy cannot approve this request. When a natural gas supplier is selected within the Columbia Gas of Ohio (COH) gas service territory, the consumer’s monthly bill statement provided by COH will feature the breakdown of both charges, Transportation/Delivery & Consumption. Transportation/Delivery charges, utility surcharges and taxes will continue to be billed by the utility company, COH. Consumption charges will be billed by the selected natural gas supplier. Due to the successful enrollment verification with Continuum Energy acknowledged and agreed to by the spouse on January 4, 2016, the consumer will be responsible for consumption charges from Continuum Energy until the last day of service confirmed by the utility company, COH and the Early Termination Fee of $50.00.

 

Furthermore, Continuum Energy has taken the necessary steps in securing the customer no longer be contacted by door-to-door marketing campaigns offering Continuum Energy gas services. In order to achieve this, a request to immediately apply the customer’s contact information to our Internal Do Not Solicit list was sent to the marketing department February 24, 2016. Going forward, door-to-door marketing campaigns offering Continuum Energy gas services will cease.

 

In closing, Continuum Energy would like to thank the Better Business Bureau and the consumer for bringing to our attention the complaint filed. We hope to have addressed this matter thoroughly and with much success.

 

Thank you,

 

Continuum Energy

3/9/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am filing this on behalf of my mother who can not do this herself. They coerced my 74 year old mother into a contract she did not fully understand. MY mother is sick and elderly and lives on a small state subsidy. The salesman HARASSED her and would not let her alone until she signed the contract. We have tried to contact the company and they want her to pay a termination fee. A fee she can not even afford. This company engages in a ridiculous and evil practice of preying on the sick and elderly and it needs to be stopped. Thank you, *** *******

Desired Settlement: Cancel the contract with no termination fee and leave my mother alone.

Business Response:

Thank you for taking the time to contact Continuum Energy and bringing to our attention the complaint filed by the consumer. We regret any inconvenience the consumer experienced and Continuum Energy has every desire to address this matter and provide a solution as soon as possible.

 

A thorough investigation was initiated by our Operations Department to gather all the necessary details regarding the consumer’s enrollment and/or account in question.

 

Upon completion of the investigation, our Operations Department confirmed a successful enrollment with Continuum Energy into the Index Priced Program. The gas service enrollment was initiated on September 24, 2015 via door-to-door sales marketing channel. The utility company, ******* *** * ******** ****** confirmed the switch start date of October 26, 2015 for gas services to begin with Continuum Energy.

 

Within the first two weeks following the completion of the successful enrollment with a natural gas supplier, the utility company, Pacific Gas & Electric (PG&E) sends the consumer a notification via mail regarding change of the consumption services. Also, the selected natural gas supplier will generally send a Welcome Letter/Packet to the consumer within this same time frame. Continuum Energy records confirm the Welcome Letter/Packet was sent via mail to the consumer on September 29, 2015. If the consumer feels the enrollment with the natural gas supplier was in error and/or in question, consumer has the right to rescind services.

 

Per our Customer Service Department records, Continuum Energy was contacted by the consumer’s family member (daughter) on February 3, 2016 requesting to cancel her mother’s enrollment with Continuum Energy and return gas services to the utility company, PG&E. During that call, the consumer’s daughter was advised of the $50 Early Termination Fee for her mother’s account and also the standard time frame of within 1-2 billing cycles for completion of the request for cancellation.

 

Our Operations Department submitted a request for cancellation to the utility company, PG&E on February 3, 2016. Transaction records received from the utility company, PG&E on February 8, 2016 confirmed acceptance of the request for cancellation. The acceptance by the utility company, PG&E acknowledged the consumer’s last day of service with Continuum Energy being February 25, 2016. From that service date forward, the utility company, PG&E would resume all responsibilities for all service charges.

 

In response to the customer’s desired settlement of cancelling the contract with no termination fee, Continuum Energy has approved the settlement request and will waive the Early Termination Fee of $50.00. As of today, March 7, 2016, the customer will no longer be responsible for the Early Termination Fee. The consumer’s enrollment with Continuum Energy was previously cancelled per the utility company, PG&E.

