BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Eastern Oklahoma

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/25/2008

Lawn America Inc

Phone: (918) 249-5296Fax: (918) 250-70125129 South 110th East Avenue, TulsaOK 74146View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/25/2008

BBB has determined that Lawn America Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Lawn America Inc's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Lawn America Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
11/05/2012Problems with Product / Service
08/14/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior service

Complaint: Contradictory estimates: I was given an initial estimate on my property of a certain amount and then an additional estimate by a different at a much higher amount. Reluctantly the company agreed to initial amount. No show appointment:On the very first scheduled appointment, I made special arrangements to take off from work to put our pet up who is NOT an inside dog. The company failed to show up or call to indicate they would not provide service. I had to take off work again and make special arrangements the next day.Quality of work: I have numerous weeds in the back yard of my property which indicates service was never provided in the backyard. This also reflects from the statements on the worker's sheets that indicate no service was provided because of the pet in the back yard. At no time was I contacted by either email or phone about this issue. There are also a number of weeds in the front yard which is in an area where there are no pets. I attempted to contact the manager via email about a refund for services that simply weren't completed and was denied. I was told that I was already being given a good deal because of the initial error on the estimate. This error was on the company's part and not mine. Regardless of the "error" an expectation of at least "good service" is expected for the amount of money we have paid.
Product_Or_Service: Lawn care

Business' Initial Response
The initial estimate was done on 7/5/2012. It was for the front only. It stated a size of 1000 sq. ft, with a price of $35.95. Service was never initiated. On 3/25/2013, a second estimate was requested. That estimate stated a size of 3700 sq. ft., with a price of $47.95 per application. It was for the entire lawn, but in the meantime, a postcard was sent out offering service for $35.95 for the front only estimate the previous year. We honored that price for the 2013 season, even though we would be losing money by treating the entire lawn now at the previous price. Service was then initiated. Due to a miscommunication on our part, the lawn was completed one day late, on 3/28/2013, though it was scheduled for 3/27/2013, which is most definitely unacceptable. As far as the backyard being treated, according to the route manager, it was treated every time until this last application. The dog was out, so a service call was made to come back out and do the backyard. The service call was printed the next day and scheduled to be done asap. The route manager stated that he was attempting to reach the customer, but the number was not a good number. That is why there was a delay on getting the backyard treated after this last application. As for weeds in the lawn, our policy states that we will gladly come back and take care of them. We realize that there may be weeds in between applications, so sometimes service calls are necessary. If there is ever an issue with a lawn, we ask that the customer promptly lets us know so we have a chance to rectify the situation. Until this last treatment, we have never heard of any problems on the lawn and payment has always been made. As for a refund, there is no reason for one. We have treated the lawn every time and have tried to come back out to treat the backyard, the one time that it was not done on the same day.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
If in fact the backyard was completed (which I still don't believe) the quality of the treatment is severely lacking. Our back yard is full of holes in which we had to dig out large weeds. If in fact the backyard was treated, the technician should've noticed this and treated the problem. We will make sure to spread the word about the negative experience we encountered. Thank you for your time.

04/27/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Lawn Maintenance

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 04/12/1993Business started: 01/01/1999New Owner Date: 01/01/1999
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 1999, OK

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brad Johnson (President)
Number of Employees

40

Business Category

Lawn Maintenance

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Lawn America Inc

5129 South 110th East Avenue

Tulsa, OK 74146

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 5129 South 110th East Avenue 

    Tulsa, OK 74146

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Eastern Oklahoma. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Lawn America Inc is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Web Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2013 for complaints filed on January 15, 2013 and thereafter.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Lawn Maintenance

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.