 

Furthermore, Continuum Energy has taken the necessary steps in securing the consumer no longer be contacted by door-to-door marketing campaigns offering Continuum Energy gas services. In order to achieve this, a request to immediately apply the consumer’s contact information to our Internal Do Not Solicit list was sent to our Marketing Department today, March 7, 2016. Going forward, door-to-door marketing campaigns offering Continuum Energy gas services will cease.

 

In closing, Continuum Energy would like to thank the Better Business Bureau and the consumer for bringing to our attention the complaint filed. We hope to have addressed this matter thoroughly and with much success.

 

Thank you,

 

Continuum Energy

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,
*** ******* ** ****** ** ******** ******* ********

3/3/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Misled me into signing a contract by posing as a PGE worker. I was approached at home by 2 door to door salesmen, a man and a woman. They identified themselves as workers from PGE, with a PGE badge and clipboard. They told me they needed to see my PGE bill to ensure I was receiving a discount. Since I had recently signed up for CARE and Sonoma Clean Power, this was not totally unusual to me. They made me tell them my PGE account number, last 5 of my social, and told me to call a phone number and coached me on what to say. They told me I would now be receiving a discount on my bill. The fact of the matter is that they are NOT PGE workers, they are a 3rd party gas supplier, who now charges me fees to deliver gas to PGE. It does not save me money, I did not intend to sign up for any 3rd party gas supplier, and I am livid that I was purposefully lied to about their intentions.

Desired Settlement: I would like my contract to be terminated without any fees, especially termination fees.

Business Response: BBB received notice from the consumer that the complaint has been resolved.

2/23/2016 Problems with Product/Service
2/17/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: SACM! NEVER SIGNED A CONTRACT. CHARGING ME THRU PGE. SCAM! NEVER SIGNED A CONTRACT OR NOTHING. CHARGES SHOWING UP ON PGE. DID NOT SEE THE CHARGES DUE TO EYE DISEASES AND LOSS OF HEARING. MY DAUGHTER AND SON-N-LAW SPOTTED IT AND QUESTIONED IT WITH THE COMPANY. COMPANY REP (LEO) SAID I DID AND WOULD NOT SAY HOW HE GOT IT. IM LOOKING AT A SMALL CLAIM LAW SUIT TO RECOVER LOSS. THIS IS A SCAM AGAINST SENIORS.

Desired Settlement: EITHER A REFUND OF CHARGES AND CANCEL SAID CONTRACT OR REFUND OF CURRENT CHARGES AND CANCEL ON SAID CONTRACT.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/01/28) */ Thank you for taking the time to contact Continuum Energy and bringing to our attention the complaint filed by the consumer. We regret any inconvenience the consumer experienced and Continuum Energy has every desire to address this matter and provide a solution as soon as possible. Per our review, the consumer's gas service for consumption was successfully enrolled with Continuum Energy on August 17, 2015 via door-to-door sales channel. A copy of a monthly utility gas bill statement, acknowledgement by an account holder, spouse and/or authorized individual to make such changes to natural gas services and the completion of a successful enrollment recording is required to process enrollment. During the initial enrollment, consumer was offered and agreed to receive the Introductory Rate program priced at $0.485 cents per therm of natural gas consumed for the first 60 days after successful enrollment. Consumer would then receive a month-to-month variable rate for each subsequent month of service and a daily recurring customer charge of $0.17 cents per day that would appear separate from the gas supply charges. To complete the initial enrollment on August 17, 2015, consumer acknowledged and agreed to the statement that Continuum Energy was not their utility company but a gas supplier licensed in the state of California. Within the first two weeks following the completion of the successful enrollment with a natural gas supplier, the utility company, ********************** (****) sends the consumer a notification via mail regarding change of the consumption services. Also, the selected natural gas supplier will generally send a Welcome Letter/Packet to the consumer within this same time frame. Continuum Energy records confirm the Welcome Letter/Packet was sent via mail to the consumer on August 20, 2015. If the consumer feels the enrollment with the natural gas supplier was in error and/or in question, consumer has the right to rescind services. Upon further review, Continuum Energy has not received notification feedback from the utility company, **** and/or the consumer electing to rescind services. In response to the consumer's desired resolution for refund of charges, Continuum Energy cannot approve this request. When a natural gas supplier is selected within the ********************** (****) service territory, the consumer's monthly bill statement provided by **** will feature the breakdown of both charges, Transportation/Delivery & Consumption/Usage (detailed on **** bill statement as Procurement Charges). Transportation/Delivery charges, utility surcharges and taxes will continue to be billed by the utility company, ****. Consumption/Usage charges and daily customer charge will be billed by the selected natural gas supplier. In response to the consumer's desired resolution for cancellation of contract, Continuum Energy will honor this request by submitting the request for cancellation of services today, January 28, 2016. Consumer will not be charged an Early Termination Fee for cancellation. Please understand the completion of the request for cancellation of services is not an immediate process. The completion of the request for cancellation of services will be fulfilled by the utility company, **** within 1-2 billing cycles as final meter reading must be taken by the utility company, **** to conclude services. Continuum Energy is advising the consumer to please contact the utility company, **** within the next 3-5 business days to receive the end date for services with Continuum Energy. The end date provided will also serve as the return date to the utility company, **** for consumption/usage charges. Furthermore, Continuum Energy has taken the necessary steps in securing the consumer no longer be contacted by door-to-door marketing campaigns offering Continuum Energy gas services. In order to achieve this, a request to immediately apply the consumer's contact information to our Internal Do Not Solicit list was sent to the marketing department today, January 28, 2016. Going forward, door-to-door marketing campaigns offering Continuum Energy gas services will cease. In closing, Continuum Energy would like to thank the Better Business Bureau and the consumer for bringing to our attention the complaint filed. We hope to have addressed this matter thoroughly and with much success. Thank you, Continuum Energy Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2016/02/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) If the company in question does what they say to the letter I will accept the settlement of cancellation with them asap. If not then I will not accept and follow up with a possible court case pending on the sign contract and bill to open the account was false/fraud and can be proven in court due to the person on the **** account makes it very hard to impossible to do what they stated to open the account with them. So in turn "Fraud" Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2016/02/16) */ Thank you for taking the time to contact Continuum Energy and brining to our attention the consumer's rebuttal. We regret any inconvenience the consumer experienced awaiting a response from our company. Continuum Energy has every desire to address this matter and provide a solution as soon as possible. In response to the consumer's rebuttal, Continuum Energy would first like to apologize to the consumer for their time invested in this ongoing matter. Following receipt of the consumer's rebuttal, Continuum Energy's Operations Department conducted a secondary investigation with the utility company, ********************** (****) regarding the cancellation request which was honored in our initial response. The utility company, **** accepted the request of cancellation of services and confirmed the last day of service with Continuum Energy being March 10, 2016. From that service date forward, the utility company, **** will resume all responsibilities for both transportation/delivery & usage/consumption charges. As explained in our initial response, the completion of the request for cancellation of services is not an immediate process. The completion of the request for cancellation of services is fulfilled by the utility company, **** within 1-2 billing cycles as final meter reading must be taken by the utility company to conclude services. The following is an update from our initial response. Continuum Energy's Marketing Department successfully included the consumer's contact information to our Internal Do Not Solicit list. Going forward, the consumer will no longer be contacted by door-to-door marketing campaigns offering Continuum Energy gas services. In closing, Continuum Energy would like to thank the Better Business Bureau for bringing to our attention the original complaint and rebuttal filed by the consumer. We hope to have addressed this matter thoroughly and with much success. Thank you, Continuum Energy Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 13, 2016/02/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) As Stated in the last response. If the company in question fulfill what they stated, then I will accept the terms. But if they do not then another complaint will be filed along with complaints to all agency's that the above company adhere to. Ken

1/29/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On the morning of March 7, 2015 i received an invoice from Continuum Energy in the amount of $39.52 Invoice #***********. I called the provider an informed them what the invoice was for. They mentioned that we had changed our Gas Provider company Nov 11th and that their welcome package was mailed out on Nov 14th 2014. I did mentioned that i have never made any authorize changes to change my Gas company provider. Yesterday i spoke with a representative at Continuum an informed them the unauthorized change. I did received a phone call and voice mail yesterday March 9, 2015 @ 3:00pm PST from *********. Today i returned the call and spoke with Ms. ********* at around 9:20am or so PST. I informed her of what was going on and i asked for her play the recording where they said i gave authorization and where i spoke to a representative to make changes. After hearing the recording i informed rep that it was clearly not me making those changes. That the gentleman was not me. He also provided a totally different phone number and email address. She mentioned that it was me and that the recording was valid. I mentioned that no it wasn't and that the change was valid. At 1st she mentioned that the agent showed to my house during the week of November 10th and that the door representative was female. I spoke to my wife and she mentioned it was two (2) gentleman that were the door to door representatives and not females. They asked to see one (1) of our bills to and informed her of the program. My wife mentioned that she was not authorize on the account and therefore could not make any changes. Apparently any changes that were made were not authorize by my self an therefore are not valid. Ms. ********* informed that that since it was a male voice on the recording that it was valid. I mentioned her that the male on the recording provided a different phone number along with an email address that i have never heard off. I asked Ms ********* to please call back that number on the recording and verify who those agents were and why are they impersonating to be myself. This is a fraud as well. I made a second call at 10:36am and asked to speak to a supervisor , Ms *************** Agent #***** informed that she was not aware of any dispute and had not listen to the recording. That she was going to play the recording and get back to me in two hrs by 1:10pm PST being 3:10pm CST her time. She mentioned that she will speak with her superior and asked for credit and removed of the program, account since it was not a valid change. Waited till 3:16PST , 6:16 pm CST and did not received any call back from Supervisor *************** agent #*****. So unprofessional on not getting a call back as mentioned. Order_Number: ***********

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would like for Continuum to remove me from their enrollment, waived all or any fees associated with the termination of their enrollment. In addition credit and waived any billing amount that was or has been billed to me on their behalf for this matter as it is a false, fraudulent enrollment from their marketing reps and they should be terminated for impersonating to be my self and doing fraudulent activity.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2015/12/11) */ Thank you for taking the time to contact Continuum Energy and bringing to our attention the complaint filed by the consumer. We regret any inconvenience the consumer experienced and Continuum Energy has every desire to address this matter and provide a solution as soon as possible. Per our original review, the consumer's gas service for consumption was successfully enrolled with Continuum Energy on November 13, 2014 via door-to-door sales channel. During the initial enrollment, consumer was offered and agreed to receive the Introductory Rate program priced at $0.455 cents per therm of natural gas consumed for the first two available billing cycles after successful enrollment. Consumer would then receive a month-to-month variable rate for each subsequent month of service and a daily recurring customer charge of $4.99 per month that would appear separate from the gas supply charges. To complete the initial enrollment on November 13, 2014, consumer agreed to the statement that Continuum Energy was not their utility company but a gas supplier licensed in the state of California. Within the first two weeks following the completion of the successful enrollment with a natural gas supplier, the utility company, Southern California Gas Company (SoCal) maintains all records of transactions and sends the consumer a notification of change of the consumption services. If the consumer feels the enrollment with the natural gas supplier was in error and/or in question, consumer has the right to rescind services. Also, the natural gas supplier will generally send a Welcome Letter/Packet to the consumer within this same time frame. Per our review, Continuum Energy DID NOT receive notification/feedback from the utility company, SoCal, that the consumer decided to rescind the enrollment. In response to the consumer's request to remove their services from Continuum Energy, our Customer Service Department received a phone call from the consumer on March 10, 2015 requesting to cancel services as the consumer advised our company the enrollment was completed without his approval and/or acknowledgement. We advised the consumer we would return their gas services to their utility company. Continuum Energy then received notification from SoCal confirming the end date of March 27, 2015. Consumer would no longer be billed with Continuum Energy as their supplier for consumption after the service period date of March 27, 2015. Per our records, the consumer addressed his concerns regarding the validity of the enrollment with Continuum Energy and disputed the enrollment on March 9, 2015 when he contacted our Customer Service Department. We advised the consumer we would review the matter and provide a follow-up call when completed. In conclusion of our review on April 7, 2015, Continuum Energy confirmed the consumer's enrollment with our company was invalid. The consumer was contacted that same day and was made aware of our review and that he would not be responsible for any and all consumption charges from our company. Due to the consumer's enrollment dispute with our company, Continuum Energy added the consumer's contact information to an Internal Do Not Solicit list to prevent future marketing offers from our company. In response to the consumer's request for refund/credit, unfortunately, Continuum Energy cannot approve this request. Per our records, Continuum Energy has never received payment(s) from the consumer for their consumption/usage covering the entire service period from December 23, 2014 through March 27, 2015. If the consumer continued to forward payments to SoCal, the charges from SoCal only included transportation/delivery, utility surcharges and taxes. Those charges did not include consumption/usage. When a natural gas supplier is selected in the Southern California Gas Company territory, a dual billing format will apply to the utility account. Utilizing this format will separate the charges generally found in a monthly bill statement thus producing two separate bill statements the consumer will receive monthly. Transportation and Delivery charges, utility surcharges and taxes will continue to be billed by the utility company, SoCal. Consumption/Usage charges, monthly fees and taxes will be billed by the selected natural gas supplier. As documented earlier, the Final Service Period date for consumption confirmed by the utility company, SoCal was March 27, 2015. After this date, consumer would be charged both consumption, transportation/delivery and all associated charges by the utility company, SoCal. In closing, Continuum Energy would like to thank the Better Business Bureau for bringing to our attention of the complaint filed by the consumer. We hope to have addressed this matter thoroughly and with much success. Thank You, Continuum Energy Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 11, 2015/12/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Continuum Energy forward my acct to collections and that is not acceptable as my enrollment was invalid. They said I was not going to get billed anymore and all charges were invalid. Why did they forward me to collection? They need to remove my acct from collection and my credit as well. This is not the way to handle a case. Final Business Response /* (4000, 16, 2016/01/15) */ Thank you for taking the time to contact Continuum Energy and bringing to our attention the consumer's rebuttal. We regret any inconvenience the consumer experienced awaiting a response from our company. Continuum Energy has every desire to address this matter and provide a solution as soon as possible. In response to the consumer's rebuttal, Continuum Energy would first like to apologize to the consumer for their time invested in this ongoing matter. Following the initial response from our company, a thorough investigation was completed and our records confirm the consumer's service enrollment with our company was invalid. The consumer would not be held responsible for any balance served by our company. Unfortunately, the account was sent to collections. Continuum Energy has taken the necessary steps to remove the consumer's account from active collections. Our company has contacted the collections agency and requested the removal of the consumer's account from active collection efforts. In addition to requesting removal of the account from active collections efforts, the consumer shall not receive any further notifications regarding a balance from our company and/or outside agency. In closing, Continuum Energy would like to thank the Better Business Bureau for bringing to our attention the original complaint and rebuttal filed by the consumer. We hope to have addressed this matter thoroughly and with much success.

12/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service
12/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: the workers from CONTINUUM went door to door offering a " Discount" on residential gas bill. my parents (******* and**************) were somehow lied to and pressured into signing up for this 'DISCOUNT". they do not speak english either and upon a phone call that was conducted to have them accept services they were couched to say yes to the recording pretending they were asking them to accept a discount on their gas bill but in reality they were agreeing to accept a sub-company service, they have already billed them for $20 that is due now. i have called to cancel service and was told the amount due is still standing for services rendered and that it will take up to 2 billing cycles to complete the canceled order but statements will continue. Account_Number: ***********

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) i would like the company to cancel my service asap and to stop any further billing. to refund any money paid like the $20 that i have been billed. also to have the company know they cannot continue to misrepresent their services especially to vulnerable people like the elderly and when there's a language barrier.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2015/12/11) */ Thank you for taking the time to contact Continuum Energy and bringing to our attention the complaint filed by the consumer. We regret any inconvenience the consumer experienced and Continuum Energy has every desire to address this matter and provide a solution as soon as possible. Per our review, the consumer's gas service for consumption was successfully enrolled with Continuum Energy on November 3, 2014 via door-to-door sales channel. During the initial enrollment, consumer was offered and agreed to receive the Introductory Rate program priced at $0.455 cents per therm of natural gas consumed for the first 60 days after successful enrollment. Consumer would then receive a month-to-month variable rate for each subsequent month of service and a daily recurring customer charge of $4.99 per month that would appear separate from the gas supply charges. To complete the initial enrollment on November 3, 2014, consumer agreed to the statement that Continuum Energy was not their utility company but a gas supplier licensed in the state of California. Within the first two weeks following the completion of the successful enrollment with a natural gas supplier, the utility company, ******************************* (SoCal) maintains all records of transactions and sends the consumer a notification of change of the consumption services. If the consumer feels the enrollment with the natural gas supplier was in error or in question, consumer has the right to rescind services. Also, the natural gas supplier will generally send a Welcome Letter/Packet to the consumer within this same time frame. Per our review, Continuum Energy DID NOT receive notification/feedback from the utility company, SoCal, that the consumer decided to rescind the enrollment. In response to the consumer's request to cancel services, Continuum Energy's Customer Service Department received a phone call from the consumer on February 5, 2015 requesting to cancel services. We advised the consumer we would return their gas services to their utility company. Continuum Energy then received notification from SoCal confirming the end date of March 12, 2015. Consumer would no longer be billed with Continuum Energy as their supplier for consumption after the service period date of March 12, 2015. In response to the consumer's request for refund, unfortunately, Continuum Energy cannot approve this request. When a natural gas supplier is selected in the ******************************* territory, a dual billing format will apply to the utility account. Utilizing this format will separate the charges generally found in a monthly bill statement thus producing two separate bill statements the consumer will receive monthly. Transportation and Delivery charges, utility surcharges and taxes will continue to be billed by the utility company, SoCal. Consumption/Usage charges, monthly fees and taxes will be billed by the selected natural gas supplier. During the consumer's active enrollment with our company, monthly consumption/usage profiles were provided by the utility company, SoCal. By providing a supplier with these profiles following a meter read, the utility company is no longer billing the consumer for monthly consumption/usage. The following is the actual monthly consumption data on record with the utility company, SoCal. 12/08/2014 through 1/09/2015 - Total of 33 therms of gas consumed and recorded by the consumer's gas meter. 1/09/2015 through 2/10/2015 - Total of 18 therms of gas consumed and recorded by the consumer's gas meter. 2/10/2015 through 3/12/2015 - Total of 16 therms of gas consumed and recorded by the consumer's gas meter. The Final Service Period for consumption confirmed by the utility company, SoCal was 2/10/2015 through 3/12/2015. After the service period date March 12, 2015, consumer would be charged both consumption and transportation/delivery charges by the utility company, SoCal. In closing, Continuum Energy would like to thank the Better Business Bureau for bringing to our attention of the complaint filed by the consumer. We hope to have addressed this matter thoroughly and with much success. Thank You, Continuum Energy

8/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Continuum Energy misled me to sign a contract and delayed my request for termination. Continuum Energy mislead me to sign a contract with them. They claim that they are energy supplier. They supply gas to PG&E. They asked PG&E to lower the gas price, but PG&E did not listen to them, so they directly sell gas to customers. Their gas price is always cheaper than PG&E. After I received their letter and read the terms and conditions, I noticed that their price did not include some other fees. I immediately called their customer hot line ************, which is stated on their letter available Monday through Friday between 7AM to 7PM. On 3/9/2015, 3:15PM, the automatic answer machine told me to wait 120 minutes. This was terrible. I Emailed them at ****************************** to cancel enrollment. On 3/10/2015, 10:30AM, the machine told me to wait 40 minutes, I left a message to rescind my enrollment to their gas service. On 3/10/2015, 12:56PM, the machine told me to wait 30 minutes. On 3/11/2015, 9:56AM, the machine told me to 36 minutes, I left a message again. On 3/13/2015, 10:30AM, the machine told me to wait 18 minutes. After 18 minutes, I thought I finally got through and connected with a real person. However it was a machine again and asked me to leave a message. I was very frustrated. I left a message and emailed them again. I also summit a message on Continuum Energy website. There was no response until 3/20/2015. A representative called me and submitted gas service change to PG&E. However she submitted the change day on 4/22/2015. Continuum Energy customer service is horrendous and deceitful.

Desired Settlement: I demand a refund.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2015/06/17) */ I have completed research of the complaint that was brought to your attention by customer, Mrs. ****** ** and would like to share with you the findings. Mrs. **'s gas service for consumption was successfully enrolled with Continuum Energy on February 23, 2015 via door-to-door sales channel. During the initial enrollment, customer was offered and agreed to the Intro Rate program which guarantees a rate of $0.485 cents per therm consumed for the first 60 days after successful enrollment; then a month-to-month variable rate for each subsequent month of service that follows. A daily recurring customer charge of $0.17 cents per day that would appear separate from the gas supply charges was acknowledged by the customer. Also, customer understood and agreed to the statement that Continuum Energy was not their utility company but a gas supplier licensed in the state of California. We located Mrs. **'s message and forwarded that message to a Customer Service Representative for callback purposes. Contact was made with customer on March 20, 2015. Customer requested to cancel services with our company and return all services to PG&E. Customer was explained that the cancellation process may take 1-2 billing cycles to complete as the utility will not complete such a task while in the middle of a billing cycle. A cancellation order was generated and submitted to PG&E for processing and completion. On March 25, 2015, our offices received notification from the utility company confirming the end date of services with Continuum Energy to reflect, April 23, 2015. According to utility records, Continuum Energy only appeared as a supplier on customer's PG&E bill for (1) cycle which reflected usage consumption provided by PG&E's meter reading for the service period of March 24, 2015 - April 23, 2015. April 23, 2015 was confirmed being the end of services with Continuum Energy, no other charges were billed on behalf of Continuum Energy. Customer's services have been provided by PG&E since then. Regarding the customer's demand for a refund, the customer was charged accordingly to the agreement made during the initial enrollment. The cancellation request was submitted per customer's request to return services to PG&E. The end date provided by PG&E was in accordance with cancellation process time frames followed by all suppliers and utilities in the state of California. Any questions or concerns, please feel free to contact us. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 12, 2015/06/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) First, on February 23, 2015, the door-to-door sales stated that he worked for Continuum Energy. He was not selling me anything and he wanted to help me lower my energy bills. He used January PG&E's higher rate of 50.396 cents per them consumed to mislead me to enroll to Continuum Energy's rate of 48.5 cents. In fact, in February, PG&E's rate was 47.833. He misled me that PG&E charged customer 27cents per day, but their company only charged 17 cents per day. He also stated that their gas is always cheaper than PG&E because Continuum Energy is gas supplier. Continuum Energy contacts the customers directly because PG&E do not lower the gas price. And if I do not like their service, I can cancel my enrollment at anytime. Second, my account with Continuum Energy effective date was March 23, 2015. My first email to Continuum Energy was on March 9, 2015. I requested I wanted to cancel my enrollment as of March 9, 2015, fourteen days before my account in effect. I had used different ways to continually contact Continuum Energy many times the following days. However, Continuum Energy waited until March 20, 2015 to respond me. Why there was no one answers the phone number they provided? Why did Continuum Energy take so long to respond me? It is not responsible to do business! And why Continuum Energy held my account until it effected before the cancellation? Third, I canceled my enrollment as of March 9, 2015, fourteen days before my account in effect. As matter of fact, 1-2 billing cycle was not applied to my situation. Therefore, Continuum Energy misleads me to enroll to their gas service and delays my cancellation for purpose. Final Business Response /* (4000, 17, 2015/07/27) */ In response to the customer's rebuttal, Continuum Energy will work closely with the utility, PG&E in an effort to address the customer's demand for refund. Please understand the refund will only account for the difference in rate/charge between Continuum Energy and PG&E for consumption and daily customer charge. Customer will not be refunded the total amount paid to Continuum Energy due to the fact actual usage (consumption) passed through the customer's meter during their time with Continuum Energy. That usage was recorded by PG&E (during the meter read) but was billed with the supplier's prices and charges. Therefore, working closely with the utility will grant Continuum Energy access to PG&E's pricing and charges during the customer's time with Continuum Energy which we shall gladly share with the customer and the Better Business Bureau. Furthermore, supplier and utility records as of today, July 23, 215 confirm the only service period that billed with Continuum Energy was March 24, 2015 - April 23, 2015. At this moment, Continuum Energy is asking for more time to fully resolve this matter. Once completed, Continuum Energy will address the Better Business Bureau will the details regarding the refund.

6/29/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have called the phone number provided to try to end the services of this company and they have not answered over three months I had a salesman come to my door he had told me I would save money on my energy bill and as the winter months went up so did my bill. I could not afford for my bill to reach such a high mark so I attempted to call them, no answer for days. I was lied to in my own home.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be able to sign out of the contract and have the amount paid in winter with the price gouging refunded

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2015/06/09) */ I have completed research of the complaint that was brought to your attention by customer, Mr. *************** and would like to share with you the findings. Mr. ********'s gas service was successfully enrolled with **************** on September 17, 2014 via door-to-door sales channel. Customer was offered our Intro Rate program which guarantees a flat rate of $4.55 per Mcf for one billing cycle after successful enrollment; then a month-to-month variable rate for each subsequent month of service that follows. After review of the billing rates with the utility, Consumers Energy, the customer was charged a total of (3) billing cycles at the intro rate of $4.55 per Mcf before reflecting the month-to-month variable rate as explained to the customer during the initial enrollment. Customer has the option to terminate their enrollment with **************** without penalty. With the request to cancel being mentioned by the customer in the email and with permission of the BBB, ****************/Continuum Energy will be more than willing to assist in fulfilling the customer's cancel request. Once permitted, please note that a cancellation request may take 1-2 billing cycles to complete and customer's services will be returned to the utility, Consumers Energy. Regarding the customer's wishes to receive refund for price gouging during the winter months, the customer was charged accordingly to the program enrolled and agreed to. There was no price gouging on behalf of ****************/Continuum Energy. No refund will be provided. Any questions or concerns, please feel free to contact us. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 12, 2015/06/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The salesman lied about the contract and was a horrible person for taking advantage of people. Additional info. received 6-15-15: I would like to terminate my contract with the business if possible. Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2015/06/26) */ Continuum Energy has submitted the order of cancellation to the utility, Consumers Energy for customer, Mr. ****** N ********. At this moment I do not have an actual date of completion. However, once Continuum Energy is provided an update, I will be more than happy to email you the response. As explained in my last response email, please note a cancellation request may take 1-2 billing cycles to complete and customer's services will be returned to the utility, Consumers Energy. Again, I will email you an update once received on our end. Any questions or concerns, please feel free to contact me. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 16, 2015/06/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I would just like a update on the status of the cancellation of the service

5/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Unable to reach any operator or rep to cancel service, waits of 30 min with continuous beeping, after waiting 15 min, told to leave voice mail. After signing up for the Continuum Energy service from a sales person who came to our door, I did some internet research and saw a post that said the alternative energy companies were unreliable and were lying to people, so I decided to cancel the service. However, it was literally impossible to reach anyone on the phone at the company today, Monday, all day. They had a horrible answering service which plays continuous beeps while you are waiting, and after more than 15 minutes of waiting in line (I was only number 2 in line, they claimed), a message came on that said they were experiencing unexpectedly long wait times and someone would call me back if I left a message. I left a message and about a 1/2 hour after that, I tried again, and it was the regular message, with "estimated wait time, 30 minutes." Why would they be having people get in line on the phone again if they are cutting people off and forcing them to leave a voice message after 15 minutes? Try it. The number is 877-224-6735. It's outrageous that there is literally no way to reach anyone at the customer service number.

Desired Settlement: I simply want to cancel the service and not be charged for having signed up mistakenly. They told me verbally that there would not be any charge if I canceled within a certain period of time.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2015/04/20) */ Continuum Energy is sympathetic that Ms. ****** had a difficult time reaching a customer representative when she called us. While Continuum has experienced an increase in call volume due to a high number of renewals this time of the year, we do make every attempt to respond to all customer calls and emails in a timely manner. Unfortunately, our customers may wait longer than expected to speak with a representative Our records show that the utility accepted the cancel request on 4/9/2015, and Continuum did speak with Ms. ****** and informed of this.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

7 Customer Reviews on Continuum Retail Energy Services, LLC
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